User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 579 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 31 out of 579

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 1, 2011
    10
    My wife and I are getting up there in years, and it's great that there are still movies that fit our demographic. As for being a "remake" I feel the movie lived up to the hype and then some! All the performances ran circles around the originals, no question. Leaving in the original "fill your hands" line intact was a nice (respectful) touch that seems to have flown over more than a few heads. As for rambling, seemingly inconsequential dialogue from Bridges, get over it! That's how aging people talk. The younger you are, the more bored you are by "old people" telling war stories. We ramble....because we have experiences. We are laconic and cynical.....because we earned that right. Expand
  2. Mar 5, 2011
    10
    The first decent movie I have seen in years. Matt Damon does his best acting since 'the talented mr ripley' as comedic relief. I liked all of the characters, even the villians. The film is beautifully shot, perfectly paced, and the final shootout is intense. I've seen the original film and this one must be a 1,000 times better. I almost can't believe there's anyone who didn't like this movie, and then I realize this is America, and it all makes sense.

    The film is perfect until the fake looking cg rattlesnakes, other than that.....
    Expand
  3. Dec 30, 2010
    9
    True Grit is the first western based film presented to us by the Coen brothers. The Coens combine their original and witty dialogue with incredible performances by top notch actors to create a film thats so engrossing that you're taken on a ride back in time with true outlaws. The plot centers on Mattie Ross (Hailee Steinfeld) whose father was shot and killed by a loner named Tom Chaney (Josh Brolin), who also made off with the father's 2 gold pieces. Mattie is determined at all costs to find her father's killer, and hires U.S. Marshal Rooster Cogburn (Jeff Bridges) to do the job. A Texas Ranger named La Boeuf (Matt Damon) arrives on the scene already hot on Chaney's trail over a murder he committed in Texas. The trio set off together in hopes of finding Tom Chaney before anyone else does. The plot delves in deeper than that of course, and it emerges as a true Western flick that actually works. While it doesn't involved all that heavily on action (minus a few great scenes), it's involved mostly on the characters and the experiences that they must face. With the Coen's classic dialogue (equivalent to Fargo) the slower paced scenes are genuinely enjoyable because the most random of conversations will occur and the outcome is either hilarious or heartwarming. Jeff Bridges is flawless and Oscar worthy portraying a Rooster Cogburn so exceptionally well that he completely overshadows John Wayne's portrayal multiple times over. Matt Damon is unrecognizable at first as a desperate Ranger though his times on the big screen are enjoyable especially the many quarrels with Bridges such as arguments on who is the better shot. Hailee Steinfeld is completely flawless as well. Her portrayal of a headstrong 14 year old determined to track one man down is so spot on that I actually tricked myself into thinking I was watching an adult in the same role. The supporting roles of Josh Brolin and Berry Pepper were great as always, although their screen time was dwindled down to only a small percentage, but both of their roles are great. The many different camera angles the Coens use really outlay a vast and open landscape to the many different types of crimes committed there. The pacing is slick and perfect. The many action scenes are great and house outstanding shootouts and they aren't as heavy on the violence as the earlier Coen brothers films. In between the few key action scenes, there are the funny and enjoyable dialogue moments that keep the momentum in place and this style never falls flat. All in all True Grit really delivers a stellar experience that zooms through quick from beginning to end thanks in part to the great action scenes, and the truly flawless characters and dialogue. If you're in to look for a great Western film, this is the one true and great modern experience. Expand
  4. Dec 26, 2011
    10
    Overall Movie: 7 Acting: 9 Storyline: 8. Jeff Bridges brings John Wayne's great performance even greater, and fuels this great western. One of those remakes that is actually better than the original.
  5. Jan 2, 2011
    10
    This is by far one of the best westerns in many years. I highly recommend this film to anyone who enjoys classic films with great dialogue. What truly makes this a special movie is the acting of Hailee Steinfeld, she interprets a character that is wise beyond her years, this is a must see.
  6. Jan 4, 2011
    10
    I seldom give a movie "10" because it has to be wonderful in every way that cinema can be exciting and satisfying. This was it. I naively assumed that everyone would love this Coen extravaganza - how could they not? "True Grit" proves there is no accounting for taste. Perhaps it is love of the English language that holds this movie together and for people who could care less about language spoken wonderfully, it seems a pretentious Western. But if you haven't seen it, love language, like the Coens, Jeff Bridges, Matt Damon, and young fresh amazingly talented young actors (Mattie), do yourself a favor - put up your spurs, tilt back your Stetson, pour a shot of raw, eye-smarting saloon whiskey, roll up a Bull Durham cigarette, and get ready for a wonderful treat. Expand
  7. Feb 27, 2011
    10
    An amazing remake. Even without John Wayne, it is an amazing movie. So nicely down that it was totally worth the money i forked over for it. Cheers to Cowen Brothers. 10/10
  8. Dec 22, 2010
    9
    The book and the 1969 original set very high standards for this Coen Brothers' Western drama, but as high as the standards were set, the Coen Brothers managed achieve the goals or better yet exceeded them. True Grit is about a drunken US Marshal and a **** Texas Ranger helping a stubborn 14 year-old finding her father's murderer. Rooster (Jeff Bridges) was offered $50 to find the murderer for Mattie, played by newcomer Hailee Steinfeld. Meanwhile, Texas Ranger Le Boeuf (Matt Damon) was offered a reward to find the same guy who also killed a Senator. Conflicting each other on the journey and finally catching the bad guy Tom Chaney (Josh Brolin), the three each developed their character skillfully. Jeff Bridges playing last year Crazy Heart's Bad Blake only with a gun and an eyepatch. Matt Damon used his own personal style to play this **** but humorous Texas Ranger. Hailee Steinfeld played a stubborn 14 year-old who's determined to find Tom Chaney and bring him to hang. Though expected performances from both Jeff Bridges and Matt Damon, newcomer Hailee Stenfeld was as good as her castmates. The one thing I kept in mind while going in this film was that Bridges and Damon are going to give applausable performances and Hailee Steinfeld was getting nominated for some major awards. But when I was finished, I didn't see what all the buzz was about. Sure, Steinfield was good, but compared to Bridges and Damon, she sure didn't have much. I have to say though, beating thousands of other girls for this role is impressive, but I'm sure other Hollywood stars had to do that as well. Even though I find her not as great as I hoped, she still delivered well.
    The directors are the two and only Coen Brothers. With ten Oscar nominations and four wins for each Joel and Ethan Coen, they are Hollywood's most wanted in directing dark Western dramas. Well known for their lastest work "A Serious Man" and "No Country For Old Men', True Grit is another fine addition to their long and impressive resume. Directed with true grit and impressive performances, True Grit outsmarts the original and simply entertaining.
    OscarBuzz: Best Picture (good chance), Best Director (good chance), Best Actor (Jeff Bridges, better chance), Best Supporting Actor (Matt Damon, a chance at a nod), Best Supporting Actress (Hailee Steinfeld, a chance at a nod), Best Adapted Screenplay (Coen Brothers, better chance)
    Expand
  9. Jan 3, 2011
    10
    One of my favorite movies of the year. It's not an action movie but rather a dark, western themed comedy-- and more than that, it's an excuse for some very good actors to chew scenery.
  10. Jan 3, 2011
    10
    True Grit was extremely awesome! This western film has everything that is so cool to watch and I really like the action scenes,some cool western dialogue with funny and seriously dark.
  11. Dec 24, 2010
    10
    Joel and Ethan Coen have done it again!.. This time they take a John Wayne "oater" and create a masterpiece study in human character. The entire cast give a scintillating performance. The Coen's depict life as it really was. The good guys and the bad guys were cut from the same bolt of dirty cloth. The only difference is that one got "paid" when they stole a person's possessions; the other got paid when they brought them to justice. The only one who was clean was Mattie Ross, and she by the force of her righteous will made them all toe the line. Well done Joel. Well done Ethan. Expand
  12. Jan 13, 2011
    10
    The Coen Brothers are American and this movie speaks to the culture and value of our country. They are at the peak of their game and have been for quite a while. True Grit is about the attempt to be heroic in the face of the realities of life, that is, filled with violence, randomness, personal failings and our questionable chances to control what happens to us. There are potential traps with this story: if the girl is precious the movie can veer towards sentimentality and life is anything but sentimental. Each of the characters show the balance that exists in people. Rooster Cogburn is not heroic in most senses of the word. He admits that he was a terrible father, he kicks the Indian kids off of the porch, he sets up a plan to help the girl while he pursues his money by attempting to catch the leader villain. The Texas ranger is quite simply a doofus, and yet miraculously makes the shot with the rifle. He doesn't re-enter the story. Finally, the girl devotes her childish mind to revenge, which we should know, offers no reward but ashes. She finishes as a one armed spinster, she is not cute and she finds solace only in her grit. For me, I am old enough not to expect perfect heroic people or even a chance to act nobly in many situations, but the film shows perhaps what is the best that we can do. Finally, the cinematography, much like Fargo or No Country for Old Men, shows the open spaces in a way that immerses the audience and reminds us of the beauty, the physical beauty, of America. Most seriously considered art deals with the challenges that life presents us with, what to do with our lives, and as an American, I feel uplifted and excited each time I see the Coen Brothers attempt to illustrate the issue with a new filter, whether it be set in very un-Hollywood locations as Texas, Arkansas, Minnesota or North Dakota. My son suggested that for the United States, the art form that is ours the most (apart of course from Rock and Roll) is film and that the brothers are our true geniuses of that art form. Expand
  13. Jan 14, 2011
    9
    I haven't read the source novel, but I did see the 1969 movie and am not quite sure which I like better....I'll have to rent that one again. I did like this movie almost as much as some of my favorite Coen films, such as Fargo and Blood Simple, and much more than No Country For Old Men (to be fair, that movie was very faithful to the novel, which I read, and I felt the movie contained all the same problems as the book). The crafting of the film is excellent, with my only problem being that the actress portraying the older Mattie looks nothing like 14 year-old Mattie....Scanning the critics' reviews, I see the only one who really didn't like it is Rex Reed, and that is probably because there is no hint of male homosexuality in the movie. Expand
  14. Feb 28, 2011
    9
    Even if you struggle to understand what Bridges is saying (you will) it is impossible to deny his and the movie's charm. The movie is filled with great acting and scenes that don't scream HERE TAKE SOME ACTION ACTION ACTION but more rely on great plot and acting, with of course enjoyable action in good dose's. I loved this movie and will no doubt watch it again!
  15. Jun 3, 2011
    10
    This movie was amazing. Going back to old cowboy movie style like the good ol' John Wayne days. Their hasn't been a good cowboy/western movie in quite sometime. True Grit was superb. Jeff Bridges with his successful job as the witty Sheriff performed an Oscar worthy performance. Matt Damon did a great job as the lone Texas ranger, and the always awesome Josh Brolin as Tom Chaney, but the biggest breakout performance was by Hailee Steinfeld as Mattie Ross, she did an amazing job and shouldve won the Oscar, especially for being so young, she has a very promising future. This movie was so good it has to be illegal to give it a bad review, 10/10 without a doubt. Expand
  16. Jun 12, 2011
    9
    This movie was a lot of fun to me. None of the characters are overally lickable but you find yourself cheering for them. The scenes are shot very well and the acting is solid throughout including a very strong performance by Hailee Steinfeld who plays Mattie Ross. There are some humorus scenes and they flow well from the plot. It is important to view this movie seperate from its 1969 counter part otherwise you may fall to much on your nostalga and miss a very well done film. Expand
  17. Jan 23, 2011
    9
    Wow. I went into this movie with decent expectations, but...whoa. This movie is awesome. The Coen Brothers have delivered one awesomely solid western. The performances, especially from Jeff Bridges and Halie Steinfield, were amazing. The script was great. Even though it's a dramatic western, there's some hilarious moments. The direction was great, the cinematography was great, and the shootouts were pretty cool. The only problem is that it is a bit slow. But other than that, True Grit is an awesome Western that I'm definetly buying on blu-ray. Expand
  18. Dec 29, 2010
    10
    When you walk into "True Grit,â
  19. Jan 1, 2011
    10
    Though there is something timeless about the characters, they talk and act in a dated historical way that no longer exists nowadays. This film has a great story, great acting, humor, and both a sense of time and timelessness. If you expect a typical Western you won't find it, yet you won't find an atypical revisionist Western either. The focus is on the characters and how they relate, and the film succeeds wonderfully. Expand
  20. Dec 24, 2010
    10
    I know nothing of the remake or book regarding this movie. All I know is that I was highly entertained (something that movies haven't done for me in a while, recently). Being a western, I expected gun fights, horse-riding, booze drinking, outlaws vs. marshals, etc; and this movie delivered that, and more. Hailee Steinfeld plays a very smart and determined young girl that will not stop until her father's murder is brought to justice. She hires an old, beat-up, drunkard of a marshal that manages to find ways to bring men to justice, that few can do (though his methods are questionable, often unorthodox, impromptu, and frequently lead to someone getting hurt or injured.) Matt Damon's character is a Texas Ranger that's come to Arkansas (the setting of the movie) to hunt down the same criminal that killed ms. Steinfeld's father for a different crime that occurred in Texas. These actions bring the three together in a terrific story that manages to be traditional, yet hold a lot of its own originality at the same time.
    In true coen-brother-fashion, the comedy was engaging and hilarious. Matt Damon stays true to his lack of speaking roles (which is a plus). But the one who steals the show, is Jeff Bridges. His role is played exceptionally well, and he manages to find a way to bring laughter to the audience, even in the most tense and action-packed scenes. His banter between the young girl, as well as Matt Damon's character makes for very classic scenes that will resonate with me for a long while. I found this movie thoroughly entertaining, hilarious, dramatic, meaningful, and action-packed all at once. Very few movies (especially those that have come out recently) can pull that off. If you enjoy being entertained (and who doesn't?) then I highly recommend this movie. True Grit will be a must-have purchase by me upon it's release to blu-ray.
    Expand
  21. Jan 6, 2011
    9
    Jeff Bridges is no John Wayne......Thank god. Wayne was such an over the top character that he kind of overshadowed the role. Bridges, Damon and Steinfeld immerse themselves in the roles drawing the viewers into the story. I can truly say that I never saw this movie until now. Kudos to those Coen boys.
  22. Jan 11, 2011
    10
    The Coen Brothers have really done their best film since No Country For Old Men, and Jeff Bridges has done yet another fantastic performance as Marshall Cogburn. Not only that, Matt Damon also performed very well and Hailee Steinfeld has done a fabulous acting for a 14 year old! I was quite surpriesed by all of this! Not only that the Coens have directed this beautifully, but have brought the Western genre back into cinema since Unforgiven. Expand
  23. Jan 27, 2011
    9
    I see this western partially as a play-fight on time and continuity of Film;True Grit is well-crafted and rather pointed by metaphors and a narrator that only speaks at the end,and at the beginning.
  24. Jan 1, 2011
    10
    It could be my favorite film of the year. I usually love the Coen Brothers work. I'm not really a Western fan, and don't care if it's a sort of remake. But I was enthralled from beginning to end. Finally we get to see a great film. As to why it was snubbed by the Golden Globes, unbelievable - but then they nominated The Tourist, which was mildly entertaining. And what's up with Black Swan? So over the top. Anyways the Coens have done it again. Fantastic performance by Hailee Steinfeld, who commands the screen. Wonderful to see "The Dude" back. Superior film making in every way, from script to cinematography and soundtrack. Expand
  25. Jan 7, 2011
    10
    I rented the original so it would be fresh in my mind. I had the luddite view that you can't remake a masterpiece. I am not a Co-Bro fan so my expectations were not high to say the least. I haven't been so glad to be wrong in a long time. Old or first doesn't always mean best. I loved it!!!
  26. mpg
    Jan 27, 2011
    10
    this one ranks with the best westerns ever made and Ive seen most of them since 1935. great script, great acting and the young girl was outstanding. don't miss it
  27. Dec 29, 2010
    9
    "The Coen Brothers True Grit is a brilliant remake of a classic story led with outstanding performances from Bridges & Damon and is captivating and more risqué then the original but the real stealer is newcomer Hailee Steinfield who deserves an Oscar nomination" .. A-
  28. Dec 23, 2010
    10
    Lead by absolutely fantastic performances "True Grit" could be considered the best Western since "Unforgiven". The Coen Brothers have made this dark, gritty, and at times comedic drama into a memorable film that can stand up for itself and take straight aim.
  29. Jan 2, 2011
    10
    Marvelously shot by Deakins (who's likely to finally win his well-overdue Oscar) and with exceptional performances by Steinfeld, Bridges, and Damon, the Coen Brothers have created another masterpiece. On the surface this might seem like the least Coen Brothers-y movie of their oeuvre, bur the tone and themes of their previous films are still present and should please any sort of audience.
  30. Jan 18, 2011
    10
    I have to start by stating that I love most of the Coen brothers films, their style just appeals to me. They have a knack for getting great performances from actors and this film is certainly no exception. Jeff Bridges, Matt Damon, and especially Hailee Steinfeld are great and have great chemistry together. I like that they chose to use the dialect of the time. Sometimes I didn't quite understand all the words, especially from Jeff Bridges who is drunk and mumbles, but the story was easy to follow anyway. There is always some humor in a Coen Brothers film, but this one is the funniest one they have made in awhile. As usual the cinematography is excellent as well. I saw this the day after seeing the overrated "The Black Swan" - what a breath of fresh air after that movie. Expand
  31. Jan 12, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. one of the must sees in 2010 or now 2011 haha, great acting and scirpt as it was filled with great humor. there are shootouts but not as much as i thought going to see it . They also really dont fight with bad guys till about the last 25 minutes or so. but the sharp and funny diologe keeps you interested and makes the pace of the movie go by fast. so go out and see the one of the best movies of 2010 Expand
  32. Jan 16, 2011
    9
    True Grit does not tell a traditional archetype-based story. We don't see Mattie Ross start out naive and powerless and grow stronger on her journey. She's intelligent, driven, and capable from the beginning. Rooster Cogburn never really loses his wild, do-as-I-please attitude, nor does LaBoeuf really lose his arrogant superiority. instead the movie shows what I think is a more realistic depiction of a cowboy/western adventure. Yes, it was paced slow. Yes, there were scenes where they are just babbling or doing nothing. Yes, it lacks the theatrics and (overdone) aesthetics of recent movies. But I don't imagine a western journey being fast - paced, easy or pleasurable, or very exciting. Why were there boring and slow scenes? That's all they could do while they traveled. In terms of the acting, I think Matt Damon was miscast - not a terrible job on his part, but it was lacking in believability. He does the accent pretty well, but he's just not a cowboy. Hallie Steinfeld was great - the maturity and stubbornness was spot on. But Jeff Bridges was my favorite portrayal. I thought he was perfect for the role. He pulled off a messy, throaty, alcoholic marshall with a bit of a spark, and had some of my favorite one-liners. Overall I enjoyed the movie and it had a decent message and a dramatic finish. Definitely a gem shining in a load of Hollywood's fresh manure. Expand
  33. Dec 26, 2010
    9
    On the surface, the story is very simple, but underneath there is a lot going on (aside from the black comedy of the book). The skill with which the Coen bros orchestrate this film is really awesome. From casting, acting, plot, theme, allegory, cinematography and the best of all--dialogue---they really should be proud of True Grit as I'm sure the original author would be given how closely they followed his book (as opposed to the John Wayne version). I loved every minute of this film and am pretty excited to see it again actually. Expand
  34. Dec 25, 2010
    9
    If you like Arnold one liners, good plot, and something different, this is the movie to watch. I love Mr La Beef, he was super funny and so was Bridges.
  35. Jan 30, 2011
    9
    I ask you to please address me as Mattie Ross. This film is Coen Bros at their best. Damon is truly surprising as a fat, never shutting up-antihero. Bridges is as good with one eye as most of us with both. And, obviously Hailee a refreshing role, so interesting and rich. Cinematography and story owe much to Cormac McCarthey, thank you dear Coens. Must, must see. Dont have to be a guy to love it. @cinemaquote Expand
  36. Jan 22, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Extremely bad movie to watch in recent history. How can this be a oscar nominee. It is difficult to understand what the story is all about and what characters say and talk has nothing to do with movie. Expand
  37. Dec 30, 2010
    10
    I loved True Grit. The dialogue was snappy and well delivered. The action was well spaced and didn't clog the movie up. The characters felt like real people and I was wondering the entire time what would happen next. The only complaint I have, is that it couldn't go on forever. =]
  38. Dec 31, 2010
    10
    True Grit was a great movie with some very, very strong actors, characters, and a wonderful story. So why am I giving it a 7/10? Because of the ending. For such an uplifting middle portion, it seems wrong to end the film with tragedy like in the beginning. The ending was really the part that ruined it for me. And the god-awful song at the end did not help either.
  39. Dec 23, 2010
    10
    The Coens' adaptation of True Grit left me well satisfied, but critically I was puzzled.
    The film script remains nearly exactly true to the book, but the minor deviations made me wonder why those if those choices were necessary. The book was written almost as a screenplay, with plenty of quirky dialogue and humorous characters, so the Coens' slight additions and changes, although cleverly
    done, seemed irrelevant, and detracted from the overall effect. Nevertheless, the actors', filmmaker's, and make-up artists' excesses will be forgiven or simply overlooked.
    As a whole, I feel that this film will be one of the Coens' most powerful mainstream success stories.
    Expand
  40. Dec 30, 2010
    10
    One of my favorite Cohen Bros. efforts, and I've seen them all. This is my favorite film of the year, other than perhaps "Toy Story 3". Everyone involved here has risen to the challenge. Having just viewed the original John Wayne version, this one is far superior in almost every way, starting with the sharp, witty script, which often prompts the viewer to ponder over the sometimes antiquated, but always revealing turns-of-phrases. Perhaps this is why some viewers have suggested the film is too talky and slow. In fact, much of the film's action takes place in the dialogue between the characters, rather than merely in the form of physical action. The performances, as noted by all the reviews, are uniformly memorable, but Jeff Bridges is truly great here. The cinematography is beautiful in a stark and haunting way, and the score, by the Cohen Bros. consistent collaborator Carter Burwell, is stirring. The characters here, unlike most westerns, have shades of gray, and all but the most vile of them retain a sense of humanity. This is probably the most emotionally effecting, and also one of the wittiest westerns I've ever seen. Expand
  41. Jan 1, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This funny, entertaining remake is among the Coen brothers' best work. Jeff Bridges' acting is worthy of the classic John Wayne movie. The new, young actress Hailee Stienfeld debuts with a acting performance that will likely give her several upcoming jobs. Expand
  42. Jan 3, 2011
    9
    Although one will never truly know what the West was really like, I get the feeling this movie got pretty damn close, even right down to the proper language. With haunting imagery that stays with you, the Coens have made an instant classic in what could be its very own sub-genre.
  43. Jan 5, 2011
    10
    It seems axiomatic by now that remakes of good films usually fall well short of the mark. With the often brilliant Coen brothers at the helm, Steven Spielberg producing and Jeff Bridges and Matt Damon starring, this film promised to be the exception---especially if you read the critics. I don't know what film they thought they saw, but the one I saw was decidedly not the exception that proves the rule. Gritty it was, but truly entertaining, engrossing and exciting it decidedly was not. Jeff Bridges was a cross between Wallace Beery and Lee Marvin's "Kid Sheleen"---in either case his unintelligible dialogue needed subtitles. Matt Damon's bland performance almost had one longing for the original's Glen Campbell. A disappointing dud. Expand
  44. Aug 5, 2011
    9
    I don't usually watch western films. Wait I don't think I do at all (maybe except Rango and Back to the Future Part III if they are western films). True Grit started pretty interesting and got a little boring but got back my interest once more. I do agree with some people that say it is overrated because it is a great film but not as awesome as critics say it is (or maybe I feel that way just because I don't watch westerns). But it is still great: great acting, and interesting story. Expand
  45. Jan 12, 2011
    9
    A fantastic remake of an already great western. 'True Grit' is a must see for any fan of the genre. Jeff Bridges manages to outperform even John Wayne's Oscar winning performance. With many truly surprising and hilarious moments. One of the overall best films of 2010. My only complaint would be the slightly out of place ending.
  46. Jan 14, 2011
    10
    This movie is purely amazing. At first thoughts I thought it would be a completely serious movie with absolutely no sense of humor. I was proven wrong as this movie has a good plot, perfect amount of humor, and great acting by Jeff Bridges and Matt Damon. A very good way to end 2010 movies.
  47. Jan 16, 2011
    10
    Loved this movie. I thought the acting was superb and I was thrilled that it was free of the usual filthy language so common in most films today. I think Bridges deserves an oscar. Highly recommend this to anyone and everyone.
  48. Jan 17, 2011
    9
    I personally watch it at the movies and was not expecting much out of a western...even though directed by the Coens. Greeeaaat direction. The story line was a little cliched. Outstanding performance by the cast especially Hailee Steinfeld. Some dark comedy and cruelty. personally I thought it was a outstanding film.
  49. Jan 20, 2011
    9
    I enjoyed all the actors in this movie. From Barry Pepper's short cameo and Josh Brolin, to Matt Damon and Jeff Bridges, to the newcomer Hailee Steinfeld, they all took to their roles with talent and dedication. The Coen Brothers made a great looking movie. The only complaint I had was the ending, but otherwise, a spectacular movie.
  50. Jan 24, 2011
    9
    Gr8t Western with some surprises. The acting was superb even if the "good guys" were good and the "bad guys" were worse. Met my expectations although I cannot compare to the original -- may be a good things in this case.
  51. Jan 23, 2011
    10
    Always love western movies. I had no idea this was actually going to be comedy. The storyline remained interesting throughout the movie. Great acting by Jeff Bridges and Halie Steinfield. This is a great remake of the original and a must see.
  52. Jul 10, 2011
    9
    I loved the original True Grit with John Wayne, but I find this remake better. The story is one of a generic Western, but this IS a remake so it's nothing new. The performances are amazing, especially Hailee Steinfeld as Mattie Ross and everyone else did great too. The direction this film went was really cool and the action was really upbeat and tense. Check this one out after seeing the original and it's available now on DVD and Blu-Ray! Expand
  53. Jan 29, 2011
    10
    I absolutely amazed at how much I enjoyed this movie. Coming from a girl who usually is into comedies, the close adaptation and historical value really entertained me. This movie is a great break from the crap that has been in the theaters lately.
  54. Mar 20, 2011
    10
    This movie was amazing. I know im writing a reveiw for it late but i enjoyed this movie and saw it the day it opened. Jeff Bridges was amazing and held his role through out the movie. Of course it it hard to be as amazing as John Wayne in the original movie. But after all everyone held their role through out the movie and i recomend this movie to all Jeff Bridges and John Wayne's fans.
  55. Feb 13, 2011
    9
    Remaking a classic film is a very daunting task but The Coen Brothers and company pull it off with undeniable finesse and even manages to improve on the original.One area of improvement is the actress who played Mattie Ross.In the original Kim Darby came across as just a naive and annoying young girl.However,newcomer Hailee Steinfeld is very believable as an emotionally hardened,intelligent,and articulate young women.She can hold her own with Jeff Bridges and Matt Damon and make it seem easy.Jeff Bridges(as always)gives an outstanding performance and puts his own spin on this character and makes it his own.Matt Damon is also great and has beautiful and natural chemistry with both Bridges and Steinfeld.True Grit is also filled to brim with snappy one-liners delivered mostly by Bridges.One I thing I was gawking at more than anything was the simple beauty of the scenery.The entire area truly creates a feeling of "your on your own out here".The film has a completely even mix of dry humor,action,emotional impact,and just sheer badassnes.For fans of the original don't worry,The "fill your hands you son of a **** is still intact.Some aspects of the film feel kind of off for me,such as how Mattie comes in contact with Ned.The ending also left me wanting more.These are just small gripes of an otherwise amazing movie."True Grit" is an energetic,humorous,entertaining,and subtlety brilliant movie.It easily exceeds all expectations of a John Wayne movie remake. Expand
  56. Feb 17, 2011
    9
    The Coen Brothers have had a rough ride in the movie bussiness, but this one is really brings some remarkable work. The acting was great, the story was execllent, the gunfights were intense and the actors were perfect. Only little faults such as not explaining everything. I rate this one: 9.3 out of 10.
  57. Feb 16, 2011
    10
    The coen brothers yet again do not disappoint. The characters and acting is excellent. If it were up to me Jeff Bridges would win an oscar for his role. The movie is so griping 2 hours went by and i found myself wanting more.
  58. Feb 19, 2011
    9
    I think we're in the presence of a quite interesting Western. And altough it's a sort of remake I do feel it brings a new picture of the story itself.
    Loved the witty remarks troughout the movie and the actors perfomances.
  59. Aug 26, 2012
    9
    I don't like western movies, and I don't know why. This movie however not only was enjoyable, but was brilliant and excellent in almost anything in my opinion. The story is really linear and very predictable, but what actually makes the story good is "how" it's told, because the girl protagonist is very disturbing and I can't hide a small chill whenever I saw her determination and her intelligence: she looked more like an anti-heroine other than anything else, so much that not even Cogburn (the old gunman and second protagonist) couldn't stop her in any way: this was very interesting to watch and this proves how old stories can still be good with just few changes in story telling and character development, without mentioning that the movie is a story of morality and behaviour and it's both touching and disturbing. The action is good too though and the shooting scenes were actually very well done, and aside of the main characters even the secondary ones were not only good, but actually remarkable (even the three men, near the start, who said ONE line, gave me a brief moment of sadness). Maybe I'm skipping something, but I highly recommend to watch this movie, however don't expect mindless shooting or senseless action: it's a story to watch, enjoy, and learn. Expand
  60. Apr 20, 2011
    9
    The movie is supremely entertaining, the cinematography is a work of art, and Jeff Bridges' relationship with Matt Damon on-screen is perfectly funny. Hailee Steinfeld stands out as the audacious and sassy Mattie Ross. The Coen Brothers, as expected, have done it again. Not necessarily their best; but you can't miss this one.
  61. May 31, 2011
    10
    Seriously, what's not to like about this movie? It's perhaps the best western I've ever seen. Bridges is phenomenal, even better than John Wayne, in his portrayal of Cogburn. Damon -- at his best since the Bourne movies -- is just spot-on damn good. He comes across as a real piece of work at first, but by movie's end, my attitude towards his character did a 180. The girl who plays Mattie Ross (Hailee Steinfeld) completely floored me with her acting abilities. I loved this flick. Matter of fact, it is not only my favorite western but could compete for top spot in any genre, save for horror. That honor goes to the Swedish made Let the Right One In. Expand
  62. Jun 16, 2011
    9
    Great movie especially for a remake! This is a must see. The best way I explain it is too quote another review, "The Coens combine their original and witty dialogue with incredible performances by top notch actors to create a film thats so engrossing that you're taken on a ride back in time with true outlaws." -horrorboy
  63. Jul 5, 2011
    9
    Great acting by Jeff Bridges and Matt Damon, and of course the glue that binds these two characters together Hailee Steinfeld.

    This movie is smart, excellent character development, direction of the movie. The Coen brother's really brought justice to the book and the previous movie.

    Over-all, everyone must have seen this movie at least once in their life.
  64. Jul 2, 2011
    9
    Fantastic. I haven't seen the original, but the original would have to be phenomenal to be better then this. Entertaining, suspenseful, and somewhat emotional, True Grit is great western entertainment. Deserving of all of the awards that it was nominated for.
  65. Jun 26, 2011
    10
    When you read the negative reviews of this movie, you understand why so many of the movies made today are vapid, puerile and meaningless. True grit is a classic. Whether it's a remake is beside the point. It will never lose it's shine or cease to stand out among most other films. This film is poetic, timeless, artful and true. If you don't like it, hopefully you may live enough until you will one day. Expand
  66. Jul 12, 2011
    9
    A visual feast containing great art direction, cinematography but more than that really good performances from the Bridges, Damon and newcomer Steinfeld. Especially Steinfeld carries the movie with great conviction and emotion. The Coen Brothers takes on a involving western adventure and by the end I felt like I had gone back in time and witnessed a plausible inspiring story. Very good film.
  67. Aug 17, 2011
    9
    A truly incredible movie. Amazing acting by every character, gorgeous and realistic scenery, a somewhat cliche vengeance plot that is redeemed by the sparse (but impressive) action moments that are entertaining and suspenseful. One of the best westerns I have ever seen, and definitely a must-see movie. I adored every second of this film thanks to the brilliant acting and superb excellence in every department. On the ride to the conclusion, there is witty and interesting dialogue, beautiful western scenes and a few great cowboy battles. Nothing disappoints in True Grit. Expand
  68. Dec 10, 2011
    9
    Headed by strong acting from Hailee Steinfeld, Jeff Bridges and Matt Damon, lifted by an eye-popping cinematography, filled with witty dialogues and beautifully directed by the Coen Brothers, "True Grit" is a near-perfect masterpiece and one of the greatest cinematic accomplishments of the year.
  69. Aug 23, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Même si l'on s'intéresse plus aux personnages qu'aux séquences de fusillades, il est quelque peu dommage d'arriver à s'ennuyer devant ce film. Mais les joutes verbales que se lancent les protagonistes, la mise en scène soignée, les interprètes, la reconstitution d'époque, la musique et la bande son réparent cette erreur, nous permettant de regarder un western dans la plus pure tradition...en mieux! Expand
  70. Aug 29, 2011
    9
    True Grit tells a classic western story. After her father is murdered by lowly criminal Tom Chaney (Josh Brolin), 14 year-old Mattie Ross (Hailee Steinfeld) hires the drunken old US Marshal, Rooster Cogburn (Jeff Bridges) to help her track down Chaney and bring him to justice. Texas Ranger, LaBeouf (Matt Damon), who is trying to track down Chaney for a separate crime he committed in Texas, accompanies them on their journey. The ten Academy Award nominations True Grit earned including nominations for the Coen Brothers, Jeff Bridges, and Hailee Steinfeld were all very deserved. Read the full review at:
    http://www.doctormud.blogspot.com
    Expand
  71. Nov 3, 2011
    9
    True Grit shines because of it's brilliant direction, acting and it's set and costume design, making you feel like you're back in the Old West. It's a worthy companion to it's source material, although I felt it should have gone on a little longer. 3 1/2 out of 4 stars.
  72. Aug 8, 2013
    9
    There isn't a remake here so much as there is a retelling of a classic story, someone else's interpretation if you will. Joel and Ethan Coen go down a different path from their unique storytelling and take on a Western, one which John Wayne occupied in the original outing. The Coens take a very toned down approach to what we are accustomed to see in their films, but they still have an eccentric tone to the film when the dialogue comes into place. Hailee Steinfield delivers a confident and mature performance as Mattie Ross, a young girl travelling away from home to see justice take place after a ruthless man murders her father, she is a well read and surely individual, wanting the help of the local bounty hunter, Rooster Cogburn, played with grit and hardened experience by Jeff Bridges, who begrudgingly agrees to help this 14 year old girl track down Tom Chaney (Josh Brolin), the man who committed the murder.
    Cogburn is a battle-hardned individual who doesn't care much for the consequences of his actions, he's getting old and doesn't care much for anything anymore, much to the dismay of LaBoeuf, a young ranger who enjoys bragging about his achievements in the wild. The three set out on a long and tiring journey in search of the criminal, facing various obstacles which most of the time is each other. The film has the polished touch of a Coen piece, it has strong accents, eccentric dialogue and exceptionally memorable characters throughout, creating a standalone film that shouldn't really be seen as anything other than a retelling.
    Cogburn seemingly takes the place of the father the way the story unfolds, teaching Mattie about the ways of the wild and the decisions he has made, this film is very much about these two individuals, how their characters develop and how they react in each others company, but its also a very good Western through and through, combining the slow paced and character driven moments seen in many of the greats, but also a shoot em' up adventure that never fails to entertain.
    It certainly has a different touch than the typical Coen picture, but it still brims with excitement, unpredictably and heart, but it also stays true to the classic Westerns of yesteryear to deliver a nostalgic plot with a modern kick to make this an entertaining film fromstart to finish.
    Expand
  73. May 6, 2012
    9
    Powerful performances. Excellent writing. Raw western violence. True Grit is a masterpiece- in every sense of the word. The Coen Brothers have performed flawlessly once again.
  74. Apr 1, 2012
    10
    First off, I would give this a 9.75 out of 10. Acting is great. Everyone does a great job. Score is pretty good. Story is also good. I honestly think true grit was robbed in the oscars. I mean it deserved a few at least. Overall, this is a great film, and a great remake. You really should see this movie
  75. Jul 15, 2012
    9
    After their 2007 No Country for Old Men, the Coen brothers try their hand at a true western with True Grit, an adaptation of the novel of the same name which John Wayne won his only Oscar for the 1969 version.

    Mattie Ross (Hailee Steinfeld) is a headstrong 14 year old girl out to avenge her father's murder. Knowing her limitations she recruits the most unscrupulous U.S. Marshal she can
    find, Rooster Cogburn (Jeff Bridges). They set off into Indian territory to hunt down her father's killer (Josh Brolin) occasionally accompanied by Texas Ranger Matt Damon, who is after the outlaw for a previous offence.

    Helped by the Coen's excellent script, Steinfeld, Damon and Bridges in particular deliver excellent performances. Mattie is the moral compass of the uncomfortable trio as they proceed on their road trip and amusingly keeps her elder companions in line throughout for her own gain. The film also benefits from superb cinematography, including some memorable shots when Rooster and Mattie cross the horizon at sunset.

    True Grit operates at its own pace towards it's finale and although few may consider it uneventful or boring it is a great story of unflinching retribution and justice.
    Expand
  76. Feb 28, 2013
    9
    I expected it to be quite boring, and only watched it because it was nominated for Best Picture. I was pleasantly surprised, and found myself rooting for the three main characters. The acting was quite good. The pacing was well balanced and I never became bored. Jeff Bridges delivers a memorable performance definitely worthy of the Oscar. The movie deserved the Oscar more than The King's Speech, which failed to move me. If they keep on making westerns like this, I will continue to watch them. Expand
  77. Jun 10, 2013
    9
    The Coen Brothers continue to direct gems. True Grit is a well written, acted, and directed western that dies justice to the original. Jeff Bridges also does a great job playing a role made famous by John Wayne.
  78. Apr 23, 2014
    9
    The Coen Brothers remake of the classic western is one with grandiose style and wit, and it even feels authentic. Bridges and Damon shine here, and they carry this old-style movie made in the 2000's.
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 41
  2. Negative: 1 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: Angie Errigo
    Feb 7, 2011
    100
    Terrific: tough, exciting, funny, gorgeous and bewitchingly acted, this is darn close to perfection.
  2. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Dec 25, 2010
    80
    The tense verbal comedy of Mattie's early negotiation with a Fort Smith merchant should win you over to this movie's high linguistic wit. If not, you may as well slip out of the theater and into "Little Fockers."
  3. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Dec 24, 2010
    67
    All this is not to say that the Coens' True Grit is an awful film; it's just that these filmmakers have set their own standards for excellence, and True Grit falls short.