User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 355 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 39 out of 355
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 13, 2013
    7
    A lot of people are foggy enough about the battle of Troy’s origins to confuse the story laid out in the “Iliad” with history. I’m sure you’ll hear more than one movie-goer comment on the film’s historical accuracy. Last night I heard at least two. But, like Hidalgo, The Passion, or maybe more like Harry Potter, Troy is another ambitious adaptation that only manages as solid entertainment.A lot of people are foggy enough about the battle of Troy’s origins to confuse the story laid out in the “Iliad” with history. I’m sure you’ll hear more than one movie-goer comment on the film’s historical accuracy. Last night I heard at least two. But, like Hidalgo, The Passion, or maybe more like Harry Potter, Troy is another ambitious adaptation that only manages as solid entertainment. The idea of taking Homer’s battle poem and turning it into a movie is a good one, since it instantly leans towards the epic and contains plenty of notable and screen worthy characters. It’s also a story strongly ingrained in our cultural consciousness, after centuries of required classroom reading. It has already received some comparison to Gladiator, but where that movie was a surely modern fighting flick, the story of Troy lends itself much more to Hollywood’s golden age, the sort of thing that would have attracted a younger Chuck Heston. As Achilles, Brad Pitt is either naked or fighting. There’s no in between. Achilles is a guy who only wears clothes when he’s killing. I'm not sure what that says about his character. But don’t worry guys, it isn’t real Pitt nudity, just side-nudity. In fact, I don’t think I’ve ever seen so much side-nudity in any film. I now know every intimate inch of Brad Pitt’s naked profile. Troy lacks the courage to show full frontal or even a little bit of ass crack. Odd for any other R-rated movie, but not really for this one which only barelyshows enough carnage to warrant a rated R. It could easily have slipped by as PG-13 and one has to wonder why they bothered at all with an R when the removal of even a thimble-full of blood could have garnered them something lesser. If you’re going to go R, make it worthwhile. Don’t be afraid of women’s breasts. Don’t run away from realistic battle sequences. Hey, throw in a couple of decapitations! This is war, not West Side Story. What the film’s massive battle sequences sometimes lack in ugly realism is made only worse by Director Wolfgang Petersen’s strange propensity to focus in on one on one battles to the exclusion of all else. A hundred-thousand men clash on the field of battle, yet everything falls silent as soldiers form a big school-yard huddle whenever Hector picks up his sword. Should he dispatch a particularly difficult foe, he mutters “that’s enough” and all one-hundred thousand men just seem to wander home. Maybe I’ve been permanently spoiled by Peter Jackson’s groundbreaking siege in The Two Towers, but Troy’s bigger and supposedly badder battles just can’t compare. Troy fails to garner any excitement from its massive scale, but Petersen does have an amazing gift for filming one on one action. The final big battle between Achilles and Hector is engrossing and amazing. That’s due in no small part to both Pitt and Bana’s impressive performances, in which both brilliantly capture the physicality of their respective characters. Still, it is impossible to walk away from Troy completely unsatisfied. Despite some major directing flaws, Petersen does deliver an enjoyably huge (if a little too long) period adventure. Women will no doubt swoon at the legions of male characters clad in thigh revealing leather costumes. Men will go insane over Achilles kicking ass against anything and everything that moves. Troy is big, grandiose, and entertaining. With such a marvelous cast, I wish Petersen had delivered a masterpiece, but I’ll settle for some solid sandal-wearing fun. Expand
  2. DiosaM.
    Aug 31, 2006
    10
    i think troy is such an excellent movie.it is maybe not perfect but come think of it, its inperpection makes it perpect.so far besides gladiator and odyssey ,this troy has made me cry.i think they should watch it.it is realy good.it exceeded my expectations. if they have read iliad they'll realy apreaciate this movie. it even will widen ur knowledge. for me it seems that the great i think troy is such an excellent movie.it is maybe not perfect but come think of it, its inperpection makes it perpect.so far besides gladiator and odyssey ,this troy has made me cry.i think they should watch it.it is realy good.it exceeded my expectations. if they have read iliad they'll realy apreaciate this movie. it even will widen ur knowledge. for me it seems that the great written by homer comes to life. Expand
  3. DanB.
    Jun 2, 2004
    8
    Much much better than I thought it would be, it's a pretty good movie. Brad Pitt is kind of odd here and there, but he doesn't stink up anything, and the fights are really good too. The movie made me go out and buy the book right after.
  4. LeeG.
    May 20, 2004
    9
    With the Gods and heroes used more gracefully than some other "epic" movies, I found it thoroughly entertained me and was anything but a tongue in cheak romp which it could so easily have become. The martial prowess of Achilles was indisputible and at no point do you feel that he's just been "bigged-up" for the sake of the legend. Satisfyingly, he's just extremeley good at With the Gods and heroes used more gracefully than some other "epic" movies, I found it thoroughly entertained me and was anything but a tongue in cheak romp which it could so easily have become. The martial prowess of Achilles was indisputible and at no point do you feel that he's just been "bigged-up" for the sake of the legend. Satisfyingly, he's just extremeley good at killing people. Lots of people... A great performance from Eric Bana and the rest of the cast, with the only potential weak link being Bloom, who is convincing only because his role demands a bit of adolecent brashness. All in all though, a very good film; and a real treat as this year has teased us with some good concepts, but not so many golden fleece-alikes... Expand
  5. DarkenD.
    Sep 15, 2004
    9
    I can't believe there were so many negative review here, so I have to put my up. Bad reviews is no problem, but damn, most of you critic on the wrong aspect. First, this is a film, it is not a book, so don't go compare it to the book its base on. Once made it to the film, expect some change. Just because the movies title was Troy, don't expect the movies about Troy, not I can't believe there were so many negative review here, so I have to put my up. Bad reviews is no problem, but damn, most of you critic on the wrong aspect. First, this is a film, it is not a book, so don't go compare it to the book its base on. Once made it to the film, expect some change. Just because the movies title was Troy, don't expect the movies about Troy, not completely anyway. I agree with the rest of you on two thing, Bloom suck, the sun rise (lol, Efe pointed this out.) But if you notice throughout the movie, Pit as Achilles was on screen alot. Why? its because the movies is about Achilles, not Troy. The film is about Achilles's role in the battle with Troy, not Troy itself. Expand
  6. NemawashiK.
    May 18, 2004
    9
    Don't believe the negative reviews: This movie is well done. Eric Bana puts in a particularly interesting performance. It's visually rich, too.
  7. KelR.
    Jul 21, 2004
    9
    I really liked this movie, not because of the actors or how it was done but because I love movies done about epic battles of the past. It stems from the fact that Troy was an actual place and there was an actual conflict there that perhaps shaped the history of Europe permenantly. If you enjoy these kind of grand scale epic movies than you'll love Troy.
  8. paul
    Jan 8, 2005
    10
    Great action, dialogue, beautiful scenery, some great acting by o'toole, only slightly corny and a little too long.
  9. josephp.
    Sep 21, 2005
    10
    These critics are all idiots! If you don't want to see an action packed movie, go somewhere and read a book. This film rocked! There was a lot of action and fight scenes...but it should have been more gory. This would be ideal for a extended collectors edition. Additional footage a must. Extend the beach battle,battle at Troys wall,battles while Troy was under seige,more Achillies These critics are all idiots! If you don't want to see an action packed movie, go somewhere and read a book. This film rocked! There was a lot of action and fight scenes...but it should have been more gory. This would be ideal for a extended collectors edition. Additional footage a must. Extend the beach battle,battle at Troys wall,battles while Troy was under seige,more Achillies fights,more Ajax fights,more Hector fights,and please more Oddyseus fights. Look at the gore of Braveheart and implement it into extended addition. It would be a movie to die for. Expand
  10. RDalvi
    Apr 23, 2006
    9
    It is not just an insane war film. It has an emotional pull too. Just see the scene where O'Toole visits Pitt. Brilliant performances and good direction. Is just a tad bit too violent.
  11. YeraldinE.
    Nov 3, 2005
    10
    This movie was awesome, I think archilles is the greatest heros of greece of all time; Brat Pitt didn't a excellent job, he looked amazing in this movie. The story was great. This movie was romance, action and hot guy all in one. This is my favorite of all times #1 if you vote 1-9 you don't know what are you talking about.
  12. Johan
    Dec 6, 2004
    10
    Great picture and the best epic in years. (Excluding LOTR). Awesome actors in Eric Bana, Brad Pitt, Brian Cox and of course the legend himself, Peter O'Toole. Even Orlando Bloom gave his best preformance ever ( how good that now is). Great battle scenes and one on one duels.
  13. TigranH.
    May 20, 2004
    8
    This is a movie of epic proportions and even though it is loosely based on Homer's Illiad, it still comes through with all the epitomes of a best Greek tragedy. Comparisons with the Gladiator are apt to happen but they are in many respects two very different movies, as were the backdrop for both - 2 very different civilizations and stories. Troy is a nice flowing movie with all the This is a movie of epic proportions and even though it is loosely based on Homer's Illiad, it still comes through with all the epitomes of a best Greek tragedy. Comparisons with the Gladiator are apt to happen but they are in many respects two very different movies, as were the backdrop for both - 2 very different civilizations and stories. Troy is a nice flowing movie with all the best qualities of a Greek play. Directing is excellent as well as the music that is so much interwoven with the story. The battle scenes are amazing and certainly the best I have seen so far in this movie genre (especially 1 on 1). The cast is a nice spectra of quality actors, where Peter O'Toole and Eric Bana (as Hector) shine. If anyone gets an Oscar nomination it Will be O'Toole. Unfortunately that cannot be said about Brad Pitt who is a paradox for me in this move. At the same time he is the best link in the chain but also its worst. Yet while he displays a fine acting technique (love and battle scenes), he actually falls short in the deeper, more craving parts - those of dialogues and emotions. Real Greek tragedy emotions are missing and there is too much of a flat delivery and uninspired dialogue in the key moments he delivers. Rather dissapointing. But that notwithstanding, the paradox lies in the fact that he is the only one for this role becuase he plays this Godly Greek half-immortal hero to perfection. No one could do that in such a way and that makes him a great star, although that's good - but not good enough. As I said, it is a very different story to the classic tale and a bit more focus could have been directed towards his relationship to his closest brother in arms, Patroclus. In any case this is a great movie and it's worth seeing. A very much - a true story behind the legend - type of movie. As far the Oscars go - there could be a couple of nominations - but no major ones. I liked the ending with the Achilles heel! Expand
  14. TatianaM.
    Oct 27, 2005
    8
    This movie has its share of flaws for sure : the ending is rushed, Achilles' love story is awkwardly done, Peter O'Toole looks like he's been poleaxed half the time and the actress who plays Andromache annoyed me mightily. But despite all that (and some other things that I didn't mention), the core story - Homer's story, altered as it is - is so strong, that it This movie has its share of flaws for sure : the ending is rushed, Achilles' love story is awkwardly done, Peter O'Toole looks like he's been poleaxed half the time and the actress who plays Andromache annoyed me mightily. But despite all that (and some other things that I didn't mention), the core story - Homer's story, altered as it is - is so strong, that it carries the movie effortlessly through all its considerable length. The plot is flowing, the characters are recognizable and actions have consequences - that, for me is the best achievement of this movie. That, and Brad Pitt - maybe I'm a little biased, because I had a crush on Achilles since I was 11, but i thought that Pitt was brilliant in the part. The vanity, the tenderness, the arrogance, the mood swings - it was all there for all to see. Poor doomed golden boy... sniff. All the others were adequate to good, with 2 aforementioned exceptions. Good movie, which for all its glamour, does provide a cirious meditations on human condition: actions have consequences. Men a wretched things. On every war, you kill your brothers, and it will never end. Expand
  15. BobC.
    Feb 13, 2005
    10
    What is it with these critics? Have they seen so many movies that they can't recognize a good movie. "Troy" is never dull, boring, or slow paced. I thought Brad Pitt did a great job. Why do the critics have to analyze a movie and just tell us if it is worth watching or not. "Troy" especially is. Remember what the critics said about "Raiders of the Lost Ark". Somebody should have a What is it with these critics? Have they seen so many movies that they can't recognize a good movie. "Troy" is never dull, boring, or slow paced. I thought Brad Pitt did a great job. Why do the critics have to analyze a movie and just tell us if it is worth watching or not. "Troy" especially is. Remember what the critics said about "Raiders of the Lost Ark". Somebody should have a critic list of the critics. Expand
  16. JohnY.
    May 15, 2004
    9
    "Troy" is a stirring visual epic with stunning action, a capable cast, and a legendary story. Sure, the gods are missing, and the dialogue is somewhat lacking. Yet, the film still is tremendously entertaining thanks to the performances of Bana and O'Toole. As for Pitt, he looks the part of Achilles, but he's no Russell Crowe when it comes to acting. Bloom correctly plays Paris "Troy" is a stirring visual epic with stunning action, a capable cast, and a legendary story. Sure, the gods are missing, and the dialogue is somewhat lacking. Yet, the film still is tremendously entertaining thanks to the performances of Bana and O'Toole. As for Pitt, he looks the part of Achilles, but he's no Russell Crowe when it comes to acting. Bloom correctly plays Paris as a coward, and Brian Cox is a wonderful "villain" as always. However, the best thing about "Troy" is that it doesn't really take sides ... maybe it sympathizes with Troy more than with Greece, but it also focuses on the Greeks and their greatest warrior, Achilles. By the film's conclusion, we feel as if everyone has lost the battle, and that's a refreshing change for a war film. Expand
  17. BenH.
    May 17, 2004
    9
    Very entertaining, well acted, good fight scenes. Can't understand the bad things people are saying, what exactly did you expect?
  18. StaceyG.
    May 23, 2004
    8
    [***SPOILERS***] Troy has it's Achille's heel but it is a very small weakness. The film is a little too "absorbed by hollywood." but other then that it is truly very good. Brad Pitt is pretty damn good as the film's leading man and Orldando Bloom's performance gets beter as the film progresses and his character grows and changes. It is clear that Troy was ment to be a[***SPOILERS***] Troy has it's Achille's heel but it is a very small weakness. The film is a little too "absorbed by hollywood." but other then that it is truly very good. Brad Pitt is pretty damn good as the film's leading man and Orldando Bloom's performance gets beter as the film progresses and his character grows and changes. It is clear that Troy was ment to be a 14a or pg-13 movie because it could have been a lot more bloodier. However i am assumign it was made with less gore in order to draw in teenage girls. I enjoyed the film and i found it very touching and moving. It felt as if there was no good guys or bad guys, just a war and the casulties from that war. Eric Bana plays Hector, the brother of Paris and the defendor of Troy. there is one scence where Hector must battle one on one with Achilles. Hector knows he is probably going to die, we see that in his eyes but we also know how caring he is and we know he will fight hard until either him or his seemingly immortal opponent is dead. The fight is filmed perfectly but it is the moments leading up to it taht truly touch our hearts. Eric Bana seems destined for his roel as Hector and he is literally perfect in all of his screen time. He is honestly the most likeable character in the movie and his relationship with his brother is very touching and vey interesting. Bloom and Bana show great chemistry. Hopeflly Bana will get a best-supportign actor nomination but considering the movie Troy, i doubt he will. Troy was simply a very good epic film, i did not give it a nine because In Troy versus lord of the rings Troy is teh strong admirable Hector and Lord of the rings is the seemingly invincible Achilles. Expand
  19. Chris
    Jan 14, 2005
    8
    Troy succeeds in it's basic intention to entertain as a popcorn bucket movie with bombastic battle sequences, bare arses and over the top thrills. Eric Bana is excellent as Hector , protector of Troy but Pitt seems a little miscasted as he is not quite believable when delivering his lines...no doubt he was cast for his ability to deliver female viewers...
  20. BenM.
    Jan 16, 2005
    8
    I watched this movie expecting to be disappointed. I wasn't. No it's not the Iliad; nor should it be. The dichotomy between Hector's honor and integrity and Pitt's egotistical moodiness is compelling enough without the interjection of the gods. The file was well shot, well-directed, and well written. I even thought it was well-acted. Much of the criticism was for the I watched this movie expecting to be disappointed. I wasn't. No it's not the Iliad; nor should it be. The dichotomy between Hector's honor and integrity and Pitt's egotistical moodiness is compelling enough without the interjection of the gods. The file was well shot, well-directed, and well written. I even thought it was well-acted. Much of the criticism was for the choices of Pitt and Bloom; however, they acted the roles of their characters. If you didn't like the character's then you should not blame the acting. I also found Bean's Odysseus compelling, but under utilized at times. Distracting was the subplot of the slave girl/princess and the death of Agamemnon. Overall recommended if you can let go of literally purism and enjoy a well-made epic. Expand
  21. CliffM
    Aug 7, 2005
    10
    Troy is an outstanding portrayal of Homer's epic even with major deviations from the original Iliad. Captures timeless issues related to diverse reasons soldiers go to war, their loyalties, and the impact on their loved ones. Brad Pitt excellently shows Achilles' transition from empty self-absorption to humanity, and Eric Bana is outstanding as noble Hector. All supporting cast Troy is an outstanding portrayal of Homer's epic even with major deviations from the original Iliad. Captures timeless issues related to diverse reasons soldiers go to war, their loyalties, and the impact on their loved ones. Brad Pitt excellently shows Achilles' transition from empty self-absorption to humanity, and Eric Bana is outstanding as noble Hector. All supporting cast are exceptional. Shows the greatest individual battle scene ever (Achilles v. Hector) which is emotionally tied to the reactions of Hector's loved ones. The moving scene with Achilles and Priam alone is worth seeing this extraordinary film. An epic - one of the best movies of this genre. I saw this movie several times and at each showing the audience seemed gripped by the intensity. Expand
  22. KatrinaB.
    Oct 26, 2004
    10
    This movie was awesome!!! Some parts were a little bit not for my age, but in the whole it was good.
  23. ErikN.
    May 17, 2004
    9
    A terrific historical epic. Plenty of action and good acting. The best movie so far this year.
  24. IanM.
    May 19, 2004
    10
    Best movie of 2004
  25. D.Tank
    May 23, 2004
    8
    Reading all these negative reviews, I thought I'd hate this movie. But surprisingly, the movie was great. I had never read the books, so I can't comment on how true the script was to the orignal story. But seriously, you can't please all those fanboys who are going to complain anyways even if you made a very true-to-the-orignal movie. They'll still nitpick small Reading all these negative reviews, I thought I'd hate this movie. But surprisingly, the movie was great. I had never read the books, so I can't comment on how true the script was to the orignal story. But seriously, you can't please all those fanboys who are going to complain anyways even if you made a very true-to-the-orignal movie. They'll still nitpick small details and go crazy over them. I loved the movie and the message of the entire movie. Although Orlando Bloom still couldn't act, you really do feel angry at him when he crawls back to his brother to help him out since he can't kill his challenger. So, in a sense, his stupid acting actually pays off by good directing. I thought the cinematography and music and everything was great. Sure, its no Lord of the Rings, but I still thought this was awesome and definately somewhere close in the Lord of the Rings league. Expand
  26. AdamL.
    May 24, 2004
    10
    I thought this movie was very well done. Even though my friends hated it and thought it was boring, I for one am the kind of dork who likes it when something goes along with the original story that I remember from 9th grade. Even the characters I hated did a good job making me hate them.
  27. BradW.
    May 26, 2004
    10
    I give this a 10 for the fights, in particular the one-on-one fights. The fight choreographer has done an outstanding job.
  28. JonathanH.
    May 13, 2004
    10
    This is some of the best fight choreography I've ever seen. Well done to the Swordmaster.
  29. HenryS.
    May 14, 2004
    10
    This movie was awesome.... the fighting sequences were great and even though the gods were left out and the movie doesnt exactly follow the book (Illiad) it is a really good movie and you shoulld go see it today.... don't listen to the critics they don't know what they're talking about
  30. JayG.
    May 16, 2004
    9
    A great epic. It's definitely going to be a part of my dvd collection. Critics got this one wrong, go see it.
  31. JessicaK.
    May 21, 2004
    8
    No. It wasn't the greatest movie I've ever seen, but... (sarcasm bootup beginning...) I've got a really good feeling that it probably took a whole lot of effort out of all those involved to make the movie what it was. It was pretty good. Entertaining. And isn't that what the movies should be? I am a history fanatic. I am studying to be a history teacher. And yet, I can No. It wasn't the greatest movie I've ever seen, but... (sarcasm bootup beginning...) I've got a really good feeling that it probably took a whole lot of effort out of all those involved to make the movie what it was. It was pretty good. Entertaining. And isn't that what the movies should be? I am a history fanatic. I am studying to be a history teacher. And yet, I can somehow seperate my love of movies from my love of history and still enjoy myself without being overly critical. If you want a cut and dry documentary, watch the Discovery Channel. If you want entertainment from a movie that was, yes, shy of epic, but fairly noteworthy, see Troy. It's worth your 8$ ticket. We need to stop being so overly critical and realize that if acting and all other fascets of movie making were EASY, we'd all be actors and directors, wouldn't we? Stop picking things apart. This is someone's livelihood. Enjoy it for what it is. Entertainment and art. Troy was both. Expand
  32. Triniman
    May 22, 2004
    8
    Troy I went into this movie expecting to hate it. I thought it was surprisingly good. Brad Pitt stars as Achillies, the greatest Greek warrior. The character is cocky and overconfident, as a result of his superstar status among King Aggamemnon?s army. Far from being one-dimensional, Pitt is out-acted by Eric Bana, who plays the Trojan hero, Prince Hector, leader of their army. None of the Troy I went into this movie expecting to hate it. I thought it was surprisingly good. Brad Pitt stars as Achillies, the greatest Greek warrior. The character is cocky and overconfident, as a result of his superstar status among King Aggamemnon?s army. Far from being one-dimensional, Pitt is out-acted by Eric Bana, who plays the Trojan hero, Prince Hector, leader of their army. None of the acting is overdone. The computer animation is sparse and rarely noticeable. The story is based on Homer?s The Illiad (no, not that Homer!) A couple of parts seem like a stretch, but overall this is an enjoyable film. Review by Triniman Expand
  33. FredBob
    Oct 18, 2006
    9
    Pitt was brilliant. He sold the movie for me. Achilles is bad a$$.
  34. Nov 8, 2012
    9
    A stunningly gripping study of ancient Greece that is well paced and has the right amounts of every characteristic required by this genre's law.
  35. Dana
    Jan 31, 2005
    9
    No one has a right to judge this movie until they have studied or read the Iliad. This movie follows Homers words almost exactly, I actually found myself saying the next lines in some of the scenes. I felt it was very well done. It was not just another Hollywood movie trying to make some money, time and thought actually went into making this movie.
  36. JohnK.
    Aug 29, 2004
    10
    Historians are sharply divided on the question of whether or not the Trojan War actually occurred - and if it did, which archaeological site is actually Troy. Discoveries made at the beginning of the 21st century provide new evidence of several armed battles in the right area at the right time - but definitive proof is hard to find, due largely to the historical practice of constructing Historians are sharply divided on the question of whether or not the Trojan War actually occurred - and if it did, which archaeological site is actually Troy. Discoveries made at the beginning of the 21st century provide new evidence of several armed battles in the right area at the right time - but definitive proof is hard to find, due largely to the historical practice of constructing one city on the ruins of another. Homer's Illiad (and other similar epics depicting the Trojan War) were written hundreds of years after the Trojan War supposedly occurred, and are of little use in determining factual historical events as they included many mythological elements: gods such as Apollo, Zeus, and Hera were central characters in the story who drastically affected the course of the war by killing and/or saving individual people during the conflict. The producers' decision to eliminate all mythological elements from the story gives their film an air of historical authenticity not present in the original works. One of the best epics in decades. Expand
  37. Andaraoas
    Dec 26, 2004
    10
    Great picture.
  38. MegM.
    Jan 23, 2005
    9
    I loved it.
  39. BeckH
    Jan 28, 2005
    7
    If looked at from the view that it's based on a Great ancient epic... It's compleatly inaccurate except for vauge refences to characters and plot sequences. From the view of an independant film, it's hollow and the only thing that makes it worth seeing is the turn around that it has eye candy (in the form of nakedness) for the girls for a change.
  40. StephanieT.
    Jun 30, 2005
    10
    A great movie.
  41. ChristineM.
    Jun 26, 2007
    8
    I don't normally do reviews like this but I figured I would do one for this movie. I think a big problem a lot of people had with this movie was that it wasn't strict Iliad. This is true, but you have to remember, this is a movie and it is impossible to drag what was recorded as a ten year war, I believe, out on screen. You have to condense it. In that fact, I think this was I don't normally do reviews like this but I figured I would do one for this movie. I think a big problem a lot of people had with this movie was that it wasn't strict Iliad. This is true, but you have to remember, this is a movie and it is impossible to drag what was recorded as a ten year war, I believe, out on screen. You have to condense it. In that fact, I think this was done rather well in Troy. The battle scenes were done well even if they were computerized. Many movies do that nowadays because after all you can't higher 50,000 extras. As for the casting: Brian Cox and Brendan Gleeson did amazing jobs as the protagonists in this movie. Peter O'Toole was a delight to see and especially moving in the scene with Pitt. Sean Bean filled the role of Odysseus to a T, though I would have liked to of seen his character more often. Orlando Bloom did a fair job of playing Paris, after in my mind I felt they were not trying to get you to sympathize with Paris for bringing about the destruction of his own family and city. I have to say that the casting of Helen with Diane Kruger was poor. She just did not fill the role of "The Face that launched a 1000 ships." I felt her acting was a bit flat. Eric Bana was by far one of the best things about this movie. He grounded the character of Hector and you see the conflict he has with his loyalty to Troy and to his family. Bana pulled this off with class. Brad Pitt was, in my opinion, at his best since Legends of the Fall. Give the guy some slack, he has to play this almost godlike, most of the time emotionless character. In the scene with O'Toole he held his own quite well. Up and coming actress Rose Bryne did an amazing job with the role she had. Her character was actually a combination of a few of the women in the Iliad. Again she manages to hold her own in scenes with the likes of Brad Pitt and Brian Cox. A tough task for a newbie. Garrent Hedlund and Vincent Regan both did well with the roles of Patrocleus and Eudorus. Though I felt Hedlund's performance came off as a bit whiny. The flow of the story does drag in places but I think that happens in alot of movies. I do recommend this movie but not for strict Homer fans. What I loved most about this movie is that it highlights flaws in the human condition and almost warns the audience that everything action we take can lead to our own downfall. Expand
  42. MarcW.
    May 15, 2004
    8
    Powerful visuals combined with a pulse pounding score help to elevate this monster sized movie into an epic film. The acting was solid and it was just good fun to watch. Brad Pitt played his role with such flair and power, you can't help but applaud his performance.
  43. IslamM.
    May 17, 2004
    8
    While not a faithful retelling of Homer's Iliad, Troy does carry off some of the important themes of its source material, and does so elegantly. Yes, some of the set design is over the top. Yes, the clash of armies is reminiscent of LotR. But the motivations of each character are communicated clearly and sometimes poignantly: Hector's loyalty and duty; Agamemnon's thirst While not a faithful retelling of Homer's Iliad, Troy does carry off some of the important themes of its source material, and does so elegantly. Yes, some of the set design is over the top. Yes, the clash of armies is reminiscent of LotR. But the motivations of each character are communicated clearly and sometimes poignantly: Hector's loyalty and duty; Agamemnon's thirst for domination; Achilles' aspirations for immortality; Paris' selfish puppy love, etc. Troy does suffer some loss of humanity in the epic scale of its vision and bloody events. But I can forgive this for its insight. We learn that "history remembers kings, not soldiers." Locked in a tit-for-tat cycle of violence, Achilles sighs, "It never ends." And perhaps most significantly, Achilles reminds us that, "The gods envy us....everything is more beautiful because we are doomed." Expand
  44. Droog
    May 20, 2004
    7
    Troy strives to be an epic in every sense ... and for the most part it succeeds. As a big fan of Homer's Iliad -- I've read tons of Greek mythology -- this movie, like Peter Jackson's Lord of the Rings, does a fine job of distilling the somewhat bloated source material into something more manageable. It warps the time frame from 10 years to 2 weeks, eliminates the direct Troy strives to be an epic in every sense ... and for the most part it succeeds. As a big fan of Homer's Iliad -- I've read tons of Greek mythology -- this movie, like Peter Jackson's Lord of the Rings, does a fine job of distilling the somewhat bloated source material into something more manageable. It warps the time frame from 10 years to 2 weeks, eliminates the direct presence of the Olympic gods, and kills off/saves characters who otherwise should have been saved/killed off. But what this movie has chosen to do is humanize legends. Through each of the major characters we see different purposes for living and dying: Agamemnon for Power. Achilles for Fame. Paris for Love. Hector for Duty. It's a bold thematic stroke, and all the actors are game. Eric Bana in particular is excellent as Hector. Brad Pitt holds his own as the psychologically complex Achilles, though his character deserves more airtime to flesh out his inner demons. The battlescenes are magnificent, and in fact I wanted to see more of them. True to epic form, some of the majestic sweeps of landscape and cornball music detracts from the grittier aspects of war, but this romanticized version of war is ultimately a winner. Expand
  45. CameronS.
    Jun 4, 2004
    7
    [***SPOILERS***] Epic films are back in style today since the great success of Gladiator, last year we got four excellent grand blockbusters (Cold Mountain, The Last Samurai, Master and Commander, Pirates of the Caribbean). Troy doesn?t live up to any of those movies, but it doesn?t fall flat on its back either. In actuality, the epics of today aren?t much different than the ones of[***SPOILERS***] Epic films are back in style today since the great success of Gladiator, last year we got four excellent grand blockbusters (Cold Mountain, The Last Samurai, Master and Commander, Pirates of the Caribbean). Troy doesn?t live up to any of those movies, but it doesn?t fall flat on its back either. In actuality, the epics of today aren?t much different than the ones of yesterday, except with more camera movement, violence, and special effects shots. This is one constructed of great craftsmanship in some parts and generic aptitude in other parts. The shot of the ships setting sail to Troy is mesmerizing, but the attacking armies are like plastic army guys all set in motion. Not much drama or character development, Petersen wants to get the battle going as soon as possible, but who can blame him for getting the greatest battle the world?s ever seen into motion. A shortcoming however, because over the last three Christmas?s we?ve seen the greatest battles of another world?s, the siege of Troy falls short to the cosmic excellence of The Lord of the Rings. The plot basically involves Paris, a prince of Troy, shagging up Helen of Sparta and taking her with him back to Troy. Infuriating King Menelaus, he asks his brother, Agamemnon to go to war with him: to take back Helen and kick Paris?s sissy ass. The narrative structure of Troy is similar to that of WWE Raw and Smackdown. First, we get a quick introduction and a long speech by the guys in charge, talking about how the night it going to be electric. Then, each battle is like a real fight. First, we have the invasion, where Achilles and crew are sailing to shore faster than the other 999 ships. Here you have a slightly rogue member of a large group of cronies taking care of business to there own accord. They reach shore and capture a temple. This is like the opening fight on Raw. Shortly later, everybody else arrives. Then Menelaus takes on Paris, I?ll continue after I explain this. There are several great scenes in the movie that I believe are memorable enough to redeem it of its bad ones. Paris versus Menelaus is one of them. At the start of their bout; the film has built up enough complexities to say that it is difficult to decide whom you want to win. A reason to root for Menelaus is because a man for whom he showed hospitality stole his wife. But it?s hard to cheer against a boy we know as Legolas and Will Turner, despite lacking charisma and competence in this outing. Neither of them is wholly likable but both have a logical point of view. But that?s just the setup, the actual fight is quite rough, with lots of successful punches that look like they really hurt, and ends in a way that I can see many others doing. After this, the accord has been broken, an alliance mistaken, and all hell is going to break loose between these two crony groups of wrestlers. Now, we?re going to have a mighty battle royal in the middle of the movie, with the plastic toys crashing into each other, like watching twenty participants in the ring. However, the most important competitor, Achilles and gang, are watching from far away as their Greek compatriots take on the Trojans in a battle that sort of rouses but never excites. After underestimating the Trojan?s force, the Greeks are forced to retreat back to the beach. Maybe part of the shortcomings was due to the verbosely understated score. I felt like I should have a sense of exhilaration in the grandeur and violence of the sequence, but nothing really hit me because it lacks any intimacy. Not wanting to make the same mistake of underestimate as their enemy had, Hector leads the Trojans to a surprise attack on the Greeks, which starts out fantastically with the creepy shadows sneaking up to the beaches and throwing fire balls onto their camps, just before dawn. The next scurry has Achilles running out to fight Hector in what becomes true camp as what appears to be Achilles and Hector going at it, all the other soldiers suddenly stop and gather around to watch their mightiest warriors face off. Hector of course wins, and then later discovers he has just killed an Achilles-armored look-a-like, his nephew. Odysseus suggests to Hector that they?re has been enough killing. That must have been the reason why everybody stopped fighting at first. This miscalculation infuriates Achilles as he marches to the doorsteps of Troy, screaming for Hector to come out. This is the second great scene scattered amuck the 163-minutes of the film, and in closeness to Homer?s epic poem, this is where it should have ended, on an emotional successful note and a great, memorable (but not climatic) fight scene. Having to see the two warriors wake up in the morning and suit up for what will be one of the two?s last living day. It?s one brutal, white knuckle, and engaging fight that had me into it the entire time, hoping that neither would have to die, this is not only great because of its closeness and rhythmic achievement, but also because it suspended me from my knowledge of the poem and knowing who was going to win. This was like the big event of the night that is designed to end a feud, like a hell in a cell match between Triple H and Shawn Michaels. A grudge must end, and it must end it a spectacular way. [Spoiler warning] After defeating Hector, Achilles drags his body back to his camp in what sets up the greatest of the three memorable scenes. Priam (Peter O?Toole) rides to Achilles tent to kiss the hands of his son?s killer as he asks him to give him his son?s body back. Achilles agrees, but in the morning, Priam is still his enemy and he is still his son?s murderer. This is where the movie should have ended, because nothing great comes after that, though there is one sequence that should have been great. I?m talking about the Trojan horse, which had so much potential and doesn?t deliver what could have been sadly memorable. What I really wanted was a dark scene, with little lighting, showing the Greeks in the large, wooden horse. Did I get it ? see for yourself, you?ll be disappointed. But there is some emotion in the sequence as they let the belligerent Greeks into the city to burn it to the ground. This scene only secures minimal amusement and impact, it should be great, it should be so sad, and it should look wonderful. Instead it looks very ugly, and Homer?s entire poem is burned to hell faster than that of the city. Besides Hector vs. Achilles, anyone that has read Homer?s poem will have a relatively sour time with this, especially if you were hoping for a Greek God fantasy like Clash of the Titans. The playfully encouraging acts of the Gods are absent in Troy. Anyone familiar with Starship Troopers as a movie and as a book will be able to recognize the degree of inaccuracy and loss of general spirit that Troy is, except the Starship Troopers novel isn?t a classic of millennia?s and as a movie is enjoyable on its own terms. Then there is the complete change of scenes from poem to cinema. Nothing in ?The Iliad? is really in Troy, plenty of people live and die in different ways, and the true grit of it all is lost in the end. Then that brings up the stars of Troy, Brad Pitt and his acting chops. Ultimately miscast as Achilles, he is given a drowning depth in emotional scenes that just don?t work. However, he does have a lot of bravura and brawn that come off nicely, which is below Brad Pitt?s acting, this is a role more suitable to the likes of Dolph Lundgren, but he can?t get many ladies to the movies. Along with Pitt, the acting as a whole is A-List at second-rate. Sean Bean is great as the smart Odysseus; Orlando Bloom is horrible (but successfully sissy) as Paris. Eric Bana is good as Prince Hector, as long as he doesn?t have to say anything of profundity. Brian Cox is menacing but fishily unpleasant as King Agamemnon. Diane Kruger is only pretty to look at as a flippant Helen. For all its falls Troy is still an achievement of the cinema, a proper use of the medium. Homer?s words however few have been translated lovely onto the big screen. I?m sure a better match will be the Michigan State Spartans and the University of Southern California Trojans in a future Rose Bowl. Expand
  46. CrtitcGal
    Jan 25, 2006
    8
    its a great action movie for someone who doesnt know the epic. if you know the story, the movie kind of ruins it, on a count of the movie doesnt follow the story at all. it has its similarities yes, although, the facts are all wrong. I was absolutly inlove with the movie until I came across illiad. although, I have to upmost respect for the director, and actors. It was beautifly its a great action movie for someone who doesnt know the epic. if you know the story, the movie kind of ruins it, on a count of the movie doesnt follow the story at all. it has its similarities yes, although, the facts are all wrong. I was absolutly inlove with the movie until I came across illiad. although, I have to upmost respect for the director, and actors. It was beautifly portrayed, and again, if you dont know the story go see it! If you do save your self from your own dissapointment! Expand
  47. BillE.
    May 12, 2004
    7
    Far from LOTR's league. Not even quite as good as Gladiator. But there are some terrific battle scenes and the acting is fine, if uneven. There is a sense of the epic that does justice to the source material.
  48. MudB.
    May 12, 2004
    10
    Best Epic I've seen for ages.
  49. ZippyP.
    May 14, 2004
    7
    Mmmmm, Brad Pitt's "arse." Otherwise, ok epic madness, although Athena's (and co.) absence was sorely felt.
  50. JustinP.
    May 15, 2004
    8
    Visually mesmerizing with awe-inspiring panoramics, beautiful cinematography and impressive costumes, this is a spectacle movie that delivers the grandeur it promises. The story is fair, the acting often good, and the dialogue uneven, ranging from poetic and profound to awkward and weak. The stars are starlike: Pitt is convincing and charismatic as Achilles, and Bana and Bloom are very Visually mesmerizing with awe-inspiring panoramics, beautiful cinematography and impressive costumes, this is a spectacle movie that delivers the grandeur it promises. The story is fair, the acting often good, and the dialogue uneven, ranging from poetic and profound to awkward and weak. The stars are starlike: Pitt is convincing and charismatic as Achilles, and Bana and Bloom are very solid as Trojan brothers. Peter Otoole is brilliant, playing the aging patriarch in perfect contrast to the youthful spirit of his sons. The movie plays on many cliches, inevitably, as a classic epic. But it also avoids many others: it does not opt for a sacharine conclusion, war is not boiled down to good vs evil, and the romances are well played. A gigantic movie that fulfills great expectations admirably. Expand
  51. ChanB.
    May 15, 2004
    10
    This movie was amazing, bradd pitt was okay but eric bana was amazing and this movie sucked me in the whole time.
  52. ChanB.
    May 15, 2004
    10
    This movie was amazing, bradd pitt was okay but eric bana was amazing and this movie sucked me in the whole time.
  53. JohnD.
    May 17, 2004
    10
    It was awesome. The fighting scenes were great, however, there were lengths of time that could have been and should have been shortened. This would certainly spice up a history class.
  54. DanC.
    May 17, 2004
    10
    As a film, it was ok. Peter O'Toole and Eric Bana were great. Pitt wasn't bad. Brian Cox was really good and I wish he had more to do. Sean Bean was good, and Gleeson was ok. Julie Christie was great, but her performance was one scene. Her scene, however, is the best scene. The tech stuff and direction was pretty good. Now to the stuff I didn't like. I absolutely hated As a film, it was ok. Peter O'Toole and Eric Bana were great. Pitt wasn't bad. Brian Cox was really good and I wish he had more to do. Sean Bean was good, and Gleeson was ok. Julie Christie was great, but her performance was one scene. Her scene, however, is the best scene. The tech stuff and direction was pretty good. Now to the stuff I didn't like. I absolutely hated every single scene between Helen and Paris. Orlando Bloom annoyed the Hell out of me. This is not the Iliad. There were far too many differences in the script from the Iliad to be inspired by the Iliad. Too many chief characters die in this, but don't in the Iliad. Sure, Menelaus was a lot older than Helen, but this isn't Douglas/Zeta Jones here. They portrayed Menelaus as an asshole, which he wasn't. I don't even remember Briseis being in the Iliad. The Husband/wife scenes were badly written. And the score sucked. As a movie, it was ok. As an adaptation of the Ilaid, it was terrible. Overall, it was ok. Peter O'Toole, Brian Cox, Sean, Eric Bana and Julie Christie saved the movie from becoming absolute crap. Pitt worked well enough. Good technicals, but bad script. Overall, the good stuff and the bad even out, and we get an entertaining film, but not The Iliad. Expand
  55. TinaH.
    May 19, 2004
    7
    It wasn't a bad movie. If you're going to see it, see it in the theatre. I think the problem with this movie was its directing. The acting wasn't very well done, but I don't blame it on the actors. I love Orlando Bloom but I couldn't stand him in the movie. What a bad casting choice. Just because he's the Ingenue Boy of the moment doesn't mean he can It wasn't a bad movie. If you're going to see it, see it in the theatre. I think the problem with this movie was its directing. The acting wasn't very well done, but I don't blame it on the actors. I love Orlando Bloom but I couldn't stand him in the movie. What a bad casting choice. Just because he's the Ingenue Boy of the moment doesn't mean he can pull off Paris. The only two characters I cared about in this movie were Eric Bana and Brad Pitt. It should've focused more on them, that way I could pick a side or something. Of course I haven't actually read any Greek mythology so I could be talking out of my ass. The thing is though, in a movie it's nice to be able to relate to characters but there were just too many to choose from here. It wasn't cohesive in this sense. Some of the camerawork at the beginning was very shoddy but it got better later on (and I probably got used to it :) ). Expand
  56. CM
    Jun 28, 2004
    7
    When I review a movie or give a "grade" to something, I base it on the overall enjoyability of the film. And with TROY I was definitely entertained. You've got 3 incredibly handsome men to look at the entire time; you've got a few wonderful love stories that bring emotion to a blood filled movie; you've got great acting by Eric Bana, who stands out as the best of the men When I review a movie or give a "grade" to something, I base it on the overall enjoyability of the film. And with TROY I was definitely entertained. You've got 3 incredibly handsome men to look at the entire time; you've got a few wonderful love stories that bring emotion to a blood filled movie; you've got great acting by Eric Bana, who stands out as the best of the men (and that's saying a lot since I'm Brad Pitt's stalker!!!); and you've got some beautiful sights and scenes. It certainly wasn't the best movie I've seen (GLADIATOR was better at portraying the "toga" times in my opinion) but it was by no means near the bottom of my list either. A great movie well worth my $8 and worth $14.99 (Target!) when it comes out on DVD! (even if just to see Brad Pitt's ass again : ) Expand
  57. mel
    Jan 28, 2005
    8
    I liked this film. while it had some sloggy moments, it was visually beautiful and the dialogue was better than most of today's attempts to big, splashy films like this. liked the cast -- love peter o'toole (great to see him), pitt was better on the eyes-- could have stood to simply turn off the sound and watch this boy work--eric banos was beyond gorgeous-- and yes, girls, he I liked this film. while it had some sloggy moments, it was visually beautiful and the dialogue was better than most of today's attempts to big, splashy films like this. liked the cast -- love peter o'toole (great to see him), pitt was better on the eyes-- could have stood to simply turn off the sound and watch this boy work--eric banos was beyond gorgeous-- and yes, girls, he looked better than pitt. didn't care ANYTHING for the woman who was cast to play the most beautiful woman in the world (Helen) --she was a bad actress and she was only mildly pretty. as a matter of fact, had they switched and cast Saffron Burrows as Helen rather than Andromeche, wife of Eric Banos' Prince Hector) it would have been more believable. She was breathtaking -- the pacing fluctuated a bit, thought they could have done a better job on the overall LOOK of the film, but I give it an 8 out of 10 because it held my attention. Pitt was beautiful, and the story is one that can be told again and again. Expand
  58. [Anonymous]
    Jun 10, 2005
    7
    Delivers in the action department, but it's just another IIliad redo that only slightly better than historical documentaries. Hector is well played, and some human qualities are brought out of that character. Paris is reduced to some cowardly wuss, though, and Helen's sentimentality is quite the annoyance when contrast with how much everyone suffers for her. Achillis is decently Delivers in the action department, but it's just another IIliad redo that only slightly better than historical documentaries. Hector is well played, and some human qualities are brought out of that character. Paris is reduced to some cowardly wuss, though, and Helen's sentimentality is quite the annoyance when contrast with how much everyone suffers for her. Achillis is decently played, and represents a bit of moral order amongst a pretty immoral Greek army, thanks in most part to Agamemmnon. A good, but not great watch. Not a bad pick at all, but there are more resonating, involving movies in this genre. Expand
  59. IlzeS.
    Dec 18, 2004
    8
    Very good movie! Not perfect, but really good. This is one of the best movies this year. I think that Brad Pitt & Eric Bana was great. Very funny, the movie was great.
  60. MichaelM.
    Oct 22, 2004
    7
    It's no "Gladiator", but it's a pretty kick ass action epic. The special effects and overall design of the film is breathtaking. The directing is top-notch and the writing flows well. But the acting is kind of a split. Brad Pitt does an okay job as Achilles (I think they could have found a better person for the role). Orlando Bloom doesn't really impress as Paris, but Eric It's no "Gladiator", but it's a pretty kick ass action epic. The special effects and overall design of the film is breathtaking. The directing is top-notch and the writing flows well. But the acting is kind of a split. Brad Pitt does an okay job as Achilles (I think they could have found a better person for the role). Orlando Bloom doesn't really impress as Paris, but Eric Bana is the best out of the three young stars as Hector. Peter O'Toole is great as always and so is Brendan Gleeson (28 Days Later, Lake Placid). Brian Cox (L.I.E., The Ring) is extraordinary as the Spartan king Agamemnon. Troy is definetly worth the trip to theater on merit of everything else besides the acting. I hope Oliver Stone's upcoming "Alexander" is as good or better. Expand
  61. TylerD.
    May 15, 2004
    7
    I give two ratings, and average it to a 7. Entertainment Value 8/10 - was pretty cool and had its good moments. Mytholigically Correct and Movie Critic Value: 6/10 - No gods, no explanation as to WHY Achilles getting shot in the heel isn't so great. I believe he was shot in the tent (hence not wearing his ankle guard). Not in this movie. As Bod put it, there was not a GREAT deal of I give two ratings, and average it to a 7. Entertainment Value 8/10 - was pretty cool and had its good moments. Mytholigically Correct and Movie Critic Value: 6/10 - No gods, no explanation as to WHY Achilles getting shot in the heel isn't so great. I believe he was shot in the tent (hence not wearing his ankle guard). Not in this movie. As Bod put it, there was not a GREAT deal of fight build up, which to me is what I really enjoy in these movies. The why, the journey to the fight. A la LoTR,Gladiator, and even The Last Samurai. Expand
  62. Jeeves
    May 16, 2004
    8
    This movie was great. The action was also great. Pitt was great. Only problem is that it was too long, but it was great! Yup, great!
  63. BenA.
    May 16, 2004
    8
    Not perfect, but quite spectacular. This movie has a few flaws, but they don't out weigh the positive aspects of this epic tale. The battle scenes, although still in the shadow of LOTR, are amazing. Sets, visual effects, costumes, etc. were all superb. The dialogue is a little weak at times, and the movie peaks too early, but I definately enjoyed this movie. I recomend this.
  64. KenG.
    May 31, 2004
    7
    Not the great epic it wants to be, but it does manage to entertain (mostly) for its 160 minutes. Forget the Iliad, though; characters kill and die according to Hollywood drama. Eric Bana steals the show from a buff and beautiful Brad Pitt, and when Hector dies the movie loses a little gas.
  65. GarthK.
    Jul 31, 2004
    7
    Well, I enjoyed the movie, and I think the very critical remarks reflect an excessively negative attitude--complaining for the sake of complaining perhaps. Take it easy and enjoy yourself, for heaven's sake! There was very reasonable development, in the simplistic way possible on screen, of major characters each laden with some type of weakness or flaw combined with a strength. Well, I enjoyed the movie, and I think the very critical remarks reflect an excessively negative attitude--complaining for the sake of complaining perhaps. Take it easy and enjoy yourself, for heaven's sake! There was very reasonable development, in the simplistic way possible on screen, of major characters each laden with some type of weakness or flaw combined with a strength. Themes of questioning human motivation, individual vs. collective morality, love vs. naive or even selfish recklessness, the male tendency to greed and warfare, etc. all laid out. Perhaps not laid out as in a literary masterpeice, but I don't think it's fair to expect that. It is reasonable to expect many people to actually pick up a copy of Homer because of their interest piqued from watching this movie, which is a great thing. Expand
  66. MichaelB.
    Feb 16, 2005
    7
    If you can forget the fact that Agamemnon and Memlaus survived the war, that the siege lasted 10 years (and not one month), and that Achilles was only one of the main threads of the story, this is a cool-looking, more than workmanlike effort by all involved. The absence of all the gods (except Thetis, Achilles' mother) does let us focus on the human characters, and the sense that If you can forget the fact that Agamemnon and Memlaus survived the war, that the siege lasted 10 years (and not one month), and that Achilles was only one of the main threads of the story, this is a cool-looking, more than workmanlike effort by all involved. The absence of all the gods (except Thetis, Achilles' mother) does let us focus on the human characters, and the sense that various gods are interfering is voiced only by Priam. Nice touch to include Aeneas. I'd like to see this team tackle the Aeneid. Expand
  67. AndrewT.
    Sep 16, 2006
    7
    A interesting movie, now without its flaws, but very watchable especially for anyone that is interested in the Iliad and ancient Greek mythology. Although not strictly faithful to Homer, many of the characters and themes are accurately portrayed. Brad Pitt's character of the god-like Achilles is very powerful; it is unusual to see a role like this so finely drawn, not as a cartoon, A interesting movie, now without its flaws, but very watchable especially for anyone that is interested in the Iliad and ancient Greek mythology. Although not strictly faithful to Homer, many of the characters and themes are accurately portrayed. Brad Pitt's character of the god-like Achilles is very powerful; it is unusual to see a role like this so finely drawn, not as a cartoon, but with the full range of emotions (although Pitt's rendering occasionally was a little emotionally flat). Overall, I recommend the movie; I have to admit that despite my reservations I have seen the move 4 times. Expand
  68. Jan 15, 2011
    8
    "Troy" is a terrific piece of entertainment. When it opened, I'll admit, my companion and I went solely to heap derision and abuse on it but we walked out smiling. It's pseudo-scholars, not scholars, who whine about deviations from Homer; scholars know that the Troy material has always been altered and adapted by artists, whether by ancient Greek dramatists, medieval poets, or modern"Troy" is a terrific piece of entertainment. When it opened, I'll admit, my companion and I went solely to heap derision and abuse on it but we walked out smiling. It's pseudo-scholars, not scholars, who whine about deviations from Homer; scholars know that the Troy material has always been altered and adapted by artists, whether by ancient Greek dramatists, medieval poets, or modern historical novelists. I actually found the film acceptably Homeric, treating the Iliad's main conflict (Agamemnon's insult to Achilles and the resulting disasters), as well as many of its themes, (honor and dishonor in war, e.g.) and strategies (compression, e.g.). And the decision to take the gods out of the action was a good one; no filmmaker yet has managed to make them look anything but silly. The biggest surprise in the film is Brad Pitt's Achilles, which I expected to deplore and actually rather liked. He combines preternatural power and grace, pride, contempt and melancholy into a coherent whole, and, aside from wishing him genuinely berserk (not just p*ssed off) when he goes after Hector, I was impressed. The film has a lot of smart casting, especially Peter O'Toole, whose dignified, suffering Priam makes the fall of Troy searing, Brian Cox, his greedy, unprincipled counterpart on the Greek side, and Orlando Bloom as Paris (though it was hard to watch Bloom shoot arrows at human, rather than elf, speed). The only real weak spot is Diane Kruger's insipid Helen, but no actress has yet managed to convince as "the face that launched a thousand ships," and, yes, I'm including Elizabeth Taylor. They need an Aishwarya Rai: now there's a woman to start a war over. I also grew weary of self-reflexive portent in the dialogue ("They'll be talking about this war and the heroes who fought in it for thousands of years"). But the film has many more strengths, including naval and battle choreography, sets, costumes, and the infamous Trojan Horse, which was perfect. Expand
  69. Apr 12, 2012
    10
    An excellent movie. Great cast, engaging plot and fantastic fight choreography. Above all, it's not just a hack-and-slash flick. There are actually some interesting themes and relationships explored here. The dynamic between Agamemnon and Achilles is particularly interesting. In the category of sword-and-sandal movies Troy is almost the equal of The Gladiator.
  70. Oct 18, 2011
    8
    This movie is really underrated in my opinion. It is a great movie with amazing effects, stunning fight scenes and a fantastic storyline. Lot's of this film is based on true events too. Any Gladiator lover will adore this film. The location and set is great, it is well played by the actors and the director done a great job. I really recommend this movie. A fantastic epic that you need toThis movie is really underrated in my opinion. It is a great movie with amazing effects, stunning fight scenes and a fantastic storyline. Lot's of this film is based on true events too. Any Gladiator lover will adore this film. The location and set is great, it is well played by the actors and the director done a great job. I really recommend this movie. A fantastic epic that you need to have on your shelf. Expand
  71. Sep 12, 2014
    7
    Back in the day when I first saw this movie, I had eyes for Orlando Bloom and pretty much nothing else.

    Today, I've seen my fair share of epic battle movies, and I don't think this reaches the sharpest point. The movie is entertaining enough. The battles are good, but not too drawn out. The motivation on all sides is well described and doesn't feel fake or forced: Paris and Helen
    Back in the day when I first saw this movie, I had eyes for Orlando Bloom and pretty much nothing else.

    Today, I've seen my fair share of epic battle movies, and I don't think this reaches the sharpest point.

    The movie is entertaining enough. The battles are good, but not too drawn out. The motivation on all sides is well described and doesn't feel fake or forced: Paris and Helen want each other, Helen's husband Menelaus goes for his power-hungry brother Agamemnon for help to restore his honor, and the conflict is ready.

    To add to the mix we get our hero, a Myrmidon warrior Achilles (Brad Pitt), who has quite a reputation and who is ever hungry for more. His name will live forever, he will see to that.

    Eric Bana is Hector, Paris' loving and honorable brother, whose mission it is to defend Troy when the battle arrives to their doorstep. I guess Bana (just like Pitt) used a couple of hours at the gym to bring their bodies to the condition we saw them in here. But enough of muscles!

    The music of the movie is beautiful. We don't see a whole lot of scenery, but the set and clothes/armor look good enough.

    Sean Bean does a small yet quite significant role as Odysseus. Brian Cox as Agamemnon is both amusing and convincing.

    The movie has a lot in it, and yet it somehow just doesn't feel good enough. There are great men, great fights, and a good story, but in the end, this story is just slightly above average. Maybe it is the somewhat unnecessary romance (between Achilles and Briseis) that just doesn't feel like it should be there?

    And one thing I do recall from history's pages somewhere: Achilles and Patroclos were lovers. Here, they are cousins... The love is there, though.
    Expand
  72. Jan 20, 2013
    8
    Some of the Greek mythological elements in "Troy" are inaccurate. Still, the visual scale of the film is amazing, as well as the performances by Brad Pitt, Eric Bana, and Orlando Bloom (just to name a few).
  73. Jan 11, 2015
    10
    The only movie about Troy war that's actually realistic. No gods, no super powers, no **** Great movie, with depth and super-realistic CGI. Can't really find anything negative about this film except that it could be a bit longer. Enjoyed pretty much every minute of it.

    Critics are in their own bubble, they look at movies from the directors perspective and that's why they're always
    The only movie about Troy war that's actually realistic. No gods, no super powers, no **** Great movie, with depth and super-realistic CGI. Can't really find anything negative about this film except that it could be a bit longer. Enjoyed pretty much every minute of it.

    Critics are in their own bubble, they look at movies from the directors perspective and that's why they're always wrong. Movies are nod made for directors but for the world.

    Straight 10
    Expand
  74. Jan 5, 2015
    10
    So Achilles wanted his name to be remembered , but no Brad Pitt with is sensational acting and dialogue delivery made a new face in the history books as a demi-god,a hero in true sense.

    The movie is fun to watch with all the actors playing their respective characters beautifully. Eric Bana ,Diane Kruger,Sean Bean,Brian Cox,Brendan Gleeson did great jobs. The direction
    So Achilles wanted his name to be remembered , but no Brad Pitt with is sensational acting and dialogue delivery made a new face in the history books as a demi-god,a hero in true sense.

    The movie is fun to watch with all the actors playing their respective characters beautifully. Eric Bana ,Diane Kruger,Sean Bean,Brian Cox,Brendan Gleeson did great jobs.

    The direction ,cinematography,and specially the score is brilliant for a 2004 movie exciting,fast-paced,
    Epic.
    Expand
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 43 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 43
  2. Negative: 4 out of 43
  1. A protracted and uninvolving affair in which men battle over issues that audiences may struggle to find compelling, and no central figure emerges to take command of the film.
  2. 75
    Troy lacks the focus of Gladiator, not to mention that Oscar winner's scrappy wit. But why kick a gift horse when you're in summer-movie heaven?
  3. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    80
    In this vigorous, stalwart epic, they blend martial breadth and emotional intimacy, honor and obsession, romance and machismo to show the glamour and folly of war.