Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1039 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Aliens make Earth their final battleground. As the forces of evil seek the key to ultimate power, Earth's last chance for survival rest in the hands of young Sam Witwicky. [Paramount Pictures]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 35
  2. Negative: 2 out of 35
  1. Transformers is a wet dream for fanboys, with vehicles that whiz and whir into alien robots, spectacular sci-fi stunt chases, glistening military hardware, overheated computer software and brainy, hot girls who love Popular Mechanics.
  2. Reviewed by: Luke Y. Thompson
    80
    The movie's biggest misstep is a complete lack of the classic Transformers theme song. How do you not use the coolest ’80s toyline-turned-cartoon music ever?
  3. It's a heavy-metal opera with humor.
  4. 70
    In previous movies, Michael Bay dabbled wearily in Homo sapiens. At last he has summoned the courage to admit that he has an exclusive crush on machines, and I congratulate him on creating, in Transformers, his first truly honest work of art.
  5. Reviewed by: Nathan Lee
    70
    Transformers is mercilessly inhuman and completely hysterical from frame one.
  6. Not a movie, just one gigantic commercial for Hasbro.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 99 out of 484
  1. Lindey
    Jun 30, 2007
    10
    A astonishing breath of fresh air. A visual delight and a action packed masterpiece. It undeniably scores in every way and scores the A astonishing breath of fresh air. A visual delight and a action packed masterpiece. It undeniably scores in every way and scores the entertainment factor big time. So well made, so exciting, and so phenomenal that I want to see it again and again. Expand
  2. BenP
    Jul 15, 2007
    10
    This movie was super fun and just what the doctor ordered for the summer. It had a few quirks including not using the 80's theme song This movie was super fun and just what the doctor ordered for the summer. It had a few quirks including not using the 80's theme song but it was great watching the robots come to life! Expand
  3. OptimusPrime
    Nov 18, 2007
    10
    Mr. Tea, your IQ's dropping steadily because you rated this film so low! I saw this 2 times and the second time it was as action-packed, Mr. Tea, your IQ's dropping steadily because you rated this film so low! I saw this 2 times and the second time it was as action-packed, entertaining and thrilling as the first time (which by the way was amazing)! Everything you would want in a movie Expand
  4. JW
    Jul 6, 2007
    8
    I'm not sure why so many people are hating on this movie. Were you expecting a really deep plot? Or "Oscar" caliber acting? It's I'm not sure why so many people are hating on this movie. Were you expecting a really deep plot? Or "Oscar" caliber acting? It's the kid from 'Even Stevens' and some no-name, half-dressed actress. I grew up a huge Transformers fan, and I still liked it. Go in expecting a good action movie and you will be more than satisfied. The frenetic camera in the action scenes only adds to the adrenalin and immersion. The Transformers themselves were done way better than I was expecting. Only bad things I can say were already said -- the Decepticons were sort of anonymous, and there was WAY too much "GM Loving" for me. Expand
  5. Sep 20, 2014
    6
    Transformers is a groovy, but weird movie.

    The CGI and the actors are great, but the beginning and the end is weird. This, in combination
    Transformers is a groovy, but weird movie.

    The CGI and the actors are great, but the beginning and the end is weird. This, in combination with a slow story didn't impress me at all, but the action sequences are incredible.

    Transformers is a highly unique movie with cool scenes, that really impress me.

    Transformers gets a 6,5/10
    Expand
  6. May 28, 2014
    4
    Seriously?!?! How the heck did this garbage catch on. The script is phoned in and rather than focus on the Autobots like in the cartoon theSeriously?!?! How the heck did this garbage catch on. The script is phoned in and rather than focus on the Autobots like in the cartoon the film focuses on the poorly written human characters who aren’t that interesting. When the film does show the action it is poorly shot. I would only recommend this film to little kids because when you are that age you are pretty receptive to garbage. Transformers fans could check it out if they are interested but trust me skip it you’ll be disappointed. Expand
  7. TedR.
    Jul 2, 2007
    0
    Garbage. Another piece of crap from Bay. There's bad acting, bad action "sequences" (a few missiles are fired and that's it) and no Garbage. Another piece of crap from Bay. There's bad acting, bad action "sequences" (a few missiles are fired and that's it) and no plot. What'd you expect? Expand

See all 484 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Music Video Directors Turned Film Directors

    Ranked: Music Video Directors Turned Film Directors Image
    Published: August 31, 2010
    Before Anton Corbijn was directing feature films like this week's "The American," he was the driving force behind iconic music videos for Depeche Mode, U2, and Nirvana. Inside, we look at the careers of Corbijn and over 20 other directors who have made the jump from MTV to the big screen.