USA Films | Release Date: December 27, 2000
8.9
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 281 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
256
Mixed:
17
Negative:
8
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
BroyaxJan 17, 2017
Traffic multiplie les points de vue de tous ceux impliqués dans cette guerre de la came et c'est là son indiscutable point fort avec en point d'orgue ce "Monsieur Drogue" joué par Michael Douglas qui doit proposer au Président de nouvellesTraffic multiplie les points de vue de tous ceux impliqués dans cette guerre de la came et c'est là son indiscutable point fort avec en point d'orgue ce "Monsieur Drogue" joué par Michael Douglas qui doit proposer au Président de nouvelles propositions et dispositions dans cette guerre sans fin, une sorte de rapporteur en somme... qui se retrouve bien plus impliqué qu'il ne le voudrait.

Ainsi, le point de vue mexicain avec ses flics et la corruption rampante, le point de vue des flics de la DEA, le point de vue des jeunes étudiants américains qui se défoncent avec ces merdes, tout cela forme une vue d'ensemble que Steven Soderbergh nous expose avec une certaine retenue ou à tout le moins sans parti pris flagrant ni emphase exagérée. Et dans le même temps, il nous montre toutes ces tranches de vie des acteurs concernés de près ou de plus loin par le "traffic" (deux f en anglais) pour éprouver notre empathie.

Bref ce "Trafic" (un f en français) est habilement ficelé et toujours intéressant bien qu'un peu long ! La musique -discrète- est agréable, les acteurs et les actrices sont très bien... sauf la Zeta-Jones (qui a pris 20 kg au passage) et qui tente de tirer le film vers le bas. Heureusement, elle n'y parvient pas mais elle gêne énormément. On regrette aussi la présence -très furtive Dieu merci- de Salma Hayek, une insupportable pétasse. Par ailleurs, ces filtres bleus et jaunes pour chaque camp (EUA et Mexique) sont une connerie que le réalisateur aurait pu éviter. Quoi qu'il en soit, l'un de ses meilleurs films en tout cas.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
choomtabi31Apr 24, 2016
A complex film yet artfully done, it's intelligent, gripping and highly thought-provoking. Terrific acting all around.

Watch it online for free: https://www.primewire.ag/watch-3043-Traffic
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ryanneevmanAug 25, 2014
This is a film where you do not have to be into drugs. Sodenbergh seems to have put a magic spell on this material, because the movie is done very well.
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleAug 23, 2014
A very ambitious and expertly made film, Traffic is a very interesting, at times disturbing, film. First off, the ensemble cast featuring Benicio del Toro, Michael Douglas, Catherine Zeta-Jones, Don Cheadle, Luis Guzman, and ErikaA very ambitious and expertly made film, Traffic is a very interesting, at times disturbing, film. First off, the ensemble cast featuring Benicio del Toro, Michael Douglas, Catherine Zeta-Jones, Don Cheadle, Luis Guzman, and Erika Christensen, is fantastic. The direction from Steven Soderbergh is also very good and I also really liked his cinematography here. The different tints to each story really gave each their own unique feel, even if they all concerned the same topic; drug trafficking. Ultimately, Traffic is a brilliant look at the many different aspects and roles played in the world of drugs and how easily lines between good and bad can be blurred. On top of that, it reenforces that nobody involved can get away without being altered forever. Every story it goes through is interesting in their own way. Many call this a thriller, and while elements of this are indeed thrilling, it struck me more as a drama and I thought the dramatic elements outweighed the thrilling ones, but that is me. Regardless, Traffic is an incredibly ambitious film from director Steven Soderbergh that is ultimately a resounding success that leaves you wanting more, even though its run time is two and a half hours. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
GoldSoundzMay 23, 2013
Traffic is a brilliant collection of stories involving strong characters and gripping story-lines, sometimes brutal and tragic; a drugs film told with intoxicating panache, all without becoming too-heavy, which is refreshing in a pool full ofTraffic is a brilliant collection of stories involving strong characters and gripping story-lines, sometimes brutal and tragic; a drugs film told with intoxicating panache, all without becoming too-heavy, which is refreshing in a pool full of films such as Less Than Zero, Requiem for a Dream and Blow. There are stints of hope in Traffic, yet it wisely restricts this hope in its acknowledgement that no matter what anybody does, drugs are an unshakable part of modern life; you can cut it down, but there’s no stopping it.

9.3
Collapse
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
JabbaOnCrackApr 11, 2013
Brilliant, simply brilliant. Well composed script, compelling, engaging but also emotional and at times disturbing. This film succeeds in conforming well to the "hyperlink" genre and exploring both process and effect of drug trafficking. ItBrilliant, simply brilliant. Well composed script, compelling, engaging but also emotional and at times disturbing. This film succeeds in conforming well to the "hyperlink" genre and exploring both process and effect of drug trafficking. It also succeeds in establishing some homogeny between Mexican and
American societies whilst attacking the divide that exists between the respective societies. The acting is superb, Benicio del Toro avoids melodrama, remaining collected but also seemingly effortlessly drawing viewers into some emotional attachment with his character. Brilliant performances also by Michael Douglas, Don Cheadle and Catharine Zeta Jones.
Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
Easily one of the greatest ensemble pieces in cinematic history, "Traffic" represents everything that many other films have tried and failed to do - It crafts an utterly breathtaking film featuring a wide array of characters that the audienceEasily one of the greatest ensemble pieces in cinematic history, "Traffic" represents everything that many other films have tried and failed to do - It crafts an utterly breathtaking film featuring a wide array of characters that the audience never forgets nor stops caring about. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
Connor_MonteithAug 2, 2012
A true thriller at it's best. This is a film charged with tension, drama, and suspense. Not to mention the truly inspiring and detailed story it delivers. Overall a great screenplay that manages to swiftly switch between different scenariosA true thriller at it's best. This is a film charged with tension, drama, and suspense. Not to mention the truly inspiring and detailed story it delivers. Overall a great screenplay that manages to swiftly switch between different scenarios and keep every story engaging, as well as easy to follow. Not to be missed. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
BryceHooglandJul 9, 2012
Steven Soderbergh, the master of narrative, creates a drug, crime film the way one should be made. What
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
8
JohnB.Jun 27, 2008
Very intelligent movie, great actors, interesting story!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KevinL.Sep 28, 2007
"Brilliant" As much as there are many of its kind out there, the writers continue to make this film as entertaining and masterful. This film just creates so much tension and absorbs the viewers in.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
6
JBAug 11, 2006
[***SPOILERS***] This terribly pandering piece of cinematography is redeemable only for the scene in which the film's drug czar concludes that one can't wage a war on drugs without waging war on one's own family and friends. [***SPOILERS***] This terribly pandering piece of cinematography is redeemable only for the scene in which the film's drug czar concludes that one can't wage a war on drugs without waging war on one's own family and friends. Everything else about this film was dull and unimaginative, clearly designed as filler for this ultimate message that is nearly lost is the sea of meaningless drivel that surrounds it. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful
10
jonOct 12, 2005
Extremely powerful, traffic was definitely robbed at the Oscars for Best Picture.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
9
GaborA.Jun 30, 2005
Simply one of the best movies ever made.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanC.Apr 14, 2004
The ultimate anti-drug. Traffic is great in every sense of the word. The 5th best film of the new millennium (behind LOTR and Finding Nemo) and the best of 2000. I'll never do drugs now. Thanks a bunch, Soderbergh.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JordanB.Feb 12, 2004
This is an amazing film, but to be interested in it have to have a passion for the drug conflict in the first place. This is not a propaganda film as one person said, it is a film that explores the various perspectives and problems in the This is an amazing film, but to be interested in it have to have a passion for the drug conflict in the first place. This is not a propaganda film as one person said, it is a film that explores the various perspectives and problems in the "war against drugs". The movie is designed to make you think, a rarity in big hollywood films. Great character development, too. The mood and attitude of the movie follow Douglas' character's development beautifully. I cannot recommend this movie to everyone, because it could bore anyone who doesn't find the drug conflict interesting, but if you pay attention you might get something out of it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
PatC.Jan 15, 2004
This comprehensive examination of an international drug traffic situation has the authenticity of a documentary and the gripping breadth of perspective of a classic epic. The character development is a little sparse.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
raVenNov 2, 2003
This movie drained me a little. But I'm not exactly sure that's a bad thing. It also required a lot more concentration than I had expected. And I'm not so sure that's bad, either. It most definitely isn't a movie you This movie drained me a little. But I'm not exactly sure that's a bad thing. It also required a lot more concentration than I had expected. And I'm not so sure that's bad, either. It most definitely isn't a movie you can pop in every Saturday for a good time. But it's worthwhile and made very well. As an aside, I would say that Don Cheadle is a close personal friend of mine, but it isn't true, and nobody would believe me anyway. But dang, does this guys show up for the big ones! He always seems to surface and thrive in movies overflowing with A-List actors. Traffic is no exception. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
YoonMinC.Nov 1, 2003
There's an edgy docudrama style effected by handheld camera and from certain passages shot in grainy images, but the visual texture is more a matter of style than substance; more a refined recycling of established conventions than fresh There's an edgy docudrama style effected by handheld camera and from certain passages shot in grainy images, but the visual texture is more a matter of style than substance; more a refined recycling of established conventions than fresh cinematic vocabulary. While the panoromic stories tying together the high and low of drug dealers and law enforcers make for gripping drama and interesting political/cultural survey, Sodernbergh ultimately leans on sensationalistic cliches, and worse, tired plot resolutions as the film reaches its climax. The generally uplifting endings to story threads are pure Hollywood and lack conviction in plausibility. Some of the plot developments are far-fetched(such as Zeta Jones becoming a queenpin overnight) and some of the relational dynamic are obvious in their irony(honor student freebasing heroin and who happens to be the daughter of the drug czar!!). Worse, everyone makes speeches, and to preempt this criticism Sodernbergh even has one character ask another "Is this the Larry King show?" Ultimately, with the story of beautiful Zeta Jones making ruthlessly effective deals and preserving her glamorous lifestyle, the movie unwittingly glorifies drug money just as Gordon Gekko's dazzling smoothness did more for than against greed in Wall Street. Sadly, this movie was overpraised by many for the same reason as Do the Right Thing; its IMPORTANT subject matter earned it A for effort. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DaveC.Aug 2, 2003
A study of the futile war against drugs that demands the viewers full attention and offers no easy answers. Rivals Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon and Dancer In The Dark as one of the best films to come out since the turn of the millennium.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
GilbertNov 22, 2002
Cuh. I dunno, you make a stunning, complex ensemble drama, you throw in some fine performances, mix it with wonderful cinematography and directorial flair, and the public still hates you. I though the colouring was great; a neat way of Cuh. I dunno, you make a stunning, complex ensemble drama, you throw in some fine performances, mix it with wonderful cinematography and directorial flair, and the public still hates you. I though the colouring was great; a neat way of helping us tell three (totally unconnected) stories apart, which, looking at some of these posts, it seems some needed. I'm not sure about the "Big Evil Black Men" thing either, though; one for Gaghan to answer for. And I don't care if you hate fishing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
SteveM.Nov 2, 2002
I did not actually think too much of this movie. It had it's good points though. What I can not understand is why a movie like this gets an 87 and Requiem for a Dream only gets a 76? I saw Requiem for a Dream, and I think it is or is I did not actually think too much of this movie. It had it's good points though. What I can not understand is why a movie like this gets an 87 and Requiem for a Dream only gets a 76? I saw Requiem for a Dream, and I think it is or is close to the best Drama drug movie I have ever seen. It is also the only one with a refrigerator puppeteer. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
2
MovieBuffSep 24, 2002
What the hell is going on here? How this movie won all those awards and got amazing reviews is beyond me. This movie was so slow and bland that it makes watching paint dry interesting. I'd rather go fishing (which I hate) then watch What the hell is going on here? How this movie won all those awards and got amazing reviews is beyond me. This movie was so slow and bland that it makes watching paint dry interesting. I'd rather go fishing (which I hate) then watch this movie again. This movie must have put people in a hypnotical trance for it to receive anything higher then a 4. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
1
LyndseyJan 23, 2002
I consider myself to be an intelligent person, and I love all types of movies. I watched this one 3 times on video and I really have no idea what it was about. I got the general point of the movie, that was easy to follow, but the details I consider myself to be an intelligent person, and I love all types of movies. I watched this one 3 times on video and I really have no idea what it was about. I got the general point of the movie, that was easy to follow, but the details were lost on me. Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful
10
ColeL.Nov 21, 2001
An exceptionally genius movie with so much reality it hurts to watch these peoples ordeals. It enormously ambitious and masterfully exacuted. This movie really holds you to the sniff and the puff.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RyanM.Oct 19, 2001
It creates a force of reality, and hurts your heart to watch it,it's one of the best films of the year, and it becoms a revolution.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
MikeG.Jul 16, 2001
This was a movie made for the purpose of making a movie. There was no real catch for the audience. It should have been aired on the sundance channel not at theaters. Who really wants to pay all that money to go to a theatre and fall asleep This was a movie made for the purpose of making a movie. There was no real catch for the audience. It should have been aired on the sundance channel not at theaters. Who really wants to pay all that money to go to a theatre and fall asleep watching a long, and lame, version of "cops"? Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful
9
BillyBobJul 7, 2001
It was funny when the "big black man" was dealing with the crackwhore daughter. Only problem I have is Del Toro's accent doesn't remotely sound Mexican.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
DerekL.Mar 25, 2001
This film made some good points. But did it have to be so heavy handed? And the ending - daddy's little girl is saved from the big black men? And the colouring; are we so stupid as to not to be able to tell the three threads of the This film made some good points. But did it have to be so heavy handed? And the ending - daddy's little girl is saved from the big black men? And the colouring; are we so stupid as to not to be able to tell the three threads of the movie apart? And Catherine Zeta-Jones ? the transformation (almost as difficult as little Welsh girl to Hollywood princess)? In the end, an enjoyable but emotionally dishonest move that reminded me of the propaganda films we got in school. Why can?t Hollywood make a Trainspotting? Oh, I forgot, their senses are deadened by the drugs. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
ChadK.Mar 19, 2001
My personal favorite for the year. I went two days in a row. This film was made for the sake of filmmaking and is done very well. Benicio Del Toro deserved the Golden Globe and deserves the Oscar.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BethC.Feb 9, 2001
Viscerally unyielding. It flat out hammered me. It kept me interested and off kilter the whole time, and Benicio Del Toro is FABULOUS in it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BethC.Feb 9, 2001
Viscerally unyielding. It flat out hammered me. It kept me interested and off kilter the whole time, and Benicio Del Toro is FABULOUS in it.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KasaiJan 25, 2001
A fabulously told story that is out of today's headlines. Benicio Del Torro gives a riveting performance as a Tijuana cop who refuses to be on the take. This one you can watch more than once. Soderbergh's best film to date.
0 of 0 users found this helpful