User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 84 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 74 out of 84
  2. Negative: 7 out of 84

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 23, 2010
    8
    Treasure Island in space? very amusing for a clever movie.
  2. May 25, 2014
    8
    I know Treasure Planet just isn't the animated movie Disney had hoped for, but still the film flopped at the box office and it really hurts. But I haven't seen the movie yet, I've heard it's a good Disney movie and it may not be the best Disney movie just yet, but the animators just did a fantastic job on how the film just took exactly 10 years before the film's release in 2002 and theI know Treasure Planet just isn't the animated movie Disney had hoped for, but still the film flopped at the box office and it really hurts. But I haven't seen the movie yet, I've heard it's a good Disney movie and it may not be the best Disney movie just yet, but the animators just did a fantastic job on how the film just took exactly 10 years before the film's release in 2002 and the story looks a little familiar, but the acting is great, the CGI elements are incredible and even though it's still a cult following as of today, I think I might give it a go and buy it on Blu-Ray. Treasure Planet is a must-see. Maybe one of the most underrated movies in Disney history. Expand
  3. Mar 30, 2014
    8
    It may not be Disney's greatest masterpiece, but I strongly urge every Disney fan to see this movie at least once to support it. This film is beautifully made, it has great visuals for a 2-dimensional animated film and I like the whole concept of it being a space themed version of the classic novel Treasure Island. Unfortunately this film was a flop in the box-office and it's such a shameIt may not be Disney's greatest masterpiece, but I strongly urge every Disney fan to see this movie at least once to support it. This film is beautifully made, it has great visuals for a 2-dimensional animated film and I like the whole concept of it being a space themed version of the classic novel Treasure Island. Unfortunately this film was a flop in the box-office and it's such a shame that not a lot of people gave this movie a chance; so I insist that you to see this film if you haven't already. This is a misunderstood film that you should see. Expand
  4. Oct 5, 2011
    6
    Ehhh...Kinda out of the point, but still "Treasure Planet" is a well made decent animation you'll survive.
  5. Mar 15, 2011
    0
    Instead of opting for a movie called "Treasure Island," Disney made the ridiculous mistake of making this pile of gimmicky garbage called "Treasure Planet." Personally, I blame this movie for destroying 2-d animated movies in the early 2000s, and I was really disappointed by Ron Clements and John Musker here, considering they've created the masterpieces "Aladdin" and "The Little Mermaid."Instead of opting for a movie called "Treasure Island," Disney made the ridiculous mistake of making this pile of gimmicky garbage called "Treasure Planet." Personally, I blame this movie for destroying 2-d animated movies in the early 2000s, and I was really disappointed by Ron Clements and John Musker here, considering they've created the masterpieces "Aladdin" and "The Little Mermaid." Thankfully, they and Disney were able to redeem themselves by creating "The Princess and the Frog." Expand
  6. Jan 2, 2012
    6
    Although it has great adventure and action with fantastic animation. It is very forgetful, with not memorable characters, lines or a story. I give this movie 56%.
  7. Jun 10, 2012
    9
    Treasure Planet has not been greeted with negative reception, by any means. But compared to other Disney films, the response has been lukewarm at best, and Treasure Planet was a major box office flop. But here's the catch: It's really good. Like, really, really good. Treasure Planet is inspired by the Robert Louis Stevenson's classic, Treasure Island. Having not read the book myself, ITreasure Planet has not been greeted with negative reception, by any means. But compared to other Disney films, the response has been lukewarm at best, and Treasure Planet was a major box office flop. But here's the catch: It's really good. Like, really, really good. Treasure Planet is inspired by the Robert Louis Stevenson's classic, Treasure Island. Having not read the book myself, I cannot judge how closely the movie follows the book (my guess is not much due to the fact that this is an outer space adventure), but it provides a wonderfully entertaining yarn anyway. Jim is something of a rebel, but it's mostly his Dad's fault for leaving him and his mother at such a young age. Jim is constantly in trouble with the law, and his mother doesn't know what to do with her nearly-adult son. But when Jim gets a map from a deranged sea captain, Jim hopes to redeem himself and bring back the gold of Treasure Planet. A canine friend named Doppler tag along, as the two sail on a ship with a questionable crew, a cyborg cook named Mr. Silver, the captain named Amelia, and a host of others. The characters are instantly memorable. Yes, we have the stereotype "cute" character in the form of a shapeshifting alien named Morph. Yes, we have the stereotype villain in the form of a sneaky spider named Scroop. And yes, we have the stereotype "humor" character in the form of a robot named B.E.N. (who I didn't find all that funny at all). But there's a slew of original characters elsewhere. The protagonist, for example, Jim is a slightly different glove than the kind Disney usually likes to wear. Far from perfect with a messed up moral compass, Jim is rebellious, and doesn't like to take orders, but we see him change throughout the movie into a much more respectable chap. Likewise, Mr. Silver, who is the film's primary villain, never really knows if he wants to help Jim, or deploy his villainous plot to take the booty of Treasure Planet for himself. He's an interesting villain, far more interesting than almost any other villain that Disney has brought us so far. The visuals are incredible. Stunning. Really some of Disney's best. The same technology used in Disney's, also gorgeous, Tarzan film has been employed here with even better results. CGI backgrounds and often props mix with traditionally animated characters creating a visually superb film. And of course, Treasure Planet is hilarious. While B.E.N. is more than a tad annoying, he has some redeeming lines, and there are lots of other humorous characters as well. Captain Amelia gets a lot of great lines, and Doctor Doppler is equally funny. The score was unexpectedly wonderful. This is really some of Disney's best work in the music department. Composed by James Newton Howard (a composer I've had mixed feelings about), the score balances emotion and playfulness skillfully, applying enough strong, triumphant tunes as well for some of the more grand scenes. Unfortunately for Treasure Planet, there is a montage that occurs just before the halfway point, that was just screaming for the score to kick in and deliver the musical masterpiece to get it nominated for Best Original Score. Alas, Treasure Planet has decided to insert an incredibly irritating lyrical song instead. The song has an extremely loud and annoying sounding drum section, and an ill-fitting electric guitar. What could've been the centerpiece of the film, turns out to be the worst part, and this really is a shame. Treasure Planet shocked me by delivering one of Disney's best films so far. There's an abundance of memorable characters that you really care about, beautiful animation, and it's naturally hilarious. And while these are all important traits for a film, Treasure Planet also has something even more important: A heart. Treasure Planet doesn't settle for artificial sentimental stuff that so many other films have adopted and use only to attract a broader audience. Treasure Planet brings us a genuinely emotional film that I will not soon forget. Expand
  8. Jan 16, 2013
    8
    I utterly adore this movie. While it isn't Disney's best work, it is my personal favorite. I'm a huge fan of anything pirate themed and an even bigger fan of Treasure Island. While it doesn't go anywhere near levels of depth the book had, but for a Disney Sci-fi take on it, it was very good. There is allot in the movie you need to take with a grain of salt, it is an animated movie aboutI utterly adore this movie. While it isn't Disney's best work, it is my personal favorite. I'm a huge fan of anything pirate themed and an even bigger fan of Treasure Island. While it doesn't go anywhere near levels of depth the book had, but for a Disney Sci-fi take on it, it was very good. There is allot in the movie you need to take with a grain of salt, it is an animated movie about space pirates after all. If I had to make one criticism, then it would have to be the robot Ben. Martin Short's performance is just too over the top and it just doesn't feel right in regards to the rest of the characters in the movie. Overall: A great movie, that will always be one of my Disney favorites. Expand
  9. Aug 1, 2014
    6
    The biggest problem I had with this movie is that the characters are very forgettable. This movie had a big problem with the run time. The character needed much more time too develop for you to get really interested in it. Though I must say I found the voice acting really interesting and good. But as I said I believe this movie needed much more time like 2 hours. I have already forgottenThe biggest problem I had with this movie is that the characters are very forgettable. This movie had a big problem with the run time. The character needed much more time too develop for you to get really interested in it. Though I must say I found the voice acting really interesting and good. But as I said I believe this movie needed much more time like 2 hours. I have already forgotten most of the characters name. I think however the movie had a interesting plot especially when it comes to creativity. The monsters are very unique and interesting to watch. Whatsoever I have too give this a lower score, we have to stay true to criticizing. The movie needed a longer time to develop and enhance it's characters. Expand
  10. Dec 4, 2014
    9
    This movie is great when it comes to detail. Even if something is on the screen for less than a couple of seconds, whether it be the whirring of John Silver's cyborg arm or the huge bird things on the moon base thingy, It looks absolutely AMAZING! I liked it, mainly for the visuals, and the idea of Treasure Island In Space.
  11. Oct 26, 2014
    8
    i think this film has ben severely underrated i really like how the film handles the relationship between John Silver and Jim Hawkins as similar to a father and son and the other characters are pretty decent too with the exception of B.E.N.

    it has it's issues with the design choices but i loved the animation and the voice acting is great, it doesn't change too much from what made
    i think this film has ben severely underrated i really like how the film handles the relationship between John Silver and Jim Hawkins as similar to a father and son and the other characters are pretty decent too with the exception of B.E.N.

    it has it's issues with the design choices but i loved the animation and the voice acting is great, it doesn't change too much from what made treasure island great (apart from the obvious) and i would love to see the movie get more respect
    Expand
  12. Mar 30, 2015
    9
    I loved the blend of CGI and 2D animation. An incredible visual masterpiece. You still have all the old great qualities of the Disney name and some new additions. Some great voice talent from Joseph Gordon Levitt, Martine Short and others. It also happens to be an incredible tear jerker.
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 30
  2. Negative: 3 out of 30
  1. Combining cutting-edge computer animation with traditional two-dimensional characters, Treasure Planet pops off the screen, reviving Stevenson's adventure with surprising accuracy.
  2. Quite honestly, you could nap for an hour and not miss a thing, but when the crew finally makes it to the glowing piles of booty at Treasure Planet's core, the film unleashes some pleasing visual fireworks. That's where it should have started, not ended.
  3. Disney's updated, animated version respects its source material while aiming at kids who grew up with extreme sports and edgy music.