Transformers

User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1157 Ratings

User score distribution:

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. RyanT
    Jul 2, 2007
    10
    This movie was amazing. Bay was made for this kind of movie and it felt like watching the first episode of the show if it was remade. It is also extremely well done visually.
  2. PizH
    Jul 23, 2007
    10
    This movie was amazing. I've seen it 5 times and it has been just as good every time. The plot was a little loose but the effects were utterly amazing. Also, the added humor and wit of Shia Labouf was unexpected but made the movie multi-dimensional. Can't wait for the sequel!
  3. GregM.
    Jul 26, 2007
    10
    Fantastic! This is what a summer blockbuster is supposed to be. Awesome Action. The CGI is seamless and real. The thing that suprised me the most was how funny the movie was. Michael Bay nailed the tone that a movie based on a cartoon and toy should be. Tongue and cheek and silly while delivering jaw dropping action scenes. Well done. Plus Optimus Prime is the coolest character ever!
  4. AMovieFan
    Jul 3, 2007
    9
    Transformers; A- I was really surprised. I didn't expect this movie to be as funny as it was. It's got such a great sense of humor, the action scenes are incredible, the effects are amazing, the characters are likable..... Steve Jablonsky provides a really cool musical score, too. It's overall a really fun movie and a real crowd-pleaser, even though you have to tolerate the Transformers; A- I was really surprised. I didn't expect this movie to be as funny as it was. It's got such a great sense of humor, the action scenes are incredible, the effects are amazing, the characters are likable..... Steve Jablonsky provides a really cool musical score, too. It's overall a really fun movie and a real crowd-pleaser, even though you have to tolerate the occasionally (let's face it,) nerdy subject matter. I just really, REALLY, wish directors these days would please KEEP THEIR MOVIES UNDER 2 HOURS!!!!!!!!! It's getting pretty ridiculous now. Some editing to shorten the movie a bit and it would have been perfect. Easily director Michael Bay's 2nd best film (behind the excellent The Island.) Expand
  5. TimboJimbo
    Jul 30, 2007
    7
    7 for the average movie goer. 9 for most kids and boys. 4 for your more sophisticated movie reviewer. This is a thrill ride more than a movie. Great CGI and action. Some good acting mixed with some cheesy Independence Day-like nutty characters. Shia's character got annoying after a while with his fast talk and super hip-not so cool kid-being cool. These are the kids that run high 7 for the average movie goer. 9 for most kids and boys. 4 for your more sophisticated movie reviewer. This is a thrill ride more than a movie. Great CGI and action. Some good acting mixed with some cheesy Independence Day-like nutty characters. Shia's character got annoying after a while with his fast talk and super hip-not so cool kid-being cool. These are the kids that run high schools, they aren't the ones hiding in the background!! Megan Fox is beautiful but doesn't do a whole lot other than being an object of super tanned lust. Michael Bay needs to lay off the slow motion, with military horn music...every movie he does this-knock it off, it's cheese. Josh Duhamel and Tyrese are the only two that keep this movie somewhat realistic, they did a good job. Rachael Taylor does an ok job until things get silly with her character. The transformers themselves are cool and the new looks are better than the look from the 80'sl. The decepticons to me were much better looking. The CGI is amazing. Optimus Prime's voice is as cool as ever. The fights are full of action. Overall Michael Bay proves to me that he still can't create real humans, but is great at creating simple macho action. Good movie but forgettable characters except for the transformers themselves. Expand
  6. wkteoh
    Jul 3, 2007
    7
    Very flashy movie - attractive cast, and brilliant cgi animations. However, the attempt at establishing settings for the story and the romance plot is weak at best. There is no character development: it's hard to symphathise with Autobot's or the human's cause. The robots' personality doesn't stand out at all. And the fight scene in the end is too chaotic. Very flashy movie - attractive cast, and brilliant cgi animations. However, the attempt at establishing settings for the story and the romance plot is weak at best. There is no character development: it's hard to symphathise with Autobot's or the human's cause. The robots' personality doesn't stand out at all. And the fight scene in the end is too chaotic. Conclusion: superficially entertaining. Expand
  7. Alanna
    Jul 3, 2007
    9
    This movie was great. Action packed and everything you'd want. Also, the acting was much better than in most action movies. Exciting and fun, and Shia Labeouf was great!
  8. BigRed
    Jul 3, 2007
    7
    For a movie about giant transforming robots they sure could have given them some more screen time. Most of the fights you hardly even see because the focus is on the human characters. And that is where the movie goes wrong. When you do get to see two or more of the alien behemoths dueling to the death the fun is over before it even begins. The Transformers are supposed to be the starts, For a movie about giant transforming robots they sure could have given them some more screen time. Most of the fights you hardly even see because the focus is on the human characters. And that is where the movie goes wrong. When you do get to see two or more of the alien behemoths dueling to the death the fun is over before it even begins. The Transformers are supposed to be the starts, not the supporting cast. The movie should have started at the last hour and gone on from there. Expand
  9. seanh.
    Jul 3, 2007
    10
    Optimus Prime freakin kicks a$$!!!
  10. ShantanuB.
    Jul 3, 2007
    9
    Great entertainment! Good mix of action and humor. Hope we see a lot more of Megan Fox!!
  11. AndrewP.
    Jul 3, 2007
    9
    For those critic who were not impressed...Did any of you watch the original TV series...They were robots with personality and Bay stuck to what us 11 year old at hearts remember. Hearing Optimus Prime speak on the big screen brought me back to my childhood...Bay finally brought the movie I have always wanted to the big screen...And everyone in the packed theater...from the For those critic who were not impressed...Did any of you watch the original TV series...They were robots with personality and Bay stuck to what us 11 year old at hearts remember. Hearing Optimus Prime speak on the big screen brought me back to my childhood...Bay finally brought the movie I have always wanted to the big screen...And everyone in the packed theater...from the applause...loved it as well...thanks Micheal Bay. Expand
  12. salm
    Jul 3, 2007
    10
    Fantastic action movie....great effects, good enough story and great portrayals. Go see it!
  13. GreganD.
    Jul 3, 2007
    10
    Amazing flock, loved almost every second of it. Can't wait for the sequel.
  14. JonC.
    Jul 3, 2007
    9
    Awesome movie, dialogue could've probably been a little better and I thought the humor was too involved in the movie (although it was good humor, not Evan Almighty esque for sure), but the special effects and acting was phenomenal, which more than makes up for all of that.
  15. KeithA.
    Jul 3, 2007
    10
    The best movie I've seen in a long time! Shia LaBeuf brings charm and skill to the role. The movie has A LOT of laughs. The action/special effects are breathtaking. As far as entertainment goes, it was a masterpiece. Bay gets criticized for mediocre films like Pearl Harbor, but with the help of Speilberg, he has truly redeemed himself with this one. It's the perfect summer The best movie I've seen in a long time! Shia LaBeuf brings charm and skill to the role. The movie has A LOT of laughs. The action/special effects are breathtaking. As far as entertainment goes, it was a masterpiece. Bay gets criticized for mediocre films like Pearl Harbor, but with the help of Speilberg, he has truly redeemed himself with this one. It's the perfect summer movie, and I recommend it to EVERYONE. Expand
  16. DavidC
    Jul 4, 2007
    9
    This film actually brought a tear to my eye! It inspired me that a cartoon I watched while growing up could be transformed into something LIFELIKE! To hear the transformation sound, to watch robots seemingly defy laws of physics, to feel them take on human aspects, maybe more human than human, was amazing. Best film of the year, PERIOD! All films should be judged by what they intended to This film actually brought a tear to my eye! It inspired me that a cartoon I watched while growing up could be transformed into something LIFELIKE! To hear the transformation sound, to watch robots seemingly defy laws of physics, to feel them take on human aspects, maybe more human than human, was amazing. Best film of the year, PERIOD! All films should be judged by what they intended to deliver. If animation at its finest, fleshed out (pun intended) with a believable plot is what you want to see, go see this movie! Expand
  17. EricH.
    Jul 4, 2007
    9
    This movie is all about the action...and boy does it come in spades...the story is a filler, but if you came for the store, your dumb. This movie fulfills in the action department, and that's good enough for me.
  18. ArmandoL.
    Jul 4, 2007
    10
    I would say the best movie of the year after the movie my wife was like "spider man who" and yeah that's what is all about, all the old heads and stupid people that waste their time just to talk crap about the movie are f&^%$^) dumb because they never had a childhood, so I will say to all those old people to stay in your wheelchairs and keep watching discovery channel because I would say the best movie of the year after the movie my wife was like "spider man who" and yeah that's what is all about, all the old heads and stupid people that waste their time just to talk crap about the movie are f&^%$^) dumb because they never had a childhood, so I will say to all those old people to stay in your wheelchairs and keep watching discovery channel because that's all they do. Expand
  19. RaniS
    Jul 4, 2007
    9
    I loved it. There were a couple of cheesy lines but overall the effects were stunning. This movie is what a movie should be: entertaining.
  20. JasonT.
    Jul 4, 2007
    10
    I think its funny that these some so called critics of whatever professional level they claim to hail from, have picked this movie apart and snubbed it. Its obviously not a movie with some sort of intricate plot or character depth (in my opinion, the characters were very well done). Its about theatrical enjoyment, sitting back and having a good time. Why do these critics need to have so I think its funny that these some so called critics of whatever professional level they claim to hail from, have picked this movie apart and snubbed it. Its obviously not a movie with some sort of intricate plot or character depth (in my opinion, the characters were very well done). Its about theatrical enjoyment, sitting back and having a good time. Why do these critics need to have so much more to make a movie work. In real life there isn't much backdrop to people, when you meet someone, the persons life story isn't unfolded in front of you. Give me a break. All in all the movie was a success. I am proud that Bay was able to bring the Transformers to life and bring their battle to the big screen. The CGI was flawless, the action was over the top and Shia and Megan rocked . Thank you Michael Bay for this movie, I hope to see a sequel. Expand
  21. SusanM.
    Jul 4, 2007
    9
    "It's better than Armageddon!" Michael Bay spoofed himself with this line straight outta the movie, but he was right. This was definitely better than Armageddon, it is his best work actually. I'm not a Bay fan, but I am a huge Transformer's fan, so instead of being disappointed like I was expecting to be, I was actually satisfied and impressed! Great job Michael. This movie "It's better than Armageddon!" Michael Bay spoofed himself with this line straight outta the movie, but he was right. This was definitely better than Armageddon, it is his best work actually. I'm not a Bay fan, but I am a huge Transformer's fan, so instead of being disappointed like I was expecting to be, I was actually satisfied and impressed! Great job Michael. This movie is not supposed to make you think; it's not one of those movies which you have discussions over afterward. It is, however, what summertime is supposed to be all about. Welcome back summer blockbuster, finally a movie that delivers. Expand
  22. ChristopherP.
    Jul 4, 2007
    8
    The action sequences are mind-blowing and the Transformers themselves are a blast to watch. If you expect anything else, don't see it. But I loved it. I saw the first showing on the 2nd with the theater full and it was extremely fun. For being exactly what I wanted, I give it an 8, with a couple points off for unnecessary humor (although most of it was funny) and some disorienting The action sequences are mind-blowing and the Transformers themselves are a blast to watch. If you expect anything else, don't see it. But I loved it. I saw the first showing on the 2nd with the theater full and it was extremely fun. For being exactly what I wanted, I give it an 8, with a couple points off for unnecessary humor (although most of it was funny) and some disorienting action scenes. Sometimes it was hard to tell exactly who was fighting who in individual cuts. But, again, if you think you might like it, you should probably give it a chance and go see it. Expand
  23. child331
    Jul 4, 2007
    9
    The critics can nitpick all they want, I pay admission to be entertained for a couple hours, and entertained I was with this film. Fantastic special F/X, strong connection to the old cartoons and a huge budget made this movie worth the price of admission. I hope they'll start working on part 2 right away!!
  24. BilB
    Jul 4, 2007
    9
    I thoroughly enjoyed this movie. It packed everything one could expect into a high action movie and loads of comedy as well.
  25. GunM.
    Jul 4, 2007
    9
    This is the Micheal Bay's greatest movie ever.
  26. KB.
    Jul 4, 2007
    8
    Most entertaining movie of the summer bar none. Sure, in ten years I'll probably slip the DVD of Ratatouille in instead of this one, but I haven't had that much fun at a movie in a long, long time.
  27. GuySome
    Jul 4, 2007
    8
    Surprisingly Good!
  28. Steven
    Jul 5, 2007
    9
    First off, only those who are fans of Transformers will probably find this movie worth watching. So if you are, it's a MUST see! Michael Bay spared no expense in the visual and audio departments, making you giddy everytime you see and hear any transformation. Shia LaBeouf proves himself a capable actor, even if he is a little bumbling (a la Ben Stiller). Overall though, a great movie First off, only those who are fans of Transformers will probably find this movie worth watching. So if you are, it's a MUST see! Michael Bay spared no expense in the visual and audio departments, making you giddy everytime you see and hear any transformation. Shia LaBeouf proves himself a capable actor, even if he is a little bumbling (a la Ben Stiller). Overall though, a great movie for Transformer fans, and a must see. Expand
  29. JoseF.
    Jul 5, 2007
    9
    The movie was INCREDIBLE! Over the top action scenes with BIG GIANT ROBOTS, who cares about the story! As simple as the story was, it reflected the cheesiness of the original cartoons story lines so in that sense it didn't bother me at all. It had some busy action shots that could've been cleaner, but that's Bays style. And to me for every 5 busy shots he also had 1 that The movie was INCREDIBLE! Over the top action scenes with BIG GIANT ROBOTS, who cares about the story! As simple as the story was, it reflected the cheesiness of the original cartoons story lines so in that sense it didn't bother me at all. It had some busy action shots that could've been cleaner, but that's Bays style. And to me for every 5 busy shots he also had 1 that was REALLY GOOD and well worth it. The humor was great and Shia LaBeouf did a great job as an actor! Perfect role for him. They really pushed the bar with the visual effects on this one...CG effects were seem-less with the live action. Just WOW! The humor in the film and all the little hint of reference to other 80's cartoons was great. Did anyone noiced the "GI Joe" planes at the beginning? Girl with a "My Little Pony" And of course all the classic one liners from Optimus Prime, they almost seem they were taken out directly from the cartoon itself! So that to me, is why I mostly enjoyed it. This movie brought out the kid in me, something a few have done before!! As complete fan of growing up with the cartoons (GEN 1) I think they nailed it from the basic cheesy story line and humor to the personalities of each robot. I would have to give it a 9 (take off one point because Bay didn't use Starscream as much). Hopefully, there would be more of him in the sequel. Expand
  30. ThomasS
    Jul 5, 2007
    10
    Everything I expected. Definetely met my expectations for a great summer popcorn movie with some spectacular special effects. Can't wait for the sequel.
  31. AWall
    Jul 5, 2007
    10
    This movie was amazing. I have not seen a movie with such epic proportions in a long time! Well done Michael Bay and Spielberg! I am definately watching this again and on iMAX as well as purchasing this on HD-DVD or BluRat.
  32. Mattm.
    Jul 5, 2007
    8
    movie was perfect til the transformers were revealed. there character left a lot to be desired and they're dialoge was often painful. lots of exciting action though. i mostly enjoyed
  33. RobertD.
    Jul 5, 2007
    10
    I grew up watching transformers as a child, and when I saw the movie, it blew me away. The story line, the graphics, the humor, and the quality was more than I could have emagined. If you like sci-fi movies, and cool tech toys, you will love this movie. After reading critic reviews, then seeing the movie, I was left wondering if the critics, saw the same movie I did. It seems to me that I grew up watching transformers as a child, and when I saw the movie, it blew me away. The story line, the graphics, the humor, and the quality was more than I could have emagined. If you like sci-fi movies, and cool tech toys, you will love this movie. After reading critic reviews, then seeing the movie, I was left wondering if the critics, saw the same movie I did. It seems to me that most the reviews were from people with no emagination, or perhaps they never had a childhood. The bottom line is this movie kicks some serious metal booty. Thank you Michael Bay for making this movie awesome. Expand
  34. garyB
    Jul 5, 2007
    10
    this is the best movie i've seen in awhile i'm talking star wars status. and to have the original voice of prime was icing on the cake. obviously some of those dumb newspaper old farts weren't transformer fans. every person i've talked to loved it young and old. i can't wait till it comes on blu-ray.
  35. BrandonG.
    Jul 5, 2007
    9
    It's a great Michael Bay film. not real plot to wrap you mind around , but just beautiful to look at. The plot was simple enough not to make my head hurt
  36. robertr.
    Jul 6, 2007
    10
    This movie kept my attention for the whole two and a half hours. I had Goosbumps on my arms throught the entire movie, it was that good. This is hands down the movie of the year.
  37. BretG.
    Jul 6, 2007
    7
    A die hard Soundwave fan going into the theater, fully prepared to be disappointed, came out of the theater impressed. Not a fan of the new look but you get used to it. The humor is great, the action is top notch. I just wish there was less product placement. C'mon, Nokia, Mountain Dew, Xbox, Cadillac transformers? Not to mention Panasonic, GMC, and the countless cars (Porsche/H2) A die hard Soundwave fan going into the theater, fully prepared to be disappointed, came out of the theater impressed. Not a fan of the new look but you get used to it. The humor is great, the action is top notch. I just wish there was less product placement. C'mon, Nokia, Mountain Dew, Xbox, Cadillac transformers? Not to mention Panasonic, GMC, and the countless cars (Porsche/H2) but that was inevitable. A little too much involvement with the humans but I suppose it was fine for a intro to the Transformers, in the next one they can concentrate more on giant robots destroying each other. Expand
  38. TheKing
    Jul 6, 2007
    10
    the movie is soooo cool 10/10
  39. tonys.
    Jul 6, 2007
    10
    Action, suspense, humor and the greatest CGI I've ever seen! Perfect summer movie
  40. John
    Jul 6, 2007
    8
    People need to remember the plot of this movie is based on a cartoon, so don't expect huge things from the plot. I got exactly what expected lots of eye candy, and as a bonus Megan Fox, wow. Optimus Prime Is one of the best hero's ever created, the orginal vioce was great. See it and make you own judgement. But if you were a kid when this was on TV, I am sure you will enjoy it, People need to remember the plot of this movie is based on a cartoon, so don't expect huge things from the plot. I got exactly what expected lots of eye candy, and as a bonus Megan Fox, wow. Optimus Prime Is one of the best hero's ever created, the orginal vioce was great. See it and make you own judgement. But if you were a kid when this was on TV, I am sure you will enjoy it, just like I did. Expand
  41. JW
    Jul 6, 2007
    8
    I'm not sure why so many people are hating on this movie. Were you expecting a really deep plot? Or "Oscar" caliber acting? It's the kid from 'Even Stevens' and some no-name, half-dressed actress. I grew up a huge Transformers fan, and I still liked it. Go in expecting a good action movie and you will be more than satisfied. The frenetic camera in the action scenes I'm not sure why so many people are hating on this movie. Were you expecting a really deep plot? Or "Oscar" caliber acting? It's the kid from 'Even Stevens' and some no-name, half-dressed actress. I grew up a huge Transformers fan, and I still liked it. Go in expecting a good action movie and you will be more than satisfied. The frenetic camera in the action scenes only adds to the adrenalin and immersion. The Transformers themselves were done way better than I was expecting. Only bad things I can say were already said -- the Decepticons were sort of anonymous, and there was WAY too much "GM Loving" for me. Expand
  42. MikeS
    Jul 6, 2007
    10
    As a long time Transformers fan, I've always awaited and dreaded the moment they'd try a live action movie...up to now, I don't think such a thing would have been possible...but they SO pulled it off. The characters were amazing and the action was spectacular. I only wish Spider-Man 3 had been those two things.
  43. AndyG.
    Jul 7, 2007
    10
    Pure fun. As soon as I heard Peter Cullen's voice over to open the movie, I was 10 years old again. It is a Michael Bay movie, so sure there are some plot holes, cheesy lines, etc. But this was a great big screen summer blockbuster.
  44. ChristopherD.
    Jul 7, 2007
    9
    Michael Bay is the greatest action movie director pure and simple. I was very afraid to see this movie. Transformers was something special to my childhood and I couldn't see anything pertinent from taking this movie seriously. Bay does not take this seriously but doesn't overly go campy on us either. It's vivid, fun and makes you feel like a child again. That's what Michael Bay is the greatest action movie director pure and simple. I was very afraid to see this movie. Transformers was something special to my childhood and I couldn't see anything pertinent from taking this movie seriously. Bay does not take this seriously but doesn't overly go campy on us either. It's vivid, fun and makes you feel like a child again. That's what summer blockbusters should be about. The effects were realistic. CGi never looked so real. Expand
  45. Billy
    Jul 7, 2007
    9
    AWESOME. funny and action packed.
  46. Bukkarooo
    Jul 7, 2007
    10
    Autobots, transform and roll out! Another movie review, ha, this is almost becoming a habit. Anyway, when it get's right down to it, the special effects are probably the best part of this. You almost believe in these giant transforming robots, fighting for the "all spark". It starts off in a military base when a helicopter, whose tag indicates it should have been shot down, lands. It Autobots, transform and roll out! Another movie review, ha, this is almost becoming a habit. Anyway, when it get's right down to it, the special effects are probably the best part of this. You almost believe in these giant transforming robots, fighting for the "all spark". It starts off in a military base when a helicopter, whose tag indicates it should have been shot down, lands. It ends up being a decepticon. It ransforms, trashes the place, then attempts to hack into the computers to get all available information, in hopes of finding a certain article. Meanwhile, Sam Witwicky (Shia LaBeouf) is in school giving a report about his great grandfather and his excursion to the arctic circle, while trying to sell items in the process. When he leaves school, his dad takes him to buy his first car. They find an old yellow camaro with racing stripes, but Sam's dad refuses to buy because of the price. The car (Bumblebee) has different plans, and damages every car in the lot, so the price is lowered. It drives off in the night, and Sam thinks it's been stolen. So he follows it and see's it transform, and sees it was driving itself. Later, Sam meets a girl who pretty much hates him, but she took his offer for a ride home. Bumblebee follows Sam, so to escape, he goes under a bridge full of cars. This is where he meets Barricade, a decepticon who tracked him down by his ebay username. Running from Barricade, he runs into the girl (sorry, I forget her name) he met the other day. They get into bumblebee, and he get's them to a safe place, where he and Barricade duke it out. Leaving the fight, the girl comments on how crappy the camaro looks, so bumblebee dumps them off, scans a new camaro, and changes his look accordingly. Bumblebee then drives him to a rendesvous, where they meet the other autobots. Rachet, the medic, Ironhide, weapons specialist, Jzz, and of course, the big guy, Optimus Prime, autobot leader. Fun Fact: Optimus has the same voice actor in the movie that he had in the original cartoon series. Hence, the hunt for info on, and the all spark itself, begins. There is quite a bit of story here, and not a super high amount of action, but it's worth it in the end. There was a lot I left out here, and quite a bit after all this, but I don't want to give too much away. Breakdown, amazing special effects, good acting, and the fights, while somewhat scarce, are extremely entertaing and keep your adrenaline pumping. I reccomend this to anyone looking for a cool movie about giant robots, or anyone who remembers and loves the old show. For them, it will be "nostalgiariffic". Expand
  47. RyanP
    Jul 7, 2007
    10
    This wasn't a bad movie at all when you compare it to crap like Fantastic Four and Pirates of The Carribean 3. I enjoyed Micheal Bay's humor, and the actors and they're involvement with the robots. The action scenes were too much in some areas, but that's the kind of director Bay is anyway. I give this a 10 because it's the best hollywood blockbuster out of all This wasn't a bad movie at all when you compare it to crap like Fantastic Four and Pirates of The Carribean 3. I enjoyed Micheal Bay's humor, and the actors and they're involvement with the robots. The action scenes were too much in some areas, but that's the kind of director Bay is anyway. I give this a 10 because it's the best hollywood blockbuster out of all the recent one's so far, like the ones mentioned above! Expand
  48. Aja
    Jul 8, 2007
    7
    It was pretty good, didn't really have any expectations. Never watched Transformers as a kid, but still good action.
  49. SimonY.
    Jul 9, 2007
    10
    i thought this movie was great! i really don't get the negative reviews. it's transformers and it was everything i wanted from a transformers movie to be. if you were ever a transformers fan or if you just love mecha designs...you're gonna love this movie.
  50. JerryL.
    Jul 9, 2007
    8
    Overall the movie was entertaining. I have to say that this movie had it's highs and lows but overall it was well made. The action scenes were absolutely amazing the transformation from robot to machine was right on. I have to say that overall it was worth the money spent.
  51. KyleF
    Jul 9, 2007
    10
    Absolutely amazing. A must see.
  52. JasonS.
    Jul 9, 2007
    9
    Movie could have been so much better. I give this movie a 9 because it doesn't give you time to think. Jumps from scene to scene with no explanation (a Comero just appears out of nowhere diving itself around and theres no explanation of how it became an alien robot or when it became a robot, if it feels, does it have emotion, is it human like etc). It's like Boom a Camero, Boom Movie could have been so much better. I give this movie a 9 because it doesn't give you time to think. Jumps from scene to scene with no explanation (a Comero just appears out of nowhere diving itself around and theres no explanation of how it became an alien robot or when it became a robot, if it feels, does it have emotion, is it human like etc). It's like Boom a Camero, Boom now it's a robot, Boom now there's other robots, Boom robots are fighting each other, Boom the End. Too fast with no explanation. The movie starts off about a boy and his car, but quickly changes to a movie about alien robots (whom all have names, very corny) searching for "the allspark", to an all out robot war between good and evil (cartoon-like). The movie should have been about the kid and his alien robot car only!!! And a sequal could have introduced other transformers etc. Expand
  53. RjK
    Aug 10, 2007
    10
    I thought the movie was great and the transformers did not change in the blink of an eye. It was better than harry potter which had so many things missing. Anybody that gave it a 1 needs to watch it again.
  54. RyanO.
    Aug 10, 2007
    9
    This is a great action-packed thriller that will make you want to see it again
  55. SteveLewis
    Aug 28, 2007
    10
    Awesome
  56. CharlieC.
    Aug 7, 2007
    7
    It's a decent, action-packed movie. The CG is incredible. The transformations themselves are clever and satisfying to watch. Beyond that, the battles are well choreographed and explosive, and the human bits are not nearly as groan-worthy as they could be. So, as action-packed as the whole thing is, I'm surprised myself that my one major complaint is that the movie draaaaags. It's a decent, action-packed movie. The CG is incredible. The transformations themselves are clever and satisfying to watch. Beyond that, the battles are well choreographed and explosive, and the human bits are not nearly as groan-worthy as they could be. So, as action-packed as the whole thing is, I'm surprised myself that my one major complaint is that the movie draaaaags. It's certainly at least 20 minutes too long. Expand
  57. MaxC.
    Sep 7, 2007
    10
    I loved this movie! It is now one of my favorite movies of all time. While I'm not a huge Transformers fan, I still enjoyed the original animated movie when I was young (it came out in 1985, year I was born) and loved the references from the original. See it!
  58. TiffanyS.
    Nov 3, 2007
    10
    I'm a girl, and I love this movie! Even my 3 year old loves it! It's action packed and funny...since my favorite movies are comedy's and my husband's favorites are action-packed, this was great for both of us! Great acting and great story line...really great comeback for Transformers!
  59. BillC.
    Oct 16, 2007
    9
    A great movie! Full of action and comedy. People with all the low grades are foolish enough not to remember this is just a remade cartoon. Get a grip on yourselves. Its just supposed to be some mindless entertainment. If you want to watch Casablanca, go for it. If you want an entertaining movie with action from beginning to end, this is for you!
  60. ReelWorld
    Oct 16, 2007
    9
    Pure popcorn fun. Mindless action, with some of the most mind-blowing CGI special effects ever done on screen. Fans of the franchise will not be disappointed, and non-fans will simply be wowed by the whole thing. Sure, there isn't much story here, and the acting is questionable in some parts, but if you're looking for a fun, action packed film that you can watch with the kids - Pure popcorn fun. Mindless action, with some of the most mind-blowing CGI special effects ever done on screen. Fans of the franchise will not be disappointed, and non-fans will simply be wowed by the whole thing. Sure, there isn't much story here, and the acting is questionable in some parts, but if you're looking for a fun, action packed film that you can watch with the kids - this is it. The season of blockbusters on DVD begins with a huge bang, and what better way to start it off than with a movie like this. A must-see film even for those who don't know an Autobot from a garage door opener! Expand
  61. JeffK
    Oct 17, 2007
    7
    Remember, not every movie has to be reviewed as if it was going up against Citizen Kane. Yes, some of the acting was so-so....yes, some of the human story lines were unnecessary or on the lame side, but this movie was supposed to be about visual effects and that's what it was...though I wish more diff transformers had been included. My other issue was that the transformations were Remember, not every movie has to be reviewed as if it was going up against Citizen Kane. Yes, some of the acting was so-so....yes, some of the human story lines were unnecessary or on the lame side, but this movie was supposed to be about visual effects and that's what it was...though I wish more diff transformers had been included. My other issue was that the transformations were about as complex as solving a Rubik's Cube. Less CGI frames and more robots please. Expand
  62. Nate
    Oct 17, 2007
    8
    Great entertainment! Doesn't try to be anything more than entertainment. If you don't like this movie your taking it too seriously. Switch off your brain and enjoy.
  63. Intimidator
    Oct 18, 2007
    9
    Whatever...if the critics can do a better job then let them start making the movie, First time me child never moved or said a word while waching a movie !! Awesome !!
  64. Nuggets
    Oct 2, 2007
    9
    Transformers is a well made, varied film that does well to appeal to the targeted audience and lives up to its hype. The cast play their roles well and the acting is fairly decent, the CGI included is up there with the best of CGI films and the Transformer battles are memorable and add to the plot. The rare stabs at comedy do not go unnoticed and there are memorable scenes and moments Transformers is a well made, varied film that does well to appeal to the targeted audience and lives up to its hype. The cast play their roles well and the acting is fairly decent, the CGI included is up there with the best of CGI films and the Transformer battles are memorable and add to the plot. The rare stabs at comedy do not go unnoticed and there are memorable scenes and moments which will live in the memory of hard-core fans. Whilst the plot and directing was good, I would agree there was an over-reliance on human script and not enough dedicated to the Transformers themselves and no background supplied to the characters, the film often focusing on the love attraction between the main characters. The film remains true to its roots and with a strong ending and memorable set pieces this film should be a front runner for Film of the Year especially picking up at OSCAR in the special effects department. Certainly recommended on DVD on its release. Expand
  65. kathyw.
    Oct 22, 2007
    10
    A most awaited movie that satisfied my inner child. I grew up watching transformers and I was not disappointed with anything from cast and crew to it's wonderful Dir. Micheal Bay. I just hope the decide to make a part 2. My kids loved it as well and there 16 and 18yrs. old. Thank-you very much for your time. Cordially, Kathy
  66. kevins.
    Oct 23, 2007
    10
    i hate this film
  67. JayR.
    Oct 27, 2007
    10
    this was a great movie. i went to see it not realizing how funny it would be ,as well as the action and was pleased.i bought it when it came out and my kids loved watching it as well. they are 5 and 3.i cant get my wife to watch it yet because she is not in to these kind of movies but i know she will enjoy it. shia is great i used to watch him all the time on even stevens and am glad to this was a great movie. i went to see it not realizing how funny it would be ,as well as the action and was pleased.i bought it when it came out and my kids loved watching it as well. they are 5 and 3.i cant get my wife to watch it yet because she is not in to these kind of movies but i know she will enjoy it. shia is great i used to watch him all the time on even stevens and am glad to see how well he is doing. Expand
  68. CMcMaster
    Jun 29, 2007
    7
    The story is more for teenagers but the SF X and action is great for anyone with a per chant for same.
  69. Mark
    Jun 30, 2007
    10
    A fantastic, big-budget eye popping masterpiece destined to win over audiences is gigantic ways. See it to believe it.
  70. [Anonymous]
    Jun 30, 2007
    9
    If it's true that there's an 8-year-old boy inside every man, "Transformers" is just the ticket to bring the kid out. Big, loud and full of testosterone-fueled car fantasies, Michael Bay's action hits a new peak for CGI work, showcasing spectacular chases and animated transformation sequences seamlessly blended into live-action surroundings. There's no longer any If it's true that there's an 8-year-old boy inside every man, "Transformers" is just the ticket to bring the kid out. Big, loud and full of testosterone-fueled car fantasies, Michael Bay's action hits a new peak for CGI work, showcasing spectacular chases and animated transformation sequences seamlessly blended into live-action surroundings. There's no longer any question whether special effects can be made more realistic: The issue is whether disposable actors can be trained to play better with bluescreens. Paramount/DreamWorks' summer tentpole is certain to do gangbusters biz, while the sequel-screaming ending and the usual spinoffs should send ancillary through the roof. Toy giant Hasbro will see its coffers full to overflowing after the July 4 release, perfectly timed for a consumer run on already popular Transformers figures, comic books, videogames and cartoons. "Transformers" is the apotheosis of product placement, using tried-and-true formulas in the story department as a showcase for the toys (already featured in the 1986 toon "The Transformers: The Movie"). Best of all for anyone who put coin into the production, pic builds off multiple generations of fans, from the kids obsessed with the robots at their launch in 1984 to those collecting the latest incarnations today. Adult dweebs still enthralled by the figurines' facile mythology have flooded the Web with complaints that the franchise has been tampered with to form a (relatively) cohesive plot, but most viewers either won't notice or won't care. At the center of the tale is Sam Witwicky (Shia LaBeouf), an average 11th grader psyched about getting his first car -- a mysterious, beat-up yellow Camaro that lot owner Bobby Bolivia (Bernie Mac, in a brief role) has never seen before. Sam's attempts to impress cool girl Mikaela (Megan Fox) are falling flat, and the car's habit of playing the right song ("Sexual Feeling," "Baby Come Back") at the right moment only increases the initial tension. The machine really freaks Sam out when it drives away at night and transforms into a giant robot that communicates via light beam with a UFO. Meanwhile, U.S. soldiers in Qatar have been attacked by a helicopter that transforms itself into one nasty robot, destroying everything in its path while an offshoot downloads top-secret files from the computers. Secretary of Defense John Keller (Jon Voight, doing a Southern version of Donald Rumsfeld) calls an emergency conference to analyze the data ("This is way too smart for the Iranians"), but one of the small robots has already hacked into Air Force One's computer. The evil robots are after Sam -- or rather, a discovery made by Sam's ancestor, an Arctic explorer. Thanks to introductory narration by good Transformer Optimus Prime (voiced by Peter Cullen), auds know what's going on before Sam does: The planet Cybertron was ravaged by a civil war between the good Autobots and the evil Decepticons. In their search for an all-powerful cube called the Allspark, both sides learn that super-evil Megatron (voiced by Hugo Weaving) crashed in the Arctic a millennia ago, and with him the Allspark. Sam's great-great-grandfather's cracked glasses hold the key to its location. It's all very easy to follow. Sam's car is one of the good guys, Bumblebee. He and his fellow Autobots bond (not literally, though that could be for the sequel) with the teenager, who pledges to help them out, fighting not only the Decepticons but also the uptight feds led by Agent Simmons (John Turturro). Scripters Alex Kurtzman and Roberto Orci, together with John Rogers, had to keep the basic Transformers stories intact while placing them in a human environment, turning to plot elements from a number of successful pics including "King Kong," "War Games" and "The Love Bug." Pic also follows the early Steven Spielberg formula (he's on board as an exec producer): Take a likeable young Joe with an ordinary upper-middle-class family and have him champion some aliens. More than any of Bay's earlier blockbusters, including "Pearl Harbor" and "Armageddon," "Transformers" has an oddly Reagan-era feel, at times resembling an Air Force recruitment commercial. Soldiers, led by Capt. Lennox (Josh Duhamel) and Sgt. Epps (Tyrese Gibson), are as much heroes as Sam, fighting to rid the world not only of authoritarian regimes -- there's frequent speculation that Russia or China is involved, proving the Cold War hasn't ended -- but also secret government programs. Ethnic stereotypes abound, and there's a none-too-subtle jab at the Spanish-as-an-equal-language lobby. "Freedom is the right of all sentient human beings," intones Optimus, sounding more appropriately President Bush circa 2007. LaBeouf is pleasantly sympathetic, but this is hardly the role to test his acting chops -- or, for that matter, anyone else's. Fox is little more than eye candy, while Bay has put together a nicely multiracial cast to broaden the pic's appeal. Among the thesps, Turturro is so over-the-top that he provides a welcome acknowledgment of the pic's cartoon origins. But everyone involved knows the actors are mere props for Industrial Light & Magic's CGI team, which has put together an impressive show of the latest tech advances -- not only transforming cars and helicopters into enormous robots within a few thoroughly believable seconds, but also setting them in real spaces and having them interact with real objects. The premise for these fights hasn't moved beyond 1925's "The Lost World," but the digital animation has never been better. No wonder Bay needed a team of editors, who succeed in making the fight sequences exciting spectacles, though toward the end they all tend to become just a mess of flying wreckage and random explosions -- the outcome is always predictable, if the movements themselves remain unexpected. Sound is cranked up to mega-decibels; if the action doesn't generate stomach tremors, the bass lines will. Overly grand music used halfway through, during Bumblebee's subjugation scene, seems to confuse it with the pic's climax. Expand
  71. Lindey
    Jun 30, 2007
    10
    A astonishing breath of fresh air. A visual delight and a action packed masterpiece. It undeniably scores in every way and scores the entertainment factor big time. So well made, so exciting, and so phenomenal that I want to see it again and again.
  72. FaiqI.
    Jun 30, 2007
    9
    This movie is a fiesta full of actions and great CGI's action throughout the whole movie. Micheal Bay and Steven Spielberg has created, hands down, the best movie of the year, or maybe for last how many years since The Return Of The King. I'll give it an A+.
  73. DavidWhitehouse
    Jul 11, 2007
    8
    I took my 9 year old son to this and we had a blast. Some of the best action sequences and CGI work I've seen in some time. I was fine watching plot-lite as I assumed the film was aimed at my son and not me. I just enjoyed it for what it was. If you're looking for a fun summer action flick, I don't think you'll be disappointed.
  74. RichardA
    Jul 11, 2007
    10
    Come on, it's meant to be fun. Anyone who grew up in the transformers era will appreciate this movie for what it is, imagination.
  75. Alan
    Jul 11, 2007
    8
    Although my comments come too late; I have this to say. If you you come/came to see this movie for any other reason than to see vehicles turn into robots and fight and blow things up, you did it for the wrong reason. Yes it's cheesy, yes the love story is lame and standard in every movie, and yes even the robots themselves have some flaws (why do they blink? - and seen in a Although my comments come too late; I have this to say. If you you come/came to see this movie for any other reason than to see vehicles turn into robots and fight and blow things up, you did it for the wrong reason. Yes it's cheesy, yes the love story is lame and standard in every movie, and yes even the robots themselves have some flaws (why do they blink? - and seen in a "real-world" setting I begin to wonder how they transform non-metallic parts such as tires and glass and seat cushions) but all that is irrelevant. Robots come to Earth, they fight, things blow up, robots "die", people die. Most importantly though, they look great doing it. This is a fun movie. It has no other purpose. Enjoy it for what it's worth. Expand
  76. Adrian
    Jul 1, 2007
    9
    As far as movies about alien robots that can disguise themselves on earth in the battle of good vs. evil go... this is a great film. It's not the kind of film where you should look for or expect any sort of amazing script writing or in-depth story-line. What you should expect however is some fantastic action sequences, a little romance, some excellent CGI and oddly enough, some As far as movies about alien robots that can disguise themselves on earth in the battle of good vs. evil go... this is a great film. It's not the kind of film where you should look for or expect any sort of amazing script writing or in-depth story-line. What you should expect however is some fantastic action sequences, a little romance, some excellent CGI and oddly enough, some genuinely funny comedy. I had my doubts as I haven't always been too impressed with Bay's work not to mention Transformers were just one of the obsessions I had as a child so this movie had a lot to live up to to keep me happy but it hasn't failed. If you think this movie might be your style it probably will be and if you're not sure then it just might. Expand
  77. BenH.
    Jul 1, 2007
    10
    WARNING SPOILERS: Probably the most entertaining movie i have seen in years. Its not meant to be deep or profound.. it is meant to be Transformers and that is what it is, the storyline is very well written tying in themes, locations and characters from the cartoon in to the movie in a brilliant way. A few changes have been made, but this is a movie and over all it does exactly what it set WARNING SPOILERS: Probably the most entertaining movie i have seen in years. Its not meant to be deep or profound.. it is meant to be Transformers and that is what it is, the storyline is very well written tying in themes, locations and characters from the cartoon in to the movie in a brilliant way. A few changes have been made, but this is a movie and over all it does exactly what it set out to accomplish. The light relief is also very well done, the humour which in too many films these days does not come off well comes off very well in this movie. Right from the start (where Sam Witwicky makes the brain damage comment about grid iron players,very true) through to the end, the humour kept me entertained and the action kept me on the edge of my seat. The graphics were stunning and most of the fight scenes were superb, particularly the fight scene between Optimus Prime and Bone Crusher. I thought Optimus Prime possibly could have kicked a bit more arse, but i won't put that against the movie as it was so well done. One thing that was noted is that the only Autobot that died was jazz, once again its the token black guy that dies in the end lol. I wonder if that was on purpose or just co-incidence. Anyway top movie, i haven't seen a movie as good or left a cinema feeling i got my money worth in a very long time. Well done the cast and crew. :) Expand
  78. AdelaO
    Jul 10, 2007
    10
    Best remake of any animated series ever done. The concept of the characters is the same as they keep their personality. Really funny. Transformations awesome! Best movie of the year!!!!
  79. JohnP.
    Jul 1, 2007
    10
    Superb from the opening scene to the closing credits. Cannot wait for this to come out on HD. Must go to a digital theater to see this in all its glory. Finally a summer blockbuster that is worth seeing twice.
  80. BryanN
    Jul 12, 2007
    9
    I enjoyed the movie very much, actually watched it 3 times altogether. The impeccable CGI itself should at least earn this movie a 6, putting aside other factors.
  81. Jeff
    Jul 12, 2007
    7
    Enjoy the action, but be ready to laugh at just about everything else.
  82. MikeD
    Jul 13, 2007
    10
    First, for those that don't know the idea about most cartoons in the 80's was this, "Make animated shows to sell the toys." This is the idea that sparked the show and the whole transformers saga. So, since the animated show was really one giant advertisement, wouldn't it be a little more interesting to have small advertising jokes in the movie? hmm...I wonder....
  83. StevenJ.
    Jul 14, 2007
    10
    The perfect summer movie. It was funny, things blew up, and it was pure entertainment. Some may think that they might be walking into a deep story with a lot of character development. If you are one of them, move along. This movie is for people who like to have fun at movies.
  84. ChadT
    Jul 15, 2007
    7
    This one beat my expectations, which were pretty low. How much can you expect from a movie, based on a cartoon, based on a toy? As a kid I loved playing with these freakin' bots. My parents still have some stored in their attic. Someday I will make a mint selling em on ebay. Back to the movie. Very loud and chaotic. The robots looked great. Fantastic CGI. Not much character This one beat my expectations, which were pretty low. How much can you expect from a movie, based on a cartoon, based on a toy? As a kid I loved playing with these freakin' bots. My parents still have some stored in their attic. Someday I will make a mint selling em on ebay. Back to the movie. Very loud and chaotic. The robots looked great. Fantastic CGI. Not much character development goin on, and the love story is lame, but overall, me likey! Expand
  85. krisk
    Jul 15, 2007
    9
    It was a fun movie. don't go into this movie expecting a spielberg masterpiece, because thats not what this movie is trying to accomplish at all. this movie is all about being loud and exciting, not serious and 'realistic'. the movie lacks any serious form of emotion, which makes a majority of the plot feel somewhat dry and lifeless, but if you can get your brain past that, It was a fun movie. don't go into this movie expecting a spielberg masterpiece, because thats not what this movie is trying to accomplish at all. this movie is all about being loud and exciting, not serious and 'realistic'. the movie lacks any serious form of emotion, which makes a majority of the plot feel somewhat dry and lifeless, but if you can get your brain past that, it's solid entertainment. this is a fun movie that shouldn't be taken too seriously. Expand
  86. BenP
    Jul 15, 2007
    10
    This movie was super fun and just what the doctor ordered for the summer. It had a few quirks including not using the 80's theme song but it was great watching the robots come to life!
  87. jason
    Jul 16, 2007
    10
    Movie was absolutely FANTASTIC. The best movie I've seen in a LOOOONG time. They executed the live action with the CG PERFECTLY and funny without making it too corny. great movie!
  88. SteveLewis
    Jul 16, 2007
    10
    Awesome
  89. AgeGonzales
    Jul 16, 2007
    9
    Extremely entertaining movie. To hell with all those who rate it by its plot or commercialized quality..these idiots would probably like it if it were dubbed in French! Go watch it, worth the price if you seek entertainment on many levels.
  90. DanielD.
    Jul 16, 2007
    7
    It has a light scrip, looks like a human kind history with robots not like a transformers history with humans. Among of characters has no time for exp laing relationships. And you could think even, that Optimus learned to be a heroic creature just because he saw that boy close to give his live.!?. The hot-girl, yes hot but she gets to much attention on her. But has a good part in the It has a light scrip, looks like a human kind history with robots not like a transformers history with humans. Among of characters has no time for exp laing relationships. And you could think even, that Optimus learned to be a heroic creature just because he saw that boy close to give his live.!?. The hot-girl, yes hot but she gets to much attention on her. But has a good part in the funny times. One of the goals in this first movie. Expand
  91. dj
    Jul 2, 2007
    10
    This movie was AWSOME, from the visual effects to the hot chicks.
  92. MathewC
    Jul 21, 2007
    10
    The only people that wont enjoy this are people who think gone with the wind is the best film ever. Nuff Said.
  93. RHill
    Jul 2, 2007
    9
    This movie was amazingly entertaining. But there are some things I think should have been done differently... They over did it with all the humor and introducing the HUGE cast. There were not enough battles between the Autobots and Decepticons. The battles were to brief and some of the transformers died WAY to quickly. Most of the Decepticons didn't show up until the very end. This movie was amazingly entertaining. But there are some things I think should have been done differently... They over did it with all the humor and introducing the HUGE cast. There were not enough battles between the Autobots and Decepticons. The battles were to brief and some of the transformers died WAY to quickly. Most of the Decepticons didn't show up until the very end. Don't get me wrong I really enjoyed the movie I just think that they should have showed less human introduction and more of the transformers! I heard Michael Bay has signed on to make this a trilogy so definitely looking forward to the next movie. Expand
  94. DW
    Jul 25, 2007
    7
    Anyone who proclaims this movie to be either really great or really awful is full of it. The action was NOT that confusing. I wasn't crazy about a lot of the character designs (espcially their insect-like faces), but this was still some of the best CG I've ever seen. A lot of the dialog was terrible, but the actors managed to do OK with it for the most part. There's pretty Anyone who proclaims this movie to be either really great or really awful is full of it. The action was NOT that confusing. I wasn't crazy about a lot of the character designs (espcially their insect-like faces), but this was still some of the best CG I've ever seen. A lot of the dialog was terrible, but the actors managed to do OK with it for the most part. There's pretty much no way a movie about Transformers could NOT devolve into total ridiculousness, but at least this kept things fun and well-paced. I don't feel like I wasted my money, but I don't feel like I need to see it again anytime soon. I am, actually, looking forward to a sequel. If you're not too uptight to enjoy a silly summer movie with some mostly forgivable flaws, you'll have fun watching Transformers. Expand
  95. EvangelineR.
    Jul 26, 2007
    10
    I was extremely entertained from the second I heard the narrator do a voice-over about Cybertron's history, right down to Optimus's voice-over speech at the end of the movie. The CGI is impressive, the Autobots and Decepticons looked real and convincing. Shia LaBeouf was a good choice for the role, but Megan Fox was only tolerable. She isn't a talented or competent actress, I was extremely entertained from the second I heard the narrator do a voice-over about Cybertron's history, right down to Optimus's voice-over speech at the end of the movie. The CGI is impressive, the Autobots and Decepticons looked real and convincing. Shia LaBeouf was a good choice for the role, but Megan Fox was only tolerable. She isn't a talented or competent actress, just eye candy for the guys. I was hardly 'moved' when she slammed her hands against the steering and leaned her forehead against it (as though) in defeat. What crap! Bumblebee's performance as 'tortured prisoner' was better than hers. This movie was not violent, no blood and gore that could frighten and disgust me. I wasn't turned off, not even when Scorponok speared G.I Joe, First Sergeant Donnelly (I think...). Peter Cullen's voice was a trip down memory lane for me. So pleasant to hear. I was broken up that Jazz had to die *sniff* Heart-pounding (RE:Bumblebee's showdown with Barricade), earsplitting bass and stereophonics that left my ears ringing long after I left the theater, and injected comedy (the Autobots as they try to hide around Sam's house. Just thinking about it cracks me up!) I will always love this movie, no matter how many times I've seen it. And I've seen it 4 times at the cinemas. Expand
  96. EricD.
    Jul 3, 2007
    10
    One word: awesome! And, a few more words: I just couldn't take my eyes off the screen the whole time. Wow!
  97. PaulK.
    Jul 3, 2007
    9
    If you went ape over the trailers, you won't be disappointed. Transformers delivers all the action, stunning visuals and a quick paced plot that manages to gloss over most of the clunky parts. Where was the lead in for the sequel? See this on the giant screen, if you can.
  98. BrianJ.
    Jul 3, 2007
    10
    Every CGI flick you've seen before Transformers just aged ten years. This movie is beautiful. It's seamless blend of endlessly complex CGI and "real life capture" are pulled off so convincingly, you hardly notice the line between reality and fantasy.
  99. ThatFan
    Jul 3, 2007
    7
    It is not a 10 if your a fan since the 80's (the ol' bots dont act like the o.g.'s at all) but yet you still will enjoy it even though....trust me i give it a 7.5 as a fan so just think what non fans will give it (from my exp. its got a 8-10 from them) so go see it!!
  100. TylerG.
    Jul 3, 2007
    10
    Loved it, definite blockbuster hit of the summer! Michael Bay is a great director, he cant make a bad movie. Cant wait for his next one. BUT THIS IS A MUST SEE. GO SEE IT NOW!
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 35
  2. Negative: 2 out of 35
  1. Reviewed by: Jay Weissberg
    90
    Big, loud and full of testosterone-fueled car fantasies, Michael Bay's actioner hits a new peak for CGI work, showcasing spectacular chases and animated transformation sequences seamlessly blended into live-action surroundings.
  2. Transformers is a wet dream for fanboys, with vehicles that whiz and whir into alien robots, spectacular sci-fi stunt chases, glistening military hardware, overheated computer software and brainy, hot girls who love Popular Mechanics.
  3. 70
    In previous movies, Michael Bay dabbled wearily in Homo sapiens. At last he has summoned the courage to admit that he has an exclusive crush on machines, and I congratulate him on creating, in Transformers, his first truly honest work of art.