Troy

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 412 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 39 out of 412
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 18, 2012
    5
    Seeing the Illiad recreated is quite enjoyable, but the movie just falls flat on as it doesn't transpire all the great qualities of the poem. It is just a lazy Hollywood movie that was made as a money machine for the producers.
  2. WAKOJAKO
    May 20, 2004
    4
    Extremely uneven epic, with an at-times ludicrous screenplay (I actually heard audience members laugh at some of the dialogue during my screening) and possibly the worst music score in some time (80 percent which consists of the most annoying wailing--a poor immitation of some compelling passages from "Gladiator"). Pitt broods, Bana scowls and Bloom mostly whimpers... Directed competently Extremely uneven epic, with an at-times ludicrous screenplay (I actually heard audience members laugh at some of the dialogue during my screening) and possibly the worst music score in some time (80 percent which consists of the most annoying wailing--a poor immitation of some compelling passages from "Gladiator"). Pitt broods, Bana scowls and Bloom mostly whimpers... Directed competently but without the panache that will thrust it into the status of a classic. Hopeless come awards season. Closer at heart to the inconsequential "Pearl Harbor" than audience pleasing "Gladiator." In fact, of all the things it lacks, the most startling may be heart. Expand
  3. BenZ.
    Jun 12, 2004
    4
    This movie was a pure and utter dissapointment to me after the extremely cool looking trailers. First off... what does this film have going for it? Well... Eric Bana is great as Hector and there are a couple of really cool fight scenes. Yep, that's it. This movie contains cheesy dialogue, an absolutely horrible musical score, disturbingly bad computer-generated troops, and some This movie was a pure and utter dissapointment to me after the extremely cool looking trailers. First off... what does this film have going for it? Well... Eric Bana is great as Hector and there are a couple of really cool fight scenes. Yep, that's it. This movie contains cheesy dialogue, an absolutely horrible musical score, disturbingly bad computer-generated troops, and some really bad casting choices. Brad Pitt is extremely inadequate as the heroic achilles and I'm beginning to truly see what a bad actor Orlando Bloom is. What a bummer, i was expecting another Gladiator. Expand
  4. VictoriaS
    Jan 29, 2005
    5
    Clearly not meeting up to anyone's expectations.
  5. Jan 29, 2012
    6
    Troy features dazzling action, real life set pieces, and just powerful performances from Pitt, Kruger, Bloom and Bana; but sadly the film is completely emotionally dry and it most definitely suffers from that. I give this film 63%.
  6. ChadS.
    Aug 15, 2004
    6
    Quite often, the dialogue sounds like it was spit out by a computer program, forcing actors like Peter O'Toole to deliver lines so timeworn, even a pre-pubescent writing his first play would know better. Priam (O'Toole) actually tells Hector (Eric Bana), "A father couldn't ask for a better son," before his eldest son does battle with Achilles (Brad Pitt). "Troy" has the Quite often, the dialogue sounds like it was spit out by a computer program, forcing actors like Peter O'Toole to deliver lines so timeworn, even a pre-pubescent writing his first play would know better. Priam (O'Toole) actually tells Hector (Eric Bana), "A father couldn't ask for a better son," before his eldest son does battle with Achilles (Brad Pitt). "Troy" has the distinction of being alternately, cheesy and rousing, and sometimes, simultaneously. Give O'Toole credit for keeping it together when Orlando Bloom (Paris) describes Helen( Diana Krueger) as being precious to him like "every blade of grass...and every grain of sand." We know what film informs "Troy"('s) action scenes, but that doesn't mean it's any less exciting. You've gotta love the crane shot. Without having read Homer's "The Iliad", it's quite obvious to me that "Troy" is a loose adaptation, but given the nearly three hour-running time; a story that a child could understand, is infinitely preferable to a story that's inpenetrable. "Troy" creates too many opportunities for unintentional laughter, but it doesn't wholly doom this Roman lark, because Pitt doesn't get the lion's share of bad dialogue. We more or less take him seriously as Achilles. Expand
  7. ShaziaA
    Aug 30, 2004
    6
    The only thing keeping this movie afloat, other than the veterans (but is that a surprise), was Eric Bana. I cannot believe that beforehand, people thought he would drag the movie down because of his role in the Hulk. Orlando Bloom did not have much to do thankfully and Brad Pitt was miscast. How the producers of this movie could pay him $17 million is beyond me. Throwing in a love story The only thing keeping this movie afloat, other than the veterans (but is that a surprise), was Eric Bana. I cannot believe that beforehand, people thought he would drag the movie down because of his role in the Hulk. Orlando Bloom did not have much to do thankfully and Brad Pitt was miscast. How the producers of this movie could pay him $17 million is beyond me. Throwing in a love story to make him sympathetic to the audience did not work either. He should have gone in for the role of Hector, seeing as how he could pass for Peter O'Toole's son. Eric Bana, even though he's not blonde, could have been Achilles since he can be dangerous and murderous when he needs to (see Chopper). And then this could have stayed closer to the source material and the movie need not have had so many plotholes (Titanic-style ending, cheesy speech about getting peace in a lifetime of war). Come on Brad, you're a good actor but you did not have the gravitas for this. Collapse
  8. PatC.
    Sep 6, 2005
    4
    Iliad Lite. Just too much of a Hollywood feel. Lavish but pointless.
  9. Dec 19, 2010
    5
    This movie was just dull. Bad acting,bad story, and bad score. The only reedeming thing was the action but that is not even good enough to save this movie.
  10. Apr 12, 2012
    5
    This movie could have been way better, but sadly the makers of this film didn't do their homework on the great trojan war. The main problem i have with this movie is that it isn't accurate to the real events of the trojan war, almost everything got mixed up, and things weren't were they were supposed to be. For instance, Ajax never died in combat like in the movie, in real life AjaxThis movie could have been way better, but sadly the makers of this film didn't do their homework on the great trojan war. The main problem i have with this movie is that it isn't accurate to the real events of the trojan war, almost everything got mixed up, and things weren't were they were supposed to be. For instance, Ajax never died in combat like in the movie, in real life Ajax committed suicide, another one is that Agamemnon never died in Troy, but instead he was murdered in Greece, and so on and so forth, this film is filled with more of these mistakes. Expand
  11. Aug 17, 2014
    5
    "Troy" is a great-looking epic, but lacks Iliad's spirituality and character depth. It is closer to Greek mythology than "300" or "Clash of the Titans", though, and more balanced, too. Its action sequences and impressive visuals are satisfying enough to enjoy it.
  12. GaborA.
    May 24, 2004
    5
    For the longest time sitting in the theater i questioned everyone's despise for this film. A little after the middle it all hit me. Up until the fall of Hector dare i say that this movie was damn good. But as achilles put a hole in the trojan hero's chest it was like he put a hole in the boat called Troy the movie. After that the movie slowly sunk. Unfortunately the movie was For the longest time sitting in the theater i questioned everyone's despise for this film. A little after the middle it all hit me. Up until the fall of Hector dare i say that this movie was damn good. But as achilles put a hole in the trojan hero's chest it was like he put a hole in the boat called Troy the movie. After that the movie slowly sunk. Unfortunately the movie was long giving the boat plenty of time to reach the bottom of the ocean. As Troy begins to fall, which apparently took a couple of days, this movie falls into abismallness, and it took but a mere hour. Expand
  13. WassoZ.
    Jun 4, 2004
    6
    I' d like to answer with my vote to Christos D. who gave it a 2 because the movie has nothing to do with the truth. You must know that the film was "BASED" on Homer's poem, so the writer was free to act as he will. Now if you want to see the "REAL" story, you should make your complaints to Greek people, because they do nothing for their history, exept being proud of it and yet I' d like to answer with my vote to Christos D. who gave it a 2 because the movie has nothing to do with the truth. You must know that the film was "BASED" on Homer's poem, so the writer was free to act as he will. Now if you want to see the "REAL" story, you should make your complaints to Greek people, because they do nothing for their history, exept being proud of it and yet critisize anything someone else is doing! And that's a shame! Expand
  14. SamC.
    Jul 2, 2004
    6
    The special effects are mildly impressive, but not worth the millions spent on them, this is a film jam packed with sound-bites. Every sentance seems to have been written with an exhausting attempt to be a classic line, and far from the Epic that Homer wrote it to be, this "war of wars" that supposedly lasted over ten years, was summarised in a two week skirmish with only three or four The special effects are mildly impressive, but not worth the millions spent on them, this is a film jam packed with sound-bites. Every sentance seems to have been written with an exhausting attempt to be a classic line, and far from the Epic that Homer wrote it to be, this "war of wars" that supposedly lasted over ten years, was summarised in a two week skirmish with only three or four small engagements. As for the acting, this kind of film requires only the very best to help suspend belief and to escape reality. Unfortunately, whilst there are no real sore thumbs amoungst the many thumbs, a below par performance was laid on by many of the normally headlining names. For myself, I could not escape the continued thought,"what does Jennifer A think of all this?". Still, the individual fight scenes are beautifully put together, and the otherwise unwieldy weapons of the ancients, both the Greeks and the Assyrian/Persian feel to the Trojans (and I am sure that some expert nerd out there will correct me if I am wrong), were used in a way to cast them in a fresh light in my eyes. A few of the battle scenes show well the importance of good tactics, training and a strong commander, but whilst escape the shiny armour, squeaky cleanness of films like "First Knight", they lacked the full gritty reality of "Brave Heart". Conclusion? Not quite enough to suspend belief, definitely not on a large enough scale to be called an epic, the acting and the script was too weak to be called a classic, but enjoyable enough for those that like the genre, and considering the script he was given Brad Pitt, as the brooding Achilles, does not deserve quite as much of the panning that he got from the critics. Expand
  15. SusanS.
    May 16, 2004
    6
    Almost exactly what I expected it to be, and I had a nice bucket of popcorn to complement it. This is definitely a good and fun way to spend two and half hours of your summer, but don't go in expecting a) a good script, b) really astounding acting, or c) accuracy. Yes, we all know that they leave the gods out, which hampers the story more than I thought it would, but also the story Almost exactly what I expected it to be, and I had a nice bucket of popcorn to complement it. This is definitely a good and fun way to spend two and half hours of your summer, but don't go in expecting a) a good script, b) really astounding acting, or c) accuracy. Yes, we all know that they leave the gods out, which hampers the story more than I thought it would, but also the story has been changed; people die who are not supposed to die, characters (particularly women, I know, I know they don't really count) are completely non-existent although they have great importance in the story, and characters who need more screen time/good dialogue are left unsatisfied -- basically, every character except Achilles. Yes, Brad Pitt is lovely and often naked, but his Achilles is only partially fulfilling, mostly due to the atrocious love story thrown in so he could have some good hetero sex. Particularly Orlando Bloom and Sean Bean are underused, and towards the end I began to think that Bloom was cast solely for his previous experience in archery. Don't let all my negative comments sway you, though. I went to see this with three friends and we had a blast; just don't take it to seriously or expect to use it for an English essay. Expand
  16. KevinF.
    Jun 7, 2004
    4
    Brad Pitt descends even further down the talent ladder, from pretty boy to Schwarzeneggerian meathead--all balls, no brains. Let us hope that he redeems himself by impressing us in Ocean's Twelve.
  17. EfeB.
    Jul 30, 2004
    4
    Wolfgang petersen who did das boot and perfect storm does troy and keeps his journey down the ladder a constant one. usually directors get better with age and experience but mr. petersen not only does poorer but picks harder projects to direct as he goes. i salute his courage. but thats all i salute. brad pitt. what a name. unlike the myth achilies, he is real...and very close to the Wolfgang petersen who did das boot and perfect storm does troy and keeps his journey down the ladder a constant one. usually directors get better with age and experience but mr. petersen not only does poorer but picks harder projects to direct as he goes. i salute his courage. but thats all i salute. brad pitt. what a name. unlike the myth achilies, he is real...and very close to the camera...92 percent of the film! i have seen his face so much, i can sculpt his handsome face from clay, blind folded. thankfully for him, god worked on him eyes wide open.knowing perhaps one day, he will be on screen and a nightmare for all ugy american teenager boys with no self confidence and a wallpaper for all highschool girls. but i don't think god nor anyone else besides petersen's casting team thought of him as achilies. it is apparent in pitt's eyes, he also doesn't believe he is a mythic hero. and why is it that killing a phone book full of people is called being a "hero" is beyond me. peter o'toole enters the film with great class and caries most of the scenes with his unquestionable presence. with his buddy richard harris allready parted this earth, one cannot help but think when peter o 'toole will leave us to a world filled with young and bad actors, i hope not soon. the troy wars lasted for many years, but in this movie they make it seem like it was an afternoon picnic. since usually sun rises from the east, why do we see the sunrise from the turkish shores looking at west towards greece? ahh...because this is a "film" and huge fleets of wooden ships look splendid with the sun rays behind them. if they cannot get a gigantic element like the SUN correct, how are we expected to believe the rest of the story? orlando bloom has obviously studied theatre acting, because he is the only one mimicing his face and speaking the loudest of all. also, he looks just like legolas doesn't he?...not just looks but acts too. petersen could have gotten some extra lord of the rings clips from peter jackson and stuck those footages in troy, would have been the same effect as hiring him for gagilion million dolars. the film, boring. more fight scenes needed. because thats what this film is, just doesnt have enough. how can you have less of what you have?...its called troy. Expand
  18. GaryM.
    May 10, 2004
    4
    The fight scenes were a bit money but the dialogue was trite, the story was largely unpolished and the acting was horrendous (i'm looking at you, Mr. Bana.) Visually beautiful, but don't waste your 7 bucks. It's dollar theater material or con your girlfriend into renting it for you.
  19. GaryM.
    May 10, 2004
    4
    The fight scenes were a bit money but the dialogue was trite, the story was largely unpolished and the acting was horrendous (i'm looking at you, Mr. Bana.) Visually beautiful, but don't waste your 7 bucks. It's dollar theater material or con your girlfriend into renting it for you.
  20. BillR.
    May 14, 2004
    4
    Maybe it's just me, but I kind of didn't want this movie to chalk up to a grave miss. With stalwarts from other assorted epics on hand (namely a certain Rings cycle and Braveheart) rounding out an able cast, I figured it couldn't prove anywhere near as mechanical and dimwitted as, say, The Last Samurai. And Troy isn't...but the good news ends right there. That other Maybe it's just me, but I kind of didn't want this movie to chalk up to a grave miss. With stalwarts from other assorted epics on hand (namely a certain Rings cycle and Braveheart) rounding out an able cast, I figured it couldn't prove anywhere near as mechanical and dimwitted as, say, The Last Samurai. And Troy isn't...but the good news ends right there. That other Bill's right, I'm afraid. This isn't in LotR's passionate, bond-building league - not even close. Hell, it's not the half-decent flipping of history on its ass that was Braveheart. Dare I say it? For the large-screen bombast, it's actually closer to the level of a badly paced high-school play, your average lackluster and dull historical miniseries (like USA's Spartacus), or worse still, another epic Gibson vehicle (THE PATRIOT) in quality, right down to the inferior Horner score, many of the performances, and battle sequences, which are simply put, nothing to get excited about. (The Trojan horse ace in the hole is a letdown in particular, with lousy build-up.) If the fighting can't at least entertain when it significantly detracts from character screentime, then who cares? The battle sequences seem rather visually flat to boot, as does most of Troy: hmmmm. I'm surprised positive notices are being given to the estimable veterans in this ensemble at all. They come off looking worse than anyone else (yes, even the astoundingly miscast Brad Pitt). Brian Cox, for starters, is nothing short of cartoonish and one-note as the Bad Guy, the warmongering Agamemnon, reduced throughout to chewing scenery bug-eyed. (Duke of Moulin Rouge, anyone?) Ditto for Brendan Gleeson (though he's thankfully relieved of such tedium before long). Julie Christie's cameo is the very definition of 'pointless'. And don't ask me how Wolfgang Petersen managed to capture PETER O'TOOLE in not one, but several unflattering closeups, but I suspect it could be that Petersen, over time, went from directing good movies like Das Boot to crap like Air Force One: as Troy's king, O'Toole looks less understandably morose and powerless than constipated, for crissakes. Priam's role, furthermore, is so clumsily written and integrated it begins to feel like his very existence is dependent on "the Gods": it's impossible for even someone like O'Toole to lend this lamely written role anything beyond a modicum of gravitas. Only Sean Bean escapes with his dignity intact as Odysseus, and he's still gravely underused (proof positive is watching him starting to look bored amidst the clashes). As for the rest: nothing against Brad Pitt in general. He can prove charismatic, interesting enough as an actor when married to the right material (Fight Club, 12 Monkeys) but he's just hopelessly out of his depth glumly spitting out Homeric in well, some kind of accent, waxing on about the merits of immortality. In O'Toole's already troubled company? Even worse. (Still, the absolute worst actor in the film is the one playing Achilles' cousin.) Eric Bana and Orlando Bloom do their best with curiously minimal screentime, sure, but Hector, supposedly a major iconic figure in the assault on Troy, never really leaves the page thanks to said minimum up to his demise, and Paris is almost as quickly forgotten as he's introduced and nearly killed at the start of war. When he gets heroic on Achilles' heel, Petersen may as well have simply remembered to actually USE the newcomer at the last minute, and so the character ends up feeling up less important than...Legolas? What gives? As for the girls, Diane Kruger makes a pretty Helen alright. Too bad she's also pretty much a soapoperatic blank slate as the face that launched a thousand ships. Saffron Burrows and Rose Byrne strike similarly attractive and sorrowful poses as royal family Trojans with a lot more conviction, but their efforts are clearly overwhelmed by Petersen's piss-poor management of overflowing ancient scripture, and therefore also futile. In short: not a disaster, but not a very good movie by any stretch of the imagination. That's due in large part to its own sheer *lack* of imagination. Where is Peter Jackson when you need him? Expand
  21. Chuck76
    May 17, 2004
    4
    Really now, are you people kidding? I cannot believe anyone could rate this laughable piece of overblown pomp so highly. The casting, dialog, script, Aaaarrrghh!! I could go on but it's not worth my time or anybody elses to deconstruct this rubbish. Enjoy it on the most basic homoerotic level and you may get some saisfaction and if you're 9 years old I'm sure you'll Really now, are you people kidding? I cannot believe anyone could rate this laughable piece of overblown pomp so highly. The casting, dialog, script, Aaaarrrghh!! I could go on but it's not worth my time or anybody elses to deconstruct this rubbish. Enjoy it on the most basic homoerotic level and you may get some saisfaction and if you're 9 years old I'm sure you'll love it but, no no, no, no it's bad. Give it up Brad you need to have depth or be a far better actor than you to portray it, pouting doesn't work. Russel Crow and Gladiator pulled it off though flawed at least you cared what happened and how it ended. It's a summer film and probably going to do well but it really doesn't get near deserving it. I hate it go see it so you can too!! Expand
  22. CourtneyW.
    May 26, 2004
    4
    The best thing I could say is that it's not awful. Not the epic it could be. Too long, overblown and overacted but entertaining enough in its own right.
  23. DaveC.
    Jun 16, 2004
    5
    Overacted in a Samson & Delilah fashion and way too long (which doesn't help when it loses steam after an hour and a quarter) but it seems to have achieved its objective for the most part and turns out to be a lot more enjoyable and handsome than the tedious, choppy Gladiator.
  24. PonR
    Jan 16, 2005
    6
    Would've been a classic...if it had come before every other movie of its genre. Yes, it was everything I expected, and in that sense, it was an okay movie. And I don't say okay lightly. But therein lies the problem. Epics like this should exceed your expectations. Not just okay, not just good, but great. And that's why "Troy-2004" will be forgotten.
  25. yoonc.
    Jan 7, 2005
    6
    Dreary and bloated, a beached whale of a movie... what was peterson--of das boot and in the line of fire--thinking? actors are either handsome pretty boys or cartoonishly gruff old men(someone give o'toole a drink). helen comes across as a mannequin. another woman looks like elaine on seinfeld--with none of the humor. the movie trumps the mythic aspects of trojan war not to dig for Dreary and bloated, a beached whale of a movie... what was peterson--of das boot and in the line of fire--thinking? actors are either handsome pretty boys or cartoonishly gruff old men(someone give o'toole a drink). helen comes across as a mannequin. another woman looks like elaine on seinfeld--with none of the humor. the movie trumps the mythic aspects of trojan war not to dig for historical truth but to trump up every cliche of the historical spectacle dreamfactory--expect 'homages' to everything as old as 'alexander nevsky' to something as recent as saving private ryan(especially the beach landing scene) and the awful LOR movies. script is atrocious, art design is standard, CGI is cluttered. still, the state of cinema being what it is, it's still above average. Expand
  26. groundfisher
    May 14, 2005
    6
    I was pleasantly surprised. If you want some light entertainment and you quite enjoy fast-paced action films, then Troy fits the bill. Don't expect a great cinematic epic. Troy doesn't even try to be. Some disappointed people were expecting 'Troy' (Troy!) to be a historical drama! Priceless.
  27. JoseG.
    May 11, 2004
    4
    If you have been saying to yourself, "I have not seen enough of Brad Pitt's arse. I really wish they would make a movie showcasing Brad Pitt's arse." This movie is the vehicle that Brad Pitt's arse has been looking for. Suffice it to say that if you enjoyed the Greek mythology surrounding Troy, then you will be thoroughly disappointed with this film. The Gods are totally If you have been saying to yourself, "I have not seen enough of Brad Pitt's arse. I really wish they would make a movie showcasing Brad Pitt's arse." This movie is the vehicle that Brad Pitt's arse has been looking for. Suffice it to say that if you enjoyed the Greek mythology surrounding Troy, then you will be thoroughly disappointed with this film. The Gods are totally left out of this picture; as is the story of Helen and Paris, which takes a side note to Brad Pitt's arse. So flock to the theatre to see Brad Pitt's arse for the only nudity in this film is Brad Pitt's arse. There is some good battle scenes, none of which is noteworthy. The acting is good, not great - not horrible. Expand
  28. PaulF.
    May 16, 2004
    6
    In an epic war film, a filmmaker has two options: 1) pick a side to devote the story to and the audiences attention OR 2) pick no sides and create a commentary on the woes of war. This film does neither of these things. There is no great character development that allows you to even care about who wins or loses, thus nullifying any form of social commentary. This is where the film falls In an epic war film, a filmmaker has two options: 1) pick a side to devote the story to and the audiences attention OR 2) pick no sides and create a commentary on the woes of war. This film does neither of these things. There is no great character development that allows you to even care about who wins or loses, thus nullifying any form of social commentary. This is where the film falls to its knees: Good decisions? Bad decisions? How about no decisions. The director and writer decided best to leave the fate of the film to the gods, or should I say the gods were pissed they were left out and cursed Petersen to make this trite film. Can any war epic made in post LoTR compare? Sure, but it's certainly not this film. See it for the popcorn fun, but in the end, it will leave you with thoughts on how to make it better. Expand
  29. ReneeD.
    May 17, 2004
    6
    Great eye candy, but completely lacking in character depth. Both Achilles and his love interest experience dramatic behavorial changes toward the end of the movie, but we never know why. Nor, to be quite honest, do we care. Peter O'Toole, as King of the Trojans, makes so many poor decisions, against the repeated advice of his sons, that, rather than empathize with Troy, the movie Great eye candy, but completely lacking in character depth. Both Achilles and his love interest experience dramatic behavorial changes toward the end of the movie, but we never know why. Nor, to be quite honest, do we care. Peter O'Toole, as King of the Trojans, makes so many poor decisions, against the repeated advice of his sons, that, rather than empathize with Troy, the movie goer is forced to wonder how the city survived as long as it did with such leadership. The action is wonderful as are the sets, costumes, and musical direction. And Brad Pitt is... well, naked. A lot. And very convincing as a Greek warlord, depite being so pretty. Overall, it's a relatively enjoyable movie as long as you don't expect much substance. Expand
  30. JudyT.
    May 17, 2004
    4
    The movie should have been better. The dialog was really bad. I was glad when it was over. It's no epic.
  31. RichardG.
    May 17, 2004
    4
    Can you say boring? And can you say tedious? These are the words to describe this movie. Orlando Bloom is an over acting fool, and Brad Pitt is just a slab of beef for the ladies, that is what I got from this film. The last 20 minutes of the film was all filler. I never felt like there was ever a climax. The story just went on, until it was done. Anyway, I hope you guys skip this one, or Can you say boring? And can you say tedious? These are the words to describe this movie. Orlando Bloom is an over acting fool, and Brad Pitt is just a slab of beef for the ladies, that is what I got from this film. The last 20 minutes of the film was all filler. I never felt like there was ever a climax. The story just went on, until it was done. Anyway, I hope you guys skip this one, or if you're like me you should let other folks pay. Sorry I can't even suggest a rental for this wood atrosity. Well maybe only if you have insomnia, and need to fall asleep really quickly. Expand
  32. Meat
    May 18, 2004
    5
    Way too much on the cheeze factor here... The musical score was borderline obnoxious and the screen play was horrible. It was so primitive that I was half expecting someone to throw out a "dude" or a "just chill"... The heavy dialogue worked in LOTR, but in Troy it was comical. And that's a knock on the acting... One more thing, and I'm a Brad Pitt fan... but Russell Crowe blew Way too much on the cheeze factor here... The musical score was borderline obnoxious and the screen play was horrible. It was so primitive that I was half expecting someone to throw out a "dude" or a "just chill"... The heavy dialogue worked in LOTR, but in Troy it was comical. And that's a knock on the acting... One more thing, and I'm a Brad Pitt fan... but Russell Crowe blew him away in Gladiator. Not even in the same league... Nuff said. Expand
  33. E.Clark
    May 24, 2004
    4
    Very very disappointing. shame on you wolfgang peterson!!
  34. MarkB.
    May 24, 2004
    4
    A pompous, windy would-be epic that's completely shy of anything as memorable as the heartwrenching final minutes of Spartacus or Joaquin Phoenix's multileveled villainy in Gladiator or (do we even have to say it?) the chariot race in Ben-Hur, Troy proves that they really DON'T make 'em like they used to. Brad Pitt is generally at his best in over-the-top, heavily A pompous, windy would-be epic that's completely shy of anything as memorable as the heartwrenching final minutes of Spartacus or Joaquin Phoenix's multileveled villainy in Gladiator or (do we even have to say it?) the chariot race in Ben-Hur, Troy proves that they really DON'T make 'em like they used to. Brad Pitt is generally at his best in over-the-top, heavily satiric roles, as in 12 Monkeys and Fight Club; his opening scene, depicting his Achilles as a spoiled superstar athlete, has some of that promise, but it's quickly superseded by scene after endless scene of talky platitudes and unremarkable CGI battle sequences. (The anything-goes hand-to-hand combat is more impressive, even if it gives the uninformed the impression that Homer somehow got to see Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon before writing his account.) Pitt, Eric Bana, and Orlando Bloom may have seemed physically right for their roles (translation: their pecs and abs oil up real good) but they're boring pretty boys; thank Zeus such REAL actors as Brendan Gleeson, Brian Cox, Julie Christie and especially Peter O'Toole are added to the mix. I guess it's not entirely the movie's fault, since the battles mostly take place at night and/or in the dirt, but I gotta say it: this is one drab-LOOKING spectacle. To sort of get in the mood for this, I watched Cecil B. DeMille's The Ten Commandments on DVD the day before; never mind the kitschy dialogue, that 1956 film ran a full hour longer than Troy but seemed an hour shorter. That's because DeMille, for all his faullts, really knew how to tell a story on screen. At one time, so did Troy's director Wolfgang Petersen (Das Boot; In The Line of Fire; The Perfect Storm). What happened? Expand
  35. armandos.
    Jan 24, 2005
    6
    Brad Pitt is one of the weakest actors in this flick-however does fit the part physically-good action -a bit overlong-not very accurate historically but most will not care.
  36. Mar 14, 2013
    6
    Not that Blockbuster, that i expected. The directors Cut release is improved though.
  37. Nov 10, 2012
    4
    The entire movie to me was just waiting through the terrible dialogue just to get to the action scenes. Very disapointing. I expected better, Especially with a movie like this.
  38. Jun 21, 2014
    6
    If you watch this movie with the understanding from the beginning that there are going to be no supernatural elements then this is a great film. When this first came out a few friends of mine were really upset that it didn't follow the Iliad very closely, because there was no gods and magic and living rivers or anything like that. I think it's fine to tell a version of the story withoutIf you watch this movie with the understanding from the beginning that there are going to be no supernatural elements then this is a great film. When this first came out a few friends of mine were really upset that it didn't follow the Iliad very closely, because there was no gods and magic and living rivers or anything like that. I think it's fine to tell a version of the story without any magic to it. There's still interesting characters, and good fighting. If you like "battle movies" like Gladiator and Kingdom of Heaven, this is a movie you should see. Expand
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 43 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 43
  2. Negative: 4 out of 43
  1. A protracted and uninvolving affair in which men battle over issues that audiences may struggle to find compelling, and no central figure emerges to take command of the film.
  2. 75
    Troy lacks the focus of Gladiator, not to mention that Oscar winner's scrappy wit. But why kick a gift horse when you're in summer-movie heaven?
  3. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    80
    In this vigorous, stalwart epic, they blend martial breadth and emotional intimacy, honor and obsession, romance and machismo to show the glamour and folly of war.