Paramount Pictures | Release Date: June 24, 2009
5.4
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 1454 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
644
Mixed:
266
Negative:
544
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
tonycAug 9, 2009
Though it fails in a few key ways, the incredible filmmaking that goes into it, like Bay's great directing skills, make it stand out as oscar-worthy next to pieces of poop like Wolverine or G.I. Joe, by people who can't film action Though it fails in a few key ways, the incredible filmmaking that goes into it, like Bay's great directing skills, make it stand out as oscar-worthy next to pieces of poop like Wolverine or G.I. Joe, by people who can't film action to save their souls. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
Marc.D.Jun 24, 2009
It's loud, dumb and much too long. Strangely enough, Strangely enough, the formula behind Bay's best film (the first Transformers film) has proven to be a misfire for the sequel. Once all the horny teens realise that this is just It's loud, dumb and much too long. Strangely enough, Strangely enough, the formula behind Bay's best film (the first Transformers film) has proven to be a misfire for the sequel. Once all the horny teens realise that this is just soft core Megan Fox porn...they'll realise just how shallow this film really is. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
TrevorSJun 25, 2009
Starts out strong, very strong. The first hour and a half of the movie I almost laughed at myself for doubting this movie, then the point all the raters made came out. This movie has AMAZING special effects, with perfectly created fights Starts out strong, very strong. The first hour and a half of the movie I almost laughed at myself for doubting this movie, then the point all the raters made came out. This movie has AMAZING special effects, with perfectly created fights that left me with goosebumps, however, that just wasn't enough. It is a long movie ((close to three hours I believe)) and it hits a very stagnant point about half way through. The acting, other than LeBeouf, is stale and lazy. I would recommend this movie if you're a fan of stylized fighting sequences, such as some DBZ type stuff. If that doesn't interest you, don't waste the time or money Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
AlexPJun 25, 2009
Mindbogglingly Visceral; Dumb; Too much humping.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
RowanFJul 18, 2009
Not that bad actualy: I read the reveiws on here before i saw it and thought 'oh god, i'm in for a peice of crap' but it wasn't realy that bad... OK so the plotline was a little thin, the sections which portray Sam's Not that bad actualy: I read the reveiws on here before i saw it and thought 'oh god, i'm in for a peice of crap' but it wasn't realy that bad... OK so the plotline was a little thin, the sections which portray Sam's social life are DREADFUL and you'll find it hard to give a flying monkey shit about his girlfreind, and in a few of the fight scenes you simply CANNOT tell whats going on, but aside from this it remained a fairly fun outing. The special effects were phenomenal and make up for the fairly poor acting, and a few of the fight scenes do truly look awsome - what better to see than giant robots tearing each other's heads off? Overall it's naff and far from deep and moving, but probably jsut about worth spending a fiver to see the awsome robot fights on the big screen, but almost definately not worth getting on DVD. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
BradMJul 3, 2009
Didn't exactly hate it. Some holes in the plot. Action was incredible. Length of the movie became a issue.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
PedroMJul 3, 2009
Too much expectation,for a movie that does not inovate form the last one...The last 30Minutes makes everyone headache.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
BitBurnJul 4, 2009
Meh, the excitement is not there anymore. Plus this one is way more childish than the first one with lots of CGI, effects, weak storyline.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
CurrenWSep 2, 2009
Clearly, the only people who hated it are the people who either didn't like the first one or thought the first one was OK. If you're like me and thought the first one was awesome, there shouldn't be too much to hate in this Clearly, the only people who hated it are the people who either didn't like the first one or thought the first one was OK. If you're like me and thought the first one was awesome, there shouldn't be too much to hate in this sequel. There's more action, more robots, and more of the parents. However, I can't say it's nearly as good as the first one; the humor is god-awful and makes you wonder why they did what they did, and the love story is even more ridiculous this time around. However, I left the theater satisfied; so much so that I actually saw it again in IMAX a few weeks later. It's less than meets the eye this time around, but it's still enjoyable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JayH.Oct 19, 2009
5.5/10. Overlooking the fact that it is a 2 hour and 29 minute commercial for Chevrolet, it completely lacks the charm of the original, and ends up as an overlong special effects extravaganza with no soul and little depth. Megan Fox is 5.5/10. Overlooking the fact that it is a 2 hour and 29 minute commercial for Chevrolet, it completely lacks the charm of the original, and ends up as an overlong special effects extravaganza with no soul and little depth. Megan Fox is irritating and Shia La Beouf lacks the spunk he had in the original. On the plus side, the special effects are creative and very well done, the cinematography is excellent and the score is fine. It has some memorable scenes, but they are too few and far between. 5.5/10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
RyanM.Oct 21, 2009
Mildly entertaining eye candy. Poor storytelling that seems a bit confusing and all over the place. Of course Fox is easy on the eyes, but the jive talking auto bot buddies annoy and are Bay's Jar Jar Binx. I hope the third installment Mildly entertaining eye candy. Poor storytelling that seems a bit confusing and all over the place. Of course Fox is easy on the eyes, but the jive talking auto bot buddies annoy and are Bay's Jar Jar Binx. I hope the third installment is just as exciting with a much better story and plot development. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
BrunoOndeiJun 24, 2009
Worst than the first one. Enjoyable, but not much. The end is strange.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
XouX.Jun 24, 2009
like the first one. nothing more then special effects, loud noises, extensive battle sequences and rarely focuses on the plot nor the characters or (transformers). just your average michael bay film
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
AMovieCriticJun 25, 2009
Eh....now, I actually loved the first one and thought it hit all the right notes, except in its last half hour when it just turned into an "action movie." Well.....this entire movie is like that half hour. It just never stops, there's Eh....now, I actually loved the first one and thought it hit all the right notes, except in its last half hour when it just turned into an "action movie." Well.....this entire movie is like that half hour. It just never stops, there's so much non-stop action that the audience becomes numb to it. Even when nothing's going on the camera never stops spinning around, I actually began to get sick in the theater during a kiss scene because the camera kept spinning around the characters for what felt like minutes. I was at times amazed at the movie....amazed at the racism, amazed at the terrible story, amazed at how they used Green Day's 21 Guns as a love balad, (3 times!!!) amazed at the depiction of college life....seriously, unless this was Porn Star Campus, girls in college don't walk around dressed like that. (Not that I'm complaining, exactly, but it did take me out of the movie.) Meagan Fox's ass pretty much upstages the rest of the cast, as Michael Bay never seems to get tired of pointing the camera at it and the other actors don't get much to do. Everything in this movie's so overdone that it's almost a joke; the movie almost plays out like a parody of itself....as if somebody wanted to make a spoof of a Michael Bay film and this was what we got. Every action scene, every joke, every camera movement, shots of pretty girls...it's all done TO THE EXTREME. It's almost a running joke itself. Even when no action's going on the characters talk so fast and urgently that I barely had any idea what they were saying. (Especially Stan's roommate...) Still, I've gotta give credit where credit is due....the movie DOES manage to be very funny (though the jokes themselves seem to have been written by a bunch of 13-year olds in a gym locker room, but they're delivered by funny actors and so they work) and almost every single line is a joke. Shia LeBouf continues to be a very funny actor and delivers his lines perfectly, as if he knows how ridiculous this all is and goes along for the ride. The special effects are also pretty amazing and overall I DID have fun watching it, but afterwards it's almost impossible to grasp what I've just watched. Too bad. The first one was very promising, this is just a somewhat decent follow-up. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
mattm.Jun 28, 2009
First things first, I really liked the first movie. That being said I had high expectations for the second and it did not meet those expectations. The plot is kind of silly and it takes away from the movie. It is also a lot similar to the First things first, I really liked the first movie. That being said I had high expectations for the second and it did not meet those expectations. The plot is kind of silly and it takes away from the movie. It is also a lot similar to the plot of the first movie which makes this one predictable. The action scenes were very good until the end when it was just drawn out and then ends very abruptly. The main problem the movie has is they rushed in making it because of the big payday. This is evident in some of the dialogue and some of the characters(megan fox is kind of left out and was not given much of a purpose). Overall it was alright but not as good as the first one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
noopJun 28, 2009
You need a lot of endurance to sit through 147 minutes of repetitive flashy explosions. Great movie for simple-minded teenagers though.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
DavidB.Jul 15, 2009
This was one of my most anticipated films of the year. After seeing the first film, I thought it was pretty good and thought Transformers could be a vehicle to deliver what I want in a film, which is action with deep meaning. When this film This was one of my most anticipated films of the year. After seeing the first film, I thought it was pretty good and thought Transformers could be a vehicle to deliver what I want in a film, which is action with deep meaning. When this film came out, I checked out reviews and my expectations of the film started to drop. Anyway, I went all over the place, and the "Transformers" movie was despised by everyone. This scared me. I went to Netflix and looked at the reviews from normal people, and they said it was good. Yet, the parental guide rating given from Netflix seemed sarcastic in why they gave it a strong PG-13, which means the reviewers probably hated the film, too. So, I went to see the film in IMAX (and I forgot my earplugs, which made it suck in the sound aspect.) This film was a total disappointment. The story was incoherent, the characters were terrible, human and robot alike, and their was no philosophical ideas. The biggest question I had was why did the Fallen have a vendetta against mankind if the last time he came here, it was 17,000 B.C. and our species obviously could do nothing to him? Or is he plain lazy and doesn't want to go searching again to another planet to find another star-destroyer thing? I felt offended from watching the two robots, Mudflap and Skid, considering no matter what other people say, they are definitely caricatures (don't blame the script writers, they didn't want them in the film originally.) I felt they were put in for this reason (I'm into crazy conspiracies, but this might have some relevance): some person at GM wanted to show off their new cars, and the old white guys who own the company said "how can I make this product appear cool to younger people"? Then they thought, "Oh, what about that stuff called rap music? It's done by black people, right?" So, they took their uncool representation of a black person, and tried to sell off the cars as bling. Absolutely stupid. When one of them gets sucked up by the Devastator Constructicon, I wanted him to die, not break free. The characterization is just plain horrible. No chemistry between Sam and Mikaela, and everyone delivers one liners and cliches. What idiot wrote this script? There is no character development, and for a two and a half hour film, that is pathetic. Michael Bay is also bad at romance scenes in every film he does. I mean, it shouldn't be his fault, but for God sakes, why can't his writers put something good in? Other problems are the racial stereotyping, the objectification of women (which I find particularly disgraceful), and simple stupidity of the characters. Another thing, instead of finding Optimus Prime cool like I did in the first one, he came off as annoying. I wanted to yell at him "Shut up, you are making yourself look stupid, not wise!" I mean, rip something out of Ecclesiastes if you want archaic wise, not the dribble they told Peter Cullen to say. As for cinematography, this movie is a mixed bag. Sometimes it was good, the one scene which I thought was really nice was towards the end during the fighting when they take a really long, slo-mo shot of the action. I'm a fan of long, creative shots, and this one pulled it off. But, often times, the visual direction was so jumbled I didn't have a good idea of what was on screen. I could tell who was there, but not what they were really doing. I can make more sense out of karate fighting than this. And lastly, and second most importantly, the message. This film has none. Yes, I said it, none. Optimus Prime and the Autobots are fighting for peace, but so much stuff gets destroyed and so many robots die that it seems they might rather just kill each other than actually have peace. I mean, they are created with huge guns on their arms, what else are they there for, picnics in daisy fields? This isn't a good battle between the forces of holy and demonic, it's just stuff blowing up. As for humanity, it says nothing. We want to continue living, so obviously we are going to kill giant evil robots. This isn't thought-provoking, its fight-or-flight syndrome. From this aspect alone, I don't know how people can find this film to be above average. I've often been criticized for looking too deeply into many works, including all forms of art from literature to music, and that I do not know how to enjoy whatever medium it is. Well, I'm not going to listen to bad techno/pop/Top 40 music just because chicks dig it, and I'm not going to like a film just because stuff blows up. Yet, from all of this, I still find the film to be slightly below average. I gave it 3 stars on Netflix, and in a 0 to 10 system (which is my favorite and with 7 being average,) I'd say a 6.5. It did half of what I came to the movie for, which was action. The other half, which is characterization, meaning, and good plot, were thrown on the wayside. Was I entertained? Not really. When my first question of "Why?" breaks up a film, it loses all of its potential. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JohnHJul 5, 2009
Even though my brother and father hated the movie, I found this movie to be pretty funny. Sure, it isn't the best film in the world, but it is fun. It also makes fun of President Barack Obama a tad. The first forty-five minutes of this Even though my brother and father hated the movie, I found this movie to be pretty funny. Sure, it isn't the best film in the world, but it is fun. It also makes fun of President Barack Obama a tad. The first forty-five minutes of this movie were the best, but the rest of the film was still good. I would rate this movie a six and a half, but since I can only vote zero-ten, I rounded it down to a six. I would recommend that you see this film, but again, it is not the end of the world if you don't. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
BPAug 26, 2009
It wasn't great and not as good as the original, but it wasn't horrible either. They probably overdid Megan Fox's pout a bit. In answer to Anthony S who wants to see a more boring movie - try The Piano or The English Patient It wasn't great and not as good as the original, but it wasn't horrible either. They probably overdid Megan Fox's pout a bit. In answer to Anthony S who wants to see a more boring movie - try The Piano or The English Patient or any Harry Potter movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JohnR.Apr 18, 2010
While the acting is bad, the story is bad, the action, and the fx are awesome. It is a bad film, but the fx are awesome! Popcorn film at best.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
VanL.Oct 28, 2009
Although I am partial to Michael Bay movies, I have to say that this one is not NEALY as good as the first. However, I totally enjoyed watching it, and have to say that yes, it was a money maker, but it was a fun money maker IMHO.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ryanlJun 24, 2009
This movie is like the first Transformers x 20....but not in a good way. Everything has been juiced up and maxed out from the visuals, sounds, and explosions....It's all visceral eye candy, but just way too much going on for my taste. This movie is like the first Transformers x 20....but not in a good way. Everything has been juiced up and maxed out from the visuals, sounds, and explosions....It's all visceral eye candy, but just way too much going on for my taste. I'd like to see Michael Bay make ONE movie without a single explosion in it. Other than the great special effects and Megan Fox being totally smoking hot, this movie fell short of my expectations. Sub par plot, the middle part lagged a bit, too many corny jokes, not enough character development, and WAY too long. This movie is just emotionally shallow. But if you're just looking for an all-out, guns blazing, action packed and super-saturated film, then Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen is just what you need. Other than that, stay away from this movie if you can't stand Megan Fox or if you are prone to epilepsy . Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ChristopherPJun 25, 2009
It's not as good as the first, but if it weren't about 45 minutes way too long, this would be a solid 8. It starts and ends well, but it drags to an excruciating degree in the middle. At well over two hours, I started to get It's not as good as the first, but if it weren't about 45 minutes way too long, this would be a solid 8. It starts and ends well, but it drags to an excruciating degree in the middle. At well over two hours, I started to get exhausted by shaky cameras and clanking metal at one point. The degree of swearing and strange abundance of testicle jokes (seriously, go in and start counting) makes it a strong PG-13, but most of the humor is pretty funny. It's worth seeing once if you're into Michael Bay movies, but if you ever pick up the DVD, I guarantee that you'll be fast-forwarding quite a bit during the slow middle and probably notice the quantity of testicle jokes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
RossJun 27, 2009
Ok, I love the original show of Transformers. It was great! So I know my history for the movie. Most of the fights were really good. The scene with Sidewinder at the beginning is sick! That being said, the story was annoying. I realize that Ok, I love the original show of Transformers. It was great! So I know my history for the movie. Most of the fights were really good. The scene with Sidewinder at the beginning is sick! That being said, the story was annoying. I realize that their has to be a plot, but I really hated seeing the whole stupid college thing. Almost every joke in the movie was sexual. And the Constructicons were a major disappointment! All in all it was an alright movie. Its good for seeing once or twice. Don't expect to see many familiar Autobots and Decepticons if you are a fanboy. Only a couple of them show up. Good action, bad story. Not the best movie. Altough I have to say there were two or three moments where I looked over at my friend and both our jaws dropped. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JohnjJun 29, 2009
The movie was good it would have been great if it didn't have all the sexual suggestive parts and all the cursing. Come on Michael, the transformers is based on a cartoon that "children" watch. I would not take my nieces and nephews to The movie was good it would have been great if it didn't have all the sexual suggestive parts and all the cursing. Come on Michael, the transformers is based on a cartoon that "children" watch. I would not take my nieces and nephews to see this movie. The explicit comments had nothing to do with the transformers and should have been left out. It was totally different from the first transformers. It has been ruined for the children. If you are going to make a cartoon into a movie, remember who the audience is going to be. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
RichardB.Jul 12, 2009
Average action flick for me. Quite simply- Too Long. At least 45 mins of footage was just not needed. All the scenes with Sam's parents are like something from American Pie. SFX are still superb but its hella hard to tell which robot is Average action flick for me. Quite simply- Too Long. At least 45 mins of footage was just not needed. All the scenes with Sam's parents are like something from American Pie. SFX are still superb but its hella hard to tell which robot is which when they are scrapping! Would watch again if only for Ms Fox. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
AmateurCriticJul 18, 2009
I give 3 for the talented animators who's talent was wasted on this shitty movie, and 3 to Megan Fox for being so damn hot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
TaufiqHJul 29, 2009
Average Movie.... The story line is not developed clearly... though the film is 2.30 hour lengthy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MichaelWNov 24, 2009
Its an incredibly average movie which lacks substance of any sort. But the viewing experience itself is the enjoyable part. Watching giant robots ripping each other to shreds is amusing. Though its a more laugh at movie. If you try to take Its an incredibly average movie which lacks substance of any sort. But the viewing experience itself is the enjoyable part. Watching giant robots ripping each other to shreds is amusing. Though its a more laugh at movie. If you try to take it seriously you wont like it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
GoldenEye16Aug 22, 2010
The movie started off really well, and was almost better than the first film with a lot of great action and funny moments... until the freaking confusing, overlong second half of the movie and ending which made no sense at all. I'd giveThe movie started off really well, and was almost better than the first film with a lot of great action and funny moments... until the freaking confusing, overlong second half of the movie and ending which made no sense at all. I'd give the first half a 9 and the second half a 3 which equals a 6 for the whole movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews