User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1357 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 5, 2011
    2
    The original Transformers was a flawed movie, sure, but it was very fun with a decent script to make Transformers fit into the modern age of Blockbusters. Transformers Revenge of the Fallen, however, is a mix of computer generated effects, pots and pans clashing together, and vomit. The movie is a mess, from a horrible script, to annoying characters, to mindless explosions and action.The original Transformers was a flawed movie, sure, but it was very fun with a decent script to make Transformers fit into the modern age of Blockbusters. Transformers Revenge of the Fallen, however, is a mix of computer generated effects, pots and pans clashing together, and vomit. The movie is a mess, from a horrible script, to annoying characters, to mindless explosions and action. Revenge of the Fallen took what worked in the first movie, made those aspects not work as well, and for the aspects that didn't work, made them a thousand times worse! Expand
  2. JonD.
    Jul 1, 2009
    0
    Just read the comments of those who gave it a 10. "The girls were hot." "Robots blew stuff up." "There were lots of awesome swear words." "The mom ate pot brownies." "The chihuahua was humping a bigger dog (twice)." If those things sound like something you would be interested in, keep in mind, those were the HIGH points of the movien, then by all means, go for it. I actually liked the Just read the comments of those who gave it a 10. "The girls were hot." "Robots blew stuff up." "There were lots of awesome swear words." "The mom ate pot brownies." "The chihuahua was humping a bigger dog (twice)." If those things sound like something you would be interested in, keep in mind, those were the HIGH points of the movien, then by all means, go for it. I actually liked the first one and the action was actually quite good, but 0 to counteract all those artifical 10s. Expand
  3. JonH.
    Jun 24, 2009
    1
    Somehow much worse then the first one. Somehow.
  4. Aug 27, 2010
    0
    The other day I thought about watching this movie again and got a sour taste in my mouth that I had to wash away with garlic fries and soda. The sad part is that I've known people to pay and watch this movie at least 4 times IN THEATER.
  5. MichaelBay
    Jul 2, 2009
    2
    If you can easily check your brain at the door (after counting out the price of the ticket, of course) then Transformers: Revenge Of The Fallen is for you.
    Loads of special effects, some juvenile "humor" and not much else will undoubtedly entertain, unless you tend to want more than a series of explosions with no reason behind them.
  6. SeanF.
    Apr 6, 2010
    0
    Awful. There is simply nothing to redeem this film. Where do I begin to describe how thoroughly unpleasant an experience it was to watch this movie! From the very beginning one of the biggest problems is Bays inability to keep the camera static for even a second. The worst example of this is in a scene early on in the movie in which Sam and Mikaela are stood talking to each other in a Awful. There is simply nothing to redeem this film. Where do I begin to describe how thoroughly unpleasant an experience it was to watch this movie! From the very beginning one of the biggest problems is Bays inability to keep the camera static for even a second. The worst example of this is in a scene early on in the movie in which Sam and Mikaela are stood talking to each other in a romantic embrace, this had potential to be a romantic and engaging moment in an otherwise emotionally barren film, however Bay has the camera doing 360 degree whirls all over the place, completely ruining the moment. This is also true for the fights between the robots, when metal meets metal it Collapse
  7. JustusC
    Oct 19, 2009
    0
    This movie was so bad that it made me enjoy the first one. I thought the first one was a bad movie. But now I can aprreciate the original for this turd of a movie.
  8. ChrisC
    Jun 25, 2009
    3
    Final Review of Transformers. Overlong, under-plotted, no character development, and the fight scenes were shot badly. Predictable, not even a little bit fun. Only humor was racial stereotyped robots. That got old fast. And more plot holes than i could count. HUGE DISAPPOINTMENT. I loved the first one but this was one movie I considered walking out of.
  9. VicR.
    Jun 27, 2009
    1
    Typical Michael Bay tripe. Went because my son wanted to see it on IMAX. Sorry I spent any money on it. No thought required, just excessive overly crafted CGI battle after battle. Loud, obnoxious, pointless. The acting was extremely poor, the story almost impossible to ascertain, the jokes were very tasteless and near racially offensive. As someone who grew up with Transformers during my Typical Michael Bay tripe. Went because my son wanted to see it on IMAX. Sorry I spent any money on it. No thought required, just excessive overly crafted CGI battle after battle. Loud, obnoxious, pointless. The acting was extremely poor, the story almost impossible to ascertain, the jokes were very tasteless and near racially offensive. As someone who grew up with Transformers during my youth, all I can say is Bay's interpretation of the franchise is a complete travesty. Is this the future of "blockbusters"? Films where you pay $10 to shut off your brain at the door and go "oo, pretty lights" for two and a half hours? If so, count me out. Expand
  10. JeffG
    Jun 30, 2009
    1
    We paid for a movie but
  11. MaxB
    Oct 20, 2009
    2
    I love robots blowing each other up. And Meagan Fox is a huge plus, but this movie is terrible. It really could not have been any worse. The beginning for slightly interesting, then the whole thing after about 45 minutes goes down hill. The last hour is mind numbingly boring.
  12. mikes
    Jun 25, 2009
    0
    Worst movie of the summer. If you are expecting 150 minutes of special effects with no story or characters then you will not be disappointed. Not suitable for young kids as there is animal copulation, foul language and offensive racial stereotypes. For shame Mr Speilberg, you have lost the plot big time.
  13. BenA
    Jun 27, 2009
    0
    There are some movies that get better after you watch it a 2nd time. Maybe you missed a crucial bit of info or didn't understand some scenes. Transformers 2 is not one of those movies. Because I have a child who missed our first sitting, I've been forced back in to see it again, and frankly, I feel like I've been robbed twice!!!
  14. VinnyM
    Jun 27, 2009
    0
    All these 9-10 score reviews are probably the same 2 fanboy-losers in their moms basement (hey man! let's go online and keep posting how awesome this movie is!). Just go up the page a bit and look at the reviews. Read any review not written by a 17-year old boy whose testicles just dropped last week, and it is negative because this movie is just terrible. Just awful. If you like this All these 9-10 score reviews are probably the same 2 fanboy-losers in their moms basement (hey man! let's go online and keep posting how awesome this movie is!). Just go up the page a bit and look at the reviews. Read any review not written by a 17-year old boy whose testicles just dropped last week, and it is negative because this movie is just terrible. Just awful. If you like this movie, do the world a favor and hide somewhere please. And never speak. Expand
  15. BigfatTon
    Jun 28, 2009
    0
    Quite possibly the worst movie I've seen in years. Racism and ingnorance about drugs aside, the cinematography and writing were terrible. And I actually enjoyed the first one.
  16. SergioJ
    Jun 28, 2009
    0
    If there was a -10 rating I would give that to this movie. Fiasco of the century.
  17. helpU
    Jul 19, 2009
    0
    Hey film studios lets take a ridiculously crappy actor... Say Shia LaBeuyfe That played in the worst channel that was ever on television... Say Disney. With the most ridiculous roles.... Say He plays a retard in a Disney channel movie and a poor comedy show as well... Wait its coming to me. And put him in everyone's action nostalgia movie. In which he just waters down all the good Hey film studios lets take a ridiculously crappy actor... Say Shia LaBeuyfe That played in the worst channel that was ever on television... Say Disney. With the most ridiculous roles.... Say He plays a retard in a Disney channel movie and a poor comedy show as well... Wait its coming to me. And put him in everyone's action nostalgia movie. In which he just waters down all the good qualities that this movie can have... Say Transformers. Also, lets make the movie without an interesting/engaging story, so that his role is, in fact, meaningless. Sounds like it will be a hit. Expand
  18. JayK
    Jul 24, 2009
    0
    When my NINE year old nephew looked up at me and said "This movie is very baaaaad. When will it end?" You know this is a horrible movie.
  19. Sep 21, 2010
    2
    Why is it that all these 2 1/2 hour long Michael Bay films feel like they're 4 or 5 hours long? It never ends with the and badly edited action scenes full of clunky-CGI , and the terrible humor, the incomprehensible plot, and the shallow characters both human and robot that I could never care much about. It goes on and on and on, and was overstaying it's welcome for me at about the hourWhy is it that all these 2 1/2 hour long Michael Bay films feel like they're 4 or 5 hours long? It never ends with the and badly edited action scenes full of clunky-CGI , and the terrible humor, the incomprehensible plot, and the shallow characters both human and robot that I could never care much about. It goes on and on and on, and was overstaying it's welcome for me at about the hour mark. There are few amusing moments, some sparks of a decent special effects scene, but for the most part it's just a bunch mindless dribble that serves no purpose I can think of, not even on the basic level of entertainment for anyone above the age of 14 or so. Expand
  20. Aug 25, 2011
    0
    Frankly, how bad could it be? Critics rip it to shreds, calling dumb, loud, and stupid, but it's a movie about giant robots smashing each other, so what did you expect? I expect Michael Bay to acknowledge that humans traditionally have brains. That's the problem with Transformers 2. You can complain all you want about the racist robots, the lame dialogue, the annoying human characters, andFrankly, how bad could it be? Critics rip it to shreds, calling dumb, loud, and stupid, but it's a movie about giant robots smashing each other, so what did you expect? I expect Michael Bay to acknowledge that humans traditionally have brains. That's the problem with Transformers 2. You can complain all you want about the racist robots, the lame dialogue, the annoying human characters, and overstuffed action sequences, but it all comes down to one central problem. Yes, we all expected Transformers 2 to be loud, dumb, and stupid. The problem is that it is simply TOO loud, dumb, and stupid. It is loud, dumb, and stupid to the degree that it actually feels insulting as you watch it. The anger that possessed me during Transformers 2 was almost too much to bear. The idea that Michael Bay actually thinks we as a human race will tolerate something this stupid. Expand
  21. DaveB
    Jan 9, 2010
    0
    This movie is as dumb as paint.
  22. VitorS.
    Oct 20, 2009
    3
    This movie looks good, but that's the only achievement it gets. Everything else about it plainly sucks and it is hard to recommend this movie to anyone, even elder kids.
  23. SimonM.
    Jun 24, 2009
    1
    The first was OK, the second put me to sleep. (literally, my lady friend said I was snoring :P )
  24. KevinH
    Jun 25, 2009
    2
    Plenty of action for a summer movie, the two hour plus movie promises to fill your time with plenty of random explosions and mindless acting. My biggest problem with the movie is the overplayed humping jokes, references to the male genitiles, and language. I would not take a kid under 13 to this movie however plenty of parents brought their 5 and 6 year olds. It disturbing to hear a 4 Plenty of action for a summer movie, the two hour plus movie promises to fill your time with plenty of random explosions and mindless acting. My biggest problem with the movie is the overplayed humping jokes, references to the male genitiles, and language. I would not take a kid under 13 to this movie however plenty of parents brought their 5 and 6 year olds. It disturbing to hear a 4 year old kid laugh at robots calling each other and humans b**ch, using the word p*ssy, and s*it. If you don't care about what morales you kids learn from movies then this is for you. I'm sad because I don't remember the first one being so bad. Expand
  25. WilliamW.
    Jun 24, 2009
    0
    Over two hours of non-stop mayhem, but in a bad way. Michael Bay clearly does not care one bit about story, character or good humour. His only concern is for shiny metal and skin, big bangs and SFX budgets through the roof. The man is a menace to modern cinema. Probably the most mind numbingly dumb film I have seen since Batman & Robin.
  26. JasonSmith
    Jun 30, 2009
    2
    Too long and boring. Megan Fox is nice to look at, but that was about it. Trust the reviews and don't waste your money.
  27. Jan 13, 2011
    0
    This movie sucks optimus prime's balls, and the storyline is crap. Who would in their right mind watch a long ass movie that only thing that made this movie alot of money is Megan Fox and great graphics.
  28. Jul 3, 2013
    3
    Revenge of the Fallen is beyond stupid with some of the dumbest characters ever put on screen. Acting was pitiful. Story complete garbage, if there was even one, coupled with racism everywhere in the film. Nothing could be worst for Michael bay who has just added another terrible movie to his resume.
  29. Nov 7, 2012
    0
    Another witless attempt at moviemaking from the always terrible Michael Bay. The first Transformers wasn't even that bad, at least not until the end, but this plotless recreation is a complete disaster. It could be the worst movie of the past twenty years.
  30. Sep 18, 2011
    4
    "Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen" lacks the mind-blowing blockbuster spirit "Transformers" originally had. All you can see is messy clunky robots fighting with amazingly terrible cinematography followed by a brainlessly written script.
  31. Sep 4, 2010
    0
    This is, without exaggeration, the absolute worst movie I have seen in the last ten years. Not only because it's a million kinds of awful, but because of what it represents. Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen symbolizes not just everything condescending, cynical, and soulless in Hollywood, it stands as a testament to sub-crustal standards and the triumph of a strong marketing campaignThis is, without exaggeration, the absolute worst movie I have seen in the last ten years. Not only because it's a million kinds of awful, but because of what it represents. Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen symbolizes not just everything condescending, cynical, and soulless in Hollywood, it stands as a testament to sub-crustal standards and the triumph of a strong marketing campaign over effort, talent and vision. Batman and Robin has been dethroned. Expand
  32. MasteR.
    May 16, 2010
    2
    Let me start off by saying I've enjoyed the first for what it was but most of this film made me literally angry, it was so fucking shit. The dialogue/ characters was disastrous, Uwe Boll looks like a genius next to this fucking moron and 90% of the time in the fighting scenes I couldn't even tell WHY there were explosions and it just seemed like a shit load of metal sounds. Let me start off by saying I've enjoyed the first for what it was but most of this film made me literally angry, it was so fucking shit. The dialogue/ characters was disastrous, Uwe Boll looks like a genius next to this fucking moron and 90% of the time in the fighting scenes I couldn't even tell WHY there were explosions and it just seemed like a shit load of metal sounds. It's also odd how the robots acted so much like humans in the way they fight/ act/ talk. I didn't pick up on that the first film but I did here, probably because there is much more dialogue scenes and so on which were NOT needed and yeah, just literally pissed me off over how dumb they were. Oh and when an old robot is re-activated he has a beard and a walking cane WHAT THE FUCK!? Fucking ridiculous movie that highlights everything wrong with American culture. The mom character especially. oh.my.fucking.god, she was so fucking terrible, I just wanted to stick a chainsaw in someone's eye. And no you can't say "lol just go in it and have some fun", that WAS my attitude before it started pissing me off with scene after scene of absurd idiocy. The humour pisses me off just thinking about it...When the dad slaps the mother's ass, the main douchebag guy says "hey watch it, this isn't a rap video"....Yeah...wow. And the way he says it adds to the annoyance. The effects were spectacular, I'd give it that. I loved when robots got sliced you could literally see very inch of metal, wires and whatever come apart and that was about all I've enjoyed along with some of the action scenes. And the overall story was kind of interesting if it was told better but it wasn't and unfortunately the great story that seemed to be in there just couldn't come out under such retarded direction which is a huge shame. 2/10. Expand
  33. Feb 17, 2011
    5
    The first Transformers was enjoyable, fill with action and hot Megan Fox, but unrealistic, repetitive segments and dumb humor, I rate that one: 6.8/10. The Tranformers cast and crew return for another adventure, overall don't waste your money buying this, it's a fair rental movie to kill the night. In this one, everything is repeated with added negativity. The enjoyable story from the lastThe first Transformers was enjoyable, fill with action and hot Megan Fox, but unrealistic, repetitive segments and dumb humor, I rate that one: 6.8/10. The Tranformers cast and crew return for another adventure, overall don't waste your money buying this, it's a fair rental movie to kill the night. In this one, everything is repeated with added negativity. The enjoyable story from the last one gets replaced by just focusing on hot, but terrible actor Megan Fox and so called "Mr. Hotshot" Shia LeBeouf who is more worst at acting. 100% unrealistic, repetitive segments and sayings and the ending turns into some kind of soap opera. I rate this one: 5.5/10 Somebody please fire Michael Bay. Expand
  34. RafaR
    Jul 1, 2009
    2
    This is not a movie, this is a scene from a video game that ran a half hour too long. Beautiful visuals paired with the lowest common denominator of what is supposed to be a script.
  35. JesseT
    Oct 5, 2009
    2
    This movie was pathetic. All it is, is the attempt to glorify the military power of the US, which are basically impotent to what ever battle the transformers are engaged in. I can't believe that the decepticons are so inaccurate with there weapons? and how Sam seems to outrun them every time and never the need for a sip of water? This movie doesn't deserve taking up HD space.
  36. RobD
    Jun 24, 2009
    3
    One of the most worst sequels I've seen in a long time. See it and be bored out of your mind.
  37. Oct 9, 2010
    0
    i hated this movie. absolutely terrible. wether its the absolutely terrible "humor" sequences, the obscured, boring fights, or the stereotyped robots, there isnt a single redeeming quality in this "blockbuster sequel" of a movie and deserves nothing but 0 as a movie, and as a form of an example of a terrible movie.
  38. Anon
    Jun 24, 2009
    3
    The low point in a lackluster directing career. Transformers: rotf fails on almost... no every level imaginable. Poor acting (slow motion running + screaming random names), terrible design (transformer fights end up looking like scrap metal in a pile rolling), offensive and painful attempts at comedy (haha the hip hop autobots can't read and have gold teeth what a knee slapper.), and The low point in a lackluster directing career. Transformers: rotf fails on almost... no every level imaginable. Poor acting (slow motion running + screaming random names), terrible design (transformer fights end up looking like scrap metal in a pile rolling), offensive and painful attempts at comedy (haha the hip hop autobots can't read and have gold teeth what a knee slapper.), and a barely there plot all help this 2 hr 27 min dud sink to the bottom of the barrel. If you've seen the trailer you have seen more than enough. Expand
  39. Sep 3, 2010
    0
    I can't remember the last time I desparately wanted to walk out of a movie. I felt cheated and insulted by this movie. It's offending to even think that they consider this entertainment, what-more, to charge a full ticket price of this garbage.
  40. Feb 8, 2012
    6
    The plot was insanely stupid and honestly I felt insulted that they would put something so dumb into script form. The special effects are good (as expected). The cast was solid overall (yes even Megan Fox was fine). It was funny as well, Little bits of humor added through out that imo worked well for the film. It wasnt as bad as the critics say but it wasnt good either.
  41. Aug 20, 2010
    0
    Michael Bay strikes again. Again and again and again and again.

    For this review, I am only going to say four words: Noise. Confusion. Megan. Noise. That is all this movie is about. There is not much else to say. Transformers 1 was pretty decent for a horrible director but this is a piece of one big **** Nothing about this movie was good. Not even Megan Fox because she cannot act. Shia
    Michael Bay strikes again. Again and again and again and again.

    For this review, I am only going to say four words: Noise. Confusion. Megan. Noise.

    That is all this movie is about. There is not much else to say. Transformers 1 was pretty decent for a horrible director but this is a piece of one big **** Nothing about this movie was good. Not even Megan Fox because she cannot act. Shia LeBeouf looks neurotic, the Transformers look like trash toys now, and the story sucks. Michael Bay, you have failed...for the umpteenth time.
    Expand
  42. KurtB
    Jun 25, 2009
    3
    This movie from start to finish was the most god-awful thing I've ever seen in my entire life. We had some good action, but when it really came down to it, ROTF fell way short of it's predecessor. I'll break it down into plus and minuses. + More Transformers + More action sequences full of ridiculous explosions + Optimus Prime finally does something Now for the minuses. This movie from start to finish was the most god-awful thing I've ever seen in my entire life. We had some good action, but when it really came down to it, ROTF fell way short of it's predecessor. I'll break it down into plus and minuses. + More Transformers + More action sequences full of ridiculous explosions + Optimus Prime finally does something Now for the minuses. -Horribly racist transformers (the twins) -Worst love story in the history of movies -Dumb side-character who gets picked up and doesn't shut up the entire movie -Toilet humor... Really? Did we need more of that? -Certain transformers get way too much screen time -Sam screams "BUMBLEBEE!" and "OPTIMUS!" The entire movie -Worst plot devices ever used. -At one point Sam's hand gets magically bandaged and there's no explanation behind it. -Horrible Dialogue, and terrible story. As you can see, there are way too many minuses. I left A LOT out, but hey, don't take my word for it. I didn't buy any stock in what review after review had warned me about. I saw it, and this is one time I do agree with critics. If you want to have your mind numbed and your ear drums blown, then by all means this is the movie for you. If you can't sit through 2:40 minutes of nothing happening (except in the middle and end of the movie), and want something more, then skip this terrible excuse for anything resembling a movie. I'd rather watch Wolverine again. Expand
  43. AlecB
    Jun 30, 2009
    5
    Transformers Revenge of the Fallen is the most dissapointing movie of the summer by far. I never agree with critics ( there overpaid assholes to me) but the movie is far from being good. The plot.? There is no Plot. Most of the Autobots and Decepticons are annoying and stupid, Especially those too black wanna be robots. And worst of all. THE MOVIE IS BORING!. You wait a good hour or so to Transformers Revenge of the Fallen is the most dissapointing movie of the summer by far. I never agree with critics ( there overpaid assholes to me) but the movie is far from being good. The plot.? There is no Plot. Most of the Autobots and Decepticons are annoying and stupid, Especially those too black wanna be robots. And worst of all. THE MOVIE IS BORING!. You wait a good hour or so to actually start getting into it. Then when the actions on and your gaining interest it ends but so abrutly. I encourage everybody to go see for yourself as it is the most anticapted sequel this year, but dont be expecting high hopes. Expand
  44. Aug 27, 2010
    0
    I hated this movie! HATED,HATED,HATED,HATED,HATED THIS MOVIE! IT'S GODAWFUL! IT'S A CURSE,I MEAN IT IS SO SAINT IN HELL! Michael Bay destroy this movie and raping with lots of sexuality and some stereotypes in this horrible movie! HATED!!!
  45. Mar 30, 2011
    0
    If you liked this movie, then what the **** is the matter with you? You must be a ****ing idiot to like this piece of **** I already ****ing hate you if you like it. **** Michael Bay, **** Shia Lebeouf, **** Megan Fox, **** Spielberg, just **** everybody that had anything to do with this **** Even a pizza guy. **** THIS MOVIE!!!!!!!
  46. Nov 5, 2010
    0
    There are so many flaws with this movie i wanna put a knife through my chest. But ill kepp it short.

    Its boring, not about transformers, and horribly acted and directed.

    And finally the made SOUNDWAVe a SATELITE, that in its self is a sin.
  47. KeirB.
    Jul 26, 2009
    2
    I'm being nice giving this a 2. Only because of the somewhat impressive Visual Effects. It's most likely the worst film on 2009. Anybody that would rate this film a 7 or higher is either a child or incredibly stupid.
  48. Feb 16, 2012
    3
    Bad storyline. Decent to bad acting. Horrible storyline. Even the special effects (which really aren't that good) can't save this one.
  49. DerekM.
    Jul 1, 2009
    10
    If you didn't like this movie there is no hope for happiness in your life.
  50. Sep 19, 2010
    3
    An absolutely horrible film. Michael Bay should be ashamed that he isn't capable of toning down his over-the-top action, concentrating a LITTLE on the story and, when doing a film marketed to kids, leave out all of the sex, drug and racist material.
  51. Oct 4, 2010
    5
    Firstly, the special effects are incredible and (most) of the action absolutely thrilling, however there is too much of it! This is one film which you really notice the length of while watching it. The humour wasn't very funny either. I loved the first film, but this was very average and it seems a waste of such a huge budget.
  52. KostasM
    Sep 4, 2009
    10
    A blast from start to finish. Intense, brutal, massive, lasting mech batles with outstanding sound audio and video effects that build upon it's predecessor. A must-see for any transformers' geek and a pretty entertaining movie for any other kind of geek or action movie fans.
  53. Feb 10, 2011
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen is for the most part is what I would have expected from a big budget movie about giant robots beating the sh** out of each other while causing maximum carnage to civilisation. The design of the transformers and the transformations from robot to vehicle mode and vice versa are visually stunning and most of them (especially Optimus Prime and Megatron) are nicely voiced. Megatron is a still a bad ass! Optimus Primes personally is portrayed very well: He's wise and a natual leader. This movie has got pretty much everything an action movie needs: explosions, brawls between the transformers and giant monuments (like pyramids and buildings) and objects blowing up and tumbling down to Earth with a thud. In short this movie is massive in scope with loads of actions scenes. Because this is a movie with a load of fast paced action scenes, this is a movie that needs to be enjoyed on a big cinema style TV with good speakers. The plot is a little bit of a mess: the movie revolves around Sam Whitwicky and he has some information about an energon source hidden on Earth and the nasty transformers (the Deceptions) want to get their hands on him so they can locate it. It follows on from the first Transformers movie and all of the Autobots have taken refuge on Earth searching for what's left of their Deception foes. The biggest trouble with this movie is that there's too much humour in this movie. The transformers, the Twins are pretty much there for the hysterical factor and I don't give a damn about them. They are annoying and clumsy and besides one scene in the movie, don't really help at all. The unnecessarily unfunny scene where Wheelie (a transformer that transforms into a remote control truck) dry humps Mikaela was just wrong. The character Leo was pointless to the storyline. The story at first may seem serious and tense (especially towards the middle of the movie where the Fallen lands on Earth) but the humour dampens the plot. Starscream (the Decepticon, 2nd in command after Megatron) acts like a coward and has a really weird voice; I mean, what happened to his robotic voice from the first movie. It sounded awesome! I guess his voice does fit his character a little bit because he doesn't seem to get involved in too many battles. He watches from the side lines while Megatron and the Fallen do all the heavy stuff (fighting). He's a little bit of a coward basically. Devestator which looks so bad ass and looks like he could level an entire city due to his massive size is only on screen for 30 seconds! I wished he just eat the Twins, spit them out and then play football with them. The Fallen (the main baddie) may seem dangerous looking at him with his skeleton like appearance, spikes protruding out of his body, his ability to teleport and his huge staff but he gets his ass kicked by Optimus Prime at the end in about 40 seconds; so much for an epic finale. I also love Optimus Prime's manners: He's weak and defenceless and can't get up to fight and the injured Jetfire (who is a old cronk by the way) offers him his parts. He sacrifices his parts to Optimus and Optimus now has the strength to fight the Fallen. Optimus doesn't say thank you to Jetfire. He acknowledges Sam for resurrecting him but doesn't thank a old deception (Jetfire) for sacrificing himself to save him. How selfish! On the outside, Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen may seem a fun action movie, I couldn't take it too seriously due to unnecessarily humour and pointless characters. It's watchable but I prefer the first Transformers. Expand
  54. michaelm
    Oct 3, 2009
    10
    First, I believe the transformers franchise is amazing because of how live;y the machines are and the ability to become any of earth's technology. The second installment of transformers was amazing form the beginning to end. And yet it got such a horrible review. The story line of the movie is more action pack than that of the t.v series. As many of us know, the matrix was a First, I believe the transformers franchise is amazing because of how live;y the machines are and the ability to become any of earth's technology. The second installment of transformers was amazing form the beginning to end. And yet it got such a horrible review. The story line of the movie is more action pack than that of the t.v series. As many of us know, the matrix was a important item of the series. Michael Bay turned it from a bad ass story line of primes fighting on of their own and protecting it to optimus revealing it in the transformers movie (1986). It deserves a ten and two more movies featuring the dinobots. Expand
  55. LandonF.
    Jun 24, 2009
    10
    This movie was better than the original. Yes it was super Bay-tatstic over the top action... But thats what this movie IS, an action movie with giant robots. All the stupid cheese humor was (mostly) cut out this time in favor of slightly more adult themes. And the few scenes that I thought were going to just be horrible turned out well. See it if you like: Giant robots, Action, Optimus This movie was better than the original. Yes it was super Bay-tatstic over the top action... But thats what this movie IS, an action movie with giant robots. All the stupid cheese humor was (mostly) cut out this time in favor of slightly more adult themes. And the few scenes that I thought were going to just be horrible turned out well. See it if you like: Giant robots, Action, Optimus Prime shanking Decepticons, Megan Foxx and mostly adult humor. Expand
  56. MattB
    Jun 24, 2009
    10
    Critics, obviosly still dont seem to release what average people like, evryone likes the tear jerkin stories that have an Oscar winning plot, but the average person also needs the thrill and excitment of intense movies like transformers, well i admit its not as good as the first, I still give it a ten though because everyone other than the critics gave this movie a 7 or /10 and anyone Critics, obviosly still dont seem to release what average people like, evryone likes the tear jerkin stories that have an Oscar winning plot, but the average person also needs the thrill and excitment of intense movies like transformers, well i admit its not as good as the first, I still give it a ten though because everyone other than the critics gave this movie a 7 or /10 and anyone that comes to this site will be turned away from this must watch. Expand
  57. GuyT.
    Jun 24, 2009
    10
    Loud, Spectacular, Dumb and Fun - everything I wanted from a Summer Blockbuster. People need to get a grip and stop bitching that a Michael Bay film is too loud and too over the top - it's what he does and what he does well!
  58. nickr
    Jun 25, 2009
    10
    Seems. To me every low score on here seems to have michael bay mentioned so my question to all you baqy haters out there is this.sense you most likley knew bay was at the helm of this movie and you think he is satan then why did you even go to the movie? Guess you all showed him you know by handing over your money.anyway great movie as long as you know what your going to be seeing witch Seems. To me every low score on here seems to have michael bay mentioned so my question to all you baqy haters out there is this.sense you most likley knew bay was at the helm of this movie and you think he is satan then why did you even go to the movie? Guess you all showed him you know by handing over your money.anyway great movie as long as you know what your going to be seeing witch is insane bot battlles explosions and great cgi Expand
  59. MarkP
    Jun 25, 2009
    10
    The most amazing film I've seen in ages - ignore the bad reviews from critics justifying their job - if you simply want to be entertained and amazed, go see it.
  60. NeilT
    Jun 25, 2009
    10
    Dont listen to the critics, this film is awesome! It had loads of laughs and an overflowing bucket of action! The fight sequences were incredible, the attention to detail was improved. I dont think ive ever come out of a cinema with my jaw hanging, until i saw this. It is seriously good! Whether your a transformers fan or not, if you love movies with some butt kicking ass action of the Dont listen to the critics, this film is awesome! It had loads of laughs and an overflowing bucket of action! The fight sequences were incredible, the attention to detail was improved. I dont think ive ever come out of a cinema with my jaw hanging, until i saw this. It is seriously good! Whether your a transformers fan or not, if you love movies with some butt kicking ass action of the highest calber, see this!! Expand
  61. RazvanT
    Jun 25, 2009
    10
    Again i do not understand how could the critics not like the movie. Is it because of the incredible graphic effects ? Is it because of Megan's hotness ? because it sure isn't because of the acting, nor the storyline. Everything was fantastic and another job well done by Michael Bay and the crew. Well done.
  62. MikeK
    Jun 29, 2009
    10
    A $200 million opening weekend shows what people think of the critics. Great movie!
  63. Jun 3, 2011
    10
    WHY?! why does this movie have such bad reviews? This movie was epic and amazing. I know it was rushed because of the writers strike and all, but this is Transformers. Anybody watch the original cartoon? It was cheesy, had cheesy humor, but it was awesome, best show ever. This movie went back to the original cartoon with the comedy and action, and the on-going rivalry between Megatron andWHY?! why does this movie have such bad reviews? This movie was epic and amazing. I know it was rushed because of the writers strike and all, but this is Transformers. Anybody watch the original cartoon? It was cheesy, had cheesy humor, but it was awesome, best show ever. This movie went back to the original cartoon with the comedy and action, and the on-going rivalry between Megatron and Optimus. This movie even had soundwave with Ravage too. I am an absolutely diehard Transformers fan and whoever gave this movie a bad review is just blind, deaf or plain old stupid, because this movie was epic. ALOT of action, traditional Transformers story, and good acting from Shia Labeouf, yes I know Megan Fox is a terrible actress but shes absolutely beautiful. Thats mainly what shes there for. This movie was amazing, funny, and EPIC! I love Transformers, I can't wait for the third! 100/10! Expand
  64. Jan 26, 2011
    10
    The story was weak and the humor was just plain silly. But having said that, it is one of my favorite movies. Here's why. The presentation of this movie is flawless. The action is perfect and dazzling. Explosions and metal pieces galore. Many scenes, especially the forest fight scene, play out like a symphony orchestra. So what this movie lacks and screws up, makes up for it 100 fold.
  65. BrianK.
    Jun 24, 2009
    10
    I still dont understand how people could hate this movie. The first time around everyone complained that there wasn't enough screen time with the bots. Now everyone complains that there were TOO MANY bots and it was too long and too loud and too much action. Get a grip and enjoy the movie for what it was, just a fun movie where bots are kicking the living crap out of each other. The I still dont understand how people could hate this movie. The first time around everyone complained that there wasn't enough screen time with the bots. Now everyone complains that there were TOO MANY bots and it was too long and too loud and too much action. Get a grip and enjoy the movie for what it was, just a fun movie where bots are kicking the living crap out of each other. The dialogue reminded me of the old 80's cartoon show with some of the stupid lines and things like that. The movie was completely nostalgic! And the too many bots problem? Well remember in the old cartoon how a bot would be introduced but NEVER seen again? C'mon people!! If your a fanboy you will love this movie, if not whatever go be miserable somewhere but this movie absolutely rocked! Cant wait for Transformers 3!! Expand
  66. jeanpaulb.
    Jun 25, 2009
    10
    Awesome movie is 2 1/2 hr but it really worth it i will go to see it again.
  67. AndrewB
    Jun 25, 2009
    10
    It's not the great American movie experience, but it's an amazing summer action blockbuster.
  68. RonK.
    Jun 26, 2009
    10
    Outstanding summer movie, it delivered what every great action movie should. explosions, babes, comedy, and a fun filled roller coaster ride. As an adult watching a movie about an animated series from my childhood, i was absolutely pleased with the outcome. To those overpaid film critics who are so far detached from anything resembling reality (other than their own where they sit around Outstanding summer movie, it delivered what every great action movie should. explosions, babes, comedy, and a fun filled roller coaster ride. As an adult watching a movie about an animated series from my childhood, i was absolutely pleased with the outcome. To those overpaid film critics who are so far detached from anything resembling reality (other than their own where they sit around with their narrow minded friends and congratulate themselves on how great they are), Hey lighten up. I would say go to the movies and have a little fun and TRY not to overthink every little thing, but i think they either don't know how, or are just too stuck on themselves to lower themselves to anyone else's level. Expand
  69. KyleE.
    Jun 26, 2009
    10
    Great movie! If you liked the first movie, it was equal or better. The robot fighting scenes are much better this time around, and the special effects are incredible.
  70. MatthewG
    Jun 27, 2009
    10
    It was exactly what I expected, and unlike those who say they can't keep up with the action, I was easily able to differentiate the robots in fighting sequences, and the move came off with a hint of more store and a desire to know more about the universe. I think people that hate on this move need to remember that we love action movies for the action not acting.
  71. Emin
    Jun 29, 2009
    10
    Tranformers 1 was a superb action film! Transf. RotF=Trans1*10! Everething everywhere is blowing up, more jokes, more transformers!!! Fantastic film! The best action I've ever seen! Michael Bay! We need moooore :) Can't wait for Transformers 3!
  72. Martin
    Jun 30, 2009
    10
    Yes it´s story is, reduced to it´s essence, a flaw. Yes the movie is a bit too long. and yes the movie kicks ass! Transformers 2 is Blockbuster Cinema par excellence! Loud, funny and enjoyable in every second. It´s a feel good movie and even better than the amazing first part. Definetly a must see!
  73. ixata
    Jul 1, 2009
    10
    As expected, low scores.. i dont know what critics are looking for in the movie, but whatever. its their opinion. i thought it was really entertaining, engaging thruout the movie. and some reviewers dissed the slang-speaking autobots, wtf! this movie is meant to be funny+actionpacked, thats why they put it there! dont listen to the critics, watch it. i've watched it 2 times now.
  74. cameronm
    Jul 1, 2009
    10
    This movie was great to me, i mean some, well most people say its too long, but the dark knight and titanic were too long. and i hate long movies. but this one is an exception. most likely if the movie is long, then it is boring, but that is the oppisite with transformers 2. this movie had so much action i had to wait to go to the bathroom because i didnt want to miss any of it. yeah half This movie was great to me, i mean some, well most people say its too long, but the dark knight and titanic were too long. and i hate long movies. but this one is an exception. most likely if the movie is long, then it is boring, but that is the oppisite with transformers 2. this movie had so much action i had to wait to go to the bathroom because i didnt want to miss any of it. yeah half the jokes were bad, but half were also very funny. would u rather it just have boring parts instead of comedy... i didnt think so. i dont know why critics hate it, but its their job to do that. but that didnt stop the movie from grossing over $200 million in its first five days. and people came to see this movie for one reason, action and adventure. so just because some of u little wimps cant handle all of the action doesnt mean u have to give it bad reviews. Expand
  75. ZechariahL
    Jul 10, 2009
    10
    I thought that this movie was funny as hell cuz every body in the theaters was laughing like hell and wen everybody came out of the movie they were still laughing there ass off.
  76. Rony
    Jul 1, 2009
    10
    Who cares what the critics like and dislike. Its what the audience like what should count. If a critic jumps off a bridge it doesnt mean im going to do it too. This movie was action packed and entertaining. PERIOD!
  77. CurtisR
    Jul 4, 2009
    10
    If I had to explain this movie in one word I guess it would be....jawdropalicious. There are mixed reviews for this movie and thats because of all the 29 yr olds still reading their comics in mommy's basement who think the movie changed a few things. Well answer me this: would you want to watch a movie that you know exactly what is going to happen? My favorite movie possibly of all If I had to explain this movie in one word I guess it would be....jawdropalicious. There are mixed reviews for this movie and thats because of all the 29 yr olds still reading their comics in mommy's basement who think the movie changed a few things. Well answer me this: would you want to watch a movie that you know exactly what is going to happen? My favorite movie possibly of all time with not one thing I would change. Don't ask me though, go see it for yourself. It is a must see on the big screen. Expand
  78. JureB
    Apr 17, 2010
    10
    Wow! I just saw this movie and afterwards came here to see the score and I couldn't believe what i saw. This is the maximum that today's action cinematography can give. The peak of computer technology paired with attractive real shots, with crazy tempo...and with comedy elements and....everything! Action movie that fulfills its main purpose - to entertain people. I am getting Wow! I just saw this movie and afterwards came here to see the score and I couldn't believe what i saw. This is the maximum that today's action cinematography can give. The peak of computer technology paired with attractive real shots, with crazy tempo...and with comedy elements and....everything! Action movie that fulfills its main purpose - to entertain people. I am getting this on Blu Ray ASAP. Expand
  79. MichaelD.
    Apr 28, 2010
    10
    If you think that "Transformers REvenge of the Fallen" was great you are may be right.This movie has gotten better than the first movie which was a great summer blockbuster film the first movie made than 700 million dollars that was impressive this movie has made more than 800 million dollars that was really super impressive.See you guys later 4 the 3rd Transformers film fools.
  80. Supernintendoh
    Jun 25, 2009
    10
    Great movie, i loved it, dont care about whom was a better actor ? Its entertainment, I enjoyed the loud Bass and tremble at the Rave. Funny movie and action was Awsome. Its better than watching Postal or Blood Rayne from Mister Bowl Himself. Imagine him making Transformers. Oh the Horror.
  81. Dude
    Jun 29, 2009
    10
    I loved thi smovie, as did my wife, it was what Transformers was all about back in the day, not this new age PC crap! Suprise, critics don't like it, well duh! They only like garbage! Loved it!
  82. Sep 5, 2011
    8
    Revenge of the Fallen continues the movie franchise as the battle between the autobots and decepticons continues. This time, the leader of the fallen plans to take over our world as the autobots once again need the help of Sam Witwicky once again to help them win the battle, but after Optimus Prime gets killed by Megatron, now resurrected and is tracking Sam down to find the Matrix ofRevenge of the Fallen continues the movie franchise as the battle between the autobots and decepticons continues. This time, the leader of the fallen plans to take over our world as the autobots once again need the help of Sam Witwicky once again to help them win the battle, but after Optimus Prime gets killed by Megatron, now resurrected and is tracking Sam down to find the Matrix of Leadership which it has the power to resurrect a prime and our heroes must somehow save the world once again.

    My friend from school showed me the trailer and I waited until June of 2009 to see it and I've finally did.

    Michael Bay's directing was good, The storyline was almost slow, but some of the scenes were well-paced like the storyline from the first movie. The cinematography and the actors were almost as good, but they were still entertaining, again, the Witwicky family weren't given enough screen time, but were still great. The action scenes were amazing and the humor was as good as the ones in the first.

    This movie had won some of the golden raspberry awards, but the negative reviews and the score are way too low for a great movie and one of the highest grossing movies of 2009. If fans of the franchise hated this film will have to deal with the director. Remember that.

    At my highest hopes, an 8/10 will make this movie a very good sequel and I'm going to see Transformers 3 tomorrow in theaters.

    4.0/5 stars
    Expand
  83. Shiva
    Jun 26, 2009
    10
    My friends and I went to the midnight release and we had the time of our lives! The movie was amazing - and the special effects were mindblowing! You critics need to grow up and learn to relax! Just because it's not "Brokeback Mountain" doesn't mean you have to try and run it into the ground. Just watch the box office numbers...the FANS will show you what a good movie we all My friends and I went to the midnight release and we had the time of our lives! The movie was amazing - and the special effects were mindblowing! You critics need to grow up and learn to relax! Just because it's not "Brokeback Mountain" doesn't mean you have to try and run it into the ground. Just watch the box office numbers...the FANS will show you what a good movie we all thought it was! Expand
  84. AdioA.
    Jan 25, 2010
    10
    Transformers revenge of the fallen was great. i thought that Michael bay out did himself on the first but the graphics, storyline, and and music(linkin park_new divide) was excellent i cant wait to see the next yes for those of u who have not yet seen it there will be a 3rd but slow your horses its not coming out for years to come.
  85. TheFallen
    May 4, 2010
    10
    I'm done with these idiots who can't appreciate a good - nay, AWESOME - movie that delivers exactly what it promises - record-breaking action sequences and CGI only Avatar could hope to match. I didn't see any multi-story mech in Avatar that caused a computer to FREAKING MELT trying to animate it. I'm even willing to give the Twins a little leeway, as their lines were I'm done with these idiots who can't appreciate a good - nay, AWESOME - movie that delivers exactly what it promises - record-breaking action sequences and CGI only Avatar could hope to match. I didn't see any multi-story mech in Avatar that caused a computer to FREAKING MELT trying to animate it. I'm even willing to give the Twins a little leeway, as their lines were apparently the actors' ad-libbed own. Finally, it started back up my unhealthy habit of trying to find ways to put money in Hasbro's pocket by buying the damn toys. I'm counting down eagerly to the War for Cybertron game and TF3 (422 days as of this writing!). Expand
  86. TysonF.
    Jun 24, 2009
    8
    It is very hard to beat the first movie in a sequel. Transformers 2 doesn't quite match the first one but it is never the less a great movie. The special effects are outstanding and despite some big name critics rubbishing it about "no story line' and "too long", i personally found it enjoyable and very entertaining, in fact i lost track of time during the movie. The only It is very hard to beat the first movie in a sequel. Transformers 2 doesn't quite match the first one but it is never the less a great movie. The special effects are outstanding and despite some big name critics rubbishing it about "no story line' and "too long", i personally found it enjoyable and very entertaining, in fact i lost track of time during the movie. The only indicator i had that the movie was a long one was my backside going numb from sitting in one spot for too long in a worn out movie cinema seat. Can't wait until the next one comes out!!! Expand
  87. ChazzR.
    Jun 24, 2009
    10
    What is wrong with the critics in todays society?! I realize movies like this may not be their favorite, but they should take into consideration all the work that goes into a movie like this rather than if their cynical selves enjoyed it. The funny thing about critics is that they always have biased reviews based on a single thing they dislike and then it sways their opinion and in turnWhat is wrong with the critics in todays society?! I realize movies like this may not be their favorite, but they should take into consideration all the work that goes into a movie like this rather than if their cynical selves enjoyed it. The funny thing about critics is that they always have biased reviews based on a single thing they dislike and then it sways their opinion and in turn outweighs the movie as a whole. They should appreciate the talent required to make a movie like this. This movie got an average that was one ppoint higher than Dance Flick.... Are you kidding me. I got back from the midnight showing a little bit ago and it was phenomenal..... Don't listen to the critcs. They will all go to hell with the sound of their voices. Expand
  88. RobC.
    Jun 24, 2009
    9
    The best word to describe this movie is EPIC. There is no way you can sit in the audience and watch robots the size of skyscrapers fighting each other and not get caught up in the action. The movie dazzles you just because it knows it can and leaves you wanting more explosions, more gunfire, and more giant robots getting ripped in half, impaled, or imploding. Don't expect to find The best word to describe this movie is EPIC. There is no way you can sit in the audience and watch robots the size of skyscrapers fighting each other and not get caught up in the action. The movie dazzles you just because it knows it can and leaves you wanting more explosions, more gunfire, and more giant robots getting ripped in half, impaled, or imploding. Don't expect to find some deep movie here, this is a pure action joy ride that needs to be experienced to be believed. Expand
  89. jamieH.
    Jun 26, 2009
    8
    I thought it was great! C'mon people, you're not going to Transformers for a great plot....
  90. MarcelK.
    Jun 28, 2009
    8
    LOL!!! How can you give this movie 0 points and call it the Worst Movie of The Decade? T4, a movie that has most likely killed the Terminator franchise would deserve that title way more. But back to Transformers...Yes, it was long...Yes, it was cheesier than a quadruple cheesburger...Yes, the predictable plot that snuck in between the action scenes was mind-numbing...and Yes, I definitely LOL!!! How can you give this movie 0 points and call it the Worst Movie of The Decade? T4, a movie that has most likely killed the Terminator franchise would deserve that title way more. But back to Transformers...Yes, it was long...Yes, it was cheesier than a quadruple cheesburger...Yes, the predictable plot that snuck in between the action scenes was mind-numbing...and Yes, I definitely expected all of that. They could have had Megan fox running in slo-mo for 2 and a half hours, I would have liked the movie. Even if the robots would have fought for 2 and a half hours without saying a word...I still would have liked it. It simply was what I expectd and in terms of flawless special effects, it gave me more than I expected. Not being a Transformers fanboy I would have liked the Decepticons to look a little bit more different, I kept being confused who their leader and who his stupid F-14 side kick was. Anyway...great summer movie, more face time with the Robots and Megan Fox make this definitely a better experience than the first one...go and see it and never trust the Rolling Stone magazine again ragarding a movie rating...0 points...absolutely rediculous!!!! Expand
  91. HUGEOldschoolTFFan
    Jun 30, 2009
    8
    This movie was really good, CGI was out of this world. I'm glad they put more well known and oldschool transformers like Devastator & Acree. Also I'm glad they gave Starscream more dialogue too. I wasn't too pleased with how pussy Starscream was with Megatron and I wasn't pleased with Megatron not being called Galvatron after he was revivied seeing as thats what This movie was really good, CGI was out of this world. I'm glad they put more well known and oldschool transformers like Devastator & Acree. Also I'm glad they gave Starscream more dialogue too. I wasn't too pleased with how pussy Starscream was with Megatron and I wasn't pleased with Megatron not being called Galvatron after he was revivied seeing as thats what happened in the originals. However they did give Megatron his oldschool 'tank form' back. Demolisher was NEVER supposed to be that big, that was ridiculous. Speaking of ridiculous, Megan Fox's acting was terrible and her char differed from TF 1. Shia was perfect as usual, and Optimus Prime... wel he just made me remember why hes my fav TF and the most badass TF ever! Rly good movie if ur not a TF fan either! Screw those 'professional' movie reviewers they don't know TF like i do. Expand
  92. DJ
    Jun 30, 2009
    9
    Highly entertaining movie. While it isn't a cinematic masterpiece, the "professional" reviewers are either too old or too pretentious to appreciate this kind of film... I'd consider it a must-see in theatres.
  93. chrisa.
    Jul 16, 2009
    9
    I liked the movie and if u grew up with transformers u will love it too i saw this movie twice in theaters and the critics got it wrong. Just look at the money that has been made and that should tell you that people like things critics dont.
  94. CorneliusB
    Jan 3, 2010
    0
    Horrible movie. Is shit. Rolling Stone is right. 0 out of 100.
  95. LockonS.
    May 3, 2010
    9
    Honestly, If it weren't for the Mechanical details of the robots, I have not even bothered to watch after seeing the first movie, which was really boring, but after watching this sequel, it made me take back what I said.
  96. MichaelS.
    Oct 21, 2009
    9
    The critics are lame dickheads!! this was a great movie, sure the plot wasn't that great..who cares!! the action was the best part..this movie is overly hated, and deserves a 9.
  97. [Anonymous]
    Jun 24, 2009
    7
    Transformers 2 is not as serious as the first, and being as the first wasn't very serious, well that says a lot! However I really enjoyed this movie, its the first time in a while that iv'e been in a Cinema where the audience have all started applauding at a great joke/scene. It has some terrible scenes, but it also has some superb ones, and overall its a fun film. Go see it if Transformers 2 is not as serious as the first, and being as the first wasn't very serious, well that says a lot! However I really enjoyed this movie, its the first time in a while that iv'e been in a Cinema where the audience have all started applauding at a great joke/scene. It has some terrible scenes, but it also has some superb ones, and overall its a fun film. Go see it if you want a fun, cheesy, un-serious action flick. Don't expect in-depth story lines or a life changing film, just go for a laugh and you will enjoy it! Expand
  98. ArkiQ
    Jun 25, 2009
    9
    Almost anyone can rant about how bad this movie is because it lacks this and that but in the end, I don't think anyone goes to watch it because of it's storyline or good drama scenes. It's about the action and the massive robot fights. If you can leave your logic at home you will enjoy this movie a lot. The only important complain I have about it is that it centers too much Almost anyone can rant about how bad this movie is because it lacks this and that but in the end, I don't think anyone goes to watch it because of it's storyline or good drama scenes. It's about the action and the massive robot fights. If you can leave your logic at home you will enjoy this movie a lot. The only important complain I have about it is that it centers too much attention in humans when It's called Transformers and is based on a series where the main characters were the robots. Megan Fox acts bad... but she looks really good doing it. Expand
  99. igorD.
    Jun 26, 2009
    10
    everything was perfect, except the the ending. The final fight between the fallen and optimus prime could be a little bit longer.
  100. Christian
    Jun 26, 2009
    10
    Fantastic movie. everyone did a great acting job. Megan Fox was beautiful!
Metascore
35

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 32
  2. Negative: 16 out of 32
  1. Reviewed by: Nick De Semlyen
    60
    A super-sized second helping, but the novelty factor and some of the charm’s gone. Hey, at least there's more Megatron / Starscream squabbling this time round.
  2. With its intelligence at the level of the simple-minded, however, the film is not likely to attract moviegoers who seek something more than a screen filled with kaleidoscopes of colored metal. Fan boys will no doubt love it, but for the uninitiated it's loud, tedious and, at 147 minutes, way too long.
  3. Reviewed by: Jordan Mintzer
    60
    Little seems new compared to the first installment, except that this version is longer, louder, and perhaps "more than your eye can meet" in one sitting.