Metascore
32

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 774 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 38
  2. Negative: 21 out of 38
  1. Reviewed by: Drew McWeeny
    Jun 22, 2014
    67
    Age Of Extinction more than delivers on whatever promises Bay makes to an audience at this point. Giant robots. Giant mayhem. Destruction on a global scale. You know what you're in for if you buy a ticket, and Bay seems determined to wear you down with the biggest craziest Transformers movie yet.
  2. Reviewed by: Robbie Collin
    Jun 30, 2014
    60
    Transformers has ambition and attitude in its pores, and spectacle to spare. Bay shoots cars like they’re women, and people like they’re cars, and tosses around metal like it’s made from thin air. The film wasn’t meant to make you think, but it does. For better or worse, it’s cinema.
  3. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Jun 26, 2014
    50
    [A] visually stunning, technically impressive and crushingly dumb and overlong picture.
  4. Reviewed by:  Christopher Borrelli
    Jun 26, 2014
    38
    It is scattered, weightless, impossible to get hold of, and somehow, after seven years and more than 10 hours of screen time, I could not tell you what these films are about.
  5. Reviewed by: Chris Nashawaty
    Jun 27, 2014
    33
    Ultimately, Age of Extinction is an endless barrage of nonsense and noise.
  6. Reviewed by: Clarence Tsui
    Jun 22, 2014
    30
    Belying its ominous title, Age of Extinction barely skirts the idea that humankind and planet Earth are about to be totally annihilated. What is extinguished is the audience's consciousness after being bombarded for nearly three hours with overwrought emotions...bad one-liners and battles that rarely rise above the banal.
  7. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Jun 26, 2014
    0
    The Bay-man has made the worst and most worthless Transformers movie yet. I know, hard to believe, right? How could any summer blockbuster be as dull, dumb and soul-sucking as the first three Transformers movies? Step right up.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Jun 28, 2014
    10
    this film is amazing there is no screaming sam wittwickey and the film is badass due to peter cullens performance as optimus prime and athis film is amazing there is no screaming sam wittwickey and the film is badass due to peter cullens performance as optimus prime and a badass villan some people hate this just coz micheal bay made well ill tell you transformers and micheal bay have nothin in common. some peeps dont kno a good movie when they see one 10/10 Expand
  2. Jul 3, 2014
    9
    Awesome, must see in Imax 3D! This is not a Meril Streep movie for critics, this is a living Transformers action movie. There is a plot andAwesome, must see in Imax 3D! This is not a Meril Streep movie for critics, this is a living Transformers action movie. There is a plot and a story, but (thankfully) nothing too deep. The action is beautiful and fantastic. These movies take huge liberties with mortality and the capability of the human body, but, so do other movies. My one gripe would be usage of nearly every profane word at least once, not great for young ears. Amazing experience, 2 hours and 45 minutes flew by. There are 2 chatty slowdown parts for your restroom needs. Expand
  3. Oct 4, 2014
    8
    It was very entertaining and the fight scenes this time were much better than in the first 3 movies, I also prefer Mark over Shia, I give itIt was very entertaining and the fight scenes this time were much better than in the first 3 movies, I also prefer Mark over Shia, I give it an 8/10, it was a very good movie. Expand
  4. Jul 6, 2014
    5
    Transformers: Age of Extinction isn't a perfect movie by a long shot. it has it's strong and weak points. If you are reading this beforeTransformers: Age of Extinction isn't a perfect movie by a long shot. it has it's strong and weak points. If you are reading this before seeing the movie, go in with an open mind. It's Michael Bay and you should understand what you're going to get - entertainment. There is no doubt that this movie is entertaining, exciting, and just fun for everyone. There are moments where you feel with what's going on, many moments where you will laugh, and moments where you will be awed by the Transformers in action. The Transformer universe is now set for years to come, with a new start that can open any realm of possibility (via the ending). I may be biased because I've been such a fan of the franchise for so long, but going in open minded may help you look past some of these missteps and walk out being satisfied with how the Autobots have handled things this time around. Expand
  5. Sep 27, 2014
    3
    Transformers: Age of Extinction is the king meaningless trash. Unbearable length, endless action sequences, no story at all, way below averageTransformers: Age of Extinction is the king meaningless trash. Unbearable length, endless action sequences, no story at all, way below average acting and a director that simply doesn't understand how to make a film. Expand
  6. Jan 11, 2015
    2
    Bay once again butchers another franchise.

    I could not believe what i was actually watching. The only interesting thing in this film was
    Bay once again butchers another franchise.

    I could not believe what i was actually watching. The only interesting thing in this film was the transformers. The rest utterly stunk.

    Whats bay going to come up with next transformer love story's ?.

    2/10.

    Disappointed.
    Expand
  7. Nov 27, 2014
    0
    This is a new low even for Michael Bay. This is the worst movie I've seen all year and worst of all, it's NO DIFFERENT THAN THE OTHER THREE.This is a new low even for Michael Bay. This is the worst movie I've seen all year and worst of all, it's NO DIFFERENT THAN THE OTHER THREE. Michael Bay gives us the same exact movie and at this point, stop making these cash grabs! This is a terrible movie! Expand

See all 277 User Reviews

Trailers