Buena Vista Pictures | Release Date: November 5, 2002
8.1
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 119 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
101
Mixed:
10
Negative:
8
WATCH NOW
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
MaddieS.Sep 27, 2005
I'm 14 and this is one of my favourite Disney films, like, EVER!!!!!!!!!!! the music is great (I hum it to myself all the time) and if Jim was real and went to my school none of the girls would ever leave him alone! (I'm not being I'm 14 and this is one of my favourite Disney films, like, EVER!!!!!!!!!!! the music is great (I hum it to myself all the time) and if Jim was real and went to my school none of the girls would ever leave him alone! (I'm not being creepy or anything, I'm just trying to say he looks cool.) Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
EmilyM.Nov 9, 2009
I know that a 10 out of 10 rating might seem a little overzealous, but I honestly believe it deserves it. This is by far one of the best Disney films ever made. It spans both the "classics" era and the "new animation" era beautifully. It I know that a 10 out of 10 rating might seem a little overzealous, but I honestly believe it deserves it. This is by far one of the best Disney films ever made. It spans both the "classics" era and the "new animation" era beautifully. It manages to have a level of depth that entices older viewers, while it stays kid friendly by having a basic plot that's easy to follow and humor that they can understand. It has a phenomenal cast and an outstanding soundtrack. I don't understand the reasoning behind the bad reviews this movie gets, but it definitely doesn't deserve it. It's a shame that it managed to slip through the cracks between the other kid movies that came out around the same time, and it deserves much more recognition than it has gotten. This movie is absolutely wonderful and I recommend it to anyone who likes Disney, old or new, enjoys good music, has ever been underestimated, and has dared to follow their dreams and prove themselves. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SaraApr 30, 2003
I love this movie, I already have it. I got it the day it came out, on the 19th ^_^ I can't get enough of it. I don't understand why people don't like it. The story is great and the characters are ones to relate too. Captain I love this movie, I already have it. I got it the day it came out, on the 19th ^_^ I can't get enough of it. I don't understand why people don't like it. The story is great and the characters are ones to relate too. Captain Amelia is wonderfull, I don't think that haveing animal characters with human characteristics is a bad thing. It's cute, and captures a kid's mind. I'm 15 and I LOVE Disney movies, Lion King is my all time fav along with others, but Treasure Planet captured me and alot of my friends, so I think those who don't like it should see it again, they weren't paying attention or don't have an open mind. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
KellyAug 25, 2003
Magical and touching, full of adventure. i loved it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
varneFeb 18, 2005
OUTSTANDING, a Disney film to be remembered, once again Disney has created a film truly worth watching time and time again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
OmarG.Nov 6, 2008
A film with a delicacy for young children, but with a theme that extends out to those not so young. Although a basic plot, this film is full of magic and fantastic music. It's a film to be enjoyed by all.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
LukeH.Feb 28, 2003
Never fails. A non-Japanese animator tries something original and the critics decide they'll hate it before they see it. This picture was beautifully animated and captures all of the adventure of the novel on which it was based. David Never fails. A non-Japanese animator tries something original and the critics decide they'll hate it before they see it. This picture was beautifully animated and captures all of the adventure of the novel on which it was based. David Hyde Pierce and Martin Short are comic geniuses, the music was brilliant, and the film in general was great. I went to see it four times--it could've been more if the critics hadn't turned everyone off to it. (Oscar or bust!) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
HoverReidMay 2, 2016
I am giving it a 10 out of 10 because it deserves it.
The animation was way ahead of it's time, the story was really good and the characters really gave me the feels. The soundtrack was great just like everything else.
People were really
I am giving it a 10 out of 10 because it deserves it.
The animation was way ahead of it's time, the story was really good and the characters really gave me the feels. The soundtrack was great just like everything else.
People were really narrow minded during the time it came out, they just could not get the meaning behind it.
It truly is baffling when you see stuff like Treasure Planet, Road to El Dorado and Sinbad have such bad scores, all of them are so underrated.

This movie gave me so much feels and by the end I felt so bittersweet, when I saw Silver's face in the clouds...
10/10 re-watched it a bunch of times already and the soundtrack is replaying in my phone constantly.
Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
10
AzurealZXMay 2, 2016
This movie was amazing.
The interactions between Jim and Silver felt so natural and heart warming,
It's a shame that critics like always - don't understand anything... They rate movies with one-dimensional villains and goody-two-shoes
This movie was amazing.
The interactions between Jim and Silver felt so natural and heart warming,
It's a shame that critics like always - don't understand anything...
They rate movies with one-dimensional villains and goody-two-shoes protagonists as masterpieces while this unique gem with utmost quality lives under the shadow of alot of other inferior Disney movies that people refer to them as masterpieces and classics.
The animation was jaw-dropping, it holds up extremely well even by today's standards. Imagine this animation back in 2002, what did people think when they saw it? This was so ahead of it's time. Way ahead of a time where people could not recognize a masterpiece under their nose.
The music was phenomenal. Goo Goo Dolls outdid themselves with the ''I'm still here'' song.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
LandFJun 10, 2012
Treasure Planet has not been greeted with negative reception, by any means. But compared to other Disney films, the response has been lukewarm at best, and Treasure Planet was a major box office flop. But here's the catch: It's really good.Treasure Planet has not been greeted with negative reception, by any means. But compared to other Disney films, the response has been lukewarm at best, and Treasure Planet was a major box office flop. But here's the catch: It's really good. Like, really, really good. Treasure Planet is inspired by the Robert Louis Stevenson's classic, Treasure Island. Having not read the book myself, I cannot judge how closely the movie follows the book (my guess is not much due to the fact that this is an outer space adventure), but it provides a wonderfully entertaining yarn anyway. Jim is something of a rebel, but it's mostly his Dad's fault for leaving him and his mother at such a young age. Jim is constantly in trouble with the law, and his mother doesn't know what to do with her nearly-adult son. But when Jim gets a map from a deranged sea captain, Jim hopes to redeem himself and bring back the gold of Treasure Planet. A canine friend named Doppler tag along, as the two sail on a ship with a questionable crew, a cyborg cook named Mr. Silver, the captain named Amelia, and a host of others. The characters are instantly memorable. Yes, we have the stereotype "cute" character in the form of a shapeshifting alien named Morph. Yes, we have the stereotype villain in the form of a sneaky spider named Scroop. And yes, we have the stereotype "humor" character in the form of a robot named B.E.N. (who I didn't find all that funny at all). But there's a slew of original characters elsewhere. The protagonist, for example, Jim is a slightly different glove than the kind Disney usually likes to wear. Far from perfect with a messed up moral compass, Jim is rebellious, and doesn't like to take orders, but we see him change throughout the movie into a much more respectable chap. Likewise, Mr. Silver, who is the film's primary villain, never really knows if he wants to help Jim, or deploy his villainous plot to take the booty of Treasure Planet for himself. He's an interesting villain, far more interesting than almost any other villain that Disney has brought us so far. The visuals are incredible. Stunning. Really some of Disney's best. The same technology used in Disney's, also gorgeous, Tarzan film has been employed here with even better results. CGI backgrounds and often props mix with traditionally animated characters creating a visually superb film. And of course, Treasure Planet is hilarious. While B.E.N. is more than a tad annoying, he has some redeeming lines, and there are lots of other humorous characters as well. Captain Amelia gets a lot of great lines, and Doctor Doppler is equally funny. The score was unexpectedly wonderful. This is really some of Disney's best work in the music department. Composed by James Newton Howard (a composer I've had mixed feelings about), the score balances emotion and playfulness skillfully, applying enough strong, triumphant tunes as well for some of the more grand scenes. Unfortunately for Treasure Planet, there is a montage that occurs just before the halfway point, that was just screaming for the score to kick in and deliver the musical masterpiece to get it nominated for Best Original Score. Alas, Treasure Planet has decided to insert an incredibly irritating lyrical song instead. The song has an extremely loud and annoying sounding drum section, and an ill-fitting electric guitar. What could've been the centerpiece of the film, turns out to be the worst part, and this really is a shame. Treasure Planet shocked me by delivering one of Disney's best films so far. There's an abundance of memorable characters that you really care about, beautiful animation, and it's naturally hilarious. And while these are all important traits for a film, Treasure Planet also has something even more important: A heart. Treasure Planet doesn't settle for artificial sentimental stuff that so many other films have adopted and use only to attract a broader audience. Treasure Planet brings us a genuinely emotional film that I will not soon forget. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
MultiJWalkingDec 4, 2014
This movie is great when it comes to detail. Even if something is on the screen for less than a couple of seconds, whether it be the whirring of John Silver's cyborg arm or the huge bird things on the moon base thingy, It looks absolutelyThis movie is great when it comes to detail. Even if something is on the screen for less than a couple of seconds, whether it be the whirring of John Silver's cyborg arm or the huge bird things on the moon base thingy, It looks absolutely AMAZING! I liked it, mainly for the visuals, and the idea of Treasure Island In Space. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
homer4presidentMar 30, 2015
I loved the blend of CGI and 2D animation. An incredible visual masterpiece. You still have all the old great qualities of the Disney name and some new additions. Some great voice talent from Joseph Gordon Levitt, Martine Short and others.I loved the blend of CGI and 2D animation. An incredible visual masterpiece. You still have all the old great qualities of the Disney name and some new additions. Some great voice talent from Joseph Gordon Levitt, Martine Short and others. It also happens to be an incredible tear jerker. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
MarkK.Jan 16, 2010
Although the characters could have been stronger this is still a pretty under-rated film.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
MovieLonely94Oct 23, 2010
Treasure Island in space? very amusing for a clever movie.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
KadeemluvmusicMay 25, 2014
I know Treasure Planet just isn't the animated movie Disney had hoped for, but still the film flopped at the box office and it really hurts. But I haven't seen the movie yet, I've heard it's a good Disney movie and it may not be the bestI know Treasure Planet just isn't the animated movie Disney had hoped for, but still the film flopped at the box office and it really hurts. But I haven't seen the movie yet, I've heard it's a good Disney movie and it may not be the best Disney movie just yet, but the animators just did a fantastic job on how the film just took exactly 10 years before the film's release in 2002 and the story looks a little familiar, but the acting is great, the CGI elements are incredible and even though it's still a cult following as of today, I think I might give it a go and buy it on Blu-Ray. Treasure Planet is a must-see. Maybe one of the most underrated movies in Disney history. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
Rox22Jan 16, 2013
I utterly adore this movie. While it isn't Disney's best work, it is my personal favorite. I'm a huge fan of anything pirate themed and an even bigger fan of Treasure Island. While it doesn't go anywhere near levels of depth the book had, butI utterly adore this movie. While it isn't Disney's best work, it is my personal favorite. I'm a huge fan of anything pirate themed and an even bigger fan of Treasure Island. While it doesn't go anywhere near levels of depth the book had, but for a Disney Sci-fi take on it, it was very good. There is allot in the movie you need to take with a grain of salt, it is an animated movie about space pirates after all. If I had to make one criticism, then it would have to be the robot Ben. Martin Short's performance is just too over the top and it just doesn't feel right in regards to the rest of the characters in the movie. Overall: A great movie, that will always be one of my Disney favorites. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
DrewtheDude85Mar 30, 2014
It may not be Disney's greatest masterpiece, but I strongly urge every Disney fan to see this movie at least once to support it. This film is beautifully made, it has great visuals for a 2-dimensional animated film and I like the wholeIt may not be Disney's greatest masterpiece, but I strongly urge every Disney fan to see this movie at least once to support it. This film is beautifully made, it has great visuals for a 2-dimensional animated film and I like the whole concept of it being a space themed version of the classic novel Treasure Island. Unfortunately this film was a flop in the box-office and it's such a shame that not a lot of people gave this movie a chance; so I insist that you to see this film if you haven't already. This is a misunderstood film that you should see. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
NerdConsultantOct 26, 2014
i think this film has ben severely underrated i really like how the film handles the relationship between John Silver and Jim Hawkins as similar to a father and son and the other characters are pretty decent too with the exception of B.E.N.i think this film has ben severely underrated i really like how the film handles the relationship between John Silver and Jim Hawkins as similar to a father and son and the other characters are pretty decent too with the exception of B.E.N.

it has it's issues with the design choices but i loved the animation and the voice acting is great, it doesn't change too much from what made treasure island great (apart from the obvious) and i would love to see the movie get more respect
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
CriticFerJun 24, 2016
Treasure Planet is one of Disney best films. Even is not so faithful to the book, the film works very well in animation, characters and script. It is one of the best Disney classics.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
EpicLadySpongeApr 6, 2016
Treasure Planet is any adventure in space looking for your average treasure. Based on Treasure Island, this one manages to stay true to the book it's based on. Pirates in space as well? Oh boy, better start calling them space pirates becauseTreasure Planet is any adventure in space looking for your average treasure. Based on Treasure Island, this one manages to stay true to the book it's based on. Pirates in space as well? Oh boy, better start calling them space pirates because no normal pirate can live in space unless they're willing to put up a fight to get the treasure. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews