Toy Story Image
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 473 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: In the first full-length computer-animated movie, a little boy's toys are thrown into chaos when a new Space Ranger arrives to vie for supremacy with the boy's favorite, an old wooden cowboy.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 16
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 16
  3. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. The first animated feature produced entirely on computer is a magically witty and humane entertainment, a hellzapoppin fairy tale about a roomful of suburban toys who come to life when humans aren't around.
  2. Reviewed by: Barbara Shulgasser
    100
    The film will intoxicate children and charm the parents in their company.
  3. 100
    A visionary roller-coaster ride of a movie.
  4. Reviewed by: Leonard Klady
    90
    The very good news is that, in addition to stylistic innovation, the film sports a provocative and appealing story that's every bit the equal of this technical achievement.
  5. 88
    The computer-generated effects are a marvel. It's something of a bonus that the characters, dialogue, and story provide entertainment value of their own.
  6. Reviewed by: Bruce Diones
    80
    The easy-to-follow screenplay, about the rivalry between two toys -- cowboy Woody and spaceman Buzz Lightyear -- should excite young children; teen-agers and parents can enjoy the brilliantly executed action sequences.
  7. Reviewed by: Staff(Not credited)
    70
    Clever, fast-moving and unobtrusively self-conscious.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 92 out of 99
  2. Negative: 4 out of 99
  1. NicholasD.
    Oct 1, 2006
    10
    A great movie to watch.
  2. Sep 15, 2011
    10
    Pertaining everything from story depth to animation, Pixar has created a movie that is considered a true cinematic masterpiece; the movie of my life. Cheers Pixar!!! Expand
  3. Nov 12, 2010
    10
    Why do people give it such a low score when it does not deserve it? oh boy.... Anyways, it was the best animated movie of the 90's and probably one of the best ever. Expand
  4. Apr 5, 2013
    10
    Nothing could make you reminisce and miss your childhood more than brilliant, emotional and groundbreaking integrity of Pixar's and the worlds first animated feature-lengh film.
    The film tells the story of a group of toys owned by young boy Andy, who do what every child in this universe, past and present, has probably ever dreamed of, come to life.
    Of course this happens when the child isn't around, but thats what makes it that more imaginative, that we are never really sure if Pixar are trying to tell a true tale in the film, or if it is all an imagination of something else within the movie.
    The prized toy of the bunch is a sheriff cowboy, Woody (Tom Hanks), who is the leader of a pack without any competition, that is until a birthday party when brand new toy Buzz Lightyear (Tim Allen) is introduced to the fold, quickly winning the hearts and attention of the other toys, much to Woody's dismay.
    As Woody plots to remove Buzz from the picture, things soon spiral out of control for the toys as they are put out to the cold and must attempt to find a way back to their owner before he moves house.
    The famous friendship begins here between Buzz and Woody that has stood the test of time, they deal with issues that surround us homosapiens in general, whether it be family or friendship, and how we must work through no matter what difficulties face us.
    For a film that is now in its eighteenth year of existence, it is truly a gem that has stood the test of time, and has remained in the psyche and deepest crevices of each and every person who has had the pleasure to watch it, visually stunning and emotionally grounded to the point of it being such a classic film.
    The actors behind the voices do a remarkable job of bringing the characters to life, but of course without the genius of Pixar, we would not have the brilliant and unique films that have followed suit, with Toy Story starting the rollercoaster of original thought and striking beauty.
    Again, it subtly deals with issues that we ourselves often deal with in our everyday lives, but incorporates a point in life where we really do miss our childhood, and with the unfortunate realisation that we will one day grow up, however Toy Story makes us realise that we don't always have to leave all of our childish antics behind us, and a brilliant message of letting our imagination run free without barriers.
    A truly remarkable, groundbreaking and often genius film that will continue to stand the test of time for all the right reasons, truly wonderful and timeless.
    Expand
  5. May 19, 2014
    10
    This film is the best and one of the best childhood movies I have watch in my entire existence and why is that it has beautiful animation,awesome cast,best moments etc. and also to infinity and beyond! Expand
  6. Nov 28, 2012
    9
    Innocent, beautiful, and revolutionary, "Toy Story" is the personified existence of the virtuous animated family film.
  7. Jun 13, 2013
    0
    A cinematic pile of rubbish. It is a complete rip off Of the Brave Little Toaster. SO sick of Pixar taking credit were they deserve none. My kids hates it too. Doesn't surprise me. Expand

See all 99 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Pixar vs. DreamWorks Animation: Comparing the CGI Giants

    Pixar vs. DreamWorks Animation: Comparing the CGI Giants Image
    Published: June 16, 2010
    This week's "Toy Story 3" is Pixar's 11th feature film, and the animation house has established a remarkable record with its 10 previous releases. How does Pixar's biggest competitor, DreamWorks Animation, stack up?