Transformers

User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1083 Ratings

User score distribution:
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. VT
    Jul 2, 2007
    10
    Unbelievable! Exceeded all expectations! Thrilling, sad, funny, exciting all in one. This one is for old fan and new to be fan!
  2. JoshO.
    Jan 9, 2008
    7
    Transformers is a fun, action packed popcorn flick with excellent visual effects and great comedic pacing, but is flawed with a generic script that lacks a serious tone as well as certain complexities that it should
  3. MichaelU.
    Feb 9, 2008
    7
    I think this was a pretty good movie, but i think they should have focused more on the transformers and less on the humans. About 70% of the movie was all about the humans, I mean, come on! Its called transformers, not people. For this I rate it a 7 and not a 9 or 10 which it could have got if showed more interesting content. I also didn't like all of the sexual content. Transformers I think this was a pretty good movie, but i think they should have focused more on the transformers and less on the humans. About 70% of the movie was all about the humans, I mean, come on! Its called transformers, not people. For this I rate it a 7 and not a 9 or 10 which it could have got if showed more interesting content. I also didn't like all of the sexual content. Transformers is a kid thing, so I hate to see it turn into a PG-13 movie. Hopefully Transformers 2 won't be so bad. Expand
  4. Bangell
    Apr 21, 2008
    8
    From the very first speech, it was corny as hell. "Ooh, save the world from the evil robot!" And megatron, cybertron and all this other crap was just ridiculous. However, the film blended action and humour to make a great watch. It actually made me laugh out loud, especially the scene in the fat computer hacker's house. The action was fast and exciting, showing the US military as From the very first speech, it was corny as hell. "Ooh, save the world from the evil robot!" And megatron, cybertron and all this other crap was just ridiculous. However, the film blended action and humour to make a great watch. It actually made me laugh out loud, especially the scene in the fat computer hacker's house. The action was fast and exciting, showing the US military as well as giant frickin robots engaging each other. It was kinda obvious from the start what was going on - the "sound" wasn't really mysterious or anything. Expand
  5. fredbob
    Jul 16, 2007
    10
    i put this at about a 9.5 but for this review i will give it a 10. This is a must see movie. Its very entertaining and has great actors and actresses. Its one of my favorite movies of the year
  6. Jag
    Feb 25, 2008
    8
    This is a fun action movie. Its nothing spacial but I should keep you entertained from start to finish. The acting wasn't bad. Shia Labouff's part was acted very well. This movie shows that he is good for more than just comedy. This does have a descent story but what truly makes this movie enjoyable is the action. Its character development was not perfect but that doesn't This is a fun action movie. Its nothing spacial but I should keep you entertained from start to finish. The acting wasn't bad. Shia Labouff's part was acted very well. This movie shows that he is good for more than just comedy. This does have a descent story but what truly makes this movie enjoyable is the action. Its character development was not perfect but that doesn't mean its bad. It was tolerable it was actually quite easy to bare. Transformations look quite good and safistacated. Infact they were so good that I wanted to rewatch the movie and put it in slow mo just to see those transformations. Its understandable why some people don't like this movie. IF you don't like action than you would hate it. But for those of you who are action fans and you want to see somthing get blown up this movie is a must see. Expand
  7. Buck
    Nov 24, 2007
    6
    this movie wasn't great, but it wasn't horrible either. Mike Bay could have done more back story but all in all it was pretty good.The effects were awesome and the plot was 10 times better than the lack of a plot in spiderman 3.I'm not saying it should win the best picture Oscar (not that the Oscar is very relevant anymore) but it was at least a fun movie to watch unlike this movie wasn't great, but it wasn't horrible either. Mike Bay could have done more back story but all in all it was pretty good.The effects were awesome and the plot was 10 times better than the lack of a plot in spiderman 3.I'm not saying it should win the best picture Oscar (not that the Oscar is very relevant anymore) but it was at least a fun movie to watch unlike Spiderman 3 which was the most disappointing pile of elephant dung I've ever seen. Expand
  8. MarcD.
    Jun 28, 2007
    7
    It's really flashy and the action is non-stop...trademark Bay. But...the shots are too chaotic and the similar design of the Decepticons makes it hard to make out what is going on in the film at times. Instead of resulting in a heightened sense of excitement...it merely induces a serious headache.
  9. FrankD.
    Jul 16, 2007
    10
    i guess it's cool to be a hater in '07? guess we can't all be autobots...prime would be disappointed in you guys
  10. Feb 16, 2012
    6
    With badass girls and impressive CGI, Transformers is a hell of a ride!
  11. BenS.
    Nov 7, 2007
    7
    I saw transformers in an Imax theatre, which made the special effects extra special though your neck gets tired of looking back and forth. The movie was relative to the cartoon back in the day but it wasn't completely true to it's roots in a few ways. The original Transformers came out before the internet was invented and in the movie, the alien robots said they used it to get I saw transformers in an Imax theatre, which made the special effects extra special though your neck gets tired of looking back and forth. The movie was relative to the cartoon back in the day but it wasn't completely true to it's roots in a few ways. The original Transformers came out before the internet was invented and in the movie, the alien robots said they used it to get all the information about earth. Shia Labeouf's charector was tracked down through ebay so i'm sure it's not the same plot though I don't remember what the plot was. Expand
  12. Sep 18, 2011
    7
    Michael Bay's Blockbuster "Transformers" has everything lock-n-loaded for the summer year; sexy chicks, transforming CGI vehicles, and explosions!!!
  13. Sep 5, 2011
    9
    This live-action adaptation of the TV shows and the toy franchise tells the story about the battle between the autobots and the decepticons as they search for the AllSpark, a device so powerful that can turn mechanics into robots. When it lands on earth, Optimus Prime and the other autobots meet a boy named Sam Witwicky and seeks his help along with his girlfriend Mikaela to find theThis live-action adaptation of the TV shows and the toy franchise tells the story about the battle between the autobots and the decepticons as they search for the AllSpark, a device so powerful that can turn mechanics into robots. When it lands on earth, Optimus Prime and the other autobots meet a boy named Sam Witwicky and seeks his help along with his girlfriend Mikaela to find the AllSpark and put an end to the decepticons once and for all.

    I saw the trailers for this movie, but I have missed my chances of seeing it in theaters. So, I waited to get it on DVD and viola! I now have the movie and I was excited when it met my expectations.

    Michael Bay did really well on his directing and the storyline was well-paced together. The cinematography and casting were great, even Shia Lebeouf and Megan Fox's performances were so good and they make a great screen couple. The Witwicky parents weren't given enough screen time, but I think they did pretty well with their comedic moments. The actors that voiced the autobots and the decepticons turned out to be great and they are just like the ones from the TV shows.

    The humor was so hilarious, and the best humor part was the pee joke which I really laughed during the movie.

    The action scenes were very darn good. I think that Michael Bay was a fan of action scenes from the TV show and did very well at shooting them just to make it look real.

    The CGI effects from the Industrial Light and Magic company was that good and it fits well for the action sequences.

    The music score was riveting and very cool and it gave some emotion in the whole movie.

    I am going to point that there aren't any negative things to say about this movie and the 57% rating is a little bit low for my expectations, so I'm going to give this pretty much a higher rating.

    4.5/5 stars
    Expand
  14. RH.
    Feb 3, 2008
    9
    Pure escapism, total in-your-face intense action from beginning to end. It is a fantastic movie because it makes you feel like a child with a new toy again.
  15. SteveS
    Nov 13, 2007
    5
    The Special Effects are impressive, but the story and screenplay are as clunky and mechanical as the robots themselves. Not boring in the least,but the onslaught of effects has a mind-numbing affect on the brain. Shouldn't the effects be created to enhance the story, rather than a story created to add to the FX?
  16. OptimusPrime
    Nov 18, 2007
    10
    Mr. Tea, your IQ's dropping steadily because you rated this film so low! I saw this 2 times and the second time it was as action-packed, entertaining and thrilling as the first time (which by the way was amazing)! Everything you would want in a movie
  17. MorganF
    Aug 23, 2008
    8
    Full of semi-confusing action sequences, a down-to-earth lead, and surprisingly funny. Transformers is one of the most entertaining movies I've seen in a while.
  18. FerdbutB
    May 2, 2009
    7
    Transformers is good movie with amazing special effects and a good cast. I wish the fight between optimus prime and megatron was better thought but, overall good movie.
  19. AnthonyF.
    Jul 16, 2009
    7
    This is a film made by Michael Bay for Michael Bay and does nothing but please people like Michael Bay. Fans will go wild for the robots and action lovers will melt over the dazzling visuals and action scenes. If there is anything wrong with this picture is the fact that it runs a half hour too long and grows rather mindless near the end.
  20. Aug 20, 2010
    3
    MICHEAL BAY DOES IT AGAIN!!! ... make another bad movie that is. you know your a bad director when people write songs on how bad your movies are ( see pearl Harbor) . id like too ad that im a huge fan of transformers from when i was a kid. i grew up waching the original tv show . i had very high hopes for this film . i even gave bay the benifite of the doubt . i thought he made 1 goodMICHEAL BAY DOES IT AGAIN!!! ... make another bad movie that is. you know your a bad director when people write songs on how bad your movies are ( see pearl Harbor) . id like too ad that im a huge fan of transformers from when i was a kid. i grew up waching the original tv show . i had very high hopes for this film . i even gave bay the benifite of the doubt . i thought he made 1 good movie with The Rock . surely the sun can smile on a dumb dogs ass twice . Alas he failed and Failed very epicly . lets start with the plot or lack there of or should i say lack of the main charicters you know the Transformers . this is there film after all not the shilo the stuttering prick movie . the transforers dont hardly apear in there film infact i think the dog in it has more lines then they do. they seem to be there only to be brought out to beat the hell out of each other inbetween shilo's stuttering , bad jokes , and him drooling over megan fox . which really makes the case giant transforming robots are more believable then that dip stick getting a girl like that . i mean giant transforming robots i can believe , shilo getting megan ... no. i know its alot of money to make the transformers come to life and all but is it really hard just to have them stand there and talk and get some charicter devolpment? i guess for bay it is not when theres **** to blow up and bad jokes to tell. also the changing of the over all plot in the tv show the transforers come to earth to serch for energy to save there dying world in the movie its coming to find the all spark . i mean really is the first option not doable? they couldnt stick abit more to the source material? this is why 99% of any thing made from a tv show , comic or video game sucks . why bother even making it if you are just gona abandon the source ? just go make some thing els simular and call it some thing els. people like to point out the how awsome the action is and its not bad atleast what you can actaully make out what the hell is going on . bay for some reason likes to do close ups . so close infact most of the action is to chaotic to make out what the hell is going on. the only 2 good things i can say about this film . 1 the special effects are pretty and 2 using peter cullen as the voice of optimus prime . every thing els is crap . im in shock spielberg sighned off on this . i think he must have gone insane Expand
  21. FatMan
    Jul 3, 2007
    10
    Absolutely stunning. A real boy's movie - big boys toys, action, and sexy graphics all through it.
  22. ALFAVITA
    Sep 30, 2009
    0
    Transformers was about a prototype of American dream perfect family icon, in classic style of Greek mythology, wise parents, smart children, and heroic robots fighting evil robots antagonists on earth. As soon as the film begins, you notice suddenly that this movie has absolutely nothing to do with the original franchise, starting from the original music tune from the cartoon is simply Transformers was about a prototype of American dream perfect family icon, in classic style of Greek mythology, wise parents, smart children, and heroic robots fighting evil robots antagonists on earth. As soon as the film begins, you notice suddenly that this movie has absolutely nothing to do with the original franchise, starting from the original music tune from the cartoon is simply missing substituted by some unoriginal boring score. If something didn't made a lot of sense in the original comic book, children were always wondering, how so tiny cars were able to transform suddenly in gigantic robots , maybe by magic ? But this film is something completely insane, instead of any good element of original franchise, we see dysfunctional Jewish family with idiotic parents, retarded children, and the most amazing thing, a real loser kid engaged with a gorgeous female who in real world is only possible to meet in Hollywood, or at Hooters. Expand
  23. HelpU
    Jul 19, 2009
    3
    Wow, maybe I should forget about anything in a movie except explosions and giant robots... Maybe story, character, and acting are unnecessary whenever you make everything giant and explode, that is what makes a good movie. Hell, instead of transformers you should have called the movie "Giant Robots and Explosions" So the audience has no possibility of getting confused that there is any Wow, maybe I should forget about anything in a movie except explosions and giant robots... Maybe story, character, and acting are unnecessary whenever you make everything giant and explode, that is what makes a good movie. Hell, instead of transformers you should have called the movie "Giant Robots and Explosions" So the audience has no possibility of getting confused that there is any other redeeming qualities of this movie. Man, I have got movies all wrong... The original trilogy of Star Wars wasn't good because of the Story, characters, or plot it was because of the explosions and giant robots. Expand
  24. RobertM
    Sep 1, 2009
    0
    These types of movies are simply quick dollar exploitation, to make art into a form of prostitution for all the drones in the world.
  25. MathewB.
    Jun 29, 2007
    0
    I expected to see a movie about giant robots. Not a very poor John Hughes knock-off. 15 minutes of screen time for Megatron... poor. It's not as if Michael Bay is known for his great characterization, but that's what your getting in Transformers.
  26. DavidV.
    Dec 8, 2008
    3
    The kid inside of me loved this movie. But then again, I was pretty stupid when I was a kid.
  27. EganA
    Oct 4, 2009
    0
    Second worst movie of 2007. The only reason it is second worst is it's rip-off movie, "Transmorphers".
  28. Aug 12, 2010
    2
    This is the lowest form of crap you can find in a video store.I grew up in the 80s and loved the cartoons so like most people if i had seen a half decent film i would have embraced it.The CGI is good and thats it.Micheal Bay is not a comic or a writer yet he has a go at it and fails miserably.He has taken the root of most action directors insisting that a good action movie needs a badThis is the lowest form of crap you can find in a video store.I grew up in the 80s and loved the cartoons so like most people if i had seen a half decent film i would have embraced it.The CGI is good and thats it.Micheal Bay is not a comic or a writer yet he has a go at it and fails miserably.He has taken the root of most action directors insisting that a good action movie needs a bad script.Geekey guy falls for hot girl who dosent recognize him until he saves her life,this story has been told time and again.This isnt the movie transformers desereved. Expand
  29. Oct 29, 2010
    5
    Maybe it' the Michael Bay factor or maybe it's the near mindless action, but either way I found this movie to be at times nostalgic (in the good way) and at times absolutely mind numbing (there is no good way in my opinion). Many things that I didn' like about this are my own biases in regards to the redesign of the transformers. Their new designs are far too busy, taking the concept ofMaybe it' the Michael Bay factor or maybe it's the near mindless action, but either way I found this movie to be at times nostalgic (in the good way) and at times absolutely mind numbing (there is no good way in my opinion). Many things that I didn' like about this are my own biases in regards to the redesign of the transformers. Their new designs are far too busy, taking the concept of more is better, leaving the autobots looking rather over done and over designed. This actually works well for the decepticons however, giving them a very alien and unfriendly appearance. The overall story is pretty shallow, but I guess it doesn' need to be too complicated. It' mostly the way the plot unfolds that made me want to fall asleep, "intense action"or not. For me, these intense action scenes turn out to be little more than blur-fests as the robots roll around and nothing is discernable as to what exactly they are doing. The original series plot was not that great either, and at the time of watching it I was just around 7 years old. So nostalgia glasses or not, this is essentially a kids movie built with a nod to the now adults that grew up on the series. Michael Bay does a fine job doing what he can only do, and does it best, serving up stupid action scenes and explosions to keep the viewer occupied and cover up the lack of anything compelling at all. This serves some people well, but bores me to tears. The whole scene where the autobots are stealthily "hiding" in Sam's backyard, I'm sure for "comedic effect", really felt insulting more than funny. I'll believe in transformable alien robots from space more then I'll swallow the fact that they can remain unobserved in a neighborhood like that. But even that doesn't matter for the purpose of this movie, and that is to offer shallow, thoughtless entertainment, and in that matter it does succeed. My problem with it is that with such a great license and idea, the possibilities could have been greater. Why settle for mediocrity, when you could have had something that strives to be more than just another by the numbers movie. We missed out on the potential for a more engrossing story, ridiculous giant robots or not. At least Peter Cullen was able to do the voice for Optimus Prime, and that almost made the movie bearable. For nostalgia purposes I would recommend it, but check your head at the door.â Expand
  30. ThomasL.
    Aug 6, 2007
    9
    Anyone who is trashing the movie is a pompous ass with a stick shoved up there. Geez why can't some people just kick back and have a good time? This was one of the best times I have ever had in a movie theater. This is what summer movies are all about!!!
  31. MichaelJ.
    Mar 8, 2008
    10
    All I can say is awesome, totally awesome!
  32. MartinP.
    Mar 8, 2008
    10
    This is a real action movie! This is the type of movie for anyone who loves action movies. Transformers fans, you are bound to love this cuz I know I did!
  33. OPrime
    Dec 4, 2007
    3
    Overrated. Hired it at blockbuster...what a waste of money. I was expecting much better. There's barely any story and they overdo the action which is like 90% of the movie. Constantly has shooting, blowing up which really gets boring half way through the movie. Some of the actors/actresses were terrible. Would only appeal to those that are 'wowed' at special effects and Overrated. Hired it at blockbuster...what a waste of money. I was expecting much better. There's barely any story and they overdo the action which is like 90% of the movie. Constantly has shooting, blowing up which really gets boring half way through the movie. Some of the actors/actresses were terrible. Would only appeal to those that are 'wowed' at special effects and nothing else. Expand
  34. BrentD
    Jun 29, 2007
    10
    This movie is sheer fun. The theater erupted everytime a new Transformer was introduced or an epic battle completed. By far, this movie has the best CGI of all time. Watched the pre-screening, now can't wait for it to arrive in theaters to see it again. INCREDIBLE!
  35. JaredB.
    Jan 3, 2008
    10
    Growing up, I loved the "Transformers" cartoons. So, when the theatres started showing trailers for this film, I got very excited. After all, what guy doesn't want to see a movie where robots kick each other's butts? The dialogue was a bit on the chessy side, but, come on, who goes to see a summer action flick and expects Shakespeare-level dialogue? The visual effects in this Growing up, I loved the "Transformers" cartoons. So, when the theatres started showing trailers for this film, I got very excited. After all, what guy doesn't want to see a movie where robots kick each other's butts? The dialogue was a bit on the chessy side, but, come on, who goes to see a summer action flick and expects Shakespeare-level dialogue? The visual effects in this movie were amazing. Shia LaBeouf gives the best performance of his career, but, that's not saying much. The rest of the cast are absolutely perfect. I just have one thing to say about Megan Fox: Schwing!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  36. MikeP.
    Feb 20, 2008
    9
    This movie has it all, comedy, action some romance and it all blends well together, this movie is great!
  37. JamesCool
    Mar 8, 2008
    10
    Just like my last name, this movie is cool!
  38. MarioS.
    Apr 15, 2008
    9
    Absolutely amazing.
  39. Lacerta
    May 3, 2008
    1
    I give it an ace because although it is an action movie (and it had A LOT of action) there is no script, there is quite a lot of stereotyping (especially in regards to black people) and the dialogues give me the impression that I'm watching a 'who's the biggest smartass' contest and who
  40. BrianS.
    Jul 6, 2008
    3
    I'm sorry, but I will have to agree with Ben L. Micheal Bay did an absolute hack-job on this movie..needless to say I was very disappointed. So often in present day cinema it seems we have a ever increasing number of movies with billion dollar budgets for special effects and ABSOLUTELY no story...what sover. I was fortunate to have watched the original transformers animated movie. I I'm sorry, but I will have to agree with Ben L. Micheal Bay did an absolute hack-job on this movie..needless to say I was very disappointed. So often in present day cinema it seems we have a ever increasing number of movies with billion dollar budgets for special effects and ABSOLUTELY no story...what sover. I was fortunate to have watched the original transformers animated movie. I left there as a young boy with my hair standing up and my mouth wide open...I loved it. The story, the drama....the soundtrack to that movie was also incredible and complimented the scenes to build mood, such as sadness, danger laughter and uncertainty. The transformers as a whole were given personalities which were developed in detail with MULTIPLe sub-plots which kept it like a nonstop roller coaster...never a dull moment. However. In the recent 2007 Transformers, there was way too much human screen time, which I thought was a big part of the problem, along with a non-existent sound track...which seemed like the same exact score for every scene in the movie. Too much corn ball humor(which wasn't funny to begin with) took all credibility away, coupled with the cliche' lines and Micheal Bay glorifying the military....which was thoroughly outclassed and out-gunned, but somehow always manage to save the day! I can't throw believability out of the window. This movies was about HUMANS who happened to be around transformers and nothing more. The transformers were inconsequential. This movie if done right could've been great, really...but since every movie is out to make blockbuster hits...the art of story telling has been forgotten or looked over for ticket sales....bottom line. I will say that I enjoyed the very beginning with the decepticon blackout destroying the military base in quartar...and some of the many scirmishes between Star scream and the associated autobots and devastator with Jazz etc...the sound effects were great..from the machines guns firing from devastator...otherwise everything else was forgotten...sadly...hopefully Micheal Bay will look at some glaring weaknesses from this first debacle and make adjustments in story and transformer character development for the second transformers....and lose those humans! Expand
  41. FreddyA
    Mar 25, 2009
    10
    For all people that gave it less than 7 you guys are the most idiotic people in the world. This movie had everthing romance, comedy, action and the best cast crew you could think of. This movie even made me cry: the part when they took BumbleBee away from Sam Whitwicky. I absouletly loved "Transformers" best movie. Hope they make a part 2.
  42. MaxB
    May 11, 2009
    1
    After watching Transformers a second time I still find nothing redeeming in it. It's a typically embarrassing Michael Bay action flick with all the stuff you've come to expect: explosions, car chases, borderline anorexic "just one of the guys" female lead, terrible script, worse acting, and it's just too long. This is not the fun cartoon of the 1980s. This is new-age, After watching Transformers a second time I still find nothing redeeming in it. It's a typically embarrassing Michael Bay action flick with all the stuff you've come to expect: explosions, car chases, borderline anorexic "just one of the guys" female lead, terrible script, worse acting, and it's just too long. This is not the fun cartoon of the 1980s. This is new-age, embarrassingly serious, violence-glorifying, military fist-pumping, emotionally vapid, humorless, glossy no-substance cinema. Avoid at all costs. Truly one of the poorest films ever created. Expand
  43. JohnK
    Jun 27, 2009
    0
    Ouch. That's all I can say about this failure. To be honest I didn't expect much of it to begin with, but I had no inkling as to what I was in for. The writers fail. Bay fails. Shia shows the most promise but fails. And my oh my does Megan Fox fall flat on her alien face.
  44. AD.
    Jul 2, 2009
    0
    Terrible writing and god awful acting while the entire audience is waiting for the fifteen minute increments of action. Sound familiar? No, it's not a porno, it's Transformers. Michael Bay is the most talentless and moronic person ever to set foot in California and should stick his head in a magic bullet.
  45. JuniorW.
    Nov 14, 2007
    10
    Year life transformers. Best 80's to current time movie.
  46. JoshE.
    Nov 28, 2007
    2
    Not a very good movie.
  47. chad
    Nov 6, 2007
    4
    Are you kidding me! I don't understand why everyone liked this movie so much. Special effects doesn't automatically mean a movie is a 10 out of 10, this is ridiculous. The movie drags on too long but that isn't what's so bad about it, the worst part about this movie is how it totally makes a laughing stock out of optimus prime. To see the leader of the good guys, the Are you kidding me! I don't understand why everyone liked this movie so much. Special effects doesn't automatically mean a movie is a 10 out of 10, this is ridiculous. The movie drags on too long but that isn't what's so bad about it, the worst part about this movie is how it totally makes a laughing stock out of optimus prime. To see the leader of the good guys, the robot everyone has grown to love, get his a$$ kicked left and right by megatron was the most depressing sight i have ever seen. I'm pretty sure that the autobots lost practically every single fight in this movie and literally got owned by the decepticons, that is until shia cheap shotted megatron by basically kicking him in the balls (putting the cube in his chest unexpectedly). I cant stand this movie and regret paying my money to watch the autobots get slaughtered. Expand
  48. BooDiddy
    Jun 28, 2007
    9
    Yeah was pretty good. Much better than I thought it would be. Certainly much better than Bayes prior stuff.
  49. Tomas
    Jun 29, 2007
    9
    I must say this is one of the biggest blockbusters this year Nothing can be compared with this masterpiece created for fun and such excitement Michael Bay made a great job with this Exact measure of comedy action SFX effects I dont know American cinematography should be proud with this also this one of the spielberg's childs so its worth every cent Watch it u wont regret it
  50. AndreH.
    Aug 27, 2007
    5
    I expected so much more out this movie and it let me down. I'm not just finding things wrong with a good movie no, but transformer didn't live up to the hype. yes as everyone said the visual effects was fantastic but the plot was completely made up by Hollywood. Maybe my expectation is too high...or... may this Transformer was just too big for even Hollywood. Transformers was I expected so much more out this movie and it let me down. I'm not just finding things wrong with a good movie no, but transformer didn't live up to the hype. yes as everyone said the visual effects was fantastic but the plot was completely made up by Hollywood. Maybe my expectation is too high...or... may this Transformer was just too big for even Hollywood. Transformers was transformed from small screen success to a Big Screen Mess. Sorry, I'm sure the second one will be much better. Expand
  51. KyleT
    Mar 12, 2008
    10
    Aside from the boring first half of the movie and the human cast that we don't really care about, Transformers is shown exactly the way it should be. This is the definitive moment in Transformers history, and it is no doubt the most fun movie to watch in 2007. Hopefully, Bay makes TF 2better, though.
  52. JackL.
    Mar 19, 2008
    0
    Let's hear it for Mr. Bay, his Playmate posse (Fox??? & Taylor), the ADHD kid (LaBeouf) as well as the bodies at work and minds on vacation (Gibson & Duhamel)! Buttom line: BENEATH CONTEMPT.
  53. KurtC.
    Jul 13, 2008
    8
    This is a film not to be missed. It has lots of transformin' action. Great fight scenes and special effects.
  54. ZackB.
    Jul 14, 2008
    2
    I honestly feel bad for the people who liked this movie. As a huge Transformers fan from childhood, I was willing to hope for the best with this film despite the inclusion of Michael Bay. Since when does a movie aimed squarely at kids have such sitcom-raunchy humor? I knew I hated the movie the second Bumblebee peed on John Tuturo. Secondly, when I go to see a movie called Transformers, I I honestly feel bad for the people who liked this movie. As a huge Transformers fan from childhood, I was willing to hope for the best with this film despite the inclusion of Michael Bay. Since when does a movie aimed squarely at kids have such sitcom-raunchy humor? I knew I hated the movie the second Bumblebee peed on John Tuturo. Secondly, when I go to see a movie called Transformers, I fully expect to see the Transformers, not a strained love story with a cameo by the Transformers. I mean, Optimus Prime shows up over an hour into the film and Megatron over two! Also, this is another sad case of changing things from the original story for no reason and, as usual, the new version just doesn't make any sense. Why make it harder on yourself as a writer? This is a film version of a fourth of July fireworks show. The only difference is the hot dogs are way more expensive. Expand
  55. CommandoDude
    Jul 6, 2008
    4
    Not worth seeing. Most of the movie was pointless drabble by the military to figure out what was happening. And there were a surplus of characters. The movie attempted to make the giant robots 'Cooler then they were before' which actually made them not so much, they didn't stick with the original concepts. The visual effects were awesome, a little too awesome at times, Not worth seeing. Most of the movie was pointless drabble by the military to figure out what was happening. And there were a surplus of characters. The movie attempted to make the giant robots 'Cooler then they were before' which actually made them not so much, they didn't stick with the original concepts. The visual effects were awesome, a little too awesome at times, making it almost impossible to actually figure out what the hell was happening in the battle scenes. And a classic movie mistake. A pointless romance story in the middle of everything. Lame as hell movie. Expand
  56. BrendanE.
    Mar 15, 2009
    9
    This movie, starring Shia Labeouf and Megan Fox, might be one of the greatest movies I have ever seen. Partially because, come on, it has Megan Fox in it. The combination of the special effects, a good, realistic plot, and great acting is one of the reasons for over $708 million in the box offices alone. Shia Labeouf plays a teenager who has just gotten his first car, which is a piece of This movie, starring Shia Labeouf and Megan Fox, might be one of the greatest movies I have ever seen. Partially because, come on, it has Megan Fox in it. The combination of the special effects, a good, realistic plot, and great acting is one of the reasons for over $708 million in the box offices alone. Shia Labeouf plays a teenager who has just gotten his first car, which is a piece of crap. Little did he know that the car was really a highly sophisticated alien robot. The car was not alone, however, and soon the movie becomes a quintessential battle between good and evil. This intertwines the fates of Fox, and Labeouf. The battle includes multiple twists and just when you think you know how it is going to end, something happens that you didn't expect. I would definetly recommend this movie to people who enjoy action, and Megan Fox . Expand
  57. BushM.
    Nov 13, 2007
    2
    Ben S. has no idea what he's talking about at all. The cartoon movie is amazing and at least a hundred times better then this embarrassment. It tries so hard to be funny but isn't at all. In the cartoon, optimus prime is BA but in this one he's not cool at all. It was depressing. I hate michael bay. He ruined all my childhood memories.
  58. frickinmediam
    Nov 18, 2007
    2
    Worst action movie I've seen all year. You know the movie is bad when you have Anthony Anderson in it. Top it off with Bernie Mac and Tyrese and you get a masterpiece of crap. Did these guys write the script? I swear I thought I saw Eddie Griffin made a cameo in the film, who's another overrated comedian/actor. This is not a racial thing. Jamie Foxx is one of my top favorite Worst action movie I've seen all year. You know the movie is bad when you have Anthony Anderson in it. Top it off with Bernie Mac and Tyrese and you get a masterpiece of crap. Did these guys write the script? I swear I thought I saw Eddie Griffin made a cameo in the film, who's another overrated comedian/actor. This is not a racial thing. Jamie Foxx is one of my top favorite actors. Good thing he was smart enough to be in the film. Also, I like Michael Bay's previous works (Bad Boys, the Rock, Armageddon), but this is horrible. I think Shia is a great actor, but even he couldn't save this film. I hope not to see Marlon Waynes as the comic relief in Transformer 2. Expand
  59. BillB.
    Nov 20, 2007
    10
    I don't know why this movie got any bad ratings. the effects were groundbreaking, it was funny, and of course it was more than meets the eye.
  60. Chuck
    Nov 22, 2007
    0
    In the immortal words of Bart Simpson - this movie simultaneously sucks and blows. The effects are good but the story suuuucckks!
  61. QuentinW.
    Nov 29, 2007
    10
    If I could vote 11 I would. This move brought life to the Transformers to which I held so dear. I cried the precise moment Jazz died. This movie made me seriously consider Chevy and of course I already like Mountain Dew. I'll love you always Transformers movie, Michael Bay you rock! I can't wait for the high-def version so I can watch it every day for the rest of my life.
  62. EdwardC.
    Nov 30, 2007
    9
    Transformers is a crisp, focussed, interesting, intense awsome action/sci-fi movie with a touch of humor. This movie is very good, the script is flawless, but the direction is amazing, director Michael bay is totally fit for this concept, and Steven Spielberg, well he sure still does know how to make a good movie. The best movie of the year by far.
  63. WillM.
    Nov 7, 2007
    5
    Its Not that good,like it should receive a Oscar Award. The writer shouldn't wrote this movie, in the first place,cause of it showed many flaws,such as the dialog and Humor. Also it was Boring sitting through the whole talking insead of Action.
  64. Mr.Tea
    Nov 9, 2007
    0
    Hear that? That's the sound of IQs dropping steadily all over America. Sounds a little bit like thunder.
  65. BrendanS.
    Dec 14, 2007
    4
    My main comment about this movie would be: "Where are the Transformers?" The fighting giant robots barley make a noticeable appearance until the tail end of the film. It focuses too much on the boring 2d characters, instead of its namesake.
  66. LanceUppercut
    Jun 29, 2007
    10
    Excellent movie. First movie this year that has lived up to its high expectations. Couldn't be more happier with the CGI.
  67. PatrickLittle
    Feb 23, 2008
    0
    This isn't the worst movie I've ever seen, but by god it's close. And while I've seen a few that are worse, I've never seen one I hated more than this abomination. Everything from the horrible robot designs to the insipid plot to the wretched directing was awful beyond reason. Michael Bay is the worst director in Hollywood, hands down, and Spielberg should be This isn't the worst movie I've ever seen, but by god it's close. And while I've seen a few that are worse, I've never seen one I hated more than this abomination. Everything from the horrible robot designs to the insipid plot to the wretched directing was awful beyond reason. Michael Bay is the worst director in Hollywood, hands down, and Spielberg should be ashamed for picking him to direct this. Most wasted opportunity ever. Expand
  68. PaulL.
    Aug 11, 2008
    3
    although a very good action film, this is another kind of mess mike bay would be in. the transformers CGI is kind of a mess and the lack of characteristic of Witwicky family. I had to say a lot of good action there but not mike bay best.
  69. CassandraA.
    Aug 19, 2008
    10
    Psh.. For those of you who thought this movie sucked I'm VERY surprised! It had its action/humor In it. Megan fox IS hot As well as Shia Labeouf I thought the actors were Great! It made perfect sense there wasn't a time where you were confused!!! Shia Is such an amazing actor im IN love with his humor and his movies!!! I give transformers a 10. Cant wait for part 2 to come out!!!!
  70. BrendanE.
    Mar 15, 2009
    9
    This movie, starring Shia Labeouf and Megan Fox, might be one of the greatest movies I have ever seen. Partially because, come on, it has Megan Fox in it. The combination of the special effects, a good, realistic plot, and great acting is one of the reasons for over $708 million in the box offices alone. Shia Labeouf plays a teenager who has just gotten his first car, which is a piece of This movie, starring Shia Labeouf and Megan Fox, might be one of the greatest movies I have ever seen. Partially because, come on, it has Megan Fox in it. The combination of the special effects, a good, realistic plot, and great acting is one of the reasons for over $708 million in the box offices alone. Shia Labeouf plays a teenager who has just gotten his first car, which is a piece of crap. Little did he know that the car was really a highly sophisticated alien robot. The car was not alone, however, and soon the movie becomes a quintessential battle between good and evil. This intertwines the fates of Fox, and Labeouf. The battle includes multiple twists and just when you think you know how it is going to end, something happens that you didn't expect. I would definetly recommend this movie to people who enjoy action, and Megan Fox . Expand
  71. ZyreneV
    Apr 21, 2009
    10
    very nice movie...i wish trere will be Transformers 2.
  72. AdrianS.
    Jun 24, 2009
    10
    It's amazing! on VFX, the Story, everything! You have to give it a shot... don't be narrow-minded.
  73. KP
    Jul 12, 2009
    5
    I've seen this movie almost twice. The 2nd time I couldn't make it through it. The FX are great, but after a while it gets old. It's WAY overproduced. It tries to have some substance in the plot, but a weak cast, and overdone FX prevail. How Shia LaBeouf gets acting gigs I'll never know. I think he is like watching paint dry. Zero on screen charisma.
  74. RobertM.
    Aug 25, 2009
    8
    Being a fan of the original cartoon (Generation1), I just can't hate on this movie as much as others try to influence me to. I felt it was a great adaptation of the series into film. I also enjoyed Bay's vision of what the Transformers should've been. Most of all I enjoyed the fact that I it made me a diehard fan all over again. If I had to complain about anything, was the Being a fan of the original cartoon (Generation1), I just can't hate on this movie as much as others try to influence me to. I felt it was a great adaptation of the series into film. I also enjoyed Bay's vision of what the Transformers should've been. Most of all I enjoyed the fact that I it made me a diehard fan all over again. If I had to complain about anything, was the lack of the Porsche for Jazz and Megatron and Starscream not having such a critical and deep role in the movies. The cartoons were awesome at making us emotionally attached the Autobots and decepticons. The only ones I felt that way about were Bumbole Bee and Prime. Superb effort on this flick though! Expand
  75. Bruce
    Nov 23, 2007
    5
    I think if you are not some sort of Transformers fanboy, the movie tends to be a lot of smashing and crashing with little actual intelligence to it. Oveall it's very mediocre and disappointing.
  76. Acron
    Nov 24, 2007
    3
    Tons of CGI Hot Chick Lame Lead Character Moronic Humor Infantile Dialog and Plot In Short: Entertainment for the Borderline Deficient!
  77. Aug 12, 2010
    9
    Special Effects 9/10, Action 9/10, Score 10/10, Cinematography 9/10, Sound Design 9/10, Film Design 9/10, Characters 7/10, Acting 7/10, Story 7/10, Humor 7/10, Pacing 6/10,
    Basically it depends what your looking for, if you are a teen or want a really stylised action film you will probably love it, if you are an adult and want a deep sci-fi story you will probably hate it. The best scenes
    Special Effects 9/10, Action 9/10, Score 10/10, Cinematography 9/10, Sound Design 9/10, Film Design 9/10, Characters 7/10, Acting 7/10, Story 7/10, Humor 7/10, Pacing 6/10,
    Basically it depends what your looking for, if you are a teen or want a really stylised action film you will probably love it, if you are an adult and want a deep sci-fi story you will probably hate it. The best scenes are 10/10 the worst scenes are 4/10, under no circumstances should you believe anyone that gives this film a score in the red, there are several films I absolutely hate but I rate them fairly for its audience. People that are giving this lower than 6 seem to be very bitter people in general. Not only that but they probably believe that District 9 has a very good story when infact its just a bunch of semi-suggestive anti apartheid images superimposed over some terrible jokes.
    Expand
  78. Sep 5, 2010
    0
    This film is **** **** Nothing at all good was used from the original Transformers, basically someone got the liecnse and created a half arsed peice of **** just to make money. The plot is about a big cube, there are no transformers untill half way in, and then they have ****e ones, even then they don't **** act anyhting like the characters should, they hardly **** talk, the kid who starsThis film is **** **** Nothing at all good was used from the original Transformers, basically someone got the liecnse and created a half arsed peice of **** just to make money. The plot is about a big cube, there are no transformers untill half way in, and then they have ****e ones, even then they don't **** act anyhting like the characters should, they hardly **** talk, the kid who stars in this is a little piece of piss i saw in a ****ty kids program when i was younger, he is awefull, i don't know why but i look at him and his stupid ass smug face and i can imagine he just stinks of farts. I hope he dies. The 80s animated film is over 9000 times better. Expand
  79. Mar 21, 2011
    10
    This is the movie that introduced me to the amazing world of Transformers. Awesome action scenes and a great sci-fi movie overall. Thank you Michael Bay!
  80. Mar 30, 2011
    3
    I do not understand why people like this piece of **** It's almost pure bull****. But the second one took care of that. This moive is so goddamn insulting. We were supposed to care about that robot? What the **** Mr. Bay? **** you up your stupid ****ing AIDS-ridden ass. I just ****ing hate you. Stop making movies.
  81. Mar 30, 2012
    8
    Wow, amazing movie, really, when I watch the trailer of Transformers I think in two things: The first: Amazing effects, with an amazing story. The second: Other old cartoon to appear in the big screen, and the good part is some of the first. The autobots and decepticons are awesome, have much details, and all this explosions, and battles are epic, the characters be good, but some irritantWow, amazing movie, really, when I watch the trailer of Transformers I think in two things: The first: Amazing effects, with an amazing story. The second: Other old cartoon to appear in the big screen, and the good part is some of the first. The autobots and decepticons are awesome, have much details, and all this explosions, and battles are epic, the characters be good, but some irritant [yes Sam]. The story is really good, not excellent, is good, have some interesting moments. But the rest is normal, any new. Transformers is a good movie, the better of this saga. Expand
  82. Jun 27, 2014
    7
    Nothing to expect from a blockbuster summer movie that people are ups and arms about, except some fun action sequences, with visuals, a feast for your eyes.
  83. ChazG.
    Jul 8, 2007
    8
    If you are looking for a real simple story line amazingly executed. Here you go... The computer generated imagery is phenominal.
  84. LouieA.
    Jul 2, 2007
    9
    Awesome! Never thought it could be made into film. Makes 40-ish adults like me drool like a pockmarked kid. The viewers applauded after the screening.
  85. MikhailSoze
    Jul 3, 2007
    2
    I can't believe the comments! This is the reason a no-talent like Michael Bay still has a job. We wanted to see The Transformers..not a dorks journey towards adolescent puberty. CGI was the only thing worth watching.
  86. ShaneT.
    Jul 3, 2007
    9
    This had the perfect mix of theme, feel, and dialogue of the oldschool show, and the action, pace, humor, and effects of todays big-budget movies. For me this movie was perfect in what it was; a movie about giant robots coming to earth and dealing with humans while searching for the key to possibly rebuilding their home. Oh, and blowing a whole lot of stuff up.
  87. AlfredM.
    Jul 4, 2007
    10
    A truly epic movie to be seen! One of the best movies of the year alongside the 300!
  88. MF
    Jul 4, 2007
    9
    A great flick for all, with good humor, a clear line between good guys and bad guys, awesome action sequences, and a feel good essence.
  89. StarFox
    Jul 5, 2007
    4
    I also saw Transformers yesterday and going in I was hoping that they'd retain some elements of the original cartoon. Coming out I wished it wasn't entirely exactly like the original cartoon. It was fun, too long, of course and the special effects were awesome. But man was it cheesy. Pretty much all the way through. It may have been live action, but make no mistake, it's I also saw Transformers yesterday and going in I was hoping that they'd retain some elements of the original cartoon. Coming out I wished it wasn't entirely exactly like the original cartoon. It was fun, too long, of course and the special effects were awesome. But man was it cheesy. Pretty much all the way through. It may have been live action, but make no mistake, it's still a cartoon. Some parts make no sense and the design of the robots make it difficult to tell what is actually going on sometimes. And why do all the protagonists need to be hot high school students? Expand
  90. JArr
    Jul 5, 2007
    10
    seriously - why do some of you rate this so low? 0, 3, 4? that's ridiculous. i wish i could meet some of you in the street so i could f***in bury you into the ground instead of you bad-mouthing this movie. maybe it's the little kid in me trying to defend what memories i cherish about this franchise, but for you people to say it's deserving of such a low score is stupid. seriously - why do some of you rate this so low? 0, 3, 4? that's ridiculous. i wish i could meet some of you in the street so i could f***in bury you into the ground instead of you bad-mouthing this movie. maybe it's the little kid in me trying to defend what memories i cherish about this franchise, but for you people to say it's deserving of such a low score is stupid. some comments from users: "Since when is Optimus a Peterbuilt?" "This film is an Incredibly juvenile piece of garbage." "..a very, very, very bad movie."he ALWAYS has those stupid F**king 1 liners.. For example in this film "You shoot, i'll drive"." these are amongst a few. think about what you just wrote - one liners? well, let's see: you are a human trying to communicate with a robot from another world while in the middle of a gunfight. did you expect to hear a complete dissertation explaining what what the alien should do? or should she just drive and assume that the robot would know what she had in mind? i know it may have sounded kinda cheesy, but be a little more understanding to the situation. next - "juvenile piece of garbage?" whoever said this should be shot in the head. no SH*T. key word: juvenile. did you think the target demographic of this film would be the same as that of say The Godfather, Citizen Kane, Letter from Iwo Jima, Pretty Woman, or Eternal Sunshine? the point i'm trying to make is OBVIOUSLY Transformers was made with intent to draw in people who gave a damn about the series 20 years ago up until today, NOT for older people looking for real-life scenarios. take it as it is - a movie about robots in disguise. if your brain limits your acceptance of a creative idea such as robots changing into cars, then sorry - you're already off on the wrong foot. quote "bad acting...no plot" as i see so many people criticize Bay for his work, i wonder what kind of movie you people were expecting. no plot? good robots try to defend bad robots from taking over earth, and in doing so inadvertently involve a boy going through adolescent stages. COME ON WTF! you don't see the story? if you do a little bit of research, you'll also notice that Spike, in the original cartoon series, was also involved in a romantic affair so for you who disapprove of the love concept in the movie, this may have been a reason to include it. among other whines from users is product placement. seriously, if you were so busy looking for logos throughout the movie, you probably didn't want to see it to begin with and wanted to just pass time. do us all a favor and just shut your trap, keep your dumb comments to yourself, and just move along. so you saw "GMC" or "Pontiac." big deal, grow up. did it bother you that much that it ruined the movie? cry me a river. lastly for people complaining about what vehicles were used, i somewhat agree (ex. bumblebee not a bug), but you have to keep in mind that they were trying to blend in with times. honestly, i'm glad bumlebee wasn't a beetle because that whole car chase with him and barricade would have been weird (beetle vs mustang?). as for the others, optimus was a truck, jazz was a sportscar, (i guess, if you consider a solstice sporty?) and starscream was a plane. only possible gripe i can think of for this movie was megatron shouldn't be a plane and jazz should have been a better car. maybe my own comments on others may seem harsh, and for that i apologize, but i refuse to sit there and let a few bad user reports hinder other moviegoers from seeing this film, or let the rating drop considerably. everything about this flick deserves praise, regardless of your previous bias towards Bay. bottom line: no way should this movie be rated lower than a 7 (green = good on this site?). if you do, i'd like to know what kind of movies you DO approve of. constructive criticism should always be accepted, but saying a movie is completely worthless and not saying why doesn't do anything to help Expand
  91. DamonR.
    Jul 5, 2007
    9
    If your hoping to see a thought provoking, soul stirring film...stay home. If you want to see a great summer blockbuster...then go see this movie. I am an old school transformer fan who was terrified of being let down. I was not.
  92. NukeF.
    Jul 5, 2007
    9
    It loses one point from me due to some of the lame humor (most notably the "urination" jokes). Regardless, this is the ultimate summer action flick, a slam-bang-crash parade of "WOW" moments that made me feel like a kid again. The CGI work is so convincing, I forgot it was CGI at all. It's the most fun I've had at the movies in a long, long time.
  93. ClayT
    Jul 5, 2007
    4
    I went into this this movie wanting to like it, I really did, but it just wouldn't let me. The pacing is so bad that by the time the robots actually started fighting I didn't care. While it does have it's awesome moments the overall jerkyness of the camera keeps you from seeing most of the action.
  94. Adam
    Jul 6, 2007
    10
    This movie was amazing. The intensity in which Bay approached this film came through on the big screen. I find some of the negative comments on the internet about this film hilarious. Many people came out of this film saying none of the characters had any progression and that it was a typical Michael Bay film. First of all, this is a movie about gigantic robots that turn into cars and This movie was amazing. The intensity in which Bay approached this film came through on the big screen. I find some of the negative comments on the internet about this film hilarious. Many people came out of this film saying none of the characters had any progression and that it was a typical Michael Bay film. First of all, this is a movie about gigantic robots that turn into cars and smash/shoot/destroy everything around them -- where is the necessity for character progression? In addition, if this were anything less than a typical Bay film, I would've been disappointed. This movie was an action packed thrill ride that never disappointed. Shia and Megan's chemistry on set was amazing. Bay did a great job of addressing several different characters while managing to get across the storyline. Had this movie been any shorter, we would've been disappointed that he left things out. This movie lived up to every childhood expectation I ever had and I was pleased with the film as a whole. Expand
  95. WalterR.
    Jul 9, 2007
    7
    Not as bad as reviewed by the pros. It was very humorous (on purpose) throughout, and the storyline keeps with the fun of the original series. While the battle sequences are deadly serious, the characters are all part of the fun storyline and no one takes themselves too seriously in this movie. I would recommend for fun, sit-back-and-enjoy-the-fireworks summer fare. Huge plus if you are Not as bad as reviewed by the pros. It was very humorous (on purpose) throughout, and the storyline keeps with the fun of the original series. While the battle sequences are deadly serious, the characters are all part of the fun storyline and no one takes themselves too seriously in this movie. I would recommend for fun, sit-back-and-enjoy-the-fireworks summer fare. Huge plus if you are old enough to remember the original series, as the characters are all fleshed out perfectly. Relax everyone...the movie wasn't written to earn an Oscar. It's just fun and very cool. Expand
  96. ConnorH.
    Aug 30, 2007
    9
    It's big. It's loud. It's fun. Whats not to like?
  97. SimonM.
    Sep 3, 2007
    10
    Awsome movie, only complaint: TOO MANY HUMANS!! not enough focus on the Transformers and their inter personal stories. Hopefully they'll fix that in 2
  98. Discombobulator
    Nov 9, 2008
    2
    Another action film that thinks that fast paced editing makes for clever direction. When the plot is as wafer thin as this it hardly seems worth the while to even bother to take notice of the amphetamine fuelled action. Kinda boring.
  99. AndyW.
    Oct 24, 2007
    9
    I'm beginning to think that people have actually no opinions on this website and just try and go along with what critics say so they think they're right. form your own opinion! this movie was great. better than the more recent spiderman sequel which was one of my least favorite movies of the summer. And thank you, megan fox. i love you!
  100. DK.
    Jun 30, 2007
    4
    Where do I begin! Pro's: Great transforming animations. Big explosions. Shia LaBeouf. Con's: Completely top-heavy plot revolving around three human story lines misses the point of what this movie was/should-have-been about. Thus; Not enough screen time given to the Transformers on both sides. Peter Cullen as the voice of Prime was wasted, as most lines were taken from "Dude Where do I begin! Pro's: Great transforming animations. Big explosions. Shia LaBeouf. Con's: Completely top-heavy plot revolving around three human story lines misses the point of what this movie was/should-have-been about. Thus; Not enough screen time given to the Transformers on both sides. Peter Cullen as the voice of Prime was wasted, as most lines were taken from "Dude Where's My Car". Most Bot vs Con fight's were either hidden [only heard], or in the background as humans carried on fighting or generally being annoying. "Starscream & Megatron who?" The generally rushed feel to the back 1/2 hour suddenly spills into the Transformers dialogue. Unfortunately, this means not a lot was said by any of the transformers. "Don't feed Frenzy after Midnight". Honestly, Jar-Jar Frenzy's antics, whilst like all the humor in the movie [fun the first time 'round] become tiresome, as he is only one of five Transformers used repeatedly in the first hour 1/2. All in all - a big budget Hollywood block-buster of a American summer pop-corn flick: CRAP! See it - but don't expect anything to keep you thinking late at night - other than how did Bay screw up something so cool!? Expand
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 35
  2. Negative: 2 out of 35
  1. Reviewed by: Jay Weissberg
    90
    Big, loud and full of testosterone-fueled car fantasies, Michael Bay's actioner hits a new peak for CGI work, showcasing spectacular chases and animated transformation sequences seamlessly blended into live-action surroundings.
  2. Transformers is a wet dream for fanboys, with vehicles that whiz and whir into alien robots, spectacular sci-fi stunt chases, glistening military hardware, overheated computer software and brainy, hot girls who love Popular Mechanics.
  3. 70
    In previous movies, Michael Bay dabbled wearily in Homo sapiens. At last he has summoned the courage to admit that he has an exclusive crush on machines, and I congratulate him on creating, in Transformers, his first truly honest work of art.