Metascore
42

Mixed or average reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 825 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: Transformers: Dark of the Moon features Sam Witwicky taking his first tenuous steps into adulthood while remaining a reluctant human ally of Optimus Prime. The film centers around the space race between the U.S.S.R. and the USA, suggesting there was a hidden Transformers role in it all that remains one of the planet's most dangerous secrets. [DreamWorks Pictures] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 37
  2. Negative: 8 out of 37
  1. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Jun 28, 2011
    80
    As a performance-art act of juvenile Id-fulfillment, it's magnificent.
  2. Reviewed by: Jaime N. Christley
    Jun 28, 2011
    63
    While I still protest Bay's too-hasty cutting (many shots are good enough to warrant a few extra seconds), his set pieces, and his sets, are magnificently entertaining.
  3. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Jun 28, 2011
    50
    Oh, what a hollow experience Dark of the Moon is! Bay is so afraid of boring his audience, he pitches every scene at the same high volume right from the first shot, and the effect is exhausting.
  4. Reviewed by: Liam Lacey
    Jun 28, 2011
    50
    But don't worry about remembering the characters - the movie certainly doesn't.
  5. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Jun 30, 2011
    50
    The scorekeepers at the various sites that rate critics' enthusiasm for a film shouldn't even try to elicit a Pass or Fail grade from me on T3. I'm a fascinated, stupefied outsider. Just mark me Present.
  6. Reviewed by: Chris Hewitt
    Jun 28, 2011
    40
    An improvement on Transformers 2, but then what isn't? To paraphrase the Bard, it's a tale, full of sound and fury and extremely stupid dialogue and nonsensical plotting and preposterous stunts and robots punching each other's heads off, signifying nothing.
  7. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Jun 29, 2011
    0
    Transformers: Dark of the Moon - high on any list of the worst blockbusters ever - is a movie bereft of wit, wonder, imagination, and any genuine reason for being. Watching it makes you die a little inside.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 86 out of 296
  1. Jun 29, 2011
    10
    You better start looking for the red carpet leading to the Oscars because Transformers is sure going to be at it's TECHNICAL end. Michael Bay, with all his grace, delivers one of his finest peaces of contemporary cinema up to date. You wouldn't believe it without seeing it. Close to the end of the film, my friend sitting next to me turned at me and whispered: "This is beyond Blockbuster madness". And it made sens. What Bay and his team have achieved is beyond conventional summer movie making. The crafting here is so perfect and detailed that it pushes and redefines the boundaries of film making. From the chilling sound design, to the godlike visual effects, and perfect attention to detail from Bay's part when choosing his shots.
    It's an honest work that re establishes what fun is all about when the lights dim down and the screen springs to life.
    Just... Have fun and don't pay attention to all those lifeless critics who's conceptual fun is merely based on egocentric shallow intellectual show off and pragmatic dismissing of Bay's work. Criticising his editing and shot compositions which are, to a large extent, unique, but welcome.
    Expand
  2. Oct 6, 2011
    10
    Michael Bay's Transformers 3: Dark of the Moon put to an end (for now)

    By W. Leung Saturday, 24 2011

    Giant robots, exotic cars, and sexy
    woman, Michael Bay's Transformers 3: Dark of the Moon, produced in June 29, 2011, is an action packed with stunning visual effects movie.

    Since this is the final chapter of this Transformers movie trilogy, Michael Bay seek to conclude the stories with the last two movies and produces a fascinating ending of this series. The length of the movie is 157 minutes, which is the longest one in the series.

    Unlike other computer graphics movie, Transformers movie series is based on long life TV animation starting in 1984, which was created by Hasbro and Takara Tomy. The series is about two races of aliensâ
    Expand
  3. Sep 5, 2011
    8
    Michael Bay continues to live on as one of the greatest directors ever known when he joined to turn the toy franchise into a worldwide phenomenon. The first transformers was, in my opinion, an epic film and the sequel "Revenge of the Fallen" was, also in my opinion, almost as good as the first, but at least it was still entertaining. Now, it turns out that Transformers: Dark of the Moon is Michael Bay's final installment of the series (as we already know it) and I think it's actually the right the same plot that we already know about.

    While Sam now works for the Washington DC with his new girlfriend, he and the Autobots learn that a Cybertronian spacecraft is hidden on the Moon and with that in hand, the Decepticons plan to use its secrets and power to bring Cybertron to Earth. With emotional conflicts and fateful sacrifices being made, the Autobots and the humans have another (and presumably) final battle against the Decepticons as you've never seen it before.

    Now that we already know what the plot was about, I'll go to my opinion. The only problem that I had with this movie was the pacing. In the first few minutes of the film, it seems well fast-paced, but near the end of the film, it seems to be very slow. That's it for the bad.

    Everything else turned out great. The action and the CGI effects were impressive once again (seriously, you have no idea when am I going to stop saying that), the acting was entertaining and the science keeps you interested in what's going as most sci-fi action films do. The music score by Steve Jablonsky was amazing and very emotional and the comedy was very hilarious.

    Transformers: Dark of the Moon is almost as good as the first, but just like the previous installment, it was still very entertaining.

    Little known fact: Whether or not a fourth Transformers film would be made, Michael Bay states that he won't be directing it, so it turns out that Steven Spielberg would be directing it. I mean, hey. At least he was the producer of the first two films, so I guess that would be good.

    Long story short, it is amazing and it's worth seeing and if the critics hate it, they'll have to deal with Michael Bay himself.

    8/10
    Expand
  4. Jul 22, 2011
    6
    This is an action packed, Hollywood type movie
    This is a Michael Bay movie indeed. This means there are constant explosions. Yes the plot is
    predictable but I did enjoy this film. This is in my opinion a deeper film than the other transformer films which don't have much of a feeling in any way. I like this movie because in general I like action, great cars and well hot victoria secret models that replaced Megan Fox. This is a good movie if you know what you're going to see. Although the plot, the script, and the premise are indeed terrible, the movie achieves what it is going for: An action packed, special effect, animation film. Expand
  5. Jul 2, 2011
    4
    Transformers 3: Dark of the Moon is (in my eyes) the closest thing to being; beaten, spat on, shouted at and raped in the eyes all in 157 minutes of glittery CGI robot porn without actually being; beaten, spat on, shouted at and raped in the eyes. In all seriousness though the film has some good points that i'll get out of the way first before I continue. First the 3D against my initial pre-conceptions was excellent the best 3D i've ever seen in a film and is by a huge margin the best thing the film has going for itself. But, That's it, That's the only good quality transformers 3 possesses other than the fact that it's better than it's atrocious predecessor; revenge of the fallen. The action is mental as is customary in Michael Bay's films with almost all of Chicago massacred by the end of the film and most of the scenes where someone dies being kinda crap. Fortunately the action is handled in a much more controlled way than the second film with the viewer actually being able to walk out of the cinema without a coma. The plot is pretty much non-existent involving a 60â Expand
  6. Jul 9, 2011
    3
    I liked the Transformers cartoon as a child and I even enjoyed the first two films for what they were: action movies with giant fighting robots. That being said, I found TF3 overly long and boring. It spends too much time following the humans running around and being tossed around. There are few good "giant fighting robots" scenes. It was rather disappointing. Expand
  7. Aug 5, 2011
    0
    Here is a summary of the entire movie: MICHAEL BAY! awwww yeeeeeah explosions! hot girls! robots transforming with annoying sound effects! MICHAEL BAY! explosions! blah blah dark of the moon! pillars! explosions! shia labeouf screaming! shia labeouf shedding a single tear! explosions! pointless dialogue that leads up to an explosion! cool cars! a freeway chase scene with EXPLOSIONS! a super hot British girl! more cool cars! the most embarrassingly unfunny dialogue i have ever heard! MICHAEL BAY! collapsing building! plot holes galore! robots! more unfunny dialogue! epic music! MICHAEL BAY'S SIGNATURE 360 DEGREE EPIC PANNING WIDE ANGLE CAMERA VIEW! explosions! shia labeouf! tyrese gibson saying something dumb! other people that dont matter at all! people jumping out of planes in slow motion! explosions! MICHAEL BAY! epic music! explosions! THE END! Expand

See all 296 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Summer Movie Scorecard: The Best of 2011 So Far

    Summer Movie Scorecard: The Best of 2011 So Far Image
    Published: September 7, 2011
    The summer movie season has officially come to a close, which means that it's time once again to take a look at the quality and financial performance of the films released during the past few months (and the year to date).
  2. Summer Movie Preview: 30 Most-Anticipated Films

    Summer Movie Preview: 30 Most-Anticipated Films Image
    Published: April 26, 2011
    Get details and trailers for the 30 biggest films coming out over the next four months. While you're at it, read about the other 80+ movies heading to theaters this summer in our super-sized preview.