Paramount Pictures | Release Date: June 24, 2009
5.3
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 1496 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
652
Mixed:
282
Negative:
562
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
MovieGuysApr 23, 2014
Revenge of the Fallen is a more loosely-plotted, slightly racist, more muddled sequel that is barely entertaining enough for us to forgive its many flaws.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
grandpajoe6191Sep 18, 2011
"Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen" lacks the mind-blowing blockbuster spirit "Transformers" originally had. All you can see is messy clunky robots fighting with amazingly terrible cinematography followed by a brainlessly written script.
12 of 13 users found this helpful121
All this user's reviews
4
lukechristianscNov 22, 2014
The first Transformers was really a Entertaining blockbuster for fans of transformers franchise. this sequel had 100x stereotypes then the first transformers, I did like after all but Megan Fox can not act in a Micheal bay film ( she has manyThe first Transformers was really a Entertaining blockbuster for fans of transformers franchise. this sequel had 100x stereotypes then the first transformers, I did like after all but Megan Fox can not act in a Micheal bay film ( she has many other talents then acting as a Bay girl), Literally she can not act a dime in this franchise. the first Transformers was an A- or B performance, I hate this humor it's not funny or clever while LeBeouf goes to college, I do love Peter cullen as always also bumble bee. The Cast is a disaster !!!!!!!!! it is for real. I love loud music Bay's explosions sequence seriously i do the humor ruin this first sequel to " Transformers". Grade C ( i love the Transformers cast also Micheal Bay it's just Kreuger had messed up the script for example Scream 3). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
imthenoobFeb 8, 2012
The plot was insanely stupid and honestly I felt insulted that they would put something so dumb into script form. The special effects are good (as expected). The cast was solid overall (yes even Megan Fox was fine). It was funny as well,The plot was insanely stupid and honestly I felt insulted that they would put something so dumb into script form. The special effects are good (as expected). The cast was solid overall (yes even Megan Fox was fine). It was funny as well, Little bits of humor added through out that imo worked well for the film. It wasnt as bad as the critics say but it wasnt good either. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
4
CineAutoctonoJul 26, 2015
Good but too disappointing movie , there for some scenes but brings funny scenes , but it looks very funny and some great action but the action and explosions.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
ZilcellMar 2, 2012
TF2 is slow, but the adventure of the movie is what makes it worth watching. The ending battle is why I ended up liking it, and thats what makes it worth existing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
TheApplegnomeSep 20, 2014
A more entertaining and groovy version of Transformers (2007).

Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen got an awesome plot, great CGI and more adventure than the previous movie, and with great music. There's a much more entertaining story, and
A more entertaining and groovy version of Transformers (2007).

Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen got an awesome plot, great CGI and more adventure than the previous movie, and with great music. There's a much more entertaining story, and the action is awesome. But just as the first move, it suffers with slow and boring scenes and to much of the same stuff that we already have seen.

Better and in every way than the first movie.

Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen gets a 6.8/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
homer4presidentMar 11, 2015
Remember 2008 when the biggest movie of the year was also one of the best? I miss 2008. This year, the biggest movie of the year is by far the worst. Transformers 2 features a shocking disregard for storytelling, characters that are, at best,Remember 2008 when the biggest movie of the year was also one of the best? I miss 2008. This year, the biggest movie of the year is by far the worst. Transformers 2 features a shocking disregard for storytelling, characters that are, at best, abrasive, constant "humor" that makes me never want to laugh again and incomprehensible, tension less, and ultimately boring action. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Rox22Mar 19, 2013
Nowhere near as good as the first movie in terms of depth and story. The action is amped up too much and Bay is trying to do to much. To many new characters with almost NO character development at all. This movie is nothing but a grandNowhere near as good as the first movie in terms of depth and story. The action is amped up too much and Bay is trying to do to much. To many new characters with almost NO character development at all. This movie is nothing but a grand display of action, effects and Megan Fox's ass (which is glorious by the way!) BUT it did have a few good moments, and was at least entertaining. Overall: Just another shameless Bay action flick that does not even try to be anything more. Poor, but at least fun to watch at times. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
MrMovieBuffJul 8, 2015
'Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen' is an unpleasant experience of noisy, overcrowded and damn right annoying features.

While the film delivers on giving us action, comedy, hot girls and cars...what's funny is how I did not enjoy it at
'Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen' is an unpleasant experience of noisy, overcrowded and damn right annoying features.

While the film delivers on giving us action, comedy, hot girls and cars...what's funny is how I did not enjoy it at all. The pretty girls are a distraction to the film's thinly written script, their pretty faces are to distract from their terrible acting and the overuse of action and special effects are to distract teenage boys, when you cannot even tell which robot is evil and which one is good.

Michael Bay clearly crossed a line when he wanted to make this sequel, it is only two years after the original film was released, so the studio may have rushed him to make another box office money printer.

Bay should have just tried to re-imagine the story, he should have just tried to actually make a sequel to surpass the original with a gripping story instead of just executing it with bombastic special effects that get boring after a while and comic relief that is more offensive than it is funny. There is some racist jokes that clearly are not funny.

'Revenge of the Fallen' is obnoxious, cynical and long, but it does get points for special effects alone, while amazing-looking, go on for too long.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
OfficialNov 2, 2013
Disappointing. That's all I can say. "Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen" is a stupid way to make a sequel to the thoughtful and entertaining original. Michael Bay just wears us out completely with a crude, noisy and under-plotted sequel.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
FreedomFightersNov 18, 2016
If you even remotely followed the film industry in 2009, you will know just how poorly received "Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen" was. Everyone remembers the awful reviews, the many Golden Raspberries, and the general negative reactionIf you even remotely followed the film industry in 2009, you will know just how poorly received "Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen" was. Everyone remembers the awful reviews, the many Golden Raspberries, and the general negative reaction the film received. And yet...I don't HATE the film. Maybe it was because I loved the action scenes, or maybe it was because of the visual grandeur, but I didn't think it was the worst film ever made. That said, I didn't LIKE the film either: it's horribly written, poorly acted, and way too long for its own good, but "Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen," if you know what you're getting into, is not the worst film ever made (Please, internet, don't hate me for saying such a thing). That said, it's not GOOD, and I'd recommend you turn your brain off when you watch this film, otherwise you won't get the full effect. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
BradySmithJun 2, 2013
Very, very, very poor storytelling, and directing. I liked the first transformers movie, but this one is stupid, full of dirty jokes, and puts explosions 10 miles ahead of screenplay on its priority list. It's sort of passable for a t.v.Very, very, very poor storytelling, and directing. I liked the first transformers movie, but this one is stupid, full of dirty jokes, and puts explosions 10 miles ahead of screenplay on its priority list. It's sort of passable for a t.v. viewing, and has one or two decent action scenes, but that's not enough to make a good movie, not even close. Try watching this in the movie theatre for more than 2 hours while you have to pee, and are consistently having your expectations shot down. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
A_NorthernerMay 24, 2012
Bloated and excessive sequel from Michael Bay, with a 'more is more' approach seemingly applied in producing the second Transformers film.

Revenge of the Fallen's plot will appeal to both sci-fi fans and fans of the franchise, however Bay
Bloated and excessive sequel from Michael Bay, with a 'more is more' approach seemingly applied in producing the second Transformers film.


Revenge of the Fallen's plot will appeal to both sci-fi fans and fans of the franchise, however Bay overshadows the story by packing the film full of exhaustingly repetitive action sequences to the point of saturation. The characters and plot appear to just be something to fill the time with in between rounds of the contest.
For the first two thirds of the film, the human characters are largely sacrificed for the breakneck speed at which the plot hurtles along towards the next robot royal rumble.


As goofy and frantic as before, Shia LaBeouf is responsible for most good things in the film. On the other hand, the writers really failed with the addition of the annoying Leo (Ramon Rodriguez) and the two wise-cracking and Autobot twins, complete with racial slurs.


Applying a bigger is better philosophy, the cast of Transformers seems to have multiplied ten fold from the first film. The new Transformers are never properly introduced, and the vast number makes it difficult to identify the main characters amongst all the flying metal and exploding scenery.


At this point it should be mentioned that the CGI is impressive and the Transformer battle scenes are visually top notch. This usually counts for something in a film which relies on effects so heavily but the novelty of seeing cars and planes transform into robots was worn out in the original and so counts for less second time around. In all honesty I think Bay could have halved the budget and re-used the Transformer battle footage from the original given how unmemorable the battle scenes are in Revenge of the Fallen. Not likely to attract new fans to the Transformers series and worthwhile only for die hard fans.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
dev92Aug 25, 2012
Not a terrible film but the female alien robot as well as the 'twins' from the Autobots were incredibly unrealistic (even for a Transformers film) and annoying. A lot of the film is saved by decent action and military sequences but even thatNot a terrible film but the female alien robot as well as the 'twins' from the Autobots were incredibly unrealistic (even for a Transformers film) and annoying. A lot of the film is saved by decent action and military sequences but even that isn't enough to give this film a positive score. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
russiangamerMar 16, 2017
Долой сценарий, даёшь взрывы!
Сценарий плохой, заслуженная золотая малина. Ну а эффекты по-прежнему замечательные, но в этот раз за счёт них выехать не получилось, как первой части.
Не рекомендую.
Долой сценарий, даёшь взрывы!
Сценарий плохой, заслуженная золотая малина. Ну а эффекты по-прежнему замечательные, но в этот раз за счёт них выехать не получилось, как первой части.
Не рекомендую.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
MichaelDJan 5, 2011
Way too long and I didn't understand the plot (I didn't watch the first movie though!) Near the end I was bored and I just wanted it to end. But I'm going to give it a 4 because the special effects were good and the movie was ok. Not good, just ok.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
ViolettAug 23, 2015
Seriously guys, after the first movie, isn't it obvious that you wont get any plot here? You know it, you saw the reviews, so why you went to watch this movie and say now - BREAKING NEWS, there is no plot! Thank you Capitans. For others whoSeriously guys, after the first movie, isn't it obvious that you wont get any plot here? You know it, you saw the reviews, so why you went to watch this movie and say now - BREAKING NEWS, there is no plot! Thank you Capitans. For others who enjoy twisting metal and explosions the movie is not actually that bad, worth watching for single time. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
eTurkeyJan 28, 2012
When Micheal Bay gets it wrong, he really gets it WRONG. Unlike the somewhat entertaining first film, watching this movie "Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen" is like being locked inside a loud, fast-spinning washing machine. It's allWhen Micheal Bay gets it wrong, he really gets it WRONG. Unlike the somewhat entertaining first film, watching this movie "Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen" is like being locked inside a loud, fast-spinning washing machine. It's all action, but no heart or soul. No real substance but a ugly mess of CGI. The acting is good and the music (mainly for Linkin Park) is excellent but not even a whopping $200 budget could save this flick from losing its way. Summer blockbuster or not, this series deserves more respect. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
Le__XenomorphDec 19, 2014
Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen is a giant step down from the first Transformers. It has bad and sometimes overly inappropriate humor, racism, and a weak story. At least the CGI was as awesome if not better than the first's. 4/10 (below average)
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
jos95Aug 27, 2011
Let's just start off by the fact that the Writer's Strike really hurt the script, which is something a lot of people forget. This script was still terrible despite. It expanded on the flaws of the original. The plot was almost non-existentLet's just start off by the fact that the Writer's Strike really hurt the script, which is something a lot of people forget. This script was still terrible despite. It expanded on the flaws of the original. The plot was almost non-existent and most of the humor was painfully unfunny. The acting dipped down for the worse as well. This movie was still entertaining and had good visuals but it failed badly on several levels. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
JudddyOct 4, 2010
Firstly, the special effects are incredible and (most) of the action absolutely thrilling, however there is too much of it! This is one film which you really notice the length of while watching it. The humour wasn't very funny either. I lovedFirstly, the special effects are incredible and (most) of the action absolutely thrilling, however there is too much of it! This is one film which you really notice the length of while watching it. The humour wasn't very funny either. I loved the first film, but this was very average and it seems a waste of such a huge budget. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
6
TheBearNov 3, 2010
OK the honest truth is that Transformers ROTF is an overblown and ill-judged mess of a film, driven completely but outstanding special effects, a plot that unneccesarily over complicated and laughable at times, two racist Autobots, far tooOK the honest truth is that Transformers ROTF is an overblown and ill-judged mess of a film, driven completely but outstanding special effects, a plot that unneccesarily over complicated and laughable at times, two racist Autobots, far too much comic relief. I'm not gonna diss the action because I loved every action scene in the this film. Having said all of that however, people what were you expecting? This is Transformers and Michael Bay so you knew already what to expect. This film is very much a guilty pleasure because there is fun to be had in the stupidity but that's it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
cumoviesJul 24, 2014
again great CGI but the script is so poorly written (even more so than the first) that its basically just a bunch of robots blowing each other up the acting is not great at all this movie is not very good at all.

my ratting 4.5/10 7 for
again great CGI but the script is so poorly written (even more so than the first) that its basically just a bunch of robots blowing each other up the acting is not great at all this movie is not very good at all.

my ratting 4.5/10 7 for action 1 for story 6.5 for comedy 5.5 for acting 1 for character development
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
sreekiranMay 29, 2011
pretty bad one. not the best from micheal bay. disappointing and regular revenge story. no much emotions and drama here. the last 10 minutes was good. rest all bad.... just bad micheal bay surely did not surprise us. it is his regular one
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
RumblebeeloveJan 8, 2011
While still being wonderful to look at our epic robots just don't get enough love this time around. There is a great little spat between Megatron and Starscream, but it gets overwelmed with the awful twins, and the failure of Devastator andWhile still being wonderful to look at our epic robots just don't get enough love this time around. There is a great little spat between Megatron and Starscream, but it gets overwelmed with the awful twins, and the failure of Devastator and don't those useless jokes that are thrown in. Just don't pay too much... We can only hope for better characterization and a more coherient plot next time around. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
oscarrNov 28, 2011
Noisy. Annoying. bad acting. Some gripping moments. Sam Witwicky (don't tell me I spelled his name wrong or I will kill you) is a dumbass for not saying he loves her. Overall, O.K., but fake. It would be a much better movie if Sam and MeganNoisy. Annoying. bad acting. Some gripping moments. Sam Witwicky (don't tell me I spelled his name wrong or I will kill you) is a dumbass for not saying he loves her. Overall, O.K., but fake. It would be a much better movie if Sam and Megan fox just had sex while the robots fight. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
GoldenEye16Aug 22, 2010
The movie started off really well, and was almost better than the first film with a lot of great action and funny moments... until the freaking confusing, overlong second half of the movie and ending which made no sense at all. I'd giveThe movie started off really well, and was almost better than the first film with a lot of great action and funny moments... until the freaking confusing, overlong second half of the movie and ending which made no sense at all. I'd give the first half a 9 and the second half a 3 which equals a 6 for the whole movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Arthur_S_PoeFeb 13, 2015
I'm not sure how Bay managed to do so bad with the second installment, after managing to produce a surprisingly (for him) good first movie. 'Revenge of Fallen' doesn't just stagnate - it gets worse. The acting (again, with the exception of aI'm not sure how Bay managed to do so bad with the second installment, after managing to produce a surprisingly (for him) good first movie. 'Revenge of Fallen' doesn't just stagnate - it gets worse. The acting (again, with the exception of a brilliant John Turturro) was horrible, even worse than in the first installment, the action scenes overly multiplied in a way that they actually become annoying and the plot was so full of holes that you could actually see through the screen (I mean, really - The Fallen is supposed to be this overly bad-ass bad guy and you give him practically one scene at the end where the revived Optimus kicks his ass in like... 7.3 seconds). The animation just didn't cut it this time and except for several comical moments and the aforementioned animation, this movie just doesn't offer anything.

Certainly something for the fans, but overall - not worth watching.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
DyliebarMar 2, 2016
It started pretty solid, after the opening action sequence ends, everything goes downhill! The humor sucks, the characters are annoying, and the dialogue is horrible!! Most of the only good moments in the movie are the action sequences!It started pretty solid, after the opening action sequence ends, everything goes downhill! The humor sucks, the characters are annoying, and the dialogue is horrible!! Most of the only good moments in the movie are the action sequences! The only time I got tired of the action was in the final act, there was no excitement involved it, and of course, the film's awful sense of humor was put in the mix, so yeah, this was a very disappointing sequel! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
FlickFreaks83Dec 11, 2015
comprised of several construction vehicles, set on clawing its way to the peak of a pyramid. As it lumbers up the dusty colossus, a shot tilts up to its mid-section, revealing two wrecking balls dangling down. Yes, Michael Bay, the man whocomprised of several construction vehicles, set on clawing its way to the peak of a pyramid. As it lumbers up the dusty colossus, a shot tilts up to its mid-section, revealing two wrecking balls dangling down. Yes, Michael Bay, the man who brought us cyber-micturition in this movie’s predecessor, has one-upped himself: Decepticon testicles.

If the thought of that gag makes you laugh, chances are you’ll have a ball with Revenge Of The Fallen. If not… well, Bay really doesn’t care. His first and only sequel since Bad Boys 2 is, like that film, marked by swaggering confidence, wild excess and a string of bad-taste jokes. Dogs hump each other, robots hump human legs and the camera spends so much time ogling Megan Fox’s torso you start to wonder if it’s being operated by a 13 year-old boy. There are now 42 robots, including one that looks like a jaguar, one that can turn into ball bearings to access high-security areas and one in the form of a Dyson vacuum cleaner.

It all looks good on paper, as does the added-value 150-minute run time. But it’s a case of same meal, bigger portion, with the flaws of the first not only present but accentuated. You’ll be even more hard pressed at the end of this one to remember which robot’s which — there are three or four new Gremlin-esque ones that chitter and skitter about like the first movie’s Frenzy — and few get more than a scene before Bay’s attention flits elsewhere. Even the Fallen, an Emperor figure to Megatron’s Darth Vader, who can hurl tanks around with the aid of his jagged staff, is only blandly nefarious.

The plot, meanwhile, is as baffling as before, not only bringing back the abstruse Allspark but throwing in a new MacGuffin called the ‘Matrix of Leadership’. It tries harder to be funny but is actually less so, despite Shia LaBeouf working some early new-kid-on-campus schtick, Rainn Wilson amusing in a single scene as a rock-star astronomy teacher, and John Turturro doing an entertaining reprise of MIB wannabe Simmons (“What you’re about to see is top secret: do not tell my mother”). This is a film that doesn’t know where to stop — even comic-relief characters get their own comic-relief characters, like the offensively irritating Twins, who bicker in hip-hop slang, or Wheels, a turncoat Decepticon who for some reason talks like a ‘30s screen gangster.

What saves it, just about, are the effects. At times the frame is so packed with whirring cogs and twirling cranks that you could replicate the effect by staring at the innards of a domestic appliance, but when these CG moto-men from another world duke it out, the images are often so screwy it’s impossible to do anything but sit and stare. The Shanghai-set opening sequence is lunatic fun, with Optimus Prime leaping onto the face of a colossal, rampaging unicycle and ordering it to, “Pull over”. And while Prime’s later forest face-off against a trio of Decepticons suffers by comparison to a recent film’s spar between a big ape and three dinosaurs, there are more flawlessly rendered money shots in the last 40 minutes alone than in a dozen less ambitious blockbusters.

It’s just a shame there aren’t more ideas behind the spectacle, since we’re not given much in the way of compelling reasons to root for one pixelly pugilist over another. Long before the final minute it’s become a numbing, wearying viewing experience. Next time could we have less balls and more brains?

A super-sized second helping, but the novelty factor and some of the charm’s gone. Hey, at least there’s more Megatron / Starscream squabbling this time round.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
kubathereviewerJul 24, 2013
A disappointing sequel to Transformers, with terrible a humour and an unconvincing plot. The action was definitely a positive to a weak movie and easily the worst one in the trilogy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
jasherJul 16, 2011
I remember reading all of the critics' bad reviews and hearing all of the bad comments from friends when this movie came out a couple of years ago, so between that and the fact that I was no huge fan of the first "Transformers" anyway, I madeI remember reading all of the critics' bad reviews and hearing all of the bad comments from friends when this movie came out a couple of years ago, so between that and the fact that I was no huge fan of the first "Transformers" anyway, I made little to no attempt to see "Revenge of the Fallen." However, it was on HBO the other night, and I said, "what the heck," and decided to give it a shot. After two or two and a half LONG hours, it was over, and my thought was "Well, it wasn't good, but it wasn't THAT bad!" If there is one thing that Michael Bay can do consistently well, it's that he can make the pictures that make up the film "pop." The actors looked fantastic (especially Josh Duhamel, Tyrese and Megan Fox, who either could be or are models anyway), the locations were gorgeous (especially the Egyptian scenes), and the Transformers themselves beautifully constructed - shiny and colorful, just like they should be. The problem, then, is that Bay has a horrendous eye for cinematography and editing. For some reason, he thinks it is a good idea to film scenes of dialogue and actual emotion on characters' faces from far away, and then film action scenes from so close-up that it is hard to tell who is where at what time in the given action sequence. I swear, at least half of the close shots were ones I thought would have made more sense to film from far away, and at least half of the long shots were ones I thought would have made more sense to film close-in. When you add those factors to editing that can practically induce seizures, the film is just exhausting to try to keep up with. And the dialogue, good god the dialogue is terrible. I know this was a summer action movie, so I didn't have high expectations for the dialogue anyway, but I expect better than this. Almost every line was like something you would find as a bumper sticker slogan or on a Hallmark card. Many of the older, more experienced supporting actors/actresses actually made some of these crap lines work, like John Turturro and the man and woman who played Mr./Mrs. Witwicky, but the younger ones like Duhamel, Tyrese and Fox didn't stand a chance (they are pretty bland actors to begin with). However, the title for worst actor has to go to Shia LeBeouf as Sam Witwicky. His idea of acting in this movie seemed more like a portrayal of a meth addict than of a smart teenage boy starting his first year of college. I just don't understand the love over this kid; he has played that same hyperactive type in every film I have seen him in, and I don't find it cute. I just want to smack him. On top of the bad dialogue and mediocre acting are some very nasty, negative themes. In Bay movies, hundreds of thousands of people die and hundreds of thousands of acres of land are destroyed, but it is all done in the name of entertainment, so hey, who cares? There is no attempt at making the deaths or destruction mean anything, and, in that sense, it cheapens the entire experience. Also, young women are not seen as real people in Bay's movies, but as objects to fulfill men's desires. It is really pathetic how misogyny just runs rampant throughout this film...and these female actors just go along with it, playing the pretty, shallow idiots just like they are told. And don't even get me started on the "black" robots, who just so happen to also be the characters who can't read. I think my mouth fell open and I gasped when they said they are illiterate - are audiences really O.K. with that? Because I'm not. The one factor that allows me to move my rating out of the red and into the yellow is the story, which is pretty neat in concept. Unfortunately, that concept is not carried out very well by Bay, but the major storyboard points are interesting enough and make sense in the context of the Transformers' universe. Obviously, based on my review, you can tell I think this movie is very flawed and mediocre. However, in hindsight, I am kind of shocked at how bad those reviews/comments were that I mentioned before. I was expecting to really despise "Revenge of the Fallen," and there are definitely many aspects of the movie that I do despise, but I would watch this again before I watched "The Last Airbender" or that god awful "Twilight - Eclipse" any day of the week. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
chardr69Jul 7, 2011
I enjoyed the movie, but the charm of the first Transformers flick is missing, and the plot is just plain stupid. The robot action is awesome, especially the Optimus Prime/Decepticon fight in the woods, but anything having to do with theI enjoyed the movie, but the charm of the first Transformers flick is missing, and the plot is just plain stupid. The robot action is awesome, especially the Optimus Prime/Decepticon fight in the woods, but anything having to do with the humans is just awful. One of the many problems I have with the film, is that Megatron, is now reduced to being a secondhand lackey to the Fallen. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
RoscoeYJun 25, 2011
This sequel lacks the certain overall charm that permeated the first movie. While the story didn't wow me in the first robot romp, the stunning visuals and quirky human characters had me entertained the entirety of the first films duration. IThis sequel lacks the certain overall charm that permeated the first movie. While the story didn't wow me in the first robot romp, the stunning visuals and quirky human characters had me entertained the entirety of the first films duration. I really wanted to like Revenge of the Fallen and I went into the movie with an open mind (as well as the knowledge that it had a pretty crummy reputation with the critics). The movie started out well enough and i remembered thinking to myself; "What are these critics talking about, this is a decent action flick?" Then the atrocious humor started to kick in. The humor started out innocent enough and i chuckled at a few crude jokes, but as the film continued the multitude of terrible jokes became relentless. Once the third act of the movie started I thought that the final battle would kick in and the action would cancel out the crude jokes. Much to my dismay not even the final battle was safe from the "humor" (a scene involving large transformer testicles comes to mind). It didn't help that the final battle was a little on the boring side. All in all Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen was a disappointment, it wasn't the worst film by any means, it was just all over the place not knowing when to take itself seriously. Overall I did have fun with it there was still plenty of spectacular action sequences to gawk at (most notably the forrest battle) and a plethora of nifty explosions, courtesy of Michael Bay himself. The movie just needed some more focus and it would have been more of a solid installment in the Transformers saga, but there's no going back now. In the words of Optimus Prime, "I send this message so that our past will always be remembered. For in those memories, we live on". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Danielhero1998Feb 3, 2016
Transformers Revenge Of The Fallen is my Phantom Menace (a movie I was looking so much forward to, and I saw and stayed in denial of how average it is and thought that it was a great movie for many years, until I realise that I was wrongTransformers Revenge Of The Fallen is my Phantom Menace (a movie I was looking so much forward to, and I saw and stayed in denial of how average it is and thought that it was a great movie for many years, until I realise that I was wrong ;_;).

Good: The Visual Effects look as amazing as they are in all of the Transformers movie, Peter Cullen as Optimus Prime and Hugo Weaving as Megatron, the forest fight scene, Jetfire had some funny humor (minus one fart joke with a parachute)

Bad: The plot has too much going on at the same time, Except for some of Jetfires humor, none of the other humor in the movie worked (it can be a bit racist some times), Shia Labeouf is really annoying some times. His roommate Leo is a joke of a character, Megan Fox was terrible in the movie and the twin Autobots are the Jar Jar Binks for the Transformers franchise
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
FSJ_973Nov 17, 2012
Maybe it's action is spectacular, but it's plot is stupid, there are stupid characters, stupid villians, stupid acting, stupid dialogues... Just stupid.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Harry210Feb 10, 2011
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen is for the most part is what I would have expected from a big budget movie about giant robots beating the sh** out of each other while causing maximum carnage to civilisation. The design of the transformers and the transformations from robot to vehicle mode and vice versa are visually stunning and most of them (especially Optimus Prime and Megatron) are nicely voiced. Megatron is a still a bad ass! Optimus Primes personally is portrayed very well: He's wise and a natual leader. This movie has got pretty much everything an action movie needs: explosions, brawls between the transformers and giant monuments (like pyramids and buildings) and objects blowing up and tumbling down to Earth with a thud. In short this movie is massive in scope with loads of actions scenes. Because this is a movie with a load of fast paced action scenes, this is a movie that needs to be enjoyed on a big cinema style TV with good speakers. The plot is a little bit of a mess: the movie revolves around Sam Whitwicky and he has some information about an energon source hidden on Earth and the nasty transformers (the Deceptions) want to get their hands on him so they can locate it. It follows on from the first Transformers movie and all of the Autobots have taken refuge on Earth searching for what's left of their Deception foes. The biggest trouble with this movie is that there's too much humour in this movie. The transformers, the Twins are pretty much there for the hysterical factor and I don't give a damn about them. They are annoying and clumsy and besides one scene in the movie, don't really help at all. The unnecessarily unfunny scene where Wheelie (a transformer that transforms into a remote control truck) dry humps Mikaela was just wrong. The character Leo was pointless to the storyline. The story at first may seem serious and tense (especially towards the middle of the movie where the Fallen lands on Earth) but the humour dampens the plot. Starscream (the Decepticon, 2nd in command after Megatron) acts like a coward and has a really weird voice; I mean, what happened to his robotic voice from the first movie. It sounded awesome! I guess his voice does fit his character a little bit because he doesn't seem to get involved in too many battles. He watches from the side lines while Megatron and the Fallen do all the heavy stuff (fighting). He's a little bit of a coward basically. Devestator which looks so bad ass and looks like he could level an entire city due to his massive size is only on screen for 30 seconds! I wished he just eat the Twins, spit them out and then play football with them. The Fallen (the main baddie) may seem dangerous looking at him with his skeleton like appearance, spikes protruding out of his body, his ability to teleport and his huge staff but he gets his ass kicked by Optimus Prime at the end in about 40 seconds; so much for an epic finale. I also love Optimus Prime's manners: He's weak and defenceless and can't get up to fight and the injured Jetfire (who is a old cronk by the way) offers him his parts. He sacrifices his parts to Optimus and Optimus now has the strength to fight the Fallen. Optimus doesn't say thank you to Jetfire. He acknowledges Sam for resurrecting him but doesn't thank a old deception (Jetfire) for sacrificing himself to save him. How selfish! On the outside, Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen may seem a fun action movie, I couldn't take it too seriously due to unnecessarily humour and pointless characters. It's watchable but I prefer the first Transformers. Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
4
T-rAvDec 12, 2011
(September 25, 2009)
The biggest action flick of the summer is also one of the biggest disappointments of the summer. Now before I get into my ârantâ? of what I think of this movie, I want to acknowledge that many
(September 25, 2009)
The biggest action flick of the summer is also one of the biggest disappointments of the summer. Now before I get into my ârantâ? of what I think of this movie, I want to acknowledge that many people loved this movie, and I can understand why. It is more than two hours of crazy special effects and plenty of Megan Foxx to look at. All of this is fine, but I believe all these fancy things do not save the movie from having a subpar story. Before I touch on the many let downs of this movie let me mention the visual effects for a moment: they are breathtaking. I almost recommend seeing the movie just to see some of the best effects of the year. Now I must touch on the bad side of the film. The main thing that was wrong with this film is the plot. It just felt too jumbled. It felt like they tried to shove a bunch of things that go nowhere to develop a story and hoped if all of these elements were combined it would make a good plot. It is possible to sum this movie up in less than sixty minutes, but the film clocks out at a whopping one hundred and forty seven minutes. The dialog was no saving grace for this film either. I really do not know if the dialog writing was bad, or if it was written this way on purpose, but either way it is just not fitting at all. Also the stereotypical âgangstaâ? robots, all I have to ask is why? Finally, even though I praise these special effects, there were action scenes that just left me âlostâ?. The fight scenes were too confusing, but I guess you cannot expect much better from a fight scene between multiple gigantic robots.


As a fan of both the Transformers toys as a child and the first movie, I went into this movie hoping for something good but worried I was going to be drastically let down. Being let down describes perfectly how I felt as soon as the credits rolled. The whole time I was watching the film I was awed by the glossiness of the effects, but I had to keep asking myself, âAs a whole do I really enjoy this?â? The answer is a clear no.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
NasNov 15, 2010
Useless and dumb. Terrible actors, the directors could have not picked worse. The special effect are very nice but the whole movie structure is awful.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
MrBigman01234Jun 27, 2014
Sam Witwicky once again joins with the Autobots against their sworn enemies, the Decepticons. "Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen" lacks the mind-blowing blockbuster spirit "Transformers" originally had.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Alexander749Jun 23, 2017
Great action, but too much comedy. This movie is good, but not good as the other ones. I wanted this movie to be darker like the other ones. But ones again the movie has some great action and i recommend you seeing it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
EvinCAug 12, 2009
The first one was way better. This one made me a little sick to my stomach. I like Shia but can he please make a better film. Michael Bay has to stop focusing his camera on Fox's rack. We all now that, he's not fooling anyone. We all saw.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
SteveBOct 6, 2009
Thoroughly mediocre, especially in view of how good the first was. Badly visualised, badly editted, poorly written. Transformers broke the Michael Bay mold, Revenge of The Fallen gets right back into it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
AlecBJun 30, 2009
Transformers Revenge of the Fallen is the most dissapointing movie of the summer by far. I never agree with critics ( there overpaid assholes to me) but the movie is far from being good. The plot.? There is no Plot. Most of the Autobots and Transformers Revenge of the Fallen is the most dissapointing movie of the summer by far. I never agree with critics ( there overpaid assholes to me) but the movie is far from being good. The plot.? There is no Plot. Most of the Autobots and Decepticons are annoying and stupid, Especially those too black wanna be robots. And worst of all. THE MOVIE IS BORING!. You wait a good hour or so to actually start getting into it. Then when the actions on and your gaining interest it ends but so abrutly. I encourage everybody to go see for yourself as it is the most anticapted sequel this year, but dont be expecting high hopes. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
4
AlFJul 1, 2009
I am a great fan of transformers,but this movie was about bad sex jokes, needless explosions, overcomplicated plot and not enough robots. Transformers are supposed to be the smartest guys in the movie, yet it does not show at all, they are I am a great fan of transformers,but this movie was about bad sex jokes, needless explosions, overcomplicated plot and not enough robots. Transformers are supposed to be the smartest guys in the movie, yet it does not show at all, they are like the side dish. It is a beautiful visual mess. if i had millions of dollars, i could write that type of incoherent mess too. It was not a bad movie but is it too much to ask for at least a story that makes sense. Too much noise and no music. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
BrentLJul 8, 2009
What was good about the movie, they did really well. To bad everything else sucked. The movie jumped around too much in the beginning, the comedy protions lasted too long, and parts of the movie were there for no reason. They cursed just to What was good about the movie, they did really well. To bad everything else sucked. The movie jumped around too much in the beginning, the comedy protions lasted too long, and parts of the movie were there for no reason. They cursed just to curse, no rhyme or reason behind it, purely for cheep laughs. Slow mo running like baywatch in a childs movie, not that its the worse thing in the world, but simply misplaced. The first two minutes of comedy is great and truly funny, but then it lasts another eight annoying minutes which completely overshadows the first two. They spend way too much time trying to make people laugh, and not enough perfecting the storyline. the plot is well done, but out of no where they jump from autobots to predacons to humans with terrible transitions. The movie is terrible until u get to the point where megatron fights prime, if u can watch from that point and skip the rest. if it wasnt for the later part of the movie , it would be a zero, and im a huge transformers fan. overall, the movie speeds threw parts which should be given more attention, and gives way too much time to parts that should last a minute or two Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
tonycAug 9, 2009
Though it fails in a few key ways, the incredible filmmaking that goes into it, like Bay's great directing skills, make it stand out as oscar-worthy next to pieces of poop like Wolverine or G.I. Joe, by people who can't film action Though it fails in a few key ways, the incredible filmmaking that goes into it, like Bay's great directing skills, make it stand out as oscar-worthy next to pieces of poop like Wolverine or G.I. Joe, by people who can't film action to save their souls. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
LukeD.Oct 27, 2009
Transformers 2 has a great opening and special effects and its entertaing for a while but there are far too many flaws with a lame plot, terrible gags and far too long. its metal banging for 2 1/2 hours.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
Marc.D.Jun 24, 2009
It's loud, dumb and much too long. Strangely enough, Strangely enough, the formula behind Bay's best film (the first Transformers film) has proven to be a misfire for the sequel. Once all the horny teens realise that this is just It's loud, dumb and much too long. Strangely enough, Strangely enough, the formula behind Bay's best film (the first Transformers film) has proven to be a misfire for the sequel. Once all the horny teens realise that this is just soft core Megan Fox porn...they'll realise just how shallow this film really is. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
TrevorSJun 25, 2009
Starts out strong, very strong. The first hour and a half of the movie I almost laughed at myself for doubting this movie, then the point all the raters made came out. This movie has AMAZING special effects, with perfectly created fights Starts out strong, very strong. The first hour and a half of the movie I almost laughed at myself for doubting this movie, then the point all the raters made came out. This movie has AMAZING special effects, with perfectly created fights that left me with goosebumps, however, that just wasn't enough. It is a long movie ((close to three hours I believe)) and it hits a very stagnant point about half way through. The acting, other than LeBeouf, is stale and lazy. I would recommend this movie if you're a fan of stylized fighting sequences, such as some DBZ type stuff. If that doesn't interest you, don't waste the time or money Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
AlexPJun 25, 2009
Mindbogglingly Visceral; Dumb; Too much humping.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
PeterSJun 26, 2009
It's Ok...assuming you don't think about what you're seeing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
TylerB.Jun 26, 2009
I wanted this movie to be so good but I came out so disappointed. The first 45 minutes isnt hardly any robots and more like a national lampoon movie complete about 50 different sexual jokes that only a 13 year old would find amusing. The I wanted this movie to be so good but I came out so disappointed. The first 45 minutes isnt hardly any robots and more like a national lampoon movie complete about 50 different sexual jokes that only a 13 year old would find amusing. The robots are again pushed to the back of the movie even though clearly it is called Transformers not Humans: with special guest cameos by transformers. The movie starts to get good and takes a serious turn when it will be ruined by another fart joke or silly robot. How are hyper evolved robots so goofy? The few action scenes that had transformers were good but sadly the dialogue for the robots is still crappy except for Peter Cullen and Hugo Weaving. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
SeanZ.Jun 27, 2009
As one can see from the user votes the only people who will find this movie fulfilling are straight guys with a hard-on for Megan Fox and kids under the age of 16. Absolutely no substance. Slightly entertaining. Will not see it again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
petepetersJun 29, 2009
The first one was great. it baited you up. my grand daughter loved it. so did my wife and i,it pretty much destroyed and demoralized the transformers for us. it must be hard to keep things clean.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
EnzoP.Jul 1, 2009
Transformers 2 is a action packed entertaining movie but it has problems. For instance the plot and the script is very poor, and the acting is not that good. Micheal Bay shouldn't of made the sequel, the first one is a handful better.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
ChrisLJul 1, 2009
ok, i really do have so much to say about this movie, i honestly do, but it can all be summed up on this site
http://movies.yahoo.com/feature/smg-transformers-10-questions.html
honestly, its everything i already thought about the movie,
ok, i really do have so much to say about this movie, i honestly do, but it can all be summed up on this site
http://movies.yahoo.com/feature/smg-transformers-10-questions.html
honestly, its everything i already thought about the movie, plus a few more things. there were inconsistencies with the first movie (bumblebee CANT TALK again??? the robots were revealed by the national defense guy on television, and now they're a secret again??? WHAT?) and inconsistencies within the movie's own plot (why oh WHY did he need to go halfway across the world to revive optimus?? look in mikaela's purse!!!)

sigh... i hope i'm allowed to put the link up, it's yahoo's burning questions, legit page. i had a friend who loved the movie, i showed him this page, and he rethought it after reading the burning questions
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
TriciaO.Jul 13, 2009
Overall the movie was good. However, I think it's sad that the writers felt the need to use such profanity. This is a movie truly solicited towards kids, and I teach my kid right from wrong, but this was over the top. There were so many Overall the movie was good. However, I think it's sad that the writers felt the need to use such profanity. This is a movie truly solicited towards kids, and I teach my kid right from wrong, but this was over the top. There were so many alternatives that could of been used and these Transformers would of be funnier. Using profanity in the manner in which they did, just was not funny. Boo to the writers on this one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
RobDJul 1, 2009
Waaaaay to long for such a mediocre story and poor character development. Much worse than the first installment with the sole exception of the action. Most every character was a stereotype used for cheap laughs and had 0 depth. I'm notWaaaaay to long for such a mediocre story and poor character development. Much worse than the first installment with the sole exception of the action. Most every character was a stereotype used for cheap laughs and had 0 depth. I'm not just talking about the racist "Sambo" robot caricatures either. Jewish guy who lives with his mom and works in a deli, Italian stool pigeon robot, every girl wears short skirts and is an object of pleasure. What disturbs me the most is the unnecessary swearing thrown in to appease low brow intellect and the amount of small children in the theater. If you are 13 or under or have the mentality of the same age group, you will love this movie. I wasn't going in expecting "Gone With the Wind," but I wanted to laugh, see robot destruction, and be entertained. 1 out of 3 ain't bad I guess. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
RowanFJul 18, 2009
Not that bad actualy: I read the reveiws on here before i saw it and thought 'oh god, i'm in for a peice of crap' but it wasn't realy that bad... OK so the plotline was a little thin, the sections which portray Sam's Not that bad actualy: I read the reveiws on here before i saw it and thought 'oh god, i'm in for a peice of crap' but it wasn't realy that bad... OK so the plotline was a little thin, the sections which portray Sam's social life are DREADFUL and you'll find it hard to give a flying monkey shit about his girlfreind, and in a few of the fight scenes you simply CANNOT tell whats going on, but aside from this it remained a fairly fun outing. The special effects were phenomenal and make up for the fairly poor acting, and a few of the fight scenes do truly look awsome - what better to see than giant robots tearing each other's heads off? Overall it's naff and far from deep and moving, but probably jsut about worth spending a fiver to see the awsome robot fights on the big screen, but almost definately not worth getting on DVD. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
NickTJul 1, 2009
The special effects for this movie were incredible, but the story completely killed it. in the first movie, the basic story is: There are robots, both good and bad. There's a cube called the allspark and we need to stop the bad robots The special effects for this movie were incredible, but the story completely killed it. in the first movie, the basic story is: There are robots, both good and bad. There's a cube called the allspark and we need to stop the bad robots from getting it. In this movie, the plot is so convoluted i could barely understand what was happening. There's a piece of the all spark that sam has, then there's another one in a big super secret safe and then there's this other thing trapped in a cell made of transformer carcasses that does basically the same thing as the all spark and sam needs to get it before the bad robots destroy the great pyramid to unleash a machine to destroy our sun. i mean, WHAT?? In addition, the dialogue is laughable at times (along with the acting by a certain Megan Fox). When Megatron has a conversation with The Fallen, it comes off as a bad darth vader/emperor thing with the fallen referring to him as "My apprentice." Another thing that sealed the deal was that they tried too hard to make the robots funny. There are two robots that follow sam & company around for the whole film simply as "Comic relief." That'd be fine, IF THEY WERE FUNNY!! They come off to me as the jar jar binks of transformers. annyoing, stupid, and just plain unnecessary. This crit, (though it may be viewed as a plus for some) has to do with megan fox. The movie was a megan fox fest. From the first time she's on screen till when the credits roll, she's there to serve one purpose: To make the men drool. There's a shot in the final battle of Shia and Megan running through the smoke and flames in slow motion. There was no need for slow motion, except to make megan fox jiggle. (Not to mention her acting sucks so terribly). In conclusion, I think transformers overcomplicated itself and should have stuck with a simpler more straight forward storyline. The special effects are fantastic and nearly worth the price of admission alone, but no matter how great they are, they need a plot to stand on. And transformers just doesn't have one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
AdrianFJul 2, 2009
It's sooo long, boring... so much noise, after that I was deaf... the acting was not incredible... but some scenes were very funny, entertaining... I liked the effects, were awesome! It's just OK if want to spend money for a pain It's sooo long, boring... so much noise, after that I was deaf... the acting was not incredible... but some scenes were very funny, entertaining... I liked the effects, were awesome! It's just OK if want to spend money for a pain of coccyx. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
MartinSJul 3, 2009
I give it 5 for special effects. I'm not sure who is the demographic for this picture. Clearly the major appeal will be to teenagers and preteens but the language and Megan Fox crotch-shots pretty much eliminate any kids under 12. As an I give it 5 for special effects. I'm not sure who is the demographic for this picture. Clearly the major appeal will be to teenagers and preteens but the language and Megan Fox crotch-shots pretty much eliminate any kids under 12. As an actress, Ms. Fox will make a fine playboy centerfold. Anybody who's already been through puberty can skip this one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
BradMJul 3, 2009
Didn't exactly hate it. Some holes in the plot. Action was incredible. Length of the movie became a issue.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
PedroMJul 3, 2009
Too much expectation,for a movie that does not inovate form the last one...The last 30Minutes makes everyone headache.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
BitBurnJul 4, 2009
Meh, the excitement is not there anymore. Plus this one is way more childish than the first one with lots of CGI, effects, weak storyline.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
AlbertoVJul 7, 2009
Well this is transformers, story is not very important, but action is, and in this sequel there are not good action squences, the last battle was a mess that dont live up to the last battle of the first one, even if they are using more and Well this is transformers, story is not very important, but action is, and in this sequel there are not good action squences, the last battle was a mess that dont live up to the last battle of the first one, even if they are using more and better effects, the direction was quite bad. the annoying twins robots make the movie even worse. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
SteveCJul 7, 2009
As soon as the credits rolled on this spectacle, I said to myself, "Well, they sure did blow a lot of [stuff] up." There's nothing wrong with that and it's entirely what I expected from this movie. If that's all you go in As soon as the credits rolled on this spectacle, I said to myself, "Well, they sure did blow a lot of [stuff] up." There's nothing wrong with that and it's entirely what I expected from this movie. If that's all you go in expecting, you should enjoy it. On the other hand, if you're hoping for a salient plot and interesting characters to go along with your sci fi and explosions, you'll be disappointed. Terminator 2 it's not. The movie powers it's way through one of the least cohesive scripts imaginable, replete with two-dimensional cliché characters and nonsensical dialog. Throughout the whole debacle, the production team repeatedly tries to to write itself out of the corners they've painted themselves into, as if nobody had any idea where the storyline was going before they started writing. New characters and explanations are thrown in as late as 10 minutes before the climactic ending. Directing a movie like this is really more about directing the effects department than anything. On that front, my only complaint is that occasionally the transformers are shot so close when fighting each other that it's hard to tell what's happening and to whom. I'm not sure it's even fair to judge a project like this using traditional standards like writing and directing, but if you do, it's dismal. Overall, I'd give it a 2, but for the genre it's a 6, so I'm calling it a 4. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
JasonLAug 4, 2009
The larger than life Transformer battles start the movie of as a 10, but then the awkwardness of tongue-attacking female decepticon, the leg-humping mini-bot, and the giant Transformer balls knock the movie down to an 8. Toss in the Autobot The larger than life Transformer battles start the movie of as a 10, but then the awkwardness of tongue-attacking female decepticon, the leg-humping mini-bot, and the giant Transformer balls knock the movie down to an 8. Toss in the Autobot twins who were hitting a Jar-jar binks level of annoyingness and finish off with Sam's character acting like a prick to Bumblee drops the movie down to a 4. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
CurrenWSep 2, 2009
Clearly, the only people who hated it are the people who either didn't like the first one or thought the first one was OK. If you're like me and thought the first one was awesome, there shouldn't be too much to hate in this Clearly, the only people who hated it are the people who either didn't like the first one or thought the first one was OK. If you're like me and thought the first one was awesome, there shouldn't be too much to hate in this sequel. There's more action, more robots, and more of the parents. However, I can't say it's nearly as good as the first one; the humor is god-awful and makes you wonder why they did what they did, and the love story is even more ridiculous this time around. However, I left the theater satisfied; so much so that I actually saw it again in IMAX a few weeks later. It's less than meets the eye this time around, but it's still enjoyable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JayH.Oct 19, 2009
5.5/10. Overlooking the fact that it is a 2 hour and 29 minute commercial for Chevrolet, it completely lacks the charm of the original, and ends up as an overlong special effects extravaganza with no soul and little depth. Megan Fox is 5.5/10. Overlooking the fact that it is a 2 hour and 29 minute commercial for Chevrolet, it completely lacks the charm of the original, and ends up as an overlong special effects extravaganza with no soul and little depth. Megan Fox is irritating and Shia La Beouf lacks the spunk he had in the original. On the plus side, the special effects are creative and very well done, the cinematography is excellent and the score is fine. It has some memorable scenes, but they are too few and far between. 5.5/10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
RyanM.Oct 21, 2009
Mildly entertaining eye candy. Poor storytelling that seems a bit confusing and all over the place. Of course Fox is easy on the eyes, but the jive talking auto bot buddies annoy and are Bay's Jar Jar Binx. I hope the third installment Mildly entertaining eye candy. Poor storytelling that seems a bit confusing and all over the place. Of course Fox is easy on the eyes, but the jive talking auto bot buddies annoy and are Bay's Jar Jar Binx. I hope the third installment is just as exciting with a much better story and plot development. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
PhillADec 2, 2009
Not a terrible film, just not fantastic either. To be perfectly blunt do not expect film critics to give a film a good score if it doesn't include either profound levels of male homosexuality, or a person of Middle-Eastern origin going Not a terrible film, just not fantastic either. To be perfectly blunt do not expect film critics to give a film a good score if it doesn't include either profound levels of male homosexuality, or a person of Middle-Eastern origin going through some kind of religious or racial persecutiuon.... because niether of those subjects get old.... basically what I am saying is, critics.. give films the score you think it should have based on the level of entertainment provided, stop trying to impress your good-for-nothing journalist compatriots, grow a pair and tell the truth. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
BrunoOndeiJun 24, 2009
Worst than the first one. Enjoyable, but not much. The end is strange.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
AaronG.Jun 24, 2009
A poor miserable excuse for some pretty CGI.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
ChrizzoovJun 24, 2009
This movie is sooo loud, i couldnt even hear my thoughts... man, i think the Transformers Franchise is going down with Michael bay, please!! Someone Rescue the Franchise!!!!! Spielberg, do something!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
NayeemC.Jun 24, 2009
it was ok, but it ran way too long, and the story wasn't that great. but it was a decent summer action movie. but for those who are comparing this to "The Dark Knight", stop right now. the dark knight was 10 times better than this.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
LeviH.Jun 24, 2009
Somehow, Micheal Bay managed to ruin the major draw he had in this movie (Megan Fox being really hot) by making sure the camera never lingered on her long enough to really satisfy those of us who care. Sadly, for those of us interested in Somehow, Micheal Bay managed to ruin the major draw he had in this movie (Megan Fox being really hot) by making sure the camera never lingered on her long enough to really satisfy those of us who care. Sadly, for those of us interested in fighting robots, he applied the same theory. Most of the scenes in this film, actually, include some sort of obstruction to the shot. This technique, while admirable for plot based art films, does little for the vapid appeal that makes Micheal Bay films all this money. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
XouX.Jun 24, 2009
like the first one. nothing more then special effects, loud noises, extensive battle sequences and rarely focuses on the plot nor the characters or (transformers). just your average michael bay film
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
AnonymousJun 24, 2009
A great summer popcorn movie, but a very flawed one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
ShaneD.Jun 24, 2009
The constant fighting and explosions took away from the movie. The story was very weak and it seemed like Bay used the fighting to fill in where the story collapsed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
AMovieCriticJun 25, 2009
Eh....now, I actually loved the first one and thought it hit all the right notes, except in its last half hour when it just turned into an "action movie." Well.....this entire movie is like that half hour. It just never stops, there's Eh....now, I actually loved the first one and thought it hit all the right notes, except in its last half hour when it just turned into an "action movie." Well.....this entire movie is like that half hour. It just never stops, there's so much non-stop action that the audience becomes numb to it. Even when nothing's going on the camera never stops spinning around, I actually began to get sick in the theater during a kiss scene because the camera kept spinning around the characters for what felt like minutes. I was at times amazed at the movie....amazed at the racism, amazed at the terrible story, amazed at how they used Green Day's 21 Guns as a love balad, (3 times!!!) amazed at the depiction of college life....seriously, unless this was Porn Star Campus, girls in college don't walk around dressed like that. (Not that I'm complaining, exactly, but it did take me out of the movie.) Meagan Fox's ass pretty much upstages the rest of the cast, as Michael Bay never seems to get tired of pointing the camera at it and the other actors don't get much to do. Everything in this movie's so overdone that it's almost a joke; the movie almost plays out like a parody of itself....as if somebody wanted to make a spoof of a Michael Bay film and this was what we got. Every action scene, every joke, every camera movement, shots of pretty girls...it's all done TO THE EXTREME. It's almost a running joke itself. Even when no action's going on the characters talk so fast and urgently that I barely had any idea what they were saying. (Especially Stan's roommate...) Still, I've gotta give credit where credit is due....the movie DOES manage to be very funny (though the jokes themselves seem to have been written by a bunch of 13-year olds in a gym locker room, but they're delivered by funny actors and so they work) and almost every single line is a joke. Shia LeBouf continues to be a very funny actor and delivers his lines perfectly, as if he knows how ridiculous this all is and goes along for the ride. The special effects are also pretty amazing and overall I DID have fun watching it, but afterwards it's almost impossible to grasp what I've just watched. Too bad. The first one was very promising, this is just a somewhat decent follow-up. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
MacM.Jun 25, 2009
Loud, flashy, dumb as a box of rocks. Bring your tylenol headache medicine and shut off your brain!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JasonGJun 27, 2009
Too long, pretty boring; the story line didn't follow any of the old transformer stories and overall I just wanted it to end. Good effects, but that doesn't make a movie imo.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
AlonsoCJun 27, 2009
Whats up with the God Robots?? when Sam "dies" and he goes to...HEAVEN? its another hollywood-style movie, explosions, explosions, explosions, special effects and MOAR explosions, i liked it, but this place its to critic the movie, not if i Whats up with the God Robots?? when Sam "dies" and he goes to...HEAVEN? its another hollywood-style movie, explosions, explosions, explosions, special effects and MOAR explosions, i liked it, but this place its to critic the movie, not if i liked or not. i hate to say it but its a "bad movie". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
mattm.Jun 28, 2009
First things first, I really liked the first movie. That being said I had high expectations for the second and it did not meet those expectations. The plot is kind of silly and it takes away from the movie. It is also a lot similar to the First things first, I really liked the first movie. That being said I had high expectations for the second and it did not meet those expectations. The plot is kind of silly and it takes away from the movie. It is also a lot similar to the plot of the first movie which makes this one predictable. The action scenes were very good until the end when it was just drawn out and then ends very abruptly. The main problem the movie has is they rushed in making it because of the big payday. This is evident in some of the dialogue and some of the characters(megan fox is kind of left out and was not given much of a purpose). Overall it was alright but not as good as the first one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
noopJun 28, 2009
You need a lot of endurance to sit through 147 minutes of repetitive flashy explosions. Great movie for simple-minded teenagers though.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
SamFJun 28, 2009
I was excited about this movie but was sadly disappointed To start with the autobots in this movie seemed to be hanging out in the hood since we last saw them as their language and acts display...when one say gonna put a cap in his ass...I I was excited about this movie but was sadly disappointed To start with the autobots in this movie seemed to be hanging out in the hood since we last saw them as their language and acts display...when one say gonna put a cap in his ass...I could not believe it. this is throughout the movie. 75% of the movie is centered on CGI Fighting robots with little or no dialogue. explosions, planes more fighting... and if the auto bots can transports people thousands of miles why not use that on the enemies? very dumb and very long movie that could have been skipped. One good part is Megan fox ...actually thats the only good part... and she is only there to add the love story to the plot. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JoshuaMJun 29, 2009
The movie lost the point on this one. The action was good and the robots were great but the plot was lost. I understand that the movie would attract a teen crowd but was the language and/or ghetto type characters necessary?
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
AbhinavRJul 12, 2009
I think a 35 is a bit harsh. This movie should be judged by its special effects more than anything else. Since they were fantastic, I'll give it a 5/10 because the rest of the film was terrible.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
DavidB.Jul 15, 2009
This was one of my most anticipated films of the year. After seeing the first film, I thought it was pretty good and thought Transformers could be a vehicle to deliver what I want in a film, which is action with deep meaning. When this film This was one of my most anticipated films of the year. After seeing the first film, I thought it was pretty good and thought Transformers could be a vehicle to deliver what I want in a film, which is action with deep meaning. When this film came out, I checked out reviews and my expectations of the film started to drop. Anyway, I went all over the place, and the "Transformers" movie was despised by everyone. This scared me. I went to Netflix and looked at the reviews from normal people, and they said it was good. Yet, the parental guide rating given from Netflix seemed sarcastic in why they gave it a strong PG-13, which means the reviewers probably hated the film, too. So, I went to see the film in IMAX (and I forgot my earplugs, which made it suck in the sound aspect.) This film was a total disappointment. The story was incoherent, the characters were terrible, human and robot alike, and their was no philosophical ideas. The biggest question I had was why did the Fallen have a vendetta against mankind if the last time he came here, it was 17,000 B.C. and our species obviously could do nothing to him? Or is he plain lazy and doesn't want to go searching again to another planet to find another star-destroyer thing? I felt offended from watching the two robots, Mudflap and Skid, considering no matter what other people say, they are definitely caricatures (don't blame the script writers, they didn't want them in the film originally.) I felt they were put in for this reason (I'm into crazy conspiracies, but this might have some relevance): some person at GM wanted to show off their new cars, and the old white guys who own the company said "how can I make this product appear cool to younger people"? Then they thought, "Oh, what about that stuff called rap music? It's done by black people, right?" So, they took their uncool representation of a black person, and tried to sell off the cars as bling. Absolutely stupid. When one of them gets sucked up by the Devastator Constructicon, I wanted him to die, not break free. The characterization is just plain horrible. No chemistry between Sam and Mikaela, and everyone delivers one liners and cliches. What idiot wrote this script? There is no character development, and for a two and a half hour film, that is pathetic. Michael Bay is also bad at romance scenes in every film he does. I mean, it shouldn't be his fault, but for God sakes, why can't his writers put something good in? Other problems are the racial stereotyping, the objectification of women (which I find particularly disgraceful), and simple stupidity of the characters. Another thing, instead of finding Optimus Prime cool like I did in the first one, he came off as annoying. I wanted to yell at him "Shut up, you are making yourself look stupid, not wise!" I mean, rip something out of Ecclesiastes if you want archaic wise, not the dribble they told Peter Cullen to say. As for cinematography, this movie is a mixed bag. Sometimes it was good, the one scene which I thought was really nice was towards the end during the fighting when they take a really long, slo-mo shot of the action. I'm a fan of long, creative shots, and this one pulled it off. But, often times, the visual direction was so jumbled I didn't have a good idea of what was on screen. I could tell who was there, but not what they were really doing. I can make more sense out of karate fighting than this. And lastly, and second most importantly, the message. This film has none. Yes, I said it, none. Optimus Prime and the Autobots are fighting for peace, but so much stuff gets destroyed and so many robots die that it seems they might rather just kill each other than actually have peace. I mean, they are created with huge guns on their arms, what else are they there for, picnics in daisy fields? This isn't a good battle between the forces of holy and demonic, it's just stuff blowing up. As for humanity, it says nothing. We want to continue living, so obviously we are going to kill giant evil robots. This isn't thought-provoking, its fight-or-flight syndrome. From this aspect alone, I don't know how people can find this film to be above average. I've often been criticized for looking too deeply into many works, including all forms of art from literature to music, and that I do not know how to enjoy whatever medium it is. Well, I'm not going to listen to bad techno/pop/Top 40 music just because chicks dig it, and I'm not going to like a film just because stuff blows up. Yet, from all of this, I still find the film to be slightly below average. I gave it 3 stars on Netflix, and in a 0 to 10 system (which is my favorite and with 7 being average,) I'd say a 6.5. It did half of what I came to the movie for, which was action. The other half, which is characterization, meaning, and good plot, were thrown on the wayside. Was I entertained? Not really. When my first question of "Why?" breaks up a film, it loses all of its potential. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
RossWJul 2, 2009
Who wrote the script?! there are SO MANY FLAWS in the story line.... good fight scenes but that's all that is good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
DexterMJul 25, 2009
Alright so I saw the first one, it was pretty good. I actually wanted to see Public Enemies when I saw this but it was the premiere and was too alzy to wait till midnight, anyways I saw Transformers 2. it was.... okay The first half an hour Alright so I saw the first one, it was pretty good. I actually wanted to see Public Enemies when I saw this but it was the premiere and was too alzy to wait till midnight, anyways I saw Transformers 2. it was.... okay The first half an hour was great, re-introducing all the characters, was pretty funny, main guy goes to college, introduced to these other guys, sam and Megans character (cant remember her character name) had the whole relationships thing still going and it was interesting. Now for me these are the main points which ruin this movie: 1. NO character development, at all. When I started watching it I was like, who's this commander guy? He hasn't even been introduced, then I remembered he was from the first one, it automatically assumes you remember straight away and it shows how unforgettable each character is as I couldn't even remember them! 2. the story, it was pretty lame.. was boring to be honest, when Optimus died, it just left us with lame-ass characters, bumblebee doesn't talk.. and those twins are not funny, at all. There just annoying, and you don't even care about them. There were also some other robots that envr got introduced like these motorbike ones or something which seems pretty badass, but they were never introduced!!! And when they were in it they said one line and died. 3. Editing. Editing was bad, jump cuts all over the place, even the rorobt fights felt.... forced, it was all really close up at points and no variety 4. Stupidity. So many plot holes... don't even get me started on the ending.. why didn't Optimus turn AROUND AFTER defeating the big guy and just kill Megatron?... I mean.. what the hell? Optimus kills him the big guy, it shows Megatrons aying ill be back and walks off and cuts to optimus walking back to the humans.... but Megatron was directly behind Optimus.... HELLOOOO? whatever it's not even worth thinking about. anyways I give it a 4 for the Cg effects as it was pretty cool, ws some cool camera work at times and the acting was pretty good but it feels very empty,. and is wayyy longer than it should've been worth a watch if it's on tv in the future but I wouldn't recommend paying to see this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JohnHJul 5, 2009
Even though my brother and father hated the movie, I found this movie to be pretty funny. Sure, it isn't the best film in the world, but it is fun. It also makes fun of President Barack Obama a tad. The first forty-five minutes of this Even though my brother and father hated the movie, I found this movie to be pretty funny. Sure, it isn't the best film in the world, but it is fun. It also makes fun of President Barack Obama a tad. The first forty-five minutes of this movie were the best, but the rest of the film was still good. I would rate this movie a six and a half, but since I can only vote zero-ten, I rounded it down to a six. I would recommend that you see this film, but again, it is not the end of the world if you don't. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
ManuelRJul 9, 2009
The film lacks of a good plot, there are many things that stay unexplained on the film. Michael will always be a great action-film director, but this time he really abused of close-ups to the robots, sometimes you cant really understand The film lacks of a good plot, there are many things that stay unexplained on the film. Michael will always be a great action-film director, but this time he really abused of close-ups to the robots, sometimes you cant really understand whats happening until at last you see a dead robot fall. He also left real acting for the twin robot wich at the end of the film you did not end up on really caring about them. As for the real life human actors, the plot itself cuts them out, they dont do anything more than scream, or pose in the case of Megan. I have to say i do went to see this movie because i liked the first one a lot, other reason was because of Megan. I do love her she is so hot, but that doesn't quit her of being the bad actrees she is, and also the stupidity that lies in his head an in his voice. Anyone who has seen "How to loose friends and Alienate people" would understand my point, what i mean is, she was so stupid to take the role in that movie of a moviestar that lacks of talent but has sex-appeal. It is a critic to all that she is rigth now,!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
CastorTroyAug 19, 2009
Entertaining movie but no plot, mediocre acting, and Michael Bay thinks the audience is retarded
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JohnRayPrestoAug 21, 2009
story is BAD.. i only like the ACTION SCENES...
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
BPAug 26, 2009
It wasn't great and not as good as the original, but it wasn't horrible either. They probably overdid Megan Fox's pout a bit. In answer to Anthony S who wants to see a more boring movie - try The Piano or The English Patient It wasn't great and not as good as the original, but it wasn't horrible either. They probably overdid Megan Fox's pout a bit. In answer to Anthony S who wants to see a more boring movie - try The Piano or The English Patient or any Harry Potter movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JohnR.Apr 18, 2010
While the acting is bad, the story is bad, the action, and the fx are awesome. It is a bad film, but the fx are awesome! Popcorn film at best.
0 of 0 users found this helpful