Transformers

Transformers Image
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1115 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Aliens make Earth their final battleground. As the forces of evil seek the key to ultimate power, Earth's last chance for survival rest in the hands of young Sam Witwicky. [Paramount Pictures]

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 35
  2. Negative: 2 out of 35
  1. Reviewed by: Jay Weissberg
    90
    Big, loud and full of testosterone-fueled car fantasies, Michael Bay's actioner hits a new peak for CGI work, showcasing spectacular chases and animated transformation sequences seamlessly blended into live-action surroundings.
  2. Reviewed by: Ian Nathan
    80
    The script may have rubbery legs, but the action is rock-hard. The surprise is the lightness of touch: treat as a comedy for best results.
  3. A classic Michael Bay mega-movie. Interested in plot and character development? Move along. You're blocking the view.
  4. For almost two hours of car chases and car wrecks and extraordinary animated transformation sequences that meld fluidly with live action, the welcome mat is out for Michael Bay's cheerfully dopey saga.
  5. It's a wonderfully playful experience.
  6. Not a movie, just one gigantic commercial for Hasbro.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. OptimusPrime
    Nov 18, 2007
    10
    Mr. Tea, your IQ's dropping steadily because you rated this film so low! I saw this 2 times and the second time it was as action-packed, Mr. Tea, your IQ's dropping steadily because you rated this film so low! I saw this 2 times and the second time it was as action-packed, entertaining and thrilling as the first time (which by the way was amazing)! Everything you would want in a movie Expand
  2. BrettS
    Jul 15, 2007
    10
    The best Michael Bay film yet. Exciting, great special effects and great touches of humor. We need more of these movies, a film I can takes The best Michael Bay film yet. Exciting, great special effects and great touches of humor. We need more of these movies, a film I can takes my kids to see that is both for kids and adults. The box office receipts speak for themselves. The public loves it, critics hate it. Star Wars had the same problem in 1976. Expand
  3. Sep 5, 2011
    9
    This live-action adaptation of the TV shows and the toy franchise tells the story about the battle between the autobots and the decepticons asThis live-action adaptation of the TV shows and the toy franchise tells the story about the battle between the autobots and the decepticons as they search for the AllSpark, a device so powerful that can turn mechanics into robots. When it lands on earth, Optimus Prime and the other autobots meet a boy named Sam Witwicky and seeks his help along with his girlfriend Mikaela to find the AllSpark and put an end to the decepticons once and for all.

    I saw the trailers for this movie, but I have missed my chances of seeing it in theaters. So, I waited to get it on DVD and viola! I now have the movie and I was excited when it met my expectations.

    Michael Bay did really well on his directing and the storyline was well-paced together. The cinematography and casting were great, even Shia Lebeouf and Megan Fox's performances were so good and they make a great screen couple. The Witwicky parents weren't given enough screen time, but I think they did pretty well with their comedic moments. The actors that voiced the autobots and the decepticons turned out to be great and they are just like the ones from the TV shows.

    The humor was so hilarious, and the best humor part was the pee joke which I really laughed during the movie.

    The action scenes were very darn good. I think that Michael Bay was a fan of action scenes from the TV show and did very well at shooting them just to make it look real.

    The CGI effects from the Industrial Light and Magic company was that good and it fits well for the action sequences.

    The music score was riveting and very cool and it gave some emotion in the whole movie.

    I am going to point that there aren't any negative things to say about this movie and the 57% rating is a little bit low for my expectations, so I'm going to give this pretty much a higher rating.

    4.5/5 stars
    Expand
  4. John
    Jul 6, 2007
    8
    People need to remember the plot of this movie is based on a cartoon, so don't expect huge things from the plot. I got exactly what People need to remember the plot of this movie is based on a cartoon, so don't expect huge things from the plot. I got exactly what expected lots of eye candy, and as a bonus Megan Fox, wow. Optimus Prime Is one of the best hero's ever created, the orginal vioce was great. See it and make you own judgement. But if you were a kid when this was on TV, I am sure you will enjoy it, just like I did. Expand
  5. Jan 16, 2016
    6
    This Transformers is way better than the sequels and it's an only needed installment. What Transformers is lacking is the excitement to keepThis Transformers is way better than the sequels and it's an only needed installment. What Transformers is lacking is the excitement to keep me from watching the movie. Expand
  6. Jan 25, 2015
    4
    Michael Bay is a director who love slow motions and explosions and it's normal because he is doing it right he is very good at this but inMichael Bay is a director who love slow motions and explosions and it's normal because he is doing it right he is very good at this but in that movie they are just too much and interesting is that there is so much fights and violence in this movie and the death count is : 0 .But that's not important that's not the biggest fail of the fail is in actors the crew was sooooo weak sooo weak that it was painful to watch the movie. Shia LaBeouf is shame for Hollywood Industry and seriosly that guy is going to save the world ??? And don't forget Megan Fox that's is in the movie only because she is sexy .Actually i think the hole movie was commercial of Chevrolet nothing else but a damn long commercial. Expand
  7. TedR.
    Jul 2, 2007
    0
    Garbage. Another piece of crap from Bay. There's bad acting, bad action "sequences" (a few missiles are fired and that's it) and no Garbage. Another piece of crap from Bay. There's bad acting, bad action "sequences" (a few missiles are fired and that's it) and no plot. What'd you expect? Expand

See all 504 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Music Video Directors Turned Film Directors

    Ranked: Music Video Directors Turned Film Directors Image
    Published: August 31, 2010
    Before Anton Corbijn was directing feature films like this week's "The American," he was the driving force behind iconic music videos for Depeche Mode, U2, and Nirvana. Inside, we look at the careers of Corbijn and over 20 other directors who have made the jump from MTV to the big screen.