Metascore
43

Mixed or average reviews - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 352 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: "Total Recall" is an action thriller about reality and memory, inspired anew by the famous short story “We Can Remember It For You Wholesale” by Philip K. Dick. Welcome to Rekall, the company that can turn your dreams into real memories. For a factory worker named Douglas Quaid, even though"Total Recall" is an action thriller about reality and memory, inspired anew by the famous short story “We Can Remember It For You Wholesale” by Philip K. Dick. Welcome to Rekall, the company that can turn your dreams into real memories. For a factory worker named Douglas Quaid, even though he's got a beautiful wife who he loves, the mind-trip sounds like the perfect vacation from his frustrating life - real memories of life as a super-spy might be just what he needs. But when the procedure goes horribly wrong, Quaid becomes a hunted man. Finding himself on the run from the police – controlled by Chancellor Cohaagen, the leader of the free world – Quaid teams up with a rebel fighter to find the head of the underground resistance and stop Cohaagen. The line between fantasy and reality gets blurred and the fate of his world hangs in the balance as Quaid discovers his true identity, his true love, and his true fate. (Columbia Pictures) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 41
  2. Negative: 7 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Aug 2, 2012
    88
    The richly constructed first hour is so superior to any feat of sci-fi speculation since "Minority Report" that the bland aftertaste of the chase finale is quickly forgotten.
  2. Reviewed by: M. E. Russell
    Aug 2, 2012
    67
    Wiseman's PG-13 remake isn't as funny, or vivid, or splatter-tastic. It contains no mutants, inflating heads, trips to Mars, or freaky little psychic dudes named "Kuato" emerging from people's stomachs. But it does a decent job setting up an unsubtle dystopia.
  3. Reviewed by: Justin Lowe
    Aug 2, 2012
    60
    The outcome is engaging enough, although not entirely satisfying from either a genre or narrative standpoint, lacking both substance and a degree of imagination.
  4. Reviewed by: Justin Chang
    Aug 2, 2012
    50
    Crazy new gadgets, vigorous action sequences and a thorough production-design makeover aren't enough to keep Total Recall from feeling like a near-total redundancy.
  5. Reviewed by: Peter Bradshaw
    Sep 1, 2012
    40
    It's a bit of a flavourless CGI-fest, without the character and comedy of the Arnie version, and it never really gets to grips with the idea of "reality" as a slippery, malleable concept.
  6. Reviewed by: A.O. Scott
    Aug 2, 2012
    40
    This premise contains the seeds of an interesting economic and political allegory, but the ambitions of the filmmakers - lie in the direction of maximum noise and minimum sense.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Aug 2, 2012
    20
    There's something sadly poetic about a movie dealing with disappearing memories that vanishes from your mind while you watch it.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 112
  2. Negative: 24 out of 112
  1. Aug 6, 2012
    10
    I love this movie. I remember the original very well and the major plot elements of this version didn't vary much from the original. ThatI love this movie. I remember the original very well and the major plot elements of this version didn't vary much from the original. That aside, everything else was different and new.. I loved the story, ceaseless action, special effects, and stunts. It's the perfect movie for any adrenalin junkie that will hold your attention from beginning to end. Collapse
  2. Aug 5, 2012
    9
    Having just seen the movie, I thought it was awesome. The constant action, the story, etc... is was very well done. Colin Farrell did aHaving just seen the movie, I thought it was awesome. The constant action, the story, etc... is was very well done. Colin Farrell did a great job (which I'm tired of people bashing him for some reason, I think hes a great actor, but thats my opinion), and of course Kate Beckinsale and Jessica Biel did great as well, not to mention hot xD. Overall, great movie and definately worth the price of admission for it. Expand
  3. Aug 24, 2014
    8
    Colin Farrell: long time, no see - and the man is back with a bang.

    Action - and lots of it - what was this movie offered, served with a
    Colin Farrell: long time, no see - and the man is back with a bang.

    Action - and lots of it - what was this movie offered, served with a slice of a good story that could have used a little more unpredictability; it kept the audience guessing but the answer was a teensy bit on the obvious side.

    In a world divided in a future not too far away, people are struggling to survive. Some have more than others, and that is enough - until those who have more want to take it all. The old story, but told very well in this case.

    I enjoyed the film a lot. It could have used some improvements, but all in all it was a stunning ride and a thrill to watch with top notch effects and visuals!
    Expand
  4. Dec 24, 2012
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Fun, but they got the physics of "The Fall" completely wrong. If the capsule had no external acceleration, the trip would take about 45 minutes, not the 17 minutes indicated in the movie, and the inside of the capsule would have zero gravity for the duration of the trip. Expand
  5. Aug 3, 2012
    5
    Not having seen the original 1990
  6. Jul 11, 2014
    4
    It has a some great action just not enough actual story to the movie. Not enough character development in the movie. If you like action thenIt has a some great action just not enough actual story to the movie. Not enough character development in the movie. If you like action then you will like this movie but If you like anything else then you probably leave the theater disappointed and what the story really was. Expand
  7. May 19, 2013
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. So in the end, she had to wait for him to wake up to kill him? Loool worst assassin ever, simply a bad movie, some ok parts but really come on? I think there should be a council so the customers who are paying their hard earned money on cheap movies to get it back!!! Viva the revolution Expand

See all 112 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Summer Movie Preview: Your Guide to 110 New Films

    Summer Movie Preview: Your Guide to 110 New Films Image
    Published: April 25, 2012
    From tentpole films like "The Dark Knight Rises" and "Prometheus" to arthouse fare like "Moonrise Kingdom" and "To Rome with Love," the summer movie season promises something for every type of film fan. Take a look at everything the coming months have to offer.
  2. 2012 Movie Preview: Our 50 Most-Anticipated Films

    2012 Movie Preview: Our 50 Most-Anticipated Films Image
    Published: January 12, 2012
    Another humdrum year for movies? Forget it; 2012 is shaping up to be the best year for film in over a decade. Inside, we run down 50 of the most promising movies due to arrive this year, and we guarantee that you'll find something to get excited about.