IFC Films | Release Date: December 2, 2005
7.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 70 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
57
Mixed:
9
Negative:
4
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
Trev29Jun 11, 2013
Felicity Huffman is absolutely outstanding. Her performance is among the best in the last decade. A very touching movie that is a perfect blend of comedy and drama. Everything from the opening scene to Dolly Parton's song at the end is justFelicity Huffman is absolutely outstanding. Her performance is among the best in the last decade. A very touching movie that is a perfect blend of comedy and drama. Everything from the opening scene to Dolly Parton's song at the end is just fantastic. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
SeanS.Jan 10, 2006
Brilliant performance! I went to a screening of this movie in November and did not know it was Felicity Huffman until the credits. Honestly, I thought it was Robert Downey Jr.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
BenK.Jan 30, 2006
Another spin from a broken record. I thought 2/3 of Huffman's performance was touching but attaching this performance onto a banal road movie is cruel. So much of this movie felt recycled from other movies. Don't people in movies Another spin from a broken record. I thought 2/3 of Huffman's performance was touching but attaching this performance onto a banal road movie is cruel. So much of this movie felt recycled from other movies. Don't people in movies ever use interstates? Hasn't anybody ever heard of a Hampton Inn? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JarodTJan 6, 2006
Top notch performance by Felicity Huffman... she deserves an oscar!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RadioLadyDec 12, 2005
This movie is wonderful! I just hope enough people get to see Felicity Huffman and a variety of other excellent characters -- it's riotously funny in parts, but had me weeping during some moments, too. If you have a family with any kind This movie is wonderful! I just hope enough people get to see Felicity Huffman and a variety of other excellent characters -- it's riotously funny in parts, but had me weeping during some moments, too. If you have a family with any kind of dysfunction (and who doesn't?), this movie should resonate with you! Search for it at your local art theater -- doubt if it will make it to the megaplex, unless Felicity Huffman gets the Oscar for Best Actress! Rate it an "A" on my Entertainment Report Card. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
UnagiboyDec 5, 2005
Felicity Huffman's performance is absolutely brilliant in this film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BillyS.Jan 29, 2006
Miramax may not be a player in this years Oscar race, but Harvey Weinstein sure will be! With his new Weinstein Company, old Harvey will be front and center working his usual campaign magic. In Transamerica, Felicity Huffman is nothing short Miramax may not be a player in this years Oscar race, but Harvey Weinstein sure will be! With his new Weinstein Company, old Harvey will be front and center working his usual campaign magic. In Transamerica, Felicity Huffman is nothing short of Brilliant in a role thats funny, endearing and completely honest. She elevates this "little" movie to the best road picture since Easy Rider and it's the first performance i've seen that can take the Oscar right out from Reese Witherspoons hands and remind the Academy that Harvey Weinstein is gone from Miramax-but he's still the master! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MarkB.Feb 2, 2006
A man seeking to become a woman--who dresses and acts like one, and who has had the hormone injections and most of the other necessary procedures--has his/her journey to the final operation interrupted by a sudden appearance by his long-lost A man seeking to become a woman--who dresses and acts like one, and who has had the hormone injections and most of the other necessary procedures--has his/her journey to the final operation interrupted by a sudden appearance by his long-lost son, a street hustler and would-be gay porn star who not only is completely unaware of their relationship but also doesn't know that "she's" still a "he". You've definitely got to give writer-director Duncan Tucker his props for concocting a one-of-a-kind premise, but then you have to subtract points for making it just one more road movie. We've had hundreds and hundreds of them, from It Happened One Night to Easy Rider to Midnight Run to Rain Man; unless your name happens to be Alexander Payne, it's a really tired, overused genre that needs to be given at least a temporary rest, and did I mention that this is no It Happened One Night or Easy Rider or Midnight Run or Rain Man? TransAmerica strains to be light and airy, with only a few carefully calibrated heavy dramatic moments, but it falls short of the mark: the audience I saw this with laughed uproariously at the relatively few effectively comic moments mostly because there WERE relatively few of them. As far as Felicity Huffman's much-vaunted tour de force, I must admit I'm on the fence; I generally really like Huffman, who was terrific on TV's Sports Night and whose overwhelmed executive-turned-mommy is my favorite Desperate Housewife, but here...I just don't know. I greatly admired Hilary Swank's work in Boys Don't Cry and Charlize Theron's in Monster, and Huffman's performance here is an impressive TECHNICAL achievement, but there have been just too many actresses lately who've won Oscars for doing the equivalent of Robert DeNiro's and Tom Hanks's radical physical makeovers in PORTIONS of Raging Bull and Cast away; it's flashy, to be sure, but this year at least I preferred the more subtle, sublime and non-nominated work of Shopgirl's Claire Danes, King Kong's Naomi Watts and The Prize Winner of Defiance, Ohio's Julianne Moore. (And Huffman will probably edge Reese Witherspoon out on March 5 partially because voters will remember her endearing Emmy speech about William H. Macy kissing her in a cornfield and hope she repeats or does a variation on it. Just ask Roberto Begnini how important previous awards-season acceptance-speech showmanship is!) Maybe my mixed feelings about Huffman are also due to Tucker's characterization of Stan/Bree as being rather stiff and humorless; in addition to "tucking it in", the surgeons need to do an additional operation to remove the stick from his/her butt! This, of course, is just one indication of the general coarseness with which Tucker treats some of his characters; it's nowhere more in evidence than when Stan/Bree and son make an extended stop to meet the family. The sister, delightfully played by Carrie Preston, is so bright and engaging she deserves her own movie, and it's a real pleasure to see Burt Young, Rocky Balboa's screen brother-in-law, in really relaxed form as the dad, but the normally fine character actress Fionnula Flanagan is hopelessly saddled with the one-dimensionally caricatured role of Stan/Bree's buffoonish, intolerant mom. One of the aspects of Brokeback Mountain that makes it great is its complex, utterly sympathetic treatment of all of Jack's and Ennis's family members; TransAmerica wants badly to look breezy and nonjudgmental, but everytime Flanagan appears onscreen or says something, the movie's as strident and hamfisted as the worst Norman Lear-produced sitcoms of the mid-1970s. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
StephenFeb 27, 2006
Actually, I wanted to give this one 6.5, but that score isn't in the system. It is a very enjoyable piece, make no mistake, but there are a few simple errors which hold it back. Although she never remotely resembles a genetic male, Actually, I wanted to give this one 6.5, but that score isn't in the system. It is a very enjoyable piece, make no mistake, but there are a few simple errors which hold it back. Although she never remotely resembles a genetic male, Huffman (as the MtF transsexual Bree) is terrific. However, the dignity and decorum of her performance are somewhat undermined by the bouffant campiness of Fionnulla Flanagan as her mother. Now, this is just a road movie with a twist, and like most road movies it has a few cameo scenes that don't make a lot of sense, but that can be overlooked. First problem - I don't usually pay the costumes much mind, but I found Bree's pink skirts and prissy heels quite distracting. They're not really what a TS woman would wear, especially out by the campfire, especially when she doesn't want to be taken for a transvestite. Second problem - in the crucial scene, where Bree's TS status is revealed to her newly found son, Bree's exhibitionist behaviour seems quite out of character. It would have been better all round if the son could have accidentally discovered her TS status by some less unlkkely means. The extra half point, by the way, would be for the sensible who-cares approach to the whole TS question. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
KeithFeb 7, 2006
The movie works largely because of Huffman. Without her sensitive and intelligent performance, the movie's flaws would overwhelm. But her restraint is wonderful as is her comic timing. For a movie with so much to say and with such The movie works largely because of Huffman. Without her sensitive and intelligent performance, the movie's flaws would overwhelm. But her restraint is wonderful as is her comic timing. For a movie with so much to say and with such eccentric characters, it movies along rather ploddingly. But the key to the movie's success, again, is that Huffman doesn't portray Bree as eccentric. In fact, she is probably the least eccentric in the movie. And there are genuinely touching moments. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MegB.Jun 3, 2006
Very enjoyable, heartwarming story and high quality acting from most of the cast. I really liked the story and the originality of the script. About what I expected from reading reviews.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LindaA.Jun 8, 2006
The acting is excellent in this movie. Felicity Hoffman is amazing -- I found myself totally believing that she was a man becoming a woman, even though I watch Desperate Housewives and know who she is. Very good film -- makes you think.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RedlightJun 5, 2007
Just great. its refreshing to see such a serious issue dealt with in a comic way.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
!GBYDec 2, 2005
It shuld be more american movies like this. Un-condescending, smart and not self indulgent. Mr Tucker chooses to show a very wit drama that can be wisely funny instead of lecturing us. His directon is consistent and tight and Mrs Huffman It shuld be more american movies like this. Un-condescending, smart and not self indulgent. Mr Tucker chooses to show a very wit drama that can be wisely funny instead of lecturing us. His directon is consistent and tight and Mrs Huffman performance is remarkable. Excellent debut! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NowellM-MDec 5, 2005
Felicity Huffman gives a phenominal performance.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
michaelb.Dec 7, 2005
Huffman gives an incredible performance blending pathos, intelligence and wit perfectly. The script is quite good and the soundtrack is a real plus.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
TomDuckJan 17, 2006
While I enjoyed Felicity Huffman's very fine performance, one good turn does not make this a recommendable film. The story was aimless at times and the writing was slipshod. I could see her - and her young male costar - attempting to While I enjoyed Felicity Huffman's very fine performance, one good turn does not make this a recommendable film. The story was aimless at times and the writing was slipshod. I could see her - and her young male costar - attempting to work around the holes and thin, pat, "aint we a krazy bunch of family!" But overall, I could have just as easily skipped it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
DeniseL.Jan 21, 2006
Although there were things about this movie that were quite plausible there were parts that were just too implausible. Felicity Huffman's role was beautifully played and really tugged at one's heart strings. But, some of the Although there were things about this movie that were quite plausible there were parts that were just too implausible. Felicity Huffman's role was beautifully played and really tugged at one's heart strings. But, some of the scenarios with her son were just too unbelievable to make it a truly great film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MarkFeb 24, 2006
It is the subtleness of this movie that makes me give it such a high mark. A movie where this implausable characters seem not only real, but vulnerable and worth caring about.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PetroM.Feb 5, 2006
Whilst a bit slow at times, this movie is deeply touching, giving us a great insight into the subject that is rarely spoken about in this country. It definitely changed my view and attitude towards people Bree(Huffman's character). Whilst a bit slow at times, this movie is deeply touching, giving us a great insight into the subject that is rarely spoken about in this country. It definitely changed my view and attitude towards people Bree(Huffman's character). Felicity gives an amazing performance, Kevin Zegers doesnt fall behind either. Highly reccomend, just be open minded. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
mewowMay 28, 2006
best damn hilarious movie ever! its a shame for those who aren't opened minded...they're just ppl who hate and will rot in hell.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JimG.Jun 25, 2006
Well told story with interesting characters. Hard to suspend belief enough to imagine Felicity as a man, but definitely enjoyed her performance. [spoiler] One disappointment in the screenplay is the predictable mother figure. While Fionnula Well told story with interesting characters. Hard to suspend belief enough to imagine Felicity as a man, but definitely enjoyed her performance. [spoiler] One disappointment in the screenplay is the predictable mother figure. While Fionnula Flanagan is an incredible actress, it's a shame she didn't have a better script to work with. Maybe it is a case of stereotypes existing because they're shaded with truth, but I wonder how much more compelling this film would have been if the mother figure landed somewhere else on the bell curve.j Wonderful soundtrack of acoustic and americana music. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
VickiW.Aug 15, 2006
One of the best films I've ever. Huffman had me convinced she was a man playing a woman - an oscar caliber performance. I loved everything about the film. It was tender, funny, sad, warm and wonderful. I feel superb acting is rare - One of the best films I've ever. Huffman had me convinced she was a man playing a woman - an oscar caliber performance. I loved everything about the film. It was tender, funny, sad, warm and wonderful. I feel superb acting is rare - Huffman proved there are still actresses/actors that are willing to take the risk and throw themselves into a character 150%. Cudos to Huffman and the filmmakers. Not to forget the other actors, they are all great. I don't know who Kevin is, but I'd love to see him in a lot more films. He's wonderful. This film is a rare gem that should not be missed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PatG.Jan 23, 2006
I went expecting to see a great performance in a ho-hum movie, and turned out to be impressed by the whole thing. Huffman does give a great performance, but the movie is much more than ho-hum. Good script, rich characters and dialogue. It is I went expecting to see a great performance in a ho-hum movie, and turned out to be impressed by the whole thing. Huffman does give a great performance, but the movie is much more than ho-hum. Good script, rich characters and dialogue. It is a first-rate film and I highly recommend it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BJN.Feb 12, 2006
Felicity gives a fantastic performance and her scene int he hospital is heartwrenchingly heartfelt and pure. The actress playing her mother is magnificently manipulative and comically dysfunctional. Graham green is charming but Feleicity is Felicity gives a fantastic performance and her scene int he hospital is heartwrenchingly heartfelt and pure. The actress playing her mother is magnificently manipulative and comically dysfunctional. Graham green is charming but Feleicity is the soul here turning an uncomfortable and misunderstood topic into and interesting character study. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GlendaSDec 11, 2005
Felicity Huffman oscar caliber performance helps this movie transcend the limits of the road trip genre cliche.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
beingryanjudeSep 1, 2014
Transamerica is a tale of acceptance and bonding on an unlikely road trip. Felicity Huffman is convincing and extraordinary as a transgendered person--honestly, one of the best performances in years.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
emeraldcitySep 6, 2014
I suppose this film was created to draw attention to what a transgender person goes through in order to be a complete male to female transexual. I think the film fails on more levels than it succeeds on. Firstly they didm't use an actualI suppose this film was created to draw attention to what a transgender person goes through in order to be a complete male to female transexual. I think the film fails on more levels than it succeeds on. Firstly they didm't use an actual transgender person to play the part of the one in the film which is a joke in this day and age and secondly the film soft pedals the American Psychiatric Association definition of a transexual- a definition that was actually created by a tuberculosis specialist in America-not a psychologist or a psychiatrist-in 1960-completely disregarding earlier psychology/psychiatry work with the subject of transsexualism in Europe-not that it would matter now because times have changed so much since then. Worth mentioning and not addressed by the film the APA definition of transexual also treats the subject of sex change as an issue that applies to men who have done tough guy jobs but who now want to be the other sex and as such it is a complete joke. Also not dealt with by the film is that the US definition of transexual also fails to take into account that we no longer live in gender polarized times and that many males grow up any way they want to because that is the age we live in. WW2 didm't just end a few years ago. The filmmakers might think they are standing up for transgender but showing a 'transwoman' who looks like she just did her shift at the bomb factor in WW2 is nothing but scheisse of a different colour-as is the rest of this film. Does that 'draw attention to a problem ?' I'm not sure of it does-it sort of reinforces the problem aspect of things-in this viewers opinion. I guess you cannot be smart if you are not smart. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
WJSAug 21, 2015
Felicity Huffman gives a very powerful performance in this movie, although I have to admit that I couldn't help but wonder why they didn't get a real Transgender actress to play the same role. I know that a lot has changed over the past fewFelicity Huffman gives a very powerful performance in this movie, although I have to admit that I couldn't help but wonder why they didn't get a real Transgender actress to play the same role. I know that a lot has changed over the past few years and now a day’s Trans people have become big stars and I suppose that many of them could have played this role, not that Huffman isn't convincing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews