Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen Image
Metascore
35

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1435 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Sam Witwicky once again joins with the Autobots against their sworn enemies, the Decepticons. [Paramount Pictures]

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 32
  2. Negative: 16 out of 32
  1. The sequence serves no real purpose beyond dazzle for dazzle's sake, but when you're watching it, that's purpose enough.
  2. 63
    At least the special effects in Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen are remarkable: You never tire of the endless variations of robots Bay and his computer-generated effects crew come up with.
  3. With its intelligence at the level of the simple-minded, however, the film is not likely to attract moviegoers who seek something more than a screen filled with kaleidoscopes of colored metal. Fan boys will no doubt love it, but for the uninitiated it's loud, tedious and, at 147 minutes, way too long.
  4. Reviewed by: Ty Burr
    38
    2 1/2 hours of tumescence disguised as a motion picture.
  5. 38
    The storyline is so infantile that it will appeal to young kids.
  6. 30
    Much of Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen is simply despicable.
  7. 0
    Transformers 2 has a shot at the title Worst Movie of the Decade.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Jan 26, 2011
    10
    The story was weak and the humor was just plain silly. But having said that, it is one of my favorite movies. Here's why. The presentation ofThe story was weak and the humor was just plain silly. But having said that, it is one of my favorite movies. Here's why. The presentation of this movie is flawless. The action is perfect and dazzling. Explosions and metal pieces galore. Many scenes, especially the forest fight scene, play out like a symphony orchestra. So what this movie lacks and screws up, makes up for it 100 fold. Expand
  2. faizala
    Jun 29, 2009
    10
    Although the storyline not as good it should be, but i like the special effect and i the size of the robot. it huge man.
  3. Sammy
    Jul 25, 2009
    9
    Though not as good as the first it was very entertaining and overall good movie.
  4. Aug 23, 2015
    5
    Seriously guys, after the first movie, isn't it obvious that you wont get any plot here? You know it, you saw the reviews, so why you went toSeriously guys, after the first movie, isn't it obvious that you wont get any plot here? You know it, you saw the reviews, so why you went to watch this movie and say now - BREAKING NEWS, there is no plot! Thank you Capitans. For others who enjoy twisting metal and explosions the movie is not actually that bad, worth watching for single time. Expand
  5. Mar 27, 2013
    3
    I can't believe that Michael Bay went from a successful exciting Transformers movie to this. This movie was a real stinker. The reason is fromI can't believe that Michael Bay went from a successful exciting Transformers movie to this. This movie was a real stinker. The reason is from terrible acting perfect example (Julie White) a.k.a. Sam's mom and a bunch of unessacary/retarded moments that draws your attention away from the story. In this case, I hate the fact it's so long because of the stupid moments and terrible acting. Overall, this is a waste of what could have been a fun movie, but is ruined by Michael Bay's terrible directing. Expand
  6. JerrelA
    Jun 29, 2009
    2
    I couldn't wait to see this movie. What a letdown! I am not one to walk out on movies, but I nearly did several times on this one. They I couldn't wait to see this movie. What a letdown! I am not one to walk out on movies, but I nearly did several times on this one. They could have done so much better than sex jokes, come on, what did the dog "dominating" the other one have to do with the movie? It's Transformers for crying out loud, giant robots, and this is the best the script team could do? I will say in it's favor, hence the two stars, that they do the visual effects very well. At the end of the movie though, I felt like the character on the pyramid, "under the scrotum" of the shmucks that wrote the script. Very disappointing! Expand
  7. SimonW.
    Jun 24, 2009
    0
    Boring, too long, too loud, too much BAY! Someone please tell Speilberg to drop this guy, I was under the impression Speilberg was a story Boring, too long, too loud, too much BAY! Someone please tell Speilberg to drop this guy, I was under the impression Speilberg was a story teller, but Michael Bay has no clue how to tell a story. Worst film of the year and racist with it. Collapse

See all 712 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Film Friday (7/29): This Week's New Movie Trailers

    Film Friday (7/29): This Week's New Movie Trailers Image
    Published: July 29, 2016
    Watch all of this week's new film trailers, including new looks at Wonder Woman, Fantastic Beats and Where to Find Them, Suicide Squad, Doctor Strange, Bad Santa 2, and more. Plus, get a quick update on the latest movie news and release date announcements.
  2. DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: August 2016

    DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: August 2016 Image
    Published: July 28, 2016
    Find a complete guide to TV and movie titles heading to Blu-ray and DVD throughout the month of August, including The Nice Guys, Keanu, The Jungle Book, The Lobster, Weiner, and more.
  3. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: July 27, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Jason Bourne, Nerve, Bad Moms, Indignation, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  4. 23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    23 Buddy Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: July 25, 2016
    We rank some of cinema's most notable buddy films by Metascore.