Metascore
32

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 794 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 38
  2. Negative: 21 out of 38
  1. Reviewed by: Drew McWeeny
    Jun 22, 2014
    67
    Age Of Extinction more than delivers on whatever promises Bay makes to an audience at this point. Giant robots. Giant mayhem. Destruction on a global scale. You know what you're in for if you buy a ticket, and Bay seems determined to wear you down with the biggest craziest Transformers movie yet.
  2. Reviewed by: Robbie Collin
    Jun 30, 2014
    60
    Transformers has ambition and attitude in its pores, and spectacle to spare. Bay shoots cars like they’re women, and people like they’re cars, and tosses around metal like it’s made from thin air. The film wasn’t meant to make you think, but it does. For better or worse, it’s cinema.
  3. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Jun 26, 2014
    50
    [A] visually stunning, technically impressive and crushingly dumb and overlong picture.
  4. Reviewed by:  Christopher Borrelli
    Jun 26, 2014
    38
    It is scattered, weightless, impossible to get hold of, and somehow, after seven years and more than 10 hours of screen time, I could not tell you what these films are about.
  5. Reviewed by: Chris Nashawaty
    Jun 27, 2014
    33
    Ultimately, Age of Extinction is an endless barrage of nonsense and noise.
  6. Reviewed by: Clarence Tsui
    Jun 22, 2014
    30
    Belying its ominous title, Age of Extinction barely skirts the idea that humankind and planet Earth are about to be totally annihilated. What is extinguished is the audience's consciousness after being bombarded for nearly three hours with overwrought emotions...bad one-liners and battles that rarely rise above the banal.
  7. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Jun 26, 2014
    0
    The Bay-man has made the worst and most worthless Transformers movie yet. I know, hard to believe, right? How could any summer blockbuster be as dull, dumb and soul-sucking as the first three Transformers movies? Step right up.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Jun 28, 2014
    10
    this film is amazing there is no screaming sam wittwickey and the film is badass due to peter cullens performance as optimus prime and athis film is amazing there is no screaming sam wittwickey and the film is badass due to peter cullens performance as optimus prime and a badass villan some people hate this just coz micheal bay made well ill tell you transformers and micheal bay have nothin in common. some peeps dont kno a good movie when they see one 10/10 Expand
  2. Mar 29, 2015
    9
    Transformers: Age of extinction, con sus avances en los trailers, podemos ver bastante acción y explosiones, por tanto es lo que probablementeTransformers: Age of extinction, con sus avances en los trailers, podemos ver bastante acción y explosiones, por tanto es lo que probablemente varios espectadores esperaron, y es lo que en gran parte se vio en este film.

    Esta película se podría decir que era una de las más esperadas en su año y que al final en donde se esperaban varios explosiones, acción, peleas, y grandes transformers (como fué en las anteriores entregas), y, al fin al cabo, no los entregó de una manera potente. Sí, es cierto de que tiene un guión un poco flojo y que resulta bastante larga (más de 160 minutos) por tanto se podría decir que la primera hora llega a ser un tanto pesada., pero al final toda la acción que nos ofrece y la potente carga de efectos visuales (merecedores de al menos una Nominación al Oscar) logran darle mucha más vida a este largometraje bastante explosivo, por así decirlo.
    Expand
  3. Jul 28, 2014
    8
    I no not why some people are hating on this film as much as they are, in comparison to the other three transformer films this is by far theI no not why some people are hating on this film as much as they are, in comparison to the other three transformer films this is by far the best and most entertaining. Far from perfect, but I would easily watch again. If one can overlook its forced humour and scripted pieces, then you should enjoy it. If you don't, in my opinion, you just went to the wrong cinema screen and now your **** about it. Don't expect 12 years a slave from Transformers guys, its supposed to be this way. Expand
  4. Jul 12, 2014
    5
    Well, look on the bright side, it's better than the other Transformers movies, by far in fact. Although that isn't saying much, Transformers:Well, look on the bright side, it's better than the other Transformers movies, by far in fact. Although that isn't saying much, Transformers: Age Of Extinction is genuinely not an awful, nor even bad film, just a flawed one. Michael Bay, despite common misconception is not an inherently bad film-maker, and although he has his fair share of massive misfires, this movie is less so a trainwreck and more so a misfire on a smaller scale than some of his previous efforts at a Transformers movie. Expand
  5. Sep 27, 2014
    3
    Transformers: Age of Extinction is the king meaningless trash. Unbearable length, endless action sequences, no story at all, way below averageTransformers: Age of Extinction is the king meaningless trash. Unbearable length, endless action sequences, no story at all, way below average acting and a director that simply doesn't understand how to make a film. Expand
  6. Oct 15, 2014
    2
    I swear I've seen this movie 3 other times before...

    This game was hyped by the introduction of the dinobots, but they only make an
    I swear I've seen this movie 3 other times before...

    This game was hyped by the introduction of the dinobots, but they only make an appearance in the last 20 minutes of the film, and barely showcase anything that makes them special or unique.

    So much of this movie makes little sense to me. Like why is Optimus Prime being injured a big deal when all he needs to do is scan a passing truck and become shiny and new again?

    UGH. It pains me that this movie made money. LOTS of money. It means Micheal Bay thinks he did something right, and we are in for another 2 installments of this crap...at least.
    Expand
  7. Apr 29, 2015
    0
    In my opinion, this is the worst out of the entire franchise. This movie has an almost 3 hour run time. The main characters you really don'tIn my opinion, this is the worst out of the entire franchise. This movie has an almost 3 hour run time. The main characters you really don't care about at all. Forced humor, forced romance. This movie just gets really lazy. The CGI in it is really bad and very disappointing. So much product placement as well. This movie is full of Bay-isms. Explosions, racism, product placement, hot extras. It's terrible. They ruined a character that had so much potential, Galvatron. I could go on and on about it. Keeping it short, this movie sucks on every level. The worst one out of the franchise. Expand

See all 283 User Reviews

Trailers