User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1001 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 16, 2012
    6
    With badass girls and impressive CGI, Transformers is a hell of a ride!
  2. Sep 18, 2011
    7
    Michael Bay's Blockbuster "Transformers" has everything lock-n-loaded for the summer year; sexy chicks, transforming CGI vehicles, and explosions!!!
  3. Aug 20, 2010
    3
    MICHEAL BAY DOES IT AGAIN!!! ... make another bad movie that is. you know your a bad director when people write songs on how bad your movies are ( see pearl Harbor) . id like too ad that im a huge fan of transformers from when i was a kid. i grew up waching the original tv show . i had very high hopes for this film . i even gave bay the benifite of the doubt . i thought he made 1 good movie with The Rock . surely the sun can smile on a dumb dogs ass twice . Alas he failed and Failed very epicly . lets start with the plot or lack there of or should i say lack of the main charicters you know the Transformers . this is there film after all not the shilo the stuttering prick movie . the transforers dont hardly apear in there film infact i think the dog in it has more lines then they do. they seem to be there only to be brought out to beat the hell out of each other inbetween shilo's stuttering , bad jokes , and him drooling over megan fox . which really makes the case giant transforming robots are more believable then that dip stick getting a girl like that . i mean giant transforming robots i can believe , shilo getting megan ... no. i know its alot of money to make the transformers come to life and all but is it really hard just to have them stand there and talk and get some charicter devolpment? i guess for bay it is not when theres **** to blow up and bad jokes to tell. also the changing of the over all plot in the tv show the transforers come to earth to serch for energy to save there dying world in the movie its coming to find the all spark . i mean really is the first option not doable? they couldnt stick abit more to the source material? this is why 99% of any thing made from a tv show , comic or video game sucks . why bother even making it if you are just gona abandon the source ? just go make some thing els simular and call it some thing els. people like to point out the how awsome the action is and its not bad atleast what you can actaully make out what the hell is going on . bay for some reason likes to do close ups . so close infact most of the action is to chaotic to make out what the hell is going on. the only 2 good things i can say about this film . 1 the special effects are pretty and 2 using peter cullen as the voice of optimus prime . every thing els is crap . im in shock spielberg sighned off on this . i think he must have gone insane Expand
  4. Sep 5, 2011
    9
    This live-action adaptation of the TV shows and the toy franchise tells the story about the battle between the autobots and the decepticons as they search for the AllSpark, a device so powerful that can turn mechanics into robots. When it lands on earth, Optimus Prime and the other autobots meet a boy named Sam Witwicky and seeks his help along with his girlfriend Mikaela to find the AllSpark and put an end to the decepticons once and for all.

    I saw the trailers for this movie, but I have missed my chances of seeing it in theaters. So, I waited to get it on DVD and viola! I now have the movie and I was excited when it met my expectations.

    Michael Bay did really well on his directing and the storyline was well-paced together. The cinematography and casting were great, even Shia Lebeouf and Megan Fox's performances were so good and they make a great screen couple. The Witwicky parents weren't given enough screen time, but I think they did pretty well with their comedic moments. The actors that voiced the autobots and the decepticons turned out to be great and they are just like the ones from the TV shows.

    The humor was so hilarious, and the best humor part was the pee joke which I really laughed during the movie.

    The action scenes were very darn good. I think that Michael Bay was a fan of action scenes from the TV show and did very well at shooting them just to make it look real.

    The CGI effects from the Industrial Light and Magic company was that good and it fits well for the action sequences.

    The music score was riveting and very cool and it gave some emotion in the whole movie.

    I am going to point that there aren't any negative things to say about this movie and the 57% rating is a little bit low for my expectations, so I'm going to give this pretty much a higher rating.

    4.5/5 stars
    Expand
  5. Aug 12, 2010
    2
    This is the lowest form of crap you can find in a video store.I grew up in the 80s and loved the cartoons so like most people if i had seen a half decent film i would have embraced it.The CGI is good and thats it.Micheal Bay is not a comic or a writer yet he has a go at it and fails miserably.He has taken the root of most action directors insisting that a good action movie needs a bad script.Geekey guy falls for hot girl who dosent recognize him until he saves her life,this story has been told time and again.This isnt the movie transformers desereved. Expand
  6. Oct 29, 2010
    5
    Maybe it' the Michael Bay factor or maybe it's the near mindless action, but either way I found this movie to be at times nostalgic (in the good way) and at times absolutely mind numbing (there is no good way in my opinion). Many things that I didn' like about this are my own biases in regards to the redesign of the transformers. Their new designs are far too busy, taking the concept of more is better, leaving the autobots looking rather over done and over designed. This actually works well for the decepticons however, giving them a very alien and unfriendly appearance. The overall story is pretty shallow, but I guess it doesn' need to be too complicated. It' mostly the way the plot unfolds that made me want to fall asleep, "intense action"or not. For me, these intense action scenes turn out to be little more than blur-fests as the robots roll around and nothing is discernable as to what exactly they are doing. The original series plot was not that great either, and at the time of watching it I was just around 7 years old. So nostalgia glasses or not, this is essentially a kids movie built with a nod to the now adults that grew up on the series. Michael Bay does a fine job doing what he can only do, and does it best, serving up stupid action scenes and explosions to keep the viewer occupied and cover up the lack of anything compelling at all. This serves some people well, but bores me to tears. The whole scene where the autobots are stealthily "hiding" in Sam's backyard, I'm sure for "comedic effect", really felt insulting more than funny. I'll believe in transformable alien robots from space more then I'll swallow the fact that they can remain unobserved in a neighborhood like that. But even that doesn't matter for the purpose of this movie, and that is to offer shallow, thoughtless entertainment, and in that matter it does succeed. My problem with it is that with such a great license and idea, the possibilities could have been greater. Why settle for mediocrity, when you could have had something that strives to be more than just another by the numbers movie. We missed out on the potential for a more engrossing story, ridiculous giant robots or not. At least Peter Cullen was able to do the voice for Optimus Prime, and that almost made the movie bearable. For nostalgia purposes I would recommend it, but check your head at the door.â Expand
  7. Nov 7, 2010
    10
    Ah, my kind of stupid. You know what, I love dumb movies. As long as I care about the characters, i'll have a great time. Well, this is one of those movies that defines this. This movie is way too friggin cool!! Michael Bay and Steven Spielberg deliver a heart-pounding, explosive blast of a time!! Filled with action, explosions, epic robots, and the hottest girl to walk on the earth, Transformers is an incredibly awesome blast that you have to watch. Expand
  8. Aug 12, 2010
    9
    Special Effects 9/10, Action 9/10, Score 10/10, Cinematography 9/10, Sound Design 9/10, Film Design 9/10, Characters 7/10, Acting 7/10, Story 7/10, Humor 7/10, Pacing 6/10,
    Basically it depends what your looking for, if you are a teen or want a really stylised action film you will probably love it, if you are an adult and want a deep sci-fi story you will probably hate it. The best scenes
    are 10/10 the worst scenes are 4/10, under no circumstances should you believe anyone that gives this film a score in the red, there are several films I absolutely hate but I rate them fairly for its audience. People that are giving this lower than 6 seem to be very bitter people in general. Not only that but they probably believe that District 9 has a very good story when infact its just a bunch of semi-suggestive anti apartheid images superimposed over some terrible jokes. Expand
  9. Sep 5, 2010
    0
    This film is **** **** Nothing at all good was used from the original Transformers, basically someone got the liecnse and created a half arsed peice of **** just to make money. The plot is about a big cube, there are no transformers untill half way in, and then they have ****e ones, even then they don't **** act anyhting like the characters should, they hardly **** talk, the kid who stars in this is a little piece of piss i saw in a ****ty kids program when i was younger, he is awefull, i don't know why but i look at him and his stupid ass smug face and i can imagine he just stinks of farts. I hope he dies. The 80s animated film is over 9000 times better. Expand
  10. May 28, 2014
    4
    Seriously?!?! How the heck did this garbage catch on. The script is phoned in and rather than focus on the Autobots like in the cartoon the film focuses on the poorly written human characters who aren’t that interesting. When the film does show the action it is poorly shot. I would only recommend this film to little kids because when you are that age you are pretty receptive to garbage. Transformers fans could check it out if they are interested but trust me skip it you’ll be disappointed. Expand
  11. Mar 21, 2011
    10
    This is the movie that introduced me to the amazing world of Transformers. Awesome action scenes and a great sci-fi movie overall. Thank you Michael Bay!
  12. Mar 30, 2011
    3
    I do not understand why people like this piece of **** It's almost pure bull****. But the second one took care of that. This moive is so goddamn insulting. We were supposed to care about that robot? What the **** Mr. Bay? **** you up your stupid ****ing AIDS-ridden ass. I just ****ing hate you. Stop making movies.
  13. Mar 27, 2011
    10
    Posted on 3/20/11 02:35 PM
    I know a number of you are going to disagree with my rating for this film, but you know what? Screw it, I loved this movie. Yes, Transformers has Shia LeBeouf and Megan Fox acting front and center with a storyline that isn't as interesting as it tries to be, but remind me, whats the title of the film? Transformers. So, who are the true stars of this movie? THE
    TRANSFORMERS! We didn't watch this movie to see the character developments of Sam Witwicky and Mikaela, we watched it to let our brains off the hook and watch huge CGI autobots fight it out with huge CGI Decepticons, and in that department, the film succeeds, and even surpassess expectations. Huge battles taking place in the desert, on the highway, right in the centre of town, Michael Bay is not afraid to show off the CG-eye candy with (what else?) explosions and big destructions. As for the human side of things, you know Sam and Mikaela are going to get together before long in the film because, well, they're the films leads, but its not too terrible seeing them on their journey to becoming together. Jon Tuturro and Sams parents are funnier than they have any right to be, and Sams mom definately shines in the comedy (or awkwardness, depending on your viewing) when she asks Sam if he's been, ahem, "partaking in bedroom exercises" Yeah, we all know this film isn't perfect, one such scene is when Sam manages to outrun Megatron, a decepticon who could simply take a few steps forward and catch up to Sam, but doesnt seem to manage to. Also, quite a bit (okay, a LOT) of the dialogue is bad and cringe-worthy. Also, the film may be Transformers, but quite a bit of the film is centred on Sam and Mikaela, so don't go in expecting wall to wall Optimus and Bumblebee and Starscream. In the same year we got trilogy dissapointments such as Spiderman 3, Shrek the Turd and POTC: At Worlds End, its great to have the Transformers there to pick up our year. Just a shame we got Revenge of the Fallen though... Expand
  14. Nov 20, 2011
    5
    It was ok. The entire 2 hours you spend watching it does by rather quick and by the end of it all you ask yourself what have they really established. Like all Michael Bay films, Its lacks a good plot and relies far too much on special effects. The cast isnt that bad (Megan Fox definently brings down the overall rating quite a bit) and it looked great but it explained pretty much nothing.
  15. Jan 8, 2011
    9
    I do enjoy this movie. The action is sleek, and the voice actors are top notch, with great special effects. There are several nodds to the series, which is fun for the older fan. It does suffer from being a big action flick, but this is giant robots fighting, so that is pretty much the territory. The Autobot's shine in the film, and that is just the way I like it. Yes, it isn't the most artistic film out there by a long shot, but it is enjoyable! Expand
  16. Nov 24, 2010
    8
    Great Movie! but the first one rocked . that's it. oh, found a transporter in france :)
    fun to watch: http://www.lookeen.net/de/352/allgemein/deutsch-e-postbrief-lookeen-stellt-sich-der-herausforderung/
  17. Jun 10, 2011
    9
    very good popcorn-action-cinema. For fans of the Transformer-series very satisfying.
  18. Jul 21, 2014
    5
    Transformers evokes a really strange reaction in me. The first time you see the robots, they are cool as heck. The film is also fun and engaging, dishing out a decent supply of chuckles along the way. And then the finale comes and the robots fight and bust things up... And I just couldn't care less. Messy, soulless, overlong and incomprehensible CG action scenes are order of the day, and they totally murder the movie's final act. Oh well. At least this first one was much better than the sequels. Expand
  19. Mar 5, 2011
    7
    Sure, Transformers is flawed, with a long length and some laughable scenes, but the action, good directing, a script that works, and overall fun humor and entertainment, Transformers is a slightly above average Blockbusters that makes Transformers work in the Hollywood world.
  20. May 4, 2011
    10
    First off i rate movies more by the entertainment value not the fancy specifics that make some film "GREAT". Well this movie is my Favorite novie of all time. It has intense action, a very interesting story, Awesome and bad ass characters, and some awesome special effects. The story is simple yet highly entertaining. Two kinds of alien robots (the Autobots and the Decepticons) are searching for a power artifact from cybertron called the All-Spark. While the Autobots plan to use the cube( the All Spark) to rebuild their home the decepticons want to use use the cube for evil. Both groups track the cube to Earth. That is the introduction in less awesome words by Optimus Prime leader of the Autobots. Chaos ensues in the next scene as Major Lennox and his team is introduced during an attack on their base in Quatar by a Decepticon. The next character introduced is Sam Witwicky, a teenager hell bent on selling his great grandfathers trinkets used in an expedition to the arctic circle which plays key to the story so he can buy a car. That car turns out to be the Autobot Bumble Bee. And of course Chaos ensues afer that as well. Thats all ill say on the story. The acting is really good if your interested in that, but the special effects also help make a real unique experience. By far the best movie ever!!!( or for me at least) Expand
  21. Feb 16, 2011
    10
    Pure escapism, total in-your-face intense action from beginning to end. It is a fantastic movie because it makes you feel like a child with a new toy again.
  22. Feb 22, 2011
    10
    Great Movie!!! Very Action packed. It's wasn't the same Transformers that I grew up on. It's very action packed and if you don't like action movies,then you will not like this one. If you don't know what the transformers were about you may not understand the movie. Go with the flow,good movie,great story line, lots of action.
  23. Jul 10, 2011
    1
    It gets a 1 because I have an irrational soft spot for Bumblebee. Everything else is loud noise, explosions, plot holes and exposition that sometimes involves giant robots.
  24. Jun 20, 2011
    10
    Although i would've prefered the Transformers to look more like their original counterparts(especially Megatron in Robot form & Optimus Prime in Vehicle form),& to have the original megatrons voice to add to Peter Cullens Optimus Prime,this is a massively entertaining movie! In terms of story,humour,characters,special effects & action.Thhis movie is definately up there with my other favorates.I dont get the Micheal Bay hating though.He makes great action movies,end of. Expand
  25. Jun 19, 2011
    7
    The superb special effects mask what is a shallow storyline but the movie is still worth watching for anybody that has even a feint interest in action movies.
  26. Jul 31, 2012
    5
    This movie just doesn't feel very professionally written, and add to that Shia LaBeouf frustratingly wooden acting, you get a "pretty movie" that's enjoyable to a point but easily forgotten. It gets an extra point for Megan Fox.
  27. Jun 2, 2013
    7
    Typical Michael Bay movie with great Mech fights
  28. Apr 14, 2012
    6
    I am not a fan of Michael Bay or Shia Labeouf and while the movie itself could have been a lot better, it was enjoyable enough for a summer blockbuster. Optimus Prime was pretty dull but Megatron was good and the other transformer were pretty good too. The action scenes were well made and the editing was good so i didn't feel like i missed anything. However i didn't care for the humans, the humour was pretty lame and the story was not very interesting. But despite it's shortcomings, the movie is still fun and entertaining enough to sit through at least once. Expand
  29. Jun 25, 2011
    8
    This movie really caught me off guard, I wasn't expecting the spectacle that is Transformers. From the moment Optimus Prime and the Autobots entered the picture I was truly enamored. Not only does this movie satisfy the action side of me that likes to see things go BOOM, it also has a healthy blend of humor and a good amount of awesome Sci-FI themes as well. The main human protagonists are fairly enjoyable to watch, but I did feel like they had a bit too much screen time, I mean I did come to see a movie called Transformers right? other than that minor complaint I really enjoyed myself, sure the plot was really simple and character development was at a minimum but the sight of those robot on the screen was just mesmerizing. I had never been so convinced by CGI up until that point. Transformers may not be the most faithful adaption to the 80s cartoon show but there is a certain charm to it that just brings out that nostalgic feeling you had when you played with the toys as a kid. This movie is most certainly worth checking out! Expand
  30. Jul 1, 2011
    8
    Things go boom. Seriously, who expects Dostoyevsky from a Transformers movie? Pure mindless, action entertainment, if that's what you're looking for in a shiny high graphics package then hey... this is it. I enjoyed it for that simple pleasure.
  31. Jul 2, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. When Decepticons arose to power, I really hoped they at least would
    resist good to the "good guys", but they just had so many flaws and
    were so easily destroyed even by humans, well let's put aside these
    inconsistencies with reality, the film main audience are naive
    teenagers, only they can't get annoyed by film's apartness from
    reality. And also implementing a political undertone in the beginning
    of the film, it doesn't add courageousness when you just repeat
    "official stance" on specific matter, would have been much insightful if it was in contrary to the state's stance or even better don't add such a controversial topic as Iran's nuclear program because it's not the only country to have it and I'm pretty much sure no one ever asks or investigates their motives for doing so and it can be said with no doubt, they wouldn't come up with this for no reason or just because they're evil. So minus for adding political propaganda, even if there's a little of it.
    Expand
  32. Oct 15, 2011
    7
    It was a good movie. With a cool cast and amazing special effects for 2007 It couldn't be terrible. It was actually a brake from one of Michael Bay's outlandish, boring, and incredibly long empty plotlines with only special effects to its name. But this one carrying out 3 stars and a 61 for metascore it's for sure one of his greater films. Maybe even his best(other than The Rock). It was a uniquely sculpted look at the old and loved T.V. series and action figure fad that I loved so much earlier in my life. I thought it was a fine movie and will be remembered by many in the future. Expand
  33. Nov 18, 2012
    5
    I managed to avoid this film until now, and although my intuition was correct about "Bayformers", I still feel as though I have been raped in the childhood. It's not the Transformers I know, yes, the SFX are great, yes, there are a few good action sequences but this thing is a travesty.
  34. Aug 27, 2011
    8
    I wasn't particularly impressed with this movie when I watched it for the first time but then it grew on me. Michael Bay has had a bumpy track record, sure, but this movie is remarkable even by every other director's standards. The visuals of course, are simply amazing, the acting is solid and the humor hits the mark. It felt often as though they were trying too hard to make this movie a cash grab, however it's still well done. Expand
  35. Sep 10, 2011
    8
    Since seeing Transformers Dark of the Moon, people have asked me to do a review on the other two films so ill start with the first. definitely one of the best action movies made, the effects are spectacular and breathtaking to look at, and with Peter Cullen back as Optimus Prime (the original voice of Prime) It just makes this action film all the better. Many people I know have complained about how, in the final, I dont know, 45 minutes with the whole city fight, everyone was complaining about how, like, "I can't tell who's who," "Who am I rooting for." I hear those complaints all the time about this film, and to me, I really didn't have a problem with it, after sitting through 2 hours of this I was pretty used to what each Autobot and Decepticon looked like. For instance, for the Autobots, i could tell it was prime because, everyone knows he's a Semi, but I also knew it was him from the voice and his colors, or say for the decepticons, I knew it was Starscream because of how he is a jet and has jet wings on his back, or Blackout, because he had helicopter propellers on his back, so I didn't have trouble with it. Another complaint I hear with this movie is that, the human scenes and characters are stupid and nobody watches a Transformers movie to watch the humans, personally I didn't mind them. I thought Shia Laboeuf was good, and Anthony Daniels, they were all great funny characters. All I have really left to say is that, the only problem I have with this movie is the police droid Barricade, You see him clearly in the city fight, but he vanishes after they show him driving into the city, and there are no deleted scenes on the DVD, so I have no clue what happened to him, and he isn't in the second film either, he makes a brief cameo in Dark of the Moon, but then he vanishes again just after his leg is shot off. With Starscream they give an explanation that he flew off into space, they even show that in the credits. But overall this is my 5th favorite movie ever Expand
  36. Mar 2, 2012
    9
    Transformers almost feels like an entirely new genre of film. Surprisingly, these robots in disguise actually have personalities, and you want to care for these characters.
  37. Feb 5, 2012
    9
    Great visuals and actions with bullets and missiles flying by. This movie is like a complete military showdown. But there should be more actions where the Autobots fight the Deception.
  38. Jan 26, 2012
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. While the title may suggest this movie is about "Transformers", those robot aliens play second fiddle to the humans in this flick. The leader of a protagonistic group called the Autobots, Optimus Prime, doesn't even appear until almost halfway through. Although this adaptation isn't as innovative as the animated television program it still packs a punch and it somewhat entertaining. Ultimately, if you love your CGI more than a decent storyline or character development please feel free to check out this otherwise decent feature film. Expand
  39. Aug 30, 2013
    7
    There is one thing that Michael Bay likes to do, and its his overwhelming need of dramatising every single thing in front of you, whether its a few soldiers pacing across an airfield, cue epic music, a few people climbing out of a car, cue epic music, this happens over and over again in Transformers, the loud, big-budgeted sci-fi film that is fun, silly and full of massive robots that can only be admired, but the film also brings an over-bearing human element that can way the film down. Bay certainly has an eye for the spectacular and epic, with Transformers being no different, we open with a brief introduction from a booming robotic voice telling us about the war between the Autobots and Decepticons, an ancient alien race from the planet Cybertron who bring their battle to earth in search of the AllSpark, a powerful cube holding vast amounts of energy capable of massive amounts of power and of course, destruction.
    Sam Witwicky (Shia LaBeouf) is the unlucky human caught in the midst of this war, as his grandfather made the discovery of these robots many years before, Sam now hold a pivotal piece to the puzzle which is needed by the Transformers. But this young teen has his own troubles, something we are seemingly forced to care about, a teen drama involving Sam getting the girl, in this case, a beautiful girl called Michaela (Megan Fox), who doesn't have to do very much onscreen except move her body to certain angles so as she can be filmed in certain ways, its wasteful but I suppose necessary, because every film needs the good looking girl, right? This drama along with an over-arching military thread of a story certainly leaves very little room for the Transformers, who become a side note, even though the film is almost 150 mins long. But in terms of spectacle, it doesn't get much bigger than this, the way these robots transforms from vehicle to natural form looks amazing as these aliens tear each other apart in the air and on the ground, special effects don't get much better than these, as the realism of these machines unmatched.
    There are certainly many things to like about 'Transformers', we have spectacular set-pieces and some heavy lifting robots there to entertain us, but these robots also feel very underused, while the human element starts off light-hearted but becomes serious which in turn is just ludicrous. Even though there is comic relief to be found in John Turturro as a dedicated agent and a small role for the late great Bernie Mac, Transformers has an unlikeable and far too talkative lead in Shia LaBeouf's Sam Witwicky, more focus should definitely been put on the aliens.
    Expand
  40. Jan 7, 2012
    6
    Transformers is an entertaining film with epic action, breathtaking visual effects and some humor as well, but sadly the film suffers from bad performances and a cheesy story. I give this movie 61%.
  41. Nov 29, 2012
    10
    I hadn't seen this movie in a while and I forgot just how much I enjoyed it. I thought the action sequences were incredible and if nothing else, these make the movie worth watching. However, I also thought the cast was great. Josh Duhamel, Tyrese Gibson, Rachael Taylor, and many others make up a deep and talented supporting cast and while Shia LaBeouf and Megan Fox both take a lot of heat for various reasons, I thought both of them were fantastic in this film. I also enjoyed how the plots developed. You have varying aspects of the entire story developing separately and with different styles but they merge in the end seamlessly. There were also plenty of funny moments that get some laughs. Most of them of by way of comedic relief characters in the decepticons but a lot of the dialogue was also humorous. Overall, this movie is definitely one of my favorite comic/superhero movies. Expand
  42. Dec 26, 2011
    6
    If you're 10 years old, this is perhaps the best movie in the world, and that is because of the masterful CG that Michael Bay has helped direct and develop. If you're older than that however, there are a few problems. The dialogue as a whole is very cheesy, to the point of being comedic in some scenes and the fact that the robots have different human accents is ridiculous. The casting of Megan Fox may have been cost effective and commercially viable, but if the goal of this film was to be admired and respected, someone more accomplished and with an actual ability to act would have been chosen. Her character is very boring, and could have easily been more substantial had Michael Bay wanted it to be, but again, her lack of acting ability is probably what caused the character to be so insignificant and frankly, a waste of the audience's time (unless of course, you are 10 years old). Shia LeBoeuf's performance makes up for others that fall flat like Megan Fox's and Jon Voight's and his casting was certainly the right choice. The story is fine for what it tries to achieve but nothing other than the amazing visuals and sound make this movie worth watching. That said, there will be many Transformers fans who will appreciate this movie more than the rest of us... Expand
  43. Jan 15, 2012
    7
    Now here is a decent action movie. It's not great, but it's definitely not bad. It's kind of what you would expect from Michael Bay, nothing more, nothing less. It doesn't have a great cast, but who cares? Go rent it and have fun!
  44. Aug 25, 2014
    10
    I was repeating **** beautiful" in my head throughout the movie. It looks good, it sounds good, there is just right amount of action and humor - and one watch won't definitely be enough!

    I never watched the cartoon on TV, but this still hits right to the core for me.

    The camera-angles are a bit shaky and blurry at times, but it gives the movie more speed and a sense of realism.


    Even if some aspects of the story are definite clichés, and there aren't any real shocking revelations, it is still an enjoyable movie.

    Go and watch!
    Expand
  45. Jan 4, 2012
    2
    This film was nearly unbearable. The special effects are well done, albeit excessive. I thought the action sequences were lackluster (and those were the main event). Unsurprisingly, I found myself yearning for something greater by the end, but I became cynical about the sequels.
  46. Jul 25, 2012
    6
    Transformers is an alright film, it isn't brilliant, it isn't terrible, it's just alright. With quite good action, an OK story-line and brilliant special effects. The plot is slightly similar to the original show's more than meets the eye episodes (with more explosions), basically, if you're a massive fan of the old transformers, don't watch it, if you've never really heard of transformers or you've heard of it but your not much of a fan, watch it. Oh, by the way, if you don't like Micheal Bay, DO NOT WATCH IT! Expand
  47. Mar 30, 2012
    8
    Wow, amazing movie, really, when I watch the trailer of Transformers I think in two things: The first: Amazing effects, with an amazing story. The second: Other old cartoon to appear in the big screen, and the good part is some of the first. The autobots and decepticons are awesome, have much details, and all this explosions, and battles are epic, the characters be good, but some irritant [yes Sam]. The story is really good, not excellent, is good, have some interesting moments. But the rest is normal, any new. Transformers is a good movie, the better of this saga. Expand
  48. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    Perhaps the best special effects I've ever seen in a movie. The transformations are amazing not to mention super-awesome. The CGI fits in seamlessly with the live action and it's easy to forget how logistically difficult a lot of it would have been to film.
  49. Aug 22, 2012
    8
    Good action, a pretty good story, hot girls, and giant transforming machines are what Transformers offers, and delivers superbly. I had the pleasure of seeing this for the first time in a drive-in theatre on a mild summer night. Everybody, and I mean everybody, had their vehicles open and the sound pouring out, and it made for an excellent experience.
  50. Mar 26, 2012
    9
    Michael Bay has finally made a good film. The story was rock solid with visuals that were excellent. Even though I don't care for Megan Fox as an actress she didn't do a horrible job. I think everyone would enjoy this film.
  51. Jun 9, 2013
    5
    I am so damn sick of this movie. The acting by everybody is so disgraceful. Every scene is just annoying and teenage comedy is just flying everywhere left and right. Big stupid robots. Still manages to be somewhat entertaining though.
  52. May 3, 2012
    5
    I just think this was not a good movie. The story line was very good, the effects were okay. I was looking ford for this movie but turned out to be a dissoponting movie in my opinion. Transformors 5.5/10
  53. Nov 1, 2013
    7
    "Transformers" is an entertaining explosive summer movie directed by Michael Bay. Like all Bay movies, the script is pretty weak but the action is exhilarating. However, "Transformers" has a pretty good plot combined with excellent CGI, making this Bay movie a recommended summer blockbuster.
  54. May 23, 2012
    6
    The movie was relatively good, make many true transformer fans dream come true. The story was acceptable, on par with the movie. I would give it a 8 or 9 if the filming was better. But the fighting scene are just nauseous, and down right awful. Maybe Michael Bay may be trying to hide the faults in CGI graphics... who knows. All you get are scrap metal flying back and forth. I wish someone will reboot the series soon... Expand
  55. Jun 24, 2014
    8
    Well with Age of Extinction right around the corner I figured there was no better time to look at the movie that started it all. The plot is actually better than you'd expect in a giant robots fighting movie, with the Autobots trying to find the Allspark before the Decepticons who all have really cool names (my profile is named after Starscream so I guess I'm kind of biased) The acting's not bad either all though it's funny to watch now since we all know what became of Shia LaBouef. But of course the action's all that matters and while I feel that this is the weakest of the trilogy in terms of action, watching two robots fight it out in the middle of a crowded city never gets old. However by far the most important aspect of this movie is that it introduced a generation of new fans to one of the greatest sci-fi sagas ever told, which is certainly something to be proud of. Expand
  56. Nov 7, 2012
    5
    For the first hour and a half, I'm thinking wow, Michael Bay has returned to his Rock days. The film was funny, had well paced action sequences, and good dialogue, but once the ending came around, which goes on for about twenty minutes more than it should, I wanted to leave.
  57. Jan 2, 2014
    4
    Não grande coisa até que um filme bom porém muito fraco em muito sentidos, tanto em seu enredo, como em seus personagens mal constrúidos e sua trama fraquíssima proporcionando um filme senso distribuindo mal sua duração ao longo do tempo que rodado. Transformers não passa de um filme mediano cheio de cascata voando para todo os lado.
  58. Nov 17, 2012
    8
    I don't know why people hate this film because there is no "philosophical messages"; just light and noise. And? The TV series were just like this. Michael Bay just did what he had to do: resurrect Transformers, with spectacular visual effects and amazing action. I'm Spanish, so I say... Viva Transformers y un aplauso para Michael Bay.
  59. Dec 31, 2012
    8
    A great live action movie based on the cartoons and directed by Michael Bay. The Autobots come to Earth, meet Sam Witwicky and his girlfriend and they need his help, the Decepticons come, hack into the military network and it turns into a race between the Autobots and Decepticons to get the "AllSpark" a device that can turn all machines across the world into robots and it soon turns into a huge and entertaining battle. Shia Labeouf's performance is great, and so is the voice acting and the special FX obviously. There is some crude humor which isn't bad, and I don't understand why people complain the characters are poor and "undeveloped," the characters are good. The story, plot and direction is great, this is an underrated movie that deserves far better than 57%. Who can get the magical cube first? well, there's been 3 movies so far even a 4th movie coming in 2014. Expand
  60. Oct 19, 2013
    6
    Indeed, "Transformers" is almost unbearably cringe-worthy at times and not exactly food for the mind, but it's also a hell of a damn entertaining ride fueled by a truly inspired score from Steve Jablonsky.
  61. Mar 19, 2013
    8
    I never really expect this movie to be anything, since I never imagined that a live action version would work at all. BUT, I hate to say it, Michael Bay didn't do a bad job with this movie (I feel so dirty right now!) This movie acts as a great introduction to the transformers and does a decent job making them believable and reintroducing them to this generation while still showing respect to its fans (not as much as they could have, but enough.) Overall: A fun movie that did its job and reawakened my love of the Transformers franchise. Expand
  62. Mar 6, 2013
    3
    This is not a good movie at all. The story is extremely dull and it's pretty much about big explosions and special effects, but I'm sure you already knew that. I'm also pretty sure that the characters were intentionally designed for you to hate all of them by the writers. So to summarize this awful movie in short, terrible story and characters. Absolutely nothing but special effects.
  63. Jan 6, 2013
    5
    A cool depiction of killer robots against good ones. The acting is passable and nothing more and the direction only creates the beats of cool and wow. Not recommended for a good movie.
  64. Jun 10, 2013
    7
    The only good movie in the series. Unlike it's sequels the action is very impressive, instead of annoying, the humor works, instead of giving headaches, and the scenes with human characters are actually passable. The story needs some work, and it can at times be kind of stupid, but it's nowhere near the shear mental handicappedness of its sequels screenplays. It's not anywhere near perfect, but it shows that the franchise had potential and could be entertaining at one point. Why did revenge of the fallen have to be such a huge disappointment? Did they even try to make a decent sequel? I don't think so. Expand
  65. May 6, 2013
    8
    Transformers is a great Science- Fiction/ Action movie because it kept me entertained the entire time and it never lost my interest once. Plus the acting, special effects, action scenes, dialogue, humor, and the awesome climax all combined make one heck of an action movie. P.S., Even though it's 144 minutes long, it doesn't matter because you will be on the edge of your seat the whole time.
  66. Mar 31, 2013
    7
    this movie is surprisingly good i don't normally like movies with massive technology and massive production but this movie took me by surprise with it's great story original idea great performance by Shia LaBeouf and i loved the transformations in this movie and the comedy was actually pretty good.
  67. Mar 14, 2013
    10
    This movie has got really good effects. Also it doesn't gets you bored. There is some funny part, some dramatic parts. This movie is full of action. If you want to watch a movie which do you want to impress you then you should watch this movie.
  68. Mar 26, 2013
    8
    I think out of all of Michael Bay's movies this one was surprisingly his best. This was a fun action-packed thrill ride. Bay does tend to (at times) throws in some stupid humorous scenes that distracts the story. Like the scene when Sam's parents barge into his room. That scene was completely unrelevant. Plus Sam's "mom" is just so freakin weird. But thank God he doesn't do as much as his other films. Overall, this was an enjoyable action thriller that re-defines Hasbro's classic. Expand
  69. May 12, 2013
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Can you think of your most favorite childhood show in the world? And think of your favorite shows now? If you combine those two things you get Transformers the live action movie. After the notorious attempt to get the Transformers onto the big screen in the 80's; not even grossing it's budget back, and now trying a more "mature" approach to the series. To what I think some people's surprise the movie was a huge success, grossing bajillions of dollars, euros, pesos you name it, across the world. Of course since this is a Michael Bay film, it probably will be lacking in character, story, and plain old logic. Since this is about Giant transforming robots from outer space, I think logic will be taking a back seat in this production, and only giving creative consultancy; much like the surprising producer: Steven Spielberg. So right away the film is going to convince you that giant robots can exist, with its introduction to stereotypical army soldiers fighting a Decepticon. There will be many instances where poorly drawn characters will be interacting with personality lacking robots. With all that said, I can surely be comfortable in saying that the visuals in this film are superb, and that's the biggest compliment I can give this film. There is one part of this film that I kinda enjoyed, it's the Shia Lebouf as the main character. It's not a great performance or settle, but it does show him as a normal teen. I don't really know what else to say about this movie, it's not horrible, but it's not good either. One could say it's a popcorn flick, and that's probably the best fitting words for this movie. Expand
  70. Jul 24, 2013
    8
    A solid start to a shaky trilogy, the action was mind-blowing and the acting wasn't bad either. The last battle between Optimus and Megatron topped off a strong movie
  71. Sep 20, 2014
    6
    Transformers is a groovy, but weird movie.

    The CGI and the actors are great, but the beginning and the end is weird. This, in combination with a slow story didn't impress me at all, but the action sequences are incredible.

    Transformers is a highly unique movie with cool scenes, that really impress me.

    Transformers gets a 6,5/10
  72. Jul 28, 2013
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I don't like long multiple plug for products in movie it is shameful Bay needs to learn commercials are for tv not movies. Cliche after cliche is annoying nerd gets hot girl,government incompetent until the end etc. Micheal 'the butcher' Bay does it again. But is was entertainment non the less. Expand
  73. Jul 10, 2014
    6
    A campy yet enjoyable feature. Michael Bay had minimal work to do, but for the first film, he suceeded well enough for me not to loathe the film and leave the theatre with an unpleasant taste in my mouth. The action is fun and exciting, while the rest of the film is generic and tawdry. All the same, I enjoyed it.
  74. Sep 6, 2013
    9
    This is how Michael Bay make horrible movies into good, explosive, and entertaining summer movies. The fans of the classic Transformers franchise or the old-school Michael Bay movies won't be disappointed watching this.
  75. Apr 23, 2014
    8
    Like any typical Michael Bay film, the action and explosions come in the masses, but the story seems to have forgotten to be believable. But, did you see Transformers for a tightly plotted story, or to have a deluxe popcorn movie? That's what I thought.
  76. AGK
    Dec 26, 2013
    7
    man I loved this movie so much when I was little and I don't blame my little self, this movie was one hell of a ride when it got to the action! the action was amazing I just couldn't turn away! but the only downside was Micheal bay putting in a love story, I'm tired of seeing love stories in movies.
  77. Jul 17, 2014
    7
    Transformers is visually stunning and has thrilling action sequences, but offers very little depth, extremely poor character development, and is mostly brainless.
  78. May 5, 2014
    4
    Doesn't have "You've Got The Touch" by Stan Bush. No way it will be a good movie anymore. Needs a more 1980's soundtrack like the original movie, which is really good.
  79. Jun 27, 2014
    7
    Nothing to expect from a blockbuster summer movie that people are ups and arms about, except some fun action sequences, with visuals, a feast for your eyes.
  80. Mar 2, 2014
    8
    Demolition success of Michael Bay, the effects are great and amazing fights. No doubt the work that I create this amazing movie.
    The only bad thing was the footage, because I found something bad. But otherwise, this perfect.
  81. Sep 22, 2014
    10
    Loud music , best action sequences ! = A hell of a good action roller coaster !!!!!!.( i'm not that kind of obsessed transformers kinda guy but i am an Optimus fan also a little bit of a micheal bay fan.) , Shia LeBouf plays a nerd who likes this hot girl Megan Fox ( actually she is not that hot now then she was)
    then he buys a car then the car is actually a TRANSFORMER ! then a
    transformer battle begins now LeoBouf has to stop it . wow what a good story from director Micheal Bay and Writers John Rogers , Roberto Orci , Alex Kurtzman. Lets talk about the transformers voice cast i love peter cullen as the great and Powerful Optimus prime who is my favorite character in this film also great Transformer performances by Mark Ryan as Bumblebee and Hugo Weaving as Megatron. I know that Micheal Bay basically put non stop stereotypes for characters like Megan Fox as the hot girl also Bernie Mac as the car dealer. Also Micheal Bay has a bad direction in directing movies also the fact he does not know how to make a picture if number 1: Stops trying to have stereotypes actors for dumb roles. Number 2: NO more dumb jokes to add to to your movies ! take my advice bay. Micheal Bay is the not my exact favorite ' director' but his films have impressed me with films like ( Armageddon , Bad Boys) also inspired me with his imagination. Grade A+. Grade for Micheal Bay A- Expand
  82. Jun 27, 2014
    7
    Aliens make Earth their final battleground. As the forces of evil seek the key to ultimate power, Earth's last chance for survival rest in the hands of young Sam Witwicky.
  83. Aug 13, 2014
    8
    I'm not a huge fan of Michael Bay but this movie is just wow!The movie have one of the best visual i have ever seen,and there is a lot of action.The only bad point is in the fights scene because the camera is always moving and we can see a single thing.
  84. Jun 1, 2014
    5
    While Transformers has exciting and exhilarating action, and the special effects are top notch, the movie suffers from a boring story, clunky dialogues and characters very hard to come by.
  85. May 17, 2014
    9
    Transformers (2007) is an awsome movie. The CGI effects are so great that they look real. The action is amazing. The transformers are great. I recement this movie to people who loves giant robots and much action (There are small action scenes in the first half and a big battle in the end).
  86. Sep 4, 2014
    7
    Transformers is like many flashy action movies out there, with big fighting scenes and a lot of explosions. But the thing is, this film has an unique thing that others don't have - Amazing CGI with super cool robot transformations. Maybe it doesn't have a really good script, okay perhaps, but as long as this piece of awesome movie has an understandable and no plot hole story, we're good!
  87. Jun 17, 2014
    6
    Prior to watching this: I grew up watching the cartoons. As I got older, I realised that they had repetitive story lines that don't amount to anything, except for the Japanese animation series, which were more like a maxi-series.
    Review: It was a huge disappointment. The CGI was overdone. The transformations were overdone and mechanically/materially unrealistic, if not impossible. The
    recent Knight Rider series had done a similar thing and the series was cancelled mid-season. Michael Bay does not know how to tell a story without also shoving explosions down your throat! After a while, you do not know which robot is which and you could not tell villains and heroes apart. You lose interest and connection to the characters. Even the poorly cartoons were able to managed that!
    3/5
    P.S. A worse film to come after this one and then another. The 2014 sequel could make it a trilogy of terrible films.
    Expand
  88. Jul 24, 2014
    6
    impressive CGI and action transformers is a fun movie but Transformers fails to give us a good story are well developed characters its mostly just explosions and action sequences.

    i would give it a 6.5/10 an 8 for action 6 for story 5 for acting 7 for comedy and 4 for character development
  89. Oct 18, 2014
    4
    Aliens make Earth their final battleground. As the forces of evil seek the key to ultimate power, Earth's last chance for survival rest in the hands of young Sam Witwicky.
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 35
  2. Negative: 2 out of 35
  1. Reviewed by: Jay Weissberg
    90
    Big, loud and full of testosterone-fueled car fantasies, Michael Bay's actioner hits a new peak for CGI work, showcasing spectacular chases and animated transformation sequences seamlessly blended into live-action surroundings.
  2. Transformers is a wet dream for fanboys, with vehicles that whiz and whir into alien robots, spectacular sci-fi stunt chases, glistening military hardware, overheated computer software and brainy, hot girls who love Popular Mechanics.
  3. 70
    In previous movies, Michael Bay dabbled wearily in Homo sapiens. At last he has summoned the courage to admit that he has an exclusive crush on machines, and I congratulate him on creating, in Transformers, his first truly honest work of art.