Trance

Trance Image
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 452 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 37
  2. Negative: 2 out of 37
  1. Reviewed by: Oliver Lyttelton
    Mar 21, 2013
    91
    The film's not merely content with being a twisty psycho-thriller. Boyle and Hodge expertly tweak and tinker with your sympathies, and the characters you initially peg as heroes and villains may not be in the same place by the time things wrap up.
  2. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Apr 4, 2013
    80
    A frisky, feisty heist flick with brains and charisma, the movie may make a few errors, but they’re forgotten in the blink of an eye thanks to all the twists, turns and close shaves.
  3. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Apr 4, 2013
    75
    Trance really belongs to Dawson and Cassel. When Dawson's Elizabeth steps onto the scene, you may be instantly convinced — without the aid of hypnosis, even — that she's surely the most effective hypnotist on the planet.
  4. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Apr 4, 2013
    63
    The movie is never boring or uninteresting, but I viewed it from a detached perspective, unable to become involved because I didn't really care about any of the three main characters.
  5. Reviewed by: Rick Groen
    Apr 11, 2013
    63
    Individually, Dawson and Cassel each generate plenty of screen heat, but, together in that one bedroom scene, their chemistry is downright explosive, so much so that it seems we have strayed into a whole different movie, and dearly want to stay there.
  6. Reviewed by: Michael O'Sullivan
    Apr 11, 2013
    50
    There’s a little too much happening in the film’s violent, frenetic conclusion, which involves the retrieval of fractured memories, the confession of betrayals and so many narrative loops within loops that the film’s big reveals never make perfect, deeply satisfying sense. Maybe it’s not supposed to.
  7. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Apr 3, 2013
    33
    I love a good mind-bender, but it's getting more common these days to see thrillers that don't so much bend your mind as chop it, smash it, and place it in the Cuisinart. Trance, the new film directed by Danny Boyle is a high-brainiac art-world thriller that wants to do nothing more (or less) than give your head a majorly pleasurable spin.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 40
  2. Negative: 6 out of 40
  1. Jul 12, 2013
    10
    Trance is a new mind-bending thriller, thought provoking and absorbing, with lots of chills, thrills, good performances and good story. It wasTrance is a new mind-bending thriller, thought provoking and absorbing, with lots of chills, thrills, good performances and good story. It was a great film with an exquisite, first rate art direction and twists. Danny Boyle delivers a new type of original cinematic experience in which audiences are absorbed and worried for whats going to happen next.

    Read the following:
    Trance is a new mind-bending thriller, thought provoking and absorbing, with lots of chills, thrills, good performances and good story. It was a great film with an exquisite, first rate art direction and twists. Danny Boyle delivers a new type of Trance is a new mind-bending thriller, thought provoking and absorbing, with lots of chills, thrills, good performances and good story. It was a great film with an exquisite, first rate art direction and twists. Danny Boyle delivers a new type of original cinematic experience in which audiences are absorbed and worried for Trance is a new mind-bending thriller, thought provoking and absorbing, with lots of chills, thrills, good performances and good story. It was a great film with an exquisite, first rate art direction and twists. Danny Boyle delivers a new type of original cinematic experience in which audiences are absorbed and worried for whats going to happen next.whats going to happen next. original cinematic experience in which audiences are absorbed and worried for whats going to happen next.

    That's what Trance is like, points in points, which is really cool and clever. For Example: then you get to know what you read is one paragraph with one point.
    Expand
  2. Aug 19, 2013
    9
    Mind-bending simply just mind-bending...With good twists,but i don't know why we needed that Full Frontal scene.And there are some problemsMind-bending simply just mind-bending...With good twists,but i don't know why we needed that Full Frontal scene.And there are some problems with Franck's character.... Expand
  3. Nov 13, 2014
    8
    "Trance" 10 Scale Rating: 8.0 (Great) ...

    The Good: Excellent film with an amazing cast. Twists and turns so often that you're not sure
    "Trance" 10 Scale Rating: 8.0 (Great) ...

    The Good: Excellent film with an amazing cast. Twists and turns so often that you're not sure what is real and what isn't. Fascinating in every way and I was personally enthralled by it and just HAD to know what happens in the end. The trio of McAvoy, Dawson, and Cassel became immersed in their roles.

    The Bad: It does feel a little longer than it's 1:41 run time. This is due to a massive slow down in the middle. After a great opening act, the film switches gears and grinds to a halt. Thankfully it rebounds well.
    Expand
  4. Sep 10, 2013
    7
    The story is interesting and has some twists, the actors are great, the direction is nice too, but still something is missing, maybe someThe story is interesting and has some twists, the actors are great, the direction is nice too, but still something is missing, maybe some parts of the story seem irrational to me...hard to tell. But I consider user score 7.0 fair. Expand
  5. May 22, 2014
    6
    "Do you want to remember or do you want to forget?"

    Coming from Danny Boyle i was expecting a lot then this, Trance tries to be like
    "Do you want to remember or do you want to forget?"

    Coming from Danny Boyle i was expecting a lot then this, Trance tries to be like Inception with the psychological thriller feel but the end result isn't up to par with his previous films. The cast was a big selling point for me as James McAvoy, Rosario Dawson, and Vincent Cassel are all great actors and they all ended up doing solid performances, actually i thought that James McAvoy did a superb job maybe the best iv'e seen of him. Trance story gets messy at times when it comes to the psychological part whereas Inception's keeps a smooth flow throughout.

    The film follows Simon (James McAvoy) a fine art auctioneer with a huge gambling problem, he soon becomes in deep in debt with many people and the only way to pay them off is to trade his debt for a very rich painting to a gang leader. On the day of the auction Simon double-crosses the gang resulting in the gang leader Franck (Vincent Cassel) hitting him over the head with a shotgun causing him to have amnesia. From here the psychological feel takes on a heavy role in the film as the gang takes Simon to go see a hypnotist Elizabeth Lamb (Rosario Dawson) She dissects his mind to make him remember where he put the painting. This happens multiple times taking a psychological tole on Simon to a point to where he doesn't know what's real and what's not.

    The pace of the film was also something i didn't like the beginning starts out nice then slows down after that the pace only picks it up for short segments then goes back to slowing down. All this was fine but once they got into the car heading for the painting at the end of the film and Elizabeth is explaining to Simon what really went on, in that really long dawn out scene that we all seen coming anyways, it was just a complete bore to me and i couldn't wait for it to be over. The very last sentence in the movie is Elizabeth saying Do you want to remember or do you want to forget? and the first thing that popped up into my head was forget this disappointing movie.

    Overall i give it a 6.0 Oh yeah i totally forgot that Rosario Dawson went fully nude in this, I do have to say it was quite nice.
    Expand
  6. Aug 10, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I wanted to like the movie but...
    Ok, the girl get hurt but she is also guilty, and the movie tries to put her as the 'good guy'.
    I don't want to sound troll, but I think the better end should be all of them shattered in pieces :D
    Expand
  7. Dec 4, 2013
    0
    This seemed like an interesting plot of a movie, so much that we chose to watch it among 4 other quite good movies. When the movie started IThis seemed like an interesting plot of a movie, so much that we chose to watch it among 4 other quite good movies. When the movie started I actually thought it was interesting, nevertheless as time passed the initial good feeling started to become boredom and later dislike.

    This movie is a poor try to confuse your mind into not knowing what is happening in it and it tries so hard that at some point it loses focus and becomes a pointless mixture of scenes.

    When I finished watching it, I thought it was a bad movie, but one day later I realized it was a waste of 1.5 hours of my life.

    Its a shame because the actors that participated were quite good, still it was not enough to save this movie. I almost never give a 0 for score in anything I see, as I value the work put into content, be movies, games or other things, but this movie is one of the 3 that deserves that '0' score
    Expand

See all 40 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. DVD Release Calendar: July 2013

    DVD Release Calendar: July 2013 Image
    Published: June 26, 2013
    Gt a complete list of home video releases (including movies and TV shows) for the month of July, including Orphan Black, Spring Breakers, 42, Trance, and more.
  2. Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers

    Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers Image
    Published: March 22, 2013
    Take a break from your brackets and watch all of this week's new trailers, including even more footage from Star Trek Into Darkness and Trance, new looks at Despicable Me 2, Epic, and Turbo, and much more. Plus, get a recap of this week's movie news.
  3. Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers

    Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers Image
    Published: February 15, 2013
    This week, watch new trailers for the Vince Vaughn/Owen Wilson comedy "The Internship," Danny Boyle's "Trance," Bryan Singer's "Jack the Giant Slayer," and more, plus get updates on future projects including Star Wars, Bond 24, Brad Bird's "Tomorrowland," Michael Mann's next film, and more.
  4. Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers

    Film Friday: This Week's Movie News and New Trailers Image
    Published: January 11, 2013
    Film Friday returns from its holiday hiatus with new trailers for Danny Boyle's "Trance," Quentin Dupieux