Transformers

Transformers Image
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1116 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Aliens make Earth their final battleground. As the forces of evil seek the key to ultimate power, Earth's last chance for survival rest in the hands of young Sam Witwicky. [Paramount Pictures]

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 35
  2. Negative: 2 out of 35
  1. Reviewed by: Jay Weissberg
    90
    Big, loud and full of testosterone-fueled car fantasies, Michael Bay's actioner hits a new peak for CGI work, showcasing spectacular chases and animated transformation sequences seamlessly blended into live-action surroundings.
  2. Reviewed by: Ian Nathan
    80
    The script may have rubbery legs, but the action is rock-hard. The surprise is the lightness of touch: treat as a comedy for best results.
  3. A classic Michael Bay mega-movie. Interested in plot and character development? Move along. You're blocking the view.
  4. For almost two hours of car chases and car wrecks and extraordinary animated transformation sequences that meld fluidly with live action, the welcome mat is out for Michael Bay's cheerfully dopey saga.
  5. It's a wonderfully playful experience.
  6. Not a movie, just one gigantic commercial for Hasbro.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. OptimusPrime
    Nov 18, 2007
    10
    Mr. Tea, your IQ's dropping steadily because you rated this film so low! I saw this 2 times and the second time it was as action-packed, Mr. Tea, your IQ's dropping steadily because you rated this film so low! I saw this 2 times and the second time it was as action-packed, entertaining and thrilling as the first time (which by the way was amazing)! Everything you would want in a movie Collapse
  2. BrettS
    Jul 15, 2007
    10
    The best Michael Bay film yet. Exciting, great special effects and great touches of humor. We need more of these movies, a film I can takes The best Michael Bay film yet. Exciting, great special effects and great touches of humor. We need more of these movies, a film I can takes my kids to see that is both for kids and adults. The box office receipts speak for themselves. The public loves it, critics hate it. Star Wars had the same problem in 1976. Expand
  3. Sep 5, 2011
    9
    This live-action adaptation of the TV shows and the toy franchise tells the story about the battle between the autobots and the decepticons asThis live-action adaptation of the TV shows and the toy franchise tells the story about the battle between the autobots and the decepticons as they search for the AllSpark, a device so powerful that can turn mechanics into robots. When it lands on earth, Optimus Prime and the other autobots meet a boy named Sam Witwicky and seeks his help along with his girlfriend Mikaela to find the AllSpark and put an end to the decepticons once and for all.

    I saw the trailers for this movie, but I have missed my chances of seeing it in theaters. So, I waited to get it on DVD and viola! I now have the movie and I was excited when it met my expectations.

    Michael Bay did really well on his directing and the storyline was well-paced together. The cinematography and casting were great, even Shia Lebeouf and Megan Fox's performances were so good and they make a great screen couple. The Witwicky parents weren't given enough screen time, but I think they did pretty well with their comedic moments. The actors that voiced the autobots and the decepticons turned out to be great and they are just like the ones from the TV shows.

    The humor was so hilarious, and the best humor part was the pee joke which I really laughed during the movie.

    The action scenes were very darn good. I think that Michael Bay was a fan of action scenes from the TV show and did very well at shooting them just to make it look real.

    The CGI effects from the Industrial Light and Magic company was that good and it fits well for the action sequences.

    The music score was riveting and very cool and it gave some emotion in the whole movie.

    I am going to point that there aren't any negative things to say about this movie and the 57% rating is a little bit low for my expectations, so I'm going to give this pretty much a higher rating.

    4.5/5 stars
    Expand
  4. JW
    Jul 6, 2007
    8
    I'm not sure why so many people are hating on this movie. Were you expecting a really deep plot? Or "Oscar" caliber acting? It's I'm not sure why so many people are hating on this movie. Were you expecting a really deep plot? Or "Oscar" caliber acting? It's the kid from 'Even Stevens' and some no-name, half-dressed actress. I grew up a huge Transformers fan, and I still liked it. Go in expecting a good action movie and you will be more than satisfied. The frenetic camera in the action scenes only adds to the adrenalin and immersion. The Transformers themselves were done way better than I was expecting. Only bad things I can say were already said -- the Decepticons were sort of anonymous, and there was WAY too much "GM Loving" for me. Expand
  5. Jan 30, 2016
    6
    While Nothing spectacular in terms of script the acting is decent and is Michel bay's only good transformers movie compared to the others.While Nothing spectacular in terms of script the acting is decent and is Michel bay's only good transformers movie compared to the others. Loads of action a decent story, and topped off with decent not spectacular but decent acting especially from Sam witwicky who was better than the rest of the human cast makes this a turn your brain off and have fun for a couple hours flick. bumble bee and optimist prime expertly voiced by peter cullins make for a compelling robot duo the only transformers you will need is this one. Expand
  6. Apr 22, 2015
    4
    For the past year or so, geek tempers have flared high over the prospect of a Michael Bay-directed update of The Transformers, a mid-'80sFor the past year or so, geek tempers have flared high over the prospect of a Michael Bay-directed update of The Transformers, a mid-'80s Hasbro cartoon about sentient alien robots capable of disguising themselves as mundane Earth machines, from cars to planes to tape recorders to, um, robotic dinosaurs. Thanks to a line of reasonably neat toys and a better-than-average-for-the-time plotline pitting the noble Autobots against the evil Decepticons, The Transformers captured the imagination of a generation of kids, and the several spin-off series and animated movie continued to bring new fans into thrall. Since the first live-action film version was announced, the Internet has been abuzz with debate over exactly how the explosion-meister director of Pearl Harbor and The Island was going to screw up the franchise. Hardcore fans have **** about the robot designs, the vehicle designs, the silly Maguffin-centric plot, and much more, but even they couldn't have anticipated exactly how Transformers ruins their memories: by turning the franchise into a terrible '80s comedy.

    The film opens with Peter Cullen (reprising his '80s original role as Autobot leader Optimus Prime) delivering a cheesy voiceover about "the Allspark," a mysterious cube of unknown provenance that gives life to worlds. Cut to modern-day Qatar, where a giant robot destroys an American military base and hacks into its computers in search of data on the cube, in the kind of modern action scene fans were probably most hoping for. And then… cut to nearly an hour of John Hughes-style teen-romance goofery, as spastic twit Shia LaBoeuf flails his way through an attempted romance of Megan Fox, the hottest girl in high school. He pratfalls in front of her, he blithers to himself nervously, he gets all unnerved as his mom asks if he's been masturbating and suggests that if the word makes him uncomfortable, he could call it Special Happy Time instead. Astonishingly, what should be a propulsive action film stumbles along in this vein through much of the rest of its length, dragging out inane jokes and excruciating humiliation routines; even when the heroic Autobots finally appear, they're similarly dignity-free bumblers who spout passé catchphrases (having learned their English from Earth TV, natch), accidentally stomp a rose garden (Optimus Prime: "Oops, my bad."), and get pissed on by a Chihuahua. ("That's going to rust.")

    Transformers features a fair bit of action, and from time to time, it stays serious long enough to get exciting. But the Transformers' cluttered visual designs and Bay's frantic cutting frequently make it hard to tell what's happening in a given battle until the victor shows up in the next scene. And the writers' habit of undermining nearly every significant moment with corny gags and comic robot flailing à la Short Circuit is practically inexplicable. At this point, no one should be expecting much from Michael Bay except fast pacing and decently choreographed explosions. With Transformers, he doesn't even make it that far.
    Expand
  7. TedR.
    Jul 2, 2007
    0
    Garbage. Another piece of crap from Bay. There's bad acting, bad action "sequences" (a few missiles are fired and that's it) and no Garbage. Another piece of crap from Bay. There's bad acting, bad action "sequences" (a few missiles are fired and that's it) and no plot. What'd you expect? Expand

See all 505 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Music Video Directors Turned Film Directors

    Ranked: Music Video Directors Turned Film Directors Image
    Published: August 31, 2010
    Before Anton Corbijn was directing feature films like this week's "The American," he was the driving force behind iconic music videos for Depeche Mode, U2, and Nirvana. Inside, we look at the careers of Corbijn and over 20 other directors who have made the jump from MTV to the big screen.