User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 601 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 32 out of 601
Watch On

Review this movie

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 19, 2012
    8
    One of the great new westerns. Great directing, a good storyline, and great acting make this movie a worthwhile trip. Jeff Bridges and Hailee Steinfeld were both great in their own different ways, and Matt Damon was good as well. Even better than the classic original!
  2. Jan 14, 2011
    9
    I haven't read the source novel, but I did see the 1969 movie and am not quite sure which I like better....I'll have to rent that one again. I did like this movie almost as much as some of my favorite Coen films, such as Fargo and Blood Simple, and much more than No Country For Old Men (to be fair, that movie was very faithful to the novel, which I read, and I felt the movie contained allI haven't read the source novel, but I did see the 1969 movie and am not quite sure which I like better....I'll have to rent that one again. I did like this movie almost as much as some of my favorite Coen films, such as Fargo and Blood Simple, and much more than No Country For Old Men (to be fair, that movie was very faithful to the novel, which I read, and I felt the movie contained all the same problems as the book). The crafting of the film is excellent, with my only problem being that the actress portraying the older Mattie looks nothing like 14 year-old Mattie....Scanning the critics' reviews, I see the only one who really didn't like it is Rex Reed, and that is probably because there is no hint of male homosexuality in the movie. Expand
  3. Feb 19, 2011
    8
    The best thing about this movie was the acting. Jeff Bridges was fantastic! The film was set in a believable location with long drawn-out silences which added plenty of suspense.
  4. Feb 28, 2011
    9
    Even if you struggle to understand what Bridges is saying (you will) it is impossible to deny his and the movie's charm. The movie is filled with great acting and scenes that don't scream HERE TAKE SOME ACTION ACTION ACTION but more rely on great plot and acting, with of course enjoyable action in good dose's. I loved this movie and will no doubt watch it again!
  5. Jun 3, 2011
    10
    This movie was amazing. Going back to old cowboy movie style like the good ol' John Wayne days. Their hasn't been a good cowboy/western movie in quite sometime. True Grit was superb. Jeff Bridges with his successful job as the witty Sheriff performed an Oscar worthy performance. Matt Damon did a great job as the lone Texas ranger, and the always awesome Josh Brolin as Tom Chaney, but theThis movie was amazing. Going back to old cowboy movie style like the good ol' John Wayne days. Their hasn't been a good cowboy/western movie in quite sometime. True Grit was superb. Jeff Bridges with his successful job as the witty Sheriff performed an Oscar worthy performance. Matt Damon did a great job as the lone Texas ranger, and the always awesome Josh Brolin as Tom Chaney, but the biggest breakout performance was by Hailee Steinfeld as Mattie Ross, she did an amazing job and shouldve won the Oscar, especially for being so young, she has a very promising future. This movie was so good it has to be illegal to give it a bad review, 10/10 without a doubt. Expand
  6. Jun 12, 2011
    9
    This movie was a lot of fun to me. None of the characters are overally lickable but you find yourself cheering for them. The scenes are shot very well and the acting is solid throughout including a very strong performance by Hailee Steinfeld who plays Mattie Ross. There are some humorus scenes and they flow well from the plot. It is important to view this movie seperate from its 1969This movie was a lot of fun to me. None of the characters are overally lickable but you find yourself cheering for them. The scenes are shot very well and the acting is solid throughout including a very strong performance by Hailee Steinfeld who plays Mattie Ross. There are some humorus scenes and they flow well from the plot. It is important to view this movie seperate from its 1969 counter part otherwise you may fall to much on your nostalga and miss a very well done film. Expand
  7. Jul 13, 2011
    8
    Solid western that I would easily say is better than the original (sorry, Duke). Fantastic acting all around (Barry Pepper didn't get the credit he deserved) and the Coen's weave poetry in every inch the camera touches. Great film.
  8. Mar 5, 2011
    10
    The first decent movie I have seen in years.

    Matt Damon does his best acting since 'the talented mr ripley' as comedic relief. I liked all of the characters, even the villians. The film is beautifully shot, perfectly paced, and the final shootout is intense. I've seen the original film and this one must be a 1,000 times better. I almost can't believe there's anyone who didn't like
    The first decent movie I have seen in years.

    Matt Damon does his best acting since 'the talented mr ripley' as comedic relief.

    I liked all of the characters, even the villians. The film is beautifully shot, perfectly paced, and the final shootout is intense.

    I've seen the original film and this one must be a 1,000 times better.

    I almost can't believe there's anyone who didn't like this movie, and then I realize this is America, and it all makes sense.

    The film is perfect until the fake looking cg rattlesnakes, other than that.....
    Expand
  9. Sep 21, 2011
    8
    The Coen Brothers succeed in crushing the original 1969's and establish their own profound, ethnic translation of the western movie "True Grit". They erase the 'exaggeration' in western cinema and rewrites it as "legend" with their hands. Followed with the Oscar worthy performances from Damon and Bridges, "True Grit" is overall decent (In the standard of the Coens) but a efficient, wellThe Coen Brothers succeed in crushing the original 1969's and establish their own profound, ethnic translation of the western movie "True Grit". They erase the 'exaggeration' in western cinema and rewrites it as "legend" with their hands. Followed with the Oscar worthy performances from Damon and Bridges, "True Grit" is overall decent (In the standard of the Coens) but a efficient, well made western movie. Expand
  10. Jan 1, 2011
    10
    My wife and I are getting up there in years, and it's great that there are still movies that fit our demographic. As for being a "remake" I feel the movie lived up to the hype and then some! All the performances ran circles around the originals, no question. Leaving in the original "fill your hands" line intact was a nice (respectful) touch that seems to have flown over more than a fewMy wife and I are getting up there in years, and it's great that there are still movies that fit our demographic. As for being a "remake" I feel the movie lived up to the hype and then some! All the performances ran circles around the originals, no question. Leaving in the original "fill your hands" line intact was a nice (respectful) touch that seems to have flown over more than a few heads. As for rambling, seemingly inconsequential dialogue from Bridges, get over it! That's how aging people talk. The younger you are, the more bored you are by "old people" telling war stories. We ramble....because we have experiences. We are laconic and cynical.....because we earned that right. Expand
  11. Feb 27, 2011
    10
    An amazing remake. Even without John Wayne, it is an amazing movie. So nicely down that it was totally worth the money i forked over for it. Cheers to Cowen Brothers. 10/10
  12. Dec 30, 2010
    9
    True Grit is the first western based film presented to us by the Coen brothers. The Coens combine their original and witty dialogue with incredible performances by top notch actors to create a film thats so engrossing that you're taken on a ride back in time with true outlaws. The plot centers on Mattie Ross (Hailee Steinfeld) whose father was shot and killed by a loner named Tom ChaneyTrue Grit is the first western based film presented to us by the Coen brothers. The Coens combine their original and witty dialogue with incredible performances by top notch actors to create a film thats so engrossing that you're taken on a ride back in time with true outlaws. The plot centers on Mattie Ross (Hailee Steinfeld) whose father was shot and killed by a loner named Tom Chaney (Josh Brolin), who also made off with the father's 2 gold pieces. Mattie is determined at all costs to find her father's killer, and hires U.S. Marshal Rooster Cogburn (Jeff Bridges) to do the job. A Texas Ranger named La Boeuf (Matt Damon) arrives on the scene already hot on Chaney's trail over a murder he committed in Texas. The trio set off together in hopes of finding Tom Chaney before anyone else does. The plot delves in deeper than that of course, and it emerges as a true Western flick that actually works. While it doesn't involved all that heavily on action (minus a few great scenes), it's involved mostly on the characters and the experiences that they must face. With the Coen's classic dialogue (equivalent to Fargo) the slower paced scenes are genuinely enjoyable because the most random of conversations will occur and the outcome is either hilarious or heartwarming. Jeff Bridges is flawless and Oscar worthy portraying a Rooster Cogburn so exceptionally well that he completely overshadows John Wayne's portrayal multiple times over. Matt Damon is unrecognizable at first as a desperate Ranger though his times on the big screen are enjoyable especially the many quarrels with Bridges such as arguments on who is the better shot. Hailee Steinfeld is completely flawless as well. Her portrayal of a headstrong 14 year old determined to track one man down is so spot on that I actually tricked myself into thinking I was watching an adult in the same role. The supporting roles of Josh Brolin and Berry Pepper were great as always, although their screen time was dwindled down to only a small percentage, but both of their roles are great. The many different camera angles the Coens use really outlay a vast and open landscape to the many different types of crimes committed there. The pacing is slick and perfect. The many action scenes are great and house outstanding shootouts and they aren't as heavy on the violence as the earlier Coen brothers films. In between the few key action scenes, there are the funny and enjoyable dialogue moments that keep the momentum in place and this style never falls flat. All in all True Grit really delivers a stellar experience that zooms through quick from beginning to end thanks in part to the great action scenes, and the truly flawless characters and dialogue. If you're in to look for a great Western film, this is the one true and great modern experience. Expand
  13. Dec 26, 2011
    10
    Overall Movie: 7 Acting: 9 Storyline: 8. Jeff Bridges brings John Wayne's great performance even greater, and fuels this great western. One of those remakes that is actually better than the original.
  14. Jan 4, 2011
    10
    I seldom give a movie "10" because it has to be wonderful in every way that cinema can be exciting and satisfying. This was it. I naively assumed that everyone would love this Coen extravaganza - how could they not? "True Grit" proves there is no accounting for taste. Perhaps it is love of the English language that holds this movie together and for people who could care less about languageI seldom give a movie "10" because it has to be wonderful in every way that cinema can be exciting and satisfying. This was it. I naively assumed that everyone would love this Coen extravaganza - how could they not? "True Grit" proves there is no accounting for taste. Perhaps it is love of the English language that holds this movie together and for people who could care less about language spoken wonderfully, it seems a pretentious Western. But if you haven't seen it, love language, like the Coens, Jeff Bridges, Matt Damon, and young fresh amazingly talented young actors (Mattie), do yourself a favor - put up your spurs, tilt back your Stetson, pour a shot of raw, eye-smarting saloon whiskey, roll up a Bull Durham cigarette, and get ready for a wonderful treat. Expand
  15. Jan 10, 2011
    8
    overall a good movie to watch if you like westerns..................................................................................................................................................
  16. Jan 13, 2011
    10
    The Coen Brothers are American and this movie speaks to the culture and value of our country. They are at the peak of their game and have been for quite a while. True Grit is about the attempt to be heroic in the face of the realities of life, that is, filled with violence, randomness, personal failings and our questionable chances to control what happens to us. There are potentialThe Coen Brothers are American and this movie speaks to the culture and value of our country. They are at the peak of their game and have been for quite a while. True Grit is about the attempt to be heroic in the face of the realities of life, that is, filled with violence, randomness, personal failings and our questionable chances to control what happens to us. There are potential traps with this story: if the girl is precious the movie can veer towards sentimentality and life is anything but sentimental. Each of the characters show the balance that exists in people. Rooster Cogburn is not heroic in most senses of the word. He admits that he was a terrible father, he kicks the Indian kids off of the porch, he sets up a plan to help the girl while he pursues his money by attempting to catch the leader villain. The Texas ranger is quite simply a doofus, and yet miraculously makes the shot with the rifle. He doesn't re-enter the story. Finally, the girl devotes her childish mind to revenge, which we should know, offers no reward but ashes. She finishes as a one armed spinster, she is not cute and she finds solace only in her grit. For me, I am old enough not to expect perfect heroic people or even a chance to act nobly in many situations, but the film shows perhaps what is the best that we can do. Finally, the cinematography, much like Fargo or No Country for Old Men, shows the open spaces in a way that immerses the audience and reminds us of the beauty, the physical beauty, of America. Most seriously considered art deals with the challenges that life presents us with, what to do with our lives, and as an American, I feel uplifted and excited each time I see the Coen Brothers attempt to illustrate the issue with a new filter, whether it be set in very un-Hollywood locations as Texas, Arkansas, Minnesota or North Dakota. My son suggested that for the United States, the art form that is ours the most (apart of course from Rock and Roll) is film and that the brothers are our true geniuses of that art form. Expand
  17. Jan 2, 2011
    10
    This is by far one of the best westerns in many years. I highly recommend this film to anyone who enjoys classic films with great dialogue. What truly makes this a special movie is the acting of Hailee Steinfeld, she interprets a character that is wise beyond her years, this is a must see.
  18. Dec 27, 2010
    7
    Underneath the drawn out tension of the Coen's Brothers remake True Grit, is a subtle and lighthearted emotion led by the break out performance of Hailee Steinfeld. If you are expecting the eccentric storytelling and essential rawness seen in Fargo or No Country For Old Men, True Grit is ultimately uninspiring. But in this effort, the Coen brothers smooth out their usual sharp edges, inUnderneath the drawn out tension of the Coen's Brothers remake True Grit, is a subtle and lighthearted emotion led by the break out performance of Hailee Steinfeld. If you are expecting the eccentric storytelling and essential rawness seen in Fargo or No Country For Old Men, True Grit is ultimately uninspiring. But in this effort, the Coen brothers smooth out their usual sharp edges, in order to make a film that is pure and an effective homage to a once prominent genre in film.

    True Grit as stated earlier, is a remake of John Hathaway's 1969 film starring John Wayne, which led to the legendary actor's only Oscar. After her father's death, we follow Mattie Ross (Hailee Steinfeld) , a precocious 14-year old who seeks retribution on the murderer John Chaney (Josh Brolin). Mattie decides to hire U.S Marshall Rooster Cogburn (Jeff Bridges) because of his merciless manner in dealing with the law. At the beginning of the hunt, Cogburn decides to team up with Texas Ranger LeBeouf (Matt Damon) in this often humorous and gritty journey.

    While Bridges and Damon both put on respectable performances-with Bridges putting on a different twist to Wayne's character- it is newcomer Hailee Steinfeld who steals the show. Steinfeld's puts intensity and zeal into her character that emphasizes her independence and her presumptuous manner. The Coen brothers put more focus into Steinfeld's character rather than Bridge's Cogburn. I find this a wise decision as the film is able to blend an affable feeling with the somewhat dark humor reminiscent in Barton Fink or Fargo. While True Grit provides great performances, it is not the action adventure that its advertisements imply that it is. Rather, the film is extremely talky, which is one of the few film techniques similar to the Coens' previous efforts. This is not necessarily a bad aspect, as most of the lines are derived from the Charles Portis novel that the film is adapting. In other words, the dialogue still remains humorous and intriguing, but it lacks the action and zest of a contemporary Western. As a result, there is a whole lot of drawn out tension that is only somewhat released by the end. Overall, True Grit is visually beautiful and packs a punch in great acting. But as I have to emphasize again, the film is essentially a disappointing Coen film, but is a solid remake to a classic film.
    Expand
  19. Dec 22, 2010
    9
    The book and the 1969 original set very high standards for this Coen Brothers' Western drama, but as high as the standards were set, the Coen Brothers managed achieve the goals or better yet exceeded them. True Grit is about a drunken US Marshal and a **** Texas Ranger helping a stubborn 14 year-old finding her father's murderer. Rooster (Jeff Bridges) was offered $50 to find the murdererThe book and the 1969 original set very high standards for this Coen Brothers' Western drama, but as high as the standards were set, the Coen Brothers managed achieve the goals or better yet exceeded them. True Grit is about a drunken US Marshal and a **** Texas Ranger helping a stubborn 14 year-old finding her father's murderer. Rooster (Jeff Bridges) was offered $50 to find the murderer for Mattie, played by newcomer Hailee Steinfeld. Meanwhile, Texas Ranger Le Boeuf (Matt Damon) was offered a reward to find the same guy who also killed a Senator. Conflicting each other on the journey and finally catching the bad guy Tom Chaney (Josh Brolin), the three each developed their character skillfully. Jeff Bridges playing last year Crazy Heart's Bad Blake only with a gun and an eyepatch. Matt Damon used his own personal style to play this **** but humorous Texas Ranger. Hailee Steinfeld played a stubborn 14 year-old who's determined to find Tom Chaney and bring him to hang. Though expected performances from both Jeff Bridges and Matt Damon, newcomer Hailee Stenfeld was as good as her castmates. The one thing I kept in mind while going in this film was that Bridges and Damon are going to give applausable performances and Hailee Steinfeld was getting nominated for some major awards. But when I was finished, I didn't see what all the buzz was about. Sure, Steinfield was good, but compared to Bridges and Damon, she sure didn't have much. I have to say though, beating thousands of other girls for this role is impressive, but I'm sure other Hollywood stars had to do that as well. Even though I find her not as great as I hoped, she still delivered well.
    The directors are the two and only Coen Brothers. With ten Oscar nominations and four wins for each Joel and Ethan Coen, they are Hollywood's most wanted in directing dark Western dramas. Well known for their lastest work "A Serious Man" and "No Country For Old Men', True Grit is another fine addition to their long and impressive resume. Directed with true grit and impressive performances, True Grit outsmarts the original and simply entertaining.
    OscarBuzz: Best Picture (good chance), Best Director (good chance), Best Actor (Jeff Bridges, better chance), Best Supporting Actor (Matt Damon, a chance at a nod), Best Supporting Actress (Hailee Steinfeld, a chance at a nod), Best Adapted Screenplay (Coen Brothers, better chance)
    Expand
  20. Jan 20, 2011
    8
    Jeff Bridges was a great actor. He really put this movie on his shoulders. Matt Damon was also a great actor in his respective part. The dialogue dragged on a bit in the end but still a good movie in all. Good action scenes (especially when taking quality over quantity). Jeff and Matt for the Oscars!
  21. Jan 3, 2011
    10
    True Grit was extremely awesome! This western film has everything that is so cool to watch and I really like the action scenes,some cool western dialogue with funny and seriously dark.
  22. Dec 24, 2010
    10
    Joel and Ethan Coen have done it again!.. This time they take a John Wayne "oater" and create a masterpiece study in human character. The entire cast give a scintillating performance. The Coen's depict life as it really was. The good guys and the bad guys were cut from the same bolt of dirty cloth. The only difference is that one got "paid" when they stole a person's possessions; theJoel and Ethan Coen have done it again!.. This time they take a John Wayne "oater" and create a masterpiece study in human character. The entire cast give a scintillating performance. The Coen's depict life as it really was. The good guys and the bad guys were cut from the same bolt of dirty cloth. The only difference is that one got "paid" when they stole a person's possessions; the other got paid when they brought them to justice. The only one who was clean was Mattie Ross, and she by the force of her righteous will made them all toe the line. Well done Joel. Well done Ethan. Expand
  23. Jan 3, 2011
    10
    One of my favorite movies of the year. It's not an action movie but rather a dark, western themed comedy-- and more than that, it's an excuse for some very good actors to chew scenery.
  24. Jan 23, 2011
    9
    Wow. I went into this movie with decent expectations, but...whoa. This movie is awesome. The Coen Brothers have delivered one awesomely solid western. The performances, especially from Jeff Bridges and Halie Steinfield, were amazing. The script was great. Even though it's a dramatic western, there's some hilarious moments. The direction was great, the cinematography was great, and theWow. I went into this movie with decent expectations, but...whoa. This movie is awesome. The Coen Brothers have delivered one awesomely solid western. The performances, especially from Jeff Bridges and Halie Steinfield, were amazing. The script was great. Even though it's a dramatic western, there's some hilarious moments. The direction was great, the cinematography was great, and the shootouts were pretty cool. The only problem is that it is a bit slow. But other than that, True Grit is an awesome Western that I'm definetly buying on blu-ray. Expand
  25. Dec 29, 2010
    10
    When you walk into "True Grit,â
  26. Dec 28, 2010
    7
    Pretty solid western flick. The most surprising thing about this movie is that it felt like it was made 20 years ago and doesn't really change up the western formula. Thought we were in for a new/modern twist on westerns, but it's a pretty cliche story. Jeff Bridges is pretty funny and the little action you actually see is entertaining. One thing that I didn't enjoy was the western slang.Pretty solid western flick. The most surprising thing about this movie is that it felt like it was made 20 years ago and doesn't really change up the western formula. Thought we were in for a new/modern twist on westerns, but it's a pretty cliche story. Jeff Bridges is pretty funny and the little action you actually see is entertaining. One thing that I didn't enjoy was the western slang. I just didn't have the patience to dissect what they were saying and at times i just zoned out to the conversation. In particular, the trial scene kind of went on and on and I didn't understand half the things they said. Maybe that's just me..

    Enjoyable and re-watchable for sure. Coming from a guy who didn't like "No Country for Old Men" I'd say that's a win.
    Expand
  27. Jan 8, 2011
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The original "True Grit", directed by Henry Hathaway, and starring, no less than "The Duke" himself, made its initial theatrical run in 1969, just two years after Arthur Penn's "Bonnie and Clyde" blew away the production code. Once Warren Beatty and Faye Dunaway went down spasmodically in a hail of gunfire, that was that, and there would be blood forevermore. No more smuggling. The days of "beating around the bush" were over. No more fade to black. You could "hump the hostess". In Elia Kazan's "Baby Doll", released in 1956, smack dab in the middle of a sexually repressed era, the handcuffed filmmaker somehow managed to adapt "27 Wagons Full of Cotton", the Tennessee Williams play that depicted a middle-aged man's eroticization of his underage wife, without getting arrested on indecency charges. While neither Archie Lee(Karl Malden) nor Silva(Eli Wallach) get anywhere near first base with the titular character(Carroll Baker) in the official narrative, the first generation Italian does have implied sex with her, twice, suggested by a phallic symbol in one instance, and the cotton baron's dry humping performance(while mounted on her hobby horse) in another. Whereas "Baby Doll" predictably focuses on the man's needs, and likewise, in the John Wayne vehicle, LaBoeuf's libido is on display when he expresses his wish to kiss Mattie Ross(Kim Darby), this seemingly square western, with the utmost subtlety, delves into the fourteen-year-old girl's growing pains, in which her crush on the Texas Ranger runs deeper than the stealing glances she aims his way at the boarding house dinner table. When LaBoeuf inquires Mattie about her name, the young girl excuses herself from his company and adjourns to bed. Away from the menfolk, the recently bereaved girl and the boarding house owner gab about the strapping young lad, both agreeing, do the smitten pair, that the federal marshal is handsome. Before the lights are turned out, the girl cries, the waterworks being attributed to her slain father, no doubt, but also, perhaps, out of guilt, for feeling the first pangs of lust. Suggested by the snake pit she later falls into, in all likelihood, Mattie touched herself. There's a sin involved, but it can't be murder, since Cheney(Jeff Corey) is still breathing after the recoil due to Mattie's firing, which only grazes his head, so the snake bite that the girl endures must correspond to some earlier transgression. (Rooster Cogburn kills Cheney. John Wayne has to be the hero, even a deeply flawed one.) In the remake, Mattie pays for the self-induced orgasm with her hand. Seen as an adult, the moviegoer can't help but perceive Mattie's missing appendage as a scarlet limb. Unlike the original, it's Cogburn(Jeff Bridges) whom Mattie(Hailee Steinfeld) admires, initially anyways, as indicated by her divulgence to LaBoeuf(Matt Damon) that she had chosen the wrong man. Bridges' rendering of the one-eyed marshal contains none of the inappropriate feelings that may have stirred in his predecessor's heart. As Mattie bandages the Texas Ranger's hand at the McAllister homestead, Cogburn appears miffed by her charity. Why? Does he have sex on his mind? Maybe. Because Darby was twenty-two at the time, to a certain extent, "True Grit" could get away with its pedophilic undertones. Conversely, Steinfeld is age-appropriate, so when Damon repeats Campbell's line about stealing kisses, he comes across more strongly as a child molester. The filmmaker leaves out Wayne's original comment about LaBoeuf "enjoying it too much"; the Texan's spanking of Mattie's behind, probably out of fear that the hunting party would resemble some sort of unseemly threesome, a malodorous "Jules & Jim" playing wet nurse to a lolita. Ultimately, the most striking feature about this otherwise well-dressed mounting of the ultimate John Wayne experience("The Searchers" was John Ford's bag) is its political incorrectness, or rather, the arch self-awareness that many westerns were shameless in their depiction of Native Americans. Right away, "True Grit" announces itself as the anti-"Dances with Wolves", in which an Indian's speech is cut-off by the executioner's hooding of the tribesman, disturbingly enough, to comic effect, just before he dangles at the public hanging. Later, at the site of an abandoned house, the liquored up law officer kicks two small "red-skinned" children off from the structure's wooden foundation without any protestation from his female companion. (Mattie names her horse Blackie in front of a "Negro" stable-boy.) In another sense, Mattie loses her fingers because she didn't lift a single finger to stop the needless cruelty of those innocents. Expand
  28. Jan 1, 2011
    10
    Though there is something timeless about the characters, they talk and act in a dated historical way that no longer exists nowadays. This film has a great story, great acting, humor, and both a sense of time and timelessness. If you expect a typical Western you won't find it, yet you won't find an atypical revisionist Western either. The focus is on the characters and how they relate,Though there is something timeless about the characters, they talk and act in a dated historical way that no longer exists nowadays. This film has a great story, great acting, humor, and both a sense of time and timelessness. If you expect a typical Western you won't find it, yet you won't find an atypical revisionist Western either. The focus is on the characters and how they relate, and the film succeeds wonderfully. Expand
  29. Dec 24, 2010
    10
    I know nothing of the remake or book regarding this movie. All I know is that I was highly entertained (something that movies haven't done for me in a while, recently). Being a western, I expected gun fights, horse-riding, booze drinking, outlaws vs. marshals, etc; and this movie delivered that, and more. Hailee Steinfeld plays a very smart and determined young girl that will not stopI know nothing of the remake or book regarding this movie. All I know is that I was highly entertained (something that movies haven't done for me in a while, recently). Being a western, I expected gun fights, horse-riding, booze drinking, outlaws vs. marshals, etc; and this movie delivered that, and more. Hailee Steinfeld plays a very smart and determined young girl that will not stop until her father's murder is brought to justice. She hires an old, beat-up, drunkard of a marshal that manages to find ways to bring men to justice, that few can do (though his methods are questionable, often unorthodox, impromptu, and frequently lead to someone getting hurt or injured.) Matt Damon's character is a Texas Ranger that's come to Arkansas (the setting of the movie) to hunt down the same criminal that killed ms. Steinfeld's father for a different crime that occurred in Texas. These actions bring the three together in a terrific story that manages to be traditional, yet hold a lot of its own originality at the same time.
    In true coen-brother-fashion, the comedy was engaging and hilarious. Matt Damon stays true to his lack of speaking roles (which is a plus). But the one who steals the show, is Jeff Bridges. His role is played exceptionally well, and he manages to find a way to bring laughter to the audience, even in the most tense and action-packed scenes. His banter between the young girl, as well as Matt Damon's character makes for very classic scenes that will resonate with me for a long while. I found this movie thoroughly entertaining, hilarious, dramatic, meaningful, and action-packed all at once. Very few movies (especially those that have come out recently) can pull that off. If you enjoy being entertained (and who doesn't?) then I highly recommend this movie. True Grit will be a must-have purchase by me upon it's release to blu-ray.
    Expand
  30. Jan 6, 2011
    9
    Jeff Bridges is no John Wayne......Thank god. Wayne was such an over the top character that he kind of overshadowed the role. Bridges, Damon and Steinfeld immerse themselves in the roles drawing the viewers into the story. I can truly say that I never saw this movie until now. Kudos to those Coen boys.
  31. Jan 11, 2011
    10
    The Coen Brothers have really done their best film since No Country For Old Men, and Jeff Bridges has done yet another fantastic performance as Marshall Cogburn. Not only that, Matt Damon also performed very well and Hailee Steinfeld has done a fabulous acting for a 14 year old! I was quite surpriesed by all of this! Not only that the Coens have directed this beautifully, but have broughtThe Coen Brothers have really done their best film since No Country For Old Men, and Jeff Bridges has done yet another fantastic performance as Marshall Cogburn. Not only that, Matt Damon also performed very well and Hailee Steinfeld has done a fabulous acting for a 14 year old! I was quite surpriesed by all of this! Not only that the Coens have directed this beautifully, but have brought the Western genre back into cinema since Unforgiven. Expand
  32. Jan 27, 2011
    9
    I see this western partially as a play-fight on time and continuity of Film;True Grit is well-crafted and rather pointed by metaphors and a narrator that only speaks at the end,and at the beginning.
  33. Lyn
    Jan 28, 2011
    8
    Very enjoyable Western: I admired John Wayne in the earlier film but have absolutely no complaints about Jeff Bridges or anyone else in this cast of characters -- except for a rather ho-hum Matt Damon. Best change for me was the use of the haunting gospel song "Leaning on the Everlasting Arms" rather than the Rhinestone Cowboy-ish song by Glenn Campbell. Some inconsistencies wereVery enjoyable Western: I admired John Wayne in the earlier film but have absolutely no complaints about Jeff Bridges or anyone else in this cast of characters -- except for a rather ho-hum Matt Damon. Best change for me was the use of the haunting gospel song "Leaning on the Everlasting Arms" rather than the Rhinestone Cowboy-ish song by Glenn Campbell. Some inconsistencies were disappointing, the worst being a character who's almost totally submerged while crossing a river on horseback, yet emerges totally dry! Expand
  34. Jan 1, 2011
    10
    It could be my favorite film of the year. I usually love the Coen Brothers work. I'm not really a Western fan, and don't care if it's a sort of remake. But I was enthralled from beginning to end. Finally we get to see a great film. As to why it was snubbed by the Golden Globes, unbelievable - but then they nominated The Tourist, which was mildly entertaining. And what's up with Black Swan?It could be my favorite film of the year. I usually love the Coen Brothers work. I'm not really a Western fan, and don't care if it's a sort of remake. But I was enthralled from beginning to end. Finally we get to see a great film. As to why it was snubbed by the Golden Globes, unbelievable - but then they nominated The Tourist, which was mildly entertaining. And what's up with Black Swan? So over the top. Anyways the Coens have done it again. Fantastic performance by Hailee Steinfeld, who commands the screen. Wonderful to see "The Dude" back. Superior film making in every way, from script to cinematography and soundtrack. Expand
  35. Jan 4, 2011
    7
    This retelling is darker and deeper than the 1969 John Wayne version. Both films are adapted from the same novel, and have basically the same general plot. But the new Cohen brothers film is, for me, a far more interesting film. The three main actors (Bridges, Damon and Steinfeld) are well cast and do a great job. The cinematography is wonderful, as are all the technical elements.This retelling is darker and deeper than the 1969 John Wayne version. Both films are adapted from the same novel, and have basically the same general plot. But the new Cohen brothers film is, for me, a far more interesting film. The three main actors (Bridges, Damon and Steinfeld) are well cast and do a great job. The cinematography is wonderful, as are all the technical elements. The limitations of this film are the limitations of the source material - the story is what it is. This is a "hunt down the bad guy western," a genre which has great potential for excitement and character development (this film has both), but also usually great potential for an ending that is unfullfilling (which this film also has). This is a good movie, but not in the category of "Unforgiven," for example. Expand
  36. Jan 7, 2011
    10
    I rented the original so it would be fresh in my mind. I had the luddite view that you can't remake a masterpiece. I am not a Co-Bro fan so my expectations were not high to say the least. I haven't been so glad to be wrong in a long time. Old or first doesn't always mean best. I loved it!!!
  37. mpg
    Jan 27, 2011
    10
    this one ranks with the best westerns ever made and Ive seen most of them since 1935. great script, great acting and the young girl was outstanding. don't miss it
  38. Jan 5, 2011
    8
    A serious western with some serious laughs. That's a great combination. My favourite parts were when they cut to that Dude-like stupor (eyes half closed, mouth agape) that only Bridges can summon. He's like a drunken, one-eyed Gandalf with a gun. A Stoner, thrown into a genre film. Very funny. This film will stand beside the best of the Coens.
  39. Dec 29, 2010
    9
    "The Coen Brothers True Grit is a brilliant remake of a classic story led with outstanding performances from Bridges & Damon and is captivating and more risqué then the original but the real stealer is newcomer Hailee Steinfield who deserves an Oscar nomination" .. A-
  40. Jan 8, 2011
    8
    The Coen Brothers have put their unmistakable spin on this Charles Portis novel (a better reference than the John Wayne movie). A plucky young woman (Hailee Steinfeld) hires a crusty, drunken Marshall (Jeff Bridges) to bring her father's murderer to justice. This film spends more time on character (always humorous & interesting) and dialogue (entertainingly stilted) than on action. It setsThe Coen Brothers have put their unmistakable spin on this Charles Portis novel (a better reference than the John Wayne movie). A plucky young woman (Hailee Steinfeld) hires a crusty, drunken Marshall (Jeff Bridges) to bring her father's murderer to justice. This film spends more time on character (always humorous & interesting) and dialogue (entertainingly stilted) than on action. It sets up the period and plot nicely, drags a bit in the middle, but ends with a hit of action. It's not their best film, but still enjoyable to watch these two masters work their cinematic skills. Expand
  41. Dec 23, 2010
    10
    Lead by absolutely fantastic performances "True Grit" could be considered the best Western since "Unforgiven". The Coen Brothers have made this dark, gritty, and at times comedic drama into a memorable film that can stand up for itself and take straight aim.
  42. Jan 2, 2011
    10
    Marvelously shot by Deakins (who's likely to finally win his well-overdue Oscar) and with exceptional performances by Steinfeld, Bridges, and Damon, the Coen Brothers have created another masterpiece. On the surface this might seem like the least Coen Brothers-y movie of their oeuvre, bur the tone and themes of their previous films are still present and should please any sort of audience.
  43. Jan 18, 2011
    10
    I have to start by stating that I love most of the Coen brothers films, their style just appeals to me. They have a knack for getting great performances from actors and this film is certainly no exception. Jeff Bridges, Matt Damon, and especially Hailee Steinfeld are great and have great chemistry together. I like that they chose to use the dialect of the time. Sometimes I didn't quiteI have to start by stating that I love most of the Coen brothers films, their style just appeals to me. They have a knack for getting great performances from actors and this film is certainly no exception. Jeff Bridges, Matt Damon, and especially Hailee Steinfeld are great and have great chemistry together. I like that they chose to use the dialect of the time. Sometimes I didn't quite understand all the words, especially from Jeff Bridges who is drunk and mumbles, but the story was easy to follow anyway. There is always some humor in a Coen Brothers film, but this one is the funniest one they have made in awhile. As usual the cinematography is excellent as well. I saw this the day after seeing the overrated "The Black Swan" - what a breath of fresh air after that movie. Expand
  44. Jan 12, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. one of the must sees in 2010 or now 2011 haha, great acting and scirpt as it was filled with great humor. there are shootouts but not as much as i thought going to see it . They also really dont fight with bad guys till about the last 25 minutes or so. but the sharp and funny diologe keeps you interested and makes the pace of the movie go by fast. so go out and see the one of the best movies of 2010 Expand
  45. Jan 16, 2011
    9
    True Grit does not tell a traditional archetype-based story. We don't see Mattie Ross start out naive and powerless and grow stronger on her journey. She's intelligent, driven, and capable from the beginning. Rooster Cogburn never really loses his wild, do-as-I-please attitude, nor does LaBoeuf really lose his arrogant superiority. instead the movie shows what I think is a more realisticTrue Grit does not tell a traditional archetype-based story. We don't see Mattie Ross start out naive and powerless and grow stronger on her journey. She's intelligent, driven, and capable from the beginning. Rooster Cogburn never really loses his wild, do-as-I-please attitude, nor does LaBoeuf really lose his arrogant superiority. instead the movie shows what I think is a more realistic depiction of a cowboy/western adventure. Yes, it was paced slow. Yes, there were scenes where they are just babbling or doing nothing. Yes, it lacks the theatrics and (overdone) aesthetics of recent movies. But I don't imagine a western journey being fast - paced, easy or pleasurable, or very exciting. Why were there boring and slow scenes? That's all they could do while they traveled. In terms of the acting, I think Matt Damon was miscast - not a terrible job on his part, but it was lacking in believability. He does the accent pretty well, but he's just not a cowboy. Hallie Steinfeld was great - the maturity and stubbornness was spot on. But Jeff Bridges was my favorite portrayal. I thought he was perfect for the role. He pulled off a messy, throaty, alcoholic marshall with a bit of a spark, and had some of my favorite one-liners. Overall I enjoyed the movie and it had a decent message and a dramatic finish. Definitely a gem shining in a load of Hollywood's fresh manure. Expand
  46. Jan 7, 2011
    8
    The acting is great here, as is the tone and setting of this film. While it doesn't have the same feel as the original, and can stand on its own and it is very hard to compare the two because they are so different in characterizaton. My only qualm is with Josh Brolin as Tom Chaney. He seems so dazed the entire time, and I am not sure if it is on purpose or not... Tip of the hat to BarryThe acting is great here, as is the tone and setting of this film. While it doesn't have the same feel as the original, and can stand on its own and it is very hard to compare the two because they are so different in characterizaton. My only qualm is with Josh Brolin as Tom Chaney. He seems so dazed the entire time, and I am not sure if it is on purpose or not... Tip of the hat to Barry Pepper as Lucky Ned, who is a great character and I wished we could have had a bit longer with this gentlemanly bad man. Expand
  47. Dec 26, 2010
    9
    On the surface, the story is very simple, but underneath there is a lot going on (aside from the black comedy of the book). The skill with which the Coen bros orchestrate this film is really awesome. From casting, acting, plot, theme, allegory, cinematography and the best of all--dialogue---they really should be proud of True Grit as I'm sure the original author would be given how closelyOn the surface, the story is very simple, but underneath there is a lot going on (aside from the black comedy of the book). The skill with which the Coen bros orchestrate this film is really awesome. From casting, acting, plot, theme, allegory, cinematography and the best of all--dialogue---they really should be proud of True Grit as I'm sure the original author would be given how closely they followed his book (as opposed to the John Wayne version). I loved every minute of this film and am pretty excited to see it again actually. Expand
  48. Dec 25, 2010
    9
    If you like Arnold one liners, good plot, and something different, this is the movie to watch. I love Mr La Beef, he was super funny and so was Bridges.
  49. Jan 5, 2011
    7
    This movie was a good take on a "new age" western. Some of the terms were not of that of the time but I think the story kept moving. The humor was good in parts and others weren't so hot but over time it stuck onto you. The scenery was great and well used in each of the scenes. Overall I thought this movie was entertaining and a good movie for people to enjoy.
  50. Jan 30, 2011
    9
    I ask you to please address me as Mattie Ross. This film is Coen Bros at their best. Damon is truly surprising as a fat, never shutting up-antihero. Bridges is as good with one eye as most of us with both. And, obviously Hailee a refreshing role, so interesting and rich. Cinematography and story owe much to Cormac McCarthey, thank you dear Coens. Must, must see. Dont have to be a guy toI ask you to please address me as Mattie Ross. This film is Coen Bros at their best. Damon is truly surprising as a fat, never shutting up-antihero. Bridges is as good with one eye as most of us with both. And, obviously Hailee a refreshing role, so interesting and rich. Cinematography and story owe much to Cormac McCarthey, thank you dear Coens. Must, must see. Dont have to be a guy to love it. @cinemaquote Expand
  51. Jan 22, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Extremely bad movie to watch in recent history. How can this be a oscar nominee. It is difficult to understand what the story is all about and what characters say and talk has nothing to do with movie. Expand
  52. Dec 30, 2010
    10
    I loved True Grit. The dialogue was snappy and well delivered. The action was well spaced and didn't clog the movie up. The characters felt like real people and I was wondering the entire time what would happen next. The only complaint I have, is that it couldn't go on forever. =]
  53. Dec 26, 2010
    8
    A slow first 20 minutes pays off as the film develops into a rather hysterical adventure. A great child performance along with expectantly impressive turns by Bridges and Damon make for an entertaining way to spend 2 hours.
  54. Dec 25, 2010
    8
    I think the best word to describe "True Grit" is entertaining. The dialogue throughout is clever and I was surprised by how many times I laughed throughout. At the same time, the main plot (a fourteen-year-old girl tries to catch the man who killed her father by enlisting an aging lawman with little regard for rules or niceties) is serious, exciting, and suspenseful. I enjoyed the westernI think the best word to describe "True Grit" is entertaining. The dialogue throughout is clever and I was surprised by how many times I laughed throughout. At the same time, the main plot (a fourteen-year-old girl tries to catch the man who killed her father by enlisting an aging lawman with little regard for rules or niceties) is serious, exciting, and suspenseful. I enjoyed the western feel, with impressive landscapes matched by its musical score, and I thought the acting was great all around. Expand
  55. Dec 31, 2010
    10
    True Grit was a great movie with some very, very strong actors, characters, and a wonderful story. So why am I giving it a 7/10? Because of the ending. For such an uplifting middle portion, it seems wrong to end the film with tragedy like in the beginning. The ending was really the part that ruined it for me. And the god-awful song at the end did not help either.
  56. Jan 8, 2011
    7
    I took my friend on a date to see this movie, she and I both had very high expectations, given the amazing cast and the reviews I had already read about it. We enjoyed it, and when I say enjoy it I don't mean we thought it was extremely good, we just enjoyed it. The acting was the biggest highlight of this movie by far. With absolutely exceptional performances by Jeff Bridges, Josh Brolin,I took my friend on a date to see this movie, she and I both had very high expectations, given the amazing cast and the reviews I had already read about it. We enjoyed it, and when I say enjoy it I don't mean we thought it was extremely good, we just enjoyed it. The acting was the biggest highlight of this movie by far. With absolutely exceptional performances by Jeff Bridges, Josh Brolin, Matt Damon and Hailee Steinfeld. The group of these four amazing actors in my opinion is what made the film.
    However a good film does not come without its flaws, and in this case, this movies biggest major flaw was the slow progression of the storyline, the dull setting (It felt like it was just a dusty desert town, nothing really that drew me into the scenery. Hailee did an amazing job in her breakout role, that's the main thing I noticed, she seemed like she was an absolute natural. Continuing, as the story continued onward, I was noticing that the film was trying to draw us to the characters, make us relate to them, however it was not the cinematography that brought me closer to the characters, it was the acting of the characters themselves. However I felt at the same time that the characters themselves were undeveloped.
    As for action... Well It seems as if the Coen Brothers tried a little too hard on story rather than actually having qualities that would keep people interested, because the story seemed to be strained in all cases, making it hard to watch this in the way that I personally thought the Coen Brothers wanted us to watch the film like.

    All in all it was a pretty good movie, I congratulate the Coen Brothers on making a movie with this much promise and nearly living up to the expectations (acting was amazing, story.... not so much).

    Final Rating: 7.2/10
    Closing Words:
    If you want to see amazing acting and follow the characters of this movie, go see it, if your looking for an action packed wild west gunfight cowboy brawl, this isn't for you.

    If you would like more reviews like this, please sign up at http://gamerspurgatory.darkbb.com, contact me (my username is DarkZX on there as well) and say which movie/video game/music album you would like me to review.
    Expand
  57. Dec 22, 2010
    8
    The best way I can describe this movie is that it's like one of your favorite songs covered by one of your favorite bands. And it's a helluva cover.
  58. Dec 22, 2010
    7
    Excellent characters brought to life by skilled actors. They have fun, we have fun. The parts are greater than the whole. With such a simple story, it would be hard for the plot to live up to the likes of Cogburn, LaBoeuf and fourteen-going-on-you're-no-matched-for-me Mattie Ross. Sadly, by the end I was left wanting more.
  59. Dec 23, 2010
    10
    The Coens' adaptation of True Grit left me well satisfied, but critically I was puzzled.
    The film script remains nearly exactly true to the book, but the minor deviations made me wonder why those if those choices were necessary. The book was written almost as a screenplay, with plenty of quirky dialogue and humorous characters, so the Coens' slight additions and changes, although cleverly
    The Coens' adaptation of True Grit left me well satisfied, but critically I was puzzled.
    The film script remains nearly exactly true to the book, but the minor deviations made me wonder why those if those choices were necessary. The book was written almost as a screenplay, with plenty of quirky dialogue and humorous characters, so the Coens' slight additions and changes, although cleverly done, seemed irrelevant, and detracted from the overall effect. Nevertheless, the actors', filmmaker's, and make-up artists' excesses will be forgiven or simply overlooked.
    As a whole, I feel that this film will be one of the Coens' most powerful mainstream success stories.
    Expand
  60. Dec 30, 2010
    10
    One of my favorite Cohen Bros. efforts, and I've seen them all. This is my favorite film of the year, other than perhaps "Toy Story 3". Everyone involved here has risen to the challenge. Having just viewed the original John Wayne version, this one is far superior in almost every way, starting with the sharp, witty script, which often prompts the viewer to ponder over the sometimesOne of my favorite Cohen Bros. efforts, and I've seen them all. This is my favorite film of the year, other than perhaps "Toy Story 3". Everyone involved here has risen to the challenge. Having just viewed the original John Wayne version, this one is far superior in almost every way, starting with the sharp, witty script, which often prompts the viewer to ponder over the sometimes antiquated, but always revealing turns-of-phrases. Perhaps this is why some viewers have suggested the film is too talky and slow. In fact, much of the film's action takes place in the dialogue between the characters, rather than merely in the form of physical action. The performances, as noted by all the reviews, are uniformly memorable, but Jeff Bridges is truly great here. The cinematography is beautiful in a stark and haunting way, and the score, by the Cohen Bros. consistent collaborator Carter Burwell, is stirring. The characters here, unlike most westerns, have shades of gray, and all but the most vile of them retain a sense of humanity. This is probably the most emotionally effecting, and also one of the wittiest westerns I've ever seen. Expand
  61. Dec 31, 2010
    7
    Solid entertainment. Matt Damon seemed miscast. He couldn't deliver the subtle comedy the situations were presenting. But Steinfeld and Bridges were strong and the story moved along well. kept me engaged.
  62. Jan 1, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This funny, entertaining remake is among the Coen brothers' best work. Jeff Bridges' acting is worthy of the classic John Wayne movie. The new, young actress Hailee Stienfeld debuts with a acting performance that will likely give her several upcoming jobs. Expand
  63. Jan 4, 2011
    8
    A very good movie. Typical Coen brothers film, great acting, great script and dialogue, laugh out loud moments followed by some dark and edgy monents. A great Western as well, as it shows the "Old West" for what it really was, harsh and unforgiving. Bridges, Damon and a brilliant Hailee Steinfeld all work well together and you feel like being on the trail with them. A must see if you likeA very good movie. Typical Coen brothers film, great acting, great script and dialogue, laugh out loud moments followed by some dark and edgy monents. A great Western as well, as it shows the "Old West" for what it really was, harsh and unforgiving. Bridges, Damon and a brilliant Hailee Steinfeld all work well together and you feel like being on the trail with them. A must see if you like the Coen brothers, westerns or just great acting. However my only negitive point is just don't expect it to live up No Country For Old Men. Expand
  64. Jan 2, 2011
    7
    With its amusing dialogue, engaging characters, and visually striking vistas, True Grit was not a disappointing movie, but it was a disappointing Coen brothers movie. Regression to the mean? I hope not.
  65. Jan 3, 2011
    9
    Although one will never truly know what the West was really like, I get the feeling this movie got pretty damn close, even right down to the proper language. With haunting imagery that stays with you, the Coens have made an instant classic in what could be its very own sub-genre.
  66. Jan 5, 2011
    10
    It seems axiomatic by now that remakes of good films usually fall well short of the mark. With the often brilliant Coen brothers at the helm, Steven Spielberg producing and Jeff Bridges and Matt Damon starring, this film promised to be the exception---especially if you read the critics. I don't know what film they thought they saw, but the one I saw was decidedly not the exception thatIt seems axiomatic by now that remakes of good films usually fall well short of the mark. With the often brilliant Coen brothers at the helm, Steven Spielberg producing and Jeff Bridges and Matt Damon starring, this film promised to be the exception---especially if you read the critics. I don't know what film they thought they saw, but the one I saw was decidedly not the exception that proves the rule. Gritty it was, but truly entertaining, engrossing and exciting it decidedly was not. Jeff Bridges was a cross between Wallace Beery and Lee Marvin's "Kid Sheleen"---in either case his unintelligible dialogue needed subtitles. Matt Damon's bland performance almost had one longing for the original's Glen Campbell. A disappointing dud. Expand
  67. Jan 6, 2011
    7
    Coen brothers following generics of the Old-American Western brings out a much different True Grit , than the 1969 classic. It is not experimental , it doesnâ
  68. Jan 12, 2011
    9
    A fantastic remake of an already great western. 'True Grit' is a must see for any fan of the genre. Jeff Bridges manages to outperform even John Wayne's Oscar winning performance. With many truly surprising and hilarious moments. One of the overall best films of 2010. My only complaint would be the slightly out of place ending.
  69. Jan 14, 2011
    10
    This movie is purely amazing. At first thoughts I thought it would be a completely serious movie with absolutely no sense of humor. I was proven wrong as this movie has a good plot, perfect amount of humor, and great acting by Jeff Bridges and Matt Damon. A very good way to end 2010 movies.
  70. Jan 17, 2011
    9
    I personally watch it at the movies and was not expecting much out of a western...even though directed by the Coens. Greeeaaat direction. The story line was a little cliched. Outstanding performance by the cast especially Hailee Steinfeld. Some dark comedy and cruelty. personally I thought it was a outstanding film.
  71. Jan 20, 2011
    9
    I enjoyed all the actors in this movie. From Barry Pepper's short cameo and Josh Brolin, to Matt Damon and Jeff Bridges, to the newcomer Hailee Steinfeld, they all took to their roles with talent and dedication. The Coen Brothers made a great looking movie. The only complaint I had was the ending, but otherwise, a spectacular movie.
  72. Feb 12, 2011
    7
    This movie is as standard as westerns get: from grumpy cowboys to beautiful scenery to countless gun battles and to the tales of a time long forgotten!! What sets it apart however is the quest for vengeance by a young tough as nails heroine who just happens to be 12!!!She holds the movie togethor and although she doesnt let us into her cold as stone interior, we understand her and feel ferThis movie is as standard as westerns get: from grumpy cowboys to beautiful scenery to countless gun battles and to the tales of a time long forgotten!! What sets it apart however is the quest for vengeance by a young tough as nails heroine who just happens to be 12!!!She holds the movie togethor and although she doesnt let us into her cold as stone interior, we understand her and feel fer her. Jeff Bridges and Matt Damon are equals unto each other and the banter between all is masterfully handeled by the Coen Brothers. The movie is dark, gritty and moves along at a steady gallop and builds to a satisfying finale. The master stroke for me however was how the ending reminded me that as with all of our lives...our biggest adventures are simply a page or a chapter and nothing more!!! Expand
  73. Feb 14, 2011
    8
    Excellent movie! Jeff Bridges and Matt Damon were great, and whoever played the girl was Oscar worthy. The film drew me in right away from the narrative intro to the hangings, and then to the court room where she met the marshall (Bridges). The cinematography makes you feel like you are in it and the characters are so believable. Awesome shots and music. This movie will be in my mind for a while.
  74. Aug 5, 2011
    9
    I don't usually watch western films. Wait I don't think I do at all (maybe except Rango and Back to the Future Part III if they are western films). True Grit started pretty interesting and got a little boring but got back my interest once more. I do agree with some people that say it is overrated because it is a great film but not as awesome as critics say it is (or maybe I feel that wayI don't usually watch western films. Wait I don't think I do at all (maybe except Rango and Back to the Future Part III if they are western films). True Grit started pretty interesting and got a little boring but got back my interest once more. I do agree with some people that say it is overrated because it is a great film but not as awesome as critics say it is (or maybe I feel that way just because I don't watch westerns). But it is still great: great acting, and interesting story. Expand
  75. Feb 12, 2011
    8
    Well... here is talking someone that actually hated western movies her own life... but...something is changing nowadays. By first... I'm talking after watching ''No Country for Old Men'' from Coen brothers too. What a surprise back then! Of course I started to love Josh Brolin there too, Javier Barden a genius!! But.. going straight to the point... thanks Coen guys I'm starting to giveWell... here is talking someone that actually hated western movies her own life... but...something is changing nowadays. By first... I'm talking after watching ''No Country for Old Men'' from Coen brothers too. What a surprise back then! Of course I started to love Josh Brolin there too, Javier Barden a genius!! But.. going straight to the point... thanks Coen guys I'm starting to give Westerns a chance. I knew about this movie and couldn't wait to watch it! Of course it has nothing to do the fact that is starring Jeff Bridges, Matt Damon and Josh Brolin... I'm kidding, they're gorgeous! Jeff Bridges has beaten then all... if there is a Leading actor award, you've got it right here! What a acting, mixing that comedy-drama role, who in the Holy Mother of God can do that as good as him... or at least who can do it? Thanks Jeff for a great movie... then you have Matt Damon, in the 2nd line, you know, hard to say what I'm really thinking... but, well.. after all is Matt D. (what would u expect?)... he was too funny really really funny too, great job there. I was really expecting to see more about Josh Brolin, but, well, he had not such a big part in the movie I guess, but he was perfect too. The girl, a really tough one, you don't wanna mess with her... that's all I'm allowed to say if I don't want to give u a spoiler... my last will... WATCH IT and GET IMPRESSED! Expand
  76. Jan 16, 2011
    10
    Loved this movie. I thought the acting was superb and I was thrilled that it was free of the usual filthy language so common in most films today. I think Bridges deserves an oscar. Highly recommend this to anyone and everyone.
  77. Jan 24, 2011
    9
    Gr8t Western with some surprises. The acting was superb even if the "good guys" were good and the "bad guys" were worse. Met my expectations although I cannot compare to the original -- may be a good things in this case.
  78. Jan 23, 2011
    10
    Always love western movies. I had no idea this was actually going to be comedy. The storyline remained interesting throughout the movie. Great acting by Jeff Bridges and Halie Steinfield. This is a great remake of the original and a must see.
  79. Jan 29, 2011
    8
    This movie is classic Coen Brothers story telling. If you go into this film thinking it will be all action, similar to the trailer for the film, you might be slightly disappointed. Action is not the primary genre, though it appears; it is still a western, as is evidenced by its slower pace. However, the dialogue was incredible and incredibly well-represented, especially by the youngThis movie is classic Coen Brothers story telling. If you go into this film thinking it will be all action, similar to the trailer for the film, you might be slightly disappointed. Action is not the primary genre, though it appears; it is still a western, as is evidenced by its slower pace. However, the dialogue was incredible and incredibly well-represented, especially by the young starlet. The characters meshed extremely well and managed to pull you into their situation. Bridges plays his classic position as the no-care humorous straggler. Damon was acceptable in his position, though I'm not sure I want to keep the image of him violently spanking a 14 year old in my head for the rest of my life. Overall, bravo Joel and Ethan. Expand
  80. Jul 10, 2011
    9
    I loved the original True Grit with John Wayne, but I find this remake better. The story is one of a generic Western, but this IS a remake so it's nothing new. The performances are amazing, especially Hailee Steinfeld as Mattie Ross and everyone else did great too. The direction this film went was really cool and the action was really upbeat and tense. Check this one out after seeing theI loved the original True Grit with John Wayne, but I find this remake better. The story is one of a generic Western, but this IS a remake so it's nothing new. The performances are amazing, especially Hailee Steinfeld as Mattie Ross and everyone else did great too. The direction this film went was really cool and the action was really upbeat and tense. Check this one out after seeing the original and it's available now on DVD and Blu-Ray! Expand
  81. Jan 29, 2011
    10
    I absolutely amazed at how much I enjoyed this movie. Coming from a girl who usually is into comedies, the close adaptation and historical value really entertained me. This movie is a great break from the crap that has been in the theaters lately.
  82. Mar 20, 2011
    10
    This movie was amazing. I know im writing a reveiw for it late but i enjoyed this movie and saw it the day it opened. Jeff Bridges was amazing and held his role through out the movie. Of course it it hard to be as amazing as John Wayne in the original movie. But after all everyone held their role through out the movie and i recomend this movie to all Jeff Bridges and John Wayne's fans.
  83. Feb 6, 2011
    7
    Hailee Steinfeld is the outstanding performance in this movie, which has a decent plot line if you're into westerns, Bridges' interpretation of the character isn't bad and the pace of the film is fast enough to keep you entertained but not enthralled. Cinema: If you're into westerns, or fancy a change, DVD Rental: Yeah why not, but rent 3:10 to Yuma first
  84. Feb 13, 2011
    9
    Remaking a classic film is a very daunting task but The Coen Brothers and company pull it off with undeniable finesse and even manages to improve on the original.One area of improvement is the actress who played Mattie Ross.In the original Kim Darby came across as just a naive and annoying young girl.However,newcomer Hailee Steinfeld is very believable as an emotionallyRemaking a classic film is a very daunting task but The Coen Brothers and company pull it off with undeniable finesse and even manages to improve on the original.One area of improvement is the actress who played Mattie Ross.In the original Kim Darby came across as just a naive and annoying young girl.However,newcomer Hailee Steinfeld is very believable as an emotionally hardened,intelligent,and articulate young women.She can hold her own with Jeff Bridges and Matt Damon and make it seem easy.Jeff Bridges(as always)gives an outstanding performance and puts his own spin on this character and makes it his own.Matt Damon is also great and has beautiful and natural chemistry with both Bridges and Steinfeld.True Grit is also filled to brim with snappy one-liners delivered mostly by Bridges.One I thing I was gawking at more than anything was the simple beauty of the scenery.The entire area truly creates a feeling of "your on your own out here".The film has a completely even mix of dry humor,action,emotional impact,and just sheer badassnes.For fans of the original don't worry,The "fill your hands you son of a **** is still intact.Some aspects of the film feel kind of off for me,such as how Mattie comes in contact with Ned.The ending also left me wanting more.These are just small gripes of an otherwise amazing movie."True Grit" is an energetic,humorous,entertaining,and subtlety brilliant movie.It easily exceeds all expectations of a John Wayne movie remake. Expand
  85. Feb 16, 2011
    8
    It's a gorgeous Western, simple and traditionally authentic. The cinematography delivers, as it rightly should. The performances are first rate (though Bridges mumbles too much) - all in all, it deserves all the BAFTAS, while the King's Speech doesn't.
  86. Feb 17, 2011
    9
    The Coen Brothers have had a rough ride in the movie bussiness, but this one is really brings some remarkable work. The acting was great, the story was execllent, the gunfights were intense and the actors were perfect. Only little faults such as not explaining everything. I rate this one: 9.3 out of 10.
  87. Feb 16, 2011
    10
    The coen brothers yet again do not disappoint. The characters and acting is excellent. If it were up to me Jeff Bridges would win an oscar for his role. The movie is so griping 2 hours went by and i found myself wanting more.
  88. Feb 19, 2011
    9
    I think we're in the presence of a quite interesting Western. And altough it's a sort of remake I do feel it brings a new picture of the story itself.
    Loved the witty remarks troughout the movie and the actors perfomances.
  89. Feb 20, 2011
    8
    Without any doubts this is one of the best film currently on the cinema. The twist and the suspense at the end of the cinema was fabulous! Must watch!
  90. Feb 22, 2011
    8
    Right after seeing this movie I'd tweeted that Hailee Steinfeld should be nominated for a Best Supporting Actress Oscar. I guess whoever does the nominations read my tweet. This is a must see movie.
  91. Feb 25, 2011
    8
    Glad to see the Coen Brothers return to form after last year's rather silly and aimless "A Serious Man". "True Grit" was not quite what I expected, much less an action western or a machismo canon as a film about character development and writing. As with any Coen Brothers we get several scenes of hilarious and quirky dialogue, which I highly enjoy from them. Bridges was good but not hisGlad to see the Coen Brothers return to form after last year's rather silly and aimless "A Serious Man". "True Grit" was not quite what I expected, much less an action western or a machismo canon as a film about character development and writing. As with any Coen Brothers we get several scenes of hilarious and quirky dialogue, which I highly enjoy from them. Bridges was good but not his best (I thought his voice was a bit much), and Damon continues to impress in his varied roles. I came into the movie thinking Hailee Steinfeld would be cheesy and over-the-top, but I think she really held her own and gave strong believability to the feisty young main character. A well deserved Oscar nod in her case, much like Jennifer Lawrence in "Winter's Bone". The soundtrack was FANTASTIC, as was some of the subtle ironic cinematography. My main complaints are in the the ending, Bridge's voice, and the seemingly pointless behavior of some of the characters (often a complaint I have with some Coen Brothers characters). Nevertheless, a good addition to their filmography, and a welcoming addition to Western Cinema. Expand
  92. POV
    Apr 3, 2011
    7
    Good Jeff Bridges, good Matt Damon, good Hailee Steinfield. Good cinematography, great plot. Not great linear flow-I thought it was too slow, and I wish the Coen Bros weren't so anachronistic in preserving the time period of the Western genre-maybe they should've modernized the length so that it would more curb out instant gratification generation?
    Alas, an almost perfect film. Atta boys!
  93. Aug 26, 2012
    9
    I don't like western movies, and I don't know why. This movie however not only was enjoyable, but was brilliant and excellent in almost anything in my opinion. The story is really linear and very predictable, but what actually makes the story good is "how" it's told, because the girl protagonist is very disturbing and I can't hide a small chill whenever I saw her determination and herI don't like western movies, and I don't know why. This movie however not only was enjoyable, but was brilliant and excellent in almost anything in my opinion. The story is really linear and very predictable, but what actually makes the story good is "how" it's told, because the girl protagonist is very disturbing and I can't hide a small chill whenever I saw her determination and her intelligence: she looked more like an anti-heroine other than anything else, so much that not even Cogburn (the old gunman and second protagonist) couldn't stop her in any way: this was very interesting to watch and this proves how old stories can still be good with just few changes in story telling and character development, without mentioning that the movie is a story of morality and behaviour and it's both touching and disturbing. The action is good too though and the shooting scenes were actually very well done, and aside of the main characters even the secondary ones were not only good, but actually remarkable (even the three men, near the start, who said ONE line, gave me a brief moment of sadness). Maybe I'm skipping something, but I highly recommend to watch this movie, however don't expect mindless shooting or senseless action: it's a story to watch, enjoy, and learn. Expand
  94. Apr 20, 2011
    9
    The movie is supremely entertaining, the cinematography is a work of art, and Jeff Bridges' relationship with Matt Damon on-screen is perfectly funny. Hailee Steinfeld stands out as the audacious and sassy Mattie Ross. The Coen Brothers, as expected, have done it again. Not necessarily their best; but you can't miss this one.
  95. Jun 7, 2013
    7
    I have not seen the John 60’s original so am unable to make any comparisons but judged purely on its own merits the Cohen brothers have certainly created a competent modern western. The simple story involves 14-year old girl Mattie Ross enlisting the aid of an experienced bounty hunter in order to track down the man who murdered her father.

    The movie moves along at a good pace and
    I have not seen the John 60’s original so am unable to make any comparisons but judged purely on its own merits the Cohen brothers have certainly created a competent modern western. The simple story involves 14-year old girl Mattie Ross enlisting the aid of an experienced bounty hunter in order to track down the man who murdered her father.

    The movie moves along at a good pace and features everything you would expect from the genre, including some brutal shoot outs. Jeff Bridges, taking on the role originally played by John Wayne, and Matt Damon are as watchable as ever but it is really Hailee Steinfeld in her first major movie role who steals the show as Mattie Ross, showing a level of maturity beyond her years and helping to hold the whole movie together.

    Fans of the genre won’t be disappointed.
    Expand
  96. May 31, 2011
    10
    Seriously, what's not to like about this movie? It's perhaps the best western I've ever seen. Bridges is phenomenal, even better than John Wayne, in his portrayal of Cogburn. Damon -- at his best since the Bourne movies -- is just spot-on damn good. He comes across as a real piece of work at first, but by movie's end, my attitude towards his character did a 180. The girl who playsSeriously, what's not to like about this movie? It's perhaps the best western I've ever seen. Bridges is phenomenal, even better than John Wayne, in his portrayal of Cogburn. Damon -- at his best since the Bourne movies -- is just spot-on damn good. He comes across as a real piece of work at first, but by movie's end, my attitude towards his character did a 180. The girl who plays Mattie Ross (Hailee Steinfeld) completely floored me with her acting abilities. I loved this flick. Matter of fact, it is not only my favorite western but could compete for top spot in any genre, save for horror. That honor goes to the Swedish made Let the Right One In. Expand
  97. Jun 12, 2011
    7
    There is nothing frantic about True Grit, it's basically a good retelling of an old John Wayne movie. However, the performances keep this film high and amusing especially Hailee Steinfeld as the straight-to=the-point Mattie. True Grit might stand out as One of the Best Cowboy Remakes but it has its powers to stand on its own. The direction of the camera and the scenic landscapes all addThere is nothing frantic about True Grit, it's basically a good retelling of an old John Wayne movie. However, the performances keep this film high and amusing especially Hailee Steinfeld as the straight-to=the-point Mattie. True Grit might stand out as One of the Best Cowboy Remakes but it has its powers to stand on its own. The direction of the camera and the scenic landscapes all add depth to the film, accompanied by Carter Burwell's piano-driven score. The story is about a 14 year old girl named Mattie who wants to avenge her father's death but not without the help of a Marshal. She chooses Mr. One-Eye-Patched Rooster Cogburn played by Jeff Bridges, who manages to be convincing enough. Matt Damon and Josh Brolin also play as supporting (enemies) characters.
    Ethan and Joel Coen have directed something of a miracle, normally (especially noticeable within this year, thats right...I'm looking at you Single White Female rip-off) remakes are a bad hand which is why it's a miracle because the grand cast works well and their chemistry is warm as a bottle of whiskey. 78%
    It could've been more exciting but so far its a couple of steps above your normal cowboy movie. The Best Cowboy Movie So Far was and is Quigley Down Under. Still, this is an exception.
    Expand
  98. Jun 16, 2011
    9
    Great movie especially for a remake! This is a must see. The best way I explain it is too quote another review, "The Coens combine their original and witty dialogue with incredible performances by top notch actors to create a film thats so engrossing that you're taken on a ride back in time with true outlaws." -horrorboy
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 41
  2. Negative: 1 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: Angie Errigo
    Feb 7, 2011
    100
    Terrific: tough, exciting, funny, gorgeous and bewitchingly acted, this is darn close to perfection.
  2. Reviewed by: Richard Corliss
    Dec 25, 2010
    80
    The tense verbal comedy of Mattie's early negotiation with a Fort Smith merchant should win you over to this movie's high linguistic wit. If not, you may as well slip out of the theater and into "Little Fockers."
  3. Reviewed by: Marjorie Baumgarten
    Dec 24, 2010
    67
    All this is not to say that the Coens' True Grit is an awful film; it's just that these filmmakers have set their own standards for excellence, and True Grit falls short.