User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 692 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 65 out of 692

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Ozy
    Apr 2, 2014
    10
    Tron is a hell of a movie! Now I know this ain't everybody's cup of tea. It is a movie with a unique audience. I don't know how i fell into that audience as im not your average syfi guy - im here nonetheless. The story line is fantastic I thoroughly enjoyed every second of it. The idea is also brilliant and jeff bridges was gold. It's one of the first movies I've watched were you know it will form part of a trilogy at the very least. The makers have planted enough seeds that will make the next instalment very meaningful. This is probably one for the guys, the girls will be bored in the first 15mins. Daft Punks music suited it well too. Expand
  2. Oct 26, 2013
    10
    First time feature director Kosinski delivers thrills and a touch of heartache inside a very impressive palate of colors and noise. And I'm not afraid to admit that, as completely muddled and incomprehensible as modern action sequences have become, I enjoyed the fact that our heroes and villains were color-coded. Try to make it to an IMAX theatre for this one.
  3. Jul 18, 2013
    10
    A very advanced film in visuals, which dazzle and give you an eyegasm. The story isn't as powerful and is hard to follow at times, but overall you get the sense of what is going on and what will happen. It is a well acted film and that soundtrack by Daft Punk is something everyone can enjoy! This is a great film!
  4. May 21, 2013
    9
    I have no idea why critics have put so low rating on this movie. Not an absolute masterpiece, but this very unique movie allows you to throw a sight on bright computer world alongside with marvellous Daft Punk music. Fights are very bright and dynamic. Olivia Wilde is very hot, and Jeff Brisged is cool also. If you are fun of cyberpunk this is your movie, even if you are not definitely worth watching. I bet half of critics who gave this movie low rating is old grannys afraid of explosions, flashes and speciall effects. Expand
  5. May 16, 2013
    9
    it freaking awesome get it now
  6. Mar 24, 2013
    10
    Really gets me when people over analyse something they should just sit back and enjoy. People talk about the story and the characters etc etc. It was simple enough to understand but had enough dept to keep you interested. So moving on, even if you didn't like the story look at every frame and listen to every note! AMAZING! I walked out thinking I have never experienced anything like this in my life. I could seriously print any frame in this film and it would look amazing. Just for the music and the style id give it a 10! Expand
  7. Feb 26, 2013
    9
    TRON: Legacy is an awesome science fiction adventure and even though I am no fan of Daft Punk, I thought the musical score was very, very good. It fit the mood perfectly. The animations are brilliantly done, nearly every scene is a piece of art and the costumes looked great. My gripe with this movie is that although the acting was good, especially the fighting cheography, they could have perhaps made what was being said more meaningful at times. It felt to me that some of the things uttered by the characters were redundant and a scene would have been more majestic if they had kept quiet or were given something else to say. For example, at some point a character utters "Long live the users!" and it comes across as quite powerful, very neat quote. The very same character is then made to proclaim "death to the users" and to me it sort of felt as if though it undid some character development there. I thought that Jeff Bridges as the protagonist's father was a good match, I liked his 80's attitude but as the antagonist he simply lacked the charisma to pull off a convincing villain, especially during the speech scene near the end. I would have also liked for the movie to be a bit more technologically-savy oriented. A bit of a pet-peeve but it seemed to me like they could have gotten more out of the movie if they had somehow incorporated some of today's existing terminology into the storyline so that less things seem to happen as if by magic. The hacker angle wasn't exploited enough (for a change!). Plot was slightly on the weak side and the movie seemed to slow down near the end but that straightened itself out mostly and the film came together in the end. I never saw TRON (1982) but it's been bumped up my priority list. Expand
  8. Jan 18, 2013
    10
    I waited 28 years to see a sequel. The light cycle scene was better than expected, but then it is 28 years later. I've seen several complaints about "dude" and "radical" being used, truth is that if you were trapped in the system since the 1980's, your vocabulary would be the same. Visually, overall, it was spectacular. The storyline could have been better, but it's a 28 year in waiting Disney movie sequel. The performances were good. Having Daft Punk do the music score, and the timing was excellent. My only real complaint is that the movies namesake didn't have more screen time. Worth buying. My copy is going up beside the 20th anniversary edition of the first Tron. Expand
  9. Jul 10, 2012
    9
    TRON: Legacy, a film like this, I've waited years for. The storyline was a bit rushed but the dazzling visuals and soundtrack more than made up for it. Daft Punk did a good job on the soundtrack and the special effects team did a more than amazing job. Great work.
  10. Mar 31, 2012
    10
    It does not surprise me the subtle nuance of Tron: Legacy is lost on this new generation of "critics". The subtle elegance of Tron Legacy may be lost on kids of this generation who did not grow up into a digital world but, rather, were born into it after it was already here. As a result I expect this sequel is directed more towards my generation rather than the kids who were born long after Tron hit the big screen.

    Here is a little secret, I am old enough to remember the original movie in theaters when it was first released. Riding my deck to the arcade at the mall to play the "new" Tron video game.

    We who spent our lives discovering this new digital frontier may be more apt to notice the opening scene, the scene with a younger Jeff Bridges and the young Sam Flynn, is completely digitally rendered. We have come a long way baby from Pong and Space Invaders haven't we? Yes even Sam's grandparents and the opening scene of the front of the house being hit by rain, it's all digital. The movie seamlessly transitions from digital to camera footage and it quickly becomes difficult to tell what is "real" and what is not from scene to scene. This muddy distinction between fact and fiction leads the perceiver to appreciate this movie as more than just a pretty picture with some cool tunes. There is more going on here than just that.

    As a sequel Tron Legacy ties up very neatly what has transpired since Flynn was trapped on the Grid so many cycles ago. Sometimes sequels in the video game or digital pop genre can have an ever present feeling of contrivance and surreality that overcomes the story and narrative appeal. Luckily Tron Legacy is so well done that there is nothing to interrupt the telling of the story of what happens next. It is clear to me that a great deal of care and love went into the creation of Legacy as a sequel and I am grateful the producers and director decided to do it right.

    A word to a new audience. Even though you may be tempted to jump straight into the world of Tron without accessing the first iteration, I would highly advise against it. Without the knowledge of the first story, new viewers in the world of the Grid may not be able to appreciate the subtleties of the back story that make Tron Legacy a very worthy sequel. Without that back story and the knowledge of what happened to Flynn in the original movie, I can easily see how a new generation would perceive this movie as little more that a colorful music video with some effects thrown in. This perception would be a shame, truly a disservice in my opinion to a great and deep story. Much of the narrative in this movie would surely be lost on a new viewer unfamiliar with the original.

    The music created by Daft Punk is excellent and fits the narrative sequences without becoming overbearing. In my opinion Daft Punk captured the essence of what it would be like to experience the Grid in an aural sense and, as a result, the mood they create with their beats works together seamlessly with the flow and telling of the story. The soundtrack by itself is masterfully done and worth a listen in its own right.

    For these reasons, and probably a few more that will come to me in a few more cycles, I highly recommend this movie but make sure to see the original first.

    Don't mess with my Zen thing man.

    end of line
    Expand
  11. Feb 11, 2012
    10
    An absolutely marvelous film with breathtaking visuals and beautiful art direction. So much of the spirit of the original film is in this one with references for the fans of the first movie to smile with pride for understanding.
  12. DKE
    Feb 7, 2012
    10
    Tron: Legacy is an action packed Sci-Fi Fantasy that captures the true potential of the human imagination in the digital world. Jeff Bridges (Kevin Flynn and Clu) goes all out and plays a two-part role in this digital adventure. When Kevin Flynn discovers a portal into the digital world, he replicates himself by creating a program that he named Clu. Together, Flynn and Clu worked to create a Utopia, until Clu betrays Flynn. Flynn cannot defeat his digital self and therefore goes into hiding in the digital world from Clu. For over 20 years, Kevin Flynn is trapped in the grid, while Clu builds his empire. Cluâ Expand
  13. Dec 21, 2011
    10
    The original Tron holds a sentimental value to me, as my father and I watched it early on in my childhood. I was always interested in computers, and from that day on, video games too. The story of Kevin Flynn being trapped in a digital world with no means of escape and to be there for almost 25 years before an aggressive CLU(codified likeness utility) took it upon himself to lure Flynn's son Sam into the machine makes for one HELL of a great story, and it grabbed a hold of me right from the start. Jeff Bridges does a great job of playing himself, young and old, and CLU, the program that ultimately turns on him and drives him into exile.
    And the movie wouldn't be the same without the TOP-NOTCH soundtrack done exclusively by Daft Punk. They have a rare gem on their hands with this Album, and I'm listening to it now as of this being typed....
    I can say enough about it: emotionally attaching, great soundtrack, gripping storyline, and a decent job by the actor portraying Sam Flynn, Kevin's son, Garrett Hedlund-all makes for a great movie I can't seem to watch enough.
    Expand
  14. Dec 17, 2011
    9
    This movie did not disappoint, with loads of action, great special effects, and an awesome soundtrack, I spent most of the time with a big grin on my face! Disney have done a very good job here, entertaining for adults but at the same time not too hard for children to understand what was going on (my 5 and 7 year old sons both understood it). Also, there are some very cool nods to the original Tron (no spoilers, you'll just have to watch it) and Jeff Bridges is amazing! Well done Disney, hope there is another on the way. Expand
  15. Nov 21, 2011
    10
    Mesmerizing movie, with perfect audiovisual presentation. The visuals and the 3D were breathtaking, incorporating the awesome soundtrack from Daft Punk, = the conclusion is an epic allgasm. I even liked the story, nothing too convulted, a good son and father plot with great references to the original movie. Sure, there are some cheesy dialogues and phrases that would make an expert cringe, but overall it's a complete package. Expand
  16. Nov 17, 2011
    9
    The world inside the computer looks amazing, the soundtrack totally emerges (?!) you into the film, there's plenty of action, a decent story, in short: i enjoyed it very much.
  17. Oct 15, 2011
    9
    Truly spectacular, while I haven't seen the original Tron I really loved this movie, the world is awesome, characters are fantastic, and it just has an amazing atmosphere to it, it's action packed and just a lot of fun to watch, and the special effects and the cool suits they wear are awesome, and the ending has me hoping for another movie, truly a spectacular ride form beginning to end.
  18. ALF
    Aug 28, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers. I have many fond memories of the original film which I shall not share, only that I went to the cinema twice to see the original. I have been looking forward to this for some time and it did not disappoint. I really cannot understand some of the comments made by supposed critics, seems like a lot of "look at me hot air." Tron2 is a worthy successor to the original and they have opened up a possible franchise with some of the storyline. The effects were excellent. One of the critics commented about the light cycles as being the only thing to watch. What about the motorcycle chase? The leap off the building? The arena fight? Perhaps dear critics you should think before you write, perhaps watch the movie again (even I see new things every time I watch it) and then comment, but that would be too sensible. Collapse
  19. Aug 10, 2011
    9
    Yes, the story is pedestrian at best. If you can forgive this one failure and enjoy *every* other aspect of the movie, you will find it to be a really entertaining experience. Personally I love me some jeff bridges, and I love me some daft punk, so going into this I was feeling very forgiving. The aesthetics and lighting are just dazzling and the sound track will rock your socks off, so if nothing else just go into it as an audio-visual treat and enjoy! Expand
  20. Jul 29, 2011
    10
    keep watching this movie..... its an onslaught of incredible visuals and amazing music... can't stop listening to the soundtrack either... first time since star wars. Daft Punk... who I wasn't a fan of prior blows minds in this musical score. And the story is quite sellable and tolerable for both children and nostalgic adults alike. Tell your kid about the first Tron movie... and then watch this one with them. In HD. Expand
  21. Jun 3, 2011
    10
    I guess I really don't see what the critics see because I saw nothing wrong with this film. The acting was good, the visuals were stunning and the soundtrack was amazing I bought it right after I saw the movie. This movie was great. The only negative thing I have to say about it is their weren't enough games. Their shouldve been way more battles, but other than that the father and son story was great, the sound effects were ecstatic, and like I said before the soundtrack was the best I've heard in a movie in a LONG time, Daft Punk is amazing at what he does. I hope theirs a third. This movie deserves high praise, 10/10. Expand
  22. Jun 2, 2011
    9
    Superbly entertaining! A visual event that pulled me in quick and kept me there the whole time. For those that do not know much of the Tron history, this film does well with educating a new audience while also giving some deserved flavor to old time fans. Performances all around are excellent with Bridges stealing the show!
  23. May 5, 2011
    10
    This film has been unfairly panned by critics. its only flaw is cramming enough visuals dialog and story elements for two full length films into one. If you can forgive the hurried pace of many scenes then you will find a rare gem in Tron Legacy. The acting and direction outshine the Star Wars prequels so brightly its like comparing coal to a precious gemstone. The score and accompanying soundtrack are subperb, alone making the DVD or Blu-Ray purchase worthwhile. Expand
  24. Apr 28, 2011
    9
    Another fantastic film from disney, TRON is, and will remain, one of the best movies i have ever seen, the concept has been brought to life in a new way with twists to thrill even watchers of the 60's version will love.
    it is a must watch, if not for the slightly confusing story, then for the effects, if not for the effects, then just to say you watched a great movie, but if not even for
    that, then just to be cool. Expand
  25. Apr 20, 2011
    9
    This movie was an absolutely great film. It had action, suspense, and Jeff Bridges himself. Who could ask for more? Just like the original TRON, this film has not been reviewed great by critics, but is still fantastic.
  26. Apr 8, 2011
    10
    i never thought that walt disney can make a movie like this.i never watch the old tron but this movie was superb.i realy enjoyed it.from the start to the end there is nothing could feel bad for me.the action is superb for a disney movie,though it contains only one scene with only one drop of blood.if u watch this u will feel how fascinating the music is in this movie.daft punk had done their very best in this.the visual is very good and inside the grid the cgi is stunning,forget cgi in avatar.light cycles are created miraculously.i have nothing bad to say about this movie but best in everything. Expand
  27. Mar 20, 2011
    10
    This movie was great. To some people it may not be because they saw the original. Like people like me i did not. So i think it was good. everyone held their role and the story line was very interseting
  28. Mar 9, 2011
    10
    I loved this movie. It felt like a movie 100% geared towards me. The details of the TRON universe are impossible to explain in a movie such as this. It touches on things but does not go into detail, nor can it. Considering the world of TRON was made up by 1 person, how interesting can the world ultimately be. The only X factor is the "race" of digital beings Jeff Bridges discovers but yet are all extinct but 1. Anywho....visuals are amazing and that is what this movie is all about to be honest. I wish there was more in terms of a universe or sequal material but there isn't and I'm ok with that. I walked away from the movie feeling satisfied, the ending was acceptable in terms of liking the movie and being able to walk away. I recommend to see but yet not try to "grasp" every detail, just accept. Expand
  29. Mar 4, 2011
    10
    An excellent movie. Once in a while the critics are wrong and this movie is a perfect example. It follows the plot of the original and both the visuals and the music are astounding. Definitely worth to see.
  30. Feb 8, 2011
    10
    A masterpiece that definitely lives up to its predecessor. However, I don't get why some critics are whining about the script/plot. It seriously wasn't that hard to follow. Personally, I had a harder time following Inception's plot, and I saw the damn movie twice!
  31. Jan 24, 2011
    10
    I think the critics underestimated the potential this movie has, not only is it good eye candy but it is also a good sequel to one of Disney's greatest live action sci-fi hits.
  32. Jan 20, 2011
    9
    This was Great contrary to what the critic's say TRON is everything that could have been expected from a sequel and even more, Jeff Bridges retains his Flynn character masterfully and the updated technology in cinema and CGI helps set this as a masterpeice... On a side note what really blowed me away was the Amazing score by Electronica duo DAFT PUNK, the robot pair set up an amazing soundtrack mixing electro with orchestral music Expand
  33. Jan 12, 2011
    9
    If you were expecting a thought provoking and intensely deep and mind blowing story, A) you went to the wrong movie B) Did you see the original Tron? Come on now... Really? You were expecting an incredible story?

    What makes this movie good it: IT'S FUN. It's not about about a well developed story. I agree, there were some holes, and it was lacking in answers and it was extremely simple.
    But how crazy involved was the original Tron? Not so much. The characters were decent, not great, again they didn't add massive amounts of story to get you really feeling sympathetic towards them, but they were different and fun.

    What makes Tron: Legacy good is its atmosphere. The music is incredible. Daft Punk absolutely blew my mind. When "Son of Flynn" start playing while Sam was on his motorcycle towards the opening, the hair on the back of my neck stood on end, my eyes widened, and my jaw dropped to the ground. I fell in love with the score right away. Obviously if you don't like electronic music (with very obvious classical influences and basis), you may not have a very good taste in music, but hey, who am I to judge.

    Second, the "light" of the entire movie was gorgeous. The costuming and character make-up was so well created that it was obvious how much time and effort they put into the physical appearance of the characters. Lights, buildings, clothing, even the ambient mountains, oceans, fireworks, and overall background had the electronic and mathematical precision and feel of a computer. You felt like you were there.

    Thirdly, and finally my last major point, the action was fantastic. For true Tron fans, getting to see the light cycles in a whole new light (pun intended) was absolutely stunning. The disc battles made you feel like you were watching a deadly gymnastics competition. Even the scene with the planes trailing light ribbons was beautiful.

    And again, if you had scene the original tron you would have gotten many of the Easter Egg lines and nods to the original movie making it feel even more heart warming after being a fan for so long.

    So yes, it was an incredible movie. Yes it had it's problems. But in the end, I felt like I had watch the sequel to the original Tron. I fell in love with the music and the atmosphere. I didn't want the movie to end.

    Go see it, but see it for fun.
    Expand
  34. Jan 11, 2011
    9
    TRON: Legacy was an absolutly amazing science fiction movie of all time! It is this year's Avatar or better! The effects were dazzeling, the music was awesome, and everything was just great! Though, the storyline wasnt that great, but other than that TRON: Legacy did deliver a great performance for all of us.
  35. Jan 9, 2011
    9
    I really enjoyed it. It's visually spectacular and has an awesome soundtrack by Daft Punk. Can't wait for more! Is it going to win Oscars for story and acting? Probably not. Will it win for special effects? It's got a shot.
  36. Jan 9, 2011
    9
    The Tron Legacy maybe not a matrix caliber film, but even it is a breathtaking masterpiece with unique design and incredible spectacle. The music is clearly one of the best soundtrack. Simply phenomenal. A good hint, if you can watch it in 3D!
  37. Jan 8, 2011
    10
    Underrated! This is the type of film that bulds a strong cult following despite negative reviews. There are some plot holes, but really, nothing that hurts the story and nothing you could think of for an explanation as to why something happened.

    I wonder why this movie was hated and really the movie itself was made for lovers of Tron. Although the family I saw it with loved it, they were
    confused as to who was who. Perhaps there is a cultural gap. Either way, there was no major flaw to me in this film. Lovely story, despite all the hatred towards it, a soundtrack worthy of the Oscar but will more than likely not even get the nomination due to the artists who made it, beautiful visuals, as much as people will hate to admit, film is a visual medium and without great cinematography or wonderful art direction, other films risk bleeding into each other, Tron Legacy excels just as it did in the original and will be fondly remembered because of it, and one more thing, the performances. Not a single bad performance in the bunch, everyone delivers in their own way. Director Joseph Kosinski has a great future ahead of him. He might have to make the average drama in order for people to realize it, but the man has great potential in hollywood and I hope he gets the chance to make one more film as it was intended. Expand
  38. Jan 6, 2011
    10
    I don't know why this movie got such a bad critic score, but i loved this movie, it is one of my new favorite movies, i even paid to see it in 3d Twice, and i normally will only go see movies if i have a coupon or get in free. The music is awesome, i even downloaded the Daft punk album! lots of action great storyline, and Olivia Wilde is Strangly extremely attractive :p
  39. Jan 6, 2011
    10
    This movie is pretty much awesome, don't freakin listen to the critics! It's an amazing audio/visual experience that will definitely blow your mind!! The acting is great, the directing is great and i was pretty stunned when i saw it was made from a non-famous director. The music score... all i can say is that after i saw the movie i was in youtube for hours listening to the soundtrack.
    About the story... i don't get it, how can some ppl say it lacks in story (ofc it's not "silence of the lambs" or "shutter island") but i guess ur mind was blacked out from the visual awesomeness and u didn't really pay attention to the film (poor IQ).
    Expand
  40. Jan 6, 2011
    9
    SERIOUSLY ignore then hate bandwagon that's rolling along (it seems it cool to hate this film) and go see a damn good action movie. Obviously my score gets a +1 as it was IMAX but still think it was great.
  41. Jan 5, 2011
    10
    Tron is such an amazing movie. I found pure perfection in it's overall story line. Long movie, however it was so entertaining throughout the entire movie there was never a boring part especially with all of it's amazing scenes graphics. not one thing looked fake or cheesy. I give this movie a 10 easily! must see dont hesitate!!!!!
  42. Jan 5, 2011
    10
    Why must we analyze movies to death all the time. The best movies allow people to escape for a couple of hours, to immerse you in compelling stories or worlds never seen before. I grew up watching the original, intrigued by the vehicles and characters in the Grid. I always hoped a sequel would be made. Well after all these years, the second was definitely worth the wait. The artists created an amazingly beautiful world and for 2 hours, you are immersed in Sam's journey. Truly amazing visuals mixed with an amazing soundtrack by Daft Punk. A must see in 3D! Expand
  43. Jan 4, 2011
    10
    I do not understand the negative reviews for this film because I LOVED it! I think that some people are forgetting who this film was made by and who it was made for. Of course the film isn't intense and or deeply intellectual it was made byt he Disney company for ALL AGES. I am a college student and went to the film with my boyfriend who is also in college and his twin brothers who are 13. All four of us enjoyed the movie and want to see it again. The visuals are breath-taking and the musical score is excellent. I wish that the critics would take a step back and reassess the movie as a whole instead of comparing it to movies which were made for completely different audiences and purposes. Expand
  44. Jan 3, 2011
    9
    This movie was brilliant!!!The only thing i wanted was more at the end for example what happened to the company and how was the ISO adapting to life...
  45. Jan 3, 2011
    9
    I guess the risk of making a sequel after almost 30 years is that people have expectations, and more than that their own interpretations of the original, and how a sequel should play out. I grew up with the first Tron, and went in expecting to be disappointed, but have to say Legacy might be one of the best, most intelligent sci-fi/fantasy movies I've seen in years. I don't think the story is lacking at all, in fact I think it's filled with a lot of subtle subtext rather than beat-you-over-the head preachiness you'd find in something like Avatar or The Matrix. Either way don't let the reviews turn you away, if nothing else the effects and music are top notch, and it's worth the ride. Expand
  46. Jan 2, 2011
    10
    This movie was awesome!!!

    Disney did a perfect job on the special effects and the fight scenes.

    The music was amazing, Daft Punk are a excellent duo and fit the movie completely.

    I saw it in Imax 3D and I was suprised because the sound is so loud, it made the chairs vibrate I was like "I felt that!!"

    Super cool movie!
  47. Jan 1, 2011
    10
    I enjoyed this movie so much!! great acting and visuals!!! I enjoyed watching Jeff Bridges young looks... amazing!! I hope the dvd com with the first movie
  48. Jan 1, 2011
    9
    Tron Legacy is a great movie if you've seen the original. It's great special effects,acting,script,and action. My opinion is that you shouldn't see tron in 3D. It's a GREAT movie!!!!
  49. Jan 1, 2011
    10
    OK, what the heck? Whats wrong with these critics!? This movie was AMAZING. I loved every thing about this movie. Great action. Great effects. Great actors. Love it. DON'T LISTEN TO THE CRITICS. WATCH IT.
  50. Dec 31, 2010
    10
    Loved it! Garrett Hedlund, Olivia Wilde, and Jeff Bridges are all fantastic in this movie. The music was great. The 3D effects were awesome. I definitely would recommend this movie.
  51. Dec 30, 2010
    10
    This movie is brilliant. Everything about but especially the visual effects and the soundtrack were quite FTW. And nickissortacool. I recommend this movie to everyone with eyes and ears.
  52. Dec 30, 2010
    9
    Personally, I think a 49 is very undeserving. I walked into this film with fairly low expectations, and was wowed with almost everything. The acting was superb throughout the entire film, the CG was phenomenal (not CLU), the 3D was nice, and the story was very good. Don't trust the critics, go watch this movie for yourself. I'm sure you'll love it.
  53. Dec 27, 2010
    9
    Really great film. Exciting, interesting, visually appealing, emotionally engaging, nostalgic, and modern. I'm seriously having trouble understanding where such negative reviews are coming from.
  54. Dec 27, 2010
    10
    What a ride! This movie takes you off to another world and keeps you entertained from beginning to end. In my opinion there was no need to expand/review on old characters and plot as this is a sequel. This was a good move, leaving more time for showing off the beauty of this incredible world. If you've watched the first movie, you'll understand who flynn and alan are etc... The new characters were developed well. Music is absolutely perfect for the film and helps to transport you there. 10/10 for pure cyber punk entertainment. Expand
  55. Dec 26, 2010
    9
    This is a movie that goes beyond that which the "professional critics" expect out of movies. It provides an original (even though it's a sequel) movie-watching experience that does a good job of allowing the viewer to suspend disbelief. It's visuals are stunning, the soundtrack fits perfectly to the theme of the movie (a lot of techno and futuristic music), and the sound effects are enthralling and make you feel like you're really in a virtual and high-tech sci-fi world. There are plenty of action scenes that break up the boredom and monotony from which the original movie suffered. I did not see the movie in 3D (because i don't believe in using 3D tricks and gimmicks to overshadow lack of movie-making abilities). Therefore I have no comment on the quality of the 3D experience. However, knowing Disney's track record with quality movie-making, I'm sure they didn't disappoint (for those who are interested in that sort of thing). The only downside to the amazing visuals was the CGI Jeff Bridges. Though the technology that goes behind recreating human faces and emotions are getting better by the year, they still seem a ways away. The tones and colors of young Jeff Bridges' face were spot on, but he often seemed to lack that emotional and subtle quality that we are all honed in to detect. The story was more enthralling and dramatic than the original, but very predictable. Do yourself a favor and ignore the "professional critics." See this movie if you have an open mind, are a fan of sci-fi, and enjoy stunning visuals and enthralling music and sound effects. Expand
  56. Dec 25, 2010
    9
    This is a very good movie, don't listen to the "49", it deserves over a 90. Enjoyable movie. I don't understand the negative reviews but it's a good movie and worth a check.
  57. Dec 24, 2010
    10
    I loved this movie... I want more! Go see it.
  58. Dec 22, 2010
    10
    This movie really did pay tribute to the original. I have been a fan sense the first one and this one is exactly in the same spirit. It is slow at times, fast paced at others as well as being visually and musically a landscape. The sound and sites are a treat, the story, while not perfect, is, when compared to the first, a perfect sequel. I can't wait to see if this series can ramp it up in following movies, or if it dies do to over critical inter-net snobbery. See the first one again, then go see this. You will not be disappointed and in the end that is why you bought the ticket and took the ride.

    END OF LINE
    Expand
  59. Dec 22, 2010
    9
    Excellent the CGI is incredible and the soundtrack is pumping not the best film I've seen this year that was a toss up between Scott Pilgrim and Harry Potter but this is a close second if your a fan of the original i would definitely recommend checking this out. if not in the Cinema rent when the Blu-Ray comes out.
  60. Dec 21, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Hmmm makes me wonder why some of the reviews are over analyzing this movie. The movie is near perfect in bringing TRON to today's audience. The acting was well done and the visual effects blew me away. I guess my only complaint is that I would of liked to have seen more of TRON (Bruce Boxleitner), but maybe in the next movie. Daft Punk really delivered in the muscial score...I hope this is not the last of Kevin Flynn...

    Me: I have been a loyal fan of TRON since I was a kid, owned both TRON and Discs of TRON arcade machines, attended the 2000 E3 show to help promote TRON 2.0 the PC game with then rumors of Disney looking at scripts for a movie...I'm happy to say that I loved the film and it exceeded my expectations.

    Disney really owes a lot to www.tron-sector.com, who helped keep TRON alive all these years..and here we are ;-)
    Expand
  61. Dec 20, 2010
    9
    Not sure what the critics are talking about! Great movie, good acting, stunning visuals, fun soundtrack. If you like Avatar, you'll like Tron: Legacy.
  62. Dec 20, 2010
    9
    As a fan of the first movie I was eager to see Tron legacy, but at the same time afraid that it wouldn't be all that great. Well, I'm happy to say that I was very pleased with what I saw. Ignore the critics; all they want are movies that pull your heartstrings and make you think. Those are good movies, but sometimes, I just want to watch a movie that takes me on a fun flight through imagination, and that's exactly what Tron legacy does. Expand
  63. Dec 20, 2010
    10
    if you hate this you where expecting to much and was disappointed. and when Disney says 3d it doesn't mean sh*t poping in your face. it means they are trying to make the movie look like it has depth.
  64. Dec 20, 2010
    9
    I know the critics are bashing this film and that makes me happy. That confirms to me mission accomplished by the producers and director. If they made a critical success that would mean they had dumbed it down to much and not played to the fan base that will truly make this the success it can be. I think they did it right, it gorgeous, it sticks to canon, and it tells a story.
  65. LE_
    Dec 20, 2010
    9
    I struggled with the score for this movie. Should I give it a 9 b/c I really liked the movie, or should I give it a 2 because I was felt ripped off by the 3D upcharge that WAS NOT worth it? I paid $7 extra to see it in 3D, but I was sorely disappointed to find out only a few scenes were actually shot in 3D. Sadly, there was more exciting 3D 2 minutes of previews before the movie, than in the entire Tron movie.

    Getting past that, I really liked this movie, the themes, and the art/graphics direction of the movie. Not the highest tech effects, but definitely well done.

    The movie was a little confusing at points(especially, for non-Tron fans and non-Geeks), but overall, I was really happy with the movie and the ending was pretty good.
    Expand
  66. Dec 20, 2010
    10
    How can anybody not like this movie? If your argument is that it failed the original, revise your argument. This affectionate sequel paid sincere homage to its ground-breaking 80s predecessor, without being spoofy. It was clearly made with love by a director who is a much a fan of the original Tron as Chuck Bartowski is. The 3D is neither gimmicky or showy but serves to pull in the audience like they have been affected by the laser as well. This is complemented by the forwards/ backwards movement in the movie which made the whole thing feel like a fairground ride. Daft Punk's soundtrack was quite simply AWESOME. The electro sound adds to the cleaned-up 80s feel of the movie and it is just so fantastically LOUD that it contributes beautifully to the immersive and disorienting experience. It isn't just the soundtrack itself that makes the movie a musical feast: Kosinski uses sound wonderfully to frame each movement, scene and mood-change that the movie is reminiscent of his very clever commercials and game trailers. it becomes very clear how he landed this gig. I'm thinking in particular of the moment, in the club/ fight scene where Flynn appears looking like a scary Dalai Lama/ Santa Claus accompanied by a cacophony of spine-tingling techno magic. You have to see it! There are not enough good words to describe Jeff Bridge's performance as the now world (and grid) weary hacker Kevin Flynn so I will plump for these stellar and so so cool. Relative newcomer Garrett Hedlund is an excellent young protagonist. I expected him to somewhat irritating (like Hayden Christensen in Attack of the Clones) but he wasn't and brought a Mark Hamil-esque quality to the piece. I have heard so much criticism of the CG which brought CLU, Flynn's creation-turned-nemesis, to life. The criticism was that compared to the surrounding characters it didn't look quite right. These people seem to be forgetting that they are comparing CG to REAL PEOPLE. Any graphics that are not quite as good as flesh as blood must be pretty good really. Remember how awesome we all thought Beowulf was.....

    The overall feel of the movie is irrefutably polished and exciting. It made feel like an 11 year boy (which is an achievement as I'm a woman, so have never been one. ) Those who feel the story should have been more complex should remember this film was brought to you by Disney, the studio responsible for Pirates of Caribbean and Snow White. Any critics who feel that it didn't live up to the original should probably go watch the original again.
    Expand
  67. Dec 20, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Gotta agree with the critics some on this. Probably better to watch on its own but with a title like Tron Legacy, they'd have to expect you may have seen the first one. It does not compare favorably in my opinion. I own the original Tron and love it. And this is not Tron. Too damn serious for one thing. I know the character was supposed to have heard all about the Grid from his dad's stories but he still should have inspired some sense of wonder at the place when he eventually gets in--Jeff Bridges did so much better in the original. And the visuals? The magic with the first Tron was that EVERYTHING was computer-generated. Here they have actual REAL models for the light-cycles and light-bikes. The movie was just as awkward as the dinner scene with newly reunited father and son. Cooked food? Hardcovers? In the digital realm? WTF? Some nice references to the old movie and 80's nostalgia. But it was all flash and no soul. The tech to create "young Jeff" was not as bad as it could have been. But, again, the original movie, everybody's face looked pale because of graphics not because of makeup, everybody's costume "seemed digitized" not like real tights, and whose bright idea was it to make "deresolution" look like glass breaking? There wasn't even the laser to "scan" Sam into the Grid. And no Cursor--the only nod to actual computer tech was some UNIX-looking (probably MacOS X) commands typed in. If this was an attempt at upgrading the Grid, it was mistaken. Do people expect a better, more visually complex Grid 20 years later? Yes, but they could have executed much better given that CGI today is light years ahead of where it was then. This movie supposedly continues where Tron left off and it does explore territory the original Tron didn't. But I would rather watch old Tron than new Tron. Although he was the best actor in the film, even Jeff seemed like he was more interested in making True Grit than this movie--it even comes off that way in his very few promotional appearances for it. The movie was eye-candy, but ultimately emotionless. Expand
  68. Dec 20, 2010
    10
    Ok look you people are idiots, what do you expect when going to a movie entertainment not some deep thought provoking movie that will unravel the meaning of life of course not you go in there to watch a freekin movie. It's a moovie for peat sake. The graphics where amazing the acting was awesome the story line kept true to the tron legacy and the music was perfectly chosen. I sat through the hole two hours and while I was in the theater I completely lost track of time and if a movie can make you feel like that than it's a great movie. So I give tron legacy a million out of a million. And let me tell you people that get a kick out of making people feel bad feel bad for working hard on something well than you can suck my left nut and if you go into a movie theater to look for the meaning of life than you might as well kill yourself because the closet thing you'll ever find to the meaning of life is staring at you straight down the barrel of a gun. So screw you an tron legacy is an amazing movie no matter if you 10 or 100. Expand
  69. Dec 20, 2010
    10
    I'm sorry that many people (and critics) don't understand that the whole point of going to the movies is to be entertained and to escape from reality for a while. TRON Legacy is wonderfully entertaining, visually stunning, and the story is engaging and plenty full of depth, despite what you may have heard. Also Jeff Bridges delivers an exceptional performance along side other strong actors. I will agree that the CGI on young Bridges looks out of place in the "real" world, but on the grid as the tragic antagonist CLU, It is entirely convincing that he exists. The villains are very interesting and at times I found myself rooting for them because of how cool and they are, especially Michael Sheen's fabulously despicable character. I never saw the first one nor was I born in the eighties, but I still thought this movie was fantastic, it doesn't just appeal to people in their thirties who want some nostalgia. Also, it's called TRON because the first one was called TRON and because calling it CLU, Light Cycles and Laser Frisbees, or Kevin Flynn and Company's Spacey Adventure on the Grid wouldn't be as catchy. I would give it a 12 out of 10 if I could because it was just that awesome of a spectacle and story of estrangement, betrayal, political symbolism, and self-sacrifice. Also, the soundtrack is top notch, I had my doubts at first when I heard Daft Punk was doing all the music, but it has one of the best scores of any movie that I have seen. Definitely see this movie, you will be surprised at how good it is. Expand
  70. Dec 19, 2010
    10
    visuals were a billion times better than avatar and the soundtrack was unbelievable. exceeded my expectations in every way. critics are dumb, olivia wilde is a fricken babe, this movie was the best this year.
  71. Dec 19, 2010
    9
    One of the most exciting, entertaining and visually pleasing movies I've ever seen. Along with the solid plot fidelity it's hands down one of the best movies I've seen in years.
  72. Dec 19, 2010
    10
    This movie is fun, edgy, cool. It won't be a critic's choice, but It's better than typical Hollywood fluff. I hope they make a sequel, the story has been setup well for one. While this film has a good level of closure, there are plenty of options to take things further.
  73. Dec 19, 2010
    9
    This movie is amazing. Don't listen to the critics. Critics ruin all good movies out there with their know-it-all, snobby attitudes and biased bad reviews. It is in the spirit of the original film and isn't watered down.
  74. Dec 19, 2010
    10
    This movie was great. My first "new generation" 3D movie and it delivered. Saw it in an IMAX theater and it was quite the experience, visuals were amazing and the story was good, not sure what movie some of the others are watching. It's an adventure flick, plain and simple, setting up a new world/franchise that I hope continues to grow and prosper. I heard a lot of the negative press and have to say I can't imagine why. Just sit back and enjoy the film, it's not a sermon no matter what some critics would have you believe. Who's paying them anyways, most seem to have no touch with what the public is looking for in terms of entertainment. Expand
  75. Dec 19, 2010
    9
    Great, Great, Great, Great movie. It's a work for the geeks, and jeff bridges fans. Cool style, actions was fantastic, I was even surprised that the acting wasn't as terrible as I expected! Bottom line is that if you willingly watched the first tron and enjoyed it you'll love this. If your looking for a cool action movie, you'll love this. If your looking for a great work of art or a truly compelling story it will only be meh. Expand
  76. Dec 19, 2010
    9
    Tron: Legacy is a great film that entertains with a good story, nice acting, excellent music and sounds, and with a visual style that keeps your eyes glued to the screen. Overall this is a film full of Sci-Fi entertainment that would have expected since this film's first rumor.

    This film is a interesting cross between the original Tron and the Matrix and the similarities are hard to miss.
    The blend is great. While maintaining that "Tron" atmosphere the addition of the "Matrix"-type world of characters and locations added a nice change of pace from the traditional in-a-data system-feel. It would have been great to see this explored further but where it settled with the plot of the story was fitting and comfortable. The Visuals and Audio was truly amazing. The classic tones of the Tron world enhanced with the Techno beats of Daft Punk was a perfect match with style.

    The movie itself was strong with Jeff Bridges at the lead. The Computer animated Jeff Bridges needed to go through several more rounds of work but it was a decent attempt that could have just been avoided altogether. Nothing would've been wrong with a human antagonist. Most of the scenes did not look right but at least you could tell where the filmakers were going and that was enough to forgive.

    The story was very traditional and could have easily been more epic but I gather it will be more for the planned Trilogy rather than during the reintroduction of the franchise in 20 years. Start strong and grow big.
    Expand
  77. Dec 19, 2010
    9
    The characters and plot are cliche and the writing certainly is not the best. The acting is decent with the standout being Jeff Bridges who as usual is the man. This would all make for a mediocre movie if it weren't for the amazing world and visuals created by special effects. The great music by Daft Punk certainly doesn't hurt either. Tron Legacy's world is creative beautiful and must be seen by everyone. I couldn't look away for a single second and although the writing and acting weren't the greatest it is good enough for you to care about the characters enough to warrant your attention. I recommend this movie to almost anyone and you don't need to see the first one to know whats going on if that is scaring you. Expand
  78. Dec 19, 2010
    10
    Come on! What are you guys talking about... the movie was great. It's TRON. The goal of movies like this is to be epic, beautiful, and other worldly - The complexity is in the visuals, the story is there to move you through them. Any special effects fan will love this film!
  79. Dec 18, 2010
    10
    First of all, movies are meant to be enjoyed, not dissected and picked apart like some puzzle or algorithm. Tron Legacy is a Family friendly movie with keen aesthetics and balance. This story had a simple premise comprised of multiple intellectual thoughts. As this Film is clean and neat with the thought of the "what if" scenario that tries to answer as much as it can while posing more to be questioned all amidst the impending fate. As far as technology goes, what else can we expect to see other than what we know in a more polished state with the aesthetic depth and crisp 3D? This movie is easy to see, great to enjoy at various levels and with a good musical backdrop and follow through. My wife who is not as technologically inclined enjoyed the movie and loved the music. You don't have to be a Nerd, Psychologist, Scientist, Hacker, or any other stereotype to enjoy this great film, that we the viewers did not have a hand in making, so by all means if anyone can do better... all said and done we were left satisfied and understood the many levels of intellect of the feature film. For those that liked the first, will no doubt enjoy this re-envisioned remake sequel that does exactly what it is supposed to in an adventure. spoilers..... spoilers


    For those that doubted the resolutions and postulated questions, it is all right in front of you. Flynn after seeing the iso's form their self consciousness is taken back to the realm of possibilities from this self born AI thus leaving Clu to form feelings of jealousy, since he was bred from Flynn's own self. Then when the cu is formed Flynn is thus seen as unfit and imperfect since he went back on a perceived promise made and then Clu fights for his own perceived place on the grid by genocide on the iso's. When flynn sees that he is far from the portal and removes himself from the grid and by his own right creates a sanctuary where he finds quorra, the last surviving iso and takes her in and fills her with the knowledge he had transported over time from earth all while seeing that in his attempts to fight back at clu he only created more artifacts, which after being destroyed and re-purposed, were used by clu to continue taking control over the grid. Thus this is why Flynn went into hiding and stopped creating from within. This leads clu to his course of actions on him not being satisfied with controlling the grid and watching the programs fight to death (derezolution), but leaving him wanting to get out and populate beyond the confines of the grid. Clu dissatisfied attempts to recontact those who created both the MCP and the Grid to see if he can get a way to change the game, and then the main action of the story continues. so with that said and done, talk about religion and faith, and selflessness and why the grid did not grow more. to answer that, there was only one who could create and that was Flynn. More intent on getting the key disk now are we? Go enjoy the movie, no need to dissect.
    Expand
  80. Dec 18, 2010
    9
    Tron was both visually appealing and emotionally capturing. I loved the father / son story. I thought all three lead actors did great - Bridges was particularly engaging. Wilde was fun and in-character. Content was kept at a good PG level, which I appreciate in an adventure film. The 3D IMAX experience was a great choice for this movie, and a lot of fun viewing. I'll see it again and I recommend it! Expand
  81. Dec 18, 2010
    10
    The critics can s*ck it. The movie was great. Great visual effects, good story and acting. Amazing score. It was definitely better than Avatar.
  82. Dec 18, 2010
    10
    "Words Can't Describe , the intensity , the Graphics , the Tron!. Tron Legacy is one 3D spectacle that dares to be reckoned with , its truly amicable , from the moment you enter the grid till you leave .. Tron Legacy will have you wanting more" .. A
  83. Dec 18, 2010
    10
    Tron Legacy may not have had the deepest plot, but it was a good movie. People forget that they go to the films to have fun and escape. The stylized effects mixed with Daft Punk's musical score was excellent. I enjoyed this movie and plan to buy it on release. Don't listen to the critics, they forget what movies are about.
  84. Dec 18, 2010
    10
    I can only say that if you want to see a movie with stunning visuals, a presentation of a new and fantastic world, a good cast and a decent story, I say go for it, but if you're the guy that sees a movie solely for moral messages, complex character development and a deep undertaking in the human mind, this isn't really a movie for you.

    I enjoyed it greatly, and if you're just as geeky as
    I am about computers and worlds beyond the bonds of our own physics, you will too, I guarantee that.

    For a longer and more thorough review, visit my blog at: darthsatoris blogspot com
    Expand
  85. Dec 17, 2010
    10
    I LOVED this movie. I had to see it twice on opening day, in 2D and 3D. I can't for the life of me understand all the hate for this film? Did you see the original or did you simply catch the highlight reel? There is a story being told here, a very well told one. The only drawbacks to the movie are some 3D scenes aren't up to snuff and CLU in his representation isn't quite there, but still effective for the character. On the same hand, some of the 3D effects are simply breathtaking! The opening sequence and lead up to the final sequence were amazingly well done. The story was clear and well told, filled with interesting and lovable characters (I dare you to not fall in love with Olivia Wilde). This film is a sight to behold and is a treat for the ears. See the original Tron first, as you should with any sequel. Easily one of the best movies to come out this year. Expand
  86. Dec 17, 2010
    9
    Having seen the previous film only a few minutes before sitting down in the theater to see Tron Legacy, there were a number of areas in the newer film that clearly stood out as similarities to the original film. In fact, there are so many similarities to the original film in pacing and storytelling, that Legacy actually manages to feel like a curious hybrid of sequel and remake.

    There's a
    touch more "Real World" setup in the beginning than the original film, a slightly-too-long solar sail segment leading up to the final act, and Tron is almost as scarce in this film as his appearances were in the original. But, with all those similarities the film does tend to leave the viewer with a higher awareness of the mythology behind the Grid and its inhabitants. Technically, the film is nearly flawless with no issues that leap out at the viewer as a mistake or flub on first viewing. Every shot is well aimed, fight and game sequences are presented in a way that's less MTV and more "80's karate movie" and the story flows fairly well from one segment to the next. The greatest flaw most viewers might see in Tron Legacy is its tendency to explain and talk for large portions of screen time, but that isn't necessarily a complaint that feels particularly valid when you're looking at something so large-scale as the world presented in the Tron "mythology". Some stories just take a little time and scripting to tell, and Legacy struck an excellent balance of action and exposition in the eyes of those in the theater where I saw the film.

    When it comes to the die-hard geek demographic however, perhaps Tron Legacy's greatest flaw is a desire to position the film in a more mainstream fashion. Geeks may have wanted more information, more easter eggs and more background knowledge of how things worked - but those answers and options would likely only have detracted from the film. Bottom line, if you liked the first film, you'll love Legacy. If you never "got" the original Tron despite more than one viewing in recent years, don't bother with Legacy.
    Expand
  87. Sio
    Dec 17, 2010
    10
    Once again, "professional" critics are off the mark. WAY off! This movie was very entertaining and the music was perfect for it. It was beautiful, in fact. One critic said they "forgot to tell a story"...I say he forgot to pay attention. Another said the music "lacked rhythm"...to that I say TRON wasn't a dance party, it was a life-or-death struggle. The music reflected danger, fear, and the ultimate victory that the movie was all about. Users have spoken: this was a great film and it deserves recognition. Expand
  88. Dec 17, 2010
    10
    The critics can't seem to make up their minds with what they wanted this movie to be. I've seen complaints that it wasn't light-hearted enough just as often as I've seen people suggesting it could have dealt more with the complex problems of digital culture today.
    I don't think Legacy is trying to be either of those things. I think it's some really high-end fan service for the people who
    loved the original, and a really beautiful 3D experience for newbies with an interest in technology.
    Sure they didn't exploit everything they could have with the advancements in computing since 1982, but I think that would have been distracting and made the movie much too heavy. Sure, there's room for an epic story told like what critics wanted Tron to be, but that's not what I wanted and that's not really what was advertised.
    We got what we were promised. High tech, sexy, 3-D action with some likable characters, pretty women, and an awesome soundtrack.

    No, it's not the best movie of all time, but it's a good one, and a damn fun ride. I gave it a ten on here to try and even things out, because it deserves more than the 51/100 the critics gave. It's at least a solid 80.
    Expand
  89. Dec 17, 2010
    10
    I saw this at midnight showing last night and I was blown away. I was worried that it was going to suck but I kept my expectations in check and I was not dissapointed at all. It really was a good story. Its deeper than these crtics realize i guess because they were too distracted by the amazing visuals. If you like a good action movie with a good story and an amazing soundtrack you should see this. Also there is no other way to see this movie but in IMAX. Please don't see it any other way. Can't wait to get it on bluray. Expand
  90. Dec 17, 2010
    9
    Ignore the critics as clearly they don't know what they are talking about. TRON: Legacy isn't just spectacular effects and a fantastic thrill ride full of character and not a weak link to be found in the cast.
    Unless you hate sci-fi you should go see this film.
  91. Dec 17, 2010
    10
    Critics really are full of s*** sometimes. What a brilliant film this is! Fantastic visuals, great cast (I especially loved Olivia Wilde in this movie; her very innocent, good natured character was really cute and charming; and she was a truely awesome warrior in battle), amazing score. It was entertaining and epic; and isn't that what a movie is supposed to do? It also felt like a real tribute to the original Tron movie. Yes, the light cycles and suits were different, but it's the year 2010 now people. The 3D element was done to perfection, I especially liked how the movie starts in 2D in the real world and then shifts to 3D when Sam enters "The Grid", very clever. I enjoyed this movie so much I went to see it again today after seeing the midnight showing last night. It's a must see. Expand
  92. Dec 17, 2010
    9
    Despite some negative critic reviews, this film remarkable. To see it in IMAX format was breathtaking. The visuals are amazing. I felt immersed in the Gaming Grid. The musical cues are spot on and Daft Punk creates the atmosphere like no other. I'm certainly looking forward to the next 2 movies.
  93. Dec 17, 2010
    10
    An absolutely marvelous film with breathtaking visuals and beautiful art direction. So much of the spirit of the original film is in this one with references for the fans of the first movie to smile with pride for understanding. My only complaints are: there is no Bit (loved Bit in the original) and the vintage lightcycle is a great sight and it's built up, but it gets next to no worthwhile screen time. Regardless of those complaints, it's a fantastic movie with plenty of geek fanfare and love for the fans of the original. The acting is strong, the writing sharp, and the soundtrack is undeniably awesome. I cannot recommend this film highly enough. Go see it! End of Line. Expand
  94. Dec 17, 2010
    10
    Amazing visuals, sound, and acting, and the plot ain't too bad either. I have never seen a movie that has had reviews that are so far off the truth about the movie. Tron will have you immersed in beautiful visuals and beautiful sound (thank you Daft Punk) and the plot easily outclasses other sci-fi blockbusters (*cough*Avatar*cough*).

    See this movie.
  95. jz3
    Dec 17, 2010
    10
    After reading all of the negative reviews, I was surprised to find the movie to be AWESOME. It stays true to the original, while introducing enough new elements to, well, make it new.
Metascore
49

Mixed or average reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 40
  2. Negative: 5 out of 40
  1. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Dec 17, 2010
    67
    When director Joseph Kosinski flips the switch on action, TRON: Legacy is entertaining enough. Especially in 3D IMAX, with a mega-audio system booming Deft Punk's droning Xbox-ready musical score, nearly drowning out the collisions.
  2. Reviewed by: John DeVore
    Dec 17, 2010
    12
    Tron: Legacy will only be enjoyed by men in their thirties and early forties searching for a Proustian moment.
  3. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Dec 17, 2010
    20
    That's the culture we live in, where the once-proscribed Pleasure Principle has become iron law and where the recycled, bloated, fish-belly emptiness of something like TRON: Legacy carries boredom to extravagant new heights.