Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 978 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Aliens make Earth their final battleground. As the forces of evil seek the key to ultimate power, Earth's last chance for survival rest in the hands of young Sam Witwicky. [Paramount Pictures]
  • Director: Michael Bay
  • Genre(s): Action, Adventure, Sci-Fi, Thriller, Comedy
  • Rating: PG-13
  • Runtime: 144 min
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 35
  2. Negative: 2 out of 35
  1. Transformers is a wet dream for fanboys, with vehicles that whiz and whir into alien robots, spectacular sci-fi stunt chases, glistening military hardware, overheated computer software and brainy, hot girls who love Popular Mechanics.
  2. Reviewed by: Luke Y. Thompson
    80
    The movie's biggest misstep is a complete lack of the classic Transformers theme song. How do you not use the coolest ’80s toyline-turned-cartoon music ever?
  3. It's a heavy-metal opera with humor.
  4. 70
    In previous movies, Michael Bay dabbled wearily in Homo sapiens. At last he has summoned the courage to admit that he has an exclusive crush on machines, and I congratulate him on creating, in Transformers, his first truly honest work of art.
  5. Reviewed by: Nathan Lee
    70
    Transformers is mercilessly inhuman and completely hysterical from frame one.
  6. Not a movie, just one gigantic commercial for Hasbro.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 97 out of 471
  1. May 20, 2014
    10
    I was repeating **** beautiful" in my head throughout the movie. It looks good, it sounds good, there is just right amount of action and humor - and one watch won't definitely be enough!

    I never watched the cartoon on TV, but this still hits right to the core for me.

    The camera-angles are a bit shaky and blurry at times, but it gives the movie more speed and a sense of realism.

    Even if some aspects of the story are definite clichés, and there aren't any real shocking revelations, it is still an enjoyable movie. Go and watch!
    Expand
  2. Feb 16, 2011
    10
    Pure escapism, total in-your-face intense action from beginning to end. It is a fantastic movie because it makes you feel like a child with a new toy again. Expand
  3. Aug 12, 2010
    9
    Special Effects 9/10, Action 9/10, Score 10/10, Cinematography 9/10, Sound Design 9/10, Film Design 9/10, Characters 7/10, Acting 7/10, Story 7/10, Humor 7/10, Pacing 6/10,
    Basically it depends what your looking for, if you are a teen or want a really stylised action film you will probably love it, if you are an adult and want a deep sci-fi story you will probably hate it. The best scenes are 10/10 the worst scenes are 4/10, under no circumstances should you believe anyone that gives this film a score in the red, there are several films I absolutely hate but I rate them fairly for its audience. People that are giving this lower than 6 seem to be very bitter people in general. Not only that but they probably believe that District 9 has a very good story when infact its just a bunch of semi-suggestive anti apartheid images superimposed over some terrible jokes.
    Expand
  4. Aug 30, 2013
    7
    There is one thing that Michael Bay likes to do, and its his overwhelming need of dramatising every single thing in front of you, whether its a few soldiers pacing across an airfield, cue epic music, a few people climbing out of a car, cue epic music, this happens over and over again in Transformers, the loud, big-budgeted sci-fi film that is fun, silly and full of massive robots that can only be admired, but the film also brings an over-bearing human element that can way the film down. Bay certainly has an eye for the spectacular and epic, with Transformers being no different, we open with a brief introduction from a booming robotic voice telling us about the war between the Autobots and Decepticons, an ancient alien race from the planet Cybertron who bring their battle to earth in search of the AllSpark, a powerful cube holding vast amounts of energy capable of massive amounts of power and of course, destruction.
    Sam Witwicky (Shia LaBeouf) is the unlucky human caught in the midst of this war, as his grandfather made the discovery of these robots many years before, Sam now hold a pivotal piece to the puzzle which is needed by the Transformers. But this young teen has his own troubles, something we are seemingly forced to care about, a teen drama involving Sam getting the girl, in this case, a beautiful girl called Michaela (Megan Fox), who doesn't have to do very much onscreen except move her body to certain angles so as she can be filmed in certain ways, its wasteful but I suppose necessary, because every film needs the good looking girl, right? This drama along with an over-arching military thread of a story certainly leaves very little room for the Transformers, who become a side note, even though the film is almost 150 mins long. But in terms of spectacle, it doesn't get much bigger than this, the way these robots transforms from vehicle to natural form looks amazing as these aliens tear each other apart in the air and on the ground, special effects don't get much better than these, as the realism of these machines unmatched.
    There are certainly many things to like about 'Transformers', we have spectacular set-pieces and some heavy lifting robots there to entertain us, but these robots also feel very underused, while the human element starts off light-hearted but becomes serious which in turn is just ludicrous. Even though there is comic relief to be found in John Turturro as a dedicated agent and a small role for the late great Bernie Mac, Transformers has an unlikeable and far too talkative lead in Shia LaBeouf's Sam Witwicky, more focus should definitely been put on the aliens.
    Expand
  5. Jul 11, 2014
    6
    Transformers is a groovy, but weird movie.

    The CGI and the actors are great, but the beginning and the end is weird. This in combination
    with a slow story didn't impress me that much, but the action sequences are incredible.

    Transformers is a highly unique movie with cool scenes that really impress me.

    Transformers gets a 6,5/10
    Expand
  6. Jan 7, 2012
    6
    Transformers is an entertaining film with epic action, breathtaking visual effects and some humor as well, but sadly the film suffers from bad performances and a cheesy story. I give this movie 61%. Expand
  7. Sep 5, 2010
    0
    This film is **** **** Nothing at all good was used from the original Transformers, basically someone got the liecnse and created a half arsed peice of **** just to make money. The plot is about a big cube, there are no transformers untill half way in, and then they have ****e ones, even then they don't **** act anyhting like the characters should, they hardly **** talk, the kid who stars in this is a little piece of piss i saw in a ****ty kids program when i was younger, he is awefull, i don't know why but i look at him and his stupid ass smug face and i can imagine he just stinks of farts. I hope he dies. The 80s animated film is over 9000 times better. Expand

See all 471 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Music Video Directors Turned Film Directors

    Ranked: Music Video Directors Turned Film Directors Image
    Published: August 31, 2010
    Before Anton Corbijn was directing feature films like this week's "The American," he was the driving force behind iconic music videos for Depeche Mode, U2, and Nirvana. Inside, we look at the careers of Corbijn and over 20 other directors who have made the jump from MTV to the big screen.