Metascore
32

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 437 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 37
  2. Negative: 21 out of 37
  1. Reviewed by: Drew McWeeny
    Jun 22, 2014
    67
    Age Of Extinction more than delivers on whatever promises Bay makes to an audience at this point. Giant robots. Giant mayhem. Destruction on a global scale. You know what you're in for if you buy a ticket, and Bay seems determined to wear you down with the biggest craziest Transformers movie yet.
  2. Reviewed by: Robbie Collin
    Jun 30, 2014
    60
    Transformers has ambition and attitude in its pores, and spectacle to spare. Bay shoots cars like they’re women, and people like they’re cars, and tosses around metal like it’s made from thin air. The film wasn’t meant to make you think, but it does. For better or worse, it’s cinema.
  3. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Jun 26, 2014
    50
    [A] visually stunning, technically impressive and crushingly dumb and overlong picture.
  4. Reviewed by:  Christopher Borrelli
    Jun 26, 2014
    38
    It is scattered, weightless, impossible to get hold of, and somehow, after seven years and more than 10 hours of screen time, I could not tell you what these films are about.
  5. Reviewed by: Chris Nashawaty
    Jun 27, 2014
    33
    Ultimately, Age of Extinction is an endless barrage of nonsense and noise.
  6. Reviewed by: Clarence Tsui
    Jun 22, 2014
    30
    Belying its ominous title, Age of Extinction barely skirts the idea that humankind and planet Earth are about to be totally annihilated. What is extinguished is the audience's consciousness after being bombarded for nearly three hours with overwrought emotions...bad one-liners and battles that rarely rise above the banal.
  7. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Jun 26, 2014
    0
    The Bay-man has made the worst and most worthless Transformers movie yet. I know, hard to believe, right? How could any summer blockbuster be as dull, dumb and soul-sucking as the first three Transformers movies? Step right up.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 82 out of 159
  2. Negative: 61 out of 159
  1. Jun 27, 2014
    10
    The best of the series
    I hated Sam Wickiwy
    I loved Grimlock and hoped he has more screentime
    Lockdown was BadAss
    The Visual Effects was
    Astonishing
    The story was better
    Expand
  2. Jun 27, 2014
    9
    I have no clue on what the **** the critics here are thinking! The fourth Transformers looks swell and awesome! It looks like an amazing movie to us fans. Critics, go F*** yourself!!!!! Expand
  3. Jul 11, 2014
    8
    This movie for me wasnt as bad as some people put it. Its got some bad things, yes, but can you really expect a movie to be 100%? I did have to admit that the film was decades long but sometimes its long for a reason; to build up the characters. I liked the special effects and it had some gripping moments. The plot was ok, but if you never watched transformers, then you will have no idea who is who. I really liked the dinosaurs as well but I can see where people are coming from. Not the best film but fight scenes, emotional scenes, funny scenes, they all seemed legit. There were times where they included humor in places not need. Example, the Soya Milk scene... That wasnt really needed because that wasnt what you would do, but it was nice to have some humor. For me 8/10 would be appropriate. Expand
  4. Jul 17, 2014
    6
    The first half build up was good but it just went wrong after that. The rest of the movie is filled with mindless action and explosions sadly. Its a pity it didn't stay good. I give it a 6 because I wasn't bored just slightly annoyed with the direction. Expand
  5. Jun 29, 2014
    3
    Urrrgghhhhh.... plausible storyline? nah. good dialogue? nope. good action scenes? negative. crappy jokes? check. heart felt conversations at the stupidest possible times? yessir. Expand
  6. Jul 18, 2014
    2
    Another crap from michael bay. This is I think worse in the series and by far has the thinnest plot of them all. MIchael bay didn't learn from his past mistakes. He repeats the same old story in the same old manner. Loud noises, robots who looks like junk, forcing humans unnecessarily in the fight, basically as same as his previous movies. Michael bay needs to stop now. Expand
  7. Jul 6, 2014
    0
    Micheal Bay, you have done it again. Transformers Age Of Extinction is another 2hr Micheal Bay dream. And if you really want to watch a movie with explosions and robots- Real Steel or Pacific Rim are good choices. Mark Walhberg plays a mechanic who finds a transformer and then all hell breaks loose. You know, I was kinda hyped for this movie. I was hoping for a good action movie, but no it was like Revenge Of The Fallen got a remake with Mark Walhberg. Story is poor, nothing is sad and the characters are bad too, you don't care about any of them. The visual effects gave me a seizure. The acting was damn bad. Micheal Bay, is Pain. And Gain the only good movie that you have made? Ignore this at all costs Expand

See all 159 User Reviews

Showtimes

To get showtimes near you, enter your zip code.