Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: October 5, 2001
8.9
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 351 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
324
Mixed:
20
Negative:
7
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characteres (5000 max)
10
TheChaser1985Mar 18, 2011
One of my top 5 favorite movies of all time. Awesome story, perfect acting. Denzel Washington is my favorite actor and Hawke did great too. Lots of quotable lines in this movie.
8 of 8 users found this helpful80
All this user's reviews
10
BusterBApr 18, 2008
This is one of the best movies ever. Seriously, Denzel and Ethan Hawke were amazing and the whole concept of the movie was great. The supporting cast took me by surprise when Dr. Dre and Snoop Dogg made appearances and they were actually This is one of the best movies ever. Seriously, Denzel and Ethan Hawke were amazing and the whole concept of the movie was great. The supporting cast took me by surprise when Dr. Dre and Snoop Dogg made appearances and they were actually reasonably good. The action, the one-liners, the immortalized ending, the shady characters, the fact that this was filmed in the real gang areas in LA, and the look into the face of evil (Denzel) really made this movie shine. Amazing, and I recommend this to anyone who doesn't mind a whole lot of cussing. Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful
10
chrisjones914Jul 17, 2014
Great film! Without a doubt an instant classic that could stand amongst the likes of End of Watch and The Departed as one of the all time great cop thrillers! Also boast one of Denzel Washington's best performances!
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
BrandonDec 1, 2008
Amazing dark cop drama. One of the best "corrupt cop" movies there is. For everyone claiming it is too over the top and unrelalistic.... please look up the LAPD Rampart scandal, which is what inspired the film.
2 of 2 users found this helpful
10
ThegodfathersonMar 28, 2013
Training Day is absolutely one of the best gangster movies ever made, from acting to story it's perfect. Denzel and Ethan are both great in this cat and mice chase filled with thrills. The film is totally fresh with absorbing lore in all ofTraining Day is absolutely one of the best gangster movies ever made, from acting to story it's perfect. Denzel and Ethan are both great in this cat and mice chase filled with thrills. The film is totally fresh with absorbing lore in all of its dynamics and suspense. The film targets many perspectives of New York deep down dirty gangs and director Antoine Fuqua has made his subject very detailed. The Best Gangster Film since The Godfather. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
Movie1997Sep 1, 2013
Before movies like "The Departed" and "The Town" comes a riveting and intense cop thriller. This movie blew me away with it's great story and tremendous acting form Ethan Hawke and especially Denzel Washington. Overall, it's a cop thrillerBefore movies like "The Departed" and "The Town" comes a riveting and intense cop thriller. This movie blew me away with it's great story and tremendous acting form Ethan Hawke and especially Denzel Washington. Overall, it's a cop thriller that's got the goods. Be sure to check out my YouTube channel "TheMovieManLife" for all things movies. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
ReviewGuyXOct 7, 2013
This movie defines the essence of the thriller genre. The moment Denzel Washington speaks his first few lines to Ethan Hawke immediately grip my entire attention. They govern Training Day and it's definitely a treat to have them as the leadThis movie defines the essence of the thriller genre. The moment Denzel Washington speaks his first few lines to Ethan Hawke immediately grip my entire attention. They govern Training Day and it's definitely a treat to have them as the lead roles. This movie is definitely one of the most enticing, on-edge films of all time. This is a movie that should not be dismissed. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
FeliciaM.Mar 26, 2002
This movie stayed with me for days, I watched it twice in a row, it was very flashy and violent, just how I like 'em! Music was right on target to keep you on the edge of your seat! Denzel well deserved his Oscar, I am very happy for him!!!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
P.M.Feb 24, 2005
It is one of the best movies i have ever seen and i have seen them all.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
Jedi_JettsonDec 23, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A tale of danger and crime, Training Day is good at demonstrating cops fighting gangs in Los Angeles. Not only does it teach us the dangers and crime of Los Angeles, it takes arresting criminals seriously. I was disappointed Denzel Washington turned out to be a antagonist despite his impressive performance, but he was even more impressive at his script and dialogue. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
AkelaarDec 13, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Denzel Washington is amazing with his corrupt cop role. Whole movie he's trying to make Ethan Hawke (and YOU) believe in his truth. In the beginning he's successful and you think that he's not that bad, but in the end you see his true face. Well deserved 10/10 I think. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
heeldavidMay 23, 2014
Denzel Washington is just so smart and charismatic as the cocky macho cop Alonzo Harris, he usually plays good guys but in this material he just is so good as a villain. Ethan Hawke is quietly impressive as the rookie Cop Jake Hoyt. This isDenzel Washington is just so smart and charismatic as the cocky macho cop Alonzo Harris, he usually plays good guys but in this material he just is so good as a villain. Ethan Hawke is quietly impressive as the rookie Cop Jake Hoyt. This is Antoine Fuqua's best movie Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
gamefriekSep 26, 2010
This movie was absolutely amazing. It was a drama with hints of comedy and an array of action.
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
2
RosieK.Jun 30, 2002
This film was all blood and gore, no plot. Washinton was not exquisite, and neither was Hawke.
0 of 2 users found this helpful
3
AlbertoM.Jun 13, 2002
Terrible, I couldn't believe Denzel won an award for this caricature of a street-wise black cop. Every minority was a tired caricature. It was disgusting to see the same old latino roles of drunk gangbangers. Denzel did not convince me Terrible, I couldn't believe Denzel won an award for this caricature of a street-wise black cop. Every minority was a tired caricature. It was disgusting to see the same old latino roles of drunk gangbangers. Denzel did not convince me at all that he was really a tough street wise person. And I have always loved denzel, except maybe as the jazz man in another crappy movie. Nothing was believable, so much so it was almost comedy. And the violence was so gratuitous, anyone who thought all that was realistic must never have been in a real ghetto. Don't waste your money! Collapse
0 of 1 users found this helpful
3
HugoBFeb 3, 2008
Although the two central characters can hold the film, the rest falls by the wayside.
0 of 4 users found this helpful
3
EdNov 13, 2001
Sorry all, but some fine performances wasted in a relentless one-note rollercoaster ride. Based on this film's message, I guess all people of color are doomed to a life of misdeeds.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
RayzorMooseNov 12, 2013
Training Day Triumphs.
Between the crafty, gritty performances of actors Denzel Washington and Ethan Hawke; Training Day is victorious with a blazing plot.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
JakeM.Oct 5, 2001
Just a straight up awesome movie. I recommend that you watch this movie. The 6 dollar ticket is well worth it
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RichardA.Oct 19, 2001
While the movie is not perfect, it earns a "10" for Denzel's performance, suspense, , cloe-up cinematography, and perhaps, most important, a film-ending portrayal of the black community that is both so real and so subtle that the While the movie is not perfect, it earns a "10" for Denzel's performance, suspense, , cloe-up cinematography, and perhaps, most important, a film-ending portrayal of the black community that is both so real and so subtle that the fraternity of film critics seems to have missed it entirely. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeS.Oct 7, 2001
This movie was everything and more. It was funny, action-packed, edge of your seat action. Great acting by both Denzel and Ethan. Also great acting by supporting roles. Music kept it bumping. Loved it! Go see this now.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
WernerNov 3, 2002
I love this film!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
RyanM.Jan 24, 2002
"Training Day" intrigued me for a while, but then it dilly-dallies into territory it shouldn't ever touch on, and to top it off, the ending is so unsatisfying you walk out thinking "did I miss something"???
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JohnD.Aug 31, 2002
This movie is a classic. Apart from the stroy, Denzel was brilliant.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
CiaranD.May 14, 2003
What a bad movie. Unrealistic & takes you nowhere. Washington was pretty good, but even his performance did'nt come close to elevating this from what is really a flashy, illstructured & illscripted vehicle for a couple of good looking actors.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BayoA.Nov 1, 2004
This movie really is great, brought out the best of denzel,the action,the lines and the plot. ITS HOT.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JeffLOct 20, 2004
While the movie can be seen as complex rumination on the psychology of the criminal, it can also be seen as a very straight-forward, conservative moralizing tale of making good decisions in life. It is the effortless navigation of these two While the movie can be seen as complex rumination on the psychology of the criminal, it can also be seen as a very straight-forward, conservative moralizing tale of making good decisions in life. It is the effortless navigation of these two perhaps incommensurable points of view that ultimately hurts this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
DonD.Oct 21, 2001
This is the first movie that I can remember that opened with no title or character names. Thank God my ticket said "Training Day" and I knew Washington and Hawke were the stars! The movie has some exciting, though implausible "shoot 'em This is the first movie that I can remember that opened with no title or character names. Thank God my ticket said "Training Day" and I knew Washington and Hawke were the stars! The movie has some exciting, though implausible "shoot 'em up" scenes. Denzel Washington gives a great performance, but not a career topper as some reviewers have said. Hawke is out-matched, both in acting ability and character strength. Scott Glenn gives a classic, be it too short, performance. The scenes of the mean streets of LA were as realistic as it comes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
NickS.Oct 5, 2001
Training Day was a lot of fun, full of action and humorous situations with a gritty edge to it. Denzel gives another great performance but sometimes it's a bit over the top. This is the most I've liked Ethan Hawke in a while. Be Training Day was a lot of fun, full of action and humorous situations with a gritty edge to it. Denzel gives another great performance but sometimes it's a bit over the top. This is the most I've liked Ethan Hawke in a while. Be ready to be bombarded with violence and offensive language. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MichaelF.Oct 5, 2001
I was really surprised. A truly dark heart-pounder! Excellent direction by Antoine Fuqua. Denzel is a very good bad guy but goes over-the-top a lot! Hawke is great in a simple way. This is a very dark and gritty film that isn't for I was really surprised. A truly dark heart-pounder! Excellent direction by Antoine Fuqua. Denzel is a very good bad guy but goes over-the-top a lot! Hawke is great in a simple way. This is a very dark and gritty film that isn't for everyone. Not enough action to please the blood thirsty, to dark and gritty for others, for art film fans, its pretty good. I HIGHLY recommend this film! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ChadS.Feb 14, 2002
No offense to Ethan Hawke but I find his Oscar nomination suspect. Yes, the Academy tabbed Denzel Washington & Will Smith for best actor nods, but by nominating Jon Voight (Turturro's Cosell is better) & Hawke, the inference can be No offense to Ethan Hawke but I find his Oscar nomination suspect. Yes, the Academy tabbed Denzel Washington & Will Smith for best actor nods, but by nominating Jon Voight (Turturro's Cosell is better) & Hawke, the inference can be drawn that these two African-American leads needed help. And isn't "Training Day" too minor a film to merit a second acting nod? If Denzel wins, it will be for the wrong film. Fudging with history hurt "The Hurricane" but not "A Beautiful Mind". Why? Well, you know why. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
BangkokDaveJul 23, 2002
A nice little exercise in cinematic sadism. In the same way that Washington's character terrorizes the hapless Ethan Hawke, the movie tortures its viewers & ultimately betrays them with a stupid & meaningless ending.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
LeslieD.Dec 10, 2003
What a great film!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SergioR.Jun 21, 2003
An absolute master piece! Dezel Washington gives another finaminel Oscer wining preformance! The film kept me on the edge on my seat, and can not give enough praise to the film. This will go down as a classic in my book.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
Jerrys.Jul 9, 2003
This is one of the best movies I have ever seen. Seriously. The action is non-stop and the end-performance by Washington gave me shivers down my spine. The struggle between good and evil is very interesting and unwavering. Hawke plays a This is one of the best movies I have ever seen. Seriously. The action is non-stop and the end-performance by Washington gave me shivers down my spine. The struggle between good and evil is very interesting and unwavering. Hawke plays a great part as he tries to find himself as a "protect and serve" kind of cop. this movie is a must see! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SeamusF.Sep 5, 2003
Washington's dirty cop is a brilliant statement on alpha-male power. He gets what he wants because he demands things, and then he convinces people that they wanted to give him everything. Watching him manipulate everyone -- Hawke, drug Washington's dirty cop is a brilliant statement on alpha-male power. He gets what he wants because he demands things, and then he convinces people that they wanted to give him everything. Watching him manipulate everyone -- Hawke, drug dealers, his four-man squad -- with his cocky self-assurance and gray-area morality is a sight to behold, and all too true in the real world. This movie is even better the second time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
CyroneMar 21, 2004
DUDE this movie suprprised the hell out of me, the acting is top-notch and it feels really real, even if its not, its good to think that it is. This movie ranks alongside Phone Booth, and i think anyone, gansta or not, should see this great, DUDE this movie suprprised the hell out of me, the acting is top-notch and it feels really real, even if its not, its good to think that it is. This movie ranks alongside Phone Booth, and i think anyone, gansta or not, should see this great, great movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
[Anonymous]Jul 9, 2005
Denzel's suprisingly great as the baddie. Shows, with detail, the darker side of LA, the side eclipsed by Hollywood and Beverly Hills. I once idealized LA as a great, shiny city of dreams, a place where anything can happen and the Denzel's suprisingly great as the baddie. Shows, with detail, the darker side of LA, the side eclipsed by Hollywood and Beverly Hills. I once idealized LA as a great, shiny city of dreams, a place where anything can happen and the possibilities are endless. Don't get me wrong, I still like LA today, but now i know that not everyone's basking in the eye candy and excess wealth that all of us fantasize about over there. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
PaulaW.Nov 12, 2001
Don't look for any overarching ideas here. This is nothing more than a masterful performance by Denzel Washington as a hardened veteran of the LAPD narcotics unit playing cat-and-mouse with eager recruit Ethan Hawke. The violence is Don't look for any overarching ideas here. This is nothing more than a masterful performance by Denzel Washington as a hardened veteran of the LAPD narcotics unit playing cat-and-mouse with eager recruit Ethan Hawke. The violence is integral to the story, and believable except for a few flights into action-movie silliness à la "Pulp Fiction." The dialogue could be stronger and the meticulously pan-ethnic cast of goodies and baddies strains our credulity a little, but it is worth suspending disbelief just to go along for the ride. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ToddM.Oct 27, 2001
This movie is highely overrated. Don't waste your money.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ShaggyCloudFeb 14, 2002
An impresive police drama, that shows a realistic view of corruption an brutality of police department. Good perfomances and an outstanding script.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BuddyT.Mar 29, 2002
As always Denzel Washington is AWESOME! You have to see this movie...Critics Suck!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
SusanS.Apr 19, 2002
Certainly great performances by both Denzel Washington and Ethan Hawke. The two carry the movie almost entirely themselves; the supporting characters only having one or two scenes each. The characters are well-structured, and the script is Certainly great performances by both Denzel Washington and Ethan Hawke. The two carry the movie almost entirely themselves; the supporting characters only having one or two scenes each. The characters are well-structured, and the script is well thought out and not hackneyed. My quibble with this movie lies in the direction that it takes. The movie is shown from Hawke's character, but it can't decide whether it's about his experience, or about the decline of Washington's character. The ending epitomizes this conflict--we are shown Washington's demise, although we have never seen him in a scene that doesn't involve Hawke but we have seen Hawke in scenes without Washington, so the change doesn't make sense. So, the purpose of the movie may be muddled, but it is definitely worth seeing for the performances. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
RichardAug 16, 2002
By the numbers and not particularly engrossing. Washington has been better before in "Courage Under Fire," "Much Ado About Nothing," and "A Soldier's Story," to name a few. Why this particular performance was singled out for honor is By the numbers and not particularly engrossing. Washington has been better before in "Courage Under Fire," "Much Ado About Nothing," and "A Soldier's Story," to name a few. Why this particular performance was singled out for honor is beyond me. Ethan Hawke was surprisingly effective. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
PatC.Jan 15, 2004
It's flashiness and inadequacies make it excruciatingly average.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TeoloNov 13, 2001
Good film! :)
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DawnK.Nov 16, 2001
Worth the bones!! Denzel is an extraordinary actor. Lots of action and suspense and the great thing was it wasn't predictable. You leave feeling disturbed by Denzel's character - he did his job!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BarbieC.Dec 18, 2002
Denzel was excellent in this movie, this is just to show us how versatile he can be, i take my hat off for his performance. This movie showed us that everything that glitter is not gold, sometimes we are not protected 100% from our law Denzel was excellent in this movie, this is just to show us how versatile he can be, i take my hat off for his performance. This movie showed us that everything that glitter is not gold, sometimes we are not protected 100% from our law enforcement dept, like the movie, our nation has had it's share of criminal cops. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JUIKERSep 29, 2012
Stretches the bounds of credibility but it's still gun-blazing entertaining and in spite of its excesses it still has the ring of truth to it... that there is a lot of BS to being a cop in LA but justice somehow wins its small victories.Stretches the bounds of credibility but it's still gun-blazing entertaining and in spite of its excesses it still has the ring of truth to it... that there is a lot of BS to being a cop in LA but justice somehow wins its small victories. Reality aint pretty, justice aint pretty but if you want pretty, you just gotta stay away from ugly. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
ERG1008Aug 23, 2010
Rookie cop has first day on job with "maverick", teaches rookie to be streetwise, dodgy methods, rookie gets suspicious.
Not as good as I'd heard but still a watchable buddy cop film gone wrong.
Denzel Washington is brilliant (is this guy
Rookie cop has first day on job with "maverick", teaches rookie to be streetwise, dodgy methods, rookie gets suspicious.
Not as good as I'd heard but still a watchable buddy cop film gone wrong.
Denzel Washington is brilliant (is this guy ever rubbish??) & Ethan Hawke comes out ok too. Lot of good cameos including Tom Berenger, Snoop Dogg, Dr Dre & Macy Gray.
It did have a familiar feel to it whilst watching it even though I'd never seen it before & I assume because it wasn't all that original.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Nolanjones7Aug 2, 2011
Grit and power in its finest form in a police tale is exemplified in Antoine Fuqua's Training Day. Never has the line between right and wrong on the streets of LA been more poetic and indulging. Denzel Washington is captivating in his roleGrit and power in its finest form in a police tale is exemplified in Antoine Fuqua's Training Day. Never has the line between right and wrong on the streets of LA been more poetic and indulging. Denzel Washington is captivating in his role as Alonzo the mesmerising hard faced detective willing to go to unsettling methods to reign in the narcotics line bulging through the drug dominated neighborhoods our protagonists drive through. Ethan Hawke is also perfectly cast and a first day on the job trails for Washington's unit. His upstanding ethos twinned with his Innocent damaged gaze gives the two leads their Shakespearean explosiveness and appeal. Fuqua's real triumph however dwells in his shooting of an authentic LA. The city being the muse and center of the film. The real people , the culture and the threat of their lives are entangled in our characters story. A massive step forward in film making. You have never seen anything like this before. Enthralling entertainment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
rgotzOct 2, 2011
Brilliant acting by Denzel Washington and Ethan Hawke in an extremely well written movie. Critics who gave this movie any mark under 90 are certainly living inside a bubble.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
vini1904Aug 19, 2012
This is not my kind of movie, but this movie is really good and it worth watching, is not just a cliché, really amazing, with good acting and a good script.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
AllAroundGamerOct 23, 2012
Absolutely loved it. Denzel is a badass. What more do you want? Well, drama, lots of it too. In addition to great acting and drama, all this **** revolves in one day and will have your mind spinning and confused. Fresh, certified by me!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleJul 20, 2013
Dang. Brilliantly acted, though the first 30 minutes are slow, but as you get into the film, you see why they were necessary. Not entirely what I expected, but all the same, great entertainment.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
oblique15Sep 1, 2013
This is the kind of movie I hope to watch on a Saturday. This is a must watch for movie lovers! Denzel really digs into the character, showing his rookie partner how to do the job but as a corrupt cop.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
"Training Day" is the story of Jake Hoyt (Ethan Hawke), an LAPD rookie who is looking to join a top-notch narcotics squad led by Alonzo Harris (Denzel Washington). Harris gives Hoyt one simple task; accompany him on a one-day ride-along where"Training Day" is the story of Jake Hoyt (Ethan Hawke), an LAPD rookie who is looking to join a top-notch narcotics squad led by Alonzo Harris (Denzel Washington). Harris gives Hoyt one simple task; accompany him on a one-day ride-along where he must prove himself worthy of enlistment. Now from this point on the movie maintains a steady level of immense entertainment. The most noteworthy aspect of this movie is Denzel Washington's Academy-Award Winning portrayal of Alonzo Harris; the rugged cop that has seemingly blurred the line between what is right and what isn't. His performance is as charismatic and imposing, as it is chilling and antagonizing. Every line that Washington delivered was either intensely funny or incredibly demented (but still funny). Which brings me to the script; "The Fast And The Furious" writer, David Ayer, delivers deeply provocative dialogue, as well as a compelling narrative that delves into some very insightful themes. The main theme of the movie, however, seems to be a blend of the "Crime doesn't pay" Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
BradySmithNov 10, 2013
One of the best crime thrillers I've ever seen, Training day would have gotten a 9 from me had it not become somewhat sloppy in the last couple of minutes with a generic cat and mouse chase scene. Unlike most of his roles Denzel Washington'sOne of the best crime thrillers I've ever seen, Training day would have gotten a 9 from me had it not become somewhat sloppy in the last couple of minutes with a generic cat and mouse chase scene. Unlike most of his roles Denzel Washington's Alonzo Harris is an absolute monster. Cruel, violent, deceitful, and downright nasty, he makes other loose cannon cops like John McClane seem like SpongeBob in the episode where he becomes a hall-monitor. Denzel rightfully earned an Oscar in this role. Dafoe also does a great job, which earned him an Oscar nomination as well. This movie is a gritty, exhilarating, and extremely well crafted thrill ride. There are plot twists and turns you won't expect, as well as lots of memorable dialogue and action. Corruption and morally ambiguous situations literally stuff the film, which makes it as thought provoking as it is visceral. Near the ending there is a generic and basically pointless chase scene which took up enough time to force me into giving it an 8 instead of a nine, but don't let this quibble discourage you from seeing it. Thanks to Training Day, the next time I walk into the DVD store, I know which movie I'm looking for first. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MATMJun 21, 2015
I finally saw “Training Day”. Upon looking it up, I realized that this movie is coming up on 15 years old, but I swear it looks like something that just came out. This tale is amazing. I don’t mean to say that it was full of surprises,I finally saw “Training Day”. Upon looking it up, I realized that this movie is coming up on 15 years old, but I swear it looks like something that just came out. This tale is amazing. I don’t mean to say that it was full of surprises, because if you pay close enough attention and you have a good sense of how film works, you should be able to guess how the story is going to play out, but it still felt so fulfilling getting to experience it as it unfolds. Yes, it is gritty, and yes, it feels way too much like a template for the modern police brutality that is all over the news today. Also of note, this is the most stereotypical take on race in America that I have seen since the ‘80s, but if there is any way that you can look past that, it is just so good. If you don’t mind the violence, then it should be a no brainer to watch “Training Day”, if you haven’t already. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BurnsWEMNov 14, 2014
Denzel Washington had one of the performances if you ask me. A lot of people may not agree with that but he won the Academy Award for it. Ethan Hawke was also a great actor in this film. Great plot as well with a lot of twists. This is aDenzel Washington had one of the performances if you ask me. A lot of people may not agree with that but he won the Academy Award for it. Ethan Hawke was also a great actor in this film. Great plot as well with a lot of twists. This is a must see. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ydnar4Nov 21, 2014
Training Day is a classic. Denzel Washington is electric in his role as Alonzo Harris, which is one of his best roles ever. He displays such amazing intensity as this character. I was fixed on the screen as soon as I heard Denzel's firstTraining Day is a classic. Denzel Washington is electric in his role as Alonzo Harris, which is one of his best roles ever. He displays such amazing intensity as this character. I was fixed on the screen as soon as I heard Denzel's first line. Washington some of the most memorable quotes in this movie. Perhaps the best police film that was ever released. I could watch this film over and over again and find something new in it each time. Alonzo Harris is so unpredictable and is probably my favorite anti-hero in all of film. Training Day will leave you guessing until the very end, where it concludes just as suddenly as it begins. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
geo333Jan 30, 2016
Training Day is a well done film that brings out the best of both Denzel Washington and Ethan Hawke. In addition to a very interesting story of justice and corruption. In the end, Training day deserves the praise it gets as it blendsTraining Day is a well done film that brings out the best of both Denzel Washington and Ethan Hawke. In addition to a very interesting story of justice and corruption. In the end, Training day deserves the praise it gets as it blends thriller/drama to a near perfection. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
EpicLadySpongeApr 18, 2016
There's no doubt that you can't enjoy Training Day without having someone to enjoy it with you because they're just making you want to enjoy it so you can like the movie. Training Day is another film I would love to make everyone see.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
avamiller21May 26, 2016
Fantastic! Great to see this Rogue Character for Denzel...He played it so well. Great team work, They work so well together, so believable.

Watch it online for free: http://www.watchfree.to/watch-926-Training-Day-movie-online-free-putlocker.html
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TheArchetypesSep 9, 2016
Denzel Washington is just so smart and charismatic as the cocky macho cop Alonzo Harris, he usually plays good guys but in this material he just is so good as a villain. Ethan Hawke is quietly impressive as the rookie Cop Jake Hoyt. This isDenzel Washington is just so smart and charismatic as the cocky macho cop Alonzo Harris, he usually plays good guys but in this material he just is so good as a villain. Ethan Hawke is quietly impressive as the rookie Cop Jake Hoyt. This is Antoine Fuqua's best movie Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews