User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1243 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 26, 2011
    10
    The story was weak and the humor was just plain silly. But having said that, it is one of my favorite movies. Here's why. The presentation of this movie is flawless. The action is perfect and dazzling. Explosions and metal pieces galore. Many scenes, especially the forest fight scene, play out like a symphony orchestra. So what this movie lacks and screws up, makes up for it 100 fold.
  2. Jun 3, 2011
    10
    WHY?! why does this movie have such bad reviews? This movie was epic and amazing. I know it was rushed because of the writers strike and all, but this is Transformers. Anybody watch the original cartoon? It was cheesy, had cheesy humor, but it was awesome, best show ever. This movie went back to the original cartoon with the comedy and action, and the on-going rivalry between Megatron and Optimus. This movie even had soundwave with Ravage too. I am an absolutely diehard Transformers fan and whoever gave this movie a bad review is just blind, deaf or plain old stupid, because this movie was epic. ALOT of action, traditional Transformers story, and good acting from Shia Labeouf, yes I know Megan Fox is a terrible actress but shes absolutely beautiful. Thats mainly what shes there for. This movie was amazing, funny, and EPIC! I love Transformers, I can't wait for the third! 100/10! Expand
  3. Jul 7, 2011
    10
    From the first frame of LOUD METAL-CLANGING CONFUSING MONTAGE to the last frame of LOUD METAL-CLANGING CONFUSING MONTAGE this film is Michael Bay as usual: terrible, but loud and fast. The actors literally try to dash out of the wreckage and no one's career gets out unscathed. By the time LeBeouf outruns (!) the enormous, fast as jets, body-heat seeing BOTS for the tenth time--one wonders how ANYONE maintains any respect for this disaster. Moviemaking at its crudest. Ugh! Expand
  4. Mar 21, 2011
    10
    That's weird, I was expecting the user score to be much lower based on what I heard on the internet. Goes to show this wasn't the worst movie ever, as there are a whole lot of other movies with lower scores (looking at you Twilight movies). Even if some of the guys who worked on this movie weren't happy with it, I still enjoyed it a lot, and hope the third movie will win some fans back.
  5. Nov 24, 2010
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Great Movie! but the first one rocked . that's it. oh, found a transporter in france :)
    fun to watch: http://www.lookeen.net/de/352/allgemein/deutsch-e-postbrief-lookeen-stellt-sich-der-herausforderung/
    Expand
  6. Feb 14, 2011
    9
    Explosions , Stupid Jokes explosions. I Liked it Once One Time. However The 3rd installment seems prommising
  7. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    There was a point in this movie where me and my friends looked at each other and just started laughing uncontrollably. This was because the movie in front of us was so preposterously horrible that you couldnt tell what the F was going on. I just look up and theres a lizard robot scaling a pyramid. Then I look up again and theres a giant alligator that breaths in dust for 5 minutes basically against both sides, just breathing in sand , that is his function in the movie. then we walked out. this movie is a disgrace to the world. Expand
  8. Jul 30, 2011
    10
    one of my favirote movied ever . the critics are morons when they diss this movie. it funny action filled and above all entertaining.as i always say robot violence is the best violence this movie proves that fact as you can see all the parts coming out of the the robots when they are shot also they look like they are real life robots as they are so realisitic. ok so maybe the plot is simpilisitic but i hate over complicated plots.also the script is hilarious whith many good jokes. Expand
  9. Aug 27, 2011
    9
    An awesome movie with super special Effects and super action, I have seen in 2009.Its better than the 1st one,huge battles and huge action is like the best,I've seen, high energy action and a big story.Michael Bay has really pumped up the action for this movie.I don't care if anyone hated this movie,they're crazy and stupid and don't know action movies.This is like the best movie of 2009,it has huge action set pieces that are so sick and exciting, enough said. Expand
  10. Oct 4, 2011
    9
    I really enjoyed watching the movie... From the beginning it was tense and everything was unexpected. I also really enjoyed the special effects because they were very realistic and the fight scenes between the Transformers were done really carefully. The Transformers that were shown in this movie and didn't appear in the original were very amusing. I liked almost everything in this movie but the acting.. Megan Fox didn't give herself to the plot and didn't act as well in the first movie. I liked Shia's performance but the constant noise in the movie didn't really go as well as they taught it would.. After all, I'm still happy there will be a third movie! Expand
  11. Nov 29, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I loved the first movie and this sequel was almost as good. Shia LaBeouf and Megan Fox are great once more, as is the rest of the cast. There are a few issues that I did have though. The number one problem I had was believing that transformers can now replicate human beings perfectly? I didn't read the comics or watch the TV shows so if there's anything in them can gives reason for this I wouldn't know but I don't care. Good movies should be able to stand alone and I have a hard time understanding how transformers can replicate, not just the look of a human, but also the texture of skin, personality, smell, etc. That was just a short segment of the movie so I can't count it against it too much but it still bugged me. Also, why are there way more Decepticons than Autobots and why are the Decepticons always cool things like fighter jets while the Autobots are relegated to various Chevrolet cars and a semi? These things didn't hurt the movie at all it just seems unfair to me. Nonetheless, it was once again an awesome movie with fantastic action-sequences, witty dialogue, solid acting, and an interesting plot. Expand
Metascore
35

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 32
  2. Negative: 16 out of 32
  1. Reviewed by: Nick De Semlyen
    60
    A super-sized second helping, but the novelty factor and some of the charm’s gone. Hey, at least there's more Megatron / Starscream squabbling this time round.
  2. With its intelligence at the level of the simple-minded, however, the film is not likely to attract moviegoers who seek something more than a screen filled with kaleidoscopes of colored metal. Fan boys will no doubt love it, but for the uninitiated it's loud, tedious and, at 147 minutes, way too long.
  3. Reviewed by: Jordan Mintzer
    60
    Little seems new compared to the first installment, except that this version is longer, louder, and perhaps "more than your eye can meet" in one sitting.