Metascore
32

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 445 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 37
  2. Negative: 21 out of 37
  1. Reviewed by: Drew McWeeny
    Jun 22, 2014
    67
    Age Of Extinction more than delivers on whatever promises Bay makes to an audience at this point. Giant robots. Giant mayhem. Destruction on a global scale. You know what you're in for if you buy a ticket, and Bay seems determined to wear you down with the biggest craziest Transformers movie yet.
  2. Reviewed by: Robbie Collin
    Jun 30, 2014
    60
    Transformers has ambition and attitude in its pores, and spectacle to spare. Bay shoots cars like they’re women, and people like they’re cars, and tosses around metal like it’s made from thin air. The film wasn’t meant to make you think, but it does. For better or worse, it’s cinema.
  3. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Jun 26, 2014
    50
    [A] visually stunning, technically impressive and crushingly dumb and overlong picture.
  4. Reviewed by:  Christopher Borrelli
    Jun 26, 2014
    38
    It is scattered, weightless, impossible to get hold of, and somehow, after seven years and more than 10 hours of screen time, I could not tell you what these films are about.
  5. Reviewed by: Chris Nashawaty
    Jun 27, 2014
    33
    Ultimately, Age of Extinction is an endless barrage of nonsense and noise.
  6. Reviewed by: Clarence Tsui
    Jun 22, 2014
    30
    Belying its ominous title, Age of Extinction barely skirts the idea that humankind and planet Earth are about to be totally annihilated. What is extinguished is the audience's consciousness after being bombarded for nearly three hours with overwrought emotions...bad one-liners and battles that rarely rise above the banal.
  7. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Jun 26, 2014
    0
    The Bay-man has made the worst and most worthless Transformers movie yet. I know, hard to believe, right? How could any summer blockbuster be as dull, dumb and soul-sucking as the first three Transformers movies? Step right up.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 83 out of 160
  2. Negative: 62 out of 160
  1. Jun 27, 2014
    10
    The best of the series
    I hated Sam Wickiwy
    I loved Grimlock and hoped he has more screentime
    Lockdown was BadAss
    The Visual Effects was
    Astonishing
    The story was better
    Expand
  2. Jun 27, 2014
    9
    I have no clue on what the **** the critics here are thinking! The fourth Transformers looks swell and awesome! It looks like an amazing movie to us fans. Critics, go F*** yourself!!!!! Expand
  3. Jul 11, 2014
    8
    This movie for me wasnt as bad as some people put it. Its got some bad things, yes, but can you really expect a movie to be 100%? I did have to admit that the film was decades long but sometimes its long for a reason; to build up the characters. I liked the special effects and it had some gripping moments. The plot was ok, but if you never watched transformers, then you will have no idea who is who. I really liked the dinosaurs as well but I can see where people are coming from. Not the best film but fight scenes, emotional scenes, funny scenes, they all seemed legit. There were times where they included humor in places not need. Example, the Soya Milk scene... That wasnt really needed because that wasnt what you would do, but it was nice to have some humor. For me 8/10 would be appropriate. Expand
  4. Jun 29, 2014
    6
    Michael Bay just doesn't seem to understand the fans, does he? After the first two incredible films, he has completely dropped the ball on these last two. While I enjoyed this movie a bit more than Dark of the Moon, it was still a mediocre film. The acting was overdone, the plot was so full of holes it may as well have been swiss cheese, the product placement was ad nauseam, and the length of the movie was just ridiculous. After 22 minutes worth of previews, you end up sitting in the theater for over 3 hours for a film that is clearly overproduced and underwritten. Yes, the transformers were cool. The action sequences and battles (at least the ones not involving Mark Walhberg almost single handedly taking out 40 foot war machines) were well done and the anger elicited by some of the Autobots felt genuine. Yes, Stanley Tucci's character is hilarious. TJ Miller and Tucci provided plenty of comedic relief and most of it felt on point... something a lot of apocalyptic action films miss on. YES, Nicola Peltz is absolutely stunning. Bay played the jail bait card with her throughout the movie, causing people in the audience to instantly Google her after the film, relieved that she's actually 19 years old so they no longer feel like pedophiles. And yes, Grimlock was freaking badass. Combine a love for dinosaurs with a love for awesome mechs and Grimlock is pretty much the coolest thing ever. But those handful of positives aren't enough to redeem a movie with terrible acting by the protagonist, a horrible plot, and over-edited and overproduced action. The movie wasn't horrible and was at least better than the third installment but it ultimately fails miserably to capture what made the first two films so great. Expand
  5. Jun 28, 2014
    3
    I had unrealistically high hopes for this film for no reason whatsoever. What you should know is that if you're looking for action and fun scenes, there's a lot of that here. So much in fact that it'll bore you 'til the third act. The new cast is better than the old, with Mark Wahlberg in the real role, but still none of the characters are relatable, and the effects at times seem a bit unfinished. All you need to know is that it is still a Michael Bay film of 165 minutes of brain cancer on screen.
    With some redeeming moments, it's still not enough to call this film a "good" one, even though the cast has improved immensely.
    Expand
  6. Jul 17, 2014
    2
    Wow, what a crap of the movie! One of the most boring action movie created by human kind, and its Transformers, wow, Michael Bay just surpassed himself! Three hour of complete waste of everyone's time Expand
  7. Jul 24, 2014
    0
    It's unfair that this movie is a box office success. Question: anyone else noticed that the characters keep changing their clothes throughout the movie? Or did I miss something when I was asleep. Expand

See all 160 User Reviews

Showtimes

To get showtimes near you, enter your zip code.