Tower Heist

User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 244 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 27 out of 244
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 5, 2011
    2
    Sorry, I really wanted to like this movie. Most Law and Order shows are better written than the script for this movie. The backstory goes on for 40 minutes before anything starts to happen. Then the think it is going to be clever but nothing really materializes and it ends with a whimper. It was just flat at the end and left you wanting. Eddie Murphy is good but it seems like he is now theSorry, I really wanted to like this movie. Most Law and Order shows are better written than the script for this movie. The backstory goes on for 40 minutes before anything starts to happen. Then the think it is going to be clever but nothing really materializes and it ends with a whimper. It was just flat at the end and left you wanting. Eddie Murphy is good but it seems like he is now the jinx for any movie he is in. This would be an OK TV movie, but don't spend money on this when there are better ones out there. Expand
  2. Dec 19, 2011
    3
    It has a stellar cast but they only give half of the talent they can bring and the humor is mostly silly and stupid and the whole movie will never live up to its cool premise which we all wanted it to. I give this movie 34%.
  3. Feb 18, 2012
    0
    I do not recommend wasting your time watching this movie, unless it is a last resort to save your self from worse parts of the internet. There is terrible comedy, and incoherent plot, characters are not clearly defined or very stereotypical contributing nothing new what so ever to the film industry.
  4. Jan 8, 2012
    3
    Occasionally funny, predominantly boring. I'm happy Eddie is in a more adult comedy again, but it's also kind of sad to watch. It was also weird to see him take a backseat in an ensemble cast. I realize the concept was his, and it was a nifty concept, but leave it to Brett Ratner to be the poor man's Michael Bay: occasional flashes of interest, but no knowledge of how to tell a story viaOccasionally funny, predominantly boring. I'm happy Eddie is in a more adult comedy again, but it's also kind of sad to watch. It was also weird to see him take a backseat in an ensemble cast. I realize the concept was his, and it was a nifty concept, but leave it to Brett Ratner to be the poor man's Michael Bay: occasional flashes of interest, but no knowledge of how to tell a story via film. The highlights were Gabourey Sidibe, who steps up during the funniest moment in the movie versus an FBI guard, and Matthew Broderick, who looks so old and chubby, but pulls off a teetering-on-the-edge former stock broker who has lost it all. Unfortunately, the movie wastes the talents of Ben Stiller, Alan Alda and the always-underrated Tea Leoni. If you miss it, you won't miss it. Expand
  5. Feb 25, 2012
    1
    another stupid movie. Criminal activity from some idiots, trying to break into the hotel and steal the dudes golden car. Stupid. A Car made out of solid gold? I'm supposed to believe this **** The stupid car goes on top of the elevator, and they ride it up and down the building, while the cops are in the elevator? Also the car ius hanging form the edge of the building and the charactersanother stupid movie. Criminal activity from some idiots, trying to break into the hotel and steal the dudes golden car. Stupid. A Car made out of solid gold? I'm supposed to believe this **** The stupid car goes on top of the elevator, and they ride it up and down the building, while the cops are in the elevator? Also the car ius hanging form the edge of the building and the characters are hanging from the car, a thousand feet above the street? Horrible. Just a stupid movie,. Big budgets and everything for this **** Collapse
  6. Mar 6, 2012
    3
    This movie came to me as a total disappointment. The jokes weren't that funny, I only laughed like twice and the film all in all was just totally boring. There comes a movie once in a while that is just terrible and this was it.
  7. Nov 20, 2011
    1
    This movie was straight-up insulting to my intelligence. Absolutely terrible. The plot was over the top ridiculous (and completely predictable). The "master" plan is so flawed it makes National Treasure look like Ronin. A kindergartner will be questioning the logic behind Tower Heist. A flawed plot in a comedy can be as forgivable as it is common, though this comes only with the exceptionThis movie was straight-up insulting to my intelligence. Absolutely terrible. The plot was over the top ridiculous (and completely predictable). The "master" plan is so flawed it makes National Treasure look like Ronin. A kindergartner will be questioning the logic behind Tower Heist. A flawed plot in a comedy can be as forgivable as it is common, though this comes only with the exception of the comedy actually containing comedy. Throughout Tower Heist's oh-so-long 104 minutes, the audience will be subject to comedic gold, like jokes about lesbians and Burger King employees. Anybody familiar with some of Ben Stiller's movies, such as Zoolander and Meet The Parents, knows that he's capable of producing some absolutely memorable material. The worst part about Tower Heist is that my only laugh throughout the entire movie didn't come from Ben Stiller but from Eddie Murphy. What's worse than that is that this isn't even Eddie Murphy's worst movie (or Ben Stiller's considering last year's Little Focker's). Skip this one. Instead, go rent Ocean's Eleven. Expand
  8. Dec 6, 2011
    3
    I'm sorry, was this supposed to be a comedy? I felt like I was sandwiched between a ridiculous crime drama and an unfunny farce. The movie took its subject matter too seriously in my opinion, which made the jokes feel completely out of place. While it had some good ideas, they were never utilized in a complete, funny, or comprehensible manner. Granted, I thought Eddie Murphy had a funnyI'm sorry, was this supposed to be a comedy? I felt like I was sandwiched between a ridiculous crime drama and an unfunny farce. The movie took its subject matter too seriously in my opinion, which made the jokes feel completely out of place. While it had some good ideas, they were never utilized in a complete, funny, or comprehensible manner. Granted, I thought Eddie Murphy had a funny character. But, every other character had no character to them, and every joke or gag they performed came off stale and uncomfortable. Just my 2 cents. Expand
  9. Dec 30, 2011
    1
    Writing this negative review is the reason I opened my metacritic account.

    This movie is terrible. I did try to enjoy it for what it is, yet could not get past the ridiculous events that actually transpired in the movie.

    The usually funny cast had terrible characters, with many moments intended to be funny off track conversation, that just were NOT funny.

    Worst movie I have seen 2011.
  10. Feb 28, 2012
    1
    Tower Heist (2011): An extremely unfunny script with awkward pacing, weak characters and complete waste of actors. The film's only justification is to show Eddie Murphy and Matthew Broderick still can give decent comedic performances, it's a shame it's not a better movie for them.
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 39
  2. Negative: 1 out of 39
  1. Reviewed by: Nick de Semlyen
    Nov 6, 2011
    60
    Fun if uneven stuff from Ratner. A welcome return to form for Eddie Murphy and an even-more-welcome turn by the ever-excellent Alan Alda.
  2. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Nov 4, 2011
    75
    As far as sophisticated caper flicks go, Tower Heist is oceans away from George Clooney's crew. Compared to other recent comedies, it's pretty light on the laughs.
  3. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Nov 4, 2011
    58
    If this film turns out to be a big success, malls everywhere may want to hire more security.