User Score
4.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 546 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 27, 2014
    2
    Even going to this movie with low expectation set and telling yourself "It's another Michael Bay's film, don't keep high hopes" wouldn't prepare you for a total train wreck. Mark Walhberg's protagonist, polished actions sequences, shiny new Autobots and badass villian Lockdown, won't be able to help cover the film's clunky plot, excessive characters and secondary villains, unlikable female lead and her useless boyfriend. Everything about this movie is either about the director's addiction with explosion and destruction or about nothing at all except its existence being another means to make more money for another sequel which we don't need. Either come up with a reboot or pass the license to another director like Guilermo del Toro. Stop making films this way, Mr. Bay. Expand
  2. Jun 27, 2014
    3
    Slightly better than the second, which frankly sucked, and not as good as the third, which was mildly entertaining. Even with his best heroic effort, Mark Wahlberg could not save this film. He barely managed to be mildly convincing in his earnestness to save his daughter from all the evil humans and machines. Admittedly, this in itself could be considered quite a feat given the incredulous stupidity of what constituted a plot. Family discovers Autobot. Everyone wants to kill Autobot and family. They fail. Autobots save family. Family saves Autobots. Rinse and repeat.

    What the first film had, and the third one at times achieved, were Autobots with whom the audience could at least identify. This movie utterly lacked any semblance of the rapport that Shea LaBeouf had established with Bumblebee in the previous films. Here Bumblebee was little more than a caricature. Optimus was dogmatic and stifled. All the machines, the Autobots most especially, were for the lack of a better word, soulless. The movie would have been improved by removing all human/machine interactions. When a Transformers movie would be better without any Transformers in it, then that in itself is sad statement.
    Expand
  3. Jun 27, 2014
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Let's put cards on the table, alright? The first Transformers was okay. The second Transformers was, undeniably, a great piece of sh*t. The third Transformers was slightly better than it's predecessor, but it was still a piece of trash. Now, it comes the next installment directed by Michael Bay just to destroy the franchise once and for all (but still the film will, unbelievably, make 1 billion dollars).

    The film show us Cade Yeager trying to get money in order to put his daughter Tessa into college. Oh yes there's no Megan Fox, let's just put the chick from the "Last Airbender" into this excrement. And in case if you're wondering, YES, this movie has annoying characters just like the other three movies. Meet Lucas: The most annoying character in the whole film (Thank god he's dead), the guy was so stupid, so stupid that in the beginning of the movie he couldn't catch a ball right in front of his eyes.

    Later, Cade brings an old truck which is by the way, OPTIMUS PRIME!!!! What a happy coincidence!!! I was saying that he brings an old truck to remove and sell the parts (for the reason I already mentioned) and bla bla bla bla, why we need that character development anyway? Meanwhile, the humans try to hunt down the Autobots (even thought that Autobots save the Earth like, 3 times) for a very, very poorly conceived reason that my brain is still processing such an undeveloped plot element.

    When they find that Mr. Yeager hid Optimus in his barn, they go to his little house and the movie introduce us: Titus Welliver, yeah the guy with the sunglasses! Titus send his men to search the whole place in order to find Optimus and then Cade says "Oh wait! You can't search my farm without an warrant!", Titus replies "My face is the warrant!"

    *Stares in silence*

    *Sighs*

    Okay... I think I'm okay.  Moving on, Titus threats Cade's daughter and in the last second, Optimus shows up and says "HERE I AM!" Seriously? He couldn't just ripped off "Dexter" and say "Surprise motherf*cker!!!"?

    Cade and his daughter are saved by Tessa's boyfriend, oh yeah wait until you read this. Cade, Tessa, Lucas and Shane are running from the police and in the middle of the chase, Cade finds out that his daughter is dating with Shane and instead of just focusing in WHAT'S IMPORTANT, he starts arguing with Tessa!!! Yes, of course! When I'm being chase by dozen of police cars and police choppers, I'll just ask why my girlfriend didn't ate her cornflakes in the morning.

    There's a scene where Cade is fighting with Titus in a building and instead of picking up a knife to stab him in the neck or in the heart, he decides to use an american football. Really? I mean, really???!!!! Meanwhile, in the final battle (because I forgot the confused and meaningless plot, it doesn't matter anyway) Joshua becomes, inexplicably, a comedian. And, can you believe people actually laughed at Michael Bay's stupid comedy?

    After the end of the battle, Tessa realizes that they don't have a place to stay and Joshua says "I think I might help you with that". What a stupid miracle! Michael Bay didn't even tried to make a decent ending! For almost 3 f*cking hours, the filmmakers were kidding with my face. The narrative is overstuffed with crazy action sequences (that never end) and nonsensical plot elements, there is no plot, the cast knew the movie was **** but they didn't tried, the dialogues are so f*cking stupid, the run-time is too damn long, there's too much product placement, the character development is completely unnecessary and THE PEOPLE INVOLVED IN THIS SUBSTANDARD AND RETARDED MOVIE DIDN'T GIVE A F*CK ABOUT THE ESSENCE OF A GOOD ACTION MOVIE!

    This movie removes my taste for good movies. I wouldn't recommend it neither to my worst enemy.
    Expand
  4. Jun 27, 2014
    2
    I went into this movie wanting to like it. I thoroughly enjoyed the first Transformers, I thought Revenge of the Fallen was awful, and Dark of the Moon was decent. I figured Michael Bay would improve in Age of Extinction after learning from the mistakes from the previous movies. I was wrong. The story makes absolutely no sense, the editing is extremely sloppy, and Bay has this strange fascination with making Optimus Prime a bloodthirsty killer. When it comes to the action and effects, Age is a step down from its predecessors, pure and simple. Bay also had a very good chance to introduce a new villain who had potential to be so incredibly badass throughout the new series of films, but that hope is quickly washed away. I can honestly say, this is one of the worst movies I've ever watched. Expand
  5. Jun 28, 2014
    1
    CRAP that is all..... if you love the past 3 transformer movies well you'll probably love this crapfest and clap at the end, and think its a good movie! however everyone else can see that Michael bay has remade the same movie 4 FREAKING TIMES!!!! the same movie! again, crap acting (except wahlberg), crap dialogue, crap writing, crappy everything!!!!! gahhhhhhhhhhhhhh and whats worst is that this movie will surely make a billion dollars again because people are stupid and love to watch crap! you people go watch your crap, i will rewatch X-Men Days Of Future Past again for the 4th time a brilliant film! Expand
  6. Jun 30, 2014
    2
    why does this movie exist? why does michael bay keep getting work? anyone who would give this... thing a score past a 6 for what ever reason are even mouthbreathers or sellouts. the movie is the worst story ever writen with the sole purpose of shoving in as much nostalgic crap as they can. The acting is really bad but i will give it a pass because i assume they know this movie is not worth giving a crap, except for the love interest who is just the worst actress since Jim Barneys coffin. Expand
  7. Jun 27, 2014
    0
    This film is terrible. Much worse than the first and third, and even worse than the second. The action was solid, as I expected, but everything else was soooooooooo freaking bad that I have to give this film a zero. The plot sounded good on paper, but was executed so badly by Bay & co. The acting by almost everyone was so bad, even Kelsey Grammer and Stanley Tucci couldn't save this film. Along with soulless product placements (i.e. Bud Light & Red Bull), there were so many errors on the film set and the film disregards everything (and I mean EVERYTHING, plot and all) from the first three films. I thought the humor would be better in this film with TJ Miller in it, but the same poor humor reigned on from the previous films. However, the biggest problem in my opinion was the length. 2 ½+ **** hours was waaaay too long for a film like this. It's painful to sit there for that long, and if it were shorter, I would give the film more remorse. Lastly, there was such little explanation when it came to the Dinobots', who had a very limited role, and Lockdown's existence. Outside of the generally solid action sequences and good CGI, Transformers: Age of Extinction was a terrible film that I will (and hope i will) never see again. As good as the 1st and 3rd films were in this action-packed series, this series will probably go on the decline after this atrocity. Don't see this, even if you liked the first three films, like me. Expand
  8. Jun 27, 2014
    0
    Honestly I can't find a worse way to WASTE 2.5 hours of my life and $12 than watching this. If you love lots of explosion, robots, mindless characters, bad dialog, bad directing, bad humor, too much action scenes and idiotic editing, then this is for you.

    You are better off watching Mythbusters. It has better explosions, smarter robots, better characters, better dialog, better humor,
    better editing and best of all, it is free. Expand
  9. Jul 2, 2014
    2
    Transformers age of endorsement! This pile of rubbish has more product placements than regular television. The characters were exciting a wallpaper paste and the visuals were pornographic. This is 165 minutes of Michael bay madness. If you wish to see this, don't think too hard about the plot or you will hurt yourself and make sure you are comfortable.
  10. Jun 27, 2014
    0
    Waste of money and time. Watched this a day before the Americans did but I had to wait for a day to post my review here. As usual pathetic one-liners, same actions with different humans and father-daughter-boyfriend relationship reminded me of Armageddon. This thing felt like Michael Bay was playing a PS3 or X Box version of Transformers.
  11. Jun 28, 2014
    0
    One of the worst movies I have ever seen. Bay took a cliche gun and blasted everything in sight. Bad dialogue, wooden acting, terrible science, awful story.
  12. Jun 28, 2014
    3
    I had unrealistically high hopes for this film for no reason whatsoever. What you should know is that if you're looking for action and fun scenes, there's a lot of that here. So much in fact that it'll bore you 'til the third act. The new cast is better than the old, with Mark Wahlberg in the real role, but still none of the characters are relatable, and the effects at times seem a bit unfinished. All you need to know is that it is still a Michael Bay film of 165 minutes of brain cancer on screen.
    With some redeeming moments, it's still not enough to call this film a "good" one, even though the cast has improved immensely.
    Expand
  13. Jun 29, 2014
    3
    Urrrgghhhhh.... plausible storyline? nah. good dialogue? nope. good action scenes? negative. crappy jokes? check. heart felt conversations at the stupidest possible times? yessir.
  14. Jun 27, 2014
    2
    The director, screenplay writers and producers took everything that was tedious, incoherent and ineffective from every previous installment of this franchise and turned the dial to 11. Long ago I thought that Shia LeBouf was annoying naturally, by the high order of his genes, now I stand forcefully corrected when an actor that I actually like, Mark Whalberg, was transformed into the only main character model that Michael Bay obviously understands or knows: Shia LeBouf. The same can be said of any female protagonist. Now instead of Megan Fox, there is a blond actress that has been turned into Megan Fox by a similar conjuration of template swapping, with the added annoyance that she is not even capable of the already meager autosufficiency her previous incarnation showed in her turn as "the film's girl". This time, she is twice-damsel-in-distress by having to be rescued out of her screenplay stupor by TWO main male protagonists: father and boyfriend (both miraculosly looking the same age).
    Disjointed and incongruent even for a movie based on toys and boring and long beyond any wet dreams Michael Bay has ever had about pushing his style to the limits and making the ultimate boring and long film.
    Do not reward these people with your money, and what is more important, do not ENCOURAGE them with your presence at some theatre, to keep on making these abominations they call cinema.
    Expand
  15. Jun 28, 2014
    1
    The same movie for a **** fourth time. Michael Bay **** you............................................................................................
  16. Jun 27, 2014
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. this movie is an absolute flop. The visual is eye-catching but rather fake, not as stunning as its prequels. It lacks of character development and contribution to the plot, as the protagonist' daughter is an useless character who drag the team onto outrageous situations. I just don't have any idea why she and her boyfriend are involved in the movie. This film also uses an stereotype which have already been used in all prequels: the lengthy and glorious battlecry of optimus and a tough boss. Is that all you got Michael Bay?? One more thing, i don't see the scene showing the Chinese governments and generals has anything to do with the story. Plenty of plot twist... So dissapointing Expand
  17. Jun 28, 2014
    0
    Surprise surprise, Micheal Bay Transformers movie is complete garbage. You have to be extraordinarily thick to see anything positive in this cacophony of digital noise. It's like a challenge to see just how bad a film can be before you say "hang on, is this for real?" The definition of mindless entertainment....that's not particularly entertaining. I'd sooner watch paint dry, literally.
  18. Jun 30, 2014
    0
    Thank you, Michael Bay, for killing Transformers for future generations. This movie is similar to the previous Transformers like a formula. Pointless characters, no plot, plenty of explosions, its all there. The movie is extremely long at 2.5 hours and it dragged halfway through. Going into the movie, I knew I would be disappointed and am upset I spend money on this piece of crap. Avoid and save your money for something better. Expand
  19. Jun 28, 2014
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. let me start by saying that up until this film i loved everything about transformers. even for me the second movie was ok. (not the best but ok}. the first and the third movie being the stand outs for any robot loving action orientated film goer!
    this newest installment is an insult to anyone who is a fan of the previous 3 films, an insult and a bloated self indulgent piece of trash.
    the rules that were established in the series are repeatedly broken. things like humans making there own transformers, the autobots and the decepticons now having a maker. yes you heard me correctly, they have there own god. i could go on and on but will just make myself as angry as i was when i was watching the film.
    save your money and for the director, please give up on transformers........ for all our sakes
    Expand
  20. Jun 30, 2014
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Following much of the formula of the previous Transformers movies, but without the relative novelty of the first two, this one is subpar at best. The script is practically garbage. The characters are poorly developed, shallow, and much of the acting is terrible. Mark Wahlberg is a good actor and does the best job of the lot, but I think he was miscast for this role.

    The movie is outrageously long and drawn out - almost 3 hours of basically CRAP that not even the pretty visuals and fight scenes could save.

    While the special effects, explosions, and overall action scenes are spectacular as usual, some of the camera work is basically wobbling and out of focus as robots zoom by shooting at each other so that you don't really appreciate those parts of the fighting. The plot is shakier than ever, and as usual a major villain is still alive and manages to escape once again.

    The humor is too forced at times, and many of the lines are eye-roll and head-shake worthy. The sexy girl is for the most part lost, helpless, and put in more for the looks than anything else. There are the usual prodigious camera close-ups and various angles showing off her sexy body. The characters are once again rather shallow and dumb, particularly the girl and especially her boyfriend, who seems to have been more of an afterthought in the script.

    I don't even want to go on anymore with this review. Suffice it to say, I hope this is Michael Bay's last foray into the Transformers universe, for the sake of everyone genuinely interested in the Transformers.
    Expand
  21. Jun 27, 2014
    0
    This movie is spectacularly bad.. and that's coming from someone who loved the first two and thought the third was alright. The plot was nonexistent, it was way too long, and the acting was laughably atrocious other than maybe Stanley Tucci's performance.
  22. Jun 28, 2014
    1
    Just do yourself a favor and NEVER watch this movie! Hell don't even watch a **** movie made by Michael Bay! HE CLEARLY DID NOT WATCH ANY TRANSFORMERS CARTOONS! ALL I CAN IS **** THIS MOVIE! ITS THE WORST ONE I"VE EVER SEEN!
  23. Jul 1, 2014
    0
    Do not under any circumstances watch this movie. this is beyond simply not worth the money, i would PAY money to not watch this movie, i felt like i am being tortured. if you cant make up a story and all you can do is put as much as explosions as possible on the screen, then dont make your movie 3 hours long.
  24. Jun 28, 2014
    3
    So, yeah it sucks. lol. Yet another reason why Michael Bay should never be part of a transformers movie. Couple him together with a terrible script and voila, you got yourself an f'd up transformers movie. It really pains me to realize that Michael Bay has made a lot of money from the series, whereas he didn't deserve it at all... Should be a zero but gave it a three because of some badassery from the autobots. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY TO SEE THIS ONE AT A THEATER!!!...wait for the dvd release or google it for a free one ;D Expand
  25. Jul 2, 2014
    1
    And it goes like BOOM BOOM BOOM HERES YOUR HOT CHICK WALKING IN A BILLION DOLLAR SCENE ROBOTS HERE DIES ROBOT THERES KILL GRIMLOCK ON F**K THOSE DECEPTICONS BOOM BOOM BBOOOOOOM MICHAEL BAAAAAAAYYYYYYY AND IN THE END PEOPLE KISS AND EPIC MUSIC AND EPIC SPEECH BY OPTIMUS PRIME 10/10 TRANSBOREMORES AGE OF EXTINCTION OH GOD I WISH MICHAEL BAY IS THE ONE WHO EXTINCT.
  26. Jun 29, 2014
    1
    Same of same, even more boring with the story line, Its more like 3hrs of noise, noise and more noise, the movie focused mainly on 3 people the whole time, imagine such size of Chaos and no military or government intervention. It doesnt make sense that some bunch of robots come out of nowhere fighting each other and all people do is just run, no plans to intervene of at least querry the situation. Really senseless. Expand
  27. Jun 30, 2014
    1
    I actually liked the first Transformers,the 2nd is horrible and the 3rd was slightly better but still wasn't that good.I actually thought this movie was going to be good of how the plot sounded,with Mark Whalberg and the dinobots.I did see it get critically panned but I want to judge it for myself and I would have to say that I agree with the critics.This is probably one of the worst movies I've ever saw.This is probably on par with Revenge of the Fallen.This is basically a rehash from the previous films with a new cast.The action scenes aren't interesting.Its just nothing but explosions that are never ending and offers nothing new.The plot is poorly executed cause all you see is explosions than what's going on with the plot.It is also not very convincing.It is also twisted at one point where you feel like that shouldn't happen right now and later.The camera work is awful and hurts your brain after seeing it.The autobots have no soul including Optimus Prime and the movie seems lifeless.The dialogue is bad.I also didn't like how the dinobots are shown towards the end of the movie.Also the length is ridiculous with it being almost 3 hours.The only good things I can say about this movie is that the transformers look better,the plot was decent, and the performance by Whalberg and Tucci.But that can't make up of how many flaws this movie has.This movie hurts your mind and I really suggest you don't see it.Save your money.This is one of the most unpleasant experiences I had at the movies. Expand
  28. Jul 1, 2014
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Transformers as a film series has a reputation for visual excess & narrative deficit. This movie takes this reputation, supercharges it, and rockets the results at the audience and break-neck speed and expects to satisfy - and to a large proportion of the film going public, seems to achieve its goal. At this very moment, as I write this review, Transformers 4 has 101 positive reviews on Metacritic.com. These reviews are littered with repeated phrases like "no Sam Witwicky", "*insert robot name here* was badass" & "omg the action was awesome". And you can't really argue with these sentiments. The visuals have always been impressive in the Transformers movies, and while I personally never felt one way or another about the character of Sam Witwicky, it appears to be consensus that he was highly disliked. What lacks in the Transformers movies is, among many, many things, is a coherent story and fleshed out characters.

    The story - if you can even call it that - leaps from action set piece to action set piece with no regard for common sense, mood or character motivation. The story plods along at snails pace (for an insane 165mins) transmitting relevant information to the movie-goer almost solely through exposition and overlong establishing shots. Further, I was never sure about why anybody was doing anything. Nothing is explained in any detail - we as the audience are just expected to accept that humans in black clothes = bad guy, humans in pastels = good guys. The same thing corresponds to the Transformers themselves.

    The characters in this latest Transformers movie are among the weakest and most poorly written of any I have seen at the movies in the longest time. While Mark Wahlberg attempts valiantly to inject some energy in to this train wreck of a film, he is weighed down with a daughter/boyfriend subplot (communicated wholly by only the snappiest Michael Bay dialogue) and the convoluted (and pointless) good-guy motivations of the hero. The daughter and boyfriend were dead weight, contributing nothing whatsoever to the film. Bay, nonplussed with his failure to contribute anything meaningful character-wise decides to go full-retard instead adding a frustratingly unfunny "slacker-employee" character into the 1st act, who vomits rapid-fire sarcasm into the air during the initial action scenes. His death at the end of act 1 was highly satisfying, and in line with the terrible storytelling, largely ignored by the other characters. The characters in Transformers are an unequivocal failure on all levels. Of particular disappointment to me was Stanley Tucci and Kelsey Grammar, who like Wahlberg, are clearly here just for the paycheck.

    And since I've used the terms rapid-fire and failure already, lets talk product placement. This is a particular peeve of mine as a movie-goer which partly explains the rage I felt as I left my local cinema. Michael Bay, while never shy about plugging products in his film, takes it to a whole new level. Its as if he is standing in front of the audience with a shotgun, which he uses to simultaneously blast you in the face with hip and happening products (Beats headphones - **** you) while insulting your intelligence by thinking you won't notice it happening. Unforgivable and further evidence that Transformers is first and foremost advertising. Who needs to consider the art of film-making when you can sell stuff, right?

    These monumental failures reduce my interest in the film. No amount of explosions and car-driving montages can supplement for these deficits.

    Once upon a time, I had hopes that the great cartoon from my childhood would make for a great adventure movie. 4 movies later, my hopes have been well and truly dashed. I will not be returning to the cinema to see any more Transformer movies. I implore you all the do the same thing.
    Expand
  29. Jul 4, 2014
    3
    Poor story, poor acting, absolutely amazing action. One thing Michael Bay does know is how to put together an action scene which is a shame the same can't be said about his story telling.
    I'm a fan of the first 3 regardless of how bad they were which is why it pains me to say that this is the worst of the series. The things I was worried about like the dinobots turned out alright and the
    things I thought was going to be fine we're awful I.e mark whalberg and co.
    The typical Bayisms are still there, sexualisation of the women, the lower than low toilet humor which hits rock bottom in this entry. Two of best things in the movie was finally seeing Prime in generation 1 form and Stanley tucci. A new director and screen writer are needed for the next film.
    Expand
  30. Jun 30, 2014
    1
    You have to have low expectations and your brain in neutral to watch a Transformers movie, but even so this movie is BAD. The transformers don't really look anything like the cartoon series characters they are based on, they're all pretty similar and the film just ends up like two junkjards fighting eachother for nearly 3 hours. A film needs to be Epic or have a compelling story to entertain for that amount of time, and this has neither. Its dull, mind-numbing, rubbish. Expand
  31. Jun 28, 2014
    3
    This was pretty bad. It's been a while since I really felt like walking out on a movie and this one's 2.75 hour run time didn't help at all. The acting was atrocious. It felt like Michael Bay probably didn't even direct this. I get the feeling he just told the actors where to go each day while he went off and did something else. Even the action scenes were boring and rehashes of what we've seen before.

    To top it all off, for the first 3/4 of the movie Optimus acts like a jackass and the autobots he ends up with are a ragtag band of misfits that you want to see die just as badly as the bad guys. Ugh what a waste of everything.
    Expand
  32. Jul 1, 2014
    0
    If I had those 165 minutes back, I could so much more creative things with my life. Much better than this movie - like for example smashing my head against the wall...

    Movie lacks continuity, good story, people you cheer, it is full of explosions and nonsense
  33. Jun 28, 2014
    3
    It was so terribly paced. The entire middle was a waste of time. Acting asides from Marky Mark and Stanley Tucci was atrocious. The new kids were absolutely terrible. It was a completely bloated **** of a film.
  34. Jul 1, 2014
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I can't believe that this **** pile of a **** movie was able to hit the screen. I also can't believe that a transformers movie could come along and be worse than the second one. You know when a movie is bad when my friends (who liked the second one) thought this movie was terrible. The flaws were so noticeable, that Helen Keller could point them out to you. The first hour of the movie was literally **** useless. It set up **** that I could give two ****s about. Imagine setting up characters that get maybe thirty minutes of screen time in the movie. We then get to the middle of the movie it just **** drags on for about another forty five minutes to an hour. Pointless **** after pointless **** We finally get to the dining where they then start to rush things. We get two hours of straight of bull**** and 37 minutes of rushed action scenes that were alright.

    These movies are known for its great special effects, but it seems like they took the cheap route and decided to make graphics that would be terrible for a 2005 movie. Some of the graphics looked straight up cheap and were actually glitch most of the time. The first transformers had better graphics than these. So basically imagine taking the second Transformers movie and making the graphics ****tier, the characters more unforgettable, having two hours of **** around, with terrible acting. Well the second transformers didn't have the most stellar acting, but dear god was it better than this movie.

    Speaking of acting and characters. I could literally give tow **** ****s about anyone in this movie besides Optimus Prime. Mark tired to save his character with some pretty descent acting, but dear god was his character a **** He was getting run over by his daughters boyfriend the whole time. Saying **** about his daughter and without blinking an eye. . It was as if Michael Bay wanted one of the worst families of all time. At least Michael was smart enough to kill that brain dead **** in the beginning. Save us from 2 and a half hours of ****ty jokes. Though the worst acting in the movie goes to the daughter. See looked familiar and I had trouble pin pointing. If you don't know, she's that annoying girl from the last airbender. That's all you need to know about her acting ability

    The storyline wasn't even cornerstone half the time. They had like five different story lines going at one time, with flaws that were so damn obvious. Michael bay keeps trying to bring back Megatron and it's flipping annoying. He's now brought back as Galvatron, a man made transformer that was built Stanley's company. He basically has the same memories, but a different boy. Boy was he dumb looking as well. We move onto this random bounty hunter that wants Prime because the creators of these Transformers want him. Probably the worst looking transformer, with the ****iest back sorry, and pretty much disappears randomly throughout the movie. While that going on, we Stanley's character working with Kelsey Grammar's character to true and get the seed to get more metal. This metal is what the transformers are made out of and they're a able to make man made transformers out of it. Some how this **** can float and break apart whenever it feels like it, but not when it's convenient for survival. It's as if monkeys made the story for this movie.

    The only thing I liked about this movie was the Dinobots, they were pretty **** cool and were the highlight of the movie. Though they decided to only have them in the last thirty minutes. I would have to say Mark also was good. Did his best to not make his character totally **** unmemorable.

    I need to stop or I will just go on and on about this **** terrible movie. Basically, **** Bay and I will never pay for another Transformers movie. 1/10
    Expand
  35. Jul 2, 2014
    1
    Once again, Michael Bay creates a movie not worthy of the Transformers name. He focuses too much on the human aspect instead of the Robot personalities. Where were all of the Decepticons?? Megatron did not become Galvatron from humans. He has destroyed the Transformers image with his bad actors and horrible plots which make absolutely no sense. Don't see this in the movie, it will just encourage him to make another one. Expand
  36. Jul 2, 2014
    2
    Transformers: Age of Extinction tem diálogo terrível, representações deploráveis ​​de mulheres, seqüências de explosões e muito pouco de humor. Em outras palavras, é um filme de Michael Bay.
  37. Jun 29, 2014
    4
    Good writing/dialogue, good action, proper casting, appropriate length, memorable - Transformers: Age of Extinction could not be described with any of those adjectives. Instead, the fourth installment of the series shows that you need more than a pretty face to be considered enjoyable. If you thought the second movie was weak, then prepare yourself for a new low. I had loved the first film and found the third to be decent. With Age of Extinction, everything is just flat. The plot is extremely fragmented, almost as if the writers all suffered from a bit of schizophrenia and Alzheimer's disease at the same time due to plot points immediately melting and new storylines forming out of thin air. The action, which usually saves the films from total meltdown, isn't even that impressive anymore. Michael Bay has a flare for great visuals, often making average scenery look dreamy and lush, but that's about all that really goes well for the movie. Clocking in at around 2 hours and 40 minutes, this film was way too long. If you don't HAVE to see it, wait for DVD/Blu-Ray and you might feel better. Expand
  38. Jul 6, 2014
    0
    Micheal Bay, you have done it again. Transformers Age Of Extinction is another 2hr Micheal Bay dream. And if you really want to watch a movie with explosions and robots- Real Steel or Pacific Rim are good choices. Mark Walhberg plays a mechanic who finds a transformer and then all hell breaks loose. You know, I was kinda hyped for this movie. I was hoping for a good action movie, but no it was like Revenge Of The Fallen got a remake with Mark Walhberg. Story is poor, nothing is sad and the characters are bad too, you don't care about any of them. The visual effects gave me a seizure. The acting was damn bad. Micheal Bay, is Pain. And Gain the only good movie that you have made? Ignore this at all costs Expand
  39. Jul 12, 2014
    0
    Perfect title for a long-dead franchise. Watch reruns of the 80's classic and that's all she wrote...........I suppose for fans of this horrible series, you get more of it so you win. Sad how humanity can dwell to such acceptable lows.
  40. Jul 11, 2014
    3
    In the beginning I thought that was a just another action movie with a median story, but I realized that it was worse, the plot is horrible and there are a lot of holes that did not make sense, the film is too long and there is too many secondary characters that make everything more confuse. The action scenes are amazing and there are great special effects, but that's not enough.
  41. Jul 8, 2014
    0
    It could have been a great movie, bit it FAILS ON EVERY LEVEL. Human characters are boring and cliché, plot doesnt make sense, even hardcore fans will admit is confussing, action sequences dont bring anything new. please dont waste your money
  42. Jun 30, 2014
    4
    this movie action are good but the storyline are **** Michael bay always have an awful storyline movie.The worst franchise movie i ever watched TRANSFORMER
  43. Jul 10, 2014
    0
    Hate to see that China is involving so much in the movie.
    I am personally from HK and its really upsetting to hear the line "we need to call the central government for help now"! and "the central government will defend Hong Kong at all costs"!
    can the chinese please dont ruin the movie with the political issues... you want to show the world that hk is under china and china will protect
    hk?! please fuxk off this is totally not the truth

    And i wonder who would open the fridge and get a drink in the middle of a fight. not to mention the scene was shoot in hk but the soya milk is from FUXKING china and not hk.

    overall the plot is poor acting is poor.. the worse part... the movie is a joint production between Paramount Pictures and two fuxking Chinese companies - China Movie Channel and Jiaflix Enterprises
    Expand
  44. Jul 10, 2014
    0
    I went to the cinema expecting to watch a bad movie, and Michael Bay did it, he makes an art of doing bad movies, cool explosions thought. No, no really, even the explosions were bad, as well as the characters and the dialogs. A very bad movie and a mediocre spectacle.(Sorry for my english)
  45. Aug 6, 2014
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie should win a oscar for the worst movie of the year it hardly makes any sense that ratchet got killed by the military and that optimus was killing humans the only good thing about this movie is the last 45 minutes it would've been the best of the series if the story if decepticons and autobots switched like to make ratchet kill the guy who killed him and ksi was making autobots and then the decepticons get jealous and then make a factory then big war blaa blaa blaa the point is the movies rubbish oh yeah and one thing why didn't steven speilberg not direct it?oh yeah and bmaster if your reading this I accidentally pressed disagree when I actually mean I liked it like whoops Expand
  46. Jul 3, 2014
    4
    This 4th installment has a new cast (headed by Mark Wahlberg), but everything else is pretty much the same: the good guys being chased by giant mechanical robots in massive, destructive battles. The first 90 minutes are actually well paced and enjoyable (T.J. Miller adds the comic comments), but then you realize there's another whole movie yet to come. Yes, this is 2:45, which is way too long for the same noisy chases and fights that we've already seen. The effects are convincing, but not particularly original. Michael Bay's hectic pacing and flared cinematography give it that big screen polish, but somebody should have cut it in half. Expand
  47. Jul 31, 2014
    0
    I loved the first film, the 2nd was bad but it was not that terrible compare to that one. Seriously? No scenario, the acting is really bad, why all people try to save that ugly thin girl? The boyfriend is useless, and the whole story make no sense.
  48. Jul 5, 2014
    4
    Featuring an unforgivably inflated running time, stilted characters, and a nearly incomprehensible narrative, Michael Bay's newest contribution to the "Transformers" franchise renders the viewer unimpressed, irritated, and - most importantly - tired.
  49. Jul 24, 2014
    0
    It's unfair that this movie is a box office success. Question: anyone else noticed that the characters keep changing their clothes throughout the movie? Or did I miss something when I was asleep.
  50. Jul 13, 2014
    4
    So disappointed with this movie. The first three were mediocre and I was hoping for a better character connection than Shia La'boeuf gave us. BOY WAS I SO WRONG! Mark Wahlberg's character development was horrid as for his daughter's acting and development is even worse. Her boyfriend doesn't seem to make such stand in this movie, as for we don't get much dialogue from him leaving out the cliche cheesy jokes he makes.

    The movie is way too f****ng long, standing at about 3 hours. The CGI does make up for whatever the hell is going on, as for there are over 3 stories going on at once. Also, I am a HUGE fan of Transformers G1 and I got to say, I don't remember Galvatron being a truck.

    The Dinobots only show up in the last 20 minutes also, and I didn't really understand why Grimlock didn't talk either, as for I remember him talking in G1. And for the last of my review, the Dinobots scene was confusing and painful to watch.

    This movie was a major let down and I feel bad that people spent their money to go watch this in the theaters.

    Michael Bay, 'nuff said.
    Expand
  51. Jul 6, 2014
    1
    Transformers: Age of Extinction is a awful movie ,Bay's now made the same film four times, I fell asleep about a good 15 minutes into the movie ,The only decent movie Bay ever made is The Island. I like that one.
  52. Jul 7, 2014
    1
    NO! NO! NO! NO! NO! NONONONONONONONO. NOT ANOTHER MICHAEL **** BAY MOVIE. I am so sick of Michael Bay now. He is probably the worst director in the world. He needs to STOP. Although, the only scene I liked in the movie was when Rainbow Dash made a cameo. That was pretty cool. But with all to the respect, I suggest don't watch that movie. It sucks.
  53. Jul 17, 2014
    2
    Wow, what a crap of the movie! One of the most boring action movie created by human kind, and its Transformers, wow, Michael Bay just surpassed himself! Three hour of complete waste of everyone's time
  54. Jul 20, 2014
    1
    Thank god for the robots as the actors with a sub-standard script nearly ruin the movie!

    Bay - you dont have to only use lambos, paganis and other supercars - theres plenty of classics out there without (as an earlier reviewer said) choosing your cars like you choose your female actors - that being purely on looks with no substance!

    The movie dragged on too long to shoehorn pointless
    scenes in to what is a chaotic plot which struggles to keep coherence.

    Whilst we all accept a but of "unrealism" - Motorbike stunts which would leave people with broken limbs, flying vehicles crashing which would leave (unbelted/secured) passengers with a broken neck along with wahlbergs repeated whiney "i love my daughter you're all that matters to me" makes getting through the first half of the movie hard work.

    When wahlberg proceeds to use his men-in-black style cricket gun to obliterate enemies that optimus can't seem to dent with his sword I gave up on hoping for the movie to redeem itself.

    Frasier shouldnt have been in the cast - again another character who repeats his mantra, this one being "ive worked 20years for my country, i have no money now i want to get paid" - I would have preferred to have seen him killed off half an hour in.

    Stanley Tuccis unfortunate role as an ironic "poor-mans" tony stark billionaire attempt - his bipolar switch from greedy millionaire to selfless goofy romantic is really sloppy and non-nonsensical.

    I love good action scenes but the last hour left you with action-fatigue as bay rams in as many locations and city obliterating weapons as he can.

    galvatron was the main threat when his 50+ bots start trashing Hong Kong, but then we switch to the bounty hunter for the rest of the movie, galvatron must take a coffee break for half an hour because he doesnt seem to get involved until after the autobots deal with the bounty hunter...

    For the next one bay - stick with 95% transformers as your cast or spend a bit more on the script before this franchise drops off a cliff.
    Expand
  55. Jul 22, 2014
    1
    I joined Metacritic purely so I could rate this latest pile of nonsense from Mr Bay. Even Dark of the Moon had a couple of decent moments during its bum numbing running time but now he has hit a real low. This is by far the worst of his films (I love Armageddon and The Rock). The plot is overblown and the running time far too long. I actually fell asleep at one stage (at about 5.50 pm) Far worst still is the script and I quote Male lead to 17 year old female love interest "Take hold of the stick (gear stick), she's the best at it". Stanley Tucci (shame on you Mr Tucci) has replaced Ken Jeong in the annoying slapstick role. Finally the picture quality looked positively Low Definition compared to the Planet of the Apes 3D. Expand
  56. Jul 29, 2014
    2
    I thought this one couldnt get any worse than the first trilogy. It did. I actually liked the first movie, every of the next was absolutely crap. If you want to have the same effect for less money you can watch a 3 hrs TV-AD of all these famous, expensive brands, where everything explodes. Wahlberg was ok, his daughter gorgeous.
  57. Aug 5, 2014
    0
    It's a Michael Bay Movie,do you need more than that name to immediately turn you off from watching this movie,if not then you are clearly into watching yet another poorly thought-out,poorly scripted,horribly shot movies.On the other hand,people are saying its better because Shia Labouf is no longer in it,but don't be fooled its just as awful as the previous movies,except Mark Walhberg is in it,not that I think they are bad actors, they just needed to reconsider working with Bay. Expand
  58. Jul 29, 2014
    3
    Although not quite as spectacularly abysmal as Dark of the Moon, Age of Extinction really is one of the worst movies I`ve seen this year. It features, as one might have expected, entirely unbelievable characters engaging in entirely unbelievable activities while saying entirely unbelievable things for entirely too long.
    So to camouflage this sad state of affairs the movie has been
    attempted drowned in CGI effects, loud noises, whizbangs, pointless romance, a pointless and entirely unbelievable father-daughter intrigue and about three moments of comic relief. Most of the time you spend staring at the screen in a futile attempt to notice all the unbelievable things going on there.
    What really did this one in for me though was how entirely unrealistic it all was. In scene after scene all the protagonists have near death experiences, yet nobody is so much as lightly injured, with one early exception. One scene in particular just broke new ground for lack of realism, when it had three people balancing down some anchor chains, 80 floors up, then being attacked by robotic dogs while doing it and then having all the chains gradually cut, before they were caught in mid-fall by a transformers robot which then slid down the entire facade of a skyscraper while holding them in its hands. As this ludicrous scene ends they simply walk out of the hand of the transformer unscathed, and immediately go back to being in love for no apparent reason, assuring each other that they admire each other and somehow, magically, becoming proficient warriors, after having spent their lives in a barn inventing beer-fetching robots.
    After this of course nothing can save the movie, and it goes from ridiculous scene to ridiculous dialogue line for what in the end seems like an eternity. With the notable exception of The "Amazing" Spider Man this is the worst movie I have seen this year I think, and I wouldn`t recommend it to my worst enemy. Only watch this if you usually love terrible movies.
    Expand
  59. Aug 13, 2014
    4
    Less annoying than the past 3 films due to Shia Lebeouf being absent and in his place the much more appreciable Mark Walhberg. However the plot is even more dumbed down then the last one, though not as desperately incompetent as the second. This film feels like 4 hours of mindless action sequences and sub plots that are not entertaining but rather corny and stupid. Typical Michael Bay style dialogue, the human subplot of the films remain boring and stupid and you can't help but dislike the movie for its very stupid plot. The film has redeeming qualities but very little, the robot fighting is cool and all the action somewhat makes up for the lack of competent plot scattered throughout this film (Not like you actually went to go watch a Michael Bay film for the quality of the plot). Overall painfully long and disastrous plot that breaks new grounds for just how awful a Transformers movie's plot can get but the action and visuals somewhat save this film for total failure as a movie. Expand
  60. Jul 27, 2014
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. As an Michael Bay action movie, nobody could expect a serious story line, but it would be nice if we had at least some resemblance of a story, and that said story made as much sense as it could in context of fighting robots.
    Instead we have characters with no personality, no history, no context and are there merely to give the Transformers a bad guy to kill.
    The whole concept of the seed makes no sense, and conflicts with the concept of the All Spark from the earlier movies. You don't transformium to make transformers, you just need the all spark.

    So, does the action save this film. No, not really. Nothing outstanding in the action stakes. Completelty forgettable scenes and nothing that stands out.

    All in all, save your money
    Expand
  61. Jul 22, 2014
    1
    This is the worst film I have seen in years. How someone can turn a film with giant robots, dinosaurs, spaceships into the most drawn out boring rubbish is beyond me. pure dross.
  62. Aug 14, 2014
    2
    Not that great. Felt more emotion out of the Autobots rather than the humans. Stanley Tucci was nice surprise, and so was TJ Miller's character (he's an actual comedian).
    In summary, maybe rent if nothing else is better, or you like the series, otherwise you can skip this one.
  63. Jul 12, 2014
    2
    Wow, what a total letdown! I thought this movie could be at least entertaining in that typical Michael Bay fashion. However, even Bay's love for over the top explosions has officially went sour. Not even the brand new cast could have saved any redeeming quality about this crap fest of explosions and sh*tty story telling. Literally the only good thing about the movie was the first 3 minutes or so. After that, it all went down from there. If your a film lover, SAVE YOURSELF from this embarrassment! Overall, it's one of the worst if not the worst in the franchise thus far! I'm still debating between this and the second one! Either way, it gets an F for FAILURE! Expand
  64. Jul 7, 2014
    3
    Much better than the others, but it is still much too little for it to break the prototype. And a sign to change the director. Name Spielberg nothing is impossible here.
  65. Jul 7, 2014
    2
    Iacting, or a combination of both. Every scene with humans in it was bad. From the annoying hippie surfer guy, to Wahlberg's useless and Iacting, or a combination of both. Every scene with humans in it was bad. From the annoying hippie surfer guy, to Wahlberg's useless and pointless daughter (steel cables scene) and her boyfriend, to the Steve Jobs imitator and his " transformium," it was bad.
    The plot had more holes than swiss cheese. While I don't expect the best from these movies, I do expect they asstay consistent within their already established fictional world and the rules therein. This movie did not. It was as if powers and characters were created out of lazy writing rather than to add to the narrative. One character instantly revitalized himself and later gained the ability to fly when there was no ability ever before. Would of been useful earlier in the movie. Guess he forgot he could do that.
    Three hours was too long. Yet, almost felt too short since that time was mismanaged. There will be expected character appearances with zero explanations.

    I am writing this to save people some money. Just rent this later.
    pointless daughter (steel cables scene) and her boyfriend, to the Steve Jobs imitator and his " transformium," it was bad.
    The plot had more holes than swiss cheese. While I don't expect the best from these movies, I do expect they asstay consistent within their already established fictional world and the rules therein. This movie did not. It was as if powers and characters were created out of lazy writing rather than to add to the narrative. One character instantly revitalized himself and later gained the ability to fly when there was no ability ever before. Would of been useful earlier in the movie. Guess he forgot he could do that.
    Three hours was too long. Yet, almost felt too short since that time was mismanaged. There will be expected character appearances with zero explanations.

    I am writing this to save people some money. Just rent this later.
    Expand
  66. Jul 18, 2014
    2
    Another crap from michael bay. This is I think worse in the series and by far has the thinnest plot of them all. MIchael bay didn't learn from his past mistakes. He repeats the same old story in the same old manner. Loud noises, robots who looks like junk, forcing humans unnecessarily in the fight, basically as same as his previous movies. Michael bay needs to stop now.
  67. Jul 14, 2014
    4
    Loud, incoherent, unnecessarily violent, and unbelievably simple-minded, Transformers: Age of Extinction is a 2 and a half-hour long headache that brings the franchise to a seemingly impossible all-new low.
  68. Aug 10, 2014
    4
    It is interesting and shows a nice plot but when watching the movie it comes to something as simple as this; You can sleep during one hour of the movie and when you wake up, it'll be in the exact same scene: vileness and useless violence.
  69. Aug 9, 2014
    2
    Amidst the too constant explosions this movie is lazy and boring in almost every way possible. This has to have been the worst movie i'v ever seen for the budget used. Crapping on storyline aside(movies have their own take on things thats the way it is) there is little redeeming content to this film. The human protagonists are little more than simple character tropes, the gaps in logic you usually just chalk up to hey its a movie leave you feeling like your stupid or the director thinks your stupid, and the story is little more than action cliches strung together to make kinda sense. Who would have though the only thing keeping this string of farces from being wholly soulless was our shared hate for Shia Labeouf. Expand
  70. Jul 11, 2014
    2
    Transformers: Age of Extinction is Michael Bay's 4th movie in the series, and at first glance it seems like this sequel is a departure from the previous 3 movies in the franchise. Brand new actors, Transformers, stories, and so on are all packed in here. Does it sound like this movie will be a change to the series, and maybe even for the better? The true answer is this: TF4 is the same movie as the previous ones, and that's not good. Michael Bay tried to make us care about the characters in this movie, especially the main family that includes Mark Wahlberg as the one and only father, Nicola Peltz as his daughter, and Jack Reynor as the daughter's boyfriend. At first, I started giving a slight amount of care towards them. However, as the movie progressed, the dialogue with them just became completely stupid, and I didn't care about them in the end. Speaking of dialogue, it is awful. Michael Bay still puts his terrible humor and one-liners in there. In terms of story, it becomes so similar to the past films, which also means it becomes jumbled and clunky. In my eyes, most people come to see the Transformers movies to see non-stop action and explosions and amazing visual effects. I will admit that the visual effects set a new bar for the franchise. The action at its core, though? It's exactly what you would expect out of a Michael Bay film. The first few scenes of the action entertained me. Then, it just went on and on and on, and it got so tiring. As a very young child, I loved dinosaurs. TF4 has something awesome: DINOBOTS. Yeah, no. They are only in there for a few action scenes, and they brought nothing new to the table. Great. The only thing good in this movie, as I said before, were the special and visual effects. However, even that should be expected out of this franchise and this day and age. Everything else wasn't good at all, and I walked out knowing that every other movie that would come out of this franchise here on out would be the same. Expand
  71. Aug 19, 2014
    0
    This movie is just sooooooooo bad that I'm actually writing a review for it the acting is bad the jokes are bad the writing is bad even mark walberg is bad in this film. I'm glad Michael bay is done with the transformers films I hope ninja turtles isn't as bad as this film. The lesson is that you shouldn't see this movie.
  72. Jul 16, 2014
    3
    Transformers: age of extinction - a bitter disappointment. usually I a quite a fan of Michael Bay's moving camera and grand action sequences with lots of explosions but I can't help but feel this time he has gone a little too far. with the new introduction with Mark Wahlberg was a good move for this series as he brings a more action role to the movie however the other additions was left a little flat with barely any back story and no chemistry between the daughter and alleged driving boyfriend. over all I i would not recommend this film it leaves a bad taste in your mouth for watching it, however i will still watch the next follow up if there ever will be another transformers film. Expand
  73. Jul 10, 2014
    3
    While this technically stunning film offers everything a boy could want ... sexy cars turn giant robots, massive mayhem, and destruction on a global scale, it is a 3-hour movie that loses its "spark" at the 2-hour mark. Getting to know the new characters goes well, even though the hot boyfriend is unnecessarily made out to be a sissy in the beginning, but when the movie reaches an obvious conclusion at two hours, they launch into another adventure that lacks substance while filling another entire hour with senseless pandemonium and annihilation. I thought the third hour would make an excellent beginning to the "next" movie, but nobody asked me. Expand
  74. Jul 9, 2014
    2
    Soy fanatico de Transformers, pero esta pelicula es una porqueria, de hecho, de las peores de ciencia ficcion que vi. La espere con muchas ganas y me desepciono totalmente. Pasadas dos horas de pelicula no tiene historia, los personajes son insulsos. 40 minutos de inicio donde no termina explicando nada. 2 hs de pelea sin sentido, tampoco tiene grandes graficos o efectos y el 3d deja bastante que desear. Los villanos son muy basicos y casi que no se sabe quienes son o que quieren, y son todos iguales, no se distinguen. A los autobots cada vez los hacen mas parecidos a las personas. Pasaron de no tener sangre en la 1 y 2 a tener sangre roja en la 3 a tener sangre verde en la 4. Muy a mi pesar la tengo que calificar negativamente Expand
  75. Jul 10, 2014
    3
    I haven't seen much of the previous Transformers movies so I went in with no idea what to expect. The film as a whole was quite mind numbing, with so much fights scenes you can ever see the end of it. 40/50% of the dialogue is 'cheeky' one liners through all of the action. It's good to look at, but there isn't much else. The movie feels very long winded and you find yourself not caring much for the family and/or even the autobots. Expand
  76. Jul 17, 2014
    3
    Had great expectations, waited almost an year and to be frank enough, it was one of the greatest disappointments i have had. Poor storyline, well keeping aside the basic contents that are common in all the movies, the script lacks a backbone. Few good action sequences and the graphics(which is quite remarkable) are the the only positive points i can raise after watching this movie. Not many expectations for the sequel after this. Expand
  77. Jul 23, 2014
    1
    This movie sounded like a videogame instead of an action movie. I was victim of lotsa cliches, a generic plot, AND A UNBELIVEABLE AMOUNT OF EXPLOSIONS!
    This movie sounded like an amateur invention. The other three were much better.
    I went direct to my Games folder on Windows after watching it. At least I can do a lot more.
    Transformers is exhausted. It can't continue anymore.
  78. Jul 29, 2014
    4
    It could be a fun action movie but it just goes on and on and on. I'm of the type to see a movie whether or not it has good reviews if it seems like a fun movie. Transformer movies tend to be silly and not masterpieces by any definition but at least fun. The plot seemed to have holes in it or they hand waved everything in a moment's notice so you didn't catch all the explanations. The 'Asian' autobot seemed like a stupid and honestly racist addition and few characters seemed to have any decent character building. Expand
  79. Aug 4, 2014
    4
    Yep, its a Transformers movie. Being in the Army, i had nothing better to do with my Sunday off, so it was good for killing time. They should probably go ahead and stop continuing these slo-mo abusing auto-bots.
  80. Aug 5, 2014
    0
    I wasn't even going to bother rating this movie, But people out there have to be warned about this god awful lump of trash. Michael Bay is better than this.
  81. Aug 17, 2014
    2
    Michael Bay..... go **** yourself. You think this is "entertainment." Then I guess ramming my **** in a blender and slamming th puree button is just a BLAST!! This was probably the worst experience I've ever had in a theater. I hated everything about this movie and as this trainwreck tugged along at a GLACIAL pace, my hatred for the people involved with the "film" and the people in my audience who were clapping, laughing and cheering grew to the point of pure fury. 2/10 - Abysmal. Expand
Metascore
32

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 37
  2. Negative: 21 out of 37
  1. Reviewed by: Ed Frankl
    Jul 10, 2014
    20
    Does Michael Bay fit the criteria of an auteur? He certainly has his own line of distinctive tropes: the migraine-inducing noise, the fetishistic gloss, the playground-bully characters elevated to hero status and a fervently male gaze.
  2. Reviewed by: Owen Williams
    Jul 7, 2014
    40
    The loyal fans — and they are legion — will trot out clichés like, “Leave your brain at the door,” and defend Age Of Extinction’s right to be nothing but a succession of varoom! and kersmash! sequences. For those who aren’t still blindly faithful to something they liked when they were nine, despite the colossal scale, there’s little to see here.
  3. Reviewed by: Amy Nicholson
    Jun 30, 2014
    10
    There isn't enough visual beauty to forgive the screenplay's ugliness, but Bay does brave a daring new standard in product placement.