User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 1296 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 24, 2010
    9
    Great film. Never manages to fail expectations its a perfect strory to life and what us humans feel within our emotions. Pixar have created a masterlass, when Buzz, Woody etc are all falling to their mercy in what most of us thought would be them burnt to ashes. Making us humans express that much emotion in a few toys show this great bond between us and the characters that only happensGreat film. Never manages to fail expectations its a perfect strory to life and what us humans feel within our emotions. Pixar have created a masterlass, when Buzz, Woody etc are all falling to their mercy in what most of us thought would be them burnt to ashes. Making us humans express that much emotion in a few toys show this great bond between us and the characters that only happens through three great journeys!, I was expecting this to be worse, but turns out it just keeps getting better :) Expand
  2. Nov 26, 2010
    10
    LOVE THIS MOVIE! It had that touching as well as funny feel to it. This film was probably the best of the three. Spanish buzz was hilarious to me! Those dances made me crack up!
  3. Dec 20, 2010
    10
    With both of its predecessors receiving a 100% positive feedbacks on RottenTomatoes.com, Toy Story 3 is expected to reach the high standards. And it absolutely does. Toy Story 3 follows the 11 year absent of the two previous films and off the Andy going to college. The toys including Woody and Buzz Lightyear are being donated to a daycare center. The toys were ecstatic about it until theyWith both of its predecessors receiving a 100% positive feedbacks on RottenTomatoes.com, Toy Story 3 is expected to reach the high standards. And it absolutely does. Toy Story 3 follows the 11 year absent of the two previous films and off the Andy going to college. The toys including Woody and Buzz Lightyear are being donated to a daycare center. The toys were ecstatic about it until they found out that the kids there are disgusting and there is a huge evil bear with a one-eyed baby doll guarding them. Adding adventure to the already interesting plot, Woody and the gang decided to humorously escape the center with great style. Director Lee Unkrich, who is not new at all to the Pixar directing department, he's been responsible for Finding Nemo, Monsters, Inc., and co-director of Toy Story 2. So picking him for the job is not a bad idea. He brought something completely new to the table and turned the story around with twists and thrills. Lee Unkrich had done a decent job of directing this beloved film which had both adults and kids crying their hearts out. From the beginning where Andy's home videos are being played to the end where Andy was saying his final good-byes to the toys, Toy Story 3 is a must-see for all ages and it touched all of our hearts one way or the other. OscarBuzz: Best Picture (locked for a nomination), Best Animated Feature (locked for the Oscar) Expand
  4. Dec 13, 2010
    10
    The Toys are back in town! (Yea, I said it). "Toy Story 3" may just be the best installment in the Toy Story series (and the word on the street is Pixar may be making a forth). Pixar hasn't let me down yet on staying true to what matter most, the story. And somehow Pixar keeps raising the bar on 3D animation making it seem like they are untouchable. "Toy Story 3's" visuals and animationThe Toys are back in town! (Yea, I said it). "Toy Story 3" may just be the best installment in the Toy Story series (and the word on the street is Pixar may be making a forth). Pixar hasn't let me down yet on staying true to what matter most, the story. And somehow Pixar keeps raising the bar on 3D animation making it seem like they are untouchable. "Toy Story 3's" visuals and animation put the first "Toy Story" to shame. It is like comparing VHS to Blu-Ray.

    Read full review at FlicksWorthWatching.com
    Expand
  5. Dec 5, 2010
    8
    Oh my. This is so far the only sequel that is as good as the original. -- I told myself repeatedly upon seeing the previews that this wasn't going to be a very good film, that it was mainly an attempt to make more money off what was a wonderful original, with some rather crude child-humour (judging by the commercials). I agreed to go see it anyway, for whatever reason, and by the end ofOh my. This is so far the only sequel that is as good as the original. -- I told myself repeatedly upon seeing the previews that this wasn't going to be a very good film, that it was mainly an attempt to make more money off what was a wonderful original, with some rather crude child-humour (judging by the commercials). I agreed to go see it anyway, for whatever reason, and by the end of it, I was crying. It was a wonderful ending to an awesome series of films. -- There was nothing super-epic that changed my paradigm or anything, but certainly enough to live up to the other two. I'm extremely happy to have been proven wrong, and will hold my breath hoping we won't see a fourth any time soon. Expand
  6. Dec 6, 2010
    10
    I grew up loving Toy Story and I would have never imagined that it would follow me into my adult life. We went on opening day at midnight and it was us and a ton of rowdy teenagers. It was so funny how the movie shut everyone up and brought us all together. Everyone was cheering, laughing, and crying at all the same parts. I swear this movie takes down everyone into tears whether theyI grew up loving Toy Story and I would have never imagined that it would follow me into my adult life. We went on opening day at midnight and it was us and a ton of rowdy teenagers. It was so funny how the movie shut everyone up and brought us all together. Everyone was cheering, laughing, and crying at all the same parts. I swear this movie takes down everyone into tears whether they admit it or not. a week later I took my little cousins to see this movie and they had all the same reactions. this movie takes all the themes form the last two movies and brings them out into such a high emotional level that everyone young or old can love it. It's a blast to watch just for fun too. Toy Story is a kids movie series for every generation to infinity and beyond Expand
  7. Dec 11, 2010
    10
    Rounding out the perfect trilogy - narrowly beating 'The Lord of the Rings'.' This film should definately be nominated for best picture, if not win. Instant Classic. Best pixar movie, after Wall-E
  8. Jan 29, 2011
    10
    I admit I was sceptical, but this movie really surprised me, and it really is an example to what "U" rated movies should be: Exciting, Hilarious but clean, well-paced and also very touching. It had a quite a few sad bits in it, but I kind of like that as it gives a sense of maturity without requiring a "16" rating(Haha!). The balance of humour and emotion come together to make a fantasticI admit I was sceptical, but this movie really surprised me, and it really is an example to what "U" rated movies should be: Exciting, Hilarious but clean, well-paced and also very touching. It had a quite a few sad bits in it, but I kind of like that as it gives a sense of maturity without requiring a "16" rating(Haha!). The balance of humour and emotion come together to make a fantastic end to a fantastic trilogy, and I'm crying as it waves goodbye to us. The characters are witty and well played, especially the take on a pink bear being a "mafia" leader while at the same time his backstory making you feel sorry for him despite all his evils. And they even managed to put in TWO love stories while not making it seem overly soppy, even making them very funny at times. In short, WATCH. THIS. MOVIE. ...why are you still reading this? I told you to watch this movie! GO! Expand
  9. Jul 2, 2011
    10
    Pixar amongst being an amazing team of producers, directors and animators manages to bypass the stereotype that sequels are never a good as their predecessors. This is evident in Toy Story 1, 2 and 3 and will be in all the sequels Pixar will ever make. Pixar easily outstrips its competitors and even Disney its self with it's amazing ability to produce entirely original films. Toy Story 3Pixar amongst being an amazing team of producers, directors and animators manages to bypass the stereotype that sequels are never a good as their predecessors. This is evident in Toy Story 1, 2 and 3 and will be in all the sequels Pixar will ever make. Pixar easily outstrips its competitors and even Disney its self with it's amazing ability to produce entirely original films. Toy Story 3 is fine example of this and gives every quality of a truly good film: perfectly selected music, quirky and life-like characters, flawless and skillful animation, a clever script and of course pure originality. Previously life-less toys become a part of you, full of genuine emotion and humor and realistic enough to jump right out of the screen and into your life. Join Pixar in Toy Stories final chapter and embark on a journey that will make you laugh and cry till you can no more. Expand
  10. Feb 8, 2011
    10
    Toy Story 3 may have taken a while to get here but it was worth every second of the wait, the toys are back and more enjoyable than ever, the story is an emotionally moving masterpiece, it will have you laughing, crying, and sitting on the edge of your seat from beginning to end, my only complaint is one joke that really should not have been in a kids movie and i should subtract a pointToy Story 3 may have taken a while to get here but it was worth every second of the wait, the toys are back and more enjoyable than ever, the story is an emotionally moving masterpiece, it will have you laughing, crying, and sitting on the edge of your seat from beginning to end, my only complaint is one joke that really should not have been in a kids movie and i should subtract a point for that, but it's just such an excellent movie that it really doesn't effect the fact that this movie is deserving of a perfect 10, this is one of the greatest movies ever don't miss it. Expand
  11. Feb 9, 2014
    9
    Toy Story 3 ends the Pixar animated trilogy on a high note. The story is tight, the jokes are funny and the climax leaves not a dry eye in the house. For me, this is undoubtedly the best in the series and one of the best Pixar films to date.
  12. Jan 16, 2011
    10
    Absolutely great! Witty, creative, and inspired (can imagine animator saying "you know, my sister's baby doll always creeped me out"). It's a total delight.
  13. Jan 1, 2011
    9
    Rarely can any movie meet perfection and despite the general consensus, this movie was excellent but not quite perfect. Yes, the story line seems a little unimaginative when compared to Toy Story 1 & 2. The new toys they did introduce didn't have the character development that made us either like or hate them. Nevertheless, this movie had the one quality that mattered to the viewers: itRarely can any movie meet perfection and despite the general consensus, this movie was excellent but not quite perfect. Yes, the story line seems a little unimaginative when compared to Toy Story 1 & 2. The new toys they did introduce didn't have the character development that made us either like or hate them. Nevertheless, this movie had the one quality that mattered to the viewers: it touched on the nostalgia of our childhood memories. The ending that everyone is alluding to is the perfect example of this. The best part is the older viewer never saw it coming. We are suddenly rerouted down this emotional path causing us to reflect on the changes we make as we move beyond our childhood years. It is a bittersweet reflection and one that requires a 230 pound father of a little girl to choke up and clear the dust that is tearing in his eye. Pixar is an incredibly talented production company and this movie is another great example of this. Expand
  14. Feb 2, 2011
    10
    I honestly can find no flaw in this film. It brought everyone in the theater to tears, including myself, but it does so, not with cheap romance sap, but with actual pure, deep, flowing emotion over the loss of your childhood and learning to let it go. Pixar is known for quality, but they have raised the bar extremely high with "Toy Story 3". This entire series is one for the history books,I honestly can find no flaw in this film. It brought everyone in the theater to tears, including myself, but it does so, not with cheap romance sap, but with actual pure, deep, flowing emotion over the loss of your childhood and learning to let it go. Pixar is known for quality, but they have raised the bar extremely high with "Toy Story 3". This entire series is one for the history books, and will be a staple for family shelves everywhere. Expand
  15. Jan 2, 2011
    10
    The third installment of Disney Pixar's Toy Story 3 is absoulutely sensational. The same old characters are back. Reliable Woody, spacehero Buzz and friends steal the show from the start. The movie shines in the aspect of being suitable for all ages with funny clean storylines and character development. The plot twists and scenarios can relate to everyday life and situations. AnimationThe third installment of Disney Pixar's Toy Story 3 is absoulutely sensational. The same old characters are back. Reliable Woody, spacehero Buzz and friends steal the show from the start. The movie shines in the aspect of being suitable for all ages with funny clean storylines and character development. The plot twists and scenarios can relate to everyday life and situations. Animation movies are at times limited, but the team at Disney were suberb in providing a truly memorable third Toy Story Expand
  16. Feb 26, 2011
    7
    I enjoyed this one as much as I enjoyed the first 2, great story line, fun characters, voices are done very well, nice action, great family flick. Put in the popcorn and enjoy!
  17. Dec 15, 2011
    8
    A great film, anyone who liked the first two would love this one, all the characters return and it feels great. It's very entertaining and funny at times, it's truly a film for the whole family, my 10 year old sister liked it, my 18 year old brother liked it, my parents (in their 40s) liked it, and I liked it (me being 14). But dispute all the good stuff, there are a few bad things aboutA great film, anyone who liked the first two would love this one, all the characters return and it feels great. It's very entertaining and funny at times, it's truly a film for the whole family, my 10 year old sister liked it, my 18 year old brother liked it, my parents (in their 40s) liked it, and I liked it (me being 14). But dispute all the good stuff, there are a few bad things about Toy Story 3, the story is too similar to the previous movies and it felt predicable at times. Other than that, it's a great film that should be watched by any Toy Story fan, or animation fan. Expand
  18. Jan 22, 2011
    9
    what a fantastic movie! its got a lot of actions ,a great plot and pretty good effects.
    its one of those few movies that left a deep impression on me
  19. Jan 24, 2011
    10
    The perfect goodbye to the characters we all know and love so well. Too often we see sequels flop so it's great to see Pixar gave it there all. Hilarious movie but also very sad especially if you've grown up with this film as it's not just Andy saying goodbye to his toy's, its us too! Only Pixar can manage to make a movie so funny and yet so sad at the same time.. I feel sorry for anybodyThe perfect goodbye to the characters we all know and love so well. Too often we see sequels flop so it's great to see Pixar gave it there all. Hilarious movie but also very sad especially if you've grown up with this film as it's not just Andy saying goodbye to his toy's, its us too! Only Pixar can manage to make a movie so funny and yet so sad at the same time.. I feel sorry for anybody who doesn't enjoy the Toy Story movies Expand
  20. Jan 29, 2011
    10
    I was worried that I would be harshly disappointed with the end of the original trilogy from my childhood. I was wrong. This movie does justice for Pixar, Disney, and the theatrical releases disgracing the entertainment world today. After an 11 year wait, I was pleased dramatically. Doubt it? Go see it for yourself, and you will understand why it should win an Academy Award.
  21. Jan 31, 2011
    9
    At first I didn't understand why Toy Story need to be a trilogy, especially with Toy Story 2 falling to capture the warmth and charm of the original. But after seeing Toy Story 3 I understood why this film had to be made. For those who grew up with Buzz and Woody, we always knew that Andy would eventually grow up and be more interested in sports and girls than playing with toys. I thoughtAt first I didn't understand why Toy Story need to be a trilogy, especially with Toy Story 2 falling to capture the warmth and charm of the original. But after seeing Toy Story 3 I understood why this film had to be made. For those who grew up with Buzz and Woody, we always knew that Andy would eventually grow up and be more interested in sports and girls than playing with toys. I thought that Disney and Pixar did an excellent job on giving fans of the series one last chance to say good bye to their childhood friends. Great film!!! A must see!!! Expand
  22. May 29, 2011
    9
    Movie really fun, which initially made us laugh. With the development, make us start to reflect about how we left aside the things that were very important in our life. And what a beautiful end, making us reflect about how might be so difficult open hands from things that were important to us, but itâ
  23. Apr 17, 2011
    9
    Exhilarating, emotional, and innovative, Toy Story 3 is a fun, heartwarming threequel for all ages. Pros: Eye-popping CGI animation and 3-D effects; innovative characters elevated by talented voice acting; lots of lesson and depth added to the plot. Cons: It's not as cheerful as the first two installments.
  24. Mar 20, 2011
    10
    The absolute best animation I have ever seen. How fitting, considering Toy Story was the pioneer of digital animation. I was four when the first Toy Story came out, and eight when the second one did. I pretty much grew up on Disney movies, Toy Story and Lion King being the two I watched most. Probably a few hundred times between the two of them (no exaggeration). I literally grew up withThe absolute best animation I have ever seen. How fitting, considering Toy Story was the pioneer of digital animation. I was four when the first Toy Story came out, and eight when the second one did. I pretty much grew up on Disney movies, Toy Story and Lion King being the two I watched most. Probably a few hundred times between the two of them (no exaggeration). I literally grew up with Woody, Buzz and the gang. Coincidentally, I started my first year of college last year, so Andy and I share a connection that is very personal to me. The people over at Pixar have done what has only happened a few times in history. Let's hope they take home the Oscar for Best Picture like the Lord of the Rings did, although I wouldn't get my hopes up. Those Academy douche bags... But back to Pixar. They created a damn near perfect trilogy. I loved this movie. This may be blasphemy to some of you, but I have to admit that Shrek 2 still holds the crown as my all time favorite animated film. After that is How To Train Your Dragon, then probably Toy Story 3 and Toy Story 2 tied at third. Ratatouille is tied with Monster's Inc. for a very close fourth. As you can see, Pixar dominates my list, that does go on, by the way. Anyway, I think this was a perfect way to close the trilogy. The last fifteen minutes or so were very heartfelt and touching. I was on the verge of tears. When Woody said goodbye to Andy in the closing moments, I felt as if he was talking directly to me. The movie is altogether excellent. I have to admit that I was a bit nervous that it wouldn't impress me as much as everyone said it would. After reading over a dozen reviews with perfect scores, I had expectations that almost always lead to disappoint. I'm happy to say I was not. Not even close. The script is very well done. The music is just as great. The voice acting never felt insincere. And most importantly, I never got the feeling that some studio executive told the geniuses at Pixar to make this movie because it would clean out the pockets of millions of moviegoers I'm talking to you DreamWorks. I almost hated Shrek after the third movie, then they did a fourth?! No, I never got that feeling from this movie at all. It was a rejuvenation to a property that was already loved by almost everyone. The graphical detail in the picture was incredible. I have been fighting the Blu Ray takeover for months, but if there was ever a movie that would make me take my first step, it's this one. Nope, not even Avatar could make me do it, and I loved Avatar. I didn't see the movie in 3D because I heard some bad things about how dull it was. So I won't comment on that, but even without it, this movie is gorgeous. I loved it, and I cannot wait to buy it. I'm actually glad I never bought the first two. That means I can get whatever special trilogy box set they release hopefully this holiday season. It saddens me to know that their adventures are over, but I'm glad it ended the way it did. Waiting eleven years to do the final entry was probably not intentional, but it worked out for the best. At least for me because of my age corresponding to Andy's. I'm really going to miss those toys (at least until I get that box set). May Toy Story live forever. Expand
  25. Mar 21, 2011
    9
    This is one of the top films of 2010 and all would agree with that! THe whole concept is is amazing as the story of Andy's toys comes to a moving conclusion. It'll give you a chuckle, cry, and more laughs because this is a wonderful movie!
  26. Jun 22, 2011
    10
    I was blown away by this film. I couldn't fathom that a second sequel could be so fulfilling. If you've been keeping up with the series since you were a kid (I was a mere six when the original debuted), then you own it to yourself to watch the conclusion; and it especially strikes a somber yet optimistic tone with the recent high school or college graduate. It's likely shorter (or atI was blown away by this film. I couldn't fathom that a second sequel could be so fulfilling. If you've been keeping up with the series since you were a kid (I was a mere six when the original debuted), then you own it to yourself to watch the conclusion; and it especially strikes a somber yet optimistic tone with the recent high school or college graduate. It's likely shorter (or at least seems so) than the previous iterations, and is much more rich in content, storyline, and absolutely unrelentingly stunning animation which has been the hallmark of Pixar since it's creation. It's a must-see film and total lock for the top 5, or even number 1 film, of 2010. Expand
  27. Dec 24, 2013
    9
    When you go to see a Toy Story movie you know you will laugh and be entertained but you don't expect to shed a tear (a manly tear mind!) as well, but that is exactly what this third movie in the series delivers. If this is the final entry in the series its a great way to finish.
  28. May 22, 2012
    10
    This movie is so FANTASTIC! This is the perfect movie finale to an amazing series of tales between Andy and his toys. The ending is so heartbreaking for me, I just want to cry but I can't. This shows how toys can be so significant in a person's life. I just don't understand why some users gave it an average or bad rating, maybe they just don't appreciate it. This movie really deserved aThis movie is so FANTASTIC! This is the perfect movie finale to an amazing series of tales between Andy and his toys. The ending is so heartbreaking for me, I just want to cry but I can't. This shows how toys can be so significant in a person's life. I just don't understand why some users gave it an average or bad rating, maybe they just don't appreciate it. This movie really deserved a score more than 10. Pixar is consistently producing true masterpieces so we should expect more from Pixar in the future....... Expand
  29. Jun 12, 2011
    7
    jeez!!! Why the many 10? Taking a look a toy story 3,it's just not innovative and mind blowing like the first,there's really nothing new to see interms of new characters and the action scenes like the second. So, i do think toy story 3 is a bit overrated (just a tiny bit) but overall it is a fine movie and a fitting closure to a truly wonderful franchise
  30. May 10, 2011
    10
    After a bad second part Pixar surprises us with a film only comparable with other pixar films. Second parts were never good, but this 3rd part is as good as the first one. One important thing, don't think on it as a children film, cause it's not!
  31. May 23, 2011
    10
    And what a message. I feel sorry for the adults who labeled Toy Story 3 a "kid's stuff" immediately and didn't take the chance to see it. It may seem like an already familiar description, but Toy Story 3's astonishing mish-mash of humor, suspense and emotion is for everyone. And has an animated film lately ever touched your heart so deeply? With every Pixar film, the heartache hurts moreAnd what a message. I feel sorry for the adults who labeled Toy Story 3 a "kid's stuff" immediately and didn't take the chance to see it. It may seem like an already familiar description, but Toy Story 3's astonishing mish-mash of humor, suspense and emotion is for everyone. And has an animated film lately ever touched your heart so deeply? With every Pixar film, the heartache hurts more and more. But oh, what sweet heartache! I don't know about you but it sure did pierce right through me. Expand
  32. May 27, 2011
    10
    Disney Pixar have done it again with a new installment of Toy Story 3. With Woody and Buzz leading the gang on another adventure they find themselves in terrifying positions where escaping seems almost impossible. But as many lovers of the family feel good movie will know, Andy's toys break free and make it home to say goodbye. It truly is a beautiful way to say "the end".
  33. May 31, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This film was one of the greatest films I saw in 2010. It was well thought out, with an amazing display of voice acting and animation quality. But a warning to those who wish to see it: It has what is easily a contender for saddest moment in movie history. Expand
  34. Jun 4, 2011
    7
    I love the film but I give it a 7 but I will call it overrated. It was a great film but I find the first 2 way better. The guess Lotso reminded of the StinkyPete so it seemed a bit repetitive.
  35. Nov 29, 2011
    8
    Back to the origins, even if this movie doesn't achieve as much as the first one, it is still a great movie.
    Recommended for everyone to watch. Good to see you again Woody.
  36. Jul 5, 2011
    10
    Toy Story 3 is one of the most captivating films I have ever seen in my life. It is one of the most epic animated adventures you will find anywhere in any movie.
  37. Jul 21, 2011
    10
    Beautiful film! As I grew up watching the prequels to this, I was so excited when its pre-production was finished and the film confirmed; and it was not a disappointment! The film leaves you with every emotion at its peak and perfect for any age. I didn't think they could beat the original for inventiveness or beat Up for how touching it was. A must see!
  38. Oct 9, 2011
    9
    Toy Story 3 is my favorite animated film of all time (along with "Beauty and the Beast", "Wall-E" and "The Lion King"). It's incredible how its magic transcends ages and can entertain both kids and adults. 16 years after the release of the first film the trilogy hasn't lost its appeal and much less its freshness.
  39. Aug 20, 2011
    10
    The greatest animated film of all time. And one of the best movies of 2010. Absolutely heartwarming, and breaking. Unique, brilliant, and just breathtakingly beautiful.
  40. Oct 23, 2011
    9
    This is a fantastic animation, easily one of the best of all time. The voice overs were excellent, storyline good and the animation brilliant! A great movie for the kids, but adults may enjoy it also. There is lot's of funny moments and it is a movie that can be enjoyed by everyone.
  41. Nov 11, 2011
    9
    TOY STORY 3 is a fun, colorful, cute and funny sequel to the fantastic TOY STORY that is just as good, or maybe even better than the previous film. The cast does a great job to provide the voices for the film.
  42. Jan 6, 2012
    10
    Toy Story 3 has managed to do something very special, it has managed to surpass Toy Story 1 in terms of quality, moving up to become my favorite Pixar film to date. It has quite possibly the best plot in a film I have ever seen, the comedy is completely perfect and everything about it is just so perfect. I dunno what my favorite film is, but this is a serious contender.
  43. Nov 4, 2011
    10
    Best Kids Movie Ever
    I watched this with my two younger siblings and i got to say this movie is so much better than the other toy story movies. If you haven't already watched this movie it is a must
  44. Mar 2, 2012
    10
    I knew there would be a Toy Story 3 eventually and in 2010 I finally got my wish. It has just about everything you could want from an animated movie: Honest emotion, creative storytelling, and great characters.
  45. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    This movie was just simply outstanding. I grew up with the original Toy Story & Toy Story 2 & even though there's about a decade between this movie & the second one, it sure as heck proves that not all things decay in quality with time. This movie was just.......amazing, though the word "amazing" is still an understatement. Don't pass up this movie, though it may be about toys, it's aboutThis movie was just simply outstanding. I grew up with the original Toy Story & Toy Story 2 & even though there's about a decade between this movie & the second one, it sure as heck proves that not all things decay in quality with time. This movie was just.......amazing, though the word "amazing" is still an understatement. Don't pass up this movie, though it may be about toys, it's about more than just that. This movie was extremely well done & well written, this is by far the best Pixar movie made to date. The ending actually brought me to tears, and I'm not one to cry so easily at all especially at an animated movie. This movie features some amazing storytelling, interesting (but in a good way) new characters and a feeling at the end both kids and adults will share at the end. If you haven't seen this movie yet, you absolutely need to. Expand
  46. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    With all the great movies that released in 2010, this was the true best picture. The film is smart, funny, sad, and apart from being one of the most entertaining films to release, it is a true masterpiece in every aspect. Especially to someone who grew up watching the toy story films as a child, this is a film that will definitely hit close to home. It has set a bar that I'm afraid noWith all the great movies that released in 2010, this was the true best picture. The film is smart, funny, sad, and apart from being one of the most entertaining films to release, it is a true masterpiece in every aspect. Especially to someone who grew up watching the toy story films as a child, this is a film that will definitely hit close to home. It has set a bar that I'm afraid no other animated feature film (or many feature films) will be able to reach. Expand
  47. Apr 7, 2013
    10
    Eleven years and countless rumours later, Toy Story 3 was finally unveiled, and it was undoubtedly worth every last minute of that decade and a year to not only bring us one of the best animated features we have ever seen, but one of the most touching and wipe-your-eyes drama that very few films can do.
    See the thing is, we have all grown up since Andy's toys first came into our lives,
    Eleven years and countless rumours later, Toy Story 3 was finally unveiled, and it was undoubtedly worth every last minute of that decade and a year to not only bring us one of the best animated features we have ever seen, but one of the most touching and wipe-your-eyes drama that very few films can do.
    See the thing is, we have all grown up since Andy's toys first came into our lives, but the people at Pixar have told a story which shows that the toys, and Andy himself, have also grown up, Andy of course with age, but the toys are now in the predicament that they always feared, not being played with.
    Much like the events of the second film, a curb side accident soon turns the tables from the second film as it is Woody now chasing after his friends.
    They are heading for Sunnyside daycare, for which at first glance is everything they had hoped it to be, new toys and they will finally be played with after years of isolation. But Woody soon learns the truth about the place, but is whisked out of the centre and must return to help his friends escape the clutches of Lotso (Ned Beatty) and his henchmen.
    The film invites us all back to enjoy our memories of these simple plastic dolls, and its hard to remember a film like this that makes us feel the way we do, because after fifteen years, its still got it. We have grown up with these toys, and we are reminded just how difficult growing up can be, especially after an imaginative childhood I'm sure most of us had. The cleverness and cunning nature of a child is all within Toy Story 3 and blends perfectly with the diverse set of characters to keep everyone entertained.
    It is truly wonderful to see how far these visuals have come since the original, with so much more detail and colour that truly put Pixar at the top of the perch in animation and story.
    Perfect can indeed be thrown around, but for Toy Story 3 it rings true for so many reasons. It has the perfect blend of comedy, heart and even action, combined with the original voice cast including Tim Allen and Tom Hanks while also bringing in the likes of Michael Keaton and Timothy Dalton. Pixar really have created a masterful animated adventure that will continue to reach for our inner child.
    With a perfect ending that will surely turn on the waterworks, its hard to say if there should be another film, simply because of the perfection of this and the first two that have created the perfect trilogy.
    Masterful, emotional, but a truly hilarious and brilliant effort that will continue to surprise and exceed, but a film that will also find a place deservedly among the best.
    Expand
  48. Feb 5, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This was the best one, because it was the darkest. I mean, it features everybody's favorite animate toys holding hands in the face of a roaring inferno, solemnly accepting their (apparent) demise. Not to mention, the villain is seriously one of the most messed-up characters I've seen in a Disney movie. Who could argue? Expand
  49. Nov 26, 2012
    10
    There couldn't be a more fitting end to this series then this film. The intro alone had me in tears because I grew up with this series and to see the scenes of Andy growing up with his toys reminded me so much of my own childhood, I couldn't help but get emotional. Such a great and touching film, A must see.
  50. Aug 27, 2014
    8
    Fifteen years after Pixar debuted Toy Story to the world, we have a second sequel which nearly surpasses both of its predecessors. Toy Story 3 is a heartwarming journey that you are destined to enjoy.
  51. Mar 26, 2012
    10
    What can I say about this animated masterpiece that hasn't already been said? The animation is breath-taking; the characters are just as lovable and memorable as they were in the previous Toy Story films; it has a very nostalgic feel to it; there is an excellent balance of humor and action; and the story is heart-breaking, yet brilliant. Toy Story 3 is an easy 10/10, and I give it myWhat can I say about this animated masterpiece that hasn't already been said? The animation is breath-taking; the characters are just as lovable and memorable as they were in the previous Toy Story films; it has a very nostalgic feel to it; there is an excellent balance of humor and action; and the story is heart-breaking, yet brilliant. Toy Story 3 is an easy 10/10, and I give it my highest recommendation (just be sure to have a box of tissues with you when you watch it). Expand
  52. Apr 1, 2012
    10
    First off, this a 9.5 out of 10. I honestly didn't think I would like it as much as I did. It so good. Always been a fan when I was a little kid, and this was just so good. story is real good. Funny sometimes, and sad in others. Acting good, and so is the score. Animation is beautiful. Overall, if this is the end, it went out great. For sure best toy story, and probably the best animatedFirst off, this a 9.5 out of 10. I honestly didn't think I would like it as much as I did. It so good. Always been a fan when I was a little kid, and this was just so good. story is real good. Funny sometimes, and sad in others. Acting good, and so is the score. Animation is beautiful. Overall, if this is the end, it went out great. For sure best toy story, and probably the best animated family move ever. Highly recommended. Expand
  53. Apr 26, 2012
    9
    Toy Story 3 was deep but not as deep as the first to movies. Toy Story 3 continues talking about what Toy Story 2 started talking about, the meaning of a toys life. When Andy grows up the toys go to a daycare, which is kind of like an orphanage to humans, it's where toys go who no longer have owners. When they get to daycare it's more like a prison, they even have a "box" just like aToy Story 3 was deep but not as deep as the first to movies. Toy Story 3 continues talking about what Toy Story 2 started talking about, the meaning of a toys life. When Andy grows up the toys go to a daycare, which is kind of like an orphanage to humans, it's where toys go who no longer have owners. When they get to daycare it's more like a prison, they even have a "box" just like a prison. Again like Toy Story 2 there was not enough of Woody and Buzz together. I would love to see an adventure with the buddies together by each others side. The ending was wonderful when it showed the picture of Andy and his toys, it was very touching. When Andy pulls Woody away from Bonnie, he shows the toys he loves them but cant give them the attention they need. More sexual references add to the fun, especially the scene with Rex and Trixie on the computer. Great movie, I hope to see more of Woody and the gang. Expand
  54. Mar 8, 2014
    10
    This is a rare second sequel that beats both its predecessors and it's just awesome. The film is darker compared to the previous two, but I've got nothing to complain. It was intense, deeply emotional, and it was kinda sad. This movie is my favorite Pixar film of all time.
  55. May 21, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Truly amazing and funny. We haven't seen Woody and friends since 1999. This movie brought everyone back together and had a grown up Andy going to collage, he didn't want to leave his "toy friends" behind. This movie is impressive and the ending was heartbreaking. It actually made me cry. Expand
  56. Jul 29, 2012
    10
    this is the best toy story. And best pixar film. And best film of 2010. This movie is so fantastic its so amazing. the animation was breath taking and story was fantastic. the movie was just a pure masterpiece
  57. Nov 9, 2012
    9
    *sniff* *sniff*...What? Shut up! I'm not crying!...F**king Pixar...
  58. Nov 18, 2012
    10
    Problably the best Animated movie ever made in my mind and the the best in the Toy Story trilogy as well as making its mark as one of the greatest films of all time. Toy Story 3 is Pixars 3rd sequel of the movie that made there company famous throughout the globe, and Toy Story 3 marks them to there highest achivement since the first Toy Story movie. This film touches your heart on so manyProblably the best Animated movie ever made in my mind and the the best in the Toy Story trilogy as well as making its mark as one of the greatest films of all time. Toy Story 3 is Pixars 3rd sequel of the movie that made there company famous throughout the globe, and Toy Story 3 marks them to there highest achivement since the first Toy Story movie. This film touches your heart on so many levels and creates a felling of sadness you will never forget, but also creates a felling of having one of the happiest moments in your life. you must see this film no excuses. Expand
  59. Nov 28, 2012
    10
    Adorable animation and a massive amount of truly heart-rending thematic subject matter not only make "Toy Story 3" the best of the series, but quite possibly the most earnestly poignant animated film ever made.
  60. Dec 8, 2012
    9
    A great, heartwarming film. Although it's not quite as good as the first two movies, but it's still very enjoyable. due to a great plot and excellent animation.
  61. Sep 4, 2013
    9
    [9.6] All of the spectacle and magnificence of a great kid's movie aren't what makes Toy Story 3. The last movie of the trilogy truly solidifies the life and importance of toys, and not just as objects.
  62. Jun 9, 2013
    9
    The perfect way to end a trilogy. If it wasn't for Inception this would have been my favorite film of 2010. Just a fun, heart warming, and very fulfilling piece of art.
  63. Mar 20, 2013
    10
    Only film I would be glad enough to give a 10 are animated films. This made me and my friends laught, cry and everything, and were ranging from age 16-23 where not even the target audience for this film. I do say that this film was the best of 2010 and I really can't wait to see a fourth one hopefully. I do believe that the "Toy Story" film series has been the only film series where everyOnly film I would be glad enough to give a 10 are animated films. This made me and my friends laught, cry and everything, and were ranging from age 16-23 where not even the target audience for this film. I do say that this film was the best of 2010 and I really can't wait to see a fourth one hopefully. I do believe that the "Toy Story" film series has been the only film series where every film has 2 stars. Its a shame that I can't find the second one. When I told you to watch a film before I have never been a serious as right now this is a film that I can watch probably 5 straight times in a row everyday of the week. It might be a little scary at points but it definintly makes you want to find out more. Also I know this movie has 3D DVD's that was the only thing bad with this film and 2010. Apparently in 2010 the though in every film maker was 3D. No I can only say that Tron Legacy and Step Up 3D were the only really good 3D films of 2010 but enough of that this is a must see all ages. Expand
  64. Mar 27, 2013
    8
    A wonderful close to Pixar's "Toy Story" series.
  65. Dec 21, 2013
    10
    Not only the best of the three, but the saddest and tragic Pixar movie of them all! It's an end to a beloved childhood for me, but the memories live on in this outstanding animated classic! Overall, Pixar's greatest accomplishment! Once again, it deserves an A+!
  66. Jun 6, 2014
    7
    This is a very good movie.

    It has everything a family friendly film needs: it has humor, likable characters, enjoyable story line, excellent animation and character designs. Has the 3rd entry in the series, this movie had a lot to live for and it exceeded public and critic expectation, but has I find myself revisiting the movie, I can't help but notice some cracks in it... and it mostly
    This is a very good movie.

    It has everything a family friendly film needs: it has humor, likable characters, enjoyable story line, excellent animation and character designs. Has the 3rd entry in the series, this movie had a lot to live for and it exceeded public and critic expectation, but has I find myself revisiting the movie, I can't help but notice some cracks in it... and it mostly have to do with some character traits and some illogical events.

    I don't want anybody to stop enjoying this movie because of this minor flaws... it's a fun movie that I recommend...
    Expand
  67. Apr 7, 2013
    10
    I loved Toy Story 2 & 1.
    However this one is the best one in my opinion.
    It reminds me how hard was getting rid of my favorite toys when I was a kid
  68. Jun 22, 2013
    10
    Toy Story 3 tops Toy Story and Toy Story 2, it is described with one great description, I usually use it for rare things, but this movie, it deserves it, the word is "Imaginative Masterwork" "Masterpiece"
  69. Jul 4, 2013
    10
    "Toy Story 3" is one that mixes humor, beautiful animation, heart, top notch storytelling and characters, into a second sequel, which works wonderfully. "Toy Story 3" involves a new adventure and the saddening message of growing up, which in my eyes, ranks to one of the best movies of 2010.
  70. Jun 1, 2014
    7
    Summary Review
    + Great Visual style
    + Good story with some interesting parts to it + Good voice acting + Fantastic ending to a great movie franchise -Story is predictable and it fairly unoriginal -Way too much goes on in this movie As a result I would recommend this film because it’s interesting. However I do feel it is a bit over-rated and will hopefully explain why I think this
    Summary Review
    + Great Visual style
    + Good story with some interesting parts to it
    + Good voice acting
    + Fantastic ending to a great movie franchise
    -Story is predictable and it fairly unoriginal
    -Way too much goes on in this movie

    As a result I would recommend this film because it’s interesting. However I do feel it is a bit over-rated and will hopefully explain why I think this way.

    Full Review
    The first thing I have to say about the movie, as is a trademark of the Toy Story franchise is that of how the animation within the film is fantastic. There really is a great balance between the creative nature of the design of the locations within the film which are creative enough to be interesting but not so out of this world they feel out of place. Such visuals I feel are enhanced by the lighting which really enhances the contrast between the dark and lighter areas. This is particularly the case with the day care centre that the toys end up in with a great sense of realism and creativity between the playground and the play area within the centre. Of course there are moments that do seem slightly out of place but that can be forgiven given that the overall look of the film is great.

    However for me a good looking film also needs to have and interesting story. I feel the angle that this film takes is quite an interesting one. Put simply Andy grows old and is heading for college, and the Toys end up in a day care centre (apart from Woody). This raises interesting issues about the Toys ‘loyalty’ to their owner. The story is made further when the Toys realise life at the day care centre is not all it is cracked up to be, epically when more is revealed about the ‘ruler’ (if you will) of the toys at day care (Lotso). I won’t spoiler the plot, but overall it is quite interesting. Furthermore as with many Pixar films there are some elements of comedy mixed in with the ‘sad’ moments (in particularly Buzz’s Spanish mode), that help keep the story fresh.

    However the main thing I found great about the film is that of the ending. This is not because I wanted the film to end, but because of how satisfying the movie ended. For sure it is not that original and not very surprising, but the fact that it seems to put the franchise to rest and reunite the toys helps to make the ending of the film really satisfying.

    With all this said, I really do feel this movie is over-rated seeing as how nearly all reviews I have read rate it the film either a 9 or a 10 out of 10, ratings that I really don’t feel the film deserves. The first major complaint I have with the film is that of the story while it is good, there are some key problems I feel need to be outlined. The first is that of how there is very little character development of the main character as you learn nothing new about them, meaning characters like Woody, Buzz etc. (despite the excellent voice acting) feel the same from the last two movies of the franchise. For sure the film does introduce new characters like Barbie and Ken that arguably help undermine this problem, but they feel under-developed and for the most part pointless. The second issue I have with the story is that of the lack of originality. This can be seen by how for a big section of the film, the story of Toy Story 2 is reused only this time it is Woody trying to find his friends rather than the other way round. Likewise the whole notion of the toy getting separated from their owner seems a bit too familiar. Such lack of originality I find affects the sub-plots, such as the obvious love story between Barbie and Ken, and the development of Buzz and Jess’ friendship. This lack of originality meant that I found the film to be predictable and not as gripping as it should be. As a result while the story I good, I did not find it as original/interesting as say Monster Inc. University.

    The second major complaint I have with the film is that of how, like Monster Inc. University, I found Pixar tried to cram too much into this film without expanding on the story too much. This can be seen with how elements like the Toys ending up in the scrap yard, feels more like padding than anything else. Likewise the whole backstory of Lotso, I found was breezed over and did not fully answer all questions. As a result I felt that the writers of the film should have focused more developing the characters and the story on the whole.

    However, although I have criticised the film, don’t get me wrong it is still a great movie, just a movie I do not feel is as good as everyone claims. Hopefully I have explained myself.
    Expand
  71. Sep 8, 2014
    9
    Toy Story 3 takes what made toy story 1 and 2 so good and added on to it. The movie feels like it grew up with the audience of the original 2 movies. There is really nothing that i can say negative about this movie.
  72. Oct 31, 2013
    7
    thisis the second best film in the atual era ofthe walt disney pixar animation studios behind up.the return of that old characters of the first toy story was absolutely dramatic.
  73. Nov 17, 2013
    7
    Toy Story 3 caps off a legendary series.
    After watching its predecessors become two of the most beloved children's tales in recent memory, Toy Story 3 lives up to expectations. With wonderful characters, and a heartfelt story pushing the bounds of realism. Toy Story 3 exceeds expectations.
  74. Dec 9, 2013
    10
    I first saw this before I had children and thought it was great. I recently watched it again with my 3 year old daughter and I think the ending is one of the most beautiful endings of any movie that I have ever seen, I was in tears.
  75. Dec 7, 2014
    9
    It's almost as good as the original! A 9.5 in my books! I loved the plot too. Andy was old and going to college. The toys were going to the attic. It was really a deep movie and i loved it. However it isn't a perfect 10. My old favorite characters like the drawing board thingy and the soldiers were replaced by new characters which i did not like as much.. (Oh and by the way... AndyIt's almost as good as the original! A 9.5 in my books! I loved the plot too. Andy was old and going to college. The toys were going to the attic. It was really a deep movie and i loved it. However it isn't a perfect 10. My old favorite characters like the drawing board thingy and the soldiers were replaced by new characters which i did not like as much.. (Oh and by the way... Andy how could you!) Expand
  76. Feb 7, 2015
    10
    Disney always does a good job of closing the book on their franchises and Toy Story 3 only further proves that. What a great way to close the book (although now we know the crew is returning for a 4th film). Toy Story 3 introduced the loveable characters to a new generation of children and all the children who watched the original as children when it came out had to see how story wouldDisney always does a good job of closing the book on their franchises and Toy Story 3 only further proves that. What a great way to close the book (although now we know the crew is returning for a 4th film). Toy Story 3 introduced the loveable characters to a new generation of children and all the children who watched the original as children when it came out had to see how story would end, you can't say that about most animated movie franchises. Toy Story 3 also has the most dramatic endings in the history of film not just animated movies and its just as great throughout as the other two films and Toy Story may really be the best trilogy of all time, it belongs up there with the original Star Wars trilogy and the Dark Knight films. Expand
  77. Aug 17, 2014
    8
    It may begin with the same recycled plot as the others, Woody feels abandoned by Andy (this idea is really getting boring), but "Toy Story 3" is in many ways superior to its overrated predecessors. The story is more mature and extremely relatable (a child grows up and does not need its toys anymore), while the characters are more deeply developed. The themes about evolution, friendship,It may begin with the same recycled plot as the others, Woody feels abandoned by Andy (this idea is really getting boring), but "Toy Story 3" is in many ways superior to its overrated predecessors. The story is more mature and extremely relatable (a child grows up and does not need its toys anymore), while the characters are more deeply developed. The themes about evolution, friendship, sharing and co-existing are explored here better than the other films, and prove that a picture can be thought-provoking without directly addressing "serious" social and political issues, even though there are indirect comments on politics made through Woody's leadership or Lotso's dictatorship. Anyway, there are sequences that are surprisingly funny, such as the Barbie and Ken moments, although you might find yourself a bit too familiar with the film's concept and way of storytelling. Nevertheless, thanks to its excellent screenwriting, it is the first film in the franchise that is truly moving and, even a third film, is worthy of being considered as an all-time classic. Expand
  78. Oct 13, 2014
    10
    Groundbreaking is the best word to describe this film, it steps forward in terms of it's story telling, and is arguably better than the first 2 films. It's also a lot darker than the other 2 and has a much more haunting quality to it. The ending is such a great conclusion to the franchise and wraps up everything nicely. It shows that when it comes to Toy Story, Pixar never loses it.
  79. Oct 19, 2014
    10
    Toy Story 3 is a comical new adventure in Disney Digital 3D that lands the toys in a room full of untamed tots who can't wait to get their sticky little fingers on these "new" toys. It's pandemonium as they try to stay together, ensuring "no toy gets left behind." Meanwhile, Barbie comes face to plastic face with Ken (yes, that Ken).
  80. Apr 30, 2015
    10
    At first, when I thought about this movie becoming a thing, I thought Pixar was going to Godfather it. But when I left that theatre, I wasn't disappointed (I was in tears), I was amazed at how well the trilogy ended.
  81. Nov 7, 2014
    10
    Toy story 3 is the greatest movie i have ever seen from disney and pixar animation studios.its such a great movie to watch because it surpassed dreamworks dragon and broke sherek the third record, and it won for best animated film in 2010. Go Pixar! By the way, pixar animation studios and disney animation studios is the greatest place on earth to make animated films.
  82. Jan 11, 2015
    10
    Good thing they just announced a Toy Story 4 because I have not got enough of his franchise! This is the best Toy Story film to date with the best cast of characters yet as well as the best visuals the series has seen!
  83. Feb 8, 2015
    7
    It's good, but nothing great for me, I still think it's good and it definitly is better than most thirds. But for me it's not really the masterpiece everybody puts it out to be.
  84. Jan 20, 2015
    10
    The only thing that I didn't care for in this movie was the fact that Mom was moving Andy out - for good. He didn't have a room to come back to. The story line, visual effects and let's not forget the characters held my interest, and I'm 58 years old. I've watched it two gazillion times with my grandchildren and I'm still not tired of it.
  85. Feb 27, 2015
    10
    Simply an Instant Classic. The best of the 3 movies story wise and visually amazing.

    Not many movies make a grown man cry but this was one of them. This was the first movie I took my son too who was 4 at the time and he just sat and watch the movie. That is how good it captivated even him.

    A must see for everyone.
  86. Mar 11, 2015
    10
    In 1995, Pixar released the world's first full-length CGI animation film, Toy Story. Audiences were amazed, not only by the introduction of CGI animation, but also by Toy Story's heartwarming characters and innovative storytelling. CGI is ubiquitous nowadays, largely due to Toy Story's success.

    After nearly 15 years since the last installment, Pixar resurrects Woody and Buzz to create a
    In 1995, Pixar released the world's first full-length CGI animation film, Toy Story. Audiences were amazed, not only by the introduction of CGI animation, but also by Toy Story's heartwarming characters and innovative storytelling. CGI is ubiquitous nowadays, largely due to Toy Story's success.

    After nearly 15 years since the last installment, Pixar resurrects Woody and Buzz to create a masterful, heartwarming conclusion that is bound to resonate amongst audiences of all ages. Over the past 20 years, Andy has aged with us, and he is now preparing to leave for college. The toys encounter misfortune and are separated from Andy yet again.

    The film successfully maintains the franchise's outstanding humor and voice acting. Toy Story 3's visual exhibit the best artistic design and technical excellence in the business. Randy Newman provides a memorable score along with a special Gipsy Kings song. Toy Story 3 investigates our attachment to toys, the challenge of becoming an adult, and our relationship with future generations.

    Toy Story 3 is the perfect farewell to Woody, Buzz, and the rest of the gang. It sends a beautiful, heartwarming messages to audiences while helping many relive their childhoods. It has been a wonderful to grow up with this beloved franchise. Toy Story has taken the art of storytelling to infinity and beyond!
    Expand
  87. Mar 16, 2015
    8
    'Toy Story 3' isn't quite as good as the first two movies, however, that doesn't stop it from being entertaining, and, in my opinion, being one of the best franchises of all time (notice how I didn't say "animated").

    The regular toys are back including; Woody (Tom Hanks), Buzz Lightyear (Tim Allen), Jessie (Joan Cusack), Hamm (John Ratzenberger) and many more. They start to panic
    'Toy Story 3' isn't quite as good as the first two movies, however, that doesn't stop it from being entertaining, and, in my opinion, being one of the best franchises of all time (notice how I didn't say "animated").

    The regular toys are back including; Woody (Tom Hanks), Buzz Lightyear (Tim Allen), Jessie (Joan Cusack), Hamm (John Ratzenberger) and many more. They start to panic because their owner Andy, has grown up and is now 17 years old and going to college.

    The toys fear that they might be thrown out, but are instead, going to a child day-care called "Sunnyside" where a bunch of very young children will play with them and will never be replaced. They meet a cuddly, friendly bear named Lotso (Ned Beatty), who promises them that Sunnyside is the best place for any toy to be.

    The funniest scenes involve characters Barbie (Jodi Benson) and Ken (Michael Keaton), if you know enough about Barbie dolls (even as a guy, I do), you will understand these references.

    Like most third movies, the story is bigger and better than ever, though 'Toy Story 2' (1999) is my personal favorite in the franchise, if not, favorite Pixar movie. There is also more heart and emotion that does get a little sappy towards the end, but I'd rather watch a film that's sentimental and sappy than a film that's cynical and shallow.

    John Lasseter is absent in the director's chair, but Lee Unkrich does a magnificent job replacing him and Lasseter's spirit remains in the film as co-writer and executive producer.

    Overall, 'Toy Story 3' has a satisfying ending and will please "Toy Story" fans such as myself.
    Expand
  88. Apr 11, 2015
    10
    toy story 3 is the best animated film ever and the best Pixar film ever. the movie is like a goodbye childhood kind of movie it's for the people would watched the other to movies.
  89. Apr 21, 2015
    9
    After years of being stowed in Andy’s toy chest, the time has finally come for Woody (Hanks), Buzz (Allen) and friends to move on. But after they’re welcomed to Sunnyside Daycare Centre by the kindly Lots-O’-Huggin’ Bear (Beatty) they realise this seeming toy’s paradise is actually something closer to hell...

    Pixar has done it again, extending an amazing streak of successes that
    After years of being stowed in Andy’s toy chest, the time has finally come for Woody (Hanks), Buzz (Allen) and friends to move on. But after they’re welcomed to Sunnyside Daycare Centre by the kindly Lots-O’-Huggin’ Bear (Beatty) they realise this seeming toy’s paradise is actually something closer to hell...

    Pixar has done it again, extending an amazing streak of successes that stretches all the way back to the original Toy Story, which changed the face of feature length animation when it reached theaters in 1995. Now, 15 years after their original debut and 11 years after the first sequel, Toy Story 2, Woody (voice of Tom Hanks), Buzz (Tim Allen), and their fellow toys have returned to the screen for another adventure. Although aspects of Toy Story 3 echo similar elements from the previous films, making this the least original entry in the trilogy, the movie's final act will resonate deeply with many viewers, making this chapter in many ways the most heartfelt.

    he story, which is simple enough in its essence, affords opportunities for action (the Great Escape), comedy (Ken & Barbie, Buzz's Spanish personality), and pathos. The ending, which is surprisingly affecting, will speak more deeply to adults than children. Those in the latter group will understand the importance of friendship, but older viewers will perceive other, bittersweet things: the fleeting nature of childhood and how all things pass, seemingly in the blink of an eye. Children are only peripherally aware of the passage of time, but adults sometimes recognize little else. There's a moment in Toy Story 3, when Andy experiences an epiphany, that brings this all home. The scene, which may go unnoticed by the core demographic, will bring lumps to the throats and tears to the eyes of some parents. This is the kind of thing Pixar does so effectively, and the reason why their films achieve greater respect than those of their less ambitious competitors.

    From a purely artistic standpoint, Toy Story 3 is superior, although not vastly so, than its predecessors. At the time of their releases, Toy Story and Toy Story 2 were cutting edge, but the bar hasn't moved much in 11 years. The problem with this movie is the 3-D, which is the "preferred" format for its screening. The bright rainbow of colors becomes murky and washed out, with grays withering the kaleidoscope of hues. In addition, the 3-D appears to have been employed as an afterthought - there are lengthy sequences in which it either isn't used or is used minimally. I was surprised to find I could take off the 3-D glasses and, for stretches, not be confounded by blurred or double images. In the case of Toy Story 3, 3-D adds nothing except a box office surcharge.

    With most franchises, animated or otherwise, the well has run dry by the time the third episode is under consideration, which explains why so many second sequels fail to meet expectations. In a way, the same may be true of Toy Story 3, but it doesn't strain to be different to the point where it loses sight of its strengths. Instead, it focuses on the reasons for its popularity and amplifies those. Our familiarity with the characters and their interaction becomes an asset, making the action scenes more than displays of pixels zipping across the screen. The writing shows a deftness of touch that provides Toy Story 3 with emotional depth. And director Lee Unkrich, a Pixar fixture who co-directed Toy Story 2 (among other films), shows the same mastery of elements evident in the other Toy Story films, allowing for a seamless continuity. Toy Story 3 enhances the legacy of its brand while providing exceptional entertainment value for viewers of all ages, especially for those who favor the brighter, livelier 2-D iteration over the 3-D gimmick.
    Expand
  90. Apr 24, 2015
    9
    Pixar has done it again, extending an amazing streak of successes that stretches all the way back to the original Toy Story, which changed the face of feature length animation when it reached theaters in 1995. Now, 15 years after their original debut and 11 years after the first sequel, Toy Story 2, Woody (voice of Tom Hanks), Buzz (Tim Allen), and their fellow toys have returned to thePixar has done it again, extending an amazing streak of successes that stretches all the way back to the original Toy Story, which changed the face of feature length animation when it reached theaters in 1995. Now, 15 years after their original debut and 11 years after the first sequel, Toy Story 2, Woody (voice of Tom Hanks), Buzz (Tim Allen), and their fellow toys have returned to the screen for another adventure. Although aspects of Toy Story 3 echo similar elements from the previous films, making this the least original entry in the trilogy, the movie's final act will resonate deeply with many viewers, making this chapter in many ways the most heartfelt.

    From a purely artistic standpoint, Toy Story 3 is superior, although not vastly so, than its predecessors. At the time of their releases, Toy Story and Toy Story 2 were cutting edge, but the bar hasn't moved much in 11 years. The problem with this movie is the 3-D, which is the "preferred" format for its screening. The bright rainbow of colors becomes murky and washed out, with grays withering the kaleidoscope of hues. In addition, the 3-D appears to have been employed as an afterthought - there are lengthy sequences in which it either isn't used or is used minimally. I was surprised to find I could take off the 3-D glasses and, for stretches, not be confounded by blurred or double images. In the case of Toy Story 3, 3-D adds nothing except a box office surcharge.

    With most franchises, animated or otherwise, the well has run dry by the time the third episode is under consideration, which explains why so many second sequels fail to meet expectations. In a way, the same may be true of Toy Story 3, but it doesn't strain to be different to the point where it loses sight of its strengths. Instead, it focuses on the reasons for its popularity and amplifies those. Our familiarity with the characters and their interaction becomes an asset, making the action scenes more than displays of pixels zipping across the screen. The writing shows a deftness of touch that provides Toy Story 3 with emotional depth. And director Lee Unkrich, a Pixar fixture who co-directed Toy Story 2 (among other films), shows the same mastery of elements evident in the other Toy Story films, allowing for a seamless continuity. Toy Story 3 enhances the legacy of its brand while providing exceptional entertainment value for viewers of all ages, especially for those who favor the brighter, livelier 2-D iteration over the 3-D gimmick.
    Expand
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 39
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 39
  3. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Though uneven and less witty than the first two, Toy Story 3 delivers quite enough in two dimensions.
  2. It’s the first Pixar effort that feels less like a creative outpouring and more like an obligation met to satisfy a distribution schedule.
  3. 88
    A worthy and delirious final chapter to this hallowed animation franchise.