Metascore
42

Mixed or average reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 834 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: Transformers: Dark of the Moon features Sam Witwicky taking his first tenuous steps into adulthood while remaining a reluctant human ally of Optimus Prime. The film centers around the space race between the U.S.S.R. and the USA, suggesting there was a hidden Transformers role in it all that remains one of the planet's most dangerous secrets. [DreamWorks Pictures] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 37
  2. Negative: 8 out of 37
  1. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Jun 28, 2011
    80
    As a performance-art act of juvenile Id-fulfillment, it's magnificent.
  2. Reviewed by: Jaime N. Christley
    Jun 28, 2011
    63
    While I still protest Bay's too-hasty cutting (many shots are good enough to warrant a few extra seconds), his set pieces, and his sets, are magnificently entertaining.
  3. Reviewed by: Rene Rodriguez
    Jun 28, 2011
    50
    Oh, what a hollow experience Dark of the Moon is! Bay is so afraid of boring his audience, he pitches every scene at the same high volume right from the first shot, and the effect is exhausting.
  4. Reviewed by: Liam Lacey
    Jun 28, 2011
    50
    But don't worry about remembering the characters - the movie certainly doesn't.
  5. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Jun 30, 2011
    50
    The scorekeepers at the various sites that rate critics' enthusiasm for a film shouldn't even try to elicit a Pass or Fail grade from me on T3. I'm a fascinated, stupefied outsider. Just mark me Present.
  6. Reviewed by: Chris Hewitt (1)
    Jun 28, 2011
    40
    An improvement on Transformers 2, but then what isn't? To paraphrase the Bard, it's a tale, full of sound and fury and extremely stupid dialogue and nonsensical plotting and preposterous stunts and robots punching each other's heads off, signifying nothing.
  7. Reviewed by: Peter Travers
    Jun 29, 2011
    0
    Transformers: Dark of the Moon - high on any list of the worst blockbusters ever - is a movie bereft of wit, wonder, imagination, and any genuine reason for being. Watching it makes you die a little inside.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 86 out of 299
  1. Jun 29, 2011
    10
    You better start looking for the red carpet leading to the Oscars because Transformers is sure going to be at it's TECHNICAL end. Michael Bay, with all his grace, delivers one of his finest peaces of contemporary cinema up to date. You wouldn't believe it without seeing it. Close to the end of the film, my friend sitting next to me turned at me and whispered: "This is beyond Blockbuster madness". And it made sens. What Bay and his team have achieved is beyond conventional summer movie making. The crafting here is so perfect and detailed that it pushes and redefines the boundaries of film making. From the chilling sound design, to the godlike visual effects, and perfect attention to detail from Bay's part when choosing his shots.
    It's an honest work that re establishes what fun is all about when the lights dim down and the screen springs to life.
    Just... Have fun and don't pay attention to all those lifeless critics who's conceptual fun is merely based on egocentric shallow intellectual show off and pragmatic dismissing of Bay's work. Criticising his editing and shot compositions which are, to a large extent, unique, but welcome.
    Expand
  2. Oct 6, 2011
    10
    Michael Bay's Transformers 3: Dark of the Moon put to an end (for now)

    By W. Leung Saturday, 24 2011

    Giant robots, exotic cars, and sexy
    woman, Michael Bay's Transformers 3: Dark of the Moon, produced in June 29, 2011, is an action packed with stunning visual effects movie.

    Since this is the final chapter of this Transformers movie trilogy, Michael Bay seek to conclude the stories with the last two movies and produces a fascinating ending of this series. The length of the movie is 157 minutes, which is the longest one in the series.

    Unlike other computer graphics movie, Transformers movie series is based on long life TV animation starting in 1984, which was created by Hasbro and Takara Tomy. The series is about two races of aliensâ
    Expand
  3. Jul 1, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Definitely the best of the 3 Transformer movies in my opinion, with moments that created genuine laughs throughout the cinema. Additionally, like any final movie in a trilogy, I walked in knowing that there was going to be tragedy on the autobot side.
    This, along with plenty of close calls made things somewhat unpredictable - yes it was obvious who would win and yes we saw Megatron's attack on Sentinel Prime coming from a hundred miles away, but there were other twists I didn't see coming - Sentinel's betrayal for example came pretty much out of the blue for me, particularly due to the amount of hype that was placed on him being the prior great leader of the Autobots.

    What really egged me were the scientific details, like how Earth wasn't ripped apart by Cybertron's gravity (keeping in mind that at one point the lightbridge stops aiding its arrival, meaning that any anti-gravity fields or whatever should have been off long enough to end the story there and then). Or how the guns of the Autobots appeared majorly inferior to human weapons, despite having a larger calibre, etc. Or how a wire holding 80kg of flesh being thrown around, while rubbing against angular, super-hardened alien metal was able to be cut by a small steel knife. Or how Sam was able to walk away from a crash-landing of a large alien aircraft while being unrestrained and hanging onto the outer hull (which flips multiple times after striking the ground).

    Still, I guess it's just as believable as giant humanoid robots that transform into human vehicles of completely different material (metal alloys =/= leather seats) upon having first scanned them for a couple of seconds.

    Point taken, the movie isn't about realism obviously, but rather action and practical comedy, of which it delivers both. Some have mentioned that it had too much slow motion, but I would prefer that a hundred times over than having cameras and scene change every second while objects across the focal range whiz past, obscuring the action even more. One other gripe I had - is it necessary to have the intro of Linkin Park's Iridescent play 5 or so times throughout the first 2/3 of the movie?
    Expand
  4. Jul 22, 2011
    6
    This is an action packed, Hollywood type movie
    This is a Michael Bay movie indeed. This means there are constant explosions. Yes the plot is
    predictable but I did enjoy this film. This is in my opinion a deeper film than the other transformer films which don't have much of a feeling in any way. I like this movie because in general I like action, great cars and well hot victoria secret models that replaced Megan Fox. This is a good movie if you know what you're going to see. Although the plot, the script, and the premise are indeed terrible, the movie achieves what it is going for: An action packed, special effect, animation film. Expand
  5. Jul 2, 2011
    4
    Transformers 3: Dark of the Moon is (in my eyes) the closest thing to being; beaten, spat on, shouted at and raped in the eyes all in 157 minutes of glittery CGI robot porn without actually being; beaten, spat on, shouted at and raped in the eyes. In all seriousness though the film has some good points that i'll get out of the way first before I continue. First the 3D against my initial pre-conceptions was excellent the best 3D i've ever seen in a film and is by a huge margin the best thing the film has going for itself. But, That's it, That's the only good quality transformers 3 possesses other than the fact that it's better than it's atrocious predecessor; revenge of the fallen. The action is mental as is customary in Michael Bay's films with almost all of Chicago massacred by the end of the film and most of the scenes where someone dies being kinda crap. Fortunately the action is handled in a much more controlled way than the second film with the viewer actually being able to walk out of the cinema without a coma. The plot is pretty much non-existent involving a 60â Expand
  6. Jul 9, 2011
    3
    3D and IMAX versions are not worth the extra money. Some movies you have to watch it in 3D and only in 3D like "Avatar" but unfortunately "Transformers: Dark Of the Moon" does not go in this category. It just didn't have that extra WOW factor. 3D felt more like an after thought. The Plot: The lead human character, "Sam Witwicky" seemed more like a desperate 40 year old virgin then a hero who saved the world TWICE. He was more concerned with saving a girl which is just met then actually saving the world. Poor guy... it seemed like he was still recovering from his break up with Megan Fox Oops meant to say Mikaela Banes. By the way the new girl has nothing on Megan Fox. Too bad Katy Perry isn't much into acting (yet), she would had made a wonderful replacement for Megan Fox. The movie ran for 2 hours and 37 minutes but it felt like it ran for 5 hours. This movie could not end fast enough for me. This movie was not all bad. The action was what you expected of a Transformer's movie. I like how they incorporated the lunar landings into the mix and the gamer in me liked the 3rd person shooter bit they had towards the end of the movie. We NEED fresh eyes and fresh minds for the 4th installment (if there is one) Expand
  7. Aug 5, 2011
    0
    Here is a summary of the entire movie: MICHAEL BAY! awwww yeeeeeah explosions! hot girls! robots transforming with annoying sound effects! MICHAEL BAY! explosions! blah blah dark of the moon! pillars! explosions! shia labeouf screaming! shia labeouf shedding a single tear! explosions! pointless dialogue that leads up to an explosion! cool cars! a freeway chase scene with EXPLOSIONS! a super hot British girl! more cool cars! the most embarrassingly unfunny dialogue i have ever heard! MICHAEL BAY! collapsing building! plot holes galore! robots! more unfunny dialogue! epic music! MICHAEL BAY'S SIGNATURE 360 DEGREE EPIC PANNING WIDE ANGLE CAMERA VIEW! explosions! shia labeouf! tyrese gibson saying something dumb! other people that dont matter at all! people jumping out of planes in slow motion! explosions! MICHAEL BAY! epic music! explosions! THE END! Expand

See all 299 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Summer Movie Scorecard: The Best of 2011 So Far

    Summer Movie Scorecard: The Best of 2011 So Far Image
    Published: September 7, 2011
    The summer movie season has officially come to a close, which means that it's time once again to take a look at the quality and financial performance of the films released during the past few months (and the year to date).
  2. Summer Movie Preview: 30 Most-Anticipated Films

    Summer Movie Preview: 30 Most-Anticipated Films Image
    Published: April 26, 2011
    Get details and trailers for the 30 biggest films coming out over the next four months. While you're at it, read about the other 80+ movies heading to theaters this summer in our super-sized preview.