Toy Story Image
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 518 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: In the first full-length computer-animated movie, a little boy's toys are thrown into chaos when a new Space Ranger arrives to vie for supremacy with the boy's favorite, an old wooden cowboy.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 16
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 16
  3. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. The first animated feature produced entirely on computer is a magically witty and humane entertainment, a hellzapoppin fairy tale about a roomful of suburban toys who come to life when humans aren't around.
  2. Reviewed by: Barbara Shulgasser
    100
    The film will intoxicate children and charm the parents in their company.
  3. 100
    A visionary roller-coaster ride of a movie.
  4. Reviewed by: Leonard Klady
    90
    The very good news is that, in addition to stylistic innovation, the film sports a provocative and appealing story that's every bit the equal of this technical achievement.
  5. 88
    The computer-generated effects are a marvel. It's something of a bonus that the characters, dialogue, and story provide entertainment value of their own.
  6. Reviewed by: Bruce Diones
    80
    The easy-to-follow screenplay, about the rivalry between two toys -- cowboy Woody and spaceman Buzz Lightyear -- should excite young children; teen-agers and parents can enjoy the brilliantly executed action sequences.
  7. Reviewed by: Staff(Not credited)
    70
    Clever, fast-moving and unobtrusively self-conscious.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 97 out of 104
  2. Negative: 4 out of 104
  1. BrandonK.
    Mar 27, 2007
    10
    Brilliant film. The best animated film ever made by a country mile.
  2. Sep 15, 2011
    10
    Pertaining everything from story depth to animation, Pixar has created a movie that is considered a true cinematic masterpiece; the movie ofPertaining everything from story depth to animation, Pixar has created a movie that is considered a true cinematic masterpiece; the movie of my life. Cheers Pixar!!! Expand
  3. Apr 18, 2011
    10
    The first CGI-animated feature of all time -- Toy Story is funny, heartwarming, and groundbreaking for all ages. Pros: A unique concept,The first CGI-animated feature of all time -- Toy Story is funny, heartwarming, and groundbreaking for all ages. Pros: A unique concept, borrowed from the cult classic, The Brave Little Toaster; rich, colorful visuals; unforgettable characters, elevated by talented voice acting; overall, one of the best animated films to date. Cons: If it could possibly lack anything, it's because you don't have a taste for Pixar -- or most likely, animation. Expand
  4. Oct 31, 2013
    10
    I grew up with this movie as it aired on TV. It always has it's heart, it's comical aspects, and a delightful set of voices, especially thatI grew up with this movie as it aired on TV. It always has it's heart, it's comical aspects, and a delightful set of voices, especially that of a two-time Oscar winner like Tom Hanks. The scene of Sid was written brilliantly, and still makes me laugh today. Heartfelt, warm, and surprisingly has a small portion of what most animation have: hammy dialogue. The innovation of CGI does not deter the story's elements. I'll always love this movie. Expand
  5. Nov 10, 2011
    10
    A CGi animation masterpiece, not to mention the first, if i'm not mistaken. It was always a great movie back in the early years of myA CGi animation masterpiece, not to mention the first, if i'm not mistaken. It was always a great movie back in the early years of my childhood. I can't explain how great it is. Most people think "CGi animation + Toys = Kids movie" but that's just following the animation is for kids stereotype. It has appropriate adult laughs, and lots of good humor kids will love. This is the start of a good era, of Pixar films. Expand
  6. Dec 22, 2012
    9
    A truly, truly great movie. A masterpiece!! All I can say, is "wow, just wow." A brilliant movie for children, teens, and adults. Toy StoryA truly, truly great movie. A masterpiece!! All I can say, is "wow, just wow." A brilliant movie for children, teens, and adults. Toy Story deserves every award it has ever earned. Expand
  7. Jun 13, 2013
    0
    A cinematic pile of rubbish. It is a complete rip off Of the Brave Little Toaster. SO sick of Pixar taking credit were they deserve none. MyA cinematic pile of rubbish. It is a complete rip off Of the Brave Little Toaster. SO sick of Pixar taking credit were they deserve none. My kids hates it too. Doesn't surprise me. Expand

See all 104 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Pixar vs. DreamWorks Animation: Comparing the CGI Giants

    Pixar vs. DreamWorks Animation: Comparing the CGI Giants Image
    Published: June 16, 2010
    This week's "Toy Story 3" is Pixar's 11th feature film, and the animation house has established a remarkable record with its 10 previous releases. How does Pixar's biggest competitor, DreamWorks Animation, stack up?