Metascore
32

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 840 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 38
  2. Negative: 21 out of 38
  1. Reviewed by: Drew McWeeny
    Jun 22, 2014
    67
    Age Of Extinction more than delivers on whatever promises Bay makes to an audience at this point. Giant robots. Giant mayhem. Destruction on a global scale. You know what you're in for if you buy a ticket, and Bay seems determined to wear you down with the biggest craziest Transformers movie yet.
  2. Reviewed by: Robbie Collin
    Jun 30, 2014
    60
    Transformers has ambition and attitude in its pores, and spectacle to spare. Bay shoots cars like they’re women, and people like they’re cars, and tosses around metal like it’s made from thin air. The film wasn’t meant to make you think, but it does. For better or worse, it’s cinema.
  3. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Jun 26, 2014
    50
    [A] visually stunning, technically impressive and crushingly dumb and overlong picture.
  4. Reviewed by:  Christopher Borrelli
    Jun 26, 2014
    38
    It is scattered, weightless, impossible to get hold of, and somehow, after seven years and more than 10 hours of screen time, I could not tell you what these films are about.
  5. Reviewed by: Chris Nashawaty
    Jun 27, 2014
    33
    Ultimately, Age of Extinction is an endless barrage of nonsense and noise.
  6. Reviewed by: Clarence Tsui
    Jun 22, 2014
    30
    Belying its ominous title, Age of Extinction barely skirts the idea that humankind and planet Earth are about to be totally annihilated. What is extinguished is the audience's consciousness after being bombarded for nearly three hours with overwrought emotions...bad one-liners and battles that rarely rise above the banal.
  7. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Jun 26, 2014
    0
    The Bay-man has made the worst and most worthless Transformers movie yet. I know, hard to believe, right? How could any summer blockbuster be as dull, dumb and soul-sucking as the first three Transformers movies? Step right up.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 96 out of 297
  1. Jun 28, 2014
    10
    this film is amazing there is no screaming sam wittwickey and the film is badass due to peter cullens performance as optimus prime and athis film is amazing there is no screaming sam wittwickey and the film is badass due to peter cullens performance as optimus prime and a badass villan some people hate this just coz micheal bay made well ill tell you transformers and micheal bay have nothin in common. some peeps dont kno a good movie when they see one 10/10 Expand
  2. Jul 12, 2014
    9
    I loved this movie. Sure, there were a few corny lines here and there, and some obvious toy marketing, but this was just a really fun movie. II loved this movie. Sure, there were a few corny lines here and there, and some obvious toy marketing, but this was just a really fun movie. I haven't really enjoyed much about the other Transformers movies, but with Age of Extinction it feels like Michael Bay has finally learned how to make an actual good movie. I would gladly see this one again.

    Also, Frank Welker voicing the same character he did in the animated series and video games. That blew my socks off. I really want a few good monologues out of him in the next movie!

    To sum it up: This movie FINALLY seems to get the Transformers right on the big screen. This is really a must-see.
    Expand
  3. Jul 28, 2014
    7
    I liked this movie more than others. A plot a bit more polished, and a little' less trivial. Obviously with the usual nonsense from theI liked this movie more than others. A plot a bit more polished, and a little' less trivial. Obviously with the usual nonsense from the blockbuster movie, but all in all with some nice ideas. Expand
  4. Jul 12, 2014
    5
    Well, look on the bright side, it's better than the other Transformers movies, by far in fact. Although that isn't saying much, Transformers:Well, look on the bright side, it's better than the other Transformers movies, by far in fact. Although that isn't saying much, Transformers: Age Of Extinction is genuinely not an awful, nor even bad film, just a flawed one. Michael Bay, despite common misconception is not an inherently bad film-maker, and although he has his fair share of massive misfires, this movie is less so a trainwreck and more so a misfire on a smaller scale than some of his previous efforts at a Transformers movie. Expand
  5. May 1, 2015
    3
    Transformers: Age of Extinction is no doubt a stunning film. Well, it is a Transformers film after all, you know, flashy robots changing fromTransformers: Age of Extinction is no doubt a stunning film. Well, it is a Transformers film after all, you know, flashy robots changing from cars and stuffs. But, just like two of its predecessors, it is a forgettable title even for a standard movie. The story is broken since the first scene, and getting worse by minutes. Pops, some guys jumped in from nowhere and started killing each other, and the action sequences lack awesomeness. Even the robots looked fake, too many redundant details, and ugly as hell. Micheal Bay is getting lazy, and he's not making it right by throw a punch of **** ideas into a "should have been good" film. Expand
  6. Oct 15, 2014
    2
    I swear I've seen this movie 3 other times before...

    This game was hyped by the introduction of the dinobots, but they only make an
    I swear I've seen this movie 3 other times before...

    This game was hyped by the introduction of the dinobots, but they only make an appearance in the last 20 minutes of the film, and barely showcase anything that makes them special or unique.

    So much of this movie makes little sense to me. Like why is Optimus Prime being injured a big deal when all he needs to do is scan a passing truck and become shiny and new again?

    UGH. It pains me that this movie made money. LOTS of money. It means Micheal Bay thinks he did something right, and we are in for another 2 installments of this crap...at least.
    Expand
  7. Jul 13, 2015
    0
    So
    It's boring
    It got (VERY) silly and characters in it **** plot Stupid (also boring to watch) action scenes It's also very long so pain
    So
    It's boring
    It got (VERY) silly and characters in it
    **** plot
    Stupid (also boring to watch) action scenes
    It's also very long so pain meter is x2
    I think if somebody asked me about worst movie you've ever seen, I would say, no doubt, it's Transformers: Age Of Extinction. That's how miserable and pathetic this movie is.
    Expand

See all 297 User Reviews

Trailers