Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1074 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Aliens make Earth their final battleground. As the forces of evil seek the key to ultimate power, Earth's last chance for survival rest in the hands of young Sam Witwicky. [Paramount Pictures]
Watch On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 35
  2. Negative: 2 out of 35
  1. Reviewed by: Jay Weissberg
    90
    Big, loud and full of testosterone-fueled car fantasies, Michael Bay's actioner hits a new peak for CGI work, showcasing spectacular chases and animated transformation sequences seamlessly blended into live-action surroundings.
  2. Reviewed by: Ian Nathan
    80
    The script may have rubbery legs, but the action is rock-hard. The surprise is the lightness of touch: treat as a comedy for best results.
  3. A classic Michael Bay mega-movie. Interested in plot and character development? Move along. You're blocking the view.
  4. Reviewed by: Joanne Kaufman
    70
    For almost two hours of car chases and car wrecks and extraordinary animated transformation sequences that meld fluidly with live action, the welcome mat is out for Michael Bay's cheerfully dopey saga.
  5. It's a wonderfully playful experience.
  6. Not a movie, just one gigantic commercial for Hasbro.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. BrentD
    Jun 29, 2007
    10
    This movie is sheer fun. The theater erupted everytime a new Transformer was introduced or an epic battle completed. By far, this movie has This movie is sheer fun. The theater erupted everytime a new Transformer was introduced or an epic battle completed. By far, this movie has the best CGI of all time. Watched the pre-screening, now can't wait for it to arrive in theaters to see it again. INCREDIBLE! Expand
  2. herur
    Jul 14, 2007
    10
    Beautiful It really felt like you were there with these amazing giant robots, the action sequences are usually from the point of view of the Beautiful It really felt like you were there with these amazing giant robots, the action sequences are usually from the point of view of the humans and it gets reallt intense the only thing that brought this movie down a bit for me was the scene where they're looking for the glasses - a little too long but i just edited that part out in my head I got a little misty eyed remembering fond memories from my childhood overall well worth 10$ and a great diversion from stresses of daily life. Expand
  3. OptimusPrime
    Nov 18, 2007
    10
    Mr. Tea, your IQ's dropping steadily because you rated this film so low! I saw this 2 times and the second time it was as action-packed, Mr. Tea, your IQ's dropping steadily because you rated this film so low! I saw this 2 times and the second time it was as action-packed, entertaining and thrilling as the first time (which by the way was amazing)! Everything you would want in a movie Expand
  4. TroyS.
    Jul 7, 2007
    8
    A good popcorn movie. It's full of action, action, more action and yes, a little bit of cheese. But, take it for what it is: 2.5 hours A good popcorn movie. It's full of action, action, more action and yes, a little bit of cheese. But, take it for what it is: 2.5 hours of fun, nothing more. Fanboys: chill out. Expand
  5. Sep 20, 2014
    6
    Transformers is a groovy, but weird movie.

    The CGI and the actors are great, but the beginning and the end is weird. This, in combination
    Transformers is a groovy, but weird movie.

    The CGI and the actors are great, but the beginning and the end is weird. This, in combination with a slow story didn't impress me at all, but the action sequences are incredible.

    Transformers is a highly unique movie with cool scenes, that really impress me.

    Transformers gets a 6,5/10
    Expand
  6. Sep 22, 2014
    4
    Loud music , best action sequences ! = A hell of a good action roller coaster !!!!!!.( i'm not that kind of obsessed transformers kinda guyLoud music , best action sequences ! = A hell of a good action roller coaster !!!!!!.( i'm not that kind of obsessed transformers kinda guy but i am an Optimus fan also a little bit of a micheal bay fan.) , Shia LeBouf plays a nerd who likes this hot girl Megan Fox ( actually she is not that hot now then she was)
    then he buys a car then the car is actually a TRANSFORMER ! then a transformer battle begins now LeoBouf has to stop it . wow what a good story from director Micheal Bay and Writers John Rogers , Roberto Orci , Alex Kurtzman. Lets talk about the transformers voice cast i love peter cullen as the great and Powerful Optimus prime who is my favorite character in this film also great Transformer performances by Mark Ryan as Bumblebee and Hugo Weaving as Megatron. I know that Micheal Bay basically put non stop stereotypes for characters like Megan Fox as the hot girl also Bernie Mac as the car dealer. Also Micheal Bay has a bad direction in directing movies also the fact he does not know how to make a picture if number 1: Stops trying to have stereotypes actors for dumb roles. Number 2: NO more dumb jokes to add to to your movies ! take my advice bay. Micheal Bay is the not my exact favorite ' director' but his films have impressed me with films like ( Armageddon , Bad Boys) also inspired me with his imagination. Grade A+. Grade for Micheal Bay A-
    Expand
  7. TedR.
    Jul 2, 2007
    0
    Garbage. Another piece of crap from Bay. There's bad acting, bad action "sequences" (a few missiles are fired and that's it) and no Garbage. Another piece of crap from Bay. There's bad acting, bad action "sequences" (a few missiles are fired and that's it) and no plot. What'd you expect? Expand

See all 493 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Music Video Directors Turned Film Directors

    Ranked: Music Video Directors Turned Film Directors Image
    Published: August 31, 2010
    Before Anton Corbijn was directing feature films like this week's "The American," he was the driving force behind iconic music videos for Depeche Mode, U2, and Nirvana. Inside, we look at the careers of Corbijn and over 20 other directors who have made the jump from MTV to the big screen.