Metascore
32

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 706 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 37
  2. Negative: 21 out of 37
  1. Reviewed by: Drew McWeeny
    Jun 22, 2014
    67
    Age Of Extinction more than delivers on whatever promises Bay makes to an audience at this point. Giant robots. Giant mayhem. Destruction on a global scale. You know what you're in for if you buy a ticket, and Bay seems determined to wear you down with the biggest craziest Transformers movie yet.
  2. Reviewed by: Robbie Collin
    Jun 30, 2014
    60
    Transformers has ambition and attitude in its pores, and spectacle to spare. Bay shoots cars like they’re women, and people like they’re cars, and tosses around metal like it’s made from thin air. The film wasn’t meant to make you think, but it does. For better or worse, it’s cinema.
  3. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Jun 26, 2014
    50
    [A] visually stunning, technically impressive and crushingly dumb and overlong picture.
  4. Reviewed by:  Christopher Borrelli
    Jun 26, 2014
    38
    It is scattered, weightless, impossible to get hold of, and somehow, after seven years and more than 10 hours of screen time, I could not tell you what these films are about.
  5. Reviewed by: Chris Nashawaty
    Jun 27, 2014
    33
    Ultimately, Age of Extinction is an endless barrage of nonsense and noise.
  6. Reviewed by: Clarence Tsui
    Jun 22, 2014
    30
    Belying its ominous title, Age of Extinction barely skirts the idea that humankind and planet Earth are about to be totally annihilated. What is extinguished is the audience's consciousness after being bombarded for nearly three hours with overwrought emotions...bad one-liners and battles that rarely rise above the banal.
  7. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Jun 26, 2014
    0
    The Bay-man has made the worst and most worthless Transformers movie yet. I know, hard to believe, right? How could any summer blockbuster be as dull, dumb and soul-sucking as the first three Transformers movies? Step right up.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Jun 28, 2014
    10
    this film is amazing there is no screaming sam wittwickey and the film is badass due to peter cullens performance as optimus prime and a badass villan some people hate this just coz micheal bay made well ill tell you transformers and micheal bay have nothin in common. some peeps dont kno a good movie when they see one 10/10 Collapse
  2. Aug 1, 2014
    9
    Great movie! Sad alot of people hated it though... I really loved this movie the action and character development were really cool. The only thing i noticed was it was kind of long i was getting tired in the last few minute's. Great movie deserves more credit. Expand
  3. Jun 29, 2014
    8
    I love to see hypocrite people criticizing this movie so hard, and still it rules the box office with $100 Mil. People are idiots, specially critics. They think because they didn't like a movie, is bad. I know, if a high number of people think the same, it has to mean something. But, c'mon, this is a TRANSFORMERS movie, what did they expect? Also, the "Hey, this movie is pretty good, it's worth the 3 hours runtime! / Hey, this movie is very bad, don't waste 3 hours of your life!" argument is complete **** Expand
  4. Jul 27, 2014
    5
    I thought this was a meh. confusing story and character development and it was just too long. I got motion sick near the end. but DA F@#$N' DINOBOTS WERE AWESOME Expand
  5. Jun 28, 2014
    3
    This was pretty bad. It's been a while since I really felt like walking out on a movie and this one's 2.75 hour run time didn't help at all. The acting was atrocious. It felt like Michael Bay probably didn't even direct this. I get the feeling he just told the actors where to go each day while he went off and did something else. Even the action scenes were boring and rehashes of what we've seen before.

    To top it all off, for the first 3/4 of the movie Optimus acts like a jackass and the autobots he ends up with are a ragtag band of misfits that you want to see die just as badly as the bad guys. Ugh what a waste of everything.
    Expand
  6. Jul 17, 2014
    2
    Wow, what a crap of the movie! One of the most boring action movie created by human kind, and its Transformers, wow, Michael Bay just surpassed himself! Three hour of complete waste of everyone's time Expand
  7. Oct 31, 2014
    0
    This was simply the worst pile of garbage I have ever seen. This series in General has been nothing but a cash grab followed by poor editing, poor writing, bland stories, and plastic characters. 10 Minutes of dinobots and 90 minutes of daddy Daughter nonsense and 40 minutes of product shots. Expand

See all 252 User Reviews

Trailers