TRON: Legacy

User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 764 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 68 out of 764

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling

User Reviews

  1. Dec 17, 2010
    6
    It's an incredibly cool visual spectacle - that's beyond debate. Could much more have been done with the story? Sure. Did I expect an Oscar-worthy screenplay? Nope. It's fun, there's much more of "The Dude" in Jeff Bridges' character than I expected (which generated a ton of laughs in my theater), and I'm actually looking forward to a second film. So did it meet my very modestIt's an incredibly cool visual spectacle - that's beyond debate. Could much more have been done with the story? Sure. Did I expect an Oscar-worthy screenplay? Nope. It's fun, there's much more of "The Dude" in Jeff Bridges' character than I expected (which generated a ton of laughs in my theater), and I'm actually looking forward to a second film. So did it meet my very modest expectations? Yes. Expand
  2. Jan 23, 2011
    6
    When I first saw this movie, I absolutely loved it. But when I saw it again.......eh. I kinda like it, but there's so much wrong with it. The visuals were awesome, the action was cool, Jeff Bridges and Michael Sheen were good, and I loved the soundtrack. But the film's bad script, lazy plot, lack of explanation for most plot devices, mediocre acting asides from the two above (although itWhen I first saw this movie, I absolutely loved it. But when I saw it again.......eh. I kinda like it, but there's so much wrong with it. The visuals were awesome, the action was cool, Jeff Bridges and Michael Sheen were good, and I loved the soundtrack. But the film's bad script, lazy plot, lack of explanation for most plot devices, mediocre acting asides from the two above (although it would be really hard to be good with this bad dialouge), bad pacing, and the ending kept it from being that good. Now, keep in mind, I'm not trying to be a snobbish critic. I can always love a good dumb popcorn flick. I mean, I love Transformers 2 and I really like Clash of the Titans and the A-Team. But the action, while cool, wasn't good enough to elevate it to that level of dumb popcorn flick, and the movie took itself way too seriously, It thought it was a Matrix or Inception level sci-fi masterpiece and it wasn't. But I do recommend it. Just see at a matinee, and only see it once. Expand
  3. Dec 27, 2010
    8
    "Tron Legacy" is what you would call pure eye candy with a heavy visual twist much like "The Matrix"(1998) and "Inception"(2010) the only thing that separates these two films from Legacy is there deep rooted stories groundbreaking visuals, thought provoking premises and phenomenal scripts from there respective directors. This sequel of the 1982 cult classic is rather simple stuff the"Tron Legacy" is what you would call pure eye candy with a heavy visual twist much like "The Matrix"(1998) and "Inception"(2010) the only thing that separates these two films from Legacy is there deep rooted stories groundbreaking visuals, thought provoking premises and phenomenal scripts from there respective directors. This sequel of the 1982 cult classic is rather simple stuff the screenplay by Adam Horowitz and Edward Kitsis is dull with uninspired dialogue and a lack of real emotions. But what the screenplay lacks the sheer power of this visuals, action, story and the return of Jeff Bridges as Kevin Flynn greatly makes up for the lack of compelling dialogue in this film. First time director Joseph Kosinski and cinematographer Claudio Miranda do a bang up job bringing this visually lush world to life breathing life into a rather lifeless film and in the process creating a fantastical film that literally jumps out of the screen. "Tron Legacy" is a massive improvement on the original in both visuals and style what the original lacked this absorbing sequel makes up for it with a high octane, bold adventure that is ripped right from the world of TRON, this film may lack compelling dialogue but it has just enough intelligence, style, charm and just enough well written dialogue to save this from being a disaster "Tron Legacy " is a magical in the sense of its wonder and excitement, in its visuals and its at times emotional father son tale at the heart of this film. This film is not one of the years best and it is nowhere near as good as any other high gloss Science Fiction adventure such as "The Matrix" or "Inception" but "Tron Legacy" proves to be one of the years most enjoyable popcorn adventure flicks and one of the most enjoyable film of this holiday season. I loved every minute of this wildly entertaining film.


    To watch this film you have to leave you inhibitions at the door, you have to leave logic at the door and just sit back and enjoy the ride, which is what I did. I just sat back and enjoyed this film for what it is flaws and all and trust me when I say this movie has a boatload of them. To save this film the embarrassment I am going to restrain from naming them. However, I will name one the plot; the plot of this film is so full of holes big enough that you could stuff the whole digital world into it. That is not the point of this film that is not why it was made. If this film was made to be "Inception,â
    Expand
  4. Dec 27, 2010
    8
    This movie is probably a 7, but I truly enjoyed it so went w/ an 8. A lot of things worked in this movie, first of all the soundtrack was awesome and worked w/ every scene to perfection. Second, the action was entertaining and memorizing to look at. I truly found this movie to be extremely entertaining, but maybe that's b/c i love anything sci-fi and techno. The only thing that didn't workThis movie is probably a 7, but I truly enjoyed it so went w/ an 8. A lot of things worked in this movie, first of all the soundtrack was awesome and worked w/ every scene to perfection. Second, the action was entertaining and memorizing to look at. I truly found this movie to be extremely entertaining, but maybe that's b/c i love anything sci-fi and techno. The only thing that didn't work was the computerized version of the younger Jeff Bridges (KLU). Just looked fake.. They might have been better off just using another actor there, but i like the idea of KLU being him. Really can't complain too much about this film. Could it have been smarter or had some better acting (Jeff Brigdes' son kind of lame), probably, but overall i was sucked into this movie. Expand
  5. Dec 24, 2010
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. "Oops." That's how the romantic puts it, when he realizes his grave miscalculation. Nobody will be looking for him. The weekend warrior is off the grid, and with his food and water supplies approaching near-depletion, the romantic finds himself suddenly full of regret. At the very least, he should have told his boss. The foolhardy rock climber is indeed between a rock and a hard place, just like Kevin Flynn(Jeff Bridges), who gets stuck between a floppy and a hard disk when the computer programmer misses the zero hour of the portal, leaving him trapped in cyberspace at least a 120 months. Oops. But he's no Aron Ralston, the lone wolf explorer(portrayed by James Franco in Danny Boyle's "127 Hours"), who made his peregrination to the outback without telling a soul, and almost paid the ultimate price, by an arm's length. The video game creator left behind tracks. Big ones. "Tron: Legacy" opens up in 1989, the last time that Sam will see his father as a child. On this last night, Kevin tells his son about the miracle: the grid, the digital frontier that he helped create with Clu and Tron(in other words: he, "himself", and Alan's avatar), so when the Encom CEO turns up missing, Sam(as well as Tron's "user", played by Bruce Boxleitner) should know where to start looking for him, but the time-condensing scenes that bridges the then and now, seems to indicate that during the intervening time, nobody entertained the possibility of the obvious, as to the senior Flynn's whereabouts. Is the boy an idiot? Talk about "sound and fury signifying nothing", in which Sam, left fatherless and without direction, grows up angry, sabotaging his dad's company on a yearly basis with some elaborate prank, when all the boy needed to do was conduct a canvassing of the his father's old haunts, which would have eventually led him to the video arcade, and a less-dramatic reunion. Finally, after learning from Alan(who knows about "the grid", too) about a page that the boy's guardian received from his father's office, Sam goes to Flynn's, perhaps for the first time in two decades(the electricity was never turned off), and at long last, discovers the secret room behind a coin-operated video game. So even though he's pushing thirty, Sam(Garrett Hedlund) gets to live every quarter-poppin' boy's fantasy back in 1982(to be Mario; to be Pac-Man; to be the man on the ostrich in Joust), when he infiltrates the electronic landscape and becomes one with the gaming light. How much better would "Tron: Legacy" be if Sam was younger? Most likely, a lot. By accident, though, his relatively advanced age works as a social commentary on the gaming industry's demographics, which, of course, includes Sam's lot, when in fact, video games probably started out as a child's preoccupation. Not surprisingly, the younger Flynn, with no discernible career plans ahead of him or family to speak of, essentially is still a kid, undergoing an extended adolescence. He has time to play Tron. Like its Steven Lisberger-directed predecessor, "Tron: Legacy" gets weighed down by a muddled story, ostensibly written by a human, yet seems more like the work of an Atari 2600(and the Sears knockoff), but unlike the original 1982 "Tron", the special effects aren't nearly distinct enough to offset the dearth of narrative wizardry. Despite being less elaborate than the latest in CGI technology, the spectacle created by Harrison Ellenshaw and Richard Taylor had the look of a video game, and was heavily invested with intellectual properties that the new effects flat-out lack. Whereas the light cycles and neon frisbee death match correlates nicely to the graphics in a coin-operated machine, its newfangled re-imaginings are too elaborate, not looking at all like something "God"(circa the 80s: the time period that Flynn was supposed to have invented this "new frontier") could have created. The effects should look like something a player could manipulate with a joystick. That's what made the original such a joy to behold. It looked playable. As a result , the two films don't seem connected, despite the presence of Jeff Bridges, whose Kevin Flynn resembles something straight out of a Samuel Beckett play, waiting for Sam like he does. When the two men meet, both father and son should be furious at each other, but an argument about the boy's tardiness would have emphasized the looming plot-hole, which presents itself loud and clear enough already during that long-ago bedtime story that the father imparts to his son. Expand
  6. Mar 14, 2011
    5
    This could have been such a great movie. Visually it is simply amazing, the art direction is great, and the CG in general is amazing (with the exception of the young jeff bridges). But after the first half hour the story becomes boring and unfocused. The slow action sequences do not help either to push the story forward, and after 2 hours you are begging for the film to finish. This isThis could have been such a great movie. Visually it is simply amazing, the art direction is great, and the CG in general is amazing (with the exception of the young jeff bridges). But after the first half hour the story becomes boring and unfocused. The slow action sequences do not help either to push the story forward, and after 2 hours you are begging for the film to finish. This is what happens when you give such a complicated film to a new comer director, and some tv screenwriters (as good as they are, the film story format is quite different from tv). Expand
  7. Dec 23, 2010
    8
    Entertaining. Visually it's more pleasing than Avatar, from my perspective. Story wise it's also much more original - but still lacking. There was room in this TRON universe for more of a complicated story but instead this was a pretty stock storyline. It was still a fair movie though, and the visuals were nothing short of amazing. Would recommend it, you'll be glued to the screen most ofEntertaining. Visually it's more pleasing than Avatar, from my perspective. Story wise it's also much more original - but still lacking. There was room in this TRON universe for more of a complicated story but instead this was a pretty stock storyline. It was still a fair movie though, and the visuals were nothing short of amazing. Would recommend it, you'll be glued to the screen most of the time. Except that at a few times the fast pace of the story and action seems to slow down, and there's corny lines. Other than that it's action packed. Expand
  8. Dec 18, 2010
    8
    While not perfect this movie was incredibly enjoyable and worth the money to see in theaters. The visual style of the film is by far the best part with stunning shots of a cyber world and an outstanding style that made the first one so loved. The musical score really does a great job emphasizing the mood and pace of the movie and is as important as the acting. As for the story IWhile not perfect this movie was incredibly enjoyable and worth the money to see in theaters. The visual style of the film is by far the best part with stunning shots of a cyber world and an outstanding style that made the first one so loved. The musical score really does a great job emphasizing the mood and pace of the movie and is as important as the acting. As for the story I personally really enjoyed it and thought the cheese was minimum. I especially liked that it wasn't your classic "son is mad at dad" story, it takes a different approach that really shows how most father-son relationships are. Overall if you like sci-fi, creative visual style, or just love Daft Punk I would highly recommend this movie. Expand
  9. Dec 30, 2010
    9
    Personally, I think a 49 is very undeserving. I walked into this film with fairly low expectations, and was wowed with almost everything. The acting was superb throughout the entire film, the CG was phenomenal (not CLU), the 3D was nice, and the story was very good. Don't trust the critics, go watch this movie for yourself. I'm sure you'll love it.
  10. Jan 4, 2011
    0
    This was so bad that I would have walked out of it if I had been by myself. The dialog and the characters were ABYSMAL and there was absolutely nothing special about the special effects. I can't Jeff bridges agreed to this complete crap-fest.
  11. Dec 22, 2010
    7
    Dude, it's Tron man: people trapped in a video game, and digital elements of that game manifested as people. If you want that concept to be any deeper than Jeff Bridges' Buddhist Jedi Programmer Lebowski, then by all means skip this one. If you don't mind a neon stick world that derives almost all of its ideas from the Black Knight, Star Wars, the Matrix trilogy, and the firstDude, it's Tron man: people trapped in a video game, and digital elements of that game manifested as people. If you want that concept to be any deeper than Jeff Bridges' Buddhist Jedi Programmer Lebowski, then by all means skip this one. If you don't mind a neon stick world that derives almost all of its ideas from the Black Knight, Star Wars, the Matrix trilogy, and the first Tron--AND you think the idea of a light bike appearing out of thin air when a neon-rimmed program-sapien breaks a glowstick in two--then go see Tron and get your brain Daft Punked in 3D. Fact: Seeing Tron is a lot more fun than reading some socially confused movie critic's ten paragraphs about the Wikipedia version of Proust. Expand
  12. Dec 26, 2010
    9
    This is a movie that goes beyond that which the "professional critics" expect out of movies. It provides an original (even though it's a sequel) movie-watching experience that does a good job of allowing the viewer to suspend disbelief. It's visuals are stunning, the soundtrack fits perfectly to the theme of the movie (a lot of techno and futuristic music), and the sound effects areThis is a movie that goes beyond that which the "professional critics" expect out of movies. It provides an original (even though it's a sequel) movie-watching experience that does a good job of allowing the viewer to suspend disbelief. It's visuals are stunning, the soundtrack fits perfectly to the theme of the movie (a lot of techno and futuristic music), and the sound effects are enthralling and make you feel like you're really in a virtual and high-tech sci-fi world. There are plenty of action scenes that break up the boredom and monotony from which the original movie suffered. I did not see the movie in 3D (because i don't believe in using 3D tricks and gimmicks to overshadow lack of movie-making abilities). Therefore I have no comment on the quality of the 3D experience. However, knowing Disney's track record with quality movie-making, I'm sure they didn't disappoint (for those who are interested in that sort of thing). The only downside to the amazing visuals was the CGI Jeff Bridges. Though the technology that goes behind recreating human faces and emotions are getting better by the year, they still seem a ways away. The tones and colors of young Jeff Bridges' face were spot on, but he often seemed to lack that emotional and subtle quality that we are all honed in to detect. The story was more enthralling and dramatic than the original, but very predictable. Do yourself a favor and ignore the "professional critics." See this movie if you have an open mind, are a fan of sci-fi, and enjoy stunning visuals and enthralling music and sound effects. Expand
  13. Jan 11, 2011
    9
    TRON: Legacy was an absolutly amazing science fiction movie of all time! It is this year's Avatar or better! The effects were dazzeling, the music was awesome, and everything was just great! Though, the storyline wasnt that great, but other than that TRON: Legacy did deliver a great performance for all of us.
  14. Mar 15, 2011
    5
    despite , the stunning visuals in the grid, the movie lacks the tempo and does not get to a convincing end. after it began a perfect way , the first half ran well. second half entered back into the same kind of revenge drama. all the characters in the movie had no life. sam and flynn characters needed a much better life to the movie. soundtrack is different. rest all are ok. finally tron:despite , the stunning visuals in the grid, the movie lacks the tempo and does not get to a convincing end. after it began a perfect way , the first half ran well. second half entered back into the same kind of revenge drama. all the characters in the movie had no life. sam and flynn characters needed a much better life to the movie. soundtrack is different. rest all are ok. finally tron: legacy begins for the best. ends as a dumb movie. Expand
  15. Dec 19, 2010
    9
    This movie is amazing. Don't listen to the critics. Critics ruin all good movies out there with their know-it-all, snobby attitudes and biased bad reviews. It is in the spirit of the original film and isn't watered down.
  16. Dec 20, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Gotta agree with the critics some on this. Probably better to watch on its own but with a title like Tron Legacy, they'd have to expect you may have seen the first one. It does not compare favorably in my opinion. I own the original Tron and love it. And this is not Tron. Too damn serious for one thing. I know the character was supposed to have heard all about the Grid from his dad's stories but he still should have inspired some sense of wonder at the place when he eventually gets in--Jeff Bridges did so much better in the original. And the visuals? The magic with the first Tron was that EVERYTHING was computer-generated. Here they have actual REAL models for the light-cycles and light-bikes. The movie was just as awkward as the dinner scene with newly reunited father and son. Cooked food? Hardcovers? In the digital realm? WTF? Some nice references to the old movie and 80's nostalgia. But it was all flash and no soul. The tech to create "young Jeff" was not as bad as it could have been. But, again, the original movie, everybody's face looked pale because of graphics not because of makeup, everybody's costume "seemed digitized" not like real tights, and whose bright idea was it to make "deresolution" look like glass breaking? There wasn't even the laser to "scan" Sam into the Grid. And no Cursor--the only nod to actual computer tech was some UNIX-looking (probably MacOS X) commands typed in. If this was an attempt at upgrading the Grid, it was mistaken. Do people expect a better, more visually complex Grid 20 years later? Yes, but they could have executed much better given that CGI today is light years ahead of where it was then. This movie supposedly continues where Tron left off and it does explore territory the original Tron didn't. But I would rather watch old Tron than new Tron. Although he was the best actor in the film, even Jeff seemed like he was more interested in making True Grit than this movie--it even comes off that way in his very few promotional appearances for it. The movie was eye-candy, but ultimately emotionless. Expand
  17. Dec 28, 2010
    7
    I'd say it is a good movie with a bad script for the main character. Luckily, he doesn't speak too much. The face animation for Jeff Bridges is horrible, though.
  18. Dec 18, 2010
    5
    Man was I let down. The story was awful, the acting felt like they were there for the money. I give it a 5 cause i loved the 2 action sequences there were. I was really looking forward to this one. Not sure what they were thinking.
  19. Jan 23, 2011
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This isn't at any means a good movie. It fails in each aspect; the only positive of the movie are its special effects. Can't believe someone would give it anything more than a 4. It doesn't deserve nothing near it, as the script has nothing appealing and fails to get one's attention. The whole forced drama plot is preposterous and Olivia Wilde's character is just absurd. Kevin's horribly acted and seems to play God, (at least this is how Quorra seems to see him; her speech about Kevin was embarrassing.)

    And then, there's a whole "good VS evil" thing going on, while the characters don't have any real depth and just lack charisma. One of the worst films I've seen in a while, as it's appeal is only visual (and the effects aren't as breathtaking as comments try to induce). It is kind of the new "Avatar": nice effects. Terrible script.

    I seriously advice everyone to stay away of this one. I loved Jeff Bridges when he did The Big Lebowski, or when he did The Men Who Stare at Goats. But now despite his efforts there's no way I'm finding his character convincing nor real.

    3/10, more like a 1/5.
    Expand
  20. Dec 21, 2010
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. If you are going to see this movie and are expecting lots of actoin then don't. but if you want too see the movie for the not so good anyway story then see it. but overall its really not that great of a movie. Expand
  21. Mar 25, 2011
    5
    Visually fantastic, with amazing music and great action scenes, but the plot is uninspired and the story feels very much like a cop-out. Good popcorn flick, but no one will remember it 20 years from now
  22. Dec 17, 2010
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Try to look up Tron and you get Legacy on the net. And what was the girl's name in the first film? A Michelle P knock off...Olivia Wilde is hot but so what? It's basically the film redone, but, again, who cares? Good effects don't make a film. Yeah, in this case, the first film was better. Better villain, etc. Too bad. Glad I spent no more than 7 dollars U.S. on it. Didn't waste my time with 3D or IMAX either. Best lines are throw-away. Some times life is more than just wants and needs...but life seldom goes beyond that. Libations for every one...because I can't stand the fact I'm sober and having had 2 plus hours wasted afternoon. Expand
  23. Dec 19, 2010
    8
    So um... this is tron. and daft punk created the whole soundtrack... with that information its got a 10 already. Its the most visually pleasing movie ive ever seen and its all backed up with a daft punk original soundtrack!!!!! now the story isnt all that great, but it isnt bad. If you have no idea what tron actually is that will take away abit from the movie. BUT if u like oldSo um... this is tron. and daft punk created the whole soundtrack... with that information its got a 10 already. Its the most visually pleasing movie ive ever seen and its all backed up with a daft punk original soundtrack!!!!! now the story isnt all that great, but it isnt bad. If you have no idea what tron actually is that will take away abit from the movie. BUT if u like old videogames, if you like eye candy, if u like daft punk... GO SEE THIS MOVIE Expand
  24. Jul 29, 2011
    10
    keep watching this movie..... its an onslaught of incredible visuals and amazing music... can't stop listening to the soundtrack either... first time since star wars. Daft Punk... who I wasn't a fan of prior blows minds in this musical score. And the story is quite sellable and tolerable for both children and nostalgic adults alike. Tell your kid about the first Tron movie... and thenkeep watching this movie..... its an onslaught of incredible visuals and amazing music... can't stop listening to the soundtrack either... first time since star wars. Daft Punk... who I wasn't a fan of prior blows minds in this musical score. And the story is quite sellable and tolerable for both children and nostalgic adults alike. Tell your kid about the first Tron movie... and then watch this one with them. In HD. Expand
  25. Jan 1, 2011
    5
    This film is **** but for todays standard what film isn't?
    The almost cringeingly unoriginal story line is enough to make you want to leave, but I was with my friends and even the urgent need to piss wasn't enough to make me leave my seat at the North Finchley Vue this Friday. The plot is in shambles and Disney was going downhill. So why didn't I go to the toilet?
    Firstly I have no idea
    This film is **** but for todays standard what film isn't?
    The almost cringeingly unoriginal story line is enough to make you want to leave, but I was with my friends and even the urgent need to piss wasn't enough to make me leave my seat at the North Finchley Vue this Friday. The plot is in shambles and Disney was going downhill. So why didn't I go to the toilet?
    Firstly I have no idea but it might have been something to do with the awe inspiring 3D Grapics or the bouncy techno from the dancefloor legends Daft Punk that is so hard to not listen to.

    Going back to the plot, Flynn's son Sam goes after his missing father and stumbles across the old arcade
    which leads him to Tron World, he faces a series of challenging games and meets his Dad's old friend C.L.U.E, who has turned evil. One hell of a **** plot

    5/10
    Overall Im am a very disappointed 12 year old

    not as good as the original, though still was enjoyable But altogether I am a reasonably disappointed 12 year old
    Expand
  26. Dec 27, 2010
    9
    Really great film. Exciting, interesting, visually appealing, emotionally engaging, nostalgic, and modern. I'm seriously having trouble understanding where such negative reviews are coming from.
  27. Dec 18, 2010
    10
    Tron Legacy may not have had the deepest plot, but it was a good movie. People forget that they go to the films to have fun and escape. The stylized effects mixed with Daft Punk's musical score was excellent. I enjoyed this movie and plan to buy it on release. Don't listen to the critics, they forget what movies are about.
  28. Feb 8, 2011
    10
    A masterpiece that definitely lives up to its predecessor. However, I don't get why some critics are whining about the script/plot. It seriously wasn't that hard to follow. Personally, I had a harder time following Inception's plot, and I saw the damn movie twice!
  29. Dec 19, 2010
    9
    Tron: Legacy is a great film that entertains with a good story, nice acting, excellent music and sounds, and with a visual style that keeps your eyes glued to the screen. Overall this is a film full of Sci-Fi entertainment that would have expected since this film's first rumor.

    This film is a interesting cross between the original Tron and the Matrix and the similarities are hard to miss.
    Tron: Legacy is a great film that entertains with a good story, nice acting, excellent music and sounds, and with a visual style that keeps your eyes glued to the screen. Overall this is a film full of Sci-Fi entertainment that would have expected since this film's first rumor.

    This film is a interesting cross between the original Tron and the Matrix and the similarities are hard to miss. The blend is great. While maintaining that "Tron" atmosphere the addition of the "Matrix"-type world of characters and locations added a nice change of pace from the traditional in-a-data system-feel. It would have been great to see this explored further but where it settled with the plot of the story was fitting and comfortable. The Visuals and Audio was truly amazing. The classic tones of the Tron world enhanced with the Techno beats of Daft Punk was a perfect match with style.

    The movie itself was strong with Jeff Bridges at the lead. The Computer animated Jeff Bridges needed to go through several more rounds of work but it was a decent attempt that could have just been avoided altogether. Nothing would've been wrong with a human antagonist. Most of the scenes did not look right but at least you could tell where the filmakers were going and that was enough to forgive.

    The story was very traditional and could have easily been more epic but I gather it will be more for the planned Trilogy rather than during the reintroduction of the franchise in 20 years. Start strong and grow big.
    Expand
  30. Jan 7, 2011
    3
    Visually gorgeous, yet abysmally retarded, this outrageously poor follow-up to such a ground-breaking film was better off left in someone's mind. While I'm not averse to the movie-with-a-message, this movie was so ridiculously PC it made me openly groan several times during the movie. Instead of respecting the first film's cutting edge theme, the filmmakers chose to one-up the graphics,Visually gorgeous, yet abysmally retarded, this outrageously poor follow-up to such a ground-breaking film was better off left in someone's mind. While I'm not averse to the movie-with-a-message, this movie was so ridiculously PC it made me openly groan several times during the movie. Instead of respecting the first film's cutting edge theme, the filmmakers chose to one-up the graphics, which with 25+ years-later technology available, I would certainly expect, and dumb-down (while simultaneously backslapping the heart) the concept that was so pioneering that it was better left alone. Unfortunately, in between weak, watered-down action scenes, we get elementary dialogue, poor acting and way too many messages about why building the perfect digital world has made us neglect and forget the perfect world in which we already live. To top it off, we have a techie-gone-hippie Kevin Flynn, played by a tepid performance by Jeff Bridges who can't help but occasionally morph into "The Dude." Sure, we all change as we get older. And, absolutely, we come to appreciate the world around us more as we increase with age, but this movie needed a Wachowski Brothers-like approach to the action and deep theme in order to warrant any serious consideration. Instead it was written by people who have spent more time on CW teen dramas than anything of technical substance. If you haven't seen it and love the first one, don't waste your time or memories on Tron Legacy. Expand
  31. Dec 17, 2010
    5
    Weak. Weak story. Weak 3D. Light cycles were pretty cool. Olivia Wilde was hot. Fight scenes were so so. Seeing it once was quite enough. I loved the original. This should have been so much more.
  32. Dec 17, 2010
    10
    An absolutely marvelous film with breathtaking visuals and beautiful art direction. So much of the spirit of the original film is in this one with references for the fans of the first movie to smile with pride for understanding. My only complaints are: there is no Bit (loved Bit in the original) and the vintage lightcycle is a great sight and it's built up, but it gets next to noAn absolutely marvelous film with breathtaking visuals and beautiful art direction. So much of the spirit of the original film is in this one with references for the fans of the first movie to smile with pride for understanding. My only complaints are: there is no Bit (loved Bit in the original) and the vintage lightcycle is a great sight and it's built up, but it gets next to no worthwhile screen time. Regardless of those complaints, it's a fantastic movie with plenty of geek fanfare and love for the fans of the original. The acting is strong, the writing sharp, and the soundtrack is undeniably awesome. I cannot recommend this film highly enough. Go see it! End of Line. Expand
  33. Dec 18, 2010
    10
    "Words Can't Describe , the intensity , the Graphics , the Tron!. Tron Legacy is one 3D spectacle that dares to be reckoned with , its truly amicable , from the moment you enter the grid till you leave .. Tron Legacy will have you wanting more" .. A
  34. Jan 6, 2011
    8
    TRON Legacy... well I honestly didn't expect an innovative story like Inception from the trailer, and that's what I got. Its not garbage, but not anything we haven't seen 100 times already. Audio is amazing, visuals are good, but 3D is NOT as strong as it should be, I believe they could have at least put a little more effort into it. My recommendation is to go 2D if you see it. But allTRON Legacy... well I honestly didn't expect an innovative story like Inception from the trailer, and that's what I got. Its not garbage, but not anything we haven't seen 100 times already. Audio is amazing, visuals are good, but 3D is NOT as strong as it should be, I believe they could have at least put a little more effort into it. My recommendation is to go 2D if you see it. But all that aside, TRON Legacy is GOOD. You will get entertainment out of it, and it is worth your attention. Expand
  35. Dec 17, 2010
    10
    Critics really are full of s*** sometimes. What a brilliant film this is! Fantastic visuals, great cast (I especially loved Olivia Wilde in this movie; her very innocent, good natured character was really cute and charming; and she was a truely awesome warrior in battle), amazing score. It was entertaining and epic; and isn't that what a movie is supposed to do? It also felt like a realCritics really are full of s*** sometimes. What a brilliant film this is! Fantastic visuals, great cast (I especially loved Olivia Wilde in this movie; her very innocent, good natured character was really cute and charming; and she was a truely awesome warrior in battle), amazing score. It was entertaining and epic; and isn't that what a movie is supposed to do? It also felt like a real tribute to the original Tron movie. Yes, the light cycles and suits were different, but it's the year 2010 now people. The 3D element was done to perfection, I especially liked how the movie starts in 2D in the real world and then shifts to 3D when Sam enters "The Grid", very clever. I enjoyed this movie so much I went to see it again today after seeing the midnight showing last night. It's a must see. Collapse
  36. Dec 20, 2010
    10
    if you hate this you where expecting to much and was disappointed. and when Disney says 3d it doesn't mean sh*t poping in your face. it means they are trying to make the movie look like it has depth.
  37. Feb 13, 2014
    8
    A visual masterpiece that oozes cool all over the place. Tron: Legacy is an outstanding continuation from the 1980s original, one that will greatly impress viewers. It's no surprise that Disney was a part of this given the level of technical detail put into the film. Everything about it is great, except there's that notion of shallowness that can't be escaped. A great movie should beA visual masterpiece that oozes cool all over the place. Tron: Legacy is an outstanding continuation from the 1980s original, one that will greatly impress viewers. It's no surprise that Disney was a part of this given the level of technical detail put into the film. Everything about it is great, except there's that notion of shallowness that can't be escaped. A great movie should be rewatchable multiple times, and while Legacy does so much to entertain your visual and audible senses (Daft Punks original score for the movie is OUTSTANDING), the way the story is told feels a bit underwhelming considering how impressive everything else is. I absolutely love this film and I hope Disney puts more into the story next time (there's confirmation that, at this time, a follow up movie is in the works). The actors were fantastic (how can you say no to Jeff Bridges and Olivia Wilde!?), I just could have used more weight to the plot instead of a very cookie-cutter format. Still, I highly recommend this movie! Expand
  38. Jan 3, 2011
    9
    I guess the risk of making a sequel after almost 30 years is that people have expectations, and more than that their own interpretations of the original, and how a sequel should play out. I grew up with the first Tron, and went in expecting to be disappointed, but have to say Legacy might be one of the best, most intelligent sci-fi/fantasy movies I've seen in years. I don't think the storyI guess the risk of making a sequel after almost 30 years is that people have expectations, and more than that their own interpretations of the original, and how a sequel should play out. I grew up with the first Tron, and went in expecting to be disappointed, but have to say Legacy might be one of the best, most intelligent sci-fi/fantasy movies I've seen in years. I don't think the story is lacking at all, in fact I think it's filled with a lot of subtle subtext rather than beat-you-over-the head preachiness you'd find in something like Avatar or The Matrix. Either way don't let the reviews turn you away, if nothing else the effects and music are top notch, and it's worth the ride. Expand
  39. Dec 21, 2010
    5
    This sequel to the cult classic puts the son of the original online adventurer (Jeff Bridges) in his father's "grid," an ultra-high-tech computer world. There are a couple of flashy races and the design is sleek and neon beautiful. There's also way too much talk and nonsense plot to drag the momentum to a standstillâ
  40. Sep 2, 2011
    6
    The visuals are fabulous and are enough for one to see the film. The story isn't much, and many questions are left unanswered. The fight scenes were pretty cool, though, and the cast does a good job - particularly Bridges, who has fun playing two characters.
  41. Dec 21, 2010
    5
    This film could have been this years "Star Trek", the stage was set. It had the dazzling effects but fell short due to Hedlunds weak performance and script that was originally designed to take the backseat when it was need to steer this film.
  42. Jan 2, 2011
    10
    This movie was awesome!!!

    Disney did a perfect job on the special effects and the fight scenes.

    The music was amazing, Daft Punk are a excellent duo and fit the movie completely.

    I saw it in Imax 3D and I was suprised because the sound is so loud, it made the chairs vibrate I was like "I felt that!!"

    Super cool movie!
  43. Dec 31, 2010
    2
    Crap. Weak story, poor character development, and a dumb paint by numbers climax. The only thing that makes this worth seeing is the visuals and even they are merely okay. What a disappointment. Three of us where bored and ready to leave the theatre. Let's hope in another 20 years they do a better job of TRON 3. Even Jeff Bridges was boring in this one. Disney has had two cracks atCrap. Weak story, poor character development, and a dumb paint by numbers climax. The only thing that makes this worth seeing is the visuals and even they are merely okay. What a disappointment. Three of us where bored and ready to leave the theatre. Let's hope in another 20 years they do a better job of TRON 3. Even Jeff Bridges was boring in this one. Disney has had two cracks at this franchise and still haven't made a good movie. Call Pixar, Walt.

    p.s. - Michael Sheen was the lone bright spot in an otherwise waste of effort.
    p.p.s. - Okay, the ladies looked wonderful too.
    Expand
  44. Jan 8, 2011
    10
    Underrated! This is the type of film that bulds a strong cult following despite negative reviews. There are some plot holes, but really, nothing that hurts the story and nothing you could think of for an explanation as to why something happened.

    I wonder why this movie was hated and really the movie itself was made for lovers of Tron. Although the family I saw it with loved it, they were
    Underrated! This is the type of film that bulds a strong cult following despite negative reviews. There are some plot holes, but really, nothing that hurts the story and nothing you could think of for an explanation as to why something happened.

    I wonder why this movie was hated and really the movie itself was made for lovers of Tron. Although the family I saw it with loved it, they were confused as to who was who. Perhaps there is a cultural gap. Either way, there was no major flaw to me in this film. Lovely story, despite all the hatred towards it, a soundtrack worthy of the Oscar but will more than likely not even get the nomination due to the artists who made it, beautiful visuals, as much as people will hate to admit, film is a visual medium and without great cinematography or wonderful art direction, other films risk bleeding into each other, Tron Legacy excels just as it did in the original and will be fondly remembered because of it, and one more thing, the performances. Not a single bad performance in the bunch, everyone delivers in their own way. Director Joseph Kosinski has a great future ahead of him. He might have to make the average drama in order for people to realize it, but the man has great potential in hollywood and I hope he gets the chance to make one more film as it was intended.
    Expand
  45. Dec 26, 2010
    5
    Its visuals are as stunning as its dialogue is awful. It is worth-seeing in a theater, especially in IMAX, to revel in its special effects and sound, but, my God, the dialogue is laughably bad. It also doesn't help that it's at least 30 minute too long, with an increasingly tiresome plot.
  46. Jan 3, 2011
    9
    This movie was brilliant!!!The only thing i wanted was more at the end for example what happened to the company and how was the ISO adapting to life...
  47. Dec 29, 2010
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Tron Legacy: Sequel to the original which was released nearly 30 years ago. I myself haven't seen the original Tron film, so I can't say whether its a worthy sequel or whether it was worth the wait, but I will say that I thoroughly enjoyed the film. The special effects were quite awesome and the film brilliantly made use of the IMAX 3D, and managed to give us some astounding graphics within the Grid. It's good that the film makes concessions to those that haven't seen Tron, by giving us a little backstory about the first film and how it ties into the second film. The lightcycles and light disk fights are the best parts of the movie, and there should've been more of that. The acting is quite good, all of the actors give great performances, especially Garret Hedlund as main character, Sam. Martin Sheen gives the best performance, as the vibrant and ecstatic bar owner Zeus, injecting charisma into every scene he's in. And Daft Punk get three cameos as DJs, changing the song when a fight breaks out. However, this isn't a perfect film. A number of the dialogue that comes from Sams mouth sounds quite cliched and the script isn't exactly oscar-worthy. It isn't exactly a surprise when Zeus betrays Sam to CLU and it seems pointless having Quorra send him there in the first place. And the final part in the grid where Flynn has CLU bond back with him makes you think "why wait until now to do that?". Also, de-aging Jeff Bridges doesn't exactly work, just making him seem video-gamey. Granted, it works for CLU, but doesn't really work for Flynn. All in all, I recommend this film. Just don't expect much of character development and go in expecting a dazzling visual for your eyes rather than for your mind Expand
  48. Dec 19, 2010
    6
    For me, it scrapes a positive review. An average storyline is well covered up by the visual effects and soundtrack that this movies offers, if I was rating it based on that it would easily be a 10 but I'm not so it only gets a 6/10.
  49. Dec 18, 2010
    8
    I saw the original Tron movie when I was a kid, and I absolutely loved it. The visuals and the concept really appealed to me, so I was really pumped to see Tron: Legacy in 3D. I must say really enjoyed it. T:L kept to the spirit of the original, as well as building upon certain aspects of the Grid. The visuals are absolutely stunning, and Daft Punk's score is magnificent.. The storyI saw the original Tron movie when I was a kid, and I absolutely loved it. The visuals and the concept really appealed to me, so I was really pumped to see Tron: Legacy in 3D. I must say really enjoyed it. T:L kept to the spirit of the original, as well as building upon certain aspects of the Grid. The visuals are absolutely stunning, and Daft Punk's score is magnificent.. The story is a little light, as it was in the original, which is one of the few drawbacks to the film. The use of 3D was also very effective; it wasn't forced "in your face." Instead, it was used to support and enhance the visuals of the movie, so you sometimes forget you are watching a 3D movie because the visual aesthetic works so well. All in all, if you are a fan of the first Tron, you will most likely like this film. Expand
  50. Dec 19, 2010
    6
    A good time at the movies, provided you don't expect Matrix 2 level techno-philosophy. This movie is bright lights moving fast and loud, the equivalent of cinematic fireworks. That's as much a knock as it is praise. See it in IMAX 3D or don't see it at all.
  51. Dec 27, 2010
    4
    This was the worse film I've seen since "Splice" earlier this year. The four stars given are for the visuals - without them it is a one star film. Clearly this is not a good year for Science Fiction. The plot is SO slow and plodding, and the dialogue - well, you have to hear it to believe it. "Tron - What have you become?" - laughably bad. All of the money was spent on the visuals,This was the worse film I've seen since "Splice" earlier this year. The four stars given are for the visuals - without them it is a one star film. Clearly this is not a good year for Science Fiction. The plot is SO slow and plodding, and the dialogue - well, you have to hear it to believe it. "Tron - What have you become?" - laughably bad. All of the money was spent on the visuals, certainly not on the script. I'm a fan of Jeff Bridges but his talent is wasted here. The visuals are great, and I saw it in 3D and it was one of the better films to use that technique, but I found myself looking at my watch at least three times hoping it would end. Everything is totally predictable, and borrows heavily from other Sci Fi movies. If they make any more of these films I hope they concentrate more on the script next time. Expand
  52. Dec 25, 2010
    9
    This is a very good movie, don't listen to the "49", it deserves over a 90. Enjoyable movie. I don't understand the negative reviews but it's a good movie and worth a check.
  53. Dec 19, 2010
    8
    Entertaining and fun. 3D was weak. Story was not weak at all, quite good for an action / sci-fi movie. I would recommend this to anyone who like sci-fi or hero movies. It's better than most.
  54. Apr 19, 2011
    8
    Highly enjoyable movie. Thoroughly enjoyed it. I thought it was a fresh take on an old classic and found the main characters believable. The special effects were good and I was mostly able to forget that I was watching a Disney movie. I especially liked the sound track and have been a fan of Daft Punk for years.
  55. Nov 20, 2011
    8
    I actually thought it was pretty good. Solid acting and good effects as well, Works well in 3D too. The downfalls of it though is the rather long run time, Far too long if you ask me. Also while its entertaining for the most part, Its rather boring at times as well. Overall its still rather good.
  56. Jun 8, 2015
    6
    A sequel, that takes its colorful and somewhat goofy predecessor to the darker, giddier simulation. Having an interesting backstory and refreshing philosophical inquiries, it unfortunately falls short in capturing the main ideas and that left me wanting so much more. Acting and dialogues were rather weak, average at best. Considering Jeff Bridges put on his mentor/Dude look, you'd expectA sequel, that takes its colorful and somewhat goofy predecessor to the darker, giddier simulation. Having an interesting backstory and refreshing philosophical inquiries, it unfortunately falls short in capturing the main ideas and that left me wanting so much more. Acting and dialogues were rather weak, average at best. Considering Jeff Bridges put on his mentor/Dude look, you'd expect more charisma.
    However, the main character in this movie is the visual style and music and it more than delivers what it promised. Sleek, glossy futuristic setting created quite an unforgettable spectacle. Daft Punk made a spectacular job, the soundtrack was superb. All that blended into a fuse of visual and acoustic joy.
    Expand
  57. Apr 5, 2011
    7
    I watched the original about 2 weeks prior to watching this sequel.

    Great visuals, great sounds (way to go Daft Punk), great acting from Jeff Bridges who really makes the movie.

    Not amazing, or ground-breaking by any means, but a polished and well-treated production.
  58. Dec 19, 2010
    9
    The characters and plot are cliche and the writing certainly is not the best. The acting is decent with the standout being Jeff Bridges who as usual is the man. This would all make for a mediocre movie if it weren't for the amazing world and visuals created by special effects. The great music by Daft Punk certainly doesn't hurt either. Tron Legacy's world is creative beautiful and must beThe characters and plot are cliche and the writing certainly is not the best. The acting is decent with the standout being Jeff Bridges who as usual is the man. This would all make for a mediocre movie if it weren't for the amazing world and visuals created by special effects. The great music by Daft Punk certainly doesn't hurt either. Tron Legacy's world is creative beautiful and must be seen by everyone. I couldn't look away for a single second and although the writing and acting weren't the greatest it is good enough for you to care about the characters enough to warrant your attention. I recommend this movie to almost anyone and you don't need to see the first one to know whats going on if that is scaring you. Expand
  59. Dec 22, 2010
    8
    I went into this movie with only high expectations for visual effects. I wasn't disappointed, and the story was pretty decent in my opinion. I'd recommend this movie to someone purely based on the stunning visuals and the cool soundtrack.
  60. Jan 6, 2011
    6
    After more than a decade, another TRON movie was released. Did it make the fans happy ? Yes ! But I didn't saw the old TRON Movie (1982) so I was kinda amused. That does mean that you have to see the old one to like this one. The visual effects were outstanding. The disc trowing battle was bad-ass, I wanted to see more of that. Sometimes, especially at the end, it had those moments were itAfter more than a decade, another TRON movie was released. Did it make the fans happy ? Yes ! But I didn't saw the old TRON Movie (1982) so I was kinda amused. That does mean that you have to see the old one to like this one. The visual effects were outstanding. The disc trowing battle was bad-ass, I wanted to see more of that. Sometimes, especially at the end, it had those moments were it touches you. TRON : Legacy was kinda shallow, but it was a cool, hardcore movie, with hot chicks (Olivia Wilde). Still, this movie may not be for everybody. Expand
  61. Dec 30, 2010
    3
    I can't say much without spoiling the whole movie so I won't. I will say the story is too simple and slightly confusing. The special effects aren't that great and Jeff's CGI face looks like a bad PS2 game especially when put next to real humans. The combat (ground and ship) is never satisfying or impressive, and the characters are all shallow and cliche.

    There's literally nothing to see
    I can't say much without spoiling the whole movie so I won't. I will say the story is too simple and slightly confusing. The special effects aren't that great and Jeff's CGI face looks like a bad PS2 game especially when put next to real humans. The combat (ground and ship) is never satisfying or impressive, and the characters are all shallow and cliche.

    There's literally nothing to see here that's enjoyable or hasn't been done to death. Very disappointing.
    Expand
  62. Dec 17, 2010
    10
    I LOVED this movie. I had to see it twice on opening day, in 2D and 3D. I can't for the life of me understand all the hate for this film? Did you see the original or did you simply catch the highlight reel? There is a story being told here, a very well told one. The only drawbacks to the movie are some 3D scenes aren't up to snuff and CLU in his representation isn't quite there, but stillI LOVED this movie. I had to see it twice on opening day, in 2D and 3D. I can't for the life of me understand all the hate for this film? Did you see the original or did you simply catch the highlight reel? There is a story being told here, a very well told one. The only drawbacks to the movie are some 3D scenes aren't up to snuff and CLU in his representation isn't quite there, but still effective for the character. On the same hand, some of the 3D effects are simply breathtaking! The opening sequence and lead up to the final sequence were amazingly well done. The story was clear and well told, filled with interesting and lovable characters (I dare you to not fall in love with Olivia Wilde). This film is a sight to behold and is a treat for the ears. See the original Tron first, as you should with any sequel. Easily one of the best movies to come out this year. Expand
  63. Dec 22, 2010
    9
    Excellent the CGI is incredible and the soundtrack is pumping not the best film I've seen this year that was a toss up between Scott Pilgrim and Harry Potter but this is a close second if your a fan of the original i would definitely recommend checking this out. if not in the Cinema rent when the Blu-Ray comes out.
  64. Jun 18, 2011
    5
    With such a weak plot the only fall back for the viewer is the visual effects - and even that wasn't particularly groundbreaking - despite some nice effects. It was at least 30 mins too long, way too much unnecessary dialogue and general banter with consequently several "just get on with it" moments. When the viewer gets so bored that they're no longer very interested in the finalWith such a weak plot the only fall back for the viewer is the visual effects - and even that wasn't particularly groundbreaking - despite some nice effects. It was at least 30 mins too long, way too much unnecessary dialogue and general banter with consequently several "just get on with it" moments. When the viewer gets so bored that they're no longer very interested in the final outcome, that makes a movie a failure. A pity because if it had just had a better story and contained more humour and fun (without even having to enhance the effects) this would be an 8/10 movie. Expand
  65. Jan 1, 2011
    8
    Great visual effects, production design, musical scoring. Nice story. Good actors and actresses. All I can say I am satisfied. Sometimes, we only see the effects but not the story. Good movie!
  66. Dec 29, 2010
    4
    Visually stunning and comes with incredibly cool toys, Tron: Legacy still fell flat on the story and had a very dull script. The story is about the son of a virtual world designer (Garret Hedlund) goes looking for his father (Jeff Bridges) and ends up inside the digital world that his father designed. He meets his father's creation, Clue (Jeff Bridges), turned bad and a unique ally who wasVisually stunning and comes with incredibly cool toys, Tron: Legacy still fell flat on the story and had a very dull script. The story is about the son of a virtual world designer (Garret Hedlund) goes looking for his father (Jeff Bridges) and ends up inside the digital world that his father designed. He meets his father's creation, Clue (Jeff Bridges), turned bad and a unique ally who was born inside the digital domain of The Grid. Jeff Bridges played both the role of Kevin Flynn and Clue in this film. If you hadn't notice, they digitally rearranged his face so he'd look like a younger version of himself. Now talk about the 3D, sure the movie looked cool and all but the first thing popping up on the screen was "This film is not all in 3D, some of its parts will be in 2D since it is shot that way." Basically it meant the movie was converted at the end. There was not one scene that was meant for 3D that I can see. Although I loved the way the film looked and how cool the premise is, the 3D is laughable and the dialogue is annoying made Tron:Legacy fell short from its original. Expand
  67. Dec 19, 2010
    10
    visuals were a billion times better than avatar and the soundtrack was unbelievable. exceeded my expectations in every way. critics are dumb, olivia wilde is a fricken babe, this movie was the best this year.
  68. Dec 17, 2010
    9
    Ignore the critics as clearly they don't know what they are talking about. TRON: Legacy isn't just spectacular effects and a fantastic thrill ride full of character and not a weak link to be found in the cast.
    Unless you hate sci-fi you should go see this film.
  69. Dec 21, 2010
    8
    Tron: Legacy is quite a solid film. The story and setting are so nuanced and quirky it keeps things fresh despite the numerous action scenes. Solid performances from the actors and a fantastic soundtrack inject meaning into a world crafted via Disney's heavy-handed application of CGI animation. Of course, the depth and complexity of Tron may not reach the heights of classic dramas butTron: Legacy is quite a solid film. The story and setting are so nuanced and quirky it keeps things fresh despite the numerous action scenes. Solid performances from the actors and a fantastic soundtrack inject meaning into a world crafted via Disney's heavy-handed application of CGI animation. Of course, the depth and complexity of Tron may not reach the heights of classic dramas but Tron sits comfortably among the other popcorn flicks playing at your local 12-screen and has a ton of fun besting them. Expand
  70. Dec 18, 2010
    10
    The critics can s*ck it. The movie was great. Great visual effects, good story and acting. Amazing score. It was definitely better than Avatar.
  71. May 3, 2011
    8
    Amazing visually - I really wish I had the chance to watch this movie in theaters in 3D. I wasn't expecting too much from the plot, but I actually really liked it. And the score by Daft Punk is really sweet. Overall, I really enjoyed Tron: Legacy.
  72. jz3
    Dec 17, 2010
    10
    After reading all of the negative reviews, I was surprised to find the movie to be AWESOME. It stays true to the original, while introducing enough new elements to, well, make it new.
  73. Dec 17, 2010
    10
    Amazing visuals, sound, and acting, and the plot ain't too bad either. I have never seen a movie that has had reviews that are so far off the truth about the movie. Tron will have you immersed in beautiful visuals and beautiful sound (thank you Daft Punk) and the plot easily outclasses other sci-fi blockbusters (*cough*Avatar*cough*).

    See this movie.
  74. Dec 17, 2010
    8
    I totally loved this movie. A great follow on from the classic film. The visuals are great, the sound is stunning with the music not being a separate layer - rather a integral part of the narrative. How this film has such a low rating is criminal. It really shows how far the "film critic" class is away from what real people love and want to see. If you want a fun, thrilling, great familyI totally loved this movie. A great follow on from the classic film. The visuals are great, the sound is stunning with the music not being a separate layer - rather a integral part of the narrative. How this film has such a low rating is criminal. It really shows how far the "film critic" class is away from what real people love and want to see. If you want a fun, thrilling, great family movie this Christmas i would say it's gonna be perfect for you. Just don't expect it to be full of loads of Freudian rubbish and metaphorical bull. ;) Expand
  75. Dec 17, 2010
    9
    Despite some negative critic reviews, this film remarkable. To see it in IMAX format was breathtaking. The visuals are amazing. I felt immersed in the Gaming Grid. The musical cues are spot on and Daft Punk creates the atmosphere like no other. I'm certainly looking forward to the next 2 movies.
  76. Dec 18, 2010
    10
    I can only say that if you want to see a movie with stunning visuals, a presentation of a new and fantastic world, a good cast and a decent story, I say go for it, but if you're the guy that sees a movie solely for moral messages, complex character development and a deep undertaking in the human mind, this isn't really a movie for you.

    I enjoyed it greatly, and if you're just as geeky as
    I can only say that if you want to see a movie with stunning visuals, a presentation of a new and fantastic world, a good cast and a decent story, I say go for it, but if you're the guy that sees a movie solely for moral messages, complex character development and a deep undertaking in the human mind, this isn't really a movie for you.

    I enjoyed it greatly, and if you're just as geeky as I am about computers and worlds beyond the bonds of our own physics, you will too, I guarantee that.

    For a longer and more thorough review, visit my blog at: darthsatoris blogspot com
    Expand
  77. Jan 8, 2011
    4
    I have this film kinda sucked. The story was weak and so was the script. Jeff bridges in this film, as his older Self doesn't seem to do much or no way near as much as the first anyway. His CGI self, although much more involved, doesn't look great as his cold dead eyes distracts you from the films otherwise spectacular visuals. I seriously think that the only good thing was Olivia Wilde.I have this film kinda sucked. The story was weak and so was the script. Jeff bridges in this film, as his older Self doesn't seem to do much or no way near as much as the first anyway. His CGI self, although much more involved, doesn't look great as his cold dead eyes distracts you from the films otherwise spectacular visuals. I seriously think that the only good thing was Olivia Wilde. But seriously Disney, if your going to make another one, improve on the story! Expand
  78. Dec 17, 2010
    10
    I saw this at midnight showing last night and I was blown away. I was worried that it was going to suck but I kept my expectations in check and I was not dissapointed at all. It really was a good story. Its deeper than these crtics realize i guess because they were too distracted by the amazing visuals. If you like a good action movie with a good story and an amazing soundtrack you shouldI saw this at midnight showing last night and I was blown away. I was worried that it was going to suck but I kept my expectations in check and I was not dissapointed at all. It really was a good story. Its deeper than these crtics realize i guess because they were too distracted by the amazing visuals. If you like a good action movie with a good story and an amazing soundtrack you should see this. Also there is no other way to see this movie but in IMAX. Please don't see it any other way. Can't wait to get it on bluray. Expand
  79. Sio
    Dec 17, 2010
    10
    Once again, "professional" critics are off the mark. WAY off! This movie was very entertaining and the music was perfect for it. It was beautiful, in fact. One critic said they "forgot to tell a story"...I say he forgot to pay attention. Another said the music "lacked rhythm"...to that I say TRON wasn't a dance party, it was a life-or-death struggle. The music reflected danger, fear,Once again, "professional" critics are off the mark. WAY off! This movie was very entertaining and the music was perfect for it. It was beautiful, in fact. One critic said they "forgot to tell a story"...I say he forgot to pay attention. Another said the music "lacked rhythm"...to that I say TRON wasn't a dance party, it was a life-or-death struggle. The music reflected danger, fear, and the ultimate victory that the movie was all about. Users have spoken: this was a great film and it deserves recognition. Expand
  80. Dec 17, 2010
    10
    The critics can't seem to make up their minds with what they wanted this movie to be. I've seen complaints that it wasn't light-hearted enough just as often as I've seen people suggesting it could have dealt more with the complex problems of digital culture today.
    I don't think Legacy is trying to be either of those things. I think it's some really high-end fan service for the people who
    The critics can't seem to make up their minds with what they wanted this movie to be. I've seen complaints that it wasn't light-hearted enough just as often as I've seen people suggesting it could have dealt more with the complex problems of digital culture today.
    I don't think Legacy is trying to be either of those things. I think it's some really high-end fan service for the people who loved the original, and a really beautiful 3D experience for newbies with an interest in technology.
    Sure they didn't exploit everything they could have with the advancements in computing since 1982, but I think that would have been distracting and made the movie much too heavy. Sure, there's room for an epic story told like what critics wanted Tron to be, but that's not what I wanted and that's not really what was advertised.
    We got what we were promised. High tech, sexy, 3-D action with some likable characters, pretty women, and an awesome soundtrack.

    No, it's not the best movie of all time, but it's a good one, and a damn fun ride. I gave it a ten on here to try and even things out, because it deserves more than the 51/100 the critics gave. It's at least a solid 80.
    Expand
  81. Dec 17, 2010
    0
    Wow. The visuals were great but that's about it. The dialog is so bad it feels like they found TRON fanfiction online and decided to run with it as a script. At one point, a very zealous security guard chases the main character to the very top of a sky scraper, and greets him with, "Hey! didn't anyone ever tell you that stealing is wrong!"
    I chuckled - thinking it was supposed to be
    Wow. The visuals were great but that's about it. The dialog is so bad it feels like they found TRON fanfiction online and decided to run with it as a script. At one point, a very zealous security guard chases the main character to the very top of a sky scraper, and greets him with, "Hey! didn't anyone ever tell you that stealing is wrong!"
    I chuckled - thinking it was supposed to be funny in an off-beat 90's-action-film hipster way; then the movie went on and i realize that it wasn't a joke, it was the dialog's ceiling of creativity.

    The actor who plays the main character is so devoid of emotional inflection in his speaking, it's like he's never actually talked to another person in his life and is basing his role on what he's heard human communication is like. The girl from house is pretty good actress, but the real Jeff Bridges is the only ceaselessly good actor in the whole movie. The young, CGI, beowulf version of Bridges bizarrely falls far into the uncanny valley. His plastic artificialness is most apparent during a "rousing" speech he gives, during which it's noticeable that his face never creases when he talks, and his lips don't sync up with his words.

    Also, what was up with Cillian Murphy at the beginning playing a shady member of the board who's implied to be behind the leak of ENCOM's OS, only to never be seen again for the rest of the movie?
    And why's it called TRON when you only "see" him (helmet) for a total of maybe 28 seconds in the whole movie? The user score really shames me that a country, once the intellectual leader of the world, is full of so many people who think movies are only about special effects. I give it a 1 just for how visually impressive it was, but hopefully next time they put as much time and money into finding a good screen writer and set of actors as they did into making Sam Flynn's clothes all sparkly.
    Expand
  82. Dec 17, 2010
    9
    Having seen the previous film only a few minutes before sitting down in the theater to see Tron Legacy, there were a number of areas in the newer film that clearly stood out as similarities to the original film. In fact, there are so many similarities to the original film in pacing and storytelling, that Legacy actually manages to feel like a curious hybrid of sequel and remake.

    There's a
    Having seen the previous film only a few minutes before sitting down in the theater to see Tron Legacy, there were a number of areas in the newer film that clearly stood out as similarities to the original film. In fact, there are so many similarities to the original film in pacing and storytelling, that Legacy actually manages to feel like a curious hybrid of sequel and remake.

    There's a touch more "Real World" setup in the beginning than the original film, a slightly-too-long solar sail segment leading up to the final act, and Tron is almost as scarce in this film as his appearances were in the original. But, with all those similarities the film does tend to leave the viewer with a higher awareness of the mythology behind the Grid and its inhabitants. Technically, the film is nearly flawless with no issues that leap out at the viewer as a mistake or flub on first viewing. Every shot is well aimed, fight and game sequences are presented in a way that's less MTV and more "80's karate movie" and the story flows fairly well from one segment to the next. The greatest flaw most viewers might see in Tron Legacy is its tendency to explain and talk for large portions of screen time, but that isn't necessarily a complaint that feels particularly valid when you're looking at something so large-scale as the world presented in the Tron "mythology". Some stories just take a little time and scripting to tell, and Legacy struck an excellent balance of action and exposition in the eyes of those in the theater where I saw the film.

    When it comes to the die-hard geek demographic however, perhaps Tron Legacy's greatest flaw is a desire to position the film in a more mainstream fashion. Geeks may have wanted more information, more easter eggs and more background knowledge of how things worked - but those answers and options would likely only have detracted from the film. Bottom line, if you liked the first film, you'll love Legacy. If you never "got" the original Tron despite more than one viewing in recent years, don't bother with Legacy.
    Expand
  83. Dec 17, 2010
    1
    Is this what we've become? Applauding a less than mediocre attempt to jumpstart our childhoods? Sorry, this is just a bad movie. Sure, it winks at the original. Sure, the dude is cool. Sure, it's very very pretty to look at. But, what do you walk away with? What motivation is there for more? As bit would say: Nonononononono! Bad script. Boring for about 85%. I walked out sad. The lightIs this what we've become? Applauding a less than mediocre attempt to jumpstart our childhoods? Sorry, this is just a bad movie. Sure, it winks at the original. Sure, the dude is cool. Sure, it's very very pretty to look at. But, what do you walk away with? What motivation is there for more? As bit would say: Nonononononono! Bad script. Boring for about 85%. I walked out sad. The light cycle match was beautiful. Stay for that, then just go. The critics are right.......and I hate critics. Expand
  84. Dec 18, 2010
    7
    Stunning visuals, complete eye candy! Tron script won't win the Pulitzer Prize but amazing 3D experience. Good family fun during the holiday season for all of us.
  85. Dec 18, 2010
    0
    This film was terrible. It was worse than the origional. at least the origional had a story and plot, much like the new star wars films. Like why did they keep the disks on there backs where there easy to steal........also if the army went through the portal they would all end up in a small room which would cause the world to implode.......

    To sum up if you want to see a good film dont
    This film was terrible. It was worse than the origional. at least the origional had a story and plot, much like the new star wars films. Like why did they keep the disks on there backs where there easy to steal........also if the army went through the portal they would all end up in a small room which would cause the world to implode.......

    To sum up if you want to see a good film dont see this...see never back down. that film is amazing and well deserved its oscar.
    Expand
  86. Dec 19, 2010
    10
    Come on! What are you guys talking about... the movie was great. It's TRON. The goal of movies like this is to be epic, beautiful, and other worldly - The complexity is in the visuals, the story is there to move you through them. Any special effects fan will love this film!
  87. Dec 18, 2010
    9
    Tron was both visually appealing and emotionally capturing. I loved the father / son story. I thought all three lead actors did great - Bridges was particularly engaging. Wilde was fun and in-character. Content was kept at a good PG level, which I appreciate in an adventure film. The 3D IMAX experience was a great choice for this movie, and a lot of fun viewing. I'll see it again andTron was both visually appealing and emotionally capturing. I loved the father / son story. I thought all three lead actors did great - Bridges was particularly engaging. Wilde was fun and in-character. Content was kept at a good PG level, which I appreciate in an adventure film. The 3D IMAX experience was a great choice for this movie, and a lot of fun viewing. I'll see it again and I recommend it! Expand
  88. Dec 18, 2010
    6
    After 28 years, this is all they can come up with? Sure the visuals were eye-watering with all the pastel colours, the action sequences (disc duel, light-cycle battle) were great and we have the great Jeff Bridges... but the plot was weak. Reminds me of "Star Wars: Episode 1" where they took great care of the gadgets/gizmos/tech but no the story. It is not a total waste of money to watchAfter 28 years, this is all they can come up with? Sure the visuals were eye-watering with all the pastel colours, the action sequences (disc duel, light-cycle battle) were great and we have the great Jeff Bridges... but the plot was weak. Reminds me of "Star Wars: Episode 1" where they took great care of the gadgets/gizmos/tech but no the story. It is not a total waste of money to watch "TRON: Legacy" though. What about the 3D? Oh dear. This is becoming old - - the "3D trailer" does it right (when shown ahead of a feature length 3D film in cinemas), but the actual "3D movie" itself does not work. Considering that this film was shot in "3D" (with some scenes in 2D, there is a note at the beginning of the film), it is a letdown. I just don't get it. There were no moments where you would go "Whoa, now that's 3D awesomeness." Watch it in 3D to get the ultra-sharp, super clear and pristine image quality. But don't watch it in 3D to get in-your-face 3D moments. The movie will feel draggy (and boring at times) thanks to the "for the money" acting performances. Even Jeff Bridges couldn't save the painful human interaction. He did well for his part though. The human connection is barely there. It feels really cold. Where "TRON: Legacy" excels is at the visual effects department, and the music too thanks to Daft Punk. Michael Sheen's role of Castor was very, very underused. Overall, this is an OK movie but not great. Not a total waste. Watch it for the visual delights (CLU was incredibly realistic but still noticeably CGI) but not for the story or the human drama. Expand
  89. Dec 18, 2010
    10
    First of all, movies are meant to be enjoyed, not dissected and picked apart like some puzzle or algorithm. Tron Legacy is a Family friendly movie with keen aesthetics and balance. This story had a simple premise comprised of multiple intellectual thoughts. As this Film is clean and neat with the thought of the "what if" scenario that tries to answer as much as it can while posing more toFirst of all, movies are meant to be enjoyed, not dissected and picked apart like some puzzle or algorithm. Tron Legacy is a Family friendly movie with keen aesthetics and balance. This story had a simple premise comprised of multiple intellectual thoughts. As this Film is clean and neat with the thought of the "what if" scenario that tries to answer as much as it can while posing more to be questioned all amidst the impending fate. As far as technology goes, what else can we expect to see other than what we know in a more polished state with the aesthetic depth and crisp 3D? This movie is easy to see, great to enjoy at various levels and with a good musical backdrop and follow through. My wife who is not as technologically inclined enjoyed the movie and loved the music. You don't have to be a Nerd, Psychologist, Scientist, Hacker, or any other stereotype to enjoy this great film, that we the viewers did not have a hand in making, so by all means if anyone can do better... all said and done we were left satisfied and understood the many levels of intellect of the feature film. For those that liked the first, will no doubt enjoy this re-envisioned remake sequel that does exactly what it is supposed to in an adventure. spoilers..... spoilers


    For those that doubted the resolutions and postulated questions, it is all right in front of you. Flynn after seeing the iso's form their self consciousness is taken back to the realm of possibilities from this self born AI thus leaving Clu to form feelings of jealousy, since he was bred from Flynn's own self. Then when the cu is formed Flynn is thus seen as unfit and imperfect since he went back on a perceived promise made and then Clu fights for his own perceived place on the grid by genocide on the iso's. When flynn sees that he is far from the portal and removes himself from the grid and by his own right creates a sanctuary where he finds quorra, the last surviving iso and takes her in and fills her with the knowledge he had transported over time from earth all while seeing that in his attempts to fight back at clu he only created more artifacts, which after being destroyed and re-purposed, were used by clu to continue taking control over the grid. Thus this is why Flynn went into hiding and stopped creating from within. This leads clu to his course of actions on him not being satisfied with controlling the grid and watching the programs fight to death (derezolution), but leaving him wanting to get out and populate beyond the confines of the grid. Clu dissatisfied attempts to recontact those who created both the MCP and the Grid to see if he can get a way to change the game, and then the main action of the story continues. so with that said and done, talk about religion and faith, and selflessness and why the grid did not grow more. to answer that, there was only one who could create and that was Flynn. More intent on getting the key disk now are we? Go enjoy the movie, no need to dissect.
    Expand
  90. Dec 19, 2010
    2
    Overall disappointing. Amazing CG and music. OK 3D effect. Unfortunately, simpleminded "for 6 year olds" plotting and movie grinds to a halt several time for droning "backstory/exposition" dialogue. Certainly not a strong story to go with the pretty visuals. Jeff Bridges is wasted.
  91. LE_
    Dec 20, 2010
    9
    I struggled with the score for this movie. Should I give it a 9 b/c I really liked the movie, or should I give it a 2 because I was felt ripped off by the 3D upcharge that WAS NOT worth it? I paid $7 extra to see it in 3D, but I was sorely disappointed to find out only a few scenes were actually shot in 3D. Sadly, there was more exciting 3D 2 minutes of previews before the movie, thanI struggled with the score for this movie. Should I give it a 9 b/c I really liked the movie, or should I give it a 2 because I was felt ripped off by the 3D upcharge that WAS NOT worth it? I paid $7 extra to see it in 3D, but I was sorely disappointed to find out only a few scenes were actually shot in 3D. Sadly, there was more exciting 3D 2 minutes of previews before the movie, than in the entire Tron movie.

    Getting past that, I really liked this movie, the themes, and the art/graphics direction of the movie. Not the highest tech effects, but definitely well done.

    The movie was a little confusing at points(especially, for non-Tron fans and non-Geeks), but overall, I was really happy with the movie and the ending was pretty good.
    Expand
  92. Dec 19, 2010
    0
    Hated it! The Tron movie absolutely stinks. I'm a real fan of science fiction movies like the matrix, inception, and avatar, but Tron did absolutely nothing for me with its unengaging storyline. The 3d visual effects were cool in the beginning but the movie had no emotional substance and I couldn't wait for it to be over. Don't waste your money on this clunker. Tron is a dud.
  93. Dec 19, 2010
    9
    Great, Great, Great, Great movie. It's a work for the geeks, and jeff bridges fans. Cool style, actions was fantastic, I was even surprised that the acting wasn't as terrible as I expected! Bottom line is that if you willingly watched the first tron and enjoyed it you'll love this. If your looking for a cool action movie, you'll love this. If your looking for a great work of art or a trulyGreat, Great, Great, Great movie. It's a work for the geeks, and jeff bridges fans. Cool style, actions was fantastic, I was even surprised that the acting wasn't as terrible as I expected! Bottom line is that if you willingly watched the first tron and enjoyed it you'll love this. If your looking for a cool action movie, you'll love this. If your looking for a great work of art or a truly compelling story it will only be meh. Expand
  94. Dec 19, 2010
    10
    This movie was great. My first "new generation" 3D movie and it delivered. Saw it in an IMAX theater and it was quite the experience, visuals were amazing and the story was good, not sure what movie some of the others are watching. It's an adventure flick, plain and simple, setting up a new world/franchise that I hope continues to grow and prosper. I heard a lot of the negative press andThis movie was great. My first "new generation" 3D movie and it delivered. Saw it in an IMAX theater and it was quite the experience, visuals were amazing and the story was good, not sure what movie some of the others are watching. It's an adventure flick, plain and simple, setting up a new world/franchise that I hope continues to grow and prosper. I heard a lot of the negative press and have to say I can't imagine why. Just sit back and enjoy the film, it's not a sermon no matter what some critics would have you believe. Who's paying them anyways, most seem to have no touch with what the public is looking for in terms of entertainment. Expand
  95. Dec 19, 2010
    10
    This movie is fun, edgy, cool. It won't be a critic's choice, but It's better than typical Hollywood fluff. I hope they make a sequel, the story has been setup well for one. While this film has a good level of closure, there are plenty of options to take things further.
  96. Dec 19, 2010
    5
    This movie is an example of one that it's trailer was amazingly better than this. The trailer pumps you up, makes you want to see, feel and enjoy the action, but the end product disappoints.

    The movie is visually stunning, the soundtrack is amazing, and some actors pull it off just fine (Jeff Bridges, Garret Hedlund, Olivia Wilde). The movie revs it up at the beginning, with the light
    This movie is an example of one that it's trailer was amazingly better than this. The trailer pumps you up, makes you want to see, feel and enjoy the action, but the end product disappoints.

    The movie is visually stunning, the soundtrack is amazing, and some actors pull it off just fine (Jeff Bridges, Garret Hedlund, Olivia Wilde).
    The movie revs it up at the beginning, with the light cycles and disk battles (which aren't seen again), but after that, it just trudges along with tons and tons of dialogue, light action, dialogue, dialogue, and boom, final action scenes. It could have cut some parts and made it a looooot shorter. Overall, it's a decent movie, but the story needed some more work to make it an amazing experience. Don't do drugs watching this movie.
    Expand
  97. Dec 19, 2010
    7
    Great visual effects. Decent enough story for a film that is special effects focused. It starts off strong, but part way through I found the pacing becomes sluggish and disjointed at times.
  98. Oct 15, 2011
    9
    Truly spectacular, while I haven't seen the original Tron I really loved this movie, the world is awesome, characters are fantastic, and it just has an amazing atmosphere to it, it's action packed and just a lot of fun to watch, and the special effects and the cool suits they wear are awesome, and the ending has me hoping for another movie, truly a spectacular ride form beginning to end.
  99. Dec 19, 2010
    9
    One of the most exciting, entertaining and visually pleasing movies I've ever seen. Along with the solid plot fidelity it's hands down one of the best movies I've seen in years.
Metascore
49

Mixed or average reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 40
  2. Negative: 5 out of 40
  1. Reviewed by: Steve Persall
    Dec 17, 2010
    67
    When director Joseph Kosinski flips the switch on action, TRON: Legacy is entertaining enough. Especially in 3D IMAX, with a mega-audio system booming Deft Punk's droning Xbox-ready musical score, nearly drowning out the collisions.
  2. Reviewed by: John DeVore
    Dec 17, 2010
    12
    Tron: Legacy will only be enjoyed by men in their thirties and early forties searching for a Proustian moment.
  3. Reviewed by: Andrew O'Hehir
    Dec 17, 2010
    20
    That's the culture we live in, where the once-proscribed Pleasure Principle has become iron law and where the recycled, bloated, fish-belly emptiness of something like TRON: Legacy carries boredom to extravagant new heights.