Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 1198 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: Toy Story 3 is a comical new adventure in Disney Digital 3D that lands the toys in a room full of untamed tots who can't wait to get their sticky little fingers on these "new" toys. It's pandemonium as they try to stay together, ensuring "no toy gets left behind." Meanwhile, Barbie comes face to plastic face with Ken (yes, that Ken). [Disney, Pixar] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 39
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 39
  3. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. 100
    Toy Story 3 isn't merely the best movie of the summer -- even with summer just kicking in -- but an immediate candidate for best of the year.
  2. Reviewed by: Dan Jolin
    100
    A kids’ movie for grown-ups. A grown-up movie for kids. Exactly what you’d expect -- and hope for -- from the latest, and we’re guessing final, Woody and Buzz adventure.
  3. Toy Story 3 is a better film than "Wall-E" and "Up" in that it succeeds completely in conventional terms. For 103 minutes, it never takes audience interest for granted. It has action, horror and vivid characters, and it always keeps moving forward.
  4. This film becomes the kind of love note to movies we want and need.
  5. 88
    A worthy and delirious final chapter to this hallowed animation franchise.
  6. Reviewed by: Kristin Hunt
    88
    The credits may be silly, but the last scene is a definite tear-jerker.
  7. Reviewed by: Peter Debruge
    70
    This tertiary adventure delivers welcome yet nonessential fun, landing well after its creators have grown up and succeeded toying with more sophisticated stories.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 6 out of 287
  1. JonA.
    Jun 19, 2010
    10
    Best of the three Toy Story films and best movie of the year. The story is brilliant, the 3D is incredible and I was engaged every second. Can't wait to see it again! Expand
  2. BobH
    Jun 18, 2010
    10
    This movie is a thing to behold. Don't be turned away from Toy Story 3 because a "3" is tacked on the end. This isn't just a movie about toys, it's a movie about genuine human emotions. Its funny, clever, sad, and enlightening. For an animated movie to have all of these characteristics and to surpass most movies I've seen lately is incredible. And tto add to that, the animation is impeccable, the story is great, and the characters are lovable (old and new). A great way to end a great movie series. Collapse
  3. AndrewR
    Jun 22, 2010
    10
    I loved this movie. Pixar hits a home run. I just saw it and want to see it again. I can't wait to own it.
  4. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    With all the great movies that released in 2010, this was the true best picture. The film is smart, funny, sad, and apart from being one of the most entertaining films to release, it is a true masterpiece in every aspect. Especially to someone who grew up watching the toy story films as a child, this is a film that will definitely hit close to home. It has set a bar that I'm afraid no other animated feature film (or many feature films) will be able to reach. Expand
  5. Aug 29, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Toy Story 3 is a time capsule of a movie. I remeber growing up back in the 90s and Toy Story was the big deal for children. Woody, Buzz Lightyear and co. have been taken to a day care in this installment of the Toy Story trilogy. This was of course an accident caused by Andy's mum.

    The day care is ruled by a bear who smells of Strawberries "Lotso". I don't want give anything else away so I'll just say my honest thoughts and that'll be it. PIXAR's best since LAST YEAR'S UP. Geez, PIXAR keeps making masterpieces frequently. Wall-E was perfect as well as Ratatouille, Up, Toy Story 1,2 and 3, Monster's Inc., and The Incredibles with the exception of A Bugs Life and Cars which were the only disappointing ones on my list.

    PIXAR's done another funny, emotional and exciting as hell masterpiece. Should be nominated for best picture. Hell with that, IT SHOULD WIN!!!!!!!!!!
    Expand
  6. Feb 9, 2014
    9
    Toy Story 3 ends the Pixar animated trilogy on a high note. The story is tight, the jokes are funny and the climax leaves not a dry eye in the house. For me, this is undoubtedly the best in the series and one of the best Pixar films to date. Expand
  7. MikeC
    Jun 19, 2010
    0
    Mediocre at best.

See all 287 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The 2011 Oscars: Winners, Losers, and Analysis

    The 2011 Oscars: Winners, Losers, and Analysis Image
    Published: February 28, 2011
    Were there any surprises among last night's Oscar winners? How accurate were expert and user predictions? And just how terrible was the telecast? We have the answers to those questions and more inside our Academy Awards wrap-up.
  2. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010 Image
    Published: January 10, 2011
    Our users have spoken, the votes have been tallied, and we have your picks for the best of 2010 in movies, games, TV, and music. Don't expect another victory for Kanye West or The Social Network; Metacritic users had something else in mind.
  3. The Best and Worst Movies of 2010

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2010 Image
    Published: January 7, 2011
    In our annual report, we reveal the best- and worst-reviewed movies of 2010 in a variety of categories.
  4. 2010 Film Awards and Nominations [Updated Feb. 28]

    2010 Film Awards and Nominations [Updated Feb. 28] Image
    Published: December 14, 2010
    Over the next three months, we
  5. 2010 Film Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 6]

    2010 Film Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 6] Image
    Published: December 9, 2010
    Throughout the next two months, we
  6. Pixar vs. DreamWorks Animation: Comparing the CGI Giants

    Pixar vs. DreamWorks Animation: Comparing the CGI Giants Image
    Published: June 16, 2010
    This week's "Toy Story 3" is Pixar's 11th feature film, and the animation house has established a remarkable record with its 10 previous releases. How does Pixar's biggest competitor, DreamWorks Animation, stack up?