Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1080 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Aliens make Earth their final battleground. As the forces of evil seek the key to ultimate power, Earth's last chance for survival rest in the hands of young Sam Witwicky. [Paramount Pictures]
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 35
  2. Negative: 2 out of 35
  1. Reviewed by: Jay Weissberg
    90
    Big, loud and full of testosterone-fueled car fantasies, Michael Bay's actioner hits a new peak for CGI work, showcasing spectacular chases and animated transformation sequences seamlessly blended into live-action surroundings.
  2. Reviewed by: Ian Nathan
    80
    The script may have rubbery legs, but the action is rock-hard. The surprise is the lightness of touch: treat as a comedy for best results.
  3. A classic Michael Bay mega-movie. Interested in plot and character development? Move along. You're blocking the view.
  4. Reviewed by: Joanne Kaufman
    70
    For almost two hours of car chases and car wrecks and extraordinary animated transformation sequences that meld fluidly with live action, the welcome mat is out for Michael Bay's cheerfully dopey saga.
  5. It's a wonderfully playful experience.
  6. Not a movie, just one gigantic commercial for Hasbro.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. BrentD
    Jun 29, 2007
    10
    This movie is sheer fun. The theater erupted everytime a new Transformer was introduced or an epic battle completed. By far, this movie has This movie is sheer fun. The theater erupted everytime a new Transformer was introduced or an epic battle completed. By far, this movie has the best CGI of all time. Watched the pre-screening, now can't wait for it to arrive in theaters to see it again. INCREDIBLE! Expand
  2. BrettS
    Jul 15, 2007
    10
    The best Michael Bay film yet. Exciting, great special effects and great touches of humor. We need more of these movies, a film I can takes The best Michael Bay film yet. Exciting, great special effects and great touches of humor. We need more of these movies, a film I can takes my kids to see that is both for kids and adults. The box office receipts speak for themselves. The public loves it, critics hate it. Star Wars had the same problem in 1976. Expand
  3. OptimusPrime
    Nov 18, 2007
    10
    Mr. Tea, your IQ's dropping steadily because you rated this film so low! I saw this 2 times and the second time it was as action-packed, Mr. Tea, your IQ's dropping steadily because you rated this film so low! I saw this 2 times and the second time it was as action-packed, entertaining and thrilling as the first time (which by the way was amazing)! Everything you would want in a movie Expand
  4. JW
    Jul 6, 2007
    8
    I'm not sure why so many people are hating on this movie. Were you expecting a really deep plot? Or "Oscar" caliber acting? It's I'm not sure why so many people are hating on this movie. Were you expecting a really deep plot? Or "Oscar" caliber acting? It's the kid from 'Even Stevens' and some no-name, half-dressed actress. I grew up a huge Transformers fan, and I still liked it. Go in expecting a good action movie and you will be more than satisfied. The frenetic camera in the action scenes only adds to the adrenalin and immersion. The Transformers themselves were done way better than I was expecting. Only bad things I can say were already said -- the Decepticons were sort of anonymous, and there was WAY too much "GM Loving" for me. Expand
  5. Jan 25, 2015
    6
    Visually stunning with the auto-bots looking more alien than they were 20 years ago, but both the acting and the main characters leave much toVisually stunning with the auto-bots looking more alien than they were 20 years ago, but both the acting and the main characters leave much to be desired. Expand
  6. May 28, 2014
    4
    Seriously?!?! How the heck did this garbage catch on. The script is phoned in and rather than focus on the Autobots like in the cartoon theSeriously?!?! How the heck did this garbage catch on. The script is phoned in and rather than focus on the Autobots like in the cartoon the film focuses on the poorly written human characters who aren’t that interesting. When the film does show the action it is poorly shot. I would only recommend this film to little kids because when you are that age you are pretty receptive to garbage. Transformers fans could check it out if they are interested but trust me skip it you’ll be disappointed. Expand
  7. TedR.
    Jul 2, 2007
    0
    Garbage. Another piece of crap from Bay. There's bad acting, bad action "sequences" (a few missiles are fired and that's it) and no Garbage. Another piece of crap from Bay. There's bad acting, bad action "sequences" (a few missiles are fired and that's it) and no plot. What'd you expect? Expand

See all 496 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Music Video Directors Turned Film Directors

    Ranked: Music Video Directors Turned Film Directors Image
    Published: August 31, 2010
    Before Anton Corbijn was directing feature films like this week's "The American," he was the driving force behind iconic music videos for Depeche Mode, U2, and Nirvana. Inside, we look at the careers of Corbijn and over 20 other directors who have made the jump from MTV to the big screen.