Toy Story Image
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 476 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: ,
  • Summary: In the first full-length computer-animated movie, a little boy's toys are thrown into chaos when a new Space Ranger arrives to vie for supremacy with the boy's favorite, an old wooden cowboy.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 16
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 16
  3. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. The first animated feature produced entirely on computer is a magically witty and humane entertainment, a hellzapoppin fairy tale about a roomful of suburban toys who come to life when humans aren't around.
  2. Reviewed by: Barbara Shulgasser
    100
    The film will intoxicate children and charm the parents in their company.
  3. 100
    A visionary roller-coaster ride of a movie.
  4. Reviewed by: Leonard Klady
    90
    The very good news is that, in addition to stylistic innovation, the film sports a provocative and appealing story that's every bit the equal of this technical achievement.
  5. 88
    The computer-generated effects are a marvel. It's something of a bonus that the characters, dialogue, and story provide entertainment value of their own.
  6. Reviewed by: Bruce Diones
    80
    The easy-to-follow screenplay, about the rivalry between two toys -- cowboy Woody and spaceman Buzz Lightyear -- should excite young children; teen-agers and parents can enjoy the brilliantly executed action sequences.
  7. Reviewed by: Staff(Not credited)
    70
    Clever, fast-moving and unobtrusively self-conscious.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 92 out of 99
  2. Negative: 4 out of 99
  1. NicholasD.
    Oct 1, 2006
    10
    A great movie to watch.
  2. Sep 15, 2011
    10
    Pertaining everything from story depth to animation, Pixar has created a movie that is considered a true cinematic masterpiece; the movie of my life. Cheers Pixar!!! Expand
  3. Nov 12, 2010
    10
    Why do people give it such a low score when it does not deserve it? oh boy.... Anyways, it was the best animated movie of the 90's and probably one of the best ever. Expand
  4. Jun 17, 2013
    10
    Being the first ever full length computer animated film, Toy Story did pretty well; the characters were memorable, you could relate to Andy's problem of losing something you really liked, it had humor, it was technically impressive for a first try, and in general it was an awesome film. There are so many good things about it I can't tell you in 364 characters. Without further or due, let's talk about why and how its awesome.

    The Good:
    Where do I even begin with this category?! Well, I'll tell you the story: There's this kid named Andy who has a cowboy toy named Woody who is his favorite toy. But when he gets a space ranger toy named Buzz Light Year, Woody is no longer his favorite toy and Buzz Light Year is. When Woody accidentally-on-purpose knocks Buzz out of an open window, its up to them to get back inside Andy's house before he moves. Like any good movie, they encounter some problems: Being left at restaurant/playhouse Pizza Planet, captured by the notorious Sid Phillips, and being brought to his house where he has a mean dog and crazy misshapen toys. The characters are GREAT. My personal favorites are Hamm and Rex. Could you imagine a T-Rex being goofy and frantic rather than vicious and cunning? Or how about a pig with a New York accent? The way they all fit together with their personalities and the way they envision things is genius! The other characters are likeable too. You can relate to what's happening between Andy, Woody, and Buzz. Its like that Brother with the newborn sister relationship. The newborn (Buzz) gets everyone's(Andy other toys)attention while the older brother(Woody)instantly turns into an outcast. The rest of the toys are memorable. Bo Peep is Woody's love interest and she's a really soft-hearted character. Mr. Potato Head is HILARIOUS. He's so unafraid to say what he thinks. He's tough. He doesn't hold anything back. That's a great character. Sid Phillips has a bland premise, but personally, I liked him. For some reason he reminds me of Frollo from the Hunchback of Notre Dame.(Who is my #1 Disney villain)Always cruel to other people or toys in this case, and he gets away with it until one day. The technical aspects are very well done. Now there are some titles that have been released in the past 2-3 years and they look alot more beautiful, such as How to Train Your Dragon, Legend of the Guardians, Kung Fu Panda 2. .but if you remember that its 18 years old, it looks good for 18 years. After all, it is the first animated film. It can't look so realistic its human. And the music, obviously, is great. "You've Got A Friend In Me" will be stuck in your head as long as the Jurassic Park theme song.

    The Bad:
    None!

    The Ugly:
    What I'm about to state isn't really ugly, its just something unfortunate: This isn't my favorite Pixar film. But really, in a way, that's a good thing. It says Pixar is getting better and better as they go onward.

    So overall, Toy Story is fantastic. I think its on of the best films ever made. I've seen it a million times, and I'll probably see it a million more. (I ripped that off of Nostalgia Critic)
    Expand
  5. Jan 4, 2011
    10
    A great movie for everybody. Not my favourite movie but it deserves a ten.
  6. Nov 28, 2012
    9
    Innocent, beautiful, and revolutionary, "Toy Story" is the personified existence of the virtuous animated family film.
  7. Jun 13, 2013
    0
    A cinematic pile of rubbish. It is a complete rip off Of the Brave Little Toaster. SO sick of Pixar taking credit were they deserve none. My kids hates it too. Doesn't surprise me. Expand

See all 99 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Pixar vs. DreamWorks Animation: Comparing the CGI Giants

    Pixar vs. DreamWorks Animation: Comparing the CGI Giants Image
    Published: June 16, 2010
    This week's "Toy Story 3" is Pixar's 11th feature film, and the animation house has established a remarkable record with its 10 previous releases. How does Pixar's biggest competitor, DreamWorks Animation, stack up?