IFC Films | Release Date: December 2, 2005
7.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 70 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
57
Mixed:
9
Negative:
4
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
Trev29Jun 11, 2013
Felicity Huffman is absolutely outstanding. Her performance is among the best in the last decade. A very touching movie that is a perfect blend of comedy and drama. Everything from the opening scene to Dolly Parton's song at the end is justFelicity Huffman is absolutely outstanding. Her performance is among the best in the last decade. A very touching movie that is a perfect blend of comedy and drama. Everything from the opening scene to Dolly Parton's song at the end is just fantastic. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
SeanS.Jan 10, 2006
Brilliant performance! I went to a screening of this movie in November and did not know it was Felicity Huffman until the credits. Honestly, I thought it was Robert Downey Jr.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JarodTJan 6, 2006
Top notch performance by Felicity Huffman... she deserves an oscar!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RadioLadyDec 12, 2005
This movie is wonderful! I just hope enough people get to see Felicity Huffman and a variety of other excellent characters -- it's riotously funny in parts, but had me weeping during some moments, too. If you have a family with any kind This movie is wonderful! I just hope enough people get to see Felicity Huffman and a variety of other excellent characters -- it's riotously funny in parts, but had me weeping during some moments, too. If you have a family with any kind of dysfunction (and who doesn't?), this movie should resonate with you! Search for it at your local art theater -- doubt if it will make it to the megaplex, unless Felicity Huffman gets the Oscar for Best Actress! Rate it an "A" on my Entertainment Report Card. Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
UnagiboyDec 5, 2005
Felicity Huffman's performance is absolutely brilliant in this film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
BillyS.Jan 29, 2006
Miramax may not be a player in this years Oscar race, but Harvey Weinstein sure will be! With his new Weinstein Company, old Harvey will be front and center working his usual campaign magic. In Transamerica, Felicity Huffman is nothing short Miramax may not be a player in this years Oscar race, but Harvey Weinstein sure will be! With his new Weinstein Company, old Harvey will be front and center working his usual campaign magic. In Transamerica, Felicity Huffman is nothing short of Brilliant in a role thats funny, endearing and completely honest. She elevates this "little" movie to the best road picture since Easy Rider and it's the first performance i've seen that can take the Oscar right out from Reese Witherspoons hands and remind the Academy that Harvey Weinstein is gone from Miramax-but he's still the master! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
KeithFeb 7, 2006
The movie works largely because of Huffman. Without her sensitive and intelligent performance, the movie's flaws would overwhelm. But her restraint is wonderful as is her comic timing. For a movie with so much to say and with such The movie works largely because of Huffman. Without her sensitive and intelligent performance, the movie's flaws would overwhelm. But her restraint is wonderful as is her comic timing. For a movie with so much to say and with such eccentric characters, it movies along rather ploddingly. But the key to the movie's success, again, is that Huffman doesn't portray Bree as eccentric. In fact, she is probably the least eccentric in the movie. And there are genuinely touching moments. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MegB.Jun 3, 2006
Very enjoyable, heartwarming story and high quality acting from most of the cast. I really liked the story and the originality of the script. About what I expected from reading reviews.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LindaA.Jun 8, 2006
The acting is excellent in this movie. Felicity Hoffman is amazing -- I found myself totally believing that she was a man becoming a woman, even though I watch Desperate Housewives and know who she is. Very good film -- makes you think.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RedlightJun 5, 2007
Just great. its refreshing to see such a serious issue dealt with in a comic way.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
!GBYDec 2, 2005
It shuld be more american movies like this. Un-condescending, smart and not self indulgent. Mr Tucker chooses to show a very wit drama that can be wisely funny instead of lecturing us. His directon is consistent and tight and Mrs Huffman It shuld be more american movies like this. Un-condescending, smart and not self indulgent. Mr Tucker chooses to show a very wit drama that can be wisely funny instead of lecturing us. His directon is consistent and tight and Mrs Huffman performance is remarkable. Excellent debut! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
NowellM-MDec 5, 2005
Felicity Huffman gives a phenominal performance.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
michaelb.Dec 7, 2005
Huffman gives an incredible performance blending pathos, intelligence and wit perfectly. The script is quite good and the soundtrack is a real plus.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MarkFeb 24, 2006
It is the subtleness of this movie that makes me give it such a high mark. A movie where this implausable characters seem not only real, but vulnerable and worth caring about.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PetroM.Feb 5, 2006
Whilst a bit slow at times, this movie is deeply touching, giving us a great insight into the subject that is rarely spoken about in this country. It definitely changed my view and attitude towards people Bree(Huffman's character). Whilst a bit slow at times, this movie is deeply touching, giving us a great insight into the subject that is rarely spoken about in this country. It definitely changed my view and attitude towards people Bree(Huffman's character). Felicity gives an amazing performance, Kevin Zegers doesnt fall behind either. Highly reccomend, just be open minded. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
mewowMay 28, 2006
best damn hilarious movie ever! its a shame for those who aren't opened minded...they're just ppl who hate and will rot in hell.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JimG.Jun 25, 2006
Well told story with interesting characters. Hard to suspend belief enough to imagine Felicity as a man, but definitely enjoyed her performance. [spoiler] One disappointment in the screenplay is the predictable mother figure. While Fionnula Well told story with interesting characters. Hard to suspend belief enough to imagine Felicity as a man, but definitely enjoyed her performance. [spoiler] One disappointment in the screenplay is the predictable mother figure. While Fionnula Flanagan is an incredible actress, it's a shame she didn't have a better script to work with. Maybe it is a case of stereotypes existing because they're shaded with truth, but I wonder how much more compelling this film would have been if the mother figure landed somewhere else on the bell curve.j Wonderful soundtrack of acoustic and americana music. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
VickiW.Aug 15, 2006
One of the best films I've ever. Huffman had me convinced she was a man playing a woman - an oscar caliber performance. I loved everything about the film. It was tender, funny, sad, warm and wonderful. I feel superb acting is rare - One of the best films I've ever. Huffman had me convinced she was a man playing a woman - an oscar caliber performance. I loved everything about the film. It was tender, funny, sad, warm and wonderful. I feel superb acting is rare - Huffman proved there are still actresses/actors that are willing to take the risk and throw themselves into a character 150%. Cudos to Huffman and the filmmakers. Not to forget the other actors, they are all great. I don't know who Kevin is, but I'd love to see him in a lot more films. He's wonderful. This film is a rare gem that should not be missed. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
PatG.Jan 23, 2006
I went expecting to see a great performance in a ho-hum movie, and turned out to be impressed by the whole thing. Huffman does give a great performance, but the movie is much more than ho-hum. Good script, rich characters and dialogue. It is I went expecting to see a great performance in a ho-hum movie, and turned out to be impressed by the whole thing. Huffman does give a great performance, but the movie is much more than ho-hum. Good script, rich characters and dialogue. It is a first-rate film and I highly recommend it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BJN.Feb 12, 2006
Felicity gives a fantastic performance and her scene int he hospital is heartwrenchingly heartfelt and pure. The actress playing her mother is magnificently manipulative and comically dysfunctional. Graham green is charming but Feleicity is Felicity gives a fantastic performance and her scene int he hospital is heartwrenchingly heartfelt and pure. The actress playing her mother is magnificently manipulative and comically dysfunctional. Graham green is charming but Feleicity is the soul here turning an uncomfortable and misunderstood topic into and interesting character study. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
GlendaSDec 11, 2005
Felicity Huffman oscar caliber performance helps this movie transcend the limits of the road trip genre cliche.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
beingryanjudeSep 1, 2014
Transamerica is a tale of acceptance and bonding on an unlikely road trip. Felicity Huffman is convincing and extraordinary as a transgendered person--honestly, one of the best performances in years.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
WJSAug 21, 2015
Felicity Huffman gives a very powerful performance in this movie, although I have to admit that I couldn't help but wonder why they didn't get a real Transgender actress to play the same role. I know that a lot has changed over the past fewFelicity Huffman gives a very powerful performance in this movie, although I have to admit that I couldn't help but wonder why they didn't get a real Transgender actress to play the same role. I know that a lot has changed over the past few years and now a day’s Trans people have become big stars and I suppose that many of them could have played this role, not that Huffman isn't convincing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews