Toy Story

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 730 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 17 out of 730

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. May 21, 2016
    10
    Toy Story, the frist CGI animated movie nd the frist movie of Pixar, it's one of the most classic movies of all times. Yeah, the animatiom of the humans it's a little weird and Mr. Potato Head didn't say sorry for Woody, but the film don't focus in that, it focus in be a fantastic familiy film. Likr every one, i lovie it, evrn in this years. I love the animation, i love the characters, iToy Story, the frist CGI animated movie nd the frist movie of Pixar, it's one of the most classic movies of all times. Yeah, the animatiom of the humans it's a little weird and Mr. Potato Head didn't say sorry for Woody, but the film don't focus in that, it focus in be a fantastic familiy film. Likr every one, i lovie it, evrn in this years. I love the animation, i love the characters, i love the music, i love that simpson comedy and i love the meesege who the film focus. In the actually, Toy Story is still a great film. Its a film who made a great and new generation for CGI films and open new doors for the cinema. Expand
  2. May 7, 2016
    9
    A new start for a new company, but will it bring Pixar to early success?
    Yes, indeed it will! Toy Story is a ground-breaking animated movie that brings tons of fun for the whole family. Giving us memorable and lovable characters, along with a great story that makes the movie a winner.
  3. Apr 12, 2016
    10
    La mejor pelicula de animacion de la historia, introdujo con mucho exito la animacion en 3D.
    .....................................................................................................................................................
  4. Apr 7, 2016
    10
    ........................Toy Story....................
    ............................. is...........................
    .........................the best.....................
  5. Apr 6, 2016
    9
    'Toy Story': From Plastic to Fantastic!

    The Nutcracker Prince, Pooh, the Velveteen Rabbit: Toys, as every kid knows, come to life when you're not looking. It is a fundamental of childhood, a notion that is sent up and oh-so-joyously celebrated in the irreverent, ingenious "Toy Story." Though computer-animated rather than hand-drawn, this wry, rippingly paced buddy movie is as
    'Toy Story': From Plastic to Fantastic!

    The Nutcracker Prince, Pooh, the Velveteen Rabbit: Toys, as every kid knows, come to life when you're not looking. It is a fundamental of childhood, a notion that is sent up and oh-so-joyously celebrated in the irreverent, ingenious "Toy Story."

    Though computer-animated rather than hand-drawn, this wry, rippingly paced buddy movie is as delightful in its own way as any of Walt Disney's traditional fairy tales. In fact, it's a nice change of pace to see the studio draw magic from this modern tale about ordinary 20th-century kid Andy and his eager-to-please playthings.

    Conceived and directed by John Lasseter (a pioneer of compu-tooning), the picture offers an eye-popping parade of 3-D-seeming anthropomorphs, but it also has enormous humanity and heart. Lasseter, who brought a baby lamp uncannily to life in the 1986 short "Luxo Jr.," here even more convincingly awakens hambone piggy banks and sly slinky toys.

    Of course, all the digital gimmickry would count for nothing were it not for the zany and zealous vocal cast, headlined by Tom Hanks as Woody, a traditional pull-string talking cowboy whose position as 6-year-old Andy's favorite toy is threatened by the arrival of a space action figure, Buzz Lightyear (voiced by Tim Allen).

    Written by a quartet that includes Joss Whedon of "Speed," "Toy Story" has more in common with "Lethal Weapon" than classics like "Bambi," though kids who have been bumped from center stage by new siblings will readily identify with Woody's guilt and fears. They'll probably even relate when Woody accidentally knocks the studly Buzz out Andy's bedroom window.

    The other toys-even Woody's pliant sidekick, Slinky Dog (voiced by Jim Varney)-suspect foul play. When Mr. Potato Head (voiced by Don Rickles), the spud who overheard the thud, flat-out accuses Woody of plasticide, the gangly cowpoke must redeem himself by bringing Buzz back home. This would be easier if the bull-headed action guy weren't suffering from the delusion that he really is an astronaut sent to save the world from the evil Emperor Zurg. Nevertheless, the boy toys bond as they make their way through a series of scary adventures.

    The simple story is enlivened by the distinctive personalities of the toys, especially the irascible tater head, the supportive Bo Peep lamp (voiced by Annie Potts) and a neurotic plastic dinosaur (voiced by Wallace Shawn): "I'm going for fearsome here, but I don't feel it," worries the timorous T-Rex. "I'm worried it just comes off as annoying."

    When it comes to Andy's toys, failure is not an option, for they think of themselves as entertainment professionals. They even have regular staff meetings with flow charts and inspirational speeches. This mind-set and a multitude of cheeky inside jokes-no bad words in front of preschool toys-will keep adults entertained while the dazzling derring-do of the toy toons will keep the youngsters enchanted. Toyland was never like this.
    Expand
  6. Mar 27, 2016
    9
    Walt Disney continues its long tradition of cutting-edge animation with the computer-generated “Toy Story.” The very good news is that, in addition to stylistic innovation, the film sports a provocative and appealing story that’s every bit the equal of this technical achievement.

    Actually the brainchild of Pixar — the Northern California animation unit that made the Oscar short “Tin
    Walt Disney continues its long tradition of cutting-edge animation with the computer-generated “Toy Story.” The very good news is that, in addition to stylistic innovation, the film sports a provocative and appealing story that’s every bit the equal of this technical achievement.

    Actually the brainchild of Pixar — the Northern California animation unit that made the Oscar short “Tin Toy”– the film is a modern parable that effortlessly masks its serious side with a funhouse full of colorful characters and thrilling adventures. But the message and nobility of the effort are unmistakable and laudable. The film is a clever mix of simplicity and sophistication that cuts across all age barriers with essential themes.

    The core story involves a group of toys owned by a boy named Andy. They spring to life to form a ragtag community when the human element departs the scene. This normalcy is interrupted only by birthdays and holidays, when there’s a likelihood that Andy will receive some new amusement that will have a negative impact on the existing harmony.

    Woody, a cowboy marionette, has been the boy’s longtime, sentimental favorite. He takes a leadership role among his peers, which include a Slinky dog , a piggy bank, Rex the dinosaur, Bo Peep and Mr. Potato Head. Woody has weathered many special occasions and passing fancies and remains supremely confident of his station.

    However, as the film opens, he’s put to the test with the arrival of Buzz Lightyear, a galactic superhero with an arsenal of flashy gadgets. The new resident is a gung-ho type with an annoyingly good nature and helpful attitude. The other toys like him and Woody is relegated to a secondary position in the boy’s attention.

    Try as he may, the cowboy can’t curb his mounting jealousy and idle thoughts of making the spaceman disappear. When the opportunity arises to “accidentally” do Buzz in, Woody’s weak side prevails.

    But it is a temporary lapse and not the character’s true nature. The others may be in a state of shock, but it’s his deep-felt sense of remorse that spurs Woody to set things right and propels the film into a series of misadventures.

    What’s initially striking about “Toy Story” is its razzle-dazzle technique and unusual look. The camera loops and zooms in a dizzying fashion that fairly takes one’s breath away. But if the film were merely an exercise in style, it soon would become tiresome.

    Rather, the filmmakers display and dispense with the most dazzling elements of computer-generated graphics and concentrate on telling an effective story. Edge-of-the-seat chases and action set pieces organically evolve from the story, not from some new piece of machinery back at the studio.

    The film’s emotional qualities are almost haunting. Woody’s roller coaster of feelings is every bit as palpable as that of a live-action hero. And Buzz, despite an intrinsic decency, lives with the delusion that he’s flesh and blood. When he comes face to face with his true identity, the moment is extremely poignant.

    “Toy Story’s” most stunning combination of visual and story elements involves the two central characters’ encounter with a band of mutant toys — the perverse creations of the mean kid next door. The message is the old chestnut about judging a book by its cover, and it rarely has been conveyed more effectively.

    The filmmakers, led by director John Lasseter, have corralled a first-rate voice cast, with wonderful character turns from the likes of Wallace Shawn as a timorous T-Rex and Don Rickles as a gruff spud. Tom Hanks as Woody and Tim Allen as Buzz lend full-bodied performances to visually agile renderings. As with the best animation, the combination of tech elements serves to draw us into the drama rather than enforce the glass wall of fantasy.

    To swipe Buzz’s motto –“To infinity and beyond”–“Toy Story” aims high to go where no animator has gone before. Fears at mission control of the whole effort crashing to Earth proved unwarranted; this is one entertainment that soars to new heights.
    Expand
  7. Mar 26, 2016
    10
    This movie is a masterpiece. I mean, it's the first CGI movie in the history. Fun for kids but also enjoyable for adults. John Lasseter did an amazing work.
  8. Mar 25, 2016
    10
    my 2nd most favorite anime, woody is a testicle with friends who are the same, little do they know that donald trump and the illuminati wants to cut them off andy, their owner, they fight the illuminati and win, almost dieing, they all survive, very good!
  9. Mar 24, 2016
    9
    Just as you age into an adult, you often forget how toys meant to you. But with this movie, it got us thinking not just about toys, but what pixar could do to deliver a great story with some humor and a lesson learned.
  10. Mar 20, 2016
    10
    Toy Story shows an inventive and pretty plot and unforgettable characters for enjoy the first animated film ever, with a giant succes. It is also colored and full of suspense. Fans of Pixar will love this film, obviously.
  11. Mar 6, 2016
    9
    Walt Disney continues its long tradition of cutting-edge animation with the computer-generated “Toy Story.” The very good news is that, in addition to stylistic innovation, the film sports a provocative and appealing story that’s every bit the equal of this technical achievement. It’s a hard-to-beat combination that will translate into bountiful box office returns and provide the companyWalt Disney continues its long tradition of cutting-edge animation with the computer-generated “Toy Story.” The very good news is that, in addition to stylistic innovation, the film sports a provocative and appealing story that’s every bit the equal of this technical achievement. It’s a hard-to-beat combination that will translate into bountiful box office returns and provide the company with a whole new stream of animated product with mass-market appeal.

    Actually the brainchild of Pixar — the Northern California animation unit that made the Oscar short “Tin Toy”– the film is a modern parable that effortlessly masks its serious side with a funhouse full of colorful characters and thrilling adventures. But the message and nobility of the effort are unmistakable and laudable. The film is a clever mix of simplicity and sophistication that cuts across all age barriers with essential themes.

    The core story involves a group of toys owned by a boy named Andy. They spring to life to form a ragtag community when the human element departs the scene. This normalcy is interrupted only by birthdays and holidays, when there’s a likelihood that Andy will receive some new amusement that will have a negative impact on the existing harmony.

    Woody, a cowboy marionette, has been the boy’s longtime, sentimental favorite. He takes a leadership role among his peers, which include a Slinky dog , a piggy bank, Rex the dinosaur, Bo Peep and Mr. Potato Head. Woody has weathered many special occasions and passing fancies and remains supremely confident of his station.

    However, as the film opens, he’s put to the test with the arrival of Buzz Lightyear, a galactic superhero with an arsenal of flashy gadgets. The new resident is a gung-ho type with an annoyingly good nature and helpful attitude. The other toys like him and Woody is relegated to a secondary position in the boy’s attention.

    Try as he may, the cowboy can’t curb his mounting jealousy and idle thoughts of making the spaceman disappear. When the opportunity arises to “accidentally” do Buzz in, Woody’s weak side prevails.

    But it is a temporary lapse and not the character’s true nature. The others may be in a state of shock, but it’s his deep-felt sense of remorse that spurs Woody to set things right and propels the film into a series of misadventures.

    What’s initially striking about “Toy Story” is its razzle-dazzle technique and unusual look. The camera loops and zooms in a dizzying fashion that fairly takes one’s breath away. But if the film were merely an exercise in style, it soon would become tiresome.

    Rather, the filmmakers display and dispense with the most dazzling elements of computer-generated graphics and concentrate on telling an effective story. Edge-of-the-seat chases and action set pieces organically evolve from the story, not from some new piece of machinery back at the studio.

    The film’s emotional qualities are almost haunting. Woody’s roller coaster of feelings is every bit as palpable as that of a live-action hero. And Buzz, despite an intrinsic decency, lives with the delusion that he’s flesh and blood. When he comes face to face with his true identity, the moment is extremely poignant.

    “Toy Story’s” most stunning combination of visual and story elements involves the two central characters’ encounter with a band of mutant toys — the perverse creations of the mean kid next door. The message is the old chestnut about judging a book by its cover, and it rarely has been conveyed more effectively.

    The filmmakers, led by director John Lasseter, have corralled a first-rate voice cast, with wonderful character turns from the likes of Wallace Shawn as a timorous T-Rex and Don Rickles as a gruff spud. Tom Hanks as Woody and Tim Allen as Buzz lend full-bodied performances to visually agile renderings. As with the best animation, the combination of tech elements serves to draw us into the drama rather than enforce the glass wall of fantasy.

    To swipe Buzz’s motto –“To infinity and beyond”–“Toy Story” aims high to go where no animator has gone before. Fears at mission control of the whole effort crashing to Earth proved unwarranted; this is one entertainment that soars to new heights.
    Expand
  12. Feb 29, 2016
    9
    this movie is well animated great story to it and it was better than pocahontas but im giving it 9 cuz theres not allot of music but toy story is a movie concept that actually works toy story is a movie your children will love
  13. Feb 20, 2016
    10
    Toy Story is one of Pixar best films if not the best from animation to wonderful funny dialogue scenes. In the end Toy Story is fantastic that to this day remains of the best classics.
  14. Feb 8, 2016
    7
    Toy story has many great points about it much to the please of many toy story fans. For example, it has one of Pixar's most original ideas as well as relatable. In addition, it had the most ground-breaking animation of the time. However, oblivious to some movie viewers, toy story has some problems. While the toys are amazingly animated, the humans are mediocre at best. As well, the mainToy story has many great points about it much to the please of many toy story fans. For example, it has one of Pixar's most original ideas as well as relatable. In addition, it had the most ground-breaking animation of the time. However, oblivious to some movie viewers, toy story has some problems. While the toys are amazingly animated, the humans are mediocre at best. As well, the main character, Woody, becomes extremely unlikeable through the film, despite him getting more likeable towards the end. Altogether, toy story is a good movie but as I didn't grow up with it its problems are more easy to notice. Expand
  15. Jan 6, 2016
    9
    Disney's 1995 animated extravaganza came with a gimmick: this was the first ever full-length computer animated feature. In the wrong hands this could merely have been a novelty stretched to film length. In the more than capable digits of computer wizards Pixar and director John Lasseter, however, the result is triumphant. A hilarious, original, terrifically entertaining movie refreshinglyDisney's 1995 animated extravaganza came with a gimmick: this was the first ever full-length computer animated feature. In the wrong hands this could merely have been a novelty stretched to film length. In the more than capable digits of computer wizards Pixar and director John Lasseter, however, the result is triumphant. A hilarious, original, terrifically entertaining movie refreshingly free of sentimentality and a resounding box office success both here and in the US.

    The plot centres simply, and to enormous effect, around the concept that toys have a life of their own. Six-year-old Andy's favourite toy is Woody (superbly voiced by Hanks), a cowboy doll, who lords it over his plaything colleagues until the arrival of Buzz Lightyear (Allen), an arrogant "Space Ranger" action figure whose technological accoutrements and "impressive wing-span" quickly steal Andy's affections.

    Apart from the growing jealousy, Woody and Buzz's relationship is hindered by the latter's conviction that he is a real superhero instead of a mass-produced plastic figure. It takes a string of mishaps that culminate in the pair becoming ensnared by next-door neighbour Sid - a pint-sized psycho who blows up toys for kicks - for them to bury their differences and escape back to their squeaky-clean extended family before an impending house move.

    While the younger set can't fail to be entranced by all this, there are more than enough parent-pleasing moments on offer: a cripplingly funny Close Encounters pastiche; a finale guaranteed to cause fingernails dug into palms; and an undercurrent of innuendo-laced humour that'll go whizzing over the tots heads.

    That's all before you consider the animation. Excepting some purposefully fake looking humans, no detail has been spared, from the kiss-curl on Buzz's chin down to the rain water meandering down the outside of a window. The result proves so breathtaking that two-dimensional cartoon fare will never seem the same again. Which offers further, glorious proof that movies aimed at junior cinemagoers are sometimes miles better than those directed at their adult counterparts.

    Just perfect. Script, character, animation....this manages to break free of the yoke of 'children's movie' to simply be one of the best movies of the 90's, full-stop.
    Expand
  16. Jan 5, 2016
    7
    WHAT I LIKED: Who knew a story about some talking toys could be so great? 'Toy Story' excells thanks to it's humour and tone - aided by it's quirky mix of animated characters
    WHAT I DIDN'T LIKE: It's a little silly and bears little sway in terms of interesting plot or themes for adults to enjoy beyond the sheer fun factor
    VERDICT: Pixar's first was definitely a success to which all their
    WHAT I LIKED: Who knew a story about some talking toys could be so great? 'Toy Story' excells thanks to it's humour and tone - aided by it's quirky mix of animated characters
    WHAT I DIDN'T LIKE: It's a little silly and bears little sway in terms of interesting plot or themes for adults to enjoy beyond the sheer fun factor
    VERDICT: Pixar's first was definitely a success to which all their future films grew. A fun tale with great characters.
    Expand
  17. Jan 4, 2016
    9
    Disney's 1995 animated extravaganza came with a gimmick: this was the first ever full-length computer animated feature. In the wrong hands this could merely have been a novelty stretched to film length. In the more than capable digits of computer wizards Pixar and director John Lasseter, however, the result is triumphant. A hilarious, original, terrifically entertaining movie refreshinglyDisney's 1995 animated extravaganza came with a gimmick: this was the first ever full-length computer animated feature. In the wrong hands this could merely have been a novelty stretched to film length. In the more than capable digits of computer wizards Pixar and director John Lasseter, however, the result is triumphant. A hilarious, original, terrifically entertaining movie refreshingly free of sentimentality and a resounding box office success both here and in the US.

    The plot centres simply, and to enormous effect, around the concept that toys have a life of their own. Six-year-old Andy's favourite toy is Woody (superbly voiced by Hanks), a cowboy doll, who lords it over his plaything colleagues until the arrival of Buzz Lightyear (Allen), an arrogant "Space Ranger" action figure whose technological accoutrements and "impressive wing-span" quickly steal Andy's affections.

    Apart from the growing jealousy, Woody and Buzz's relationship is hindered by the latter's conviction that he is a real superhero instead of a mass-produced plastic figure. It takes a string of mishaps that culminate in the pair becoming ensnared by next-door neighbour Sid - a pint-sized psycho who blows up toys for kicks - for them to bury their differences and escape back to their squeaky-clean extended family before an impending house move.

    While the younger set can't fail to be entranced by all this, there are more than enough parent-pleasing moments on offer: a cripplingly funny Close Encounters pastiche; a finale guaranteed to cause fingernails dug into palms; and an undercurrent of innuendo-laced humour that'll go whizzing over the tots heads.

    That's all before you consider the animation. Excepting some purposefully fake looking humans, no detail has been spared, from the kiss-curl on Buzz's chin down to the rain water meandering down the outside of a window. The result proves so breathtaking that two-dimensional cartoon fare will never seem the same again. Which offers further, glorious proof that movies aimed at junior cinemagoers are sometimes miles better than those directed at their adult counterparts.

    Just perfect. Script, character, animation....this manages to break free of the yoke of 'children's movie' to simply be one of the best movies of the 90's, full-stop.
    Expand
  18. Dec 28, 2015
    10
    If you want a decent time consuming movie, this one's it. History was made during the release of the movie and it'll forever be part of history and one of the best animated movies of all time.
  19. Dec 13, 2015
    8
    Unfortunately, the CGI does look a bit aged, and the plot is not the best. But it's still a good movie, and brings back memories from my childhood, if you want to spend 80 minutes of your life for a fun animated movie, toy story is a good option!
  20. Nov 4, 2015
    10
    Легендарный мультфильм, мультфильм-основатель, мультфильм-первооткрыватель, мультфильм-революция. Знамение новой эпохи мультипликации! То, что никак нельзя не любить.
  21. Oct 17, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Toy Story Is My Favoirte Movie For All Time It's Great Film Animation Is Awesome Moments It's Very Funny Song Is Great Characters Is Cool Actor Is Good Make Toy Story 4 Expand
  22. Sep 10, 2015
    10
    Toy Story is nothing short of amazing. It's a kid's movie but there are a lot of extremely subtle adult jokes that are guaranteed to fly over kids' heads but will keep adults entertained (for example, one character is shown at a pretend tea party and he acts all drunk.) Reviewers might find Woody "unlike able" but they're missing the point. Woody isn't mean, he's complex. He can be a bitToy Story is nothing short of amazing. It's a kid's movie but there are a lot of extremely subtle adult jokes that are guaranteed to fly over kids' heads but will keep adults entertained (for example, one character is shown at a pretend tea party and he acts all drunk.) Reviewers might find Woody "unlike able" but they're missing the point. Woody isn't mean, he's complex. He can be a bit of a control freak sometimes and doesn't always make the best decisions but in his own way, he's a likeable character. Buzz Lightyear is a great character too. This movie is a timeless classic that I recommend to all ages. Expand
  23. Sep 9, 2015
    10
    Toy Story is a fantastic movie with witty jokes, good characters, a great story... my favourite movie of all time! It's basically the definition of a perfect movie.
  24. Aug 26, 2015
    10
    The writing is pretty solid stuff and the film score is great(not much can be said about Randy Newman's singing). However, the humans look like garbage, the animations on the toys' faces can be dull, and a lot of the environments can look pretty ugly.
    It appears 20 years has started to age this film pretty badly... Oh what the hell, I can't hate this movie, it's **** TOY STORY. It's been
    The writing is pretty solid stuff and the film score is great(not much can be said about Randy Newman's singing). However, the humans look like garbage, the animations on the toys' faces can be dull, and a lot of the environments can look pretty ugly.
    It appears 20 years has started to age this film pretty badly... Oh what the hell, I can't hate this movie, it's **** TOY STORY. It's been part of my life since I was born and I still love it. Is it flawed? Oh, hell yeah it is, but I still love it to death. It is probably the first ever movie I will literally love until my death. No wonder I still give it a perfect 10/10, nostalgia is not letting this film die on me.
    Expand
  25. Aug 6, 2015
    10
    toy story es buena,una maravilla,un clasico y aun mejor 100% ganador del oscar y ha recibido secuelas que son aun mejor y han gando el oscar merecer mas de diez peliculas
  26. Jul 21, 2015
    9
    It really has been a new version of the animated film , first computer animated feature film and the first of PIXAR , especially toys have come first and are here to stay .
  27. Jul 13, 2015
    10
    Anyone with a heart and a soul loves Toy Story. It was the first film to be completely made on computers, and it was nominated for best screenplay and it definitely deserves that nomination. Its a fabulous film that anyone and everyone needs to see. There's not too much else to say about it really. YOU. NEED. TO. SEE. IT!
  28. Jun 1, 2015
    10
    In my opinion, the Toy Story franchise has the best animation, effect and plot and this movie does not look like a 90s movie at all. Compared to these days animated movies like Wreck-It-Ralph, Frozen, etc, Toy Story has better animation and plot. I really enjoyed the movie franchise and this movie makes you feel to watch it 10 times a day. So, that makes me love the movie franchise soooIn my opinion, the Toy Story franchise has the best animation, effect and plot and this movie does not look like a 90s movie at all. Compared to these days animated movies like Wreck-It-Ralph, Frozen, etc, Toy Story has better animation and plot. I really enjoyed the movie franchise and this movie makes you feel to watch it 10 times a day. So, that makes me love the movie franchise sooo much. I give this movie a 10/10! Expand
  29. May 9, 2015
    8
    Ever wonder how toys apparently get from one place to another with no human help? Toy Story, Disney's first feature-length foray into computer animation, postulates that they do it all by themselves. Toys have their own magical world which comes to life any time the lights are out or people aren't around. Any who doubt this should take a look at Toy Story. You'll never again feel quite theEver wonder how toys apparently get from one place to another with no human help? Toy Story, Disney's first feature-length foray into computer animation, postulates that they do it all by themselves. Toys have their own magical world which comes to life any time the lights are out or people aren't around. Any who doubt this should take a look at Toy Story. You'll never again feel quite the same way about Mr. Potato Head, Monkeys in a Barrel, or Slinkies.

    Of course, the visual aspect is the centerpiece of Toy Story. The computer-generated effects are a marvel. Rich in unexpected detail (the grain of a wood floor, fingerprints and chipped paint on a door, reflections in polished surfaces, and so on...), this colorful and brilliantly-rendered aspect of the film would alone be worth the price of admission. It's something of a bonus that the characters, dialogue, and story provide entertainment value of their own.

    Toy Story is a buddy movie/adventure tale with an understated lesson about the value of friendship. Parents might also be able to use some of what transpires to encourage their offspring to put away toys after playtime. While the screenplay isn't a marvel of originality, it is capable of holding the attention - light, undemanding fun that never gets too immature or syrupy. There's also quite a bit of intelligent wit that will go above the heads of younger viewers - that stuff's for Mom and Dad.

    How does Toy Story compare to Disney's more conventional animated features? They're really very different types of productions. This film is less artistic and more technologically impressive. Despite a few Randy Newman songs, it's not really a musical. Of course, the target audience is the same, and everything from Disney embraces "family values", but it's difficult - and unfair - to make an effective contrast of the two film making styles.

    The one big negative about Toy Story involves Disney's overcommercialization. Already, Woody and Buzz dolls line store shelves. Burger King is coming out with figurines. It won't be long before the movie is drowned in hype. So, from the perspective of pure entertainment, it's a good idea to see Toy Story before the deluge of promotions becomes so excessive that it turns off every adult. Frankly, the movie deserves a less ignominious fate than the marketing overkill which will surely overcome it.
    Expand
  30. Apr 24, 2015
    8
    Ever wonder how toys apparently get from one place to another with no human help? Toy Story, Disney's first feature-length foray into computer animation, postulates that they do it all by themselves. Toys have their own magical world which comes to life any time the lights are out or people aren't around. Any who doubt this should take a look at Toy Story. You'll never again feel quite theEver wonder how toys apparently get from one place to another with no human help? Toy Story, Disney's first feature-length foray into computer animation, postulates that they do it all by themselves. Toys have their own magical world which comes to life any time the lights are out or people aren't around. Any who doubt this should take a look at Toy Story. You'll never again feel quite the same way about Mr. Potato Head, Monkeys in a Barrel, or Slinkies.

    Of course, the visual aspect is the centerpiece of Toy Story. The computer-generated effects are a marvel. Rich in unexpected detail (the grain of a wood floor, fingerprints and chipped paint on a door, reflections in polished surfaces, and so on...), this colorful and brilliantly-rendered aspect of the film would alone be worth the price of admission. It's something of a bonus that the characters, dialogue, and story provide entertainment value of their own.

    Toy Story is a buddy movie/adventure tale with an understated lesson about the value of friendship. Parents might also be able to use some of what transpires to encourage their offspring to put away toys after playtime. While the screenplay isn't a marvel of originality, it is capable of holding the attention - light, undemanding fun that never gets too immature or syrupy. There's also quite a bit of intelligent wit that will go above the heads of younger viewers - that stuff's for Mom and Dad.

    How does Toy Story compare to Disney's more conventional animated features? They're really very different types of productions. This film is less artistic and more technologically impressive. Despite a few Randy Newman songs, it's not really a musical. Of course, the target audience is the same, and everything from Disney embraces "family values", but it's difficult - and unfair - to make an effective contrast of the two film making styles.

    The one big negative about Toy Story involves Disney's overcommercialization. Already, Woody and Buzz dolls line store shelves. Burger King is coming out with figurines. It won't be long before the movie is drowned in hype. So, from the perspective of pure entertainment, it's a good idea to see Toy Story before the deluge of promotions becomes so excessive that it turns off every adult. Frankly, the movie deserves a less ignominious fate than the marketing overkill which will surely overcome it.
    Expand
  31. Apr 21, 2015
    8
    Woody, a jovial cowboy doll, is the happy and contented boss of all the toys in Andy's room and young Andy's clear favourite..until the arrival of Buzz Lightyear, a Space Ranger toy, who is, as yet, unaware that he is 'just' a toy...

    Toy Story, Disney's first feature-length foray into computer animation, postulates that they do it all by themselves. Toys have their own magical world
    Woody, a jovial cowboy doll, is the happy and contented boss of all the toys in Andy's room and young Andy's clear favourite..until the arrival of Buzz Lightyear, a Space Ranger toy, who is, as yet, unaware that he is 'just' a toy...

    Toy Story, Disney's first feature-length foray into computer animation, postulates that they do it all by themselves. Toys have their own magical world which comes to life any time the lights are out or people aren't around. Any who doubt this should take a look at Toy Story. You'll never again feel quite the same way about Mr. Potato Head, Monkeys in a Barrel, or Slinkies.

    Of course, the visual aspect is the centerpiece of Toy Story. The computer-generated effects are a marvel. Rich in unexpected detail (the grain of a wood floor, fingerprints and chipped paint on a door, reflections in polished surfaces, and so on...), this colorful and brilliantly-rendered aspect of the film would alone be worth the price of admission. It's something of a bonus that the characters, dialogue, and story provide entertainment value of their own.

    How does Toy Story compare to Disney's more conventional animated features? They're really very different types of productions. This film is less artistic and more technologically impressive. Despite a few Randy Newman songs, it's not really a musical. Of course, the target audience is the same, and everything from Disney embraces "family values", but it's difficult - and unfair - to make an effective contrast of the two film making styles.

    The one big negative about Toy Story involves Disney's overcommercialization. Already, Woody and Buzz dolls line store shelves. Burger King is coming out with figurines. It won't be long before the movie is drowned in hype. So, from the perspective of pure entertainment, it's a good idea to see Toy Story before the deluge of promotions becomes so excessive that it turns off every adult. Frankly, the movie deserves a less ignominious fate than the marketing overkill which will surely overcome it.
    Expand
  32. Apr 13, 2015
    10
    10/10 .................................................................................…………...........................................................
  33. Apr 11, 2015
    7
    Eu amei o filme super bem trabalhado,a única coisa ruim foi a casa do Sid onde Buzz fica meio desnorteado,tipologia que ele estaria bêbado não sei se foi essa a intençao do autor do filme mas tirando isso o filme é ótimo,7 pra ele.
  34. Apr 6, 2015
    8
    toy story is a good film to start off Pixar movies. it has good charters and a good story. it's a good film in every way it's just a fun movie and it's just for kids.
  35. Mar 30, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This was a great movie. The story is amazing. The characters are awesome especially Woody, Buzz, and The Aliens. I like the part where the toys scare the crap out of Sid. Toy Story is one of my favourite movies of all time and one of my favourite Disney movie/film and you should watch it soon. Expand
  36. Mar 18, 2015
    10
    It's funny how 20 years ago, Pixar Animation Studios released their first full-length feature film...and 20 years later, this film holds up pretty well.

    'Toy Story' focuses on a cowboy doll named Woody (voiced by Tom Hanks) who becomes jealous when his owner, a little boy named Andy, gets a new toy for his birthday. He gets a new astronaut toy named Buzz Lightyear (Tim Allen) and there
    It's funny how 20 years ago, Pixar Animation Studios released their first full-length feature film...and 20 years later, this film holds up pretty well.

    'Toy Story' focuses on a cowboy doll named Woody (voiced by Tom Hanks) who becomes jealous when his owner, a little boy named Andy, gets a new toy for his birthday. He gets a new astronaut toy named Buzz Lightyear (Tim Allen) and there is huge conflict between the two characters.

    'Toy Story' is also famous for bringing in full-length feature 3D animated films, this kind of animation allows us to see details and texture on any object or person. With the toys, for example, because they are plastic, we see the light reflecting off the toys and even today, that still looks amazing. Now, we have seen this kind of animation in most animated films today including; 'Shrek' (2001), 'Ice Age' (2002), 'Happy Feet' (2006), 'How to Train Your Dragon' (2010), 'Wreck-It Ralph' (2012), 'Frozen' (2013) and even 'Big Hero 6' (2014).

    I guess the secret to the innovative story behind this movie is because the writer and director John Lasseter, is basically a big child trapped in a grown man's body. He is able to see through the eyes of a child, almost as if this movie is being told from a child's point of view. This movie really reaches into your inner childhood simply because it's all about using your imagination which we all did when we were young.

    Overall, 'Toy Story' is a classic movie for the ages.
    Expand
  37. Mar 11, 2015
    9
    20 years later, Toy Story remains the classic that it is and shall always be. Great story, great acting tunes by Randy Newman that enhance and move the story along.
  38. Feb 7, 2015
    10
    You'll have a hard time finding another animated film that could surpass Toy Story. One of the most innovative and inspirational films of all time without a doubt. Toy Story started the computer animation revolution and there is a lot of substance in this film. This is one of the best films for children of all time, if not the best. Woody and Buzz are larger than life characters that willYou'll have a hard time finding another animated film that could surpass Toy Story. One of the most innovative and inspirational films of all time without a doubt. Toy Story started the computer animation revolution and there is a lot of substance in this film. This is one of the best films for children of all time, if not the best. Woody and Buzz are larger than life characters that will never be forgotten and will continue to be introduced to generations of children. Tom Hanks and Tim Allen were great and there are no other actors that could voice these characters after what they have done with them. Expand
  39. Jan 13, 2015
    10
    I know this film ain't perfect but I couldn't help it, I had to give it a 10, I wouldn't be the animation fan I am today without this fantastic animated classic.
  40. Jan 11, 2015
    9
    A hilarious and amazing film that begins PIXAR's epic reign as part of Disney. Spectacular casting and acting, great visuals, and an unforgettable adventure make this one of the best Disney movies of all time.
  41. Dec 7, 2014
    10
    Definitely one of the most personal movies for me,but what makes it so personal for me is its simple yet amazingly original storyline,its great animation at that time(yes 1995 when I was born and till today the animation is still good no matter what),its relatable characters and also the imagination and the world that this movie has created when I was little.And no matter how many timesDefinitely one of the most personal movies for me,but what makes it so personal for me is its simple yet amazingly original storyline,its great animation at that time(yes 1995 when I was born and till today the animation is still good no matter what),its relatable characters and also the imagination and the world that this movie has created when I was little.And no matter how many times you watch it,you'll still love this movie,it feels so nostalgic.Also it deserves a great rating,because it has been one of the main reasons why I want to take up animation courses at the first place and i mean if you ask anyone who were either pursuing a career or taking a course related to animation in the recent times ,they will say its this film that makes them do so.It is a gem that should never be forgotten and it deserves the praises that it has till today Expand
  42. Dec 7, 2014
    10
    WHO DOESN'T LIKE TOY STORY! I MEAN C'MON! This movie is currently my favorite Disney movie. Judging by the reviews. (490 People like this and 9 people hate) I would say that almost everyone who watched this liked it!
  43. Dec 5, 2014
    9
    Its sequel is definitely an improvement, but "Toy Story" still engages the audience, thanks to its expertly written story, some top-notch vocal cast and pretty nice computer animation.
  44. Oct 19, 2014
    10
    In the first full-length computer-animated movie, a little boy's toys are thrown into chaos when a new Space Ranger arrives to vie for supremacy with the boy's favorite, an old wooden cowboy.
  45. Oct 13, 2014
    10
    Both wonderful and charming, everything about the film is memorable, Tom Hanks as Woody is very loyal to the character and the antics of Tim Allen as Buzz Lightyear are extremely funny. The dialogue is geared to both kids and adults, and it stands as one of the great cinematic achievements. It's a great movie for anyone.
  46. Sep 8, 2014
    8
    The movie that started the great children's movie series. The movie still looks great today, the voice acting holds up and it is a great movie for kids and people who grew up in that generation.
  47. Aug 27, 2014
    8
    A vision. Toy Story is the most profound animated film of the modern era. To have this much depth of story in a "children's" movie is astounding. This one isn't just for the kids, I assure you.
  48. Jul 20, 2014
    8
    Una buena película, que tiene toques de comedia y de drama, con una buena animación, no se le puede criticar, pero para mi gusto existen mejores películas.
  49. May 19, 2014
    10
    This film is the best and one of the best childhood movies I have watch in my entire existence and why is that it has beautiful animation,awesome cast,best moments etc. and also to infinity and beyond!
  50. Mar 15, 2014
    10
    The first all computer-animated feature, which brings a bedroom of playthings to bouncy life, is yummy eye candy spiked with 3-D-style tactile treats.
  51. Mar 14, 2014
    4
    i think toy story 2 is better then the first one . theres nothing to compare with toy story and the sequel . the only thing i enjoy about this is there trying to save woody and buzz from sid .
  52. Feb 12, 2014
    10
    It is a classic. It's the first and best of all. It has unique story, amazing visual quality in it's time and unforgettable characters. And also it's childhood of a generation. Thank you for this masterpiece Pixar!
  53. Feb 2, 2014
    7
    Pixar's debut movie is still a very nice animated adventure. That said, both the animation style and thematic content has been bettered by the company. Toy Story is still great, any way you slice it.
  54. Jan 24, 2014
    10
    Excellent. A major achievement and turning point in the history of animation. The conflict between Woody and Buzz makes me laugh every time I watch Toy Story. Hanks and Allen nail their roles; no one could have even come close to the chemistry these two have. 10/10
  55. Dec 24, 2013
    9
    The animation may now be slightly dated compared to more modern efforts but Toy Story is one of very few movies than can claim to have truly changed cinema and arguably still remains Disney Pixar's finest hour. Intelligent and funny you'd have to have a heart of stone not to enjoy this movie.
  56. Dec 21, 2013
    10
    This is my childhood right here! It's a visually stunning and entertaining computer generated adventure. I never knew why I loved it so much as kid, but now I realize that these characters and the story has really connected to my life in such a way! Overall, not only a touching movie, but a tremendous kid-friendly good old classic Pixar film. It deserves an A+!
  57. Dec 1, 2013
    10
    Consistently brilliant, Toy Story is beautifully animated but more importantly is more thoughtful and heartfelt then most dramas. It definitely raises and sets the bar for modern day animation.
  58. Nov 12, 2013
    8
    Toy Story is a heart warming animated tale.
    An animated masterpiece that will bring smiles to all ages with lovable characters and unprecedented realism.
  59. Nov 3, 2013
    8
    "Toy Story" is an excellent movie. Anyone who says otherwise are kidding themselves. The computer animation is fantastic, and along with a great storyline, it creates a visually stunning nicely-paced adventure.
  60. Oct 31, 2013
    10
    I grew up with this movie as it aired on TV. It always has it's heart, it's comical aspects, and a delightful set of voices, especially that of a two-time Oscar winner like Tom Hanks. The scene of Sid was written brilliantly, and still makes me laugh today. Heartfelt, warm, and surprisingly has a small portion of what most animation have: hammy dialogue. The innovation of CGI does notI grew up with this movie as it aired on TV. It always has it's heart, it's comical aspects, and a delightful set of voices, especially that of a two-time Oscar winner like Tom Hanks. The scene of Sid was written brilliantly, and still makes me laugh today. Heartfelt, warm, and surprisingly has a small portion of what most animation have: hammy dialogue. The innovation of CGI does not deter the story's elements. I'll always love this movie. Expand
  61. Oct 31, 2013
    8
    the first disney pixar film is still one of the best animation movies ever made,i grow up watching this terrific movie wich deserves a very big medal.
  62. Sep 19, 2013
    4
    You have to suspend disbelief with the Toy Story movies, but that doesn't mean that they're justified. To me, these movies have never been that good. I've never found the appeal that the majority of people have found with them. Call me crazy, but they just aren't that fun or acceptable as kids movies, or any genre for that matter.
  63. Jul 23, 2013
    10
    This is a great movie. Something that really ticks me off is that people hate this. This is good if your kids like adventure. Even though toys are mutated thanks to Sid, they are nice and helpful, even though they look creepy. My favorite movie of all time, believe it or not. The funniest part ever was from 0:00 to 1:21:00. 81 minutes of my life were not wasted.
  64. Jul 4, 2013
    10
    The first CG animated film, "Toy Story" is still one of the best. While most kid movies deal with the difficulty to appeal to adults, "Toy Story" proves that a movie even about toys can appeal to adults as much as children. The animation might not hold up to the finest today, but the storytelling does. With such originality, "Toy Story" is a delightful story.
  65. Jun 28, 2013
    10
    From the now legendary animation studio Pixar, Toy Story is funny, heartfelt, and just fantastic. From the pitch perfect voice actors to the remarkable animation, this film is a definite classic for the ages!
  66. Jun 22, 2013
    10
    "Toy Story" is great, cheer up film for the whole family. While Toy Story is very creative and entertaining, it is one of the best animated movies ever made.
  67. Jun 17, 2013
    10
    Being the first ever full length computer animated film, Toy Story did pretty well; the characters were memorable, you could relate to Andy's problem of losing something you really liked, it had humor, it was technically impressive for a first try, and in general it was an awesome film. There are so many good things about it I can't tell you in 364 characters. Without further or due, let'sBeing the first ever full length computer animated film, Toy Story did pretty well; the characters were memorable, you could relate to Andy's problem of losing something you really liked, it had humor, it was technically impressive for a first try, and in general it was an awesome film. There are so many good things about it I can't tell you in 364 characters. Without further or due, let's talk about why and how its awesome.

    The Good:
    Where do I even begin with this category?! Well, I'll tell you the story: There's this kid named Andy who has a cowboy toy named Woody who is his favorite toy. But when he gets a space ranger toy named Buzz Light Year, Woody is no longer his favorite toy and Buzz Light Year is. When Woody accidentally-on-purpose knocks Buzz out of an open window, its up to them to get back inside Andy's house before he moves. Like any good movie, they encounter some problems: Being left at restaurant/playhouse Pizza Planet, captured by the notorious Sid Phillips, and being brought to his house where he has a mean dog and crazy misshapen toys. The characters are GREAT. My personal favorites are Hamm and Rex. Could you imagine a T-Rex being goofy and frantic rather than vicious and cunning? Or how about a pig with a New York accent? The way they all fit together with their personalities and the way they envision things is genius! The other characters are likeable too. You can relate to what's happening between Andy, Woody, and Buzz. Its like that Brother with the newborn sister relationship. The newborn (Buzz) gets everyone's(Andy other toys)attention while the older brother(Woody)instantly turns into an outcast. The rest of the toys are memorable. Bo Peep is Woody's love interest and she's a really soft-hearted character. Mr. Potato Head is HILARIOUS. He's so unafraid to say what he thinks. He's tough. He doesn't hold anything back. That's a great character. Sid Phillips has a bland premise, but personally, I liked him. For some reason he reminds me of Frollo from the Hunchback of Notre Dame.(Who is my #1 Disney villain)Always cruel to other people or toys in this case, and he gets away with it until one day. The technical aspects are very well done. Now there are some titles that have been released in the past 2-3 years and they look alot more beautiful, such as How to Train Your Dragon, Legend of the Guardians, Kung Fu Panda 2. .but if you remember that its 18 years old, it looks good for 18 years. After all, it is the first animated film. It can't look so realistic its human. And the music, obviously, is great. "You've Got A Friend In Me" will be stuck in your head as long as the Jurassic Park theme song.

    The Bad:
    None!

    The Ugly:
    What I'm about to state isn't really ugly, its just something unfortunate: This isn't my favorite Pixar film. But really, in a way, that's a good thing. It says Pixar is getting better and better as they go onward.

    So overall, Toy Story is fantastic. I think its on of the best films ever made. I've seen it a million times, and I'll probably see it a million more. (I ripped that off of Nostalgia Critic)
    Expand
  68. Jun 13, 2013
    0
    A cinematic pile of rubbish. It is a complete rip off Of the Brave Little Toaster. SO sick of Pixar taking credit were they deserve none. My kids hates it too. Doesn't surprise me.
  69. Apr 5, 2013
    10
    Nothing could make you reminisce and miss your childhood more than brilliant, emotional and groundbreaking integrity of Pixar's and the worlds first animated feature-lengh film.
    The film tells the story of a group of toys owned by young boy Andy, who do what every child in this universe, past and present, has probably ever dreamed of, come to life.
    Of course this happens when the child
    Nothing could make you reminisce and miss your childhood more than brilliant, emotional and groundbreaking integrity of Pixar's and the worlds first animated feature-lengh film.
    The film tells the story of a group of toys owned by young boy Andy, who do what every child in this universe, past and present, has probably ever dreamed of, come to life.
    Of course this happens when the child isn't around, but thats what makes it that more imaginative, that we are never really sure if Pixar are trying to tell a true tale in the film, or if it is all an imagination of something else within the movie.
    The prized toy of the bunch is a sheriff cowboy, Woody (Tom Hanks), who is the leader of a pack without any competition, that is until a birthday party when brand new toy Buzz Lightyear (Tim Allen) is introduced to the fold, quickly winning the hearts and attention of the other toys, much to Woody's dismay.
    As Woody plots to remove Buzz from the picture, things soon spiral out of control for the toys as they are put out to the cold and must attempt to find a way back to their owner before he moves house.
    The famous friendship begins here between Buzz and Woody that has stood the test of time, they deal with issues that surround us homosapiens in general, whether it be family or friendship, and how we must work through no matter what difficulties face us.
    For a film that is now in its eighteenth year of existence, it is truly a gem that has stood the test of time, and has remained in the psyche and deepest crevices of each and every person who has had the pleasure to watch it, visually stunning and emotionally grounded to the point of it being such a classic film.
    The actors behind the voices do a remarkable job of bringing the characters to life, but of course without the genius of Pixar, we would not have the brilliant and unique films that have followed suit, with Toy Story starting the rollercoaster of original thought and striking beauty.
    Again, it subtly deals with issues that we ourselves often deal with in our everyday lives, but incorporates a point in life where we really do miss our childhood, and with the unfortunate realisation that we will one day grow up, however Toy Story makes us realise that we don't always have to leave all of our childish antics behind us, and a brilliant message of letting our imagination run free without barriers.
    A truly remarkable, groundbreaking and often genius film that will continue to stand the test of time for all the right reasons, truly wonderful and timeless.
    Expand
  70. Mar 11, 2013
    10
    This is great movie!!! It's funny, interesting, great!!!!!!!!!!!! The one of the best Pixar movies!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  71. Feb 17, 2013
    10
    Toy Story was the first Pixar film to grace the big screen and easily one of the best animated films of all time. Toy Story brings the concept of 'What do toys do when we aren't around?' to life. The film follows a small group of toys belonging to a young boy named Andy in suburban America in what is probably the late 90's or early 00's. His favourite toy, Woody the Sheriff is the leaderToy Story was the first Pixar film to grace the big screen and easily one of the best animated films of all time. Toy Story brings the concept of 'What do toys do when we aren't around?' to life. The film follows a small group of toys belonging to a young boy named Andy in suburban America in what is probably the late 90's or early 00's. His favourite toy, Woody the Sheriff is the leader of the toys including ones such as Slinky the Dog, Rex the Dinosaur, Little Bo Peep, Ham the piggybank and Mr Potato Head. But when Andy receives a new toy for his birthday, Buzz Lightyear, Woody feels threatened that his position as Andy's favourite toy and as the leader of the toys may be in jeopardy. As such he decides to get rid of Buzz, however in doing so he realises that what he has done is wrong and must do whatever he can to get Buzz back safe and sound before Andy moves house.
    Each character is unique and has something to give to the overall film, each one is funny and well designed both emotionally and aesthetically. The animation and sound design is also top notch. There is very little that can be seen as bad in Toy Story however it does seem to move at a rather slow pace for the entirety of the film, but this is nothing bad considering that this is the start of a very promising series of films.
    Expand
  72. Feb 9, 2013
    9
    Such a nostalgic movie, one of the best animated films of all time only surpassed by it's predecessor. The characters are great, the animation holds up to this day and the film is enjoyable for all ages.
  73. Feb 5, 2013
    10
    This was one of the movies of my childhood. If I watched this again, I can quote a few lines. That's how memorable the movie is to me. The story is perfect, the characters are lovable. Anyone who sees it knows why this was not only a technical achievement but a classic as well.
  74. Jan 30, 2013
    10
    This film is a masterpiece that has long wanted to pass the follow.
  75. Jan 23, 2013
    10
    An absolute masterpiece that defines my childhood. There is nothing wrong with Toy Story. This movie, undoubtedly, has changed the way animation is forever.
  76. Jan 17, 2013
    9
    Toy Story simply is a great animated film, no matter what angle you look at it. The characters are interesting, unique, and rootable, the animation is amazing, the story is entertaining and witty, and it all comes together to make the first ever computer animated film a surefire classic! Pixar, you scored big time with this! Bravo!
  77. Dec 22, 2012
    9
    A truly, truly great movie. A masterpiece!! All I can say, is "wow, just wow." A brilliant movie for children, teens, and adults. Toy Story deserves every award it has ever earned.
  78. Dec 6, 2012
    10
    Where to begin? "Toy Story" is a film beyond infinity. It launched the now mega-popular CGI film genre, Pixar as a groundbreaking studio, and it made movie history as the first computer-animated movie ever made. I personally cannot say enough good things about Pixar - they are the smartest and most creative movie studio out there today. And every bit of genius that makes them who they areWhere to begin? "Toy Story" is a film beyond infinity. It launched the now mega-popular CGI film genre, Pixar as a groundbreaking studio, and it made movie history as the first computer-animated movie ever made. I personally cannot say enough good things about Pixar - they are the smartest and most creative movie studio out there today. And every bit of genius that makes them who they are shows up here in their debut classic.

    "Toy Story" follows a host of toys owned and loved by a kid named Andy, and they are nervous about them becoming replaced since his birthday party is around the corner. Woody, Andy's favorite toy, assures confidence, but in fact he's replaced himself by the all-new Buzz Lightyear space action figure. His competition against the disillusioned newcomer, who believes himself to be a real space ranger, accidentally separates them from Andy, and thus follows a hilarious buddy misadventure.

    Pixar's genius here, and in all of their movies, is that they don't talk down to kids. Their movies handle serious issues everyone can relate to, and "Toy Story" is no exception. Underneath the colorful animation and lighthearted humor, we have two solid and genuine characters - one of which goes through a disheartening identity crisis before discovering the value in who they really are, and one who deep down is confronting a fear of being forgotten in the wave of new and flashy. It's a fantastic metaphor, and a beautifully-done film, and should live on for decades to come as a true milestone in cinema.
    Expand
  79. Nov 28, 2012
    9
    Innocent, beautiful, and revolutionary, "Toy Story" is the personified existence of the virtuous animated family film.
  80. Nov 24, 2012
    9
    People giving this movie 3 and 0's is a idiot! Anyways this back then was pure epic and today it still holds up 17 years later. Thanks Pixar for revolution in Animation!

    Also If you have a legit reason to give this a 6 then okay but giving this a ZERO is inappropriate and to the person playing the moral card you know what get a damn life
  81. Nov 22, 2012
    10
    Hands down one of the greatest animated films of all time and a must see for any fan of animated films. Toy Story is simply one of those films that is untouchable.
  82. Nov 19, 2012
    8
    Toy Story is a good movie. A great movie even. The first part of a brilliant trilogy, Toy Story sets the foundations for two exceptional films. As good as it is, I just think it is lacking something. Nevertheless, it's still a brilliant film and one you ought to see.
  83. Jun 10, 2012
    10
    A 1999 movie "toy story" was brought to the screen along with some other toy friends on a scary rollercoaster. Woody has always been Andys favourite toy, until his birthday comes and he gets a new present, Buzz Light Year, which rapidly turns into his favourite toy. Woody gets jealous and want Buzz to fly away into space where he belonged, so he decides to push him out of the bedroomA 1999 movie "toy story" was brought to the screen along with some other toy friends on a scary rollercoaster. Woody has always been Andys favourite toy, until his birthday comes and he gets a new present, Buzz Light Year, which rapidly turns into his favourite toy. Woody gets jealous and want Buzz to fly away into space where he belonged, so he decides to push him out of the bedroom window. They get whirled up into someone elses house and manages to scare them away. A great movie and I am surprised there is negative reviews great movie a must see with the whole family! ;) :) Expand
  84. May 28, 2012
    5
    This Is A Cute Movie But..
    This Is A Toal Rip Off Of The Underated Animated Movie The Brave Little Toaster'
    To Be 100% Honest This Movie Never Did Any Thing For Me And Still Doesent...
    But This Movie Has Some Good Values For Kids...
    Very Overated Movie!
  85. May 23, 2012
    10
    This is an amazing film. I just love everything about it and I love the fact that I can connect to the message the movie wants to perceive to us. This is the perfect start to an incredible series of stories between Andy and his toys....
  86. Apr 26, 2012
    10
    Toy Story is highly entertaining for both kids and adults. It's about a toy (Buzz) who doesn't yet realize he is a toy. It is deep in the aspect of friendship. The main focus and a majority of the movie is the chemistry between Buzz and Woody. Buzz is the new toy who Woody is jealous of. It shows their friendship come closer when Buzz realizes he is a toy. It's a really good film for allToy Story is highly entertaining for both kids and adults. It's about a toy (Buzz) who doesn't yet realize he is a toy. It is deep in the aspect of friendship. The main focus and a majority of the movie is the chemistry between Buzz and Woody. Buzz is the new toy who Woody is jealous of. It shows their friendship come closer when Buzz realizes he is a toy. It's a really good film for all ages, lots of laughs and great dialogue between Woody and Buzz. Expand
  87. Feb 12, 2012
    10
    oh i love this film, it's a pure classic! it has a great storyline, really funny moments, it's one of the best films ever, if anyone doesn't like it, there probably being bias, it isn't just for kids.
  88. Jan 16, 2012
    10
    Original and just lovely. Toy Story is a fantastic film that will entertain many from any age alike. And it is just a great start to Pixar's full length films. I give this movie 98%.
  89. Dec 17, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Great film, all time classic. Every time I see it nowadays i get a truckload of nostalgia. It's got Something for everybody, simple jokes for the young'ns and slightly more sophisticated jokes the 10-13's and up e.g: "Hey look! I'm Picasso!"
    "Ehh I don't get it"
    "You uncultured swine!"
    " What 're you lookin' at ya hockey puck!?"
    Although i continue to have nightmares about the scene in which woody has a nightmare where Andy drops woody into the bin saying in a sinister, creepy manor "Goodbyyyee" I'm able to get over it and still say: John Lasseter, You genius.
    Expand
  90. Nov 30, 2011
    10
    Dude, this is a classic. I can't think of anything negative to say about it. Just as good now I'm 17 as it was when I was 3. The timing, the script, the voice acting, the animation, the comedy and the story feel just about perfect.
  91. Nov 15, 2011
    9
    Great first movie for Pixar; it has given it a fantastic reputation of what we know it as today. Awesome beginning for the trilogy. Recommended for all ages; can be a family classic or for adults reflecting in their childhood. It is always a great classic.
  92. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    A CGi animation masterpiece, not to mention the first, if i'm not mistaken. It was always a great movie back in the early years of my childhood. I can't explain how great it is. Most people think "CGi animation + Toys = Kids movie" but that's just following the animation is for kids stereotype. It has appropriate adult laughs, and lots of good humor kids will love. This is the start of aA CGi animation masterpiece, not to mention the first, if i'm not mistaken. It was always a great movie back in the early years of my childhood. I can't explain how great it is. Most people think "CGi animation + Toys = Kids movie" but that's just following the animation is for kids stereotype. It has appropriate adult laughs, and lots of good humor kids will love. This is the start of a good era, of Pixar films. Expand
  93. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    This is the film that started all computer-animated films. This film has an extremely big impact on the film industry because of the animation, but that is not all. The story is interesting and well written. The characters Woody and Buzz Lightyear are what makes it the most interesting.
  94. Sep 15, 2011
    10
    Pertaining everything from story depth to animation, Pixar has created a movie that is considered a true cinematic masterpiece; the movie of my life. Cheers Pixar!!!
  95. Aug 11, 2011
    10
    Incredible groundbreaking-animation, fun action thrills, very funny voices and characters as real as any live-action film are what make this (first) Pixar effort a true masterpiece
  96. Aug 4, 2011
    10
    The perfect kid's movie. The idea that everyone (i think) has thought: toys coming to life! This movie was AMAZING. It expresses true friendship and the struggles within perfect, and comically. Great.
  97. Jul 5, 2011
    10
    Toy Story is, in my mind, probably the greatest animated film ever made. The story, the characters, eberything about this movie is absolutely perfect.
  98. May 20, 2011
    10
    I LOVE THIS MOVIE SO MUCH. ITS MY FAVORITE MOVIE OF ALL TIME. I WAS WONDERFUL AND FUNNY AND GLORIOUS. TOY STORY is a classic. Woody and Buzz Lightyear will always be remembered. Pixar's best movie ever.
  99. May 1, 2011
    10
    Unless you've been living under a rock for over 20 years, you know about this movie. I mean, who doesn't? Toy Story was the first feature-length film made completely with computer animation. It also has a voice cast with stars we all have heard of, like Tom Hanks and Tim Allen. the movie even won John Lasseter the Academy Award for Special Achievement. So, if you haven't seen this movie,Unless you've been living under a rock for over 20 years, you know about this movie. I mean, who doesn't? Toy Story was the first feature-length film made completely with computer animation. It also has a voice cast with stars we all have heard of, like Tom Hanks and Tim Allen. the movie even won John Lasseter the Academy Award for Special Achievement. So, if you haven't seen this movie, you are not a person. Its story stands out, its visuals are history-making and the whole movie is a breakthrough in technology. Expand
  100. Apr 18, 2011
    10
    The first CGI-animated feature of all time -- Toy Story is funny, heartwarming, and groundbreaking for all ages. Pros: A unique concept, borrowed from the cult classic, The Brave Little Toaster; rich, colorful visuals; unforgettable characters, elevated by talented voice acting; overall, one of the best animated films to date. Cons: If it could possibly lack anything, it's because youThe first CGI-animated feature of all time -- Toy Story is funny, heartwarming, and groundbreaking for all ages. Pros: A unique concept, borrowed from the cult classic, The Brave Little Toaster; rich, colorful visuals; unforgettable characters, elevated by talented voice acting; overall, one of the best animated films to date. Cons: If it could possibly lack anything, it's because you don't have a taste for Pixar -- or most likely, animation. Expand
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 16
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 16
  3. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. 90
    Though computer-animated rather than hand-drawn, this wry, rippingly paced buddy movie is as delightful in its own way as any of Walt Disney's traditional fairy tales.
  2. Reviewed by: David Ansen
    80
    Once again Disney has come up with a winning animated feature that has something for everyone on the age spectrum.
  3. 75
    The first all computer-animated feature, which brings a bedroom of playthings to bouncy life, is yummy eye candy spiked with 3-D-style tactile treats.