Trollhunter

Trollhunter Image
Metascore
61

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 95 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The government says there’s nothing to worry about – it’s just a problem with bears making trouble in the mountains and forests of Norway. But local hunters don’t believe it – and neither do a trio of college students who want to find out the truth. Armed with a video camera, they trail aThe government says there’s nothing to worry about – it’s just a problem with bears making trouble in the mountains and forests of Norway. But local hunters don’t believe it – and neither do a trio of college students who want to find out the truth. Armed with a video camera, they trail a mysterious “poacher,” who wants nothing to do with them. But their persistence lands them straight in the path of the objects of his pursuits: Trolls. They soon find themselves documenting every move of this grizzled, unlikely hero – The Troll Hunter – risking their lives to uncover the secrets of creatures only thought to exist in fairy tales. (Magnolia Pictures) Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 25
  2. Negative: 4 out of 25
  1. Reviewed by: Eric Kohn
    Jun 6, 2011
    100
    The Troll Hunter offers high-caliber entertainment despite a low-budget production.
  2. Reviewed by: David Rooney
    Jun 5, 2011
    80
    The Troll Hunter injects inventiveness, folkloric idiosyncrasy and deadpan humor into the overexploited faux-documentary trend. A generous dollop of "Jurassic Park" inspiration doesn't hurt either.
  3. Reviewed by: Michael Wilmington
    Jun 23, 2011
    80
    The film is shot with handheld cameras in the standard mockumentary style, but the content is often hilarious, especially when the trolls show up. There's also a marvelous deadpan comic performance by Otto Jespersen as a troll-hunter and tireless dispenser of troll lore.
  4. Reviewed by: Marc Savlov
    Jun 16, 2011
    67
    Plays like the Brothers Grimm meets "Cloverfield" with a hint of Monty Python-esque ridiculousness. For a small indie film from Norway, Trollhunter rocks it gargantuan style and then some.
  5. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Jul 1, 2011
    63
    Trollhunter has a lot of down time as the crew treks to the fjords, but it's also got dryly subversive humor and, eventually, some impressive special effects.
  6. Reviewed by: Joshua Rothkopf
    Jun 7, 2011
    60
    As with so many modern fantasy films, the sequences here seem designed to go viral on YouTube in a flash of coolness, not necessarily linger in the mind or heart.
  7. Reviewed by: Joe Neumaier
    Jun 10, 2011
    20
    This is what happens when the Norwegians try to make their own "Blair Witch Project": We get three-headed trolls that hate Vitamin D and references to "Deliverance."

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 22
  2. Negative: 1 out of 22
  1. Sep 14, 2011
    10
    I didnt see this as a horror nor as a comedy; I saw it as original and interesting. It's about the trollhunter and how he deals with his jobI didnt see this as a horror nor as a comedy; I saw it as original and interesting. It's about the trollhunter and how he deals with his job and life. And I take my job seriously and i get angry sometimes but I also have some fun in it and funny things happen. It's that real life association to such a strange concept that makes it work

    It's great fun, if you go in not expecting a horror or a comedy.
    Expand
  2. Apr 14, 2013
    10
    Trollhunter is pretty easily my favorite movie of all time. I'm a big fan of the Sci-fi genre and the Found Footage genre and this is myTrollhunter is pretty easily my favorite movie of all time. I'm a big fan of the Sci-fi genre and the Found Footage genre and this is my favorite in both catagories. Expand
  3. Nov 7, 2014
    10
    Excellent movie. Moves quickly, special effects were much better than I expected. Great story. Amazing sound.

    Netflix had been trying to
    Excellent movie. Moves quickly, special effects were much better than I expected. Great story. Amazing sound.

    Netflix had been trying to recommend this to me for a long time. Glad I finally acquiesced.
    Expand
  4. Apr 15, 2016
    7
    Trollhunter is a lot fun and a truly unique film in the found footage and mockumentary sub-genre. The acting is good and the camera work isTrollhunter is a lot fun and a truly unique film in the found footage and mockumentary sub-genre. The acting is good and the camera work is just the right level between look found footage quality and watchable. Additionally, the premise of a man being a trollhunter for the government is really cool to watch unfold, as are the history and lore of the trolls various tribes in Norway. In this sense, the film is perfect. However, it is held back by simply not being too scary and by being found footage. I am not a huge fan of the style and here, it is used very well, but is just too much at times, especially when they are running. That said, the creature design is great and the film's characters work well even if they have no depth (not that they should for this type of film). Above all, it is a good bit of fun and is quite well made. Overall, Trollhunter makes the grade. Expand
  5. Mar 13, 2015
    6
    The trolls in the movie are pretty damn big would other people see the trolls walking down a hill or over the freaking city, the visualThe trolls in the movie are pretty damn big would other people see the trolls walking down a hill or over the freaking city, the visual effect's are Okay looking I mean they are not the worst CGI that I seen I just think it looks a bit like a game when the move around and the final nick pick that I have is the movie reminds me of shadow of the colossus. the trolls in the movie are really scary and frightening at times. Expand
  6. Jun 26, 2011
    5
    It's a "fun" Blair Witch rip-off that unfortunately makes its big reveal in the trailer and about half way through the film. After you see theIt's a "fun" Blair Witch rip-off that unfortunately makes its big reveal in the trailer and about half way through the film. After you see the first troll and how it's dealt with, the suspense is gone, and you're just wondering how big the biggest troll will get. Yes, the comedic plays on the traditions (the blood of a Christian Man, etc.) are giggle-worthy, but the whole thing is just flat enough to not put it over the top into recommended territory. Expand
  7. Mar 17, 2014
    1
    It look's like some sort of low budget documentary it has some good scenes that i saw on trailer and i tried to watch it but noo it's just aIt look's like some sort of low budget documentary it has some good scenes that i saw on trailer and i tried to watch it but noo it's just a waste of time. Expand

See all 22 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best

    Spielberg Movies, Ranked From Worst to Best Image
    Published: June 24, 2016
    We rank every movie directed by Steven Spielberg throughout his 40-plus-year career.
  2. What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video

    What to Watch Now on Amazon Instant Video Image
    Published: June 24, 2016
    Get a list of the best movie and TV titles recently added (and coming soon) to Amazon Instant Video and Prime Instant Video, updated frequently.
  3. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: June 22, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including Independence Day: Resurgence, Free State of Jones, The Shallows, Hunt for the Wilderpeople, The Neon Demon, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  4. 21 Alien Invasion Movies, Ranked from Worst to Best

    21 Alien Invasion Movies, Ranked from Worst to Best Image
    Published: June 21, 2016
    We rank recent alien invasion movies by Metascore.