Trainspotting

User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 374 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 10 out of 374

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. May 2, 2016
    8
    Who doesn't want to escape to the better life? Renton most certainly does. He is a lowlife from that poor part of town where he and his criminal friends; Spud, Sick Boy and Begbie do nothing much, for there isn't much they can do. Well, petty crimes and shooting dope. It is the late eighties and early nineties and the economic down turn is at its worst.
    The movie starts with Renton
    Who doesn't want to escape to the better life? Renton most certainly does. He is a lowlife from that poor part of town where he and his criminal friends; Spud, Sick Boy and Begbie do nothing much, for there isn't much they can do. Well, petty crimes and shooting dope. It is the late eighties and early nineties and the economic down turn is at its worst.
    The movie starts with Renton listing all the things he is missing, the movie ends with it too. What has happened in between the beginning and the end?Just daily life of the poverty stricken criminal lower strata of English urban society. But with one significant exception: Renton and his mates have struck gold: sixteen thousand pounds worth of it. But it is the amount of money that is interesting. On its own it is a reasonable sum, but split four ways the money wouldn't last them long. Does Renton take the money and run?
    Telling it would be spoiling your fun.
    The important question is: would it matter?
    For Renton can maybe escape his crummy friends, his downtrodden neighborhood and his poverty-stricken town, but can he escape himself?

    Trainspotting is a movie that feels dated in a way, but actually it ought to be as it is made for that particular time in that particular place with those particular people. It is well acted and well told. The music, smartly chosen, supports the tale. But in the end it feels a bit empty and sad really. Not that a movie should not be empty and sad. But even if Renton gets out with the money, all the other Rentons, Begbies, Spuds, Sick Boys are still there.
    Expand
  2. Apr 2, 2016
    9
    Scabrous, brutal and hip, “Trainspotting” is a “Clockwork Orange” for the ’90s. This inventive pic version of U.K. author Irvine Welsh’s cult 1993 novel, set among a group of self-destructive no-hopers and junkies in Edinburgh’s underbelly, shares only the visual invention and buccaneering spirit of the same team’s explosive debut, the black comedy “Shallow Grave.” Result looks set toScabrous, brutal and hip, “Trainspotting” is a “Clockwork Orange” for the ’90s. This inventive pic version of U.K. author Irvine Welsh’s cult 1993 novel, set among a group of self-destructive no-hopers and junkies in Edinburgh’s underbelly, shares only the visual invention and buccaneering spirit of the same team’s explosive debut, the black comedy “Shallow Grave.” Result looks set to delight a narrow band of young auds turned on by the book and its nonjudgmental tone but alienate more general viewers with its complex mix of in-your-face realism, cinematic fantasy and four-letter dialogue, which sets new standards in screen profanity.

    Welsh’s book — more a collection of p.o.v. episodes, written in different styles, than a conventional novel — has already been translated to London’s off-West End stage. For the film, scripter John Hodge has centered the action on Mark Renton (Ewan McGregor), an on-off junkie who acts as a funnel to the surreal world of his four “friends.” Like Alex in Kubrick’s 1971 pic (to which there’s a brief homage), Mark regales the audience with his anti-middle-class values and idiosyncratic philosophy of life, finally achieving a liberation that’s more a temporary escape than a real shift in perception.

    A five-minute pre-title sequence introduces the setting (an Edinburgh suburb) and main characters, each of whom gradually swims into focus as the pic unfolds. There’s Begbie (Robert Carlyle), a knife-carrying, “sensory-addicted,” foul-mouthed psycho who “only does people,” not drugs; Sick Boy (Jonny Lee Miller), a philandering self-obsessive; way-out Spud (Ewen Bremner), who dates Gail (Shirley Henderson); and Tommy, who dates Lizzy (Pauline Lynch) and claims he never takes drugs or tells lies.

    Tale then plunges straight into its irreal world with graphic descriptions of a heroin-induced high. Mark decides to kick the habit again, but not before embarking on a megahit that starts with opium suppositories and leads him (in the pic’s most breathtaking mix of black humor and Daliesque fantasy) to dive headfirst into a pan in “the worse toilet in Scotland.”

    His sex drive returning as his system clears, Mark hooks up at a club with smart-mouthed looker Diane (Kelly Macdonald), and — in an elaborately comic sequence intercutting Tommy and Spud’s separate bedroom adventures — goes home with her. Next morning, he finds she’s still a schoolgirl living with her parents.

    Tone is set by the rough, self-deprecating Scottish humor delivered in heavy accents that will tax North American auds — and even many English — to the limit. (One sequence, in a nightclub, is even jokingly subtitled.) Rarely has a British film so relied on the flavor of dialect for its overall dramatic effect, blending humor and tragedy, realism and fantasy.

    After another giant hit and a series of withdrawal fantasies in a room whose wallpaper is covered with trains, Mark moves to London and starts over with a semi-respectable job. One day, however, Begbie turns up, and Mark is eventually lured back north and into a drug deal that could net the group some serious money.

    Film’s most striking accomplishment — which will appall moralists as much as it will delight others — is the way it takes a bunch of goal-less losers and a subject (guilt-free drug taking) that’s ripe for downbeat grunge and turns the material into a sustained piece of cinema that’s often wildly funny and, at a character level, extremely involving. Propelled by an almost constant soundtrack of songs, several featuring Iggy Pop, pic manages to sustain interest in a storyline that, until the final reels, largely goes round in circles as its main character kicks and returns to his habit.

    Unstated is the fact that the story is set in the Thatcherite ’80s, which heightens Mark’s rejection (and final apparent embrace) of consumerist values. Other than that, however, pic is just as relevant to the ’90s.

    Director Danny Boyle, again working with producer Andrew Macdonald, writer Hodge, production designer Kave Quinn, editor Masahiro Hirakubo and lenser Brian Tufano, has come up with a visual style that exactly matches the wild swings in the story. As in “Shallow Grave,” every setup complements the characters or drama and feels thought-through rather than merely used for gratuitous effect. Once again, Boyle squeezes the most visual bang out of a low-bucks budget of $ 2 .6 million.

    Performances are terrific at all levels, with McGregor a likable Mark, Bremner (who essayed the Mark role onstage) almost endearing as the loony Spud, and 17-year-old newcomer Macdonald a confident discovery as the sassy Diane. Dominating the film, however, is Carlyle, who, after notable work in “Priest” and “Go Now,” turns in a genuinely terrifying perf as the psychopathic Begbie, a walking time bomb who’s halfway to hell.
    Expand
  3. Sep 21, 2015
    10
    "Trainspotting" is a quite wonderful film. It is both darkly funny at times, and also extremely sad at others. It is visually spectacular to look at,and all of the performances are very well done, especially the performance of Scottish actor Ewen McGregor. He plays a heroin addict who tries getting off the stuff, but is eventually addicted once again. the rest of the film is just a series"Trainspotting" is a quite wonderful film. It is both darkly funny at times, and also extremely sad at others. It is visually spectacular to look at,and all of the performances are very well done, especially the performance of Scottish actor Ewen McGregor. He plays a heroin addict who tries getting off the stuff, but is eventually addicted once again. the rest of the film is just a series of events, from the horribly disturbing and sad, to the very funny and entertaining. A must see. Expand
  4. Sep 16, 2015
    9
    Trainspotting is certainly one of the biggest independent films of all time, there is nothing that compares to this masterpiece, which often shows a mild form, but even more frightening, the devastating causes of drug abuse.
  5. NFW
    Jun 25, 2015
    10
    TRAINSPOTTING is a film about brutal honesty that respects it's subject matter, and is far more effective than some "don't do drugs" education video in school.
  6. Jan 18, 2015
    7
    The drug story is somewhat compelling; the narration will weaken everything about any film. And the dark comedy fell somewhat flat. Not completely, but it wasn't as funny of exhilarating as I expected it to be. You should still watch it, but it may be a little too weird for some. Off putting for me.
  7. Dec 21, 2014
    1
    I know. I know. I'm so, so sorry. This is a completely beloved film, and I absolutely hate everything about it.
    Once again, I have to admit, I only got about 60% of the way through this awful film. Let me recite everything I remember.
    Ewan McGregor swims into a disgusting toilet full of turds to retrieve his heroine. It's supposed to be a metaphor, but all it really is is a stomachache.
    I know. I know. I'm so, so sorry. This is a completely beloved film, and I absolutely hate everything about it.
    Once again, I have to admit, I only got about 60% of the way through this awful film. Let me recite everything I remember.
    Ewan McGregor swims into a disgusting toilet full of turds to retrieve his heroine. It's supposed to be a metaphor, but all it really is is a stomachache. I suppose it may just be a metaphor for what McGregor did when he got the lead role in this film. Next, McGregor's character Renton and one of his friends are at a park. They shoot a dog with a BB gun, so it will get angry and violently attack its owner. Why? Ha! F**k you! We just like to hurt people! Boyle isn't even trying now. Then, some guy in a bar gets kicked in the groin and gives those dumb over-acted reactions actors give when their characters get hit in the groin, which only happens in the first place because the writers are lazy as **** Anyway, I couldn't take it anymore, so I stopped watching. I've heard other reviews of the film. Apparently the heroine addicts have a friggin' baby, and it dies of thirst after being neglected. Woohoo! Movie night!
    Listen, you can make a film that has horrifying imagery if your goal is to warn the audience. George Orwell understood that. Tarantino understands that. Danny Boyle? Didn't seem to understand it here. You can do it, but not when you give your film this weird comedic wrapping that Trainspotting has. It acts like a comedy, which to me, is insulting and cruel.
    Expand
  8. Aug 10, 2014
    8
    Pretty cool and stylish movie with some awkwardly stupid moments. It's all about addiction. Sometimes the movie is disgusting and disturbing, sometimes it is funny. The cast and filming are really nice.
  9. Jul 5, 2014
    8
    Overall, a very good film. It is a disturbing and sad tale, but a very well told one with great acting. Now, in terms of films on addiction, this one is much lighter than a film such as Requiem for a Dream and easier to get through for sure (though I do prefer Requiem for a Dream to this one). This "lightness" is thanks to good dark comedy elements and the hopefulness you feel for a betterOverall, a very good film. It is a disturbing and sad tale, but a very well told one with great acting. Now, in terms of films on addiction, this one is much lighter than a film such as Requiem for a Dream and easier to get through for sure (though I do prefer Requiem for a Dream to this one). This "lightness" is thanks to good dark comedy elements and the hopefulness you feel for a better future at different times during the film. However, that does not mean this one is not dark as there are many scenes that are extremely haunting and really make you feel one with the characters as they went through these situations. Ewan McGregor is great in this film, though really the entire cast is phenomenal as everybody pulls their weight equally. Danny Boyle's direction is frenetic and fabolous. In addition, the script is awesome. Every line is dripping with quality. Ultimately, Trainspotting is a great and almost sympathetic and hopeful look at addiction and what causes people to spiral out of control. Really good film. Expand
  10. May 4, 2014
    1
    This film presents a great reason why rehab is the thing to do. You go there, pour your feelings out, listen to what the doctors tell you, take the things you need to get healthier, leave there, and try to forget that you ever saw this movie.
  11. Jan 8, 2014
    8
    Trainspotting is hard to watch, raw, and in your face, in the best way. The movie is so true to the life of heroin addicts and how they "function" in society (or as Renton says, he doesn't actually live in a society). This is one of Ewan McGregor's best performances, and one of Danny Boyle's best movies.
  12. Dec 21, 2013
    8
    Trainspotting is a film about five young miscreants and their drug-induced, illegal, and overall frowned-upon shenanigans in Edinburgh, Scotland. The main character of the film is a good-hearted guy named Mark Renton, who wants to clean his life up and become a good person, However, this task is incredibly difficult due to the unchangeable nature of so-called mates. Sick Boy seems to justTrainspotting is a film about five young miscreants and their drug-induced, illegal, and overall frowned-upon shenanigans in Edinburgh, Scotland. The main character of the film is a good-hearted guy named Mark Renton, who wants to clean his life up and become a good person, However, this task is incredibly difficult due to the unchangeable nature of so-called mates. Sick Boy seems to just to terrible things just to get a thrill out of it, Spud does them because he's unintelligent and cannot emerge from his addiction, and Begbie does it because he's a violent psychopath wrecking anything that gets in his way. The movie doesn't explain too much about each character, but their inhumane actions mostly define them so they never feel underdeveloped. The plot also supplies a lot with a little, because it's essentially just a guy's life. Even though the movie is very good, it's certainly not for everyone. This film is the modern-day version of "A Clockwork Orange", as their are multiple "gross-out" moments that are meant to make you cringe. There's sex (underage and homosexual), nudity, teenage angst, ultra-violence, drug use, toilet plunging, and the death of a baby. Trainspotting not only has excellent cinematography, but an equally great if not better soundtrack. The songs used in the film are often times giving off polar opposite vibes then what you're viewing, which is a technique I'm personally a big fan of. Pacing is never an issue in this film. There are no points where I was bored are waiting for something to happen next. The writing is very strong, and the ridiculous Scottish accents enhance the delivery of each f-word that much more enjoyable. Acting is also very strong. Ewan McGregor leads a cast of very talented Scottish actors, each with great range and commitment. Overall this movie is a cautionary tale showcasing horrors of doing drugs and having an addiction, and probably would be received better if the content within the film was more universally enjoyable. Expand
  13. Dec 6, 2013
    9
    aaaah! super duper funny! i prefer the book, as every time. but this movie look soooo good. this is one of the various reasons cause i'm a ungrammatical spaceship....
  14. Sep 17, 2013
    9
    A darkly funny and fast-paced style of filming has the underbelly of a drug story involving a group of friends as they combat drug addiction, sexual partners and tragic circumstances of drug-induced decisions. We follow Renton (Ewan McGregor), a young Scottish lad who is on and off heroin with his group of friends, he narrates throughout the film as he struggles to find meaning other thanA darkly funny and fast-paced style of filming has the underbelly of a drug story involving a group of friends as they combat drug addiction, sexual partners and tragic circumstances of drug-induced decisions. We follow Renton (Ewan McGregor), a young Scottish lad who is on and off heroin with his group of friends, he narrates throughout the film as he struggles to find meaning other than drugs, we are introduced to his friends, equally lacking ambition, including Sick Boy (Jonny Lee Miller), Tommy (Kevin McKidd) and Begbie (Robert Carlyle), Renton seems to come with the attitude that he is surrounded by idiots and simpletons, not necessarily the case, but he certainly surrounded by unique individuals indeed, they all have regular lives yet are drawn together by having a group 'hit' on regular occasions, here the film chronicles the type of routine and obstacles that an addict may face, whether its finding a job, trying to get clean or taking on selling the product they put into their bodies, it deals with friendship, love and also what is holding such emotional attachments together, is it real or is it drugs that keep friends being friends in the film? We are offered different insights into the question, while we also have a witty and humorous film from start to finish, McGregor plays an unsure and immature young person who goes with the flow, McKidd is driven to a life of drugs after a relationship breakdown while Begbie is maniacal and hot-headed individual a long history and a short temper, with Carlyle delivering a very broad Scottish accent to heighten is highly unpredictable character.
    The real arc of 'Trainspotting' is someone who isn't getting into the world of drug dabbling, but someone who is in it and is trying to get out of it, this is particularly intriguing for the fact that he is a young man who seems to hold some sort of intelligence but can't kick his habit. The various highlights of the film are easily the performances along with the edgy and in-depth directing of Danny Boyle, easily one of his finest films and more so one of the best British films to appear, it explores and invites controversy at every turn but manages to make the characters relatable and often thoughtful about their actions, giving the viewer more reason to be involved. Danny Boyle knows how to make each character equally as important as the last, Trainspotting does this in funny, tragic, emotional and inventive ways.
    Expand
  15. Apr 11, 2013
    10
    The best british film i've ever seen and should be shown to all teenagers as an anti-drug film. Brilliantly filmed and acted, this showed to true potential of Danny Boyle.
  16. Feb 9, 2013
    10
    This is the best movie. Awesome soundtrack, brilliant script, and excellent acting. Both funny and totally messed up. Arguably the best performances of all the actors in their first rolls. Cannot say that I have seen a better motion picture, it's truly Danny Boyle at his finest
  17. May 28, 2012
    10
    With the extraordinarily talented Danny Boyle at the helm, unflinchingly honest social commentary, a great cast and a fantastically funny script by regular Boyle collaborator John Hodge, Trainspotting, adapted from Irvine Welsh's iconic Scottish novel is a true masterpiece of British filmmaking. Following the turbulent and troubled lives of a group of young Scottish heroin addicts, theWith the extraordinarily talented Danny Boyle at the helm, unflinchingly honest social commentary, a great cast and a fantastically funny script by regular Boyle collaborator John Hodge, Trainspotting, adapted from Irvine Welsh's iconic Scottish novel is a true masterpiece of British filmmaking. Following the turbulent and troubled lives of a group of young Scottish heroin addicts, the film takes a sympathetic view of the problem of drug addiction - rather than chastising them for the situation they find themselves in, it is sympathetic to the addicts' struggle and the vicious circle that traps them and slowly destroys their lives. It's among the most poignant and dramatically effective films discussing drug addiction, and Boyle is extremely adept at getting under the skin of his characters and showing what really makes them tick. The characters are an entertaining group of misfits, of particular note is central protagonist and narrator Renton (Ewan McGregor), a young man with aspirations of stability, and of happiness in his life, but who is utterly unable to survive without "one more hit", the violent and psychotic Begbie (Robert Carlyle), who refuses to take heroin but makes up for not doing drugs by "doing people" instead, and the childlike Spud (Ewan Bremner), the innocent fool of the group, and the most vulnerable to peer pressure. The cast make the very most of John Hodge's script, which channels the spirit of Irvine Welsh in a glorious explosion of heavily Scottish-accented sweary magnificence. As with many of Boyle's films, Trainspotting is a balancing act of light and shade. You'll have tears of mirth rolling down your cheeks one moment, when Renton is forced to make an emergency visit to "the worst toilet in Scotland", and you'll be devastated at the utterly tragic loss experienced by the characters a few scenes later. The film really does take you on an emotional rollercoaster - its a journey of highs and lows, and you can really feel for everything, both good and bad, that the characters go through. The film's nightmarish, appropriately trippy visuals (particularly in Renton's "cold turkey" montage), a memorable rock and dance-tinged soundtrack and Boyle's undeniable ability to maintaining the story's momentum and manic energy seals Trainspotting's position as a striking, emotional and affecting viewing experience. It's far more than a film about drug addiction - Trainspotting is about life, death and finding your place in the world. It's also, quite unexpectedly, one of the all-time great feelgood movies, and if you don't take anything else from the film, then take its unabashedly positive moral to heart, and "choose life". Expand
  18. Mar 20, 2012
    9
    Despite being one of the most vile movies I've ever watched, Trainspotting is also one of the most charming. While only about 90 minutes, the film feels much faster. It's broken up into vignettes, which give it a brisk, almost manic narrative style. The cast is also fantastic, with Ewan Macgregor and Robert Carlyle being my favorites. The soundtrack is predictably excellent. NotDespite being one of the most vile movies I've ever watched, Trainspotting is also one of the most charming. While only about 90 minutes, the film feels much faster. It's broken up into vignettes, which give it a brisk, almost manic narrative style. The cast is also fantastic, with Ewan Macgregor and Robert Carlyle being my favorites. The soundtrack is predictably excellent. Not recommended for the squeamish, but it's worth a look regardless. Negatives include the generally absent plot and lack of focus, but those are only minor annoyances. Expand
  19. Oct 6, 2011
    9
    One of the only films that works just at hard to disgust you as it does to entertain you. Even if you wanted to take your eyes off the screen, you can't. Every scene is fantastically written, acted, and shot. Don't miss this film.
  20. Nov 2, 2010
    8
    This movie will talk to many people because some of us can relate, we all have our addictions maybe some are less dangerous than others but that feeling of being trapped and trying to escape is something many of us can relate to. The best part of this movie is the cast and the excellent job they do.
  21. Aug 14, 2010
    10
    This is a great movie. You will be shocked, and you won't want to turn away. Possibly one of the only English movies ever that might need subtitles. Superb beginning and ending.
  22. MichaelL.
    Mar 4, 2008
    10
    A visceral and involving masterpiece of a movie. Every scene is pitch-perfect and you won't take your eyes off the screen until the credits roll. Well, unless you made the mistake of turning away as Renton dives headlong into a filthy, cloggged toilet, only to temporarily emerge in an underwater fantasy world. Takes the excellent source novel and narrows and tightens it in just the A visceral and involving masterpiece of a movie. Every scene is pitch-perfect and you won't take your eyes off the screen until the credits roll. Well, unless you made the mistake of turning away as Renton dives headlong into a filthy, cloggged toilet, only to temporarily emerge in an underwater fantasy world. Takes the excellent source novel and narrows and tightens it in just the right ways for the screen. Collapse
  23. JackL
    Jul 29, 2007
    7
    It is a good movie and surely people love it. Stylish and cool!!! Good cinematography. However, I don't find any new and vibrant concept or message.
  24. AlexS.
    Mar 16, 2007
    9
    It dealt with even the most difficult subjects in a humoristic fashion.
  25. LuiggiR.
    Feb 16, 2007
    10
    Truly an epic film. The soudtrack itself was amazing. All characters were well developed and interesting. A real out of the body experience.
  26. jimm.
    Dec 29, 2006
    10
    Such a great movie for so many different reasons.
  27. AkhilK
    Aug 24, 2005
    9
    An absolute blast! McGregor is at his best here and dare i say - in his element? Pun aside, Trainspotting is as funny as it is scary. The nightmare scene itself would give anyone a chill before using the vile drug. It's a tad bit on the boring side at times, but at its best (which is 99% of the time) the film deserves the acclaim it has received.
  28. JoseB.
    Aug 4, 2005
    10
    The Citizen Kane of drug films. Need I say more?
  29. NorthFreedomFighter
    Apr 7, 2005
    9
    Well paced, well told, a great insight on how not to live life. Quite the adventure, but for a real mind-opener, read the book first. Brilliant all around.
  30. AndrewM.
    Aug 10, 2004
    6
    It's hard not to respect this film and appreciate it's quality...but I also find it hard to like. It's well done in most ways however it left me feeling no better than muddled afterwards. The most commendable thing I can say about it - and I truly mean it - is that the acting is brilliant. So good it is that the film almost feels like a documentary. It is also very well It's hard not to respect this film and appreciate it's quality...but I also find it hard to like. It's well done in most ways however it left me feeling no better than muddled afterwards. The most commendable thing I can say about it - and I truly mean it - is that the acting is brilliant. So good it is that the film almost feels like a documentary. It is also very well shot. It's busy, it's honest, it's unrefined, it's real....but I'm in complete agreement with Pat C. (for a change)...I don't want to see it again! Having said all this, it is a film I do recommend, as people should make up their own minds. Expand
  31. DaveC.
    Jun 18, 2004
    8
    Plot and coherence aren't the orders of the day in this nevertheless bold, witty, fast-paced and highly entertaining film. If only it had some real structure and focus, it could have been a masterpiece.
  32. GooglewhackR.
    Apr 16, 2004
    10
    Disemboweled beetroots, at least you connected to trainspotting in an obscure way!
  33. ChaninderB.
    Apr 10, 2004
    10
    This movie is amazing from beginning to end.
  34. Ricky
    Jan 18, 2004
    1
    Absolutely pitiful, a story about drugs, sex - how original? If your one of the people in the world who is a druggy, you may find this film slightly interesting. Otherwise, don't bother, it's boring, not funny, bar the scene when they are floating in the toilet.
  35. PatC.
    Dec 30, 2003
    8
    Best reason I've seen for not becoming a junkie. Makes me wonder how one was able to come out the other side of such a scene with enough coherence to conceive this obviously authentic depiction. Renton's struggle to overcome merits acclaim, but could he have done it without the money? I respect the commentators who are disgusted with the characters and their scene and want no Best reason I've seen for not becoming a junkie. Makes me wonder how one was able to come out the other side of such a scene with enough coherence to conceive this obviously authentic depiction. Renton's struggle to overcome merits acclaim, but could he have done it without the money? I respect the commentators who are disgusted with the characters and their scene and want no part of it. This is the best movie I never want to see again. So, what's for breakfast? Expand
  36. JonasD.
    Dec 17, 2003
    10
    Simply, one of the best movies I've seen after the godfather en pulp fiction. I see some people don't like this film.They should read the book, it contains the same as the movie but without all the sex and drugs.Then they will know what the movie is about. Not about sex. Not about drugs. Just read the book and you'll understand.
  37. SeanM.
    Nov 12, 2003
    10
    I like this movie and I think it will be a classic someday if it isn't already. The acting is superb, its depiction of drug addiction and human dependence is excellent, and it is a lot better than Sister Act 2: Back in the Habit. Huh Huh get it , back in the Habit.
  38. Uter
    Sep 7, 2003
    9
    It's a very hip and fast paced film. But the dvd extras leave a lot to be desired. There's almost nothing. It's still one of the better dvds I own though.
  39. Celine
    Jun 28, 2003
    10
    My favorite. U MUST SEE IT. Ewan Mcgregor shines! Very colorful film making.
  40. BazK.
    May 21, 2003
    10
    Best british film ever made.
  41. VivekM.
    Mar 2, 2003
    10
    Quite fascinating for anyone between 16-24, cause of the parallels you could draw from it. Forget the drugs, this movie makes an important social and political statement.
  42. Gilbert
    Nov 13, 2002
    10
    It does belong on the Universal Acclaim list, because it has been acclaimed more or less universally. Duh. And with good reason.
  43. SergioG.
    Jul 6, 2002
    10
    The best film ever made.
  44. CharltonH.
    May 1, 2002
    2
    THIS MOVIE definitely does not belong on a "Universal Acclaim" list.
  45. DaleC.
    Apr 3, 2001
    10
    What a wild ride! The soundtrack is enormous. Absolutely not-to-be-missed.
Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Film.com
    Reviewed by: John Hartl
    80
    Ewan McGregor in a raw, funny, star-making performance.
  2. 87
    It's a disturbing film in the best sense.
  3. 75
    It uses a colorful vocabulary, it contains a lot of energy, it elevates its miserable heroes to the status of icons (in their own eyes, that is).