Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 577 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , ,
  • Summary: Fourteen-year-old Mattie Ross's father has been shot in cold blood by the coward Tom Chaney, and she is determined to bring him to justice. Enlisting the help of a trigger-happy, drunken U.S. Marshal, Rooster Cogburn, she sets out with him -- over his objections -- to hunt down Chaney. Her father's blood demands that she pursue the criminal into Indian territory and find him before a Texas Ranger named LeBoeuf catches him and brings him back to Texas for the murder of another man. (Paramount Pictures) Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 41
  2. Negative: 1 out of 41
  1. Reviewed by: Angie Errigo
    Feb 7, 2011
    100
    Terrific: tough, exciting, funny, gorgeous and bewitchingly acted, this is darn close to perfection.
  2. Reviewed by: Kenneth Turan
    Dec 21, 2010
    90
    When Iris DeMent's impeccable version of the hymn is heard on the soundtrack as the final credits roll, it's the perfect touch to end a film whose aim is always true.
  3. Reviewed by: Joe Williams
    Dec 21, 2010
    88
    True Grit is just a couple bloody gunfights removed from an old-fashioned Disney yarn. Yet it's still unmistakably a Coen brothers movie, from the stray weirdness of a bearskin-clad dentist to the bulls-eye delights of the dialogue.
  4. Reviewed by: David Fear
    Dec 14, 2010
    80
    To make a Western now is in itself a subversive act. Improving, embellishing and reclaiming an old-fashioned oater from the vintage studio-cheese bin with such humor and vigor seems truly, truly ballsy.
  5. Reviewed by: J. Hoberman
    Dec 23, 2010
    80
    For the most part, the Coens' is a highly enjoyable yarn, stocked with pungent bushwa and a full panoply of frontier bozos.
  6. Reviewed by: Mick LaSalle
    Dec 22, 2010
    75
    If there's one big difference between this version and the old, it's in the attitude toward violence. The new version may be more graphic, but it doesn't present violence as inevitable or necessary, just ugly.
  7. Reviewed by: Rex Reed
    Dec 20, 2010
    25
    The original western won John Wayne a puzzling and undeserved Oscar for finally falling off his horse. Don't expect the same miracle for Jeff Bridges. In the numbing hands of pretentious filmmakers Joel and Ethan Coen, history does not repeat itself in any way whatsoever.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 21 out of 176
  1. Jan 1, 2011
    10
    My wife and I are getting up there in years, and it's great that there are still movies that fit our demographic. As for being a "remake" I feel the movie lived up to the hype and then some! All the performances ran circles around the originals, no question. Leaving in the original "fill your hands" line intact was a nice (respectful) touch that seems to have flown over more than a few heads. As for rambling, seemingly inconsequential dialogue from Bridges, get over it! That's how aging people talk. The younger you are, the more bored you are by "old people" telling war stories. We ramble....because we have experiences. We are laconic and cynical.....because we earned that right. Expand
  2. Jan 16, 2011
    10
    Loved this movie. I thought the acting was superb and I was thrilled that it was free of the usual filthy language so common in most films today. I think Bridges deserves an oscar. Highly recommend this to anyone and everyone. Expand
  3. Apr 23, 2014
    9
    The Coen Brothers remake of the classic western is one with grandiose style and wit, and it even feels authentic. Bridges and Damon shine here, and they carry this old-style movie made in the 2000's. Expand
  4. Jan 7, 2011
    8
    The acting is great here, as is the tone and setting of this film. While it doesn't have the same feel as the original, and can stand on its own and it is very hard to compare the two because they are so different in characterizaton. My only qualm is with Josh Brolin as Tom Chaney. He seems so dazed the entire time, and I am not sure if it is on purpose or not... Tip of the hat to Barry Pepper as Lucky Ned, who is a great character and I wished we could have had a bit longer with this gentlemanly bad man. Expand
  5. Nov 30, 2013
    8
    One of the Coen Brothers' best pieces of work. As always, it includes the Brothers' signature dark humor and clever plot progression. The film is very culturally accurate and ties you into the story to keep your attention for the full 2 hours. Expand
  6. Dec 28, 2010
    7
    Pretty solid western flick. The most surprising thing about this movie is that it felt like it was made 20 years ago and doesn't really change up the western formula. Thought we were in for a new/modern twist on westerns, but it's a pretty cliche story. Jeff Bridges is pretty funny and the little action you actually see is entertaining. One thing that I didn't enjoy was the western slang. I just didn't have the patience to dissect what they were saying and at times i just zoned out to the conversation. In particular, the trial scene kind of went on and on and I didn't understand half the things they said. Maybe that's just me..

    Enjoyable and re-watchable for sure. Coming from a guy who didn't like "No Country for Old Men" I'd say that's a win.
    Expand
  7. Feb 13, 2011
    0
    This was a waste of time. The original was a classic western. This was a weak attempt to recreate
    True Grit. The characters were forgettable,
    the story was drawn out, the performances were okay but compared to the classic, in every case this came up short.. This may have been the worst movie I have
    seen in a long time. i usually pride myself on seeing quality movies. Maybe the rent was due......
    Collapse

See all 176 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Best and Worst Remakes of the Past Decade

    Ranked: Best and Worst Remakes of the Past Decade Image
    Published: August 16, 2011
    This Friday brings remakes of "Conan the Barbarian" and "Fright Night" to theaters. Just how good (and bad) can a remake possibly be? We take a look at examples of both extremes released since 2000.
  2. The Best and Worst Movies of 2010

    The Best and Worst Movies of 2010 Image
    Published: January 7, 2011
    In our annual report, we reveal the best- and worst-reviewed movies of 2010 in a variety of categories.
  3. 2010 Film Awards and Nominations [Updated Feb. 28]

    2010 Film Awards and Nominations [Updated Feb. 28] Image
    Published: December 14, 2010
    Over the next three months, we
  4. 2010 Film Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 6]

    2010 Film Critic Top Ten Lists [Updated Jan. 6] Image
    Published: December 9, 2010
    Throughout the next two months, we