Metascore
35

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1245 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: In the highly-anticipated Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen, debuting June 24, 2009, Sam Witwicky again joins with the Autobots® against their sworn enemies, the Decepticons®. (Paramount Pictures)
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 32
  2. Negative: 16 out of 32
  1. Reviewed by: Amy Biancolli
    75
    A well-oiled, loudly revving summer action vehicle that does all that's required, and then some, within the confines of PG-13: It cracks genitalia jokes, messes around with toys and blows stuff up.
  2. 63
    At least the special effects in Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen are remarkable: You never tire of the endless variations of robots Bay and his computer-generated effects crew come up with.
  3. With its intelligence at the level of the simple-minded, however, the film is not likely to attract moviegoers who seek something more than a screen filled with kaleidoscopes of colored metal. Fan boys will no doubt love it, but for the uninitiated it's loud, tedious and, at 147 minutes, way too long.
  4. 38
    The storyline is so infantile that it will appeal to young kids.
  5. Fox's cleavage is the only camera object that catches Bay's attention for more than a millisecond.
  6. Reviewed by: John Anderson
    30
    Much of Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen is simply despicable.
  7. 0
    Transformers 2 has a shot at the title Worst Movie of the Decade.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Jan 26, 2011
    10
    The story was weak and the humor was just plain silly. But having said that, it is one of my favorite movies. Here's why. The presentation of this movie is flawless. The action is perfect and dazzling. Explosions and metal pieces galore. Many scenes, especially the forest fight scene, play out like a symphony orchestra. So what this movie lacks and screws up, makes up for it 100 fold. Expand
  2. Jan 6, 2012
    8
    I suprisingly enjoyed this film a lot more then the first one. I think the huge flaw for it was the long run time, It definently started to push your nerves while watching it. The run time dragged the film on longer then what it should have.

    Besides that, The acting was fine (yes, even the super hot Megan Fox was alright in it) and the story was fine as well. The special effects were about the same as the first film (good but insanely repetitive) and I agree that it did seem a lot of things were being blown up for no reason other then blowing them up and hoping people think it looks cool (it doesnt). It was annoying seeing the transformers transform 15+ times in the film. Also the action sequences were terrible and didnt have any excitement, Also it was hard to tell who was battling who when the camera is so close up and the autobots and decepticons are so large.

    Overall the film was still rather good and I enjoyed it.
    Expand
  3. Jul 7, 2011
    6
    I enjoyed the movie, but the charm of the first Transformers flick is missing, and the plot is just plain stupid. The robot action is awesome, especially the Optimus Prime/Decepticon fight in the woods, but anything having to do with the humans is just awful. One of the many problems I have with the film, is that Megatron, is now reduced to being a secondhand lackey to the Fallen. Expand
  4. Oct 17, 2010
    3
    I don't know what to say, whether it's the horrible script that tries to be funny so badly or the fictional stuff that don't make sense. And perhaps some horrible acting mainly supported by Megan Fox. This movie in general is really bad, but I can't say is awful because at the very least, the people of the special effects did a terrific job!How bad is the script you say? Well when all of sudden characters that were in one country, appear in another magically. When robots suddenly can transform into humans, that makes you wonder why the idiot robots didn't come up with that in the first place. Acting? Yeah Megan fox instead of frustrated or crying for his love when he is about to be rip apart in one of the scenes, she is actually watching with amusement. Oh and apparently the government has an awful security because those radars can't detect when a robot is near a satellite, or on any kind of ground. Ugh I could continue, but it would take me days! One thing for sure, I wouldn't be happy to receive credit as a director of this film seriously. And unfortunately, there is still a lot of strange people that enjoy any kind of movie like this, and FYI I enjoyed the cartoons and love robots. Expand
  5. Jul 3, 2013
    3
    Revenge of the Fallen is beyond stupid with some of the dumbest characters ever put on screen. Acting was pitiful. Story complete garbage, if there was even one, coupled with racism everywhere in the film. Nothing could be worst for Michael bay who has just added another terrible movie to his resume. Expand
  6. Apr 22, 2011
    2
    plot is everywhere, most of dialogue is flat out, way too much juvenile humor, and there are the retarded twins...Acting isn't terrible, the music is good, special effects are great, fights are great and Megan Fox is hot. Those are things that I really enjoyed about this film, I think everything else is crap. Expand
  7. Jan 13, 2011
    0
    This movie sucks optimus prime's balls, and the storyline is crap. Who would in their right mind watch a long ass movie that only thing that made this movie alot of money is Megan Fox and great graphics. Expand

See all 671 User Reviews