User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1357 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Marc.D.
    Jun 24, 2009
    6
    It's loud, dumb and much too long. Strangely enough, Strangely enough, the formula behind Bay's best film (the first Transformers film) has proven to be a misfire for the sequel. Once all the horny teens realise that this is just soft core Megan Fox porn...they'll realise just how shallow this film really is.
  2. KenanH.
    Jun 24, 2009
    7
    It was amazingly action packed and I cannot get enough of Megan Fox! Except for Shia, the acting was horrendous but that was expected. The 1 hour climax scene was a little bit annoying, but all in all I had fun.
  3. Unr101
    Jun 24, 2009
    8
    Great sequel to the first, for sure. The beginning is very well done and super awesome to watch as you watch all the bots in action. Drags in the middle and the finally is great but sort of leaves a little more to be desired; but it's definitely much better than the reviews are saying it is. What are you waiting for? GO WATCH IT!!!
  4. billH.
    Jun 24, 2009
    0
    If you love huge action, great special effects, amazing stories, interesting characters, wonderful acting and clever humour...then go see something else. If you are of low intelligence and will watch any old drivel for two and half hours so long as it has some explosions and hot chicks then you will lap this up.
  5. Rob
    Jun 25, 2009
    0
    Garbage -- please do not see this movie!! We need to stop encouraging Hollywood to put out mindless schlock such as this. Contrary to popular belief, a film CAN actually have REAL production values and be entertaining. The Dark Knight, while not the best movie ever, was still fairly coherent, it was well shot, had some good writing and acting, and was still a huge summer blockbuster and Garbage -- please do not see this movie!! We need to stop encouraging Hollywood to put out mindless schlock such as this. Contrary to popular belief, a film CAN actually have REAL production values and be entertaining. The Dark Knight, while not the best movie ever, was still fairly coherent, it was well shot, had some good writing and acting, and was still a huge summer blockbuster and was monstrously accessible. Transformers 2 is pure garbage, plain and simple. There is absolutely nothing redeeming about it. Michael Bay ought to be working at a gas station if he is half as dumb as his movies let on. Please, go see something else this weekend. Go see Up, or Star Trek, or heck, just watch some paint dry, it will be more intellectually stimulating than this steaming turd. Expand
  6. johnD
    Jun 25, 2009
    0
    My kids hated this movie. They looked excited while watching but I was just bored the whole time. No movie with that much cgi should be that long. After the movie was done we walked and they both hated. My daughter liked it a little better than my son but for the most part it was all a huge disappointment.
  7. Bren'sten
    Jun 25, 2009
    0
    This was a horrible movie. And what was with the twin robots that cursed all the time because supposedly they were black so of course as a black robot you must curse and say bit** and sh** every five minutes. I think it was suppose to be funny but the movie sucked so much before that I was numb so I didn't get very mad when that came around. Definitely deserves a zero.
  8. EricBrown
    Jun 25, 2009
    9
    Transformers 2 gives you everything you would expect from a Michael Bay directed movie based off a action pack cartoon. Remember people that's what it is. It is suppose to be Loud, Action Packed and crammed with as many Decepticons and Autobots you can think of. If you were expecting something else you should have seen the movie. Turn the brain off and enjoy the simple CGI RobotTransformers 2 gives you everything you would expect from a Michael Bay directed movie based off a action pack cartoon. Remember people that's what it is. It is suppose to be Loud, Action Packed and crammed with as many Decepticons and Autobots you can think of. If you were expecting something else you should have seen the movie. Turn the brain off and enjoy the simple CGI Robot Battle Royal smashup!!!! Expand
  9. TrevorS
    Jun 25, 2009
    6
    Starts out strong, very strong. The first hour and a half of the movie I almost laughed at myself for doubting this movie, then the point all the raters made came out. This movie has AMAZING special effects, with perfectly created fights that left me with goosebumps, however, that just wasn't enough. It is a long movie ((close to three hours I believe)) and it hits a very stagnant Starts out strong, very strong. The first hour and a half of the movie I almost laughed at myself for doubting this movie, then the point all the raters made came out. This movie has AMAZING special effects, with perfectly created fights that left me with goosebumps, however, that just wasn't enough. It is a long movie ((close to three hours I believe)) and it hits a very stagnant point about half way through. The acting, other than LeBeouf, is stale and lazy. I would recommend this movie if you're a fan of stylized fighting sequences, such as some DBZ type stuff. If that doesn't interest you, don't waste the time or money Expand
  10. SamL
    Jun 25, 2009
    7
    Summer blockbusters should be a movie that majority of the public can enjoy. Watching T2 feels a lot like watching Bad Boys 2 in terms of explosion & intense scene but lacking on storyline progression. I think with unexpected success of the first movie the director feels why not make it bigger & badder & rake in more money just like waht Dead Man chest had achieved. Clearly this movie was Summer blockbusters should be a movie that majority of the public can enjoy. Watching T2 feels a lot like watching Bad Boys 2 in terms of explosion & intense scene but lacking on storyline progression. I think with unexpected success of the first movie the director feels why not make it bigger & badder & rake in more money just like waht Dead Man chest had achieved. Clearly this movie was not made for the critics so I would rate it higher as a normal moviegoer. Expand
  11. AlexP
    Jun 25, 2009
    6
    Mindbogglingly Visceral; Dumb; Too much humping.
  12. FilipeC
    Jun 25, 2009
    8
    It really is a poorer movie than the first, with bay directing what would you expect, the first movie was the fluke in bay's nauseating movie curriculum, but, nevertheless i will give it a high score, My reason is simple, most critics don't know the the animation series' story, including jetfire the lost transformer, devastator, the matrix, starscream's cowardly acts! It really is a poorer movie than the first, with bay directing what would you expect, the first movie was the fluke in bay's nauseating movie curriculum, but, nevertheless i will give it a high score, My reason is simple, most critics don't know the the animation series' story, including jetfire the lost transformer, devastator, the matrix, starscream's cowardly acts! We have to realize, this storylineless movie, is supposed to be just that and the action and CGI is really is all a transformers fan is expecting. What's next? Unicron? Expand
  13. PeterS
    Jun 26, 2009
    4
    It's Ok...assuming you don't think about what you're seeing.
  14. DanC.
    Jun 26, 2009
    9
    Seriously, how can you go into a movie based on a cartoon with such high expectations for character development, plotline and "beautiful cinematography" which seems to be all that is needed for a good score these days. Transformers 2 doubles the action and despite some fairly erroneous and somewhat distracting errors in both story and effects creates an amazing experience. I don't Seriously, how can you go into a movie based on a cartoon with such high expectations for character development, plotline and "beautiful cinematography" which seems to be all that is needed for a good score these days. Transformers 2 doubles the action and despite some fairly erroneous and somewhat distracting errors in both story and effects creates an amazing experience. I don't recall Transformers both now and during the original cartoons run ever being about the story. It was always second to the eye candy of big guns on big robots. The movie delivers that and more with the added bonus of two total hotties for at least the first 30-45 minutes of the movie. Once people go into a movie expecting more than it needs to deliver, people go on a bashing run around the Internets and through the press. Its sad that films like this which are pure brain candy are treated like they might be the next Ben Hur and subsequently fall short. Expand
  15. C.Allison
    Jun 26, 2009
    7
    Dialogue was much to be desired and Megan Fox's character was almost completely pointless, but, I will say that I loved the plot line and the CGI was spectacular.
  16. ChrisB
    Jun 26, 2009
    7
    Could have done without Megan fox, she had no clear purpose or any real script other then pure sex appeal, like the Robot says in the movie she's HOT but not to bright. There is a plot to the movie ** SPOILER ** Fast plot, Descriptions are trying to find a key to unlock a machine to harvest the suns power to make energon to populate whats left of the fallen that encountered humans Could have done without Megan fox, she had no clear purpose or any real script other then pure sex appeal, like the Robot says in the movie she's HOT but not to bright. There is a plot to the movie ** SPOILER ** Fast plot, Descriptions are trying to find a key to unlock a machine to harvest the suns power to make energon to populate whats left of the fallen that encountered humans long ago. , the problem is it will leave earth without a sun. both long ago and now had fights over it to save humans. not the best plot but its still a solid story. the movie could have been 30m shorter then it was but it want horrible. Expand
  17. MatthewM
    Jun 26, 2009
    9
    Never in hisotry has a statue been erected in honor of a critic! One of the most thrilling action movies I've seen in a long time. All the bullsh*t is coming from Michael Bay haters, and you all forget Bay does one thing very well: Balls to the wall action. The plot is simple, the autobots are compelling characters, and the combat scenes are riveting to say the least. The middle ofNever in hisotry has a statue been erected in honor of a critic! One of the most thrilling action movies I've seen in a long time. All the bullsh*t is coming from Michael Bay haters, and you all forget Bay does one thing very well: Balls to the wall action. The plot is simple, the autobots are compelling characters, and the combat scenes are riveting to say the least. The middle of the movie slows down a bit and I was getting worried about half way through that it would drag, but in the end it builds up wonderfully to a great climax and a spectacular final battle. If you were a fan of the original cartoons, this movie will not let you down. Don't listen to the critics, and don't let any contempt for Bay ruin the movie for you. All around great summer action movie that will not disappoint. Expand
  18. JohnM.
    Jun 26, 2009
    2
    The movie has moments of brilliance, however these are all but lost a in a mediocre and overly drawn-out plot, which is more heavily punctuated with juvenile 'humour', racial stereotypes, and lame attempts at action- even the biggest fight scenes were boring.
  19. ChaseL.
    Jun 26, 2009
    7
    Great action sequences with some of the best cgi effects I've seen in a while, audio is jaw dropping. However the plot has to much in common with the first one (find a 'sacred' artifact and use it to end the war) which I found was alright but some may not like it
  20. RobbyT.
    Jun 26, 2009
    2
    Before you dismiss me as another Michael Bay hater, please read what I have to say. Yes, the movie is bad. Really bad. Unless you're a 10-year-old boy, you seriously are going to want to skip this one. And that's a hard thing for me to say considering I saw the first one and found it pretty entertaining. I mean it's at least worth seeing for the cool special effects and Before you dismiss me as another Michael Bay hater, please read what I have to say. Yes, the movie is bad. Really bad. Unless you're a 10-year-old boy, you seriously are going to want to skip this one. And that's a hard thing for me to say considering I saw the first one and found it pretty entertaining. I mean it's at least worth seeing for the cool special effects and Megan Fox, right? Wrong. Listen to me: I paid to see Armageddon and Pearl Harbor when they were in theaters. I own copies of The Island and The Rock. I walked out of Revenge of the Fallen after 2 hours. I'd ask for my money back if I thought there was a chance I'd get it. Speilberg produced this crap? Come on, Steve! Did you read the script or did you get a tax write off for hiring the mentally challenged?! Absolute garbage. Peter Travers just scored some big points with me for telling it like it is. TV Guide, whatever the studio paid you, it isn't worth it. Bottom line: the movie is crap. Expand
  21. LouieT.
    Jun 26, 2009
    0
    As a huge major hollywood director, Michael Bay seriously looses touch with this movie. More so than the first transformers movie, it really lacks intelligence. Does the man even know what suspense is? It barely has a begining middle and end, which is torturous to say as this movie clocks over two hours. It was excruciatingly painful too watch, even with the added 10mins of slow motion megan fox!
  22. TylerB.
    Jun 26, 2009
    5
    I wanted this movie to be so good but I came out so disappointed. The first 45 minutes isnt hardly any robots and more like a national lampoon movie complete about 50 different sexual jokes that only a 13 year old would find amusing. The robots are again pushed to the back of the movie even though clearly it is called Transformers not Humans: with special guest cameos by transformers. The I wanted this movie to be so good but I came out so disappointed. The first 45 minutes isnt hardly any robots and more like a national lampoon movie complete about 50 different sexual jokes that only a 13 year old would find amusing. The robots are again pushed to the back of the movie even though clearly it is called Transformers not Humans: with special guest cameos by transformers. The movie starts to get good and takes a serious turn when it will be ruined by another fart joke or silly robot. How are hyper evolved robots so goofy? The few action scenes that had transformers were good but sadly the dialogue for the robots is still crappy except for Peter Cullen and Hugo Weaving. Expand
  23. PaulWalker
    Jun 26, 2009
    8
    Enjoyed it, going again with my wife tonight.
  24. AndrewB.
    Jun 26, 2009
    9
    Optimius Prime FTW! Seriously, if you go into this movie expecting some great dramatic presentation, you're not only dumb and miss the point of the film... but you're dumb and miss the point of the film. Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen is a massive movie that is designed to be nothing more than an exciting presentation of impossible situations accented by massive robots Optimius Prime FTW! Seriously, if you go into this movie expecting some great dramatic presentation, you're not only dumb and miss the point of the film... but you're dumb and miss the point of the film. Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen is a massive movie that is designed to be nothing more than an exciting presentation of impossible situations accented by massive robots blowing crap up and some cleverly humorous dialogue. There are plenty of throwbacks to the classic series, which is a plus; but overall the movie is just about large scale fun. I enjoyed it immensely. Expand
  25. CynthiaB.
    Jun 27, 2009
    3
    This was just one long transformer fight and after 2.5 hours, it got boring and tiring. The story line was stupid and so was much of the acting, especially Sam's mom. UGH.
  26. DanielS
    Jun 27, 2009
    3
    The only reason why someone would think that this movie is good, is if they had watch it once and was in shock Once you watch it more than once, the special effects don't seem that good, and then you realize how bad the story is. Overall, this movie is decent if you watch it once Anymore than that and you are just going to be bored and hate the movie. And to the other people who are The only reason why someone would think that this movie is good, is if they had watch it once and was in shock Once you watch it more than once, the special effects don't seem that good, and then you realize how bad the story is. Overall, this movie is decent if you watch it once Anymore than that and you are just going to be bored and hate the movie. And to the other people who are not critics but think they deserve to post on a critic site, should learn something about good movies (Godfather etc) before judging something they barely know anything about. Expand
  27. JoshF
    Jun 27, 2009
    8
    This movie is not perfect, but it was enjoyable. I was not a huge fan of the first movie and I was expecting to come out of this one feeling the same way. However, I was pleasantly surprised to find that this movie was actually a bit better than the first (from the perspective of a huge Transformers fan). I've read through the reviews on this site and have noticed that most of you This movie is not perfect, but it was enjoyable. I was not a huge fan of the first movie and I was expecting to come out of this one feeling the same way. However, I was pleasantly surprised to find that this movie was actually a bit better than the first (from the perspective of a huge Transformers fan). I've read through the reviews on this site and have noticed that most of you disliked the constant comedic relief. After seeing a number of Summer blockbusters, I've trained myself to just ignore the comedy bits. If you can do the same you will enjoy this movie for what it is: robots fighting robots. The fight scenes in this movie were much longer and more prevalent than in the first, which is probably why I liked this one more. One particular battle in the forest towards the middle of the movie really won me over. The story in the movie, while weak, is really no more weak than the story of the first movie. A giant machine threatening to destroy the Earth is no different than an ancient Transformer relic threatening to destroy the Earth. One thing to note about the infamous "Twins" was that they were definitely racist stereotypes; however, I noticed that the only people laughing at them in my theater were the African American family behind me. If that family could enjoy the movie despite the "racism," I think a lot of other people can as well. Needless to say, I doubt The Twins will be back for number 3. If you're someone who can overlook a lot of cheese and just focus on the real point (robots fighting robots) this movie will please you. If you need a story that could win an Oscar, please skip this movie and don't bother reviewing it. Expand
  28. ChuckW
    Jun 27, 2009
    0
    I wish there was a minus zero selection on this thing. The worst picture ever from the worst Director/Human Being ever.
  29. SeanZ.
    Jun 27, 2009
    4
    As one can see from the user votes the only people who will find this movie fulfilling are straight guys with a hard-on for Megan Fox and kids under the age of 16. Absolutely no substance. Slightly entertaining. Will not see it again.
  30. ChrisL
    Jun 28, 2009
    2
    Dirty Jokes and Explosions. That's all this movie is. There aren't 5 minutes of story that makes any sense in this movie. THE GOOD: Megan Fox runs in slow motion. I don't know what her character's name is though. She's just Megan Fox running in slow motion. Why is she in the movie? So she can run in slow motion. There's a good fight between Optimus and 3 Dirty Jokes and Explosions. That's all this movie is. There aren't 5 minutes of story that makes any sense in this movie. THE GOOD: Megan Fox runs in slow motion. I don't know what her character's name is though. She's just Megan Fox running in slow motion. Why is she in the movie? So she can run in slow motion. There's a good fight between Optimus and 3 Decepticons in a forest. THE BAD: The story makes no sense whatsoever. The action is so convoluted, you can't tell who is who and there are just a bunch of explosions. The jokes are recycled, racist, sex or drug related, and too adult for kids. The first 45 minutes of the movie are mildly entertaining, then takes a 90 minute break and becomes utter crap. The final transformer battle is about 20 seconds. It's one of the worst movies that I've seen. I'd give the first Transformer Movie a 7. This one, a 2. Expand
Metascore
35

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 32
  2. Negative: 16 out of 32
  1. Reviewed by: Nick De Semlyen
    60
    A super-sized second helping, but the novelty factor and some of the charm’s gone. Hey, at least there's more Megatron / Starscream squabbling this time round.
  2. With its intelligence at the level of the simple-minded, however, the film is not likely to attract moviegoers who seek something more than a screen filled with kaleidoscopes of colored metal. Fan boys will no doubt love it, but for the uninitiated it's loud, tedious and, at 147 minutes, way too long.
  3. Reviewed by: Jordan Mintzer
    60
    Little seems new compared to the first installment, except that this version is longer, louder, and perhaps "more than your eye can meet" in one sitting.