Transformers: Age Of Extinction Image
Metascore
32

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 887 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 38
  2. Negative: 21 out of 38
  1. Reviewed by: Drew McWeeny
    Jun 22, 2014
    67
    Age Of Extinction more than delivers on whatever promises Bay makes to an audience at this point. Giant robots. Giant mayhem. Destruction on a global scale. You know what you're in for if you buy a ticket, and Bay seems determined to wear you down with the biggest craziest Transformers movie yet.
  2. Reviewed by: Robbie Collin
    Jun 30, 2014
    60
    Transformers has ambition and attitude in its pores, and spectacle to spare. Bay shoots cars like they’re women, and people like they’re cars, and tosses around metal like it’s made from thin air. The film wasn’t meant to make you think, but it does. For better or worse, it’s cinema.
  3. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Jun 26, 2014
    50
    [A] visually stunning, technically impressive and crushingly dumb and overlong picture.
  4. Reviewed by:  Christopher Borrelli
    Jun 26, 2014
    38
    It is scattered, weightless, impossible to get hold of, and somehow, after seven years and more than 10 hours of screen time, I could not tell you what these films are about.
  5. Reviewed by: Chris Nashawaty
    Jun 27, 2014
    33
    Ultimately, Age of Extinction is an endless barrage of nonsense and noise.
  6. Reviewed by: Clarence Tsui
    Jun 22, 2014
    30
    Belying its ominous title, Age of Extinction barely skirts the idea that humankind and planet Earth are about to be totally annihilated. What is extinguished is the audience's consciousness after being bombarded for nearly three hours with overwrought emotions...bad one-liners and battles that rarely rise above the banal.
  7. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Jun 26, 2014
    0
    The Bay-man has made the worst and most worthless Transformers movie yet. I know, hard to believe, right? How could any summer blockbuster be as dull, dumb and soul-sucking as the first three Transformers movies? Step right up.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 97 out of 308
  1. Jun 28, 2014
    10
    this film is amazing there is no screaming sam wittwickey and the film is badass due to peter cullens performance as optimus prime and athis film is amazing there is no screaming sam wittwickey and the film is badass due to peter cullens performance as optimus prime and a badass villan some people hate this just coz micheal bay made well ill tell you transformers and micheal bay have nothin in common. some peeps dont kno a good movie when they see one 10/10 Collapse
  2. Jul 10, 2014
    9
    The original, Revenge of the Fallen and Dark of the Moon were all fairly adequate Transformers films, but suffered due to the direction itThe original, Revenge of the Fallen and Dark of the Moon were all fairly adequate Transformers films, but suffered due to the direction it took, Michael Bay is by no means a bad director, and with the arrival of the fourth film, Transformers: Age of Extinction is a step in the right direction, it steered clear of some of what made the previous films less enjoyable, while it may not have been enough to compensate for the previous films, they successfully make up for it by including new and refreshing elements such as Dinobots and Transformers & Humans that have actual personalities, in addition, there are little winks and nods hidden within the film, Mark Wahlberg is a very welcome protagonist to the film and Peter Cullen completely embodies the role of Optimus Prime, additionally, the visuals and special effects were outstanding, especially the details Watching this film in IMAX is a unique experience, and I recommend watching it in IMAX if you can, it's worth it Expand
  3. Jul 30, 2014
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I understand why most people don't like this movie because it is directed by Michael Bay, and all the previous movies that suck, but I feel like the story this time isn't that formulaic like the previous one. Therefore, not matter how bad or terrible the story is, it give me some surprise. Like the previous movies, it has a lot of action, if you are looking for stunning CGI effect or realistic destruction,it is a must watch, but I think that some action scene is very fake because human enemy can't even shoot, they are literally blind. There is some problems in this movie. The movie features 3-4 villains but I feel like that the movie only focuses in one only while neglected other major ones especially at the end of the movie. The movie also makes me hate some human character. I don't really care about the human character story because they are poorly-written. Also, what I don't like is they killed Ratchet and Optimus Prime suddenly know how to fly. Expand
  4. Jul 13, 2014
    4
    So disappointed with this movie. The first three were mediocre and I was hoping for a better character connection than Shia La'boeuf gave us.So disappointed with this movie. The first three were mediocre and I was hoping for a better character connection than Shia La'boeuf gave us. BOY WAS I SO WRONG! Mark Wahlberg's character development was horrid as for his daughter's acting and development is even worse. Her boyfriend doesn't seem to make such stand in this movie, as for we don't get much dialogue from him leaving out the cliche cheesy jokes he makes.

    The movie is way too f****ng long, standing at about 3 hours. The CGI does make up for whatever the hell is going on, as for there are over 3 stories going on at once. Also, I am a HUGE fan of Transformers G1 and I got to say, I don't remember Galvatron being a truck.

    The Dinobots only show up in the last 20 minutes also, and I didn't really understand why Grimlock didn't talk either, as for I remember him talking in G1. And for the last of my review, the Dinobots scene was confusing and painful to watch.

    This movie was a major let down and I feel bad that people spent their money to go watch this in the theaters.

    Michael Bay, 'nuff said.
    Expand
  5. Nov 11, 2014
    3
    Watch the Honest trailers and Everything wrong with videos on youtube regarding Transformers Age Of Extinction that's all I can say................Bye
  6. Jan 3, 2015
    2
    My opinion of this... "movie" has only deteriorated over time. The effects are actually WORSE than the previous installments, and the actingMy opinion of this... "movie" has only deteriorated over time. The effects are actually WORSE than the previous installments, and the acting is also downright awful. I would give praise to Walberg and Tucci's performances, but they played characters so generic and cliché that it completely undermined their acting talent. In addition, there is an ABSURD amount of obnoxious product placement. It's almost as obnoxious as if you're watching a huge battle scene, and then one of the characters randomly turns to the camera, holds up a Bud Lite, and says some corny line ending in "Drink Bud Lite!" In fact, it actually almost does that in once scene. On to the dialog. It is so poorly written that I almost laughed at one point. Optimus is beating the crap out of the massive Dinobot Transformer who is supposedly Grimlock (even though he submits in under a minute) where Optimus yells out, "We're giving you freedom!" and then a few seconds later, when he has mounted Grimlock (Yes, mounted), he scrapes his sword against Grimlock's face saying, "Defend my family, or die." Being forced to do something doesn't quite sound like freedom to me. Speaking of, there are Dinobots in this movie... I think. If they are, they're only in it for the last twenty minutes or so with about six minutes of total screen time, and their names are never spoken of once (hence why I said he was supposedly Grimlock; they never even tell you his name in the movie). Not to mention that some don't even look like Dinobots; a few look like botched genetic experiment involving lizards that got a few tons of rusty metal welded onto their bodies. Did I mention the plot is idiotic and a complete copy/paste from the previous installments? My last criticism, is the run time. This movie has all the content you'd expect from a Michael Bay Transformers wet dream (ten explosions per second, battle scenes erupting around random hot girl extras, an UNDERAGE girl for the movie's main hot chick, and a moronic plot), and seemingly has the length of a Lord of the Rings film. Also, don't just look at me and say, "Oh you're just a guy who jumped on the Michael Bay hate bandwagon", because I'm not. I'm one of the few people willing to go on record saying that I liked Dark of the Moon. That being said, I hope it carries some considerable weight when I say that this is an awful film. Lastly, to those defending this garbage and saying that people who dislike it just don't know how to have fun with movies or some other stupid derogatory insult (seriously, I saw this one guy who said people giving this negative reviews should be hung), quit lying to yourself and realize that there are these things called opinions. In addition, you can't say that this is good if it lived up to your expectations. If you go in expecting this kind of crap and you get it, that still doesn't make it good. That just means it was what you were expecting; they're two completely different things. If it lived up to your expectations of being an explosions-fest with wooden characters you don't care about, you still can't say it's better or even as good as an action movie with good characters, good dialog, good acting, and a good story. This has none of those.

    Verdict - 2.3/10
    Seriously though, the things some of these 'positive' reviews say just make me lose faith in humanity.
    Expand
  7. Sep 23, 2015
    0
    Words cannot describe how dreadful this movie is. If you watch this, at least a year will be taken off your life. It's so bad, that I've heardWords cannot describe how dreadful this movie is. If you watch this, at least a year will be taken off your life. It's so bad, that I've heard someone DIED after the 5th or 6th climax. With out a doubt, the WORST movie I've ever seen. At least Troll 2 is laughably bad, this movie just leaves you with all the negative emotions a person could possibly have. Expand

See all 308 User Reviews

Trailers