User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 195 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 27 out of 195

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 4, 2011
    9
    A lot to like in this movie. Eddie Murphy and Ben Stiller are hilarious while the supporting actors are also pretty good. It's an extremely likable movie and how the whole staff unites against the owner is very close to what's happening on wall street. I think you should see this movie its worth the $18.00
  2. Dec 19, 2011
    3
    It has a stellar cast but they only give half of the talent they can bring and the humor is mostly silly and stupid and the whole movie will never live up to its cool premise which we all wanted it to. I give this movie 34%.
  3. Nov 8, 2011
    5
    Ben Stiller heads the cast (and the staff) of a luxury residence in NYC. When a Wall Street investor (Alan Alda) loses their pensions, he leads a team to steal it back. He also enlists small-time crook Eddie Murphy to help. The story and characters provide an interesting setup and Murphy's appearance adds a sprinkling of laughs, but the heist is slow and the comedy is sparse. What starts out with energetic promise never builds comic or narrative momentum (although the out-the-window gag is pretty cool). As a result, the whole thing falls flat. Expand
  4. Nov 5, 2011
    2
    Sorry, I really wanted to like this movie. Most Law and Order shows are better written than the script for this movie. The backstory goes on for 40 minutes before anything starts to happen. Then the think it is going to be clever but nothing really materializes and it ends with a whimper. It was just flat at the end and left you wanting. Eddie Murphy is good but it seems like he is now the jinx for any movie he is in. This would be an OK TV movie, but don't spend money on this when there are better ones out there. Expand
  5. Nov 13, 2011
    5
    I'd say that Metascore is about right - Stiller is Stiller, the story is good, and Alda plays yet another good and wicked antagonist. I liked the sparks between Leoni & Stiller, too. I probably can't recommend this, but if you've got nothing else to see, you'll definitely laugh.
  6. Nov 4, 2011
    9
    I liked the movie a lot. The plot was well developed, the characters were likable, the movie writers (and comedy writers for the funny lines) were clever, and I laughed at least a third of the time. The rest of the time, i was on the edge of my seat. The only reason I am not giving it a 10, is because of the language. I have to keep my standards up, and language will make me give it one less point. Expand
  7. Jun 12, 2012
    7
    Tower Heist is a fun film but it doesn't leave a mark on cinematic history like Avatar or Deathly Hollows Pt 2. Which is good considering we're bombarded with a game changing blockbuster franchise every three monthes. Plot is good, Ben Stiller and Eddie Murphy are back with picture perfect comedy after a failed few attempts, mostly from Murphy.The plot starts a little slow but gets going about 15-20 minutes in and gets more exciting every scene. The movie great for a rainy sunday afternoon or to watch with family or mates it might even make your DVD viewing rotation every now and again. Expand
  8. Feb 18, 2012
    0
    I do not recommend wasting your time watching this movie, unless it is a last resort to save your self from worse parts of the internet. There is terrible comedy, and incoherent plot, characters are not clearly defined or very stereotypical contributing nothing new what so ever to the film industry.
  9. Mar 11, 2012
    10
    My husband and I seldom agree on a movie but we both found this movie entirely entertaining from start to finish..It had a portion that we were both trying to catch the car indeed great excitement. It was hilarious with no slap stick or abundance of filthy language which is indeed rare today. I would thorurgly recommend this movie to friends something I very seldom think of doing
  10. Nov 30, 2011
    5
    This is a bit of a weird one. Half the time, it's mad and funny. The other half, it's so painfully not funny you don't even realise it's making a joke. If your willing to watch a half-good movie...go right ahead. Of course, this is a cack year for films, so since theres hardly anything else on, possibly consider Tower Heist. Of course, my love of all things theft related (course, I live out my dark fantasies in Skyrim and GTA) make me like this a bit more but otherwise....it's only half good. So it gets a half score. Expand
  11. Feb 12, 2012
    6
    It's great to see Eddie Murphy back in adult action again, and he does generate some good laughs. But don't expect a hip, intelligent caper flick. This is very middle of the road territory, so with suspense of high expectations it's fun and enjoyable. And I really liked the plot relevance to the Wall Street sociopaths that have been destroying our country, and the whole Robin Hood premise.
  12. Nov 10, 2011
    8
    It was a fun escape for a couple hours on a slow afternoon. The plot and action are so full of holes you could drive a Ferrari through but really its a comedy action flick what did you expect. I caught myself laughing out loud a time or three but if I did have one criticism it would be a bit of a comedic timing issue. Good humour doesn't have to be dumbed down or over explained, and for an action comedy it was a little too serious at points. Overall... Money well spent. Expand
  13. Feb 27, 2012
    9
    It takes time for the laughs to start, but this is a really great movie that really shows how the guys at wall street may seem nice, while making things miserable for the middle class.
  14. Jan 8, 2012
    3
    Occasionally funny, predominantly boring. I'm happy Eddie is in a more adult comedy again, but it's also kind of sad to watch. It was also weird to see him take a backseat in an ensemble cast. I realize the concept was his, and it was a nifty concept, but leave it to Brett Ratner to be the poor man's Michael Bay: occasional flashes of interest, but no knowledge of how to tell a story via film. The highlights were Gabourey Sidibe, who steps up during the funniest moment in the movie versus an FBI guard, and Matthew Broderick, who looks so old and chubby, but pulls off a teetering-on-the-edge former stock broker who has lost it all. Unfortunately, the movie wastes the talents of Ben Stiller, Alan Alda and the always-underrated Tea Leoni. If you miss it, you won't miss it. Expand
  15. Nov 3, 2012
    5
    Over all a film that had one or two moments but one which I didn
  16. Nov 10, 2011
    6
    I'm giving the movie a pass thanks to Eddie Murphy. This is the best role he's done since 48 hours, but it is also essentially the same character. The movie comes alive when Eddie Murphy joins the heist. The heist itself is over the top and ludicrous but plausibility is not the goal of this movie, rather it is to make you laugh. If you have a fear of heights, as I do, there is a prolonged scene during the heist that will make you squirm in your seat! Alan Alda always makes a good bad guy, as he first proved in a Woody Allen film years ago. I thought the acting across the board was good, and the film was shot well. The only part that didn't work so well for me was Gabourey Sidibe. Her acting is OK, but her weird Jamaican accent comes and goes. There was no reason for the accent so they shouldn't have added it. Not a great film but good. Recommended, especially if you like Eddie Murphy. Collapse
  17. Dec 22, 2011
    4
    This movie looks good in yellow. It's a mystery to me how it got a score of 59. Seriously, '' Tower Heist '' is an epic fail. Not funny at all, just boring dialogue. The only part that made me laugh was when Ben Stiller (as Josh Kovacs) and Eddie Murphy (as Slide) were talking in the car. Stiller said something like '' ....our partnership...'' (he's taking about them being in a team) and Murphy was like '' I ain't fuc*ing you're ass ''. Actually, the best thing about this movie was Eddie Murphy. The rest of the cast were okay, except for Casey Affleck, he played poorly. Also, the end seemed rushed. All of the sudden, everything speeds up (the events) and then it just ends. Plus, there are a lot of unrealistic situations, which makes me lose credibility of the story. I'm not giving it a lower score then 4, because there are worse movies then this that came out this year. Just don't waste time and money on this crap. I already forgot about it. Expand
  18. Nov 20, 2011
    1
    This movie was straight-up insulting to my intelligence. Absolutely terrible. The plot was over the top ridiculous (and completely predictable). The "master" plan is so flawed it makes National Treasure look like Ronin. A kindergartner will be questioning the logic behind Tower Heist. A flawed plot in a comedy can be as forgivable as it is common, though this comes only with the exception of the comedy actually containing comedy. Throughout Tower Heist's oh-so-long 104 minutes, the audience will be subject to comedic gold, like jokes about lesbians and Burger King employees. Anybody familiar with some of Ben Stiller's movies, such as Zoolander and Meet The Parents, knows that he's capable of producing some absolutely memorable material. The worst part about Tower Heist is that my only laugh throughout the entire movie didn't come from Ben Stiller but from Eddie Murphy. What's worse than that is that this isn't even Eddie Murphy's worst movie (or Ben Stiller's considering last year's Little Focker's). Skip this one. Instead, go rent Ocean's Eleven. Expand
  19. Apr 4, 2012
    8
    It's nothing original in the idea or setting of the movie (a group of people going against the odds to rob a corrupt rich guy), but it succeeds because of it's humor and likable characters, and the good writing also helps, honestly it's not the funniest movie out there but it did make me laugh, and I was also surprised at how good the supporting characters are, let's just say Eddie Murphy and Ben Stiller wont be getting all the laughs, so in closing I do recommend this, it may not succeed in all it tries to do but it's funny and has heart, and is enjoyable from start to finish, a great movie. Expand
  20. Dec 4, 2011
    6
    It was okay. The kind of movie that you smile a bit while watching, then forget about as soon as you leave the theatre. Although this time, my friends and I did talk about it bit more than usual, simply because we were laughing at how many huge plot holes this movie had. Seriously, so many times they'd escalate the plot and I'd be thinking, well, how are they going to have this make sense, and then they just ignored it. That said, I did enjoy the Bernie Madoff type character and the storyline of him getting his own back. Expand
  21. Nov 4, 2011
    7
    Tower Heist enjoys a coincidence of sorts in its choice of opening weekend. The Occupy Wall Street protest is alive and well not too far from where this film is set and hundreds of other Occupy protests are simultaneously happening around the world. Tapping into a particular segment of that angst, Tower Heist is about the blue collar vs. the mega rich; the staff (99%) vs. the penthouse owner (1%).

    Arthur Shaw (Alan Alda) is a Bernard Madoff archetype who is put under penthouse arrest by the FBI for running a Ponzi scheme and defrauding his investors. His smallest investment account happens to be the pension funds of the staff that run the vast and luxurious tower he lives on the top floor of. Josh Kovacs (Ben Stiller) plays the towerâ
    Expand
  22. Nov 12, 2011
    5
    The movie is well directed and the performances are good, the main problem though is the script which isn't funny enough and is filled with plot holes. If the movie were much funnier I'd certainly forget about the plot holes, however when such a large part of the film is about a heist, details are important. There's several good laughs and most of the actors do a good job, but in the end it's fairly lukewarm and pedestrian. Someone who's easier to please will probably like this movie a lot more than I did. Expand
  23. Nov 18, 2011
    7
    A funnier movie than I expected, and a brief opportunity for Americans to day dream about a world where corporate greed gets it in the end. I chuckled, but left a little angry...like everyone else.
  24. Jan 7, 2012
    9
    Walked into this expecting an average comedy, came out very surprised. A great comedy that actually made me laugh, not many shows and films can do that. Funny jokes, funny people. A complete win in my books, a must see. Yes it may be predictable at times, but it's still very well done.
  25. Aug 29, 2012
    8
    Thoroughly enjoyed this wild crazy caper. The cast was excellent. The screenplay not bad for the type of film it is and it held your attention. Mathew Broderick, Gabe Sidibe, Eddie Murphy were standouts as well as the rest of the supporting cast. Ben Stiller was restrained and that was good. Eddie Murphy was a little over the top but totally acceptable. Really a good film.
  26. Jun 1, 2012
    7
    Pretty good soft comedy, although I think they could have done a bit more work on the characters...I kept being reminded of Murphy's character from Trading Places without really liking him. Stiller role was decent sort of anal suit turned rebel by losing his job...wait a minute thinking Trading places again? Anyway that aside a decent riches to rags revenge comedy that did have some good jokes and action. Expand
  27. Nov 9, 2011
    7
    This was a flatout fun movie. With such a jam-packed cast it can be very risky and it could be overtop, but in this movie, it worked. Everything fit together, great use of every actor. Eddie Murphy was hilllaaaarrriiiooouuusss in this film, eberybody else was too but Murphy was definately a standout. This movie was good fun. Definately watch this, youll love it. 7/10
  28. Nov 14, 2011
    6
    Bottom Line: Eddie Murphy is the one who draws the laughs in what I now would prefer to call Oceanâ
  29. May 6, 2012
    7
    This movie was... Eh... Decent. The only thing that made me give this a 7 and not a 5 were the voice actors I really, really liked.
    The story is pretty simple and well thought-out, but that's it. Nothing special.
  30. Mar 6, 2012
    7
    Tower Heist may not be the top Comedy-Crime film but the wonderful cast made it pretty awesome . ok so at first the script ... I felt script was the weakest part of this film , the basic story was good , nothing new but good but they really should work on the techniques of robing , most of the techniques were so lame . Brett Ratner directing was good . No the awesome part , "The Cast" . No need to say anything about Ben , He is the best . Eddie "Axel" Murphy came back after a long time . This role remind me of his masterpiece Beverly Hills Cop (1,2) , it was good to see him again . Casey Affleck remind me of his Oceans role . Haven't seen Matthew Broderick like this in a really long time .Michael Peña was good in his role . Gabourey Sidibe was really funny & the beautiful Téa Leoni reminded me her role in Bad Boys , Its been 16 years but she is still so beautiful as she was then . Without this amazing cast, the film would go deep under water , So Deep . Expand
  31. Dec 6, 2011
    3
    I'm sorry, was this supposed to be a comedy? I felt like I was sandwiched between a ridiculous crime drama and an unfunny farce. The movie took its subject matter too seriously in my opinion, which made the jokes feel completely out of place. While it had some good ideas, they were never utilized in a complete, funny, or comprehensible manner. Granted, I thought Eddie Murphy had a funny character. But, every other character had no character to them, and every joke or gag they performed came off stale and uncomfortable. Just my 2 cents. Expand
  32. Nov 5, 2011
    4
    I enjoyed the first half of this film immensely, but once the "prize" was claimed by Stiller and his crew, the film simply fell apart. Ted Griffin, the screenwriter, gave us an interesting, smart, and amusing script for the first 48 minutes...and then he went on vacation and his 10-year old son finished writing the rest of it! It left me scratching my head wondering how dumb and incompetent all the characters suddenly became, and how stupid, dull, un-clever, and implausible the plot line became. Mr. Griffin's uneven script felt as if he wrote it years before he wrote Ocean's Eleven...when he was still learning his craft. O-11 was a far superior film, even though the two movies are similar in many ways. This movie had SO much potential but it fell WAY too short of reaching the "good flick" status it was craving. Ben Stiller and Eddie Murphy worked well together and complimented each others talents tremendously. I only wish that Mr. Murphy was on the screen longer because the film was only a "comedy" when his character was present. Expand
  33. Nov 6, 2011
    7
    Director Brett Ratner doesnâ
  34. Nov 8, 2011
    8
    As it was saturday nite went with frndz @Wave cinemas, I really really liked this movie, it was just so fun to watch especially since the cast was so great. There were several stretches in the plot but really nothing too bad. It was easier to buy than Timberlake and Seyfreidâ
  35. Nov 9, 2011
    8
    A great movie to see with friends or family. Not the comedic gold that we would expect from such a cast, but an entertaining time nonetheless. The characters are well played. and there are many moments when you just can't help but laugh. There are, however, times where jokes fall flat. Don't expect this to be the best Comedic experience of your life, but enjoy it anyways!
  36. Dec 14, 2011
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The collaboration between Eddie Murphy and Ben Stiller is fabulous in this movie. The first third of the movie is pretty boring, and exponentially got hilarious when Eddie Murphy was finally introduced. The mexican guy was a perfect choice for his role. One great scene was when Eddie was teaching the guys to steal and ends up taking their wallets. Also, the plot actually isn't bad for a comedy. As "cal1998" said, it is like Occupy Wall Street. The final scene is hilarious when all the supporting characters receive golden parts of the car. Expand
  37. Nov 4, 2011
    8
    It's not a bad movie, for a comedy. It does most things okay, but makes you laugh, which at the end of the day is what matters most in this type of movie.

    Check out my full take:

    http://www.filmresource.net/reviews/tower-heist-review/
  38. Nov 18, 2011
    10
    It boasts a great cast and a very smart and funny premise. It's great fun for not just comedy fans but general audiences alike. And a welcome return-to-form for Eddie Murphy. 4/4 stars.
  39. Nov 7, 2011
    9
    This movie so great and made by great producer. I laughed as much as on both parts of Hangover.
    Great job guys!!!
    Movies with Ben Stiller and Eddie Murphy rarely can be boring and not imaginative!!!
  40. Apr 12, 2012
    8
    Tower Heist is full of great performances and and a clever twist. The humor is mostly funny, but the story could've had some fine tuning. Overall, its a pretty cool film.
  41. Nov 10, 2011
    9
    Tower heist isn't what you would quite call a gem, but it is a light,fluffy action comedy that is worth checking in the theaters if you know what you what you're dealing with.
  42. Nov 13, 2011
    7
    Fun if forgettable comedy fare. It's a little unusual in that it is much better than most of Eddie Murphy's recent work but doesnt live up to Ben Stiller's usual caliber. That being said it delivered some good laughs and is certainly worth catching on DVD even if you aren't keen to see it in theaters.
  43. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Erin Yri
    Kacie Jossart
    English 110
    Movie Review
    Eddie Murphy and Ben Stiller lead an all-star cast in a dramatic action packed comedy called Tower Heist. Tower Heist is a movie about employees who seek revenge on the Wall Street swindler who stiffed them. When employees of a luxurious Central Park Condominium discover the multi billionaire who lives in the penthouse has stolen their
    entire retirement money they plot a mischievous way to get it all back.
    It is present-day Manhattan and the Tower is a tightly run, high-class condo managed by a tightly wound, attention-to-every-little-detail Josh Kovaks (Stiller). Josh has gotten so comfortable rubbing shoulders with the resident elite especially the top dog at the top of his game and the owner of the Tower's top suite, Wall Street guru Arthur Shaw (Alan Alda) that he sometimes forgets he's "not one of them."
    Because of this he is stricken when Arthur Shaw is taken down by an FBI sting that reveals Arthur's billion-dollar fraud â
    Expand
  44. Nov 23, 2011
    6
    It's Oceans 11 meets 48 Hours but not as good as either. I don't even remember Stiller going for any laughs, much less getting any. Murphy was mildly funny, but not in his best form - his best lines seemed tailor-made for the trailers. This is more of a caper movie than a comedy. Not a must - see, but a mediocre rental.
  45. Dec 10, 2011
    10
    This was all a pretty good combination, the cast, the film, every thing can't wait till it gets on DVD because i'll definitely buy it GREAT GREAT GREAT!!!!
  46. Feb 22, 2013
    7
    On the surface, Tower Heist appears to be nothing more than a stupid comedy about some pissed off employees, getting back at their rich bosses, that's kind of why I didn't want to see it. This movie did surprise me though, aside from it's lame jokes, there is substance here, which include a pretty good story and an interesting cast. Ben Stiller is terrific as usual, but Eddie Murphy was not. I was never a big fan to begin with, but in recent years he has completely lost the ability to be funny and carry a film, the way he did with the Beverly Hills Cop series. Usually Murphy is an asset, injecting humor into an otherwise dry plot, but here his appearance actually takes away from the film. His character is both forced and uninteresting and I'd go as far as to say that this movie would have been better, if Eddie Murphy's character was just eliminated altogether. As I said earlier, the previews don't do this film justice and if you base what you're going to watch solely on previews, than you probably didn't see Tower Heist, and you're missing out. It is an interesting movie, that's different, and has a couple of twists in the story. Not an award winner by any means, but it's certainly something that will entertain you for a couple of hours. Expand
  47. Jan 5, 2012
    6
    Ben Stiller and Eddie Murphy lead an all-star cast in Tower Heist, a comedy caper about working stiffs who seek revenge on the Wall Street swindler who stiffed them. After the workers at a luxury Central Park condominium discover the penthouse billionaire has stolen their retirement, they plot the ultimate revenge: a heist to reclaim what he took from them.
  48. Dec 30, 2011
    1
    Writing this negative review is the reason I opened my metacritic account.

    This movie is terrible. I did try to enjoy it for what it is, yet could not get past the ridiculous events that actually transpired in the movie.

    The usually funny cast had terrible characters, with many moments intended to be funny off track conversation, that just were NOT funny.

    Worst movie I have seen 2011.
  49. Feb 28, 2012
    1
    Tower Heist (2011): An extremely unfunny script with awkward pacing, weak characters and complete waste of actors. The film's only justification is to show Eddie Murphy and Matthew Broderick still can give decent comedic performances, it's a shame it's not a better movie for them.
  50. Jan 16, 2012
    6
    Stiller's Eleven

    Billed as a more comedically oriented version of Ocean's Eleven, Brett Ratner's lighthearted caper Tower Heist fails to reach the heights it occasionally seems capable of. One area in which it is similar to Soderbergh's trilogy, however, is the monster cast. Where Ocean's collected almost every major star in the world at the time and thrust them into the same film, Heist
    boasts an intriguing mix of comedic heavyweights, old-school skill players and young talent. The whole operation never quite comes together, resulting in an average way to spend a couple of hours, but certainly nothing uproarious.

    Josh (Ben Stiller) is the diligent manager of The Tower, friendly with its many residents, but none more so than wealthy financier Arthur Shaw (Alan Alda). So friendly, in fact, that he trusts Shaw with the management and investment of his employees' pension fund. But after Shaw is arrested for fraud, Josh's view of his former friend changes when he is told that legal recovery of the money is unlikely. So, with the help of fellow employees (Casey Affleck, Michael Pena, Gabourey Sidibe), an out-of-luck tenant (Matthew Broderick) and petty crook Slide (Eddie Murphy), Josh plans the robbery of Shaw's apartment to reclaim what is his.

    For a film so reliant on consistent comedy to earn appraisal, it opens very slowly, trudging along with a greater priority placed upon plot foundations than actual humour. This would be acceptable in a film of this genre if the director had something captivating to offer, such as some sort of story arc or a handful of subplots that would allow the audience a genuine emotional interest in each character. The problem is that Heist takes the path of least resistance when establishing backstories; so one has to wonder why so much time was devoted to them in the early stages, subsequently limiting the time for what the audience came to see. Furthermore, Ratner dances with a romantic subplot throughout most of the second half, but never fully commits to the arc, rendering the whole substory lifeless and unnecessary. Admittedly, the film kicks into a higher gear when Murphy is finally injected. Although he is never able to truly let loose courtesy of a fairly inoffensive script, his solid timing and snappy delivery hark back to his success as a stand-up comedian in the eighties, and his performance is the dim highlight in a film filled with 'okays' and 'so-sos.' Murphy shares most of the one-liners with Pena, whose comedic skills are surprising considering his resume of dramas and actioners up to this point. Above-average comedic sensibilities between the two are good enough to turn a groan into a chuckle and a chuckle into a laugh but again, a predictable, unambitious screenplay keen on satisfying all ages limits the laughter.

    The climax is actually quite tense, and can create some scary images for those terrified of heights. This is despite all its absurdity for the same reason that zany set pieces are always excusable in this context: it's a comedy. How did the team make it all the way to Shaw's apartment without being spotted? Surely, with all the people in the city that day for the Thanksgiving parade, wouldn't someone have alerted the police to a gang of men dressed in black dangling out of a window? Doesn't matter, it's a comedy.

    The ending is an expectedly upbeat, neatly packaged one, topped off with a hubris-smashing act of selflessness by Josh. This might have meant more in a serious film, but adds no extra weight to the story here due to a lack of follow-though. Tower Heist might elate, will probably disappoint, but at least won't be looked upon as an unmitigated disaster by film's end.

    *There's nothing I love more than a bit of feedback, good or bad. So drop me a line on jnatsis@iprimus.com.au and let me know what you thought of my review.*
    Expand
  51. Feb 22, 2012
    10
    Critics got this film so wrong, Its hilarious. The cast is solid through out, Its interesting to watch, and thankfully it doesnt become another sappy comedy with poor drama added in. I really enjoyed watching it.
  52. Jan 27, 2012
    8
    Tower Heist is a movie directed by Brett Ratner and stars Ben Stiller & Eddie Murphy, and the story is this Arthur Shaw (Alan Alda) has stolen their money, and they want it back. First off, this movie was not as funny as I first thought. Eddie Murphy provides a couple of laughs but not as much as I thought. At some parts, it wasen't realistic, like the $45 million gold car on a cable? It would snap and the gold will fall down and kill people. My favourite part was when the black chick knocked out the security guard. I didn't expect that at all and I died laughing! Overall this movie is a great time and I recomend it on the big screen. Expand
  53. Feb 5, 2012
    7
    Once I had finished watching Tower Heist, I couldn't decide yet whether it was a comedy or an action movie. I think that's one of the most favorable points of the movie. Ben Stiller's making us laugh like always (it's not the best acting of his career, but he does know how to take a smile out of you!) and Eddie Murphy's thief is just hilarious. The action scenes are well done and in my opinion this mix of laughter and thrill is totally effective for a popcorn movie. Expand
  54. Feb 25, 2012
    1
    another stupid movie. Criminal activity from some idiots, trying to break into the hotel and steal the dudes golden car. Stupid. A Car made out of solid gold? I'm supposed to believe this **** The stupid car goes on top of the elevator, and they ride it up and down the building, while the cops are in the elevator? Also the car ius hanging form the edge of the building and the characters are hanging from the car, a thousand feet above the street? Horrible. Just a stupid movie,. Big budgets and everything for this **** Expand
  55. Mar 6, 2012
    3
    This movie came to me as a total disappointment. The jokes weren't that funny, I only laughed like twice and the film all in all was just totally boring. There comes a movie once in a while that is just terrible and this was it.
  56. Mar 16, 2012
    6
    This movie is funny but it is very inappropriate and sometimes it is boring. It is also filled with action parts but it is still a very messy and weird kind of film. It is long but it is also a pretty good movie and most will enjoy it.
  57. Mar 18, 2012
    7
    This was a fun movie. I rate movies differently according to their genre, so this deserves a 7. It's a good, funny, family oriented comedy that will ensure a few laughs for everyone. Good plot line for a comedy, and it was well cast.
  58. Apr 4, 2012
    7
    Es muy divertida, y es sorprendente ver como Murphy logra sacar carcajadas nuevamente. La verdad que el fue lo mas chistoso de la pelicula. Esta bastante buena, pero hay momentos en donde se requiere de un poco mas de chispa. Fue bastante entretenida...
  59. Mar 11, 2013
    9
    I watched this movie not expecting much and was pleasantly surprised. It may not be downright hilarious, but it is a very entertaining movie with plenty of plot twists you won't see coming. Ben Stiller gives a pretty solid performance and seems like one of his more serious roles believe it or not. Overall, I recommend this movie to friends and family who also say they enjoyed it. It is a very underrated movie. Expand
  60. Mar 24, 2013
    10
    The best vigilante comedy made in a long time. The movie combines Ben Stiller's adult comedy with the Robin Hood type plot we all love. It is perfect.
  61. Nov 7, 2012
    4
    Tower Heist is watchable if you have nothing better to do. It's not very funny, and it's not exciting at all. It really has no reason for being. The film defines the term mediocre.
  62. Dec 28, 2012
    6
    Tower Heist borrows heavily from other (and better) films such as Ocean's Eleven and The Italian Job, but with a great cast and a solid script, this film makes for a very entertaining and satisfying experience.
  63. Dec 25, 2013
    6
    A funny and entertaining movie that just doesn't aim very high. Tower Heist works while you watch it, but that's still pretty far away from comedy classic status. There may be one or two lines which you can look back fondly upon, but for the most part it's not hysterically memorable. That being said, there really isn't much wrong with it either. It's engaging, well cast, and amusing, so I'm giving it a light recommendation. However, I'm not guaranteeing that you'll love it, so don't blame me if you feel like your time was wasted. Expand
  64. Aug 24, 2013
    5
    [5.9] It's not a terrible movie, but its cast certainly doesn't make up for poor quality. The whole movie just gets more and more disappointing as you watch it and really has nothing to show for. It's boring, only occasionally funny, and rarely smart. Tower Heist is a failure, not a major failure, but it's easily forgettable.
  65. Feb 17, 2013
    9
    That film is awesome. I would recommend it for anyone to watch it, buy it as a DVD or download it if it isn't shown in the cinema. The comedy in the film is awesome and the place where the film was shot was incredible. I gave it 9 out of 10 because i wanted it to be taller.(just because i loved it.)
  66. Mar 17, 2013
    7
    Stiller takes the spotlight far too much but can't quite capture the excitement of his 'Tugg Speedman' days While Murphy proves he is back on form in this classic concept of thievery. Tower Heist can get confusing at times but the actors manage nail biting scenes and moments of action well. Everything feels balanced, not too over the top, not too risky. As a member of the audience, I was left wanting more. Overall, a very good action/comedy flick that lingers steps away from greatness. Expand
  67. Jun 25, 2013
    8
    This is certainly one movie that isn't too funny the first time you see it. Once you see it a couple times though, you laugh more and more. This could be a farewell film to Eddie Murphy and Matthew Broderick, if so, then this is a good way to end a career. This is a funny movie that really utilizes the talents of Stiller, Murphy, and Broderick.
  68. May 30, 2014
    6
    Tower Heist is actually very funny 75% of the time. However, it's that 25% that drags this movie down. Stiller and Broderick do almost nothing for the movie, and they can't hold a candle to Murphy's humor and timing. He's the reason that this movie is just barely passable as good.
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 39
  2. Negative: 1 out of 39
  1. Reviewed by: Nick de Semlyen
    Nov 6, 2011
    60
    Fun if uneven stuff from Ratner. A welcome return to form for Eddie Murphy and an even-more-welcome turn by the ever-excellent Alan Alda.
  2. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Nov 4, 2011
    75
    As far as sophisticated caper flicks go, Tower Heist is oceans away from George Clooney's crew. Compared to other recent comedies, it's pretty light on the laughs.
  3. Reviewed by: Peter Rainer
    Nov 4, 2011
    58
    If this film turns out to be a big success, malls everywhere may want to hire more security.