Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 164 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 37
  2. Negative: 2 out of 37
  1. Reviewed by: Oliver Lyttelton
    Mar 21, 2013
    91
    The film's not merely content with being a twisty psycho-thriller. Boyle and Hodge expertly tweak and tinker with your sympathies, and the characters you initially peg as heroes and villains may not be in the same place by the time things wrap up.
  2. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Apr 4, 2013
    80
    A frisky, feisty heist flick with brains and charisma, the movie may make a few errors, but they’re forgotten in the blink of an eye thanks to all the twists, turns and close shaves.
  3. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Apr 4, 2013
    75
    Trance really belongs to Dawson and Cassel. When Dawson's Elizabeth steps onto the scene, you may be instantly convinced — without the aid of hypnosis, even — that she's surely the most effective hypnotist on the planet.
  4. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Apr 4, 2013
    63
    The movie is never boring or uninteresting, but I viewed it from a detached perspective, unable to become involved because I didn't really care about any of the three main characters.
  5. Reviewed by: Rick Groen
    Apr 11, 2013
    63
    Individually, Dawson and Cassel each generate plenty of screen heat, but, together in that one bedroom scene, their chemistry is downright explosive, so much so that it seems we have strayed into a whole different movie, and dearly want to stay there.
  6. Reviewed by: Michael O'Sullivan
    Apr 11, 2013
    50
    There’s a little too much happening in the film’s violent, frenetic conclusion, which involves the retrieval of fractured memories, the confession of betrayals and so many narrative loops within loops that the film’s big reveals never make perfect, deeply satisfying sense. Maybe it’s not supposed to.
  7. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Apr 3, 2013
    33
    I love a good mind-bender, but it's getting more common these days to see thrillers that don't so much bend your mind as chop it, smash it, and place it in the Cuisinart. Trance, the new film directed by Danny Boyle is a high-brainiac art-world thriller that wants to do nothing more (or less) than give your head a majorly pleasurable spin.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 39
  2. Negative: 6 out of 39
  1. Jul 12, 2013
    10
    Trance is a new mind-bending thriller, thought provoking and absorbing, with lots of chills, thrills, good performances and good story. It wasTrance is a new mind-bending thriller, thought provoking and absorbing, with lots of chills, thrills, good performances and good story. It was a great film with an exquisite, first rate art direction and twists. Danny Boyle delivers a new type of original cinematic experience in which audiences are absorbed and worried for whats going to happen next.

    Read the following:
    Trance is a new mind-bending thriller, thought provoking and absorbing, with lots of chills, thrills, good performances and good story. It was a great film with an exquisite, first rate art direction and twists. Danny Boyle delivers a new type of Trance is a new mind-bending thriller, thought provoking and absorbing, with lots of chills, thrills, good performances and good story. It was a great film with an exquisite, first rate art direction and twists. Danny Boyle delivers a new type of original cinematic experience in which audiences are absorbed and worried for Trance is a new mind-bending thriller, thought provoking and absorbing, with lots of chills, thrills, good performances and good story. It was a great film with an exquisite, first rate art direction and twists. Danny Boyle delivers a new type of original cinematic experience in which audiences are absorbed and worried for whats going to happen next.whats going to happen next. original cinematic experience in which audiences are absorbed and worried for whats going to happen next.

    That's what Trance is like, points in points, which is really cool and clever. For Example: then you get to know what you read is one paragraph with one point.
    Expand
  2. Apr 19, 2013
    10
    The twists, turns, filming, acting, cleverness, and originality of this film make it one of the best of 2013. I can't wait to watch again notThe twists, turns, filming, acting, cleverness, and originality of this film make it one of the best of 2013. I can't wait to watch again not only to fully understand the awesome plot, but to genuinely enjoy the amazing product of Danny Boyle's incredible talent in filmmaking. Great movie. Collapse
  3. Aug 5, 2013
    8
    Thank god for Danny Boyle! Here's a director that's not affraid to try something new. His new film Trance goes into the category 'thingsThank god for Danny Boyle! Here's a director that's not affraid to try something new. His new film Trance goes into the category 'things you've never seen before' which coincidentally are the kind of movies I wanna see. It starts out like a regular movie but gets more 'trancy' as it goes along. It's aided by a spacey and very fitting soundtrack and the unique visual style Boyle & Mantle have developed over the years. It's one of these films where you keep wondering where it's gonna go. It's an exellent film but just falls a bit short of being an instant classic. But that being said I can highly recommend this trip! Expand
  4. Apr 16, 2013
    7
    An art auctioneer (James McAvoy) plots with some criminals (led by Vincent Cassel) to steal a painting, but can't remember where he hid it. SoAn art auctioneer (James McAvoy) plots with some criminals (led by Vincent Cassel) to steal a painting, but can't remember where he hid it. So he goes to a hypnotherapist (Rosario Dawson) for help. Sounds simple, but it twists so much that it's not completely clear what really happened. Still, the movie is worth it. Director Danny Boyle is always a superb craftsman and his slick, beautiful and edgy style is on full display. Performances are sufficiently ambiguous, but it's really Boyle who's the star. Expand
  5. Dec 13, 2014
    6
    Refreshing, the film was able to keep me entertained throughout. The combination of classic film elements such as mystery, drama and actionRefreshing, the film was able to keep me entertained throughout. The combination of classic film elements such as mystery, drama and action makes for a diverse experience within an original and actually quite captivating story. The lack of predictability is always nice to see, as is a strong performance from James McAvoy. The inclusion of strongly emphasised mystery can cause it to stall at times though which is the only major frustration. Minor flaws come in the form of the amateur cinematic feel and a slight lack of direction. Whichever genre you are into, Trance may cause you to further look into the mystery one. Expand
  6. Apr 8, 2013
    5
    This film is touted as a mind bending thriller the likes of Inception. It sadly falls very short of greatness. This film tries to mess withThis film is touted as a mind bending thriller the likes of Inception. It sadly falls very short of greatness. This film tries to mess with the audiences head and then gives up half way through before dumping major plot points in the audiences lap. The story follows James Macavoys' character who has helped in the theft of a painting but after a bump on the head can't remember where he left it. Que hypnotism and wandering what is real and what isn't if it were achieved properly(it isn't). This film is ultimately let down by a simple plot masquerading as a complex and deep psychological thriller.
    Rating 5 out of 10
    This film is more unnecessary subtext than substance
    Expand
  7. Dec 4, 2013
    0
    This seemed like an interesting plot of a movie, so much that we chose to watch it among 4 other quite good movies. When the movie started IThis seemed like an interesting plot of a movie, so much that we chose to watch it among 4 other quite good movies. When the movie started I actually thought it was interesting, nevertheless as time passed the initial good feeling started to become boredom and later dislike.

    This movie is a poor try to confuse your mind into not knowing what is happening in it and it tries so hard that at some point it loses focus and becomes a pointless mixture of scenes.

    When I finished watching it, I thought it was a bad movie, but one day later I realized it was a waste of 1.5 hours of my life.

    Its a shame because the actors that participated were quite good, still it was not enough to save this movie. I almost never give a 0 for score in anything I see, as I value the work put into content, be movies, games or other things, but this movie is one of the 3 that deserves that '0' score
    Expand

See all 39 User Reviews

Trailers