Magnolia Pictures | Release Date: June 10, 2011
7.2
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 104 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
69
Mixed:
29
Negative:
6
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
DirigiblePulpFeb 1, 2017
This is pretty alright. It's fun at times but it is what it is and nothing more. I'm not sure it has aged the best since the found footage genre has died down. It really doesn't "feel" real or authentic. I guess it's not supposed to? Again,This is pretty alright. It's fun at times but it is what it is and nothing more. I'm not sure it has aged the best since the found footage genre has died down. It really doesn't "feel" real or authentic. I guess it's not supposed to? Again, it's alright. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Meth-dudeMay 24, 2015
This mockumentary about trolls had a good original concept but the movie falls flat and gets pretty boring fast.The acting was actually not that bad and the trolls were well made but the movie was not good.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
MattBrady99Mar 13, 2015
The trolls in the movie are pretty damn big would other people see the trolls walking down a hill or over the freaking city, the visual effect's are Okay looking I mean they are not the worst CGI that I seen I just think it looks a bit like aThe trolls in the movie are pretty damn big would other people see the trolls walking down a hill or over the freaking city, the visual effect's are Okay looking I mean they are not the worst CGI that I seen I just think it looks a bit like a game when the move around and the final nick pick that I have is the movie reminds me of shadow of the colossus. the trolls in the movie are really scary and frightening at times. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
DemonPigFeb 13, 2015
A fairly tedious and repetitive film. It delivers a few chuckles along the way and some interesting visual concepts of "beasts" and desolate Norwegian scenery but overall, the suspense just isn't there and protagonists are rather unlikeable,A fairly tedious and repetitive film. It delivers a few chuckles along the way and some interesting visual concepts of "beasts" and desolate Norwegian scenery but overall, the suspense just isn't there and protagonists are rather unlikeable, with the exception of the troll hunter himself. I was honestly bored half way through and the ending did nothing for me, not much of a climax. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
nutterjrFeb 14, 2012
A Norwegian "Blair Witch Project" style mockumentary about a hunter after trolls gone wild is almost as surreal as it sounds. Not sure what to make of the result but I can only assume it might be worth exploring the prospect of watching itA Norwegian "Blair Witch Project" style mockumentary about a hunter after trolls gone wild is almost as surreal as it sounds. Not sure what to make of the result but I can only assume it might be worth exploring the prospect of watching it whilst wearing a top hat, a ballerina dress and swimming flippers whilst popping acid. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
4
HalfwelshmanJan 26, 2012
Troll Hunter is the latest in the rapidly tiring trend of handheld camera mockumentary films. It documents a group of students following a mysterious poacher (Otto Jespersen) who turns out to be a troll hunter, tasked with keeping theTroll Hunter is the latest in the rapidly tiring trend of handheld camera mockumentary films. It documents a group of students following a mysterious poacher (Otto Jespersen) who turns out to be a troll hunter, tasked with keeping the population of these mythical creatures under control, and to prevent them coming into contact with humans. This story is intriguing at first, and there's some nice allusions to folklore woven into the narrative (trolls turning to stone in sunlight, their tendency to hide under bridges), but it rapidly deteriorates into drudgery. The trolls that are so central to the plot are very convincing, and some great visual effects and sound design has gone into their creation, but the film's limited budget means we don't see them on screen nearly often enough. I also question the decision to make the film a mockumentary - though this style is entertaining enough at first, and makes the story slightly more believable, it is far too limiting a filmic device in terms of what the viewer can actually see, and especially in terms of characterisation. Had Troll Hunter been filmed simply as a conventional narrative film, we might have had more opportunity to get to know our characters, but as it is, they remain enigmas, both when behind the camera or when running for their lives in front of it. The story as a whole, primarily due to the way it is filmed, is very uneven in terms of pace. Whenever any kind of momentum or tension is successfully built up, it is lost in the very next scene by some clunky expositional dialogue or a scene that is particularly jarring in its change in tone from the rest of the film. What Troll Hunter does get right (though, again, you would appreciate it more in a more conventionally filmed movie) is that it makes the most of the stunning Norwegian landscape in which the story is set. The action (at least, what action there is) takes place in a huge variety of atmospheric locations - from dark, creepy forests to claustrophobic caverns to open, mountainous plateaus. The film's stunning finale takes place in the latter setting, and this desolate, snow-covered vista is perfect for the final showdown with a particularly big, particularly nasty troll. Troll Hunter has an interesting premise, and the production design, sound and visual effects are top-notch, but an unevenly paced plot, underdevelopment of characters and the use of a tired format detracts from the overall viewing experience. I sincerely hope the trend for mockumentaries is close to dying out, as it's becoming a bit of an annoyance, and unless you're the rare exception to the rule (Cloverfield) it's just an excuse to film things badly, and dispense with character altogether. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
YazahSep 2, 2011
This was supposed to be a comedy / horror type of movie, and yet it was not at all scary or funny. Still, it was fun (except for the overly repeated running with the camera sequences), and decently made.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
filmtrashreviewAug 25, 2011
You know a film with this title is going to be a comedy it has to be. The problem with TrollHunter is that you can't tell when the comedy begins and the drama of a situation ends. Don't get me wrong there are some very funny lines like "WhyYou know a film with this title is going to be a comedy it has to be. The problem with TrollHunter is that you can't tell when the comedy begins and the drama of a situation ends. Don't get me wrong there are some very funny lines like "Why couldn't he just say he was Christian." However these funny moments are rare leaving me to question the exact intentions of such a silly silly concept. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
MorriBeyAug 20, 2011
Hmm. Its alright. Its cloverfield and blair witch project combined. But it has no real tension and it feels like its missing pieces...probably due to editing. The ending is very disappointing.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
MarcDoyleJun 26, 2011
It's a "fun" Blair Witch rip-off that unfortunately makes its big reveal in the trailer and about half way through the film. After you see the first troll and how it's dealt with, the suspense is gone, and you're just wondering how big theIt's a "fun" Blair Witch rip-off that unfortunately makes its big reveal in the trailer and about half way through the film. After you see the first troll and how it's dealt with, the suspense is gone, and you're just wondering how big the biggest troll will get. Yes, the comedic plays on the traditions (the blood of a Christian Man, etc.) are giggle-worthy, but the whole thing is just flat enough to not put it over the top into recommended territory. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews