Metascore
32

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 588 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 37
  2. Negative: 21 out of 37
  1. Reviewed by: Drew McWeeny
    Jun 22, 2014
    67
    Age Of Extinction more than delivers on whatever promises Bay makes to an audience at this point. Giant robots. Giant mayhem. Destruction on a global scale. You know what you're in for if you buy a ticket, and Bay seems determined to wear you down with the biggest craziest Transformers movie yet.
  2. Reviewed by: Robbie Collin
    Jun 30, 2014
    60
    Transformers has ambition and attitude in its pores, and spectacle to spare. Bay shoots cars like they’re women, and people like they’re cars, and tosses around metal like it’s made from thin air. The film wasn’t meant to make you think, but it does. For better or worse, it’s cinema.
  3. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Jun 26, 2014
    50
    [A] visually stunning, technically impressive and crushingly dumb and overlong picture.
  4. Reviewed by:  Christopher Borrelli
    Jun 26, 2014
    38
    It is scattered, weightless, impossible to get hold of, and somehow, after seven years and more than 10 hours of screen time, I could not tell you what these films are about.
  5. Reviewed by: Chris Nashawaty
    Jun 27, 2014
    33
    Ultimately, Age of Extinction is an endless barrage of nonsense and noise.
  6. Reviewed by: Clarence Tsui
    Jun 22, 2014
    30
    Belying its ominous title, Age of Extinction barely skirts the idea that humankind and planet Earth are about to be totally annihilated. What is extinguished is the audience's consciousness after being bombarded for nearly three hours with overwrought emotions...bad one-liners and battles that rarely rise above the banal.
  7. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Jun 26, 2014
    0
    The Bay-man has made the worst and most worthless Transformers movie yet. I know, hard to believe, right? How could any summer blockbuster be as dull, dumb and soul-sucking as the first three Transformers movies? Step right up.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 79 out of 206
  1. Jun 28, 2014
    10
    this film is amazing there is no screaming sam wittwickey and the film is badass due to peter cullens performance as optimus prime and a badass villan some people hate this just coz micheal bay made well ill tell you transformers and micheal bay have nothin in common. some peeps dont kno a good movie when they see one 10/10 Expand
  2. Jun 29, 2014
    9
    I still contend that everyone is entitled to their own opinion because opinions have nothing to do with truth, therefore my review will follow this philosophy. I am a fan of the movies as I am a fan of the cartoon series growing up, I did not embrace Shia LaBeouf's character for obvious reasons that limited space will not allow me to express. I however embraced Mark Wahlberg's character even though the unnecessary banter between he and his daughter somewhat took away from the very basic action plot. Most reviews I have read seem to take extreme offense with the plot as if they wrote the story and director Michael Bay had no regard and completely butchered their work. With that said the plot in an action movie needs to have basic pieces: heroes, villains and the proverbial evil tries to triumph over good, with the unlikely hero emerging, Transformers: Age of Extinction has these pieces and then some. In an action movie you want good action, good fighting, good acting if possible and a climax that will make you say that was cool. The showing I went to see drew applause at the end as the credits began to roll, which was not a total surprise but caused me to rethink my overall review. I always say even though we have the right to offer our opinion does not excuse us from being responsible with our right (refer to Transformers: Dark of the Moon, which was reviewed in a very critical way but grossed 1.2 billion dollars). Transformers is an age old program as along as you have Optimums Prime coming out on top in the end, I will see the movie every single time. In my opinion go see it you will enjoy, but only if you wish to be entertained. Expand
  3. Jul 10, 2014
    8
    This is a movie that you should know what you are in for before entering the theatre. I asked my wife if she wanted to go and received the expected "are you kidding?" Giant robots ripping things apart, action scenes, destruction, lame dialogue . . . it met all expectations. I would not rate this as high as Pacific Rim or Godzilla but worth the price of admission just to see it on the big screen. People who are looking for an "experience" or tear jerker; wait in line for Notebook 2 or 3; I liked it!! Expand
  4. Jun 27, 2014
    5
    There are a lot of issues with this movie like the previous installments. But unlike #1 and #3 there is not enough emotional connection with the characters to overcome and ignore the issues. I saw this in 3D and it is the best 3D movie i have seen by far. The action is great and plenty of explosions but you could care less if the characters live or die in this movie. I did not hate it but this is not a movie to pay money and see unless you are going for the action and 3D. Expand
  5. Jun 27, 2014
    3
    Slightly better than the second, which frankly sucked, and not as good as the third, which was mildly entertaining. Even with his best heroic effort, Mark Wahlberg could not save this film. He barely managed to be mildly convincing in his earnestness to save his daughter from all the evil humans and machines. Admittedly, this in itself could be considered quite a feat given the incredulous stupidity of what constituted a plot. Family discovers Autobot. Everyone wants to kill Autobot and family. They fail. Autobots save family. Family saves Autobots. Rinse and repeat.

    What the first film had, and the third one at times achieved, were Autobots with whom the audience could at least identify. This movie utterly lacked any semblance of the rapport that Shea LaBeouf had established with Bumblebee in the previous films. Here Bumblebee was little more than a caricature. Optimus was dogmatic and stifled. All the machines, the Autobots most especially, were for the lack of a better word, soulless. The movie would have been improved by removing all human/machine interactions. When a Transformers movie would be better without any Transformers in it, then that in itself is sad statement.
    Expand
  6. Aug 17, 2014
    2
    Michael Bay..... go **** yourself. You think this is "entertainment." Then I guess ramming my **** in a blender and slamming th puree button is just a BLAST!! This was probably the worst experience I've ever had in a theater. I hated everything about this movie and as this trainwreck tugged along at a GLACIAL pace, my hatred for the people involved with the "film" and the people in my audience who were clapping, laughing and cheering grew to the point of pure fury. 2/10 - Abysmal. Expand
  7. Sep 18, 2014
    0
    This has to be the worst movie in the series, and that says a lot after seeing Transformers 2 and 3. There are no likable human analogs, not even Mark Wahlberg's character was redeemable. The only people who could possibly like it are children that car nothing about the plot and only want to see gray on gray violence. If they cut out all the unneeded slow motion scenes the movie would have come in at less than 2 hours and 45 minutes. If you want a good Transformers movie, watch the cartoon film from 1987. Expand

See all 206 User Reviews