Tropic Thunder

Tropic Thunder Image
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 484 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Tropic Thunder is an action comedy about a group of self-absorbed actors who set out to make the most expensive war film. After ballooning costs force the studio to cancel the movie, the frustrated director refuses to stop shooting, leading his cast into the jungles of Southeast Asia, whereTropic Thunder is an action comedy about a group of self-absorbed actors who set out to make the most expensive war film. After ballooning costs force the studio to cancel the movie, the frustrated director refuses to stop shooting, leading his cast into the jungles of Southeast Asia, where they encounter real bad guys. (Paramount Pictures) Expand

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. It's raunchy, outspoken -- and also a smart and agile dissection of art, fame, and the chutzpah of big-budget productions.
  2. Reviewed by: Dana Stevens
    90
    If you go see Tropic Thunder this weekend, don't be late. The four fake ads that open the movie are perhaps the apex of its considerable comic invention.
  3. 88
    A knockout of a comedy that keeps you laughing constantly. It's also killer smart, lacing combustible action with explosive gags.
  4. 75
    Basically a mega-budget war movie that makes fun of mega-budget war movies.
  5. All over the map, but it's worth enduring the botched gags, formula plotting, and even the racism to marvel at the genius of Robert Downey Jr.
  6. 70
    To top everything off, Tom Cruise may just have resurrected his career with the role of Les Grossman.
  7. 50
    The over-all effect is bizarre, daring you to be amused by something both brilliant and bristling with offense; if you sidle out at the end, feeling half guilty at what you just conspired in, then Stiller has trapped you precisely where he wants you.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 41 out of 179
  1. DavidW.
    Mar 4, 2009
    10
    Best Film of the year. How did this not win best picture. Comedies deserve more credit. This movie was incredibly intelligent. It is sad that Best Film of the year. How did this not win best picture. Comedies deserve more credit. This movie was incredibly intelligent. It is sad that some are not intelligent enough to realize this. Expand
  2. Ashley
    Aug 22, 2008
    10
    I have never laughed harder during a film. I consider it a perfect movie because it did exactly what it set out to do.
  3. Apr 1, 2012
    9
    First off, this is a 9.25 out of 10. It's really funny. Story is good, and so is the acting. Everyone did a good job, especially Robert DowneyFirst off, this is a 9.25 out of 10. It's really funny. Story is good, and so is the acting. Everyone did a good job, especially Robert Downey Jr. Overall, this a really, funny movie that you should watch. Highly recommended. Collapse
  4. PabloP.
    Jun 27, 2008
    8
    I got to test screen this movie. It is really a good adult action comedy. While much has been made about the fact that Robert Downey JR plays I got to test screen this movie. It is really a good adult action comedy. While much has been made about the fact that Robert Downey JR plays a black man, and this is seen as racist, thats not the case at all. I won't go into details because it spoils the plot. The movie is no bars held action comedy. It has Good Action, and some really funny comedy. I just hope they aren't forced to cut out the parts that really made this a good movie. Expand
  5. SAV
    Jul 30, 2015
    6
    Demenziale commedia americana firmata Ben Stiller che prende in giro i più famosi film di guerra e lo star system hollywoodiano in generale.Demenziale commedia americana firmata Ben Stiller che prende in giro i più famosi film di guerra e lo star system hollywoodiano in generale. La pellicola si vanta di attori del calibro di Robert Downey Jr, Jack Black, Tom Cruise e lo stesso Ben Stiller. Un film complessivamente divertente anche se non un kolossal della comicità a causa di qualche esagerazione di troppo. Da vedere in compagnia di amici per passare una serata all'insegna del trash e delle assurdità. Expand
  6. RoryP.
    Sep 29, 2008
    4
    Not very good. everything involving Robert Downey Jr. and Tom Cruise is pretty funny, everything else is not. A great cast wasted by a Not very good. everything involving Robert Downey Jr. and Tom Cruise is pretty funny, everything else is not. A great cast wasted by a director who isn't taking enough risks in criticizing his subject matter, with a script that isn't as sharp as we all wanted it to be considering the line up. Jack Black's presence is especially misjudged here, his not-at-all likeable character stagnating further through flat laughs and limp characterisation. His gurning is truly a grating experience to sit through. for all the high tech production values, this film is not very sophisticated in its satire. which would be alright if the film was actually funny. but, yunno, its not. It just looks tired Expand
  7. GilbertC.
    Aug 8, 2008
    0
    What a bore. The trailer is funny. But this movie isn't. It's repetitive and stupid. I Hate It!

See all 179 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. All Films Considered: Ben Stiller

    All Films Considered: Ben Stiller Image
    Published: March 18, 2010
    The star of the new movie "Greenberg," Ben Stiller has been making audiences laugh -- some of the time -- for two decades. We look at the best and worst movies of his career to date.