Metascore
42

Mixed or average reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 37
  2. Negative: 8 out of 37
Watch On
  1. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Jun 28, 2011
    80
    As a performance-art act of juvenile Id-fulfillment, it's magnificent.
  2. Reviewed by: Lisa Schwarzbaum
    Jun 28, 2011
    75
    Dark of the Moon is hardly a fleet production, but here Bay makes his best, most flexible use yet of all the flamboyant bigness at his command: Computer-drawn characters and human actors seem to occupy the same narrative for once.
  3. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Jun 28, 2011
    75
    Not rocket science by a moonshot but sporadically dumb fun.
  4. Reviewed by: Stephanie Zacharek
    Jun 28, 2011
    70
    Bay doesn't care about your soul, he just wants your money - but he at least makes sure you go home feeling exhausted and spent rather than vaguely dissatisfied. It's a fair exchange.
  5. Reviewed by: Jaime N. Christley
    Jun 28, 2011
    63
    While I still protest Bay's too-hasty cutting (many shots are good enough to warrant a few extra seconds), his set pieces, and his sets, are magnificently entertaining.
  6. Reviewed by: Roger Moore
    Jun 28, 2011
    63
    Moon delivers the popcorn in gigantic fist-fulls of fun.
User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 906 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 90 out of 313
  1. Sep 18, 2011
    5
    The movie's CGI is very impressive, i'll tell you that. But the movie lacks strong narration to their overly cliched plot and its overwhelmingThe movie's CGI is very impressive, i'll tell you that. But the movie lacks strong narration to their overly cliched plot and its overwhelming explosions and flashes will hurt your eyes. However, the movie's main criticism is the British girl from Victoria's Secret; in all that 157minutes, she does nothing but screaming and staring at the Decepticons like a brainless moron. The next thing I would need is a another popcorn and Megan Fox. Full Review »
  2. Jun 29, 2011
    10
    You better start looking for the red carpet leading to the Oscars because Transformers is sure going to be at it's TECHNICAL end. MichaelYou better start looking for the red carpet leading to the Oscars because Transformers is sure going to be at it's TECHNICAL end. Michael Bay, with all his grace, delivers one of his finest peaces of contemporary cinema up to date. You wouldn't believe it without seeing it. Close to the end of the film, my friend sitting next to me turned at me and whispered: "This is beyond Blockbuster madness". And it made sens. What Bay and his team have achieved is beyond conventional summer movie making. The crafting here is so perfect and detailed that it pushes and redefines the boundaries of film making. From the chilling sound design, to the godlike visual effects, and perfect attention to detail from Bay's part when choosing his shots.
    It's an honest work that re establishes what fun is all about when the lights dim down and the screen springs to life.
    Just... Have fun and don't pay attention to all those lifeless critics who's conceptual fun is merely based on egocentric shallow intellectual show off and pragmatic dismissing of Bay's work. Criticising his editing and shot compositions which are, to a large extent, unique, but welcome.
    Full Review »
  3. Jun 29, 2011
    8
    Transformers 3, action action ACTION, forget about the plot, Transformers 3 is the best action movie! Tons of special effects and sci-fiTransformers 3, action action ACTION, forget about the plot, Transformers 3 is the best action movie! Tons of special effects and sci-fi action that you feel guilty if you blink your eyes once!

    3D will be your main choice seriously, though I still think it's a bit expensive, Transformers 3 really show what 3D effects are capable of!

    I found some parts are not that logic, otherwise Transformers would have win OSCAR!
    Full Review »