Metascore
37

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 19
  2. Negative: 8 out of 19
  1. Reviewed by: James Berardinelli
    Oct 16, 2011
    38
    Trespass is a home invasion movie, but not a clever, taut one; it's sloppy and obvious, with curves so un-serpentine they might as well be straightaways.
  2. Reviewed by: Stephen Holden
    Oct 13, 2011
    30
    So why? Why would stars of the magnitude of Mr. Cage and Ms. Kidman sign on to a project whose screenplay is so inept that the movie, even if profitable, will stand as a career-impeding setback? Can't they read?
  3. Reviewed by: Wesley Morris
    Oct 13, 2011
    25
    One of those movies that an audience knows is terrible the minute it starts.
  4. Reviewed by: Steven Rea
    Oct 13, 2011
    25
    An astoundingly senseless thriller.
  5. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Oct 13, 2011
    20
    Can someone explain what Nicolas Cage and Nicole Kidman are doing in a chaotic and sadistic home-invasion thriller, shot in digital colors so radioactive they appear to have leaked out of the Fukushima nuclear plant?
  6. Reviewed by: Kyle Smith
    Oct 14, 2011
    12
    Cage and director Joel Schumacher, who has fallen so far from the A-list that he provokes a demand for new letters of the alphabet after Z, have each found their cinematic soulmates.
  7. Reviewed by: Rex Reed
    Oct 11, 2011
    25
    How many ways can a film go wrong? Too many to list, and Trespass finds them all.
  8. Reviewed by: R. Kurt Osenlund
    Oct 10, 2011
    25
    A jerky, clamorous domestic thriller that attempts, with nonsense and expletives turned up to full volume, to say something thrillingly profound about the depths of misery one can reach while doing financial damage control.
User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 40 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 12
  2. Negative: 5 out of 12
  1. Oct 24, 2011
    2
    Well, the signs were not very good, when Millennium Entertainment decided to shoot straight for Blu-Ray and On-Demand with only 9 theatres showing "Trespass." And, the fears have been confirmed: the film is an utter disaster. It is really the last thing either Kidman or Cage needed, but they got it. The screenplay is atrocious, with so many twists and turns it makes you sick. None of it is original - don't be fooled. The film goes for quantity instead of quality, hence the attempt to look "smart" while shifting plot lines like it's no one's business. Nicholas Cage (whom I usually take to be a rather good actor) is simply horrid, as is pretty much everyone else in the cast. I love Nicole Kidman, but she just ended up screaming and giving scared looks throughout most of the film. Then again, she couldn't do much with such thinly written characters. She at least looked stunningly beautiful, and it was rather nice to see her lips be regular shape and volume again, after much fuss over her face and plastic surgery/botox stuff. But, to get back to the point - Trespass is stunningly annoying, with horrible, cheesy dialogue, unnecessary and improbable plot changes, and lame editing. Overall, I would not pay even the "On-Demand" price for it, since it's not worth it. To be honest, though, I never expected much from the director of "Batman Forever" in the first place, so I'm not even surprised. Full Review »
  2. Nov 13, 2014
    3
    "Trespass" 10 Scale Rating: 3.5 (Bad) ...

    The Good: Well ... Cam Gigandet didn't annoy the crap out of me in this movie. I guess that is a
    plus.

    The Bad: ... everyone else did. It doesn't bode well for a film when I WANT the bad guys to off the hostages and then die themselves in a fiery car accident directly afterwards. What a mess of a movie.
    Full Review »
  3. Sep 20, 2014
    8
    Has Nicholas Cage ever made a bad movie? Granted that some haven't been as good as Trespass, but when you see Nicholas Cage's name, you know you're always going to be entertained. Teaming up with famed Director Joel Schumacher and the always intense Nicole Kidman, Cage stars in a type of film we've all seen before. Trespass has a common storyline, but it's done in an unexpected way, with an ending that will leave you speechless. Kyle Miller (Nicholas Cage) is a wealthy diamond merchant, who has finally built the mansion he's always wanted. It has also made him a target for a sophisticated team of thieves, who want their share. Surprised at home one night, the Miller family is held hostage. Positive that if he gives them what he wants his family is dead, Kyle refuses their demands, leading to an epic standoff. Nicholas Cage shows a different side in Trespass, as he's not the cunning hero that saves the day, but rather a family man, trying to protect his family. He's paired with Nicole Kidman, who while being a terrific actress, usually makes films I have no interest in seeing. An action thriller is also something out of the norm for her, but she handled it like a pro and her chemistry with Nicholas Cage was outstanding! Finally, the cast is rounded out by OC star and teen heartthrob Cam Gigandet. I've made it clear that I feel a lot of these "heartthrobs" only get jobs because of their looks, and if that's the rule, Gigandet is the exception. Playing both sides in the conflict, the young star does an outstanding job. Gigandet's character is easily the most complex, having to play the good and the bad guy. It's his role and the twist associated with it that makes the whole film rise above similar films like Panic Room. On the surface Trespass is just another copycat, but the story turns out to be far more complex than a home invasion. A unique cast of characters with terrific chemistry, combined with one of my favorite Directors, make for what can only be called a must see movie! Full Review »